Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1163 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279158Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #34861 of 37234 Old 01-23-2019, 10:51 AM
Member
 
chrisf16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsraining View Post
I don't have a receiver. I have a Vanity HD board, and that goes straight into some Meridian DSP speakers.
Ah, well that reminds me of another fine detail in my troubleshooting steps. I forgot to mention that I had also tested eliminating the HDMI audio passthrough to the receiver by using the 7.1 analog outputs from the 203. That removed any receiver HDMI 1.3 or non-Atmos factors from the problem equation. I still had the same format delays and popping sounds as well as the ATV4K hangup.

It looks like the "repeater" (as Bob called it, I called it being the "middleman") function of the Oppo isn't the culprit, it's the source negotiating the audio format with the Oppo itself. Even with my 203 accepting the audio handshake and outputting analog 7.1 I still had this problem. [EDIT] Before anyone asks, I also should note that when using analog out, I turned HDMI audio out OFF so there should not have been any "phantom" handshaking going on over the HDMI cable with the legacy receiver while using analog 7.1 audio. [/EDIT]

I remember when I discovered this, I decided not to call out the Oppo for having this issue on this forum since I'm a brand new owner (bought it at scalper prices to prep for my upcoming 4k projector) and have no previous experience with these players. I figured having a legacy receiver and HDTV on the other end of the chains was a factor. Also I had mentioned my ATV4K problem on here and it didn't sound familiar to anyone so the group's conclusion was to replace the ATV. Now at least there are 2 of us with the same problem. It would sure be nice to figure out a way around it (without dumbing all audio down to 5.1).

Last edited by chrisf16; 01-23-2019 at 10:56 AM.
chrisf16 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34862 of 37234 Old 01-23-2019, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisf16 View Post
Ah, well that reminds me of another fine detail in my troubleshooting steps. I forgot to mention that I had also tested eliminating the HDMI audio passthrough to the receiver by using the 7.1 analog outputs from the 203. That removed any receiver HDMI 1.3 or non-Atmos factors from the problem equation. I still had the same format delays and popping sounds as well as the ATV4K hangup.
Thats really good to know. Was contemplating putting the analog board back in, but I'll skip that now. Thanks.
itsraining is offline  
post #34863 of 37234 Old 01-23-2019, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Where abouts in the setup is HDMI bypass found?
yobbo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34864 of 37234 Old 01-23-2019, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 157 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1380 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
@yobbo , it comes up as an option when you select inputs
yobbo likes this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Scarface and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #34865 of 37234 Old 01-23-2019, 02:22 PM
Member
 
barryc46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by yobbo View Post
Where abouts in the setup is HDMI bypass found?
Press the INPUT button on the remote. It will be in the list.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
barryc46 is offline  
post #34866 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Is HLG supported by this player or can it pass through the HDMI input in bypass? I noticed HLG is popping up on youtube and some cable and dish as well.

Last edited by Sound & Vision; 01-24-2019 at 07:40 AM.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #34867 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
Is HLG supported by this player or can it pass through the HDMI input in bypass? I noticed HLG is popping up on youtube and some cable and dish as well.
It can play HLG media files over USB and network..

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #34868 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
It can play HLG media files over USB and network..
Great, Thank you.. 😊
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #34869 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,952
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2316 Post(s)
Liked: 2170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
Is HLG supported by this player or can it pass through the HDMI input in bypass? I noticed HLG is popping up on youtube and some cable and dish as well.
I posted earlier that I was able to pass Directv 4K HLG through the Oppo HDMI input when HDMI IN BYPASS is selected. Does not pass when HDMI IN is selected.
galonzo likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
post #34870 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
I posted earlier that I was able to pass Directv 4K HLG through the Oppo HDMI input when HDMI IN BYPASS is selected. Does not pass when HDMI IN is selected.
Ok Tnx... So i suppose this means non of the 203's advanced video settings will work... What about the 203's ability to zoom... Is that bypassed as well when HDMI bypass is selected?
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #34871 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisf16 View Post
Ah, well that reminds me of another fine detail in my troubleshooting steps. I forgot to mention that I had also tested eliminating the HDMI audio passthrough to the receiver by using the 7.1 analog outputs from the 203. That removed any receiver HDMI 1.3 or non-Atmos factors from the problem equation. I still had the same format delays and popping sounds as well as the ATV4K hangup.
This thread gave me the idea to check the output settings of the Roku. I had it set to DD/DTS because it was driving my 561 over toslink. When I set it to "Auto (HDMI)" the popping during navigation stopped. I still get a pop switching between Netflix and Prime, and occasionally navigating in Prime, but I can live with it.
itsraining is offline  
post #34872 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HDR10+
I've reported single file problem (m2ts/mkv) that the player doesn't detect HDR10+ to Oppo 2 weeks ago and today they contacted me to upload a shorter sample file to them. Nice to see they look into this as they wrote "why the player is not functioning as expected".
SeeMoreDigital likes this.
avsforum2 is offline  
post #34873 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1004 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsforum2 View Post
HDR10+
I've reported single file problem (m2ts/mkv) that the player doesn't detect HDR10+ to Oppo 2 weeks ago and today they contacted me to upload a shorter sample file to them. Nice to see they look into this as they wrote "why the player is not functioning as expected".
Out of interest...

