Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1143 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279427Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #34261 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It think everyone should email Oppo and ask why they have stopped working on the tone mapping feature as its currently broken with their current implementation. At least get them to admit that its a hardware issue and that they have done everything they can.
galonzo likes this.
Rebellion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34262 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgebetancourt View Post
Wow I bought this thing a month before they shut down to then find out it was broken for projectors. I held and held hoping.. oh well

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
I own one of these, and also a JVC X970R projector.

Am I better off now selling it and picking up something else? If so, what is recommended?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #34263 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,830
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3919 Post(s)
Liked: 3184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebellion View Post
It think everyone should email Oppo and ask why they have stopped working on the tone mapping feature as its currently broken with their current implementation. At least get them to admit that its a hardware issue and that they have done everything they can.
Folks seem to want to blame Oppo for this. But its Mediatek that has to provide the code, or not. Oppo has little to say about it, and less with each passing month.
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34264 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebellion View Post
It think everyone should email Oppo and ask why they have stopped working on the tone mapping feature as its currently broken with their current implementation. At least get them to admit that its a hardware issue and that they have done everything they can.
Great idea but honestly I'm pretty much done with it at this point.. I've held on too long already.. Finished..
jorgebetancourt is online now  
post #34265 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
I own one of these, and also a JVC X970R projector.

Am I better off now selling it and picking up something else? If so, what is recommended?
I would get the panasonic for tone mapping much better because it works.. I only hold on to my oppo because it has a 3D enhancer and zoom option that I love to use with my 3d.. I looked to buy the panasonic the other day but it doesnt have these options so I kept the oppo..lol I have to pick my battles..
galonzo likes this.
jorgebetancourt is online now  
post #34266 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Folks seem to want to blame Oppo for this. But its Mediatek that has to provide the code, or not. Oppo has little to say about it, and less with each passing month.
Can't Mediatek just provide another code or is that not possible.
jorgebetancourt is online now  
post #34267 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 03:37 PM
Member
 
BlueDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just had Chad B calibrate my JVC RS540 with three picture modes: HDR, SDR2020, and SDR709. Given all that, does anyone see a need for the Oppo 203 to do any video processing other than upscaling? I'm not sure it matters anymore in my application if the Oppo tone mapping is broken.
BlueDude is offline  
post #34268 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 03:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgebetancourt View Post
I would get the panasonic for tone mapping much better because it works.. I only hold on to my oppo because it has a 3D enhancer and zoom option that I love to use with my 3d.. I looked to buy the panasonic the other day but it doesnt have these options so I kept the oppo..lol I have to pick my battles..
Which model # is the Panasonic exactly?

Also, as per poster below, is it true that it's irrelevant about the Oppo tone mapping being broken if your projector is properly calibrated for HDR and thus doing the processing?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #34269 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDude View Post
I just had Chad B calibrate my JVC RS540 with three picture modes: HDR, SDR2020, and SDR709. Given all that, does anyone see a need for the Oppo 203 to do any video processing other than upscaling? I'm not sure it matters anymore in my application if the Oppo tone mapping is broken.
Your fine but not everyone can afford to have their projector calibrated...

I'm fine as well it should just had been fixed..

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
jorgebetancourt is online now  
post #34270 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
JVC DLA-550 / Oppo 203 - Strip MetaData vs. HDR off BT2020?

Has anyone figured out if the bug was fixed with this or not? Does it make a difference to use HDR off BT2020 vs. Strip Metadata on 100-150 nits?


Thanks
thatguy1985 is offline  
post #34271 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy1985 View Post
Has anyone figured out if the bug was fixed with this or not? Does it make a difference to use HDR off BT2020 vs. Strip Metadata on 100-150 nits?


Thanks
Is there also a way to disable Dolby Vision as my projector doesn't support it?


Thanks
thatguy1985 is offline  
post #34272 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Which model # is the Panasonic exactly?

Also, as per poster below, is it true that it's irrelevant about the Oppo tone mapping being broken if your projector is properly calibrated for HDR and thus doing the processing?
You do not need the oppo to do the tone mapping if you have custom curves.. You'll just have to pick the right curve for each film.. I have javs 1200nit and 4000nit curves installed but I never pick and choose which curve.. I always end up choosing the 1200nit curve..

