Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1155 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279164Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #34621 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 12:52 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,545
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4644 Post(s)
Liked: 4495
Quote:
Originally Posted by gankum View Post
Hi
Searched through the forums, but couldnt find. Does anyone know if there is an equivalent version for MAC OS. The link points to a Windows version.

Full disk backups of UHD disks plays fine, without needing to patch via BDMV modifier (or placing them under AVCHD folder) , but Blu-ray disk backups(BDMV) dont play either on 103 or 203, from USB drives.
Running the latest public firmware on both. Clicking on Enter or Play , with folder name(movie) selected , simply opens the sub-folders(BDMV,Certificate), doesnt play. Placing the BDMV,Certificate & others under AVCHD folder doesnt help either. Shutdown & Restarted ( with Standby mode=Energy Efficient), in vain.


Any help appreciated, thanks
See the FAQ for details on this: How do I play full-disc Blu-ray and UHD backups?

It doesn't reference a Mac program, though.

Someone posted the C-source to a command line utility: zap-bdmv, but I don't have a link at the moment. I did not test it. It was in this thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...u-rays-ii.html

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34622 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 04:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
If you haven't rebooted the TV since the update, the number of days doesn't matter. It's a really simple diagnostic test to reboot the TV (and might as well reboot the AVR as well) to see if it makes a difference. If it works, then you're all set. If it doesn't work, then your best bet may be to contact Oppo for further assistance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I have an E6 and had no issue forcing HDR10 to DV with the beta software. Did you try doing a cold reboot of your tv? Unplug tv, depress and hold power button on tv (not remote), for 20 to 25 seconds, plug back in and power up. Do you have the 203 connected directly to the tv or through the AVR first? If the AVR, perhaps it can't handle the new HDR10+ update.
Rebooted the TV, the player, the receiver and no change in the behavior. I also reinstalled the FW on the oppo and did a few more factory resets. No more DV for me.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #34623 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RickD_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Not sure I am understanding the utility of the HDMI In DV pass through feature in the new beta...I thought the purpose of the HDMI In port was to leverage the superior video processing capabilities of the Oppo with the external source device of your choice. What does simply adding DV pass through to the HDMI In accomplish that a DV-capable 4K switcher cannot?

LG 55C6P OLED Display
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (65-0131 firmware)
ELAC unifi B5 Speakers
NAD C316BEE Stereo Amplifier
Nakamichi Shockwafe 9.2 Sound Bar (3.2 firmware)/Xbox One X 4K Gaming Console/Apple TV 4K
RickD_99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34624 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 08:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,958
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2321 Post(s)
Liked: 2174
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickD_99 View Post
Not sure I am understanding the utility of the HDMI In DV pass through feature in the new beta...I thought the purpose of the HDMI In port was to leverage the superior video processing capabilities of the Oppo with the external source device of your choice. What does simply adding DV pass through to the HDMI In accomplish that a DV-capable 4K switcher cannot?
If you already have an Oppo is it an easy way to send audio from a 4K external player to an AVR that does not support 4K and/or HDR/DV.

I use the HDMI input to upscale 720p and 1080i TV channels to 4K.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is online now  
post #34625 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,332
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5400 Post(s)
Liked: 3824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
Rebooted the TV, the player, the receiver and no change in the behavior. I also reinstalled the FW on the oppo and did a few more factory resets. No more DV for me.
How about connecting the 203 directly to your tv? Don't blame the 203 if your AVR can't handle it. DV is by far so much better than HDR10 on a 2016 OLED.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #34626 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,619
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 1666
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
How about connecting the 203 directly to your tv? Don't blame the 203 if your AVR can't handle it. DV is by far so much better than HDR10 on a 2016 OLED.
The AVR is an Onkyo TX-RZ730. Supports DV.
bobknavs is online now  
post #34627 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 09:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,332
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5400 Post(s)
Liked: 3824
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
The AVR is an Onkyo TX-RZ730. Supports DV.
I don't care if it does or not. Rule it out. If the 203 connected to the tv works fine, then it IS the AVR. Why do people always fight the simple test?