I've probably missed it, but how many people here with a new spec Panasonic or Samsung HDR10+ capable TV's have confirmed that when the OPPO spins HDR10+ discs that they actually work correctly?


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #34874 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 02:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Out of interest...

I've probably missed it, but how many people here with a new spec Panasonic or Samsung HDR10+ capable TV's have confirmed that when the OPPO spins HDR10+ discs that they actually work correctly?


Cheers
All full HDR10+ discs has worked for me.
SeeMoreDigital likes this.
avsforum2 is offline  
post #34875 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 10:23 PM
Member
 
dgrfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can someone please confirm this issue on a UDP-203 (or 205):

Play a DV encoded UHD/4K disc (such as the last Star Wars or Mission Impossible) in the UDP-203 and set the video output to Custom and Custom Resolution to 720p. Does the output from the UDP actually produce a downconverted 720p/60 Hz signal to the display/panel or not?

Seems like it should, per the settings, but I am told that apparently the only actual output of DV encoded UHD/4K discs (as opposed to non-DV encoded UHD discs) lower than 4K is 1080p/60 Hz, no matter what, and the UDP-203/205 will not down convert such discs to any other video output resolution. For people with legacy panels that can't accept 1080p/60 Hz signals this would mean that one simply can not play/view any DV-encoded UHD discs whatsoever. Why would one want to play them? I have a still nice display/panel (Pioneer) but have a Dolby Atmos audio chain setup and system. Often one can't get the Atmos track on Blu-ray and needs to get the UHD disc for that, but if it can't be played then it is obviously producing the unusual circumstance that one can't get immersive Dolby Atmos audio on DV-encoded video discs, even if the player is (technically) capable of playing them. Have definitely not had success playing recent DV-encoded rental UHV discs in such a setup and was thinking that maybe a firmware update would fix the issue on the UDP203, but it will not do so if it just isn't even allowed per the DV licensing spec for some (not helpful in this case) reason.
AVfile likes this.
dgrfan is offline  
post #34876 of 37234 Old 01-24-2019, 10:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drem View Post
You change the font size in the streaming application on the source side? Or is it possible to change font size in the Oppo?
Playback directly via OPPO, no other streamer involved. Subtitle size can be/IS changed in the OPPO settings.
Whirlpool0548 likes this.
blackie333 is offline  
post #34877 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 12:00 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgrfan View Post
Can someone please confirm this issue on a UDP-203 (or 205):

Play a DV encoded UHD/4K disc (such as the last Star Wars or Mission Impossible) in the UDP-203 and set the video output to Custom and Custom Resolution to 720p. Does the output from the UDP actually produce a downconverted 720p/60 Hz signal to the display/panel or not?

Seems like it should, per the settings, but I am told that apparently the only actual output of DV encoded UHD/4K discs (as opposed to non-DV encoded UHD discs) lower than 4K is 1080p/60 Hz, no matter what, and the UDP-203/205 will not down convert such discs to any other video output resolution. For people with legacy panels that can't accept 1080p/60 Hz signals this would mean that one simply can not play/view any DV-encoded UHD discs whatsoever.
I am not surprised by your results, as I have reported the 60Hz motion issues when outputting at 1080p to Oppo , who have failed to fix this 24Hz/60Hz conversion. They have blamed something about bandwidth and Dolby (though Dolby confirmed they have no such constraint imposed by them). Panasonic players do NOT do this.

The only workaround I have found is to make a back up - and play it over the network. The back up shows HDR (not DV) and so normal Oppo processing / tone mapping etc is in play AND at 24Hz. And immersive sound is available too.
AVfile and galonzo like this.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #34878 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
I have that same problem with Star Trek II - except mine nearly always drops out during the "What about Reliant? She's on her way" scene. I had a similar problem with it on my older Panasonic player. Its fine when outputting by PCM.