The panasonic will automatically apply the right curve or brightness for each film or something like that..
johng likes this.
jorgebetancourt is online now  
post #34273 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 06:14 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,633
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4687 Post(s)
Liked: 4560
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy1985 View Post
Is there also a way to disable Dolby Vision as my projector doesn't support it?


Thanks
Doesn't that happen automatically?

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #34274 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Doesn't that happen automatically?

-Bill
Ironically, no. Many times if I launch a movie (MI:Fallout / Evil Dead 2) it will default to Dolby Vision (upon checking with the info button). I then have to stop the disc and restart playback to enable HDR10. Dolby Vision gives my picture a washed out palate or colors way too saturated.
thatguy1985 is offline  
post #34275 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 06:46 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,351
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1979 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgebetancourt View Post
Can't Mediatek just provide another code or is that not possible.
Maybe they can, maybe they don’t know how, or it could be a ton of work that Mediatek really doesn’t want to do... But what’s the motivation for Mediatek? It’s not as though Oppo can go to them and say “we won’t buy any more chips from you if you don’t fix this” as they obviously won’t be buying any more at this point. It’s possible there could be some sort of contractual agreement in place but it could be cost prohibitive to pursue that.
galonzo likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #34276 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 06:54 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,633
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4687 Post(s)
Liked: 4560
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy1985 View Post
Ironically, no. Many times if I launch a movie (MI:Fallout / Evil Dead 2) it will default to Dolby Vision (upon checking with the info button). I then have to stop the disc and restart playback to enable HDR10. Dolby Vision gives my picture a washed out palate or colors way too saturated.
That sounds odd. You're not forcing Dolby Vision output in the player settings?

You might try this from the FAQ: How do I force HDR10 from a Dolby Vision disc?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #34277 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
That sounds odd. You're not forcing Dolby Vision output in the player settings?

You might try this from the FAQ: How do I force HDR10 from a Dolby Vision disc?

-Bill
I don't believe so, but I will check to confirm.



Thanks!



Has it not been verified if Strip Metadata and HDR->off BT2020 are now the same thing?
thatguy1985 is offline  
post #34278 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 08:18 PM
Member
 
BlueDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgebetancourt View Post
Your fine but not everyone can afford to have their projector calibrated...
Sure, but if you're going to spend several thousand dollars for a capable projector, it doesn't cost much more to have a professional bring the best out of your equipment.

I'm disappointed that the feature doesn't work as intended but its failure doesn't cripple the unit. It's difficult to blame Oppo for not going sufficiently above and beyond to fix an added feature that wasn't originally included. They could always remove it entirely and you'd be no worse off.
BlueDude is offline  
post #34279 of 37599 Old 12-11-2018, 09:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I just tried watching Passengers MKV with my 203 and got the audio turned off by cinavia. What the heck??? Are there other UHD mkvs that the oppo is going to not allow me to watch?

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" wide 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, Nvidia Shield. Lots of iFi and Furman power filters which made my computer audio listenable.
edfowler is online now  
post #34280 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 04:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
I just tried watching Passengers MKV with my 203 and got the audio turned off by cinavia. What the heck??? Are there other UHD mkvs that the oppo is going to not allow me to watch?


Cinevia is on the disc and prevents copying the movie in any form, at least it is supposed to. Not all players recognize cinevia and will happily play the file. It’s outside the scope of this thread, but there are workarounds for some titles.
galonzo likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #34281 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 06:29 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,633
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4687 Post(s)
Liked: 4560
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
I just tried watching Passengers MKV with my 203 and got the audio turned off by cinavia. What the heck??? Are there other UHD mkvs that the oppo is going to not allow me to watch?
In theory: Cinavia is supposed to be always enforced. Talk to Sony about that, they control the licenses.

In reality: early firmware for the 203 was strict in this regard but current firmware has relaxed detection. I have seen it only on files stored on optical disc.

Are you on current firmware?

