Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279371Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #34321 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Tell me how the zoom control works...is this for films like Dunkirk that switch aspect ratios? How does this feature assist with that?
You wouldn't use it for films that change aspect ratios. I use it for all 3D films I zoom to 1.2 and then I put enhance 3D at about 12.. The zoom is on the control itself.. By making the film larger the 3D effect gets enhance as well.

Another cool thing is when you zoom the picture with the control u can move the picture up towards the screen or towards the bottom so u eliminate either the top bar or the bottom bar.. pretty sweet

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.
jorgebetancourt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34322 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 08:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I just tested an MKV file I keep around, its UHD with Cinavia. As it always has, the 203 ignores the Cinavia.
As it always has, the 203 will trigger Cinavia in full disc (BDMV folder) rips or anything on an optical disc.
Doesn't make any difference if its BD or UHD, detection is the same.
I am a little confused by this statement: as always the 203 ignores the Cinavia/ As always the 203 will trigger Cinavia in full disc rips...

So when you make a back up copy of the whole movie, say with MakeMKV, the 203 will trigger Cinavia but if you rip a movie selecting certain tracks the 203 ignores Cinacrapola? ie. if the movie isn't in a folder (just plays the movie straight away without any menus or such) then it doesn't trigger?

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #34323 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,798
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3895 Post(s)
Liked: 3148
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
I am a little confused by this statement: as always the 203 ignores the Cinavia/ As always the 203 will trigger Cinavia in full disc rips...

So when you make a back up copy of the whole movie, say with MakeMKV, the 203 will trigger Cinavia but if you rip a movie selecting certain tracks the 203 ignores Cinacrapola? ie. if the movie isn't in a folder (just plays the movie straight away without any menus or such) then it doesn't trigger?
Discussed many times here, so a thread search works.
Cinavia is ignored in media files, ie: MKV or M2TS.
Cinavia triggers in full disc rips. (BDMV folder)
galonzo likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34324 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Discussed many times here, so a thread search works.
Cinavia is ignored in media files, ie: MKV or M2TS.
Cinavia triggers in full disc rips. (BDMV folder)
so why did my MKV file trigger Cinavia?

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #34325 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 09:05 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,611
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4676 Post(s)
Liked: 4550
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
so why did my MKV file trigger Cinavia?
You were running old firmware. It used to be more strict.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #34326 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 09:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
thanks Bill.

I'll update now I promise

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #34327 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 10:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Well Bill, that's not it. I updated to the latest firmware and put Passengers back in. I'm staring at the Message Code 3 from Cinavia that the audio is now muted.

Any body else?

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #34328 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 10:09 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
Well Bill, that's not it. I updated to the latest firmware and put Passengers back in. I'm staring at the Message Code 3 from Cinavia that the audio is now muted.



Any body else?

when does it pop up?I mean time.

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-500s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is offline  
post #34329 of 37549 Old 12-13-2018, 10:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasphoenix View Post
when does it pop up?I mean time.
14 to 20 minutes I guess

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #34330 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 12:16 AM
Senior Member
 
SkyCyberguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
14 to 20 minutes I guess
Can't confirm Bill's claim of Cinavia just being triggered by Full Disc Rips either.
Am running the 3D versions of Tintin and The Walk als .m2ts files (with the MVS stream muxed into the file as always works fine) and getting Cinavia popups and muted audio, too.
Latest firmware.

http://www.av-insider.de - Bild und Ton mit Sachverstand (Sound And Vision Expertized)
SkyCyberguy is offline  
post #34331 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,272
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
Well Bill, that's not it. I updated to the latest firmware and put Passengers back in. I'm staring at the Message Code 3 from Cinavia that the audio is now muted.

Any body else?
Did you reset to factory defaults and erase persistent storage? Perhaps persistent storage is storing the offending data on cinavia from you movie and it's still throwing the flag.

Supercharged Song Towers, Oppo BDP-203, Anthem MRX-520, LG B6 OLED
Headphone Rig: Oppo BDP-95, Burson Audio Soloist MKII Headphone amp/ Sennheiser HD800S, Sennheiser HD650
glangford is offline  
post #34332 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post
Did you reset to factory defaults and erase persistent storage? Perhaps persistent storage is storing the offending data on cinavia from you movie and it's still throwing the flag.
Oh no. Thanks, i will try that tonight. My apologies to Bill

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #34333 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Greg TB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by tswire View Post
Anyone with ATV4k tried using the OPPO to upscale from 1080p to 4K instead of the ATV? was curious to see if the upscale difference was enough for me to hold on to the OPPO seeing that the tone mapping fix is likely dead.

Currently I have 4K SDR as the video for ATV4k then have range match on. So essentially that is taking EVERYTHING I watch from HD (1080p) like Netflix shows to 4K. Then it will keep SDR. If something was 4K then no upscaling is done on ATV but the match range will switch to HDR if that show is HDR or DV. thoughts about using OPPO to do the upscaling? Will it work on HDMI IN?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The HDMI In port will not pass Dolby Vision.

