Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 116 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279151Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3451 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 03:57 AM
Member
 
Dr Tube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Received my 203 last night, replaced my 105 with it. Running the 203 directly to the Samsung KS8000 (65), 203's audio out to the Anthem 710. UHD working well, firmware installed on the 203 was up to date as shipped.
SACD disc sounded good. More testing this weekend. So far so good.


David
Dr Tube is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3452 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 836 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post
Where does Oppo buy the cables that come with the player? I'd like to order a few of those. For a certified 4k cable they are fairly flexible and easy to manipulate. The mono price 4k cable has some feedback in reviews that it is overly stiff. I bought a couple of monoprice's 4k redmere cables, they are going back. Not very good.
I have 2 10 foot monoprice certified cables in my setup. I saw where people thought they were "stiff" but they are not! Very nice cables and I also have 2 6 foot ones that I also ordered at the same time. You absolutely cannot find a better price for certified cables anywhere. I'm running 4K/60 through one with a Roku Ultra and the 203 through the other one with 4K/24 4.4.4 10 bit!
Gerry
budeone and Adrienn like this.

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
post #3453 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:04 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,530
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4639 Post(s)
Liked: 4485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
This article is the only one I know of that has tested HDMI cables: http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...eY1Pjeqy3KP.97
Thanks for that! I'll put it in the FAQ.

Their results confirm what we find here every day: what works at 24hz may fail at 60hz. Pushing a well-working cable over the edge into failure mode is easy.

The tests are in 4:4:4. I suspect the transition from 4:2:0 to 4:2:2 to 4:4:4 would show failures on other cables.

I saw an industry document somewhere (sorry, no link) from a while ago that they expected 15 feet would be the reasonable maximum for passive cables at these resolutions. The article says that 30 feet is doable with good quality cables.

And finally: "In Round 1 of my testing I determined that HDMI sucks, and I don’t think my opinion will change anytime soon. Sure, it makes hooking up sources much simpler versus the gaggle of analog cables we lived with, but at longer cable lengths, HDMI signals just degrade too quickly".

-Bill
ggw2000 and Adrienn like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3454 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Surfdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 66
OK, does anyone knows how to add "Favorites" to the Favorites tab? Just got the player yesterday and trying to figure that out. Thanks!
Surfdrifter is offline  
post #3455 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:16 AM
Member
 
Holland108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Maybe I am a dummy. I own a 203. Should an UHD disc be played at 24P or 60P.
All UHD discs (18) I own are 24P originally. Playin 24p does not give any stutter. 60P does.
My television is a LG OLED55E6V.

And with all discs the "company intro" is played, no picture there (just grey area) bur HDR10 and HDR signs are shown.
When the menu pops-up, it is OK.

Also some micro stuttering while playing regular blu rays (also 3D, which by the way is stunning).

Does someone also have a Denon 6200 ?

Last edited by Holland108; 12-23-2016 at 04:20 AM.
Holland108 is offline  
post #3456 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:22 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,530
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4639 Post(s)
Liked: 4485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holland108 View Post
Maybe I am a dummy. I own a 203. Should an UHD disc be played at 24P or 60P.
All UHD discs (18) I own are 24P originally. Playin 24p does not give any stutter. 60P does.
My television is a LG OLED55E6V.
In theory it is the same as Blu-ray. Titles recorded at 24hz should be played at 24hz if the display accepts that, which all (?) do these days. Converting them to 60 introduces 3:2 pulldown judder which some people hate a lot, other not so much because they grew up with it.

This is caused by the math: neither player nor display are defective.

So: use UHD 24 or UHD Auto and all should be well.

-Bill
bluemoon737 and Adrienn like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #3457 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:26 AM
Member
 
Holland108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
In theory it is the same as Blu-ray. Titles recorded at 24hz should be played at 24hz if the display accepts that, which all (?) do these days. Converting them to 60 introduces 3:2 pulldown judder which some people hate a lot, other not so much because they grew up with it.