-Bill
Madmax67 likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #34282 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I have not updated firmware. I have been afraid they would remove mkv playback altogether. I will try updating firmware tonight sn dc see if thst helps. Thanks

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" wide 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, Nvidia Shield. Lots of iFi and Furman power filters which made my computer audio listenable.
edfowler is online now  
post #34283 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgebetancourt View Post
You do not need the oppo to do the tone mapping if you have custom curves.. You'll just have to pick the right curve for each film.. I have javs 1200nit and 4000nit curves installed but I never pick and choose which curve.. I always end up choosing the 1200nit curve..

The panasonic will automatically apply the right curve or brightness for each film or something like that..
Ok, thanks.

Which model of Panasonic is it that does this auto-applying of the right curve?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #34284 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Ok, thanks.

Which model of Panasonic is it that does this auto-applying of the right curve?
I dont want to post that info here but you can find it on the forum.. the newest one..
jorgebetancourt is online now  
post #34285 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,
I need to update my 203 European version to the last firmware UDP20XEU-60-0625 but can someone confirm that you can still play a BD-UHD folder via usb (play the title with the menus....). I don't need to play BD folder or iso files, just BD-UHD folder.
I've been in contact with Oppo (UK) but they are unable to give me a response.
Thanks a lot.
AudioSlave2018 is offline  
post #34286 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSlave2018 View Post
Hi all,
I need to update my 203 European version to the last firmware UDP20XEU-60-0625 but can someone confirm that you can still play a BD-UHD folder via usb (play the title with the menus....). I don't need to play BD folder or iso files, just BD-UHD folder.
I've been in contact with Oppo (UK) but they are unable to give me a response.
Thanks a lot.
I have the U.S. version, but I’m on the latest firmware and I’ve had no problems playing UHD folders off of a USB hard drive. Menus and everything have worked for me just like if I were playing off of UHD discs.
galonzo likes this.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, Roku Streaming Stick+ 4K, Xbox One X, PlayStation 4 Pro
Displays: LG OLED55C6,
Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Sold Off: Apple TV 4K, TCL P605 55", Amazon Fire TV 4k
Got the Shakes is offline  
post #34287 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
SkyCyberguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
In theory: Cinavia is supposed to be always enforced. Talk to Sony about that, they control the licenses.

In reality: early firmware for the 203 was strict in this regard but current firmware has relaxed detection. I have seen it only on files stored on optical disc.

Are you on current firmware?

-Bill
I tried ripping "The Walk 3D", "The Adventures of Tintin 3D" and "Django Unchained" to my NAS and during playback after a few minutes audio was muted.
I am on current firmware.
So it still detects Cinavia and (sadly) does what it's supposed to do...
galonzo likes this.

http://www.av-insider.de - Bild und Ton mit Sachverstand (Sound And Vision Expertized)
SkyCyberguy is offline  
post #34288 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1014 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyCyberguy View Post
I tried ripping "The Walk 3D", "The Adventures of Tintin 3D" and "Django Unchained" to my NAS and during playback after a few minutes audio was muted.
I am on current firmware.
So it still detects Cinavia and (sadly) does what it's supposed to do...
I have Tintin so I can try that. Isn't it also supposed to show a Cinavia warning? Maybe you just lost audio sync?
galonzo likes this.
artur9 is offline  
post #34289 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
SkyCyberguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
I have Tintin so I can try that. Isn't it also supposed to show a Cinavia warning? Maybe you just lost audio sync?
Warning pops up, too.
Definitely Cinavia.
galonzo likes this.

http://www.av-insider.de - Bild und Ton mit Sachverstand (Sound And Vision Expertized)
SkyCyberguy is offline  
post #34290 of 37599 Old 12-12-2018, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wichita,Ks
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I have a Oppo 203 I purchased about a year ago for my theater room. It have been using it for Blu-Ray movies only until last night. I purchased a new CD and when trying to play it I get a no disc in bottom left of screen and unknown disc in top right, and it does not play. I tried two other CD's and the same thing. I don't know if there is a problem or if I am not doing something right. Anyone have any ideas?
nxs450 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off