Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1154 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279349Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #34591 of 37518 Old 01-01-2019, 03:39 PM
boe
AVS Forum Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,310
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1227 Post(s)
Liked: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus.S View Post
Actually now it does bitstream. It still write MLP when when selecting the correct audio track. But it output Atmos. Before it was just stereo. Don't know what has done it.
Glad you got it working!
boe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34592 of 37518 Old 01-01-2019, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Marc Drake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Down Under...
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
[UDP-20x] Version UDP20XAU-64-1221B - New Beta Firmware just released

Head over to the Interdyn website at http://support.interdyn.com.au/support/solutions/

HAPPY NEW YEAR from Down Under....
Craig Mecak likes this.

Yamaha RX-A3060 / 5.2.2 + Zone 2 | LG OLED65C6T | Oppo UDP-203 | VAF Platform Sub | VAF DC-3 G4MkII x 7
Canton Sub 12.2 | Samsung UA65KS9500 | Samsung C34F791 21:9 Ultrawide | Ruipro 15m HDMI Optic Fiber
Sonos ZP90 / Play5 G2 | VAF MPD SW4 Sub | Canton InWall 465 x 2 | Corsair HTPC / XFX RX Vega 64 | RTI T2-Cs+ RP1
Marc Drake is offline  
post #34593 of 37518 Old 01-01-2019, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,792
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3889 Post(s)
Liked: 3135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus.S View Post
Actually now it does bitstream. It still write MLP when when selecting the correct audio track. But it output Atmos. Before it was just stereo. Don't know what has done it.
In media files the Oppo will always identify Dolby TrueHD as "MLP", (which it actually is). Completely normal. You can always use the extended info popup to see what's being played and what's being output.
galonzo likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34594 of 37518 Old 01-01-2019, 09:33 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
@claw and @bluechunks the help you gave me to configure the OPPO for HDR using the Roku Ultra worked as you expected. I've already enjoyed it streaming from Netflix.
claw and bluechunks like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #34595 of 37518 Old 01-01-2019, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
SkyCyberguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
I just rechecked with single HDMI cabling -- i.e., Main HDMI from my OPPO 205 to my Anthem D2v, and then from the D2v to my LG OLED panel. The D2v is a 1080p unit which does not pass 4K nor Dolby Vision, and does not support HDCP 2.2.

With the OPPO set to Custom > UHD 1080p, YCbCr 4:2:2, 12b, Dolby Vision Auto, and testing with "Transformers: The Last Knight", UHD, everything is working as expected.

That is, the OPPO is seeing Dolby Vision content and producing 1080p/60 YCbCr 4:2:2 BT.709 SDR output without problem.

OPPO's Tech Support in Europe may ask you to capture a Log File so they can see the specifics of what's going on with the HDMI handshake in your case. But at least in my case, Dolby Vision conversion to SDR is working as expected.

--Bob
Thanks Bob.
I already wrote with another guy in another forum who has a 1080p display, too, and who also experienced the green line issue with the last firmware.
On his setup everything works great with the new firmware, no issues with Dolby Vision titles either.
So obviously, like the green line issue, this does not affect all 1080p setups and the two issues do not seem to be connected.
I'm in touch with Oppo, let's see what they can do about it.

Would there be a way to somehow revert back to the last firmware if everything else fails?

Greets
SkyCyberguy
JohnAV and Chopsus like this.

http://www.av-insider.de - Bild und Ton mit Sachverstand (Sound And Vision Expertized)
SkyCyberguy is offline  
post #34596 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 08:15 AM
Member
 
Elmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't think the new beta could do DV to HDR10+ conversion? I own a Samsung TV and it could do hdr10+ but no DV... Unfortunately, there is lots of DV material available But I doubt that will change for 10+...
Elmar is offline  
post #34597 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,792
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3889 Post(s)
Liked: 3135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elmar View Post
I don't think the new beta could do DV to HDR10+ conversion? I own a Samsung TV and it could do hdr10+ but no DV...
It will send plain HDR10 to your TV when playing DV content.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #34598 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 09:37 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyCyberguy View Post

Would there be a way to somehow revert back to the last firmware if everything else fails?

