Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1159 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279152Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #34741 of 37234 Old 01-08-2019, 11:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Neil S. Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcomp124 View Post
Thanks Neil. If Roon can do the MQA unfold, what is the format that would be streamed to the Oppo that Roon discovers?
I am also curious what protocol does Roon use? DLNA, UPnP?
Roon sends audio to the Oppo via their own RAAT (Roon Advanced Audio Transport) stream. You can read about it here: https://kb.roonlabs.com/RAAT

Roon can do the first MQA unfold and pass that along to the Oppo. You'll need a renderer downstream if you want the full MQA experience.

If you want to try out Roon with your Oppo there is a 60 day free trial with this code, 0PP0-M1NA-MLB4.

Neil

Neil
Neil S. Bulk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34742 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 04:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcomp124 View Post
Here is the use case I am thinking of.
203 connected to the Marantz 8801 to Lexicon Amp to main speaker system. 8801 is audyssey pro calibrated.
I want to play Tidal music through 203. Yes, the 203 has no apps. But looks like there is workaround with Roon. As I understand Roon can be installed on a desktop in your local subnet. It will then discover the Oppo as an end point. Then you can play Tidal music for example from your Android phone.
Where would MQA be upacked? I don't know. That is why I am asking. I am wondering if the Roon core will help unpack it and then the 203 does the decode and sends LPCM to the marantz or bitstream to the marantz for it to decode.
Does it make sense?
There is very likely a lapse in my understanding as I just came to know about Roon and MQA last night.
Thanks!
Here’s a list of Tidal HIFI supported devices on Tidal’s page. Under Oppo the 203/205 are not listed. There are quite a few options if you the full MQA experience with prices all over the place.
https://tidal.com/us/download

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is offline  
post #34743 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 04:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Had this player for years. Had set up video setting on Auto. Played around, set video for 10bit, video improved, connected to my TCL!

WEIRD?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
davcole is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34744 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 05:41 AM
Member
 
Greg TB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
Here’s a list of Tidal HIFI supported devices on Tidal’s page. Under Oppo the 203/205 are not listed. There are quite a few options if you the full MQA experience with prices all over the place.
https://tidal.com/us/download
The 205 is a Roon endpoint and will be recognized as such IF THE AUDIO USB DAC input is used. The 205, when that input is used, will do both the unfold and render of the MQA encoded audio.

The 203 can do nothing more than pass digital data through itself to the next device. It will not be recognized by Roon nor will it do any MQA related processing.
HSamwel likes this.

OLED65C7P - Denon AVR S920W - Oppo 205 - Apple TV 4K - Bowers & Wilkins 804, HTM2, 805 - SVS PB2000
Greg TB is offline  
post #34745 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg TB View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
Here’s a list of Tidal HIFI supported devices on Tidal’s page. Under Oppo the 203/205 are not listed. There are quite a few options if you the full MQA experience with prices all over the place.
https://tidal.com/us/download
The 205 is a Roon endpoint and will be recognized as such IF THE AUDIO USB DAC input is used. The 205, when that input is used, will do both the unfold and render of the MQA encoded audio.

The 203 can do nothing more than pass digital data through itself to the next device. It will not be recognized by Roon nor will it do any MQA related processing.
I stand corrected and thanks for the education

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is offline  
post #34746 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,716
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3847 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightsky971 View Post
I have a question about case warping. I noticed this when I got my 203 but just thought the feet were probably off. If I put it on some isolation blocks today and it appears that the case is warped. See the rocking in the video. It is still under warranty of course. But my question...is this something I should be concerned about? I appreciate any thoughts/feedback.


https://www.dropbox.com/s/9q0c3uo3i1...%20PM.mov?dl=0
I wouldn't assume its the case itself till I had a good look at the feet. The feet screw in and one could be out of whack.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #34747 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Neil S. Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg TB View Post
The 203 can do nothing more than pass digital data through itself to the next device. It will not be recognized by Roon nor will it do any MQA related processing.
The 203 is a Roon end point. I use it virtually everyday as such.

Neil
KC-Technerd likes this.
Neil S. Bulk is offline  
post #34748 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 12:14 PM
Member
 
THXTEX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Hi

Are anyone else using ARC? With the latest BETA I have noticed that it takes longer time before ARC is connected and ready. I would say that it is gone from less than 1 second to about 4 seconds. CEC is disabled on my Oppo but CEC/Anynet+ is enabled on my Samsung TV.

