Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 117 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279168Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3481 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 07:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertdome View Post
I also have the Murideo Fresco Six-A and my OPPO UDP-203 is fine. I've tested 8, 10, and 12 bit output. The person that posted those pictures has the wrong EDID loaded into the Murideo. Nobody would get HDR if the OPPO only output 8 bits.
A question for you, since you've done this testing: What does the Murideo show when the OPPO Extended Info reports Main HDMI Output is putting out 4K/60 4:2:2 10b or 4K/24 4:2:2 10b? Does the Murideo say it is receiving 10b or 12b?

Set Custom > UHD 60Hz or UHD 24Hz, Color Space 4:2:2, and Color Depth 10-bit and play a movie. Press and hold Info until the Extended Info display comes up. Use Up/Down Arrow to scroll to view the HDMI (Main) Output information and confirm the output is indeed 4K/60 or 4K/24 at YCbCr 4:2:2 10-bit. Then check what the Murideo says it is receiving for Color Depth.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3482 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdack View Post
Someone said here or the UK site they had success with 103 app if majesty entering the IP address
. Scan won't work
I only tested on Android. Using the Oppo app only works if you use the "Media Control" app and connect with the 203's IP address. If you use the "Remote Control" app, you get "Connection failed".
TimWelborn likes this.
thxman is offline  
post #3483 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 07:38 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJArciola, III View Post
I also have problems with the HDMI IN port. Can't get my Samsung cable box to work, even though it works fine through my AVR and when attached directlly to my LG Oled. I was told to change cables, hook the Oppo directly to the TV, disconnect the audio out HDMI, all things I explained in my message to them that I had tried and did not produce positive results. I even explained that my MacBook worked on the HDMI IN, but not the Samsung. One day later I received a response that there is an appararent incompatibility issue with the Samsung box because of another reported case. It did take me three separate contacts.
Cable and Satellite TV boxes are the WORST. Their HDMI implementations are, to be charitable, crap.

My guess is the problem is going to be your Samsung cable box is not expecting that socket in the 203 to be able to handle the full range of signals it can handle. That gets communicated during the HDMI handshake, and some cable boxes have been known to fail if they get more answers back than they are expecting.

Since cable boxes are tied to particular cable systems, OPPO can't have all of them in their lab. They can only directly test with the cable system (and thus the cable box hardware models) available in Meno Park, CA. But they've dealt with problems like this before, and will undoubtedly find a way to nail down this problem, too. If it turns out to be a fault in the HDMI implementation in the cable box, OPPO may still be able to work around it. But all that takes time.

The HDMI cabling and topology checks had to be made first to eliminate the easy workarounds.

One thing to check, your local cable provider may have a newer model of your cable box available. There's no guarantee, but its HDMI implementation might be better. Often, swapping out an old model cable box for a newer model is just a matter of asking to do it -- no charge.
--Bob
brentsg and Adamg (Ret-Navy) like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 12-23-2016 at 07:53 AM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3484 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Airsculpture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: English but in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 617
When you are streaming music ( hi-res or not ) from a network drive, what does the UI look like ?

Anyone had success streaming from a Mac OS formatted network drive ( I know the specs just say FAT, FAT32, exFAT, and NTFS ) but come one, it's 2016.

Just wondered before I lay down cash.

Sony XBR65X900E, Oppo UDP-203 Universal Player
Front L&R - Polk TSx550t, Centre - Polk CSiA6 all in Cherry
Surrounds & Rears - Mission 77DS & Mission 780s
Subwoofer - Polk PSW125 in Cherry
Receiver - Marantz SR6012
Airsculpture is offline  
post #3485 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CJArciola, III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: CT
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Cable and Satellite TV boxes are the WORST. Their HDMI implementations are, to be charitable, crap.

My guess is the problem is going to be your Samsung cable box is not expecting that socket in the 203 to be able to handle the full range of signals it can handle. That gets communicated during the HDMI handshake, and some cable boxes have been known to fail if they get more answers back than they are expecting.

Since cable boxes are tied to particular cable systems, OPPO can't have all of them in their lab. They can only directly test with the cable system (and thus the cable box hardware models) available in Meno Park, CA. But they've dealt with problems like this before, and will undoubtedly find a way to nail down the problem, too. If it turns out to be a fault in the HDMI implementation in the cable box, OPPO may still be able to work around it. But all that takes time.

The HDMI cabling and topology checks had to be made first to eliminate the easy workarounds.

One thing to check, your local cable provider may have a newer model of your cable box available. There's no guarantee, but its HDMI implementation might be better. Often, swapping out an old model cable box for a newer model is just a matter of asking to do it -- no charge.
--Bob
Thanks for the suggestion. This is not a necessity for me. I'm pleased with the unit in every other aspect. I find it far better than the Panny even w/o the apps.
CJArciola, III is offline  
post #3486 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 07:49 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,549
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4646 Post(s)
Liked: 4496
I've made a start on documenting the extended info display: What does the extended information display mean?