Greets
SkyCyberguy
You should be able to download the last released official version and start afresh. If you can’t find a copy, let me know.
galonzo likes this.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #34599 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post
You should be able to download the last released official version and start afresh. If you can’t find a copy, let me know.
Sorry no you can’t. If you read the FW updating documentation it states:

Quote:
Once this firmware version is installed on the player, you will not be able to revert back to any previous official or public beta firmware. There will be no problem upgrading to any future official or beta firmware release.
This release is still a beta test version, not an official release. Use it only if you would like to experiment with the new features and improvements. There is a very small chance of the new features and improvements not working properly. If that happens, please report any issue to us.
tngiloy and galonzo like this.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #34600 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, Va.
Posts: 1,607
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1175 Post(s)
Liked: 570
Has anybody who uploaded the Beta to their 203 notice anything other than HDR10+? The second bullet point in the firmware notes always peeks my interest "General fixes and disc compatibility improvements based on recent and upcoming UHD Blu-ray releases as well as user-submitted samples." I buy a lot of the new release when they come out so I like to be as up to date as possible. Then again the fine print always cautions me that says things may not work correct either and there is no reverting back. Are there any glitches? My 203 is doing everything I need it to do currently, which is play discs.

Thanks

Dave-t
Dave-T is offline  
post #34601 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,861
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1321 Post(s)
Liked: 2179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave-T View Post
Has anybody who uploaded the Beta to their 203 notice anything other than HDR10+? The second bullet point in the firmware notes always peeks my interest "General fixes and disc compatibility improvements based on recent and upcoming UHD Blu-ray releases as well as user-submitted samples." I buy a lot of the new release when they come out so I like to be as up to date as possible. Then again the fine print always cautions me that says things may not work correct either and there is no reverting back. Are there any glitches? My 203 is doing everything I need it to do currently, which is play discs.

Thanks

Dave-t
If you're nervous at all about it, I'd wait until it goes mainstream. The whole intent of a beta in anything is to take advance software and bang on it until something breaks. I always assume something will go wrong with it, since you're a guinea pig for the rest of the owners.

Once it breaks (wherever), you work with Oppo to notify them for a fix and go on.

While eternally grateful for stepping into the potholes for me (who will wait for the official release), the expectation is that you will possibly see some sad situation. If not, then great, but as a beta tester, that is the role you choose.
AVfile, tngiloy, galonzo and 4 others like this.
hernanu is offline  
post #34602 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave-T View Post
Has anybody who uploaded the Beta to their 203 notice anything other than HDR10+? The second bullet point in the firmware notes always peeks my interest "General fixes and disc compatibility improvements based on recent and upcoming UHD Blu-ray releases as well as user-submitted samples." I buy a lot of the new release when they come out so I like to be as up to date as possible. Then again the fine print always cautions me that says things may not work correct either and there is no reverting back. Are there any glitches? My 203 is doing everything I need it to do currently, which is play discs.

Thanks

Dave-t
If interested, as you skipped this

Added the "HDMI IN BYPASS" mode for Dolby Vision passthrough via HDMI In.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #34603 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
If you're nervous at all about it, I'd wait until it goes mainstream. The whole intent of a beta in anything is to take advance software and bang on it until something breaks. I always assume something will go wrong with it, since you're a guinea pig for the rest of the owners.

Once it breaks (wherever), you work with Oppo to notify them for a fix and go on.

While eternally grateful for stepping into the potholes for me (who will wait for the official release), the expectation is that you will possibly see some sad situation. If not, then great, but as a beta tester, that is the role you choose.
Well stated - and exactly why I prefer to wait for the official release.