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #34628 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 09:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I don't care if it does or not. Rule it out. If the 203 connected to the tv works fine, then it IS the AVR. Why do people always fight the simple test?
Because if my AVR is DV compliant and the player does not work then its the player's problem. It's quite disappointing that oppo cant put out a FW with working DV. I know it's not the receiver because I can get DV out of 3 other devices.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #34629 of 37241 Old 01-03-2019, 09:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,332
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5400 Post(s)
Liked: 3824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
Because if my AVR is DV compliant and the player does not work then its the player's problem. It's quite disappointing that oppo cant put out a FW with working DV. I know it's not the receiver because I can get DV out of 3 other devices.
If you don't want to test it out by connecting directly to your tv, that's fine. The player now has a HDR10+ profile. If your AVR cant handle it, it very well may not work with the DV profile. We gave you a possible solution to test, but if you refuse, then there is nothing we can do for you. You already made the choice to blame the 203.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #34630 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 02:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Boofster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What does HDR+ look like on the info menu?

Also, what piece of info does the video stream have to indicate HDR+?
Boofster is offline  
post #34631 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 04:32 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanop View Post
Is there a way to play a specific file via RS232 code or IP code? I've got thousands of movies in my NAS and with Dune player there's a specific command to play a file. I'm looking for something similar for Oppo which has a clearly better picture, I've digged internet for days with no results.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If you know where the file is in the list numerically, you can use the GoTo command while browsing the list of files. Then Play.
--Bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanop View Post
Ok, but I have to go to Network, select the NAS, then select various folders/subfolders 'til the one containing the file and so can use GOTO command. But I'd need to specify NAS and folder, too. In order to automatize the entire process.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gable74 View Post
If you do THIS you can assign any folder you want to be part of Windows 10 DLNA server file pool. Place a folder in your root drive and assign it to the server list as outlined in the link and you will not have to dig through folders any longer.
I have a similar issue in navigating through my 900+ media files (first world problems, right? ), but I am using folders to hold the media, and the GOTO command does not work for moving around inside the folder containing the movie folders. I just wanted to confirm that it won't work in my use case. My media folder structure is as follows:

Movies/Movie Name (YEAR)/Movie Name (YEAR).mkv -OR- .mp4

So, when I am in the Movies folder, I am just using the left and right arrow / directional keys to move around the folder and find the media folder that contains the media file I want to play, as the GOTO command doesn't do anything in this use case.

When I saw Bob's post, I tried using the GOTO command, and it didn't work, so then I searched the manual for the appearances for the word "GOTO" to see the instructions in case I was doing something incorrectly. I did not find any references to searching media files with the GOTO command, so it would seem that is an undocumented feature?

Thanks for any input.

Mark

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #34632 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 04:41 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I don't care if it does or not. Rule it out. If the 203 connected to the tv works fine, then it IS the AVR. Why do people always fight the simple test?
Isn't HDMI great? Here is an anecdote of the wonders of HDMI as it relates to an AVR.

I too was delaying the simple tests because of competing time interests, and mild difficulty with access to the AVR. However, I intended to act eventually, as I have seen many issues with HDMI (both on this forum and in my personal, complex distribution schemes) that have proven to me that trying multiple combinations is worth a shot.

Mark
deckarep likes this.

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #34633 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok so we got DV with the Oppo thats great. Also for Oled users HDR10 to DV conversion seems to be quite good. Still HDR10+ is for people with older tvs a no go. Is it realistic to expect HDR10+ to DV "conversion" or not? There is probably no statement regarding that and there wont be in the next few months I suppose But HDR10 and DV are good enough anyway.
On the other hand if DV vanishes and HDR10+ takes it place then we got a prob.
Sausage is offline  
post #34634 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 05:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
Because if my AVR is DV compliant and the player does not work then its the player's problem. It's quite disappointing that oppo cant put out a FW with working DV. I know it's not the receiver because I can get DV out of 3 other devices.
If you haven't already... I would suggest you check your AVR's firmware and make sure its on the latest version. 😊

Firmware Updates TX-RZ730 | ONKYO Asia and Oceania Website
https://www.intl.onkyo.com/support/f.../tx-rz730.html
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #34635 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 06:08 AM
Member
 
multiformous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 66
So without an HDR10+ capable display, will "HDR10+" show up in the Extended Info during playback?