Could someone else please test?


Kind regards
Thomas

UE55F9005 - SEK-3500U/ZG
OPPO UDP-205EU
ROTEL RB980 + RB985 poweramps
3 Miller & Kreisel MP150 + 2 S150T speakers + 2 V12 subs
THXTEX1 is offline  
post #34749 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1004 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by THXTEX1 View Post
Hi

Are anyone else using ARC? With the latest BETA I have noticed that it takes longer time before ARC is connected and ready. I would say that it is gone from less than 1 second to about 4 seconds. CEC is disabled on my Oppo but CEC/Anynet+ is enabled on my Samsung TV.

Could someone else please test?
I use HDMI ARC from my LG television to the OPPO all the time. I have not noticed any difference with the connectivity speed...

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #34750 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Marc Drake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Down Under...
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightsky971 View Post
I have a question about case warping. I noticed this when I got my 203 but just thought the feet were probably off. If I put it on some isolation blocks today and it appears that the case is warped. See the rocking in the video. It is still under warranty of course. But my question...is this something I should be concerned about? I appreciate any thoughts/feedback.


https://www.dropbox.com/s/9q0c3uo3i1...%20PM.mov?dl=0
I'd be surprised if an 18 Wheeler could warp a 203 chassis!!

Yamaha RX-A3060 / 5.2.2 + Zone 2 | LG OLED65C6T | Oppo UDP-203 | VAF Platform Sub | VAF DC-3 G4MkII x 7
Canton Sub 12.2 | Samsung UA65KS9500 | Samsung C34F791 21:9 Ultrawide | Ruipro 15m HDMI Optic Fiber
Sonos ZP90 / Play5 G2 | VAF MPD SW4 Sub | Canton InWall 465 x 2 | Corsair HTPC / XFX RX Vega 64 | RTI T2-Cs+ RP1
Marc Drake is offline  
post #34751 of 37234 Old 01-09-2019, 08:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
That’s what it was, and what’s better is that Dolby Vision works on my HDMI input now.
So, is there now a newer beta (having the same version for its label) released for all to use? I have an LG tv and until i know for sure this black screen in bypass issue has been resolved i'm reluctant to download this beta.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #34752 of 37234 Old 01-10-2019, 03:25 AM
Senior Member
 
hlindstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 93
No, I think the "special beta" with same fw number as the current Public Beta has been passed only to some people who have complained certain issues directly to Oppo US. They were told "please try this if it works for you, it has some additional fixes". These fixes will surely be included to forthcoming Official FW.
RickD_99 and galonzo like this.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Oppo UDP-203 and Oppo BDP-83 both hw region modded, M9702 v3 "Chinoppo" (65-0131), Apple TV 4K 32GB, LG OLED55E6V 55", Asustor 2-Bay NAS currently 8TB

Last edited by hlindstr; 01-10-2019 at 03:28 AM.
hlindstr is offline  
post #34753 of 37234 Old 01-10-2019, 04:15 AM
Member
 
Greg TB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil S. Bulk View Post
The 203 is a Roon end point. I use it virtually everyday as such.

Neil
Yes, I sit corrected. It is indeed a Roon endpoint. However, it cannot perform any of the MQA decoding, and its only the 205 that has the excellent DAC AND does full MQA decoding which is coveted by users. The 203, which I have also, is an excellent transport and player in the digital arena. Only the digital arena.

I use exclusively Tidal with Roon....and the 205 works flawlessly.

OLED65C7P - Denon AVR S920W - Oppo 205 - Apple TV 4K - Bowers & Wilkins 804, HTM2, 805 - SVS PB2000

Last edited by Greg TB; 01-10-2019 at 04:41 AM.
Greg TB is offline  
post #34754 of 37234 Old 01-10-2019, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlindstr View Post
No, I think the "special beta" with same fw number as the current Public Beta has been passed only to some people who have complained certain issues directly to Oppo US. They were told "please try this if it works for you, it has some additional fixes". These fixes will surely be included to forthcoming Official FW.
Ok, thanks.... I'll hold off til the official release then.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #34755 of 37234 Old 01-10-2019, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Neil S. Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg TB View Post
Yes, I sit corrected. It is indeed a Roon endpoint. However, it cannot perform any of the MQA decoding, and its only the 205 that has the excellent DAC AND does full MQA decoding which is coveted by users. The 203, which I have also, is an excellent transport and player in the digital arena. Only the digital arena.