TV:Sony 65A1E Blu ray: Oppo-203 Oppo-103 Speakers: Bose Soundtouch 300 Bose Acoustimass 300
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #34604 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 02:27 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,287
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5838 Post(s)
Liked: 8329
^ If there's a problem in the firmware that affects you, odds are you'll get a fix *FASTER* if you report it during the Beta.

--Bob
perzon57, pjm877, galonzo and 3 others like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #34605 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 8
My apologies if this has been answered.

The latest beta brings new passthrough possibilities. I'm setting up a projector with an Oppo 203 and Xbox one X (No TV will be in the chain, just the Projector).

Projector, Xbox and Oppo will all reside on one side of the room, with an Atmos soundbar on the other side (under the projected image).

I'm planning the following on the beta firmware:

Xbox One X into Oppo 203 passthrough.

Oppo 203 to Projector

Oppo 203 Audio out HDMI to a Cat ethernet HDMI extender to the soundbar.

Will this work with Xbox One X HDR 60hz and Atmos at the same time via the Oppo passthrough on this firmware?

Does the Oppo allow use of the audio out HDMI in addition to the video out HDMI when using passthrough? Or does it limit audio to Video HDMI out only?

If the above is all possible then the Audio side is planned using an ethernet 1080p HDMI extender.

Am I correct in saying the Audio out HDMI of the Oppo does not in anyway interfere with the Video out HDMI? In the sense that Audio out will be via 1080p - it won't limit the Video out HDMI to 1080p?

Does anyone have experience of sending Atmos/DTS:X via Ethernet extenders? Can it be done in the way I hope?

Any downside to this plan?

Thank you for any advice!

Last edited by FredsElbow; 01-02-2019 at 04:31 PM.
FredsElbow is offline  
post #34606 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Is anyone using ATV in to OPPO HDMI and tone mapping? I know the TM BT2020 isn’t working as it should but curious if others have it working to their liking? Last time I tried and watching Netflix I was getting major white scene (out windows or sky with clouds) pulsing or distorting and it just ruined the experience.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tswire is offline  
post #34607 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 09:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 329
So the new beta firmware has corrupted all Dolby Vision on my setup. This is on a HDR10 disc forced to DV and native DV discs.

It looks like the garbled pink/green mess when setting "player led" DV processing on prior firmware.. I did a factory reset and tried changing all the settings I could think of, including DV TV led processing, HDR auto/DV forced, resolution changes. Auto/DV forced and all have the same result. I have an x700 and DV still works fine so it's not the TV.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #34608 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 09:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,436
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5490 Post(s)
Liked: 3892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
So the new beta firmware has corrupted all Dolby Vision on my setup. This is on a HDR10 disc forced to DV and native DV discs.

It looks like the garbled pink/green mess when setting "player led" DV processing on prior firmware.. I did a factory reset and tried changing all the settings I could think of, including DV TV led processing, HDR auto/DV forced, resolution changes. Auto/DV forced and all have the same result. I have an x700 and DV still works fine so it's not the TV.
I have an E6 and had no issue forcing HDR10 to DV with the beta software. Did you try doing a cold reboot of your tv? Unplug tv, depress and hold power button on tv (not remote), for 20 to 25 seconds, plug back in and power up. Do you have the 203 connected directly to the tv or through the AVR first? If the AVR, perhaps it can't handle the new HDR10+ update.
galonzo likes this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D

Last edited by wxman; 01-02-2019 at 10:12 PM.
wxman is online now  
post #34609 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 10:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,229
Mentioned: 158 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1397 Post(s)
Liked: 1843
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredsElbow View Post
My apologies if this has been answered.

The latest beta brings new passthrough possibilities. I'm setting up a projector with an Oppo 203 and Xbox one X (No TV will be in the chain, just the Projector).

Projector, Xbox and Oppo will all reside on one side of the room, with an Atmos soundbar on the other side (under the projected image).

I'm planning the following on the beta firmware:

Xbox One X into Oppo 203 passthrough.

Oppo 203 to Projector

Oppo 203 Audio out HDMI to a Cat ethernet HDMI extender to the soundbar.