Vizio M55-E0 / Onkyo TX-SR706 / OPPO UDP-203 / Playstation 4
SVS Ultra Towers, SVS Prime Center, JBL ES30 (rear), SVS PB-1000
multiformous is offline  
post #34636 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
If you haven't already... I would suggest you check your AVR's firmware and make sure its on the latest version. 😊

Firmware Updates TX-RZ730 | ONKYO Asia and Oceania Website
https://www.intl.onkyo.com/support/f.../tx-rz730.html
I used used the 12/18 (USA) firmware and prior FW and it made no difference.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #34637 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I messaged Oppo a while back asking if theres anything they could do about the unnecessary pop-up box that appears over the WB logo on every new WB UHD telling you what audio channel is being played. They referred it to the engineers, suggesting it mighy be possible to build an option to hide it - if not hard coded as Java. I wonder if they did - and if its included in this beta...?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #34638 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Over the last few weeks I've experimented with digital music through the Oppo 203, copied from CDs (still my go-to source for master quality music)

USB is lightning fast, very responsive and gapless

Streaming from my laptop... isn't.

I'm curious about getting a Synology NAS. What kind of performance can I expect from it via the Oppo? As good as USB? I'm looking for as close to the CD experience as possible.

Thanks!!

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #34639 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 08:13 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1936 Post(s)
Liked: 2325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
Over the last few weeks I've experimented with digital music through the Oppo 203, copied from CDs (still my go-to source for master quality music)

USB is lightning fast, very responsive and gapless

Streaming from my laptop... isn't.

I'm curious about getting a Synology NAS. What kind of performance can I expect from it via the Oppo? As good as USB? I'm looking for as close to the CD experience as possible.
Using SMB or NFS network file shares should be pretty much identical to a locally attached USB storage device. Using DLNA shares is much more variable as it depends heavily on what DLNA server software that's being used. You didn't give us enough info to know how you were accessing the files from your laptop. When you navigated through the Oppo's menu, you presumably went to network - describe what the icon looked like that you selected from there. My hunch is that you used the built in Windows DLNA server.
Crazytrekker likes this.
gsr is offline  
post #34640 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Using SMB or NFS network file shares should be pretty much identical to a locally attached USB storage device. Using DLNA shares is much more variable as it depends heavily on what DLNA server software that's being used. You didn't give us enough info to know how you were accessing the files from your laptop. When you navigated through the Oppo's menu, you presumably went to network - describe what the icon looked like that you selected from there. My hunch is that you used the built in Windows DLNA server.
I'm using oShare Media Server which is the Windows 10 application recommended by Oppo. It's dead easy to use - just drag the folder you want to share into the application window - but it can be very draggy.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #34641 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,729
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3858 Post(s)
Liked: 3087
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiformous View Post
So without an HDR10+ capable display, will "HDR10+" show up in the Extended Info during playback?
It will not.
galonzo likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #34642 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,729
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3858 Post(s)
Liked: 3087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
Over the last few weeks I've experimented with digital music through the Oppo 203, copied from CDs (still my go-to source for master quality music)

USB is lightning fast, very responsive and gapless

Streaming from my laptop... isn't.

I'm curious about getting a Synology NAS. What kind of performance can I expect from it via the Oppo? As good as USB? I'm looking for as close to the CD experience as possible.
I'm using a Synology. Assuming you have a Gbit network you shouldn't experience any issues. I play UHD titles with lossless audio all the time.
BE aware though, that USB still offers a lot better interface on the Oppo, extended audio info, favorites, etc.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #34643 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
I updated to the public beta tonight via USB without issue, except one. When resetting after the update, "Restore Factory Defaults" "Erase Settings" resulted in the "Internet Connection" being reset to "Ethernet" and all of my wireless settings being lost. I thought the wireless account settings were only supposed to be erased if "Erase Accounts and Settings" was selected. This has occurred before when restoring factory defaults. Has anyone else experienced this?



For me both "Erase Settings" and "Erase Accounts and Settings" delete the active WiFi credentials. My Wi-Fi setup requires manual entry of the SSID and I'm wondering if that is why. It is rather annoying to have to re-enter the SSID and password after a restore (they are purposely long and complex to type with many shifts, unshifts, and symbols). I don't recall this ever being an issue with the BPD-103.
I keep a flash drive plugged in to the back of my 203 with some demos for showing off. I also have my settings backed up on it just to make sure that I don’t loose them during updates. If you have an extra one lying around it would be a good insurance policy when doing future updates.