This is caused by the math: neither player nor display are defective.

So: use UHD 24 or UHD Auto and all should be well.

-Bill
Hi Bill, thanks for your swift and clear reaction.
Just dont understand all the 60Hz fuzz then.

Mark
Holland108 is offline  
post #3458 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:48 AM
Newbie
 
jafo09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Exeter, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFR0317 View Post
You said you have a McIntosh MX-121, correct? If so, it does not have HDMI 2.0 inputs/outputs or HDCP 2.2. Instead, it has HDMI 1.4 inputs and outputs and HDCP 1.4.

On the other hand, an MX-122 has full bandwidth HDMI 2.0a inputs and outputs and HDCP 2.2. That should work well with the OPPO 203.
Hi John,

I did say I had an MX121 but it is a MX122 so should have the updated HDMI/HDCP capability. My mistake - the MX121 got wiped out by lightning this summer (another story) and I replaced it with the 122 a couple of months ago.

Mike
jafo09 is offline  
post #3459 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post
Where does Oppo buy the cables that come with the player? I'd like to order a few of those. For a certified 4k cable they are fairly flexible and easy to manipulate. The mono price 4k cable has some feedback in reviews that it is overly stiff. I bought a couple of monoprice's 4k redmere cables, they are going back. Not very good.
I just bought 2 of the 3 foot and using one of them. ( I keep one as spare) They may be a bit stiff, they go in and don't move. I like that better myself because I have so many darn cables and its easier to follow the stiffer cables to other components in my case. I will take a little stiff over them all hanging in a group trying to figure out what cable is what. I guess it depends on your setup.
budeone is offline  
post #3460 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
This article is the only one I know of that has tested HDMI cables: http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...eY1Pjeqy3KP.97
You do realize that article means jack. The STICKER means everything. It means the cable was tested and passed by a 3rd party certified facility. Plenty of companies like Monoprice have a 18gbps HDMI cables, but only one line of what they sell has the certification. That is why you look for the STICKER, that is what it is for.
Spiritvs likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #3461 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:54 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,530
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4639 Post(s)
Liked: 4485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holland108 View Post
Hi Bill, thanks for your swift and clear reaction.
Just dont understand all the 60Hz fuzz then.

Mark
A percentage of Blu-rays are 1080i60 and can't be converted to 24hz, so you'll get 60hz from them. All DVDs produce 60hz by default. There is a player setting to convert them to 24 but depending on how the disc was authored it may produce poor results.

(I'm speaking North American here, as usual. In some other places 50hz is the standard, not 60).

-Bill
storm5m likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #3462 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
JFR0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by jafo09 View Post
Hi John,

I did say I had an MX121 but it is a MX122 so should have the updated HDMI/HDCP capability. My mistake - the MX121 got wiped out by lightning this summer (another story) and I replaced it with the 122 a couple of months ago.

Mike
Hi, Mike. No problem - I was just trying to clarify things. I just replaced my MX121 with an MX122 myself. I also just got an OPPO 203, and it seems to be working perfectly going through the MX122 to my Sony XBR-65Z9D. I am using Blue Jeans Cable Premium Certified 12 ft. HDMI cables.

John
JFR0317 is offline  
post #3463 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 4,549
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
Has anybody yet checked if the internal mod of the 103 for multiregion/zone works in the 203?
Someone on here did the internal mod and said it works. Said it was the same mod, but you should search it instead of trusting my memory.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Why waste $ on more cheap stuff, it's like challenging a dragon with a pocket knife.
muzz is offline  
post #3464 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6047
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Thanks for that! I'll put it in the FAQ.

Their results confirm what we find here every day: what works at 24hz may fail at 60hz. Pushing a well-working cable over the edge into failure mode is easy.

The tests are in 4:4:4. I suspect the transition from 4:2:0 to 4:2:2 to 4:4:4 would show failures on other cables.

I saw an industry document somewhere (sorry, no link) from a while ago that they expected 15 feet would be the reasonable maximum for passive cables at these resolutions. The article says that 30 feet is doable with good quality cables.