Will this work with Xbox One X HDR 60hz and Atmos at the same time via the Oppo passthrough on this firmware?

Does the Oppo allow use of the audio out HDMI in addition to the video out HDMI when using passthrough? Or does it limit audio to Video HDMI out only?

If the above is all possible then the Audio side is planned using an ethernet 1080p HDMI extender.

Am I correct in saying the Audio out HDMI of the Oppo does not in anyway interfere with the Video out HDMI? In the sense that Audio out will be via 1080p - it won't limit the Video out HDMI to 1080p?

Does anyone have experience of sending Atmos/DTS:X via Ethernet extenders? Can it be done in the way I hope?

Any downside to this plan?

Thank you for any advice!
FWIW so far, the passthrough isn't allowing Atmos via Dolby MAT with the ATV4K (the same type of Atmos the XBONE uses for Netflix, not sure about how it handles Atmos from disks).

Note I only tested this scenario using split HDMI output, and I did get normal PCM with the HDMI audio out, as well as 4K video output at the same time, as usual.

Sorry, no experience using ethernet extenders here.
mutelight likes this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.4) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Shield
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Hobbs & Shaw and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #34610 of 37518 Old 01-02-2019, 11:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,790
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 268
I updated to the public beta tonight via USB without issue, except one. When resetting after the update, "Restore Factory Defaults" "Erase Settings" resulted in the "Internet Connection" being reset to "Ethernet" and all of my wireless settings being lost. I thought the wireless account settings were only supposed to be erased if "Erase Accounts and Settings" was selected. This has occurred before when restoring factory defaults. Has anyone else experienced this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Turns out Reset Factory Defaults > Erase Accounts & Settings does *NOT* delete your active WiFi credentials.

In these players all it does is erase server log in credentials.
—Bob
For me both "Erase Settings" and "Erase Accounts and Settings" delete the active WiFi credentials. My Wi-Fi setup requires manual entry of the SSID and I'm wondering if that is why. It is rather annoying to have to re-enter the SSID and password after a restore (they are purposely long and complex to type with many shifts, unshifts, and symbols). I don't recall this ever being an issue with the BPD-103.

Last edited by KC-Technerd; 01-02-2019 at 11:34 PM.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #34611 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 04:22 AM
Senior Member
 
pevco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 31
4K Blu-Ray with HDR10+ ?

Are there any 4K Blu-ray DVD that are offering the new HDR10+ feature.
I have a Sony 5000ES projector that does not project Dolby Vision but will project HDR10+.
What is the difference between DV and HDR10+ ?
pevco is offline  
post #34612 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 04:53 AM
Member
 
lebellium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: France
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
No, your Sony projector doesn't support HDR10+.


You're probably mixing up HDR10 and HDR10+. Just google it.
Wesley Hester and galonzo like this.
lebellium is offline  
post #34613 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 05:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I have an E6 and had no issue forcing HDR10 to DV with the beta software. Did you try doing a cold reboot of your tv? Unplug tv, depress and hold power button on tv (not remote), for 20 to 25 seconds, plug back in and power up. Do you have the 203 connected directly to the tv or through the AVR first? If the AVR, perhaps it can't handle the new HDR10+ update.
It's been a few days and so I don't think a reboot will matter on the TV. It is through the AVR but if this updates breaks compatibility of DV through AVRs that's going to be a huge problem for many people. My AVR is a 2018 model so it should be fine with DV.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #34614 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 05:18 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,329
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 2369
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
I updated to the public beta tonight via USB without issue, except one. When resetting after the update, "Restore Factory Defaults" "Erase Settings" resulted in the "Internet Connection" being reset to "Ethernet" and all of my wireless settings being lost. I thought the wireless account settings were only supposed to be erased if "Erase Accounts and Settings" was selected. This has occurred before when restoring factory defaults. Has anyone else experienced this?