I use exclusively Tidal with Roon....and the 205 works flawlessly.
Roon can do the first MQA unfold and pass that higher resolution onto the 203. I have two MQA albums (one ripped from an MQA CD) and I've seen this in action. It's not the full experience, but it's a start.

Neil
Neil S. Bulk is offline  
post #34756 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 12:31 AM
Member
 
ph3ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Just wondering what settings owners have on their player for DV & HDR playback? If there are Sony TV owners here that would be even better.

Thanks in advance.
ph3ng is offline  
post #34757 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 01:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1004 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph3ng View Post
Just wondering what settings owners have on their player for DV & HDR playback?
'Auto' for both...
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #34758 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 01:29 AM
Senior Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Like SeeMoreDigital indicated, "Auto".
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR777
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #34759 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph3ng View Post
Just wondering what settings owners have on their player for DV & HDR playback? If there are Sony TV owners here that would be even better.

Thanks in advance.
Everything is on "Auto" on my 203. My Sony's HDR, Colorspace, and RGB settings are also on Auto.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #34760 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 583 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Does the 203 support "seamless branching"?

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57420422

JVC X750R Projector,Yamaha CX-A5200 Pre-Pro, Yamaha RX-Z11 Receiver, (Amps Only) Yamaha MX-D1 Power Amps x 2, Yamaha RX-Z1 (L&R Surround Channel Amp), Oppo BDP-103D BR, Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD, Pioneer Elite CLD-99 LD, Definitive Tech BP7000SC Mains, CLR3000 Center, BPVX Surround Sides&Backs, BPX F&R Presence, Martin Logan Abyss Front L&R Subs/Dynamo L&R Rear Surround Channel Subs, Infinity SSW-210 Center Channel Sub.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #34761 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 01:11 PM
Member
 
ph3ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Everything is on "Auto" on my 203. My Sony's HDR, Colorspace, and RGB settings are also on Auto.
Thank you, everyone. Easy enough.
groove93 likes this.
ph3ng is offline  
post #34762 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,716
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3847 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
Does the 203 support "seamless branching"?

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57420422
That's a misnomer, or at least a misapplication of the terms. There's no such thing as "supporting seamless branching". It is what it is and some players handle it better than others. The Oppo doesn't seem to have any issues with it. I doubt that the Cambridge does either.
galonzo, Mike_WI and codyrocco like this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #34763 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Chicago
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Seamless branching is a fundamental part of DVD and blu-ray. As fundamental as having multiple audio and subtitle tracks. All official DVD/BD players support it.
galonzo likes this.

Media: LG 88" OLED 8K Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" OLED 4K C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #34764 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
Does the 203 support "seamless branching"?

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57420422
The issue here is whether the UDP-203 can output an uninterrupted Dolby TrueHD bitstream over HDMI when encountering a seamless branch transition. The BDP-103 (predecessor of the UDP-203) was supposed to have been able to, but it does not, at least in some circumstances. I have only tried the UDP-203 with one known seamless branching disc, that being "Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan" Director's Cut BD. The 203's handling of this disc is far superior to that of the BDP-103 in this regard. The UDP-203 is able to play the Director's Cut option of the movie from beginning to end (which involves the branch transitions) without any apparent interruption of the Dolby TrueHD bitstream. However when scanning through the disc to play back particular scenes, it still sometimes experiences a brief interruption at the branch transition points. This results in a very brief muting or dropout of audio.

If these brief audio mutes or dropouts are encountered, the workaround is to select LPCM for audio output over HDMI, allowing the UDP-203 to make the bitstream to LPCM conversion. The problem with doing this on an Atmos track is that the Atmos metadata is lost and the result is traditional Dolby TrueHD 7.1 audio (since neither the 103 nor 203, nor any other player I'm aware of, can internally decode and output Atmos via LPCM).

I'm not sure why the Dolby TrueHD bitstream over HDMI is particularly susceptible to interruptions during seamless branch transitions while a DTS-HD Master Audio bitstream is not, and why the players' internal bitstream decoding is not affected. I submitted this issue regarding the BPD-103 to Oppo approximately 2 years ago. Oppo confirmed the issue on one of the discs I was experiencing it with. In April 2018 I was told Oppo had been attempting to get assistance from Dolby in updating the firmware to address the issue.