And finally: "In Round 1 of my testing I determined that HDMI sucks, and I don’t think my opinion will change anytime soon. Sure, it makes hooking up sources much simpler versus the gaggle of analog cables we lived with, but at longer cable lengths, HDMI signals just degrade too quickly".

-Bill

No offense, but why not simply put "buy a HDMI cable with the premium certificate label" in the FAQ, no need to overcomplicate. Plus last time I checked S&V was not a certified test center.

And if you note, the only Monoprice that passed was the cert cable, that is what people need to focus on when buying UHD cables, not brand names, not prices, but which one has the certification.
RichB and ggw2000 like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #3465 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 04:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carter D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Thanks for that! I'll put it in the FAQ.

Their results confirm what we find here every day: what works at 24hz may fail at 60hz. Pushing a well-working cable over the edge into failure mode is easy.

The tests are in 4:4:4. I suspect the transition from 4:2:0 to 4:2:2 to 4:4:4 would show failures on other cables.

I saw an industry document somewhere (sorry, no link) from a while ago that they expected 15 feet would be the reasonable maximum for passive cables at these resolutions. The article says that 30 feet is doable with good quality cables.

And finally: "In Round 1 of my testing I determined that HDMI sucks, and I don’t think my opinion will change anytime soon. Sure, it makes hooking up sources much simpler versus the gaggle of analog cables we lived with, but at longer cable lengths, HDMI signals just degrade too quickly".

-Bill
Bill, are HDMI cables directional at longer lengths? I had some older cables from Ultralink that had arrows on them. I also had a customer who installed a long cable (not sure how long) that didn't work at all until he reinstalled the cable with the correct direction. This before the days of 4K. Jeff Boccaccio of DPL labs is pretty much the authority on HDMI. Just curious.
https://www.google.com/search?q=jeff...&client=safari

LG 65 EF 9500,Yamaha 3050,Oppo 203
Directv C61 4K box, Apple TV, SONOS Connect
Triad Bronze Center, Triad Bronze LR-H Atmos, Elan inwall surrounds, Velodyne Subs,
Savant Remote, Harmony Ultimate Home remote
"It ain't 4K if it ain't shot in 4K"
Carter D is offline  
post #3466 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 05:06 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,530
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4639 Post(s)
Liked: 4485
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
No offense, but why not simply put "buy a HDMI cable with the premium certificate label" in the FAQ, no need to overcomplicate. Plus last time I checked S&V was not a certified test center.
I already had the label in the FAQ, but I think test reports are valuable. I'll add more if we come across them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carter D View Post
Bill, are HDMI cables directional at longer lengths?
The chipped cables like Redmere certainly are. If the cables had arrows I'd obey them.

-Bill
gadgtfreek likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #3467 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 05:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1711 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
@Neuromancer we are now 114 pages into this thread as op would it be possible please be able to document the issues people have listed in the opening post. and the suggested work arounds. people are just repeatedly coming here looking for solutions where for many issues work arounds have already been mentioned.if there are issues such as stuttering and there is no solution at least can still list and people know its an issue and they arent the first to come cross it and are not alone.

at present the OP is just some sales fluff and how to do a firmware updrade adding these things will be quite helpful for what is an owners thread

additionally your firmware release number listed in the opening post is the US one. we in australia for instance receive a separate firmware and worth listing the current one for that. can provide details for that if needed.
I decided to do that... not all OP will update their threads ala the Denon and Marantz ones..
Which is why I created this:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post49162545
Please post your findings there..
I will try and reach Oppo reps in our area too.
petetherock is offline  
post #3468 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 05:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,316
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 982 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz View Post
Someone on here did the internal mod and said it works. Said it was the same mod, but you should search it instead of trusting my memory.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
Thanks! Found a shop which sells the mod for 69$ delivered so will be on the safe side and sell my 103/D with modding installed!
westmd is offline  
post #3469 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 05:21 AM
Member
 
ze324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfdrifter View Post
OK, does anyone knows how to add "Favorites" to the Favorites tab? Just got the player yesterday and trying to figure that out. Thanks!
The Option key is the most important key on the remote.
Surfdrifter and wl1 like this.
ze324 is offline  
post #3470 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Surfdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by ze324 View Post
The Option key is the most important key on the remote.
Hehe! I know! I'm pretty sure that I tried that last night, but probably I missed something! I was trying to add a NFS folder to favorites.