LG OLED55B6P (Calibrated by AVICAL)
Denon AVR-X4200W ** oppo UDP-203 **oppo BDP-103D
HR44 DirecTV ** Panamax 5300 ** Harmony One Universal Remote
Hsu HB-1 MK2 (L, R & S) ** Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) ** Hsu VTF-15H (sub)
Crowson Technology Level 2 Motion System
MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System ** AIRCOM T8 Receiver Cooling Blower
Tom C is offline  
post #34644 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 37
wondering if anyone can help me out, I have the hardware external add-on in the back for the all region access. I havent tested all, but I have quite a few region b blu rays that work fine. However, when I tried playing State of Grace (UK BD Region B) I get the screen that says it must be a region b player in order to play. I take it out then put another region b locked blu ray and it works.
I have version: UDP20X-60-0625
thanks
skads_187 is offline  
post #34645 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 10:43 AM
Member
 
Shoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When I play a network file in a folder, when that file is done playing, the next file in that folder is played and so on. Is there anyway to change that behavior? I want the 203 to stop playing after file that I selected is done playing.
Shoob is offline  
post #34646 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
gadgetfreaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 30
How does scaling of oppo 203 compare to the HDFury Vertex?

The reason I ask is I have Roku Ultra > Arcam 390 (set on bypass) > oppo 203 (resolution set to 4k> HDFury > BenQ 4k laser projector.

I'm using the HDfury to send a HDR signal to it. I have the oppo set to custom 4k resolution output, (should I have it on auto) then it hits the HDFury. If i set the HDFury vertex on bypass i do get a minor picture glitch when i swtich in and out of HDR content.

But if I put the HDFury to upconvert to 422 BT2020 12 bit i dont and the hdmi swtching feels a little faster. but then i'm upconverting HD stuff on the roku like netflix and plex both thru the oppo and the HDfury

I had originally bought the oppo thinking it was the best upscaler, and wanted to try the tonemapping. the BenQ actually looks amazing with HDR sent to it.

so question is should I skip the oppo for upconverting and use the HDFUry, only do oppo and bypass HDFury or, both?

I guess i'm assuming the arcam 390 upscaler isn't as good as those two?
gadgetfreaky is offline  
post #34647 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by robo24 View Post
Same problem here. No amount of power cycling and certified cable switching can get me anything other than what was described, Dolby Vision on a black screen for a few seconds.


Have you had any luck fixing this? I contacted Oppo and the first thing they suggested was to reboot the Apple TV after I got the black screen. That didn’t change anything for me, so I’m waiting to hear back from them again.
met_fan is offline  
post #34648 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,619
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 1666
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I don't care if it does or not. Rule it out. If the 203 connected to the tv works fine, then it IS the AVR. Why do people always fight the simple test?
I'd try the test if it was my issue.

However, the way that your post was worded suggested that you were unaware that the Onkyo is spec'd to pass DV. My sole (intended) point was that it is so specified.
bobknavs is online now  
post #34649 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,332
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5400 Post(s)
Liked: 3824
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I'd try the test if it was my issue.

However, the way that your post was worded suggested that you were unaware that the Onkyo is spec'd to pass DV. My sole (intended) point was that it is so specified.
Thanks for the clarification. The new HDR10+ profile may be whats causing the issue with the AVR anyway. Since the 203 does a handshake with the AVR, the AVR sees the HDR10+ profile, can't handle it, and perhaps causes it to mess up the DV handshake and only passes HDR10 through properly. Since his Sony player does not have the HDR10+ profile, it does not cause confusion in the AVR, thus no issues passing through DV correctly.
SinGA likes this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #34650 of 37241 Old 01-04-2019, 04:28 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,276
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8309
Quote:
Originally Posted by skads_187 View Post
wondering if anyone can help me out, I have the hardware external add-on in the back for the all region access. I havent tested all, but I have quite a few region b blu rays that work fine. However, when I tried playing State of Grace (UK BD Region B) I get the screen that says it must be a region b player in order to play. I take it out then put another region b locked blu ray and it works.
I have version: UDP20X-60-0625
thanks
Erase Persistent Storage in the OPPO and try that disc again. If the disc ever produced that error (perhaps because you had the mod set to a different region), then Resume Play on the disc may cause it to restart showing that same error message. I.e., it isn't even doing the check, but just going straight to the error message since that was where it was playing when you last stopped it. This is a programming error found on a number of discs, but you can't really blame the studio programmers since players aren't SUPPOSED to be able to change Regions. So what you need to do is get rid of the Resume Point so the disc plays from the beginning again.
--Bob
skads_187 likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off