For me both "Erase Settings" and "Erase Accounts and Settings" delete the active WiFi credentials. My Wi-Fi setup requires manual entry of the SSID and I'm wondering if that is why. It is rather annoying to have to re-enter the SSID and password after a restore (they are purposely long and complex to type with many shifts, unshifts, and symbols). I don't recall this ever being an issue with the BPD-103.
Not entirely sure if the settings should be cleared or not on the "Erase Settings" option, but to make your life easier, try connecting a USB keyboard to enter the SSID and password with. It should be a LOT easier than using the arrow and enter keys.
galonzo likes this.
gsr is offline  
post #34615 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 05:21 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,329
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 2369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
It's been a few days and so I don't think a reboot will matter on the TV. It is through the AVR but if this updates breaks compatibility of DV through AVRs that's going to be a huge problem for many people. My AVR is a 2018 model so it should be fine with DV.
If you haven't rebooted the TV since the update, the number of days doesn't matter. It's a really simple diagnostic test to reboot the TV (and might as well reboot the AVR as well) to see if it makes a difference. If it works, then you're all set. If it doesn't work, then your best bet may be to contact Oppo for further assistance.
gsr is offline  
post #34616 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 06:10 AM
Member
 
Greg TB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredsElbow View Post
My apologies if this has been answered.



Am I correct in saying the Audio out HDMI of the Oppo does not in anyway interfere with the Video out HDMI? In the sense that Audio out will be via 1080p - it won't limit the Video out HDMI to 1080p?



Thank you for any advice!
I use both HDMI outs on my 205 because I have unique HDR and Dolby Vision settings on my OLED for disks. All my other other sources' video pass through my Denon receiver and therefor the video adjustments in the OLED effect all those devices equally. The setup works perfectly, but when the Oppo detects both HDMI outputs active it stops all audio to the Video HDMI output, only Video passes through. Just thought I'd make that comment because its an easy point to forget.
galonzo and FredsElbow like this.

OLED65C7P - Denon AVR S920W - Oppo 205 - Apple TV 4K - Bowers & Wilkins 804, HTM2, 805 - SVS PB2000
Greg TB is offline  
post #34617 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 545
OPPO's reply to my question concerning the possibility of supporting pass-through of DOLBY-MAT via the HDMI input (i.e. AT4K's chosen transport stream for Atmos) was "There are no plans at the moment."

Maybe if enough people ask for it, they'll change their minds
tezster is offline  
post #34618 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 07:43 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,287
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5838 Post(s)
Liked: 8329
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
I updated to the public beta tonight via USB without issue, except one. When resetting after the update, "Restore Factory Defaults" "Erase Settings" resulted in the "Internet Connection" being reset to "Ethernet" and all of my wireless settings being lost. I thought the wireless account settings were only supposed to be erased if "Erase Accounts and Settings" was selected. This has occurred before when restoring factory defaults. Has anyone else experienced this?



For me both "Erase Settings" and "Erase Accounts and Settings" delete the active WiFi credentials. My Wi-Fi setup requires manual entry of the SSID and I'm wondering if that is why. It is rather annoying to have to re-enter the SSID and password after a restore (they are purposely long and complex to type with many shifts, unshifts, and symbols). I don't recall this ever being an issue with the BPD-103.
I also use a manual entry process for my WiFi, and have not had the problem you report using this Beta.

It is normal for the Reset to switch back to Ethernet, but your prior WiFi settings should be preserved for easy switch back to WiFi after that.

Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support and they can help you sort this out. You can use the Email Us link on their Support page for the player.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #34619 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by pevco View Post
Are there any 4K Blu-ray DVD that are offering the new HDR10+ feature.
For anyone interested, here's the current list of (released and proposed) 4K HDR10+ discs: https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=300877


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 01-03-2019 at 12:24 PM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #34620 of 37518 Old 01-03-2019, 12:09 PM
Member
 
massimiliano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel View Post
I use this to power my oppo on:

#PON \x0D


and

#POF \x0D

to put it in standby.

____
Axel

Command like these are working, Thanks
massimiliano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off