Your comments and corrections are always welcome.

-Bill
jimbo88, bweissman, ack_bk and 3 others like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #3487 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 07:55 AM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,187
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1967 Post(s)
Liked: 1431
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
You do realize that article means jack. The STICKER means everything. It means the cable was tested and passed by a 3rd party certified facility. Plenty of companies like Monoprice have a 18gbps HDMI cables, but only one line of what they sell has the certification. That is why you look for the STICKER, that is what it is for.


This is my experience as well. I had MonoPrice 18 GBS active cables (not certified) that did not work; Tthere were handshake errors and sparklies.
I swithced over to Monoprice Certified cables and there are no problems.


- Rich
gadgtfreek likes this.

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is online now  
post #3488 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 07:58 AM
The Ultimate chest punch!
 
Adamg (Ret-Navy)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 947 Post(s)
Liked: 2087
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I've made a start on documenting the extended info display: What does the extended information display mean?

Your comments and corrections are always welcome.

-Bill
As expected, a most excellent job of collecting and presenting all these bewildering amounts of information. When did this stuff get so damn complicated? I'm an Engineer and this is like drinking from a Jet Engine!
richlife and captainbrent like this.

AdamG, ...out!
The government cannot give to anybody,
anything that the government does not first,
take from somebody else.
Adamg (Ret-Navy) is offline  
post #3489 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
This is my experience as well. I had MonoPrice 18 GBS active cables (not certified) that did not work; Tthere were handshake errors and sparklies.
I swithced over to Monoprice Certified cables and there are no problems.


- Rich
I was not happy, in March, when I went to UHD and none of those pricey Monoprice redmere cables worked...

And as much as I love BJC, those monoprice certified cables are one great deal.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #3490 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:02 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamg (Ret-Navy) View Post
As expected, a most excellent job of collecting and presenting all these bewildering amounts of information. When did this stuff get so damn complicated? I'm an Engineer and this is like drinking from a Jet Engine!
I've suggested to OPPO that each player come bundled with a teenager to help with setup.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #3491 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Can someone please mention if they are able to zoom blu-rays and UHD's to different aspect ratios such as 2:1? If so, is the image still sharp? Thanks!
Mikenificent1 is offline  
post #3492 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,309
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 660
Hey folks - I've read several talking about FW 1212b version. From where is this version available? Is this beta & how to get it? I don't see it on Oppo US website. Does it address other issues other than frame rate studder?

Thanks

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #3493 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:10 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,549
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4646 Post(s)
Liked: 4496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikenificent1 View Post
Can someone please mention if they are able to zoom blu-rays and UHD's to different aspect ratios such as 2:1? If so, is the image still sharp? Thanks!
Yes, you can.

Still sharp: well... they can't be as sharp as the original, right? Some look better than others. Zooming doesn't blur them unnecessarily, but there are undefeatable laws of geometry involved.

-Bill
oldsteve and Adrienn like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #3494 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carter D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimim View Post
Vanco brand i mentioned above a bunch of pages back. I'm running 10' runs to my LG from a mranttz. 6' runs from oppo to marantz. Im using HDR on, auto UDH, 444, 12 bit. I haven't had any signal issues with DVD's, blur's, 4k,HDR, and the home menu.

They are certified labeled.

Very cheap also.

jim
Vanco is certified by DPL labs. Good cables.

LG 65 EF 9500,Yamaha 3050,Oppo 203
Directv C61 4K box, Apple TV, SONOS Connect
Triad Bronze Center, Triad Bronze LR-H Atmos, Elan inwall surrounds, Velodyne Subs,
Savant Remote, Harmony Ultimate Home remote
"It ain't 4K if it ain't shot in 4K"
Carter D is offline  
post #3495 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:24 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post
Hey folks - I've read several talking about FW 1212b version. From where is this version available? Is this beta & how to get it? I don't see it on Oppo US website. Does it address other issues other than frame rate studder?

Thanks
OPPO has made it available directly to certain owners to test a specific fix.

It is not yet released as a Public Beta.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #3496 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post
Hey folks - I've read several talking about FW 1212b version. From where is this version available? Is this beta & how to get it? I don't see it on Oppo US website. Does it address other issues other than frame rate studder?

Thanks
If you note those conversations, it been said many times to email them and ask for it.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #3497 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:32 AM
Member
 
raghu13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I sincerely hope Oppo will consider adding few apps (Netflix, Youtube, Amazon, VUDU) so that 203 can become the primary source for videos.

Raghu
raghu13 is offline  
post #3498 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,309
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
OPPO has made it available directly to certain owners to test a specific fix.

It is not yet released as a Public Beta.
--Bob
Thanks!

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #3499 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
If you note those conversations, it been said many times to email them and ask for it.
....and that seems to work. I sent them a request yesterday and they sent me a link last night.