I gather the disc may have some mastering issues. It doesnt appear to happen with any other branching titles. It would be nice if Oppo could find a fix for it.
Star Trek II (Director's Cut) has the rather rare combination of seamless branching and Dolby TrueHD audio. The only other title in my collection that has that combination is the 2011 "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" BD. I normally let it play the default DTS-HD Master Audio track which has no issues, but after finding the issue with STII, I tried both the English and French Dolby TrueHD tracks and found them to result in completely identical dropouts at many of the branching points (many more than STII) on my BDP-103. I have yet to test that disc with the UDP-203. CEIIIK is the disc that Oppo and another forum member confirmed identical audio dropouts on. Again the DTS_HD MA track on the same disc plays seamlessly. I don't believe this is a mastering issue. The Dolby TrueHD tracks will also play seamlessly via LPCM over HDMI. STII will play back seamlessly on the UDP-203 if I watch it from beginning to end, but if I chapter skip or scan to the scene with the discussion in Kirk's quarters, then I get one brief audio dropout in that scene.

Yes, the dropouts only occur when bitstreaming audio over HDMI. They do not occur if LPCM output is selected.

Last edited by KC-Technerd; 01-25-2019 at 07:35 AM.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #34879 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
Star Trek II (Director's Cut) has the rather rare combination of seamless branching and Dolby TrueHD audio. The only other title in my collection that has that combination is the 2011 "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" BD. I normally let it play the default DTS-HD Master Audio track which has no issues, but after finding the issue with STII, I tried both the English and French Dolby TrueHD tracks and found them to result in completely identical dropouts at many of the branching points (many more than STII) on my BDP-103. I have yet to test that disc with the UDP-203. CEIIIK is the disc that Oppo and another forum member confirmed identical audio dropouts on. Again the DTS_HD MA track on the same disc plays seamlessly. I don't believe this is a mastering issue. The Dolby TrueHD tracks will also play seamlessly via LPCM over HDMI. STII will play back seamlessly on the UDP-203 if I watch it from beginning to end, but if I chapter skip or scan to the scene with the discussion in Kirk's quarters, then I get one brief audio dropout in that scene.
I don't have the Blu-ray version of the Director's Cut of The Wrath of Khan but do have it on DVD - and I've always felt that the theatrical version's ending of that scene with "What about Reliant? It's on its way?" was much more dramatic than continuing on to the weak response by Carol Marcus. Not all Director's Cuts qualify to be told "Yours is superior."
chrisf16 likes this.

Philnick is offline  
post #34880 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader424242 View Post
Indeed, the only dropout I heard was on the 103, during the "Genesis" explanation is Kirk's quarters, in the moral debate between Spock and McCoy. It was a split-second dropout in the middle of one of Spock's sentences, almost like a crack in his voice (and not at a branching point). I was also unable to reproduce it on later viewings of the scene...?!? I also tried it back on the 5000ES (which I keep in my rack for CD playback... the DACs are second-to-none) and heard no dropouts there either...
My audio system uses ES9016 SABRE32 Ultra DACs, however you want to rate those. The moral debate between Spock and McCoy in Kirk's quarters is a seamless branching scene. (There are differences between the theatrical cut and the director's cut in this scene.) Sometimes the audio dropouts aren't precisely at the branch point, but they are near them. That is the one scene where I still do have an audio dropout using the 203, but only if I scan or chapter skip to the scene, not if I play the disc from beginning to end.

Here's my post on the dropouts I had with the 103. Mine is a 103 and not a 103D so there may be a difference between the two. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post54666000
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #34881 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Can the Blu-ray version of the Director's Cut of The Wrath of Khan be played back as the Theatrical Version? I have the Theatrical Version on Blu-ray but have heard that the video was improved for the Director's Cut.

PS Why can't I find any of the Shatner and Nimoy movies in the movie review database here?

UPDATE: I found a thread about this release here - not in the review database! - that says it contains both versions but the video has less vibrant color!


Last edited by Philnick; 01-25-2019 at 10:59 AM.
Philnick is offline  
post #34882 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,357
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Did the recent beta get promoted yet?
artur9 is offline  
post #34883 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 185
I bought the external region-free kit for the 103 that folks here have said also works with the 203. Do those also work for UHD disks or just standard Blu-rays?

Philnick is offline  
post #34884 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
kemac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mesa,AZ
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
I bought the external region-free kit for the 103 that folks here have said also works with the 203. Do those also work for UHD disks or just standard Blu-rays?
UHD disks do not use/have regions.
stikle likes this.
kemac is online now  
post #34885 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 157 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1380 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgrfan View Post
Can someone please confirm this issue on a UDP-203 (or 205):

Play a DV encoded UHD/4K disc (such as the last Star Wars or Mission Impossible) in the UDP-203 and set the video output to Custom and Custom Resolution to 720p. Does the output from the UDP actually produce a downconverted 720p/60 Hz signal to the display/panel or not?