Thanks.
Markvm051 likes this.
Surfdrifter is offline  
post #3471 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 06:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I got my Oppo a couple of days ago. Got it set up and had about 5 minutes to play with it. I have the Audio going to an MRX700 using a monster cable (don't remember which one, maybe the 1000hd). I am using the Monster Black Diamond cable for Video going directly to the TV which is a Mits 82" RP. In my 5 minutes of use everything seemed to work fine. I put in Star Trek Beyond uhd and it played fine for the few minutes I played. I did get the message about for best playback, etc... but it was just a message. I'll try and get downstairs to use it more but it is getting difficult with kids to use my set up. I do have a 32GB USB3 flash drive coming in today to put my Zep FLAC files on and try them out.

I do need to go through the manual to see what i can tweak. I don't have an atmos setup only 7.1 and the mits is only a 1080p display but until it does I can't get anything else.
rwheelwright is offline  
post #3472 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
In theory it is the same as Blu-ray. Titles recorded at 24hz should be played at 24hz if the display accepts that, which all (?) do these days. Converting them to 60 introduces 3:2 pulldown judder which some people hate a lot, other not so much because they grew up with it.

This is caused by the math: neither player nor display are defective.

So: use UHD 24 or UHD Auto and all should be well.

-Bill
according to one of the experts at VE shootout a few years ago..the tv does not stutter. It is your brain and eyes failing to recognize 60fps. The brain cannot handle that much motion so the screen appears to stutter but on test equipment it is a perfect clean video.Just another example on technology failure where just because it measures perfect on machines, doesn't mean you and I can see or hear it properly. On the other hand..lot's of happy Terminators out there..lol
gene9p is offline  
post #3473 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 06:44 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carter D View Post
Bill, are HDMI cables directional at longer lengths? I had some older cables from Ultralink that had arrows on them. I also had a customer who installed a long cable (not sure how long) that didn't work at all until he reinstalled the cable with the correct direction. This before the days of 4K. Jeff Boccaccio of DPL labs is pretty much the authority on HDMI. Just curious.
https://www.google.com/search?q=jeff...&client=safari
Some cables are "active" cables: They have a chunk of electronics in one of the plug ends, powered by the player's socket. Redmere technology cables are the prime example.

Such cables are indeed "directional", and won't work properly if you plug them in the wrong way around.
--Bob
ggw2000 and dashcam88 like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #3474 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jimim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NEPA
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I already had the label in the FAQ, but I think test reports are valuable. I'll add more if we come across them.



The chipped cables like Redmere certainly are. If the cables had arrows I'd obey them.

-Bill
Vanco brand i mentioned above a bunch of pages back. I'm running 10' runs to my LG from a mranttz. 6' runs from oppo to marantz. Im using HDR on, auto UDH, 444, 12 bit. I haven't had any signal issues with DVD's, blur's, 4k,HDR, and the home menu.

They are certified labeled.

Very cheap also.

jim
wmcclain likes this.
jimim is offline  
post #3475 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 06:49 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
Quote:
Originally Posted by chhanthony View Post
Shocking news from facebook....someone check the Oppo UDP-203 HDMI main output, the bandwidth only have 8.9Gbps and whatever you set the color depth 8,10 or 12 bit, it will only output 8 bit

. . . .
Their test results are at odds with the fact that 4K/60 4:4:4 carries HDR-10 signals to HDR-capable displays. The HDR-10 signal must be at least 10 bit to do that, and in 4:4:4 format is thus more than 8.9Gbps.