If there is a player that outputs Dolby TrueHD bitstream (and Atmos) over HDMI from these seamless branching discs without any interruption, I'd like to find it. The UDP-203 so far seems to be almost there. I'll have to try it with my two known issue discs again now that I'm on the new beta firmware. I have found the combination of known seamless branching with Dolby TrueHD audio to be extremely rare, although I have been told there are some titles that use seamless branching for copy protection rather than its intended purpose of incorporating alternate scenes when there are multiple versions of the same program (such as theatrical and director's cuts of the same movie).

Last edited by KC-Technerd; 01-11-2019 at 04:01 PM.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #34765 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 05:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
JohnnytheSkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hartford
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Does anyone force Dolby Vision for all 4k and regular Blu-ray? Can't find any hard info on the pros and cons, or even what's happening with the conversion.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
JohnnytheSkin is offline  
post #34766 of 37234 Old 01-11-2019, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,329
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5399 Post(s)
Liked: 3820
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnytheSkin View Post
Does anyone force Dolby Vision for all 4k and regular Blu-ray? Can't find any hard info on the pros and cons, or even what's happening with the conversion.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
I force it for HDR10 movies because it looks better than HDR10 on my E6 OLED. HDR10 will clip on the high end, and converting to DV will fix that issue and the picture looks a lot better. I don't convert SDR to DV. The picture looks off. I can't speak for how converting everything DV looks on LCD.
meles and galonzo like this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is offline  
post #34767 of 37234 Old 01-12-2019, 02:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1004 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
I'm not sure why the Dolby TrueHD bitstream over HDMI is particularly susceptible to interruptions during seamless branch transitions while a DTS-HD Master Audio bitstream is not, and why the players' internal bitstream decoding is not affected.
I suspect it's due to the Meridian Lossless Packing (MLP)...
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #34768 of 37234 Old 01-12-2019, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 49
No idea what has happened with my Oppo but when I turn it on the picture keeps coming and going. HDMI cords plugged in fine and did a factory default and still it won't show the picture for more than a few seconds.


Also unplugged the power for 5 minutes and that didn't help. Was working fine this morning
yobbo is offline  
post #34769 of 37234 Old 01-12-2019, 03:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by yobbo View Post
No idea what has happened with my Oppo but when I turn it on the picture keeps coming and going. HDMI cords plugged in fine and did a factory default and still it won't show the picture for more than a few seconds.


Also unplugged the power for 5 minutes and that didn't help. Was working fine this morning
Change the HDMI cable and see what happens.
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #34770 of 37234 Old 01-12-2019, 11:48 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
UPDATE: With all the help I received our Harmony Elite and Hub are back in control. It appears that the OPPO players need a power "ON" and a power "OFF" using the unit's power button when there has been a power loss. I had disconnected them from power using their power cords.

***

Both my OPPO players (BDP-93 & UDP-203) have lost IR contact with our Harmony Elite Hub after some house cleaning and reorganization. Both OPPOs respond to their respective controllers.

I'm using a Harmony Elite and it's hub to control all my home entertainment equipment. I have a small room on the other side of a living room wall where the TV is hung. All the other gear is in an open rack that stands beside my computer desk. Until I got my foot tangled up in it's wire I had a mini blaster going from the Hub through the wall to the TV. A new mini blaster will be here today.

The rack holds the cable box, a Roku 3, Roku Ultra, a four to one HDMI switch on the first shelf.

At the moment the next shelf just has the Hub and a power strip for all the transformers.

The third shelf has an OPPO 93 and an OPPO 203.

The fourth shelf has the AVR.

The fifth shelf doesn't have anything that's Harmony controlled. There is nothing on the very top shelf either.

Before I broke the wire to the TV mini blaster, the Hub got IR signals to all components in the rack without needing any special care about the Hub location. That's been true since I added the OPPO 203 to the rack.

Now the Hub is getting IR signals to every component but the two OPPO players on shelf three. I've tried moving the Hub to the OPPO shelf without a response from the players, and then I switched to a mini blaster on the OPPO shelf. The mini blaster is located about four inches from the IR receivers in the OPPO players. There is still no response to commands from the Hub.

Is there anything about disconnecting the OPPO players from power that could put them in a state where they respond to their own controllers but not to the Harmony?

I can't think of anything else to test.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 01-12-2019 at 05:27 PM.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off