OLED65C7P - Denon AVR S920W - Oppo 205 - Apple TV 4K - Bowers & Wilkins 804, HTM2, 805 - SVS PB2000
Greg TB is offline  
post #34334 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg TB View Post
The HDMI In port will not pass Dolby Vision.
Ummmm......yup.....I know that. Like 10 posts back I had the same response from someone but ATV takes DV and converts to HDR-10 when DV is not present (like in my situation all around with JVC x770). However, what I learned (I knew this a while back but forgot) was that if anything in that video source string uses HDR metadata to do tone mapping or for anything else (ie sony projector sync), it COULD be problematic.

I think with me currently using custom curves in the x770, have a Vertex to do the auto switching of SDR and HDR profiles in JVC, and input to OPPO, I am ok. However, my ORIGINAL question was, in anyone's experience with ATV and OPPO, is there a benefit to setting the ATV at 1080p SDR (base video), turn Dynamic range match ON and then letting the OPPO do the upscale to 4k SDR (or HDR)?

I currently watch probably 70% Netflix and 30% itunes movies. Of that, more than 50% of the content I watch is HD SDR. So I was thinking that in order to optimize my situation, would using the OPPO for 4k upscaling instead of the ATV (which does it now) be a better choice?
tswire is offline  
post #34335 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1357 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by tswire View Post
Ummmm......yup.....I know that. Like 10 posts back I had the same response from someone but ATV takes DV and converts to HDR-10 when DV is not present (like in my situation all around with JVC x770). However, what I learned (I knew this a while back but forgot) was that if anything in that video source string uses HDR metadata to do tone mapping or for anything else (ie sony projector sync), it COULD be problematic.

I think with me currently using custom curves in the x770, have a Vertex to do the auto switching of SDR and HDR profiles in JVC, and input to OPPO, I am ok. However, my ORIGINAL question was, in anyone's experience with ATV and OPPO, is there a benefit to setting the ATV at 1080p SDR (base video), turn Dynamic range match ON and then letting the OPPO do the upscale to 4k SDR (or HDR)?

I currently watch probably 70% Netflix and 30% itunes movies. Of that, more than 50% of the content I watch is HD SDR. So I was thinking that in order to optimize my situation, would using the OPPO for 4k upscaling instead of the ATV (which does it now) be a better choice?
I do not know, but am very curious on the answer too. Why don't you try it and let us know your thoughts? I will give it a shot too this weekend and do some comparisons.

The one thing I find annoying about my newly acquired ATV4K is that some of the apps (namely CraveTV - I'm in Canada) has great content, but outputs Stereo audio instead of surround sound formats.

Also, pq just doesn't seem to be as nice and perfect as what I get locally streaming mkv files of the same through my Oppo 203 (calibrated). Maybe it's just because I haven't calibrated the ATV4K with my sensors, but something seems just a little "off" in regards to that crisp, perfect sharpness and color tone I get via the Oppo 203 direct. Maybe letting the Oppo 203 do the upscale will fix that.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #34336 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
I do not know, but am very curious on the answer too. Why don't you try it and let us know your thoughts? I will give it a shot too this weekend and do some comparisons.



The one thing I find annoying about my newly acquired ATV4K is that some of the apps (namely CraveTV - I'm in Canada) has great content, but outputs Stereo audio instead of surround sound formats.



Also, pq just doesn't seem to be as nice and perfect as what I get locally streaming mkv files of the same through my Oppo 203 (calibrated). Maybe it's just because I haven't calibrated the ATV4K with my sensors, but something seems just a little "off" in regards to that crisp, perfect sharpness and color tone I get via the Oppo 203 direct. Maybe letting the Oppo 203 do the upscale will fix that.


I am in Canada too!! I watch the bell five tv app and shows look like crap because the content is HD but when I set ATV to 4K SDR it looks ok but not great. So ya I think there may be a better solution here with the OPPO. I will report back


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tswire is offline  
post #34337 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1357 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by tswire View Post
I am in Canada too!! I watch the bell five tv app and shows look like crap because the content is HD but when I set ATV to 4K SDR it looks ok but not great. So ya I think there may be a better solution here with the OPPO. I will report back


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Agree, Bell Fibe TV looks like crap compared to just watching it from the Bell Fibe receiver - it's jumpy and not smooth.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #34338 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,729
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2172 Post(s)
Liked: 1706
Quote:
Originally Posted by tswire View Post
However, my ORIGINAL question was, in anyone's experience with ATV and OPPO, is there a benefit to setting the ATV at 1080p SDR (base video), turn Dynamic range match ON and then letting the OPPO do the upscale to 4k SDR (or HDR)?