Odds are this will simply turn out to be a bad handshake with their test equipment. That could be a setup problem in their equipment, or a bug in how the 203 handshakes with their equipment, but it clearly does not reflect what is going on with real UHD/HDR displays.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #3476 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
Thanks! Found a shop which sells the mod for 69$ delivered so will be on the safe side and sell my 103/D with modding installed!
I did it - 103 mod on a 203 works perfectly.......

Display : JVC X7000 Projector | SE 103" Enlightor 4k | LG 65B6 OLED |
Sources : Panasonic UDP 700 & Vertex| Apple TV4k | HTPC | Sky Q UHD Satellite | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Marantz 8802A | Genelec 8050 LCR | Monitor Audio IDC Sides & Rears | Seaton Sub Master/Slave |
AidenL is online now  
post #3477 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Gary Bechtold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Some cables are "active" cables: They have a chunk of electronics in one of the plug ends, powered by the player's socket. Redmere technology cables are the prime example.

Such cables are indeed "directional", and won't work properly if you plug them in the wrong way around.
--Bob
I tried them in the past and hated them. They added noticeable lag in syncing everything up. That was the first line of Redmere cables from Monoprice. I've gone to passive high speed Monoprice and had far less troubles.
Gary Bechtold is offline  
post #3478 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Blair, NE
Posts: 3,780
Mentioned: 314 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1535 Post(s)
Liked: 1837
Quote:
Originally Posted by chhanthony View Post
Shocking news from facebook....someone check the Oppo UDP-203 HDMI main output, the bandwidth only have 8.9Gbps and whatever you set the color depth 8,10 or 12 bit, it will only output 8 bit

https://www.facebook.com/Unify-Color...4379923604032/
I also have the Murideo Fresco Six-A and my OPPO UDP-203 is fine. I've tested 8, 10, and 12 bit output. The person that posted those pictures has the wrong EDID loaded into the Murideo. Nobody would get HDR if the OPPO only output 8 bits.
gsr, Brandon B, muzz and 6 others like this.

Ponderosa Theater
High Impact AV
- ISF Level III Video Calibrator, THX-HAA HT3 Audio Designer/Calibrator
desertdome is offline  
post #3479 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 07:12 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
^ What he said.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #3480 of 37220 Old 12-23-2016, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CJArciola, III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: CT
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant DeLorean View Post
No supposedly about it. My empathy is not in question, if they had not made it clear early on that they were not reading the emails they were responding to there would have been no issue. And in the jobs I held, not solving the issue was not an option. Even if it involved building and prepping a new server and flying it out and following in person to install it and check everything else on site. Seriously. Tier 2, and especially 3, is not the front line screeners (those are tier 1). Your personal attack, and that is all your post was, is unwarranted. You have psychicly deduced that the messages sent to them were not thorough and clear, and launched your attack on me in defense of Oppo. Fanboyism is not a pretty thing. That one thing, and only that one thing, introduces handshake problems and the problem does not exist when that one thing is removed from the chain is telling. If you actually read the message you based your attack on, you will see that every bit of UHD gear works as expected when directly attached to any of the 3 HDCP 2.2 ports on the AVR, or directly attached to the TV, with any of the cables in play. Though it started as trying to connect one of them through the HDMI IN port on the 203, all ended up getting tried to see if anything could get through (and nothing does). Care to try again, or have you gotten all the ad hominem attacks out of your system for the day?
I also have problems with the HDMI IN port. Can't get my Samsung cable box to work, even though it works fine through my AVR and when attached directlly to my LG Oled. I was told to change cables, hook the Oppo directly to the TV, disconnect the audio out HDMI, all things I explained in my message to them that I had tried and did not produce positive results. I even explained that my MacBook worked on the HDMI IN, but not the Samsung. One day later I received a response that there is an appararent incompatibility issue with the Samsung box because of another reported case. It did take me three separate contacts.
CJArciola, III is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off