Seems like it should, per the settings, but I am told that apparently the only actual output of DV encoded UHD/4K discs (as opposed to non-DV encoded UHD discs) lower than 4K is 1080p/60 Hz, no matter what, and the UDP-203/205 will not down convert such discs to any other video output resolution. For people with legacy panels that can't accept 1080p/60 Hz signals this would mean that one simply can not play/view any DV-encoded UHD discs whatsoever...
What, Solo doesn't count as the last Star Wars (this one doesn't have DV anyway)

Episode VIII plays fine in 720/60p here, BTW (203's extended info plus my display's on-screen info of the incoming signal):
Click image for larger version

Name:	SWTLJ_720p.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	2516042

edit: oh yeah, my display doesn't support DV, but it does support HDR-10; so all DV disks automatically revert to HDR-10. At any rate, here's with HDR=Off(REC.709):
Click image for larger version

Name:	SWTLJ_720pSDR.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	2516098
AVfile likes this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Scarface and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)

Last edited by galonzo; 01-25-2019 at 11:52 AM. Reason: added HDR=Off example
galonzo is offline  
post #34886 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
peteS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
Is HLG supported by this player or can it pass through the HDMI input in bypass? I noticed HLG is popping up on youtube and some cable and dish as well.
Check out this link - https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57439842 - Claw tested HLG on HDMI In Bypass successfully.
peteS is offline  
post #34887 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
I bought the external region-free kit for the 103 that folks here have said also works with the 203. Do those also work for UHD disks or just standard Blu-rays?
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemac View Post
UHD disks do not use/have regions.
Ok, so the British UHD package I was looking at that said it was region coded for there only means that the BD is that region, and the UHD is usable anywhere?

Philnick is offline  
post #34888 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
I also use a manual entry process for my WiFi, and have not had the problem you report using this Beta.

It is normal for the Reset to switch back to Ethernet, but your prior WiFi settings should be preserved for easy switch back to WiFi after that.

Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support and they can help you sort this out. You can use the Email Us link on their Support page for the player.
—Bob
I received the following replies from Oppo.

Quote:
That is the expected behavior. The account information is not in regards to WiFi accounts.
Quote:
We just tested on an UDP-203 with the beta firmware and the WiFi credentials were cleared with Erase Settings. We've also verified with our Engineers that this is the expected behavior.
Again the specific behavior I'm experiencing is: "Restore Factory Defaults" "Erase Settings" results in the "Internet Connection" being reset to "Ethernet" and my wireless settings being lost. I do use a hidden network (SSID). I've tested it again repeatedly and found that if I switch back to Wireless (from Ethernet) after the reset I am given the Scan, Manual, and WPS options, rather than the "Your previous wireless settings have been found. Do you want to use them or start with new settings?" pop-up message. If I go to Scan, I do see my hidden network SSID listed as if it had been remembered, but it shows up four times in the list, once with a dot next to it, the other three without. If I select it, I still have to enter my password. This also occurred with the previous UDP20X-60-0625 firmware.

Again, I do NOT get the "Your previous wireless settings have been found. Do you want to use them or start with new settings?" pop-up message when I switch back to wireless after performing a reset. Instead I get the "Scan, Manual, and WPS” options. If I go to “Manual” I have to type in my SSID and password again. If I go to “Scan” then it does show my hidden SSID listed 4 times (among the other SSIDs in the area), with one of them having a dot next to it. If I select any one of the four listings of my hidden SSID, I still have to manually enter the password.

My Wifi credentials are deleted whether “Erase Settings” or “Erase Accounts and Settings” is selected. The only thing that is retained is the SSID showing in the “Scan” list (rather than being hidden) and for some reason it shows up four times instead of one. Unless I’m missing something my Wifi password is not retained when a reset is performed.

This is the exactly as I described it to Oppo.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #34889 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
kemac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mesa,AZ
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Ok, so the British UHD package I was looking at that said it was region coded for there only means that the BD is that region, and the UHD is usable anywhere?
Correct, regular BDs use region coding, UHD does not.
kemac is online now  
post #34890 of 37234 Old 01-25-2019, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Drem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackie333 View Post
Playback directly via OPPO, no other streamer involved. Subtitle size can be/IS changed in the OPPO settings.
Hmm you mean Closed caption settings? Changing this changes nothing on my subtitles. Regardless orgiginal disc BD / UHD playback or .mkt files. Am I doing something wrong?

Last edited by Drem; 01-25-2019 at 02:17 PM.
Drem is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off