I currently watch probably 70% Netflix and 30% itunes movies. Of that, more than 50% of the content I watch is HD SDR. So I was thinking that in order to optimize my situation, would using the OPPO for 4k upscaling instead of the ATV (which does it now) be a better choice?
Again, if you force 2K you're always scaling. Only you can say if that's sub-optimal. If you already have a Vertex you can fix the metadata problem. If you don't, well that's another decision only you can make.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #34339 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Again, if you force 2K you're always scaling. Only you can say if that's sub-optimal. If you already have a Vertex you can fix the metadata problem. If you don't, well that's another decision only you can make.


If I force 4K on ATV I am also always scaling when viewing 2k content. I suppose the 4K HDR content will then be scaled too if I let the OPPO do that. Good point. Arg.

Maybe panny 820 with proper tone mapping and built in Netflix is my best option. Arg.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tswire is offline  
post #34340 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 957 Post(s)
Liked: 1133
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
Well Bill, that's not it. I updated to the latest firmware and put Passengers back in. I'm staring at the Message Code 3 from Cinavia that the audio is now muted.
Is this a 4K or a 1080p MKV?

I can rip mine and try it.
galonzo likes this.

The Seth-o-Plex 2.0 Build Thread - featuring Dolby Atmos/DTS:X 9.4.4 & 4K Dolby Vision!
Vizio | Dual Denon Atmos AVRs | Oppo | SVS | Mirage | Onkyo | Monoprice
stikle is offline  
post #34341 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by stikle View Post
Is this a 4K or a 1080p MKV?

I can rip mine and try it.
4K Mkv full backup.


Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #34342 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 09:46 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,611
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4676 Post(s)
Liked: 4550
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfowler View Post
4K Mkv full backup.
Full backup usually means a BDMV folder. MKV is a single file.

Are you talking about full disc backups made with MakeMKV? That is not an MKV file.

-Bill
Operon likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #34343 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Yeah, thats what i am talking about

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
post #34344 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 957 Post(s)
Liked: 1133
Well there's your problem then...
Keenan and Operon like this.

The Seth-o-Plex 2.0 Build Thread - featuring Dolby Atmos/DTS:X 9.4.4 & 4K Dolby Vision!
Vizio | Dual Denon Atmos AVRs | Oppo | SVS | Mirage | Onkyo | Monoprice
stikle is offline  
post #34345 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Iamjcl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quick question:

Does the older Oppo 103 player have the same network file playing ability as the 203?

I know there are differences regarding no HDMI input, HDR>SDR etc..., but was unsure of differences regarding network playback of files.

Thanks!
Iamjcl is offline  
post #34346 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,798
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3895 Post(s)
Liked: 3148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iamjcl View Post
Quick question:

Does the older Oppo 103 player have the same network file playing ability as the 203?

I know there are differences regarding no HDMI input, HDR>SDR etc..., but was unsure of differences regarding network playback of files.

Thanks!
More alike than not. Obviously no UHD/HDR files. Higher res DSD128/256 files are not supported in the 103.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #34347 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Iamjcl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
More alike than not. Obviously no UHD/HDR files. Higher res DSD128/256 files are not supported in the 103.
That's great info about the DSD formats - Thanks!

I wonder if the video de-interlacing / scaling / processing is the same ? Probably a different Soc I'm guessing?

I use .MKV files mainly, but does the 103 do ISO's like the 203?
Iamjcl is offline  
post #34348 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,798
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3895 Post(s)
Liked: 3148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iamjcl View Post
That's great info about the DSD formats - Thanks!

I wonder if the video de-interlacing / scaling / processing is the same ? Probably a different Soc I'm guessing?

I use .MKV files mainly, but does the 103 do ISO's like the 203?
The 203 does not play ISO files. Both the 103 and 203 do play BDMV folders.

Scaling/processing is much the same in both players.
Iamjcl likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #34349 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wichita,Ks
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I am using a Oppo 203 in my theater room, however just sent it in for repair work it will not play CD's. I have a question on settings. I have pretty much just been plugging in and playing. My setup is Epson 5030 shooting on 138" spandex screen, Denon and Emotiva driving 3-HTM12's and JBL in-ceilings, and 8-18" subs drven by Inukes.

Other then basic settings on the Oppo (connections are HDMI out, ethernet in) I haven't really got into advanced settings. Is there anything that I am missing or should be doing?
nxs450 is offline  
post #34350 of 37549 Old 12-14-2018, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,306
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by stikle View Post
Well there's your problem then...
I don't want to turn this into a MKV discussion thread so I'll just ask this one question here and not ask any other questions along this line (I've been searching for an answer everywhere else with no luck).

So should I be able to open the file of the 1 to 1 backup I made of Passengers with MakeMKV and rip a single mkv file using MakeMKV that will play on my 203 and ignore Cinacrapola?

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Marantz AV7702,Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, NVidia Shield
edfowler is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off