Samsung 55KS8000 / Denon AVR-S710W / Klipsch Reference Series Speakers / Oppo UDP-203
jackbutler68 is offline  
post #3500 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackbutler68 View Post
....and that seems to work. I sent them a request yesterday and they sent me a link last night.
I did as well. Just havent installed it yet.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #3501 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,309
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
If you note those conversations, it been said many times to email them and ask for it.
Thanks! I have missed those remarks

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #3502 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,126
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post
Just for kicks I tried the Oppo remote app. My 203 was internet connected via wireless and I brought up the remote app, that I use with the 203. No joy. Anyone else try? Will there be a remote app for the 203?
On this page Oppo has a notation that the Media Control App for the 203 is "Coming early 2017".
http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-u...3-Support.aspx
Mike_WI, glangford and Adrienn like this.
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #3503 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
oldsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Citrus Hts., CA
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I was not happy, in March, when I went to UHD and none of those pricey Monoprice redmere cables worked...

And as much as I love BJC, those monoprice certified cables are one great deal.
I just ordered some 6' and 10' Monoprice certified hdmi cables even though currently I don't need them. I plan on testing them for long term reliability. I also wanted some 3' cables but their website shows they are out of stock until 1-26-17. Hopefully these prove to be the real deal.

Main 4K Setup: LG OLED55E6P, Oppo UDP-203, Denon AVR X-4500H,AudioSource 2 channel amp,(3) Hsu CCB-8 bookshelf speakers, (2) Hsu HB-1 speakers,(Monoprice Monolith 28" speaker stands, (4) Dayton Audio IO655B speakers, Hsu VTF-2 and VTF-3 subs, 10" Monolith THX sub, Roku Ultra, Amazon Fire TV4K, Monoprice premium certified HDMI cables
oldsteve is offline  
post #3504 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1785 Post(s)
Liked: 1482
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I've made a start on documenting the extended info display: What does the extended information display mean?

Your comments and corrections are always welcome.

-Bill
Thanks Bill!

I was able to pull up the extended info screen last night. With everything set to auto it's sending 4:2:2 12bit to my Sony 940C.


Everything looks great like that, so I imagine I'll just leave it set to auto.
TuteTibiImperes is offline  
post #3505 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
2Turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 72
K8500 vs U900 Vs Oppo 203

As a current owner of the Samsung K8500, Panasonic U900 and now the Oppo 203 I thought I would share my experiences here. The K8500 has always worked flawlessly from day one for me but when I recently purchased the U900, I noticed a sharper, more detailed picture with more depth. The Samsung is noticeably quicker in all processes especially with the Apps and Netflix. The Panasonic has Netflix HDR which I have not been able to see with the Samsung. Having received the Oppo on December 19th, I have been doing some testing comparing it to the Panasonic and I can comfortably state that the Panasonic 4K quality is noticeably better than the Oppo. There is more detail and depth as well as a better gamma curve if I can use this term. The Oppo has also shown intermittant studders on each disc played and the unit has actually frozen on two UHD discs during playback. In regards to Blu-Ray playback, none of these units upconvert 1080P better than my Samsung TV. I prefer the 1080P signal from the Oppo over the other two and I set the Oppo to "Source Direct" for the best picture quality. These results may be different on your own TV though. I anticipate future firmware updates for the Oppo that hopefully it will at least match the U900 or beat it. Furthermore, nothing beats the build quality and speed of the 203 and the ability to adjust all settings on the player on the fly makes it a trend setting device. As of today though and in my opinion, the Panasonic U900 is hard to beat.
atabea, jb442386 and hollandjw like this.

LG OLED 65B7 Marantz SR7010 AVR
Sony FDR-AX100 4K Camcorder, SONY RX10M4 Camera, NIKON D500, 55HU8550,
SEK-3500, DMP-U900, Oppo 203, Sony X800, iScan Mini,
Harmony ONE Remote + Harmony Ultra Home
2Turbofan is offline  
post #3506 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 09:06 AM
pee
Member
 
pee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Well...I didn't make it to Christmas. Unwrapped and hooked up the Oppo yesterday.

Can definitely tell the quality of this device. No issues so far. Connected to my Sony 930C and switched the input to "Enhanced for 4K". BAM!!!
I'm also using the Analog outs. The sound and clarity is great. I've only watched a little of Superman vs Batman so far.
Going to be a great weekend. I may not leave the house.

Happy Holidays!

(this has to be the fastest moving thread in AVS history by the way. lol)
pee is offline  
post #3507 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1785 Post(s)
Liked: 1482
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsteve View Post
I just ordered some 6' and 10' Monoprice certified hdmi cables even though currently I don't need them. I plan on testing them for long term reliability. I also wanted some 3' cables but their website shows they are out of stock until 1-26-17. Hopefully these prove to be the real deal.
Looks like a nice price for those. I've been using the AmazonBasics 18gb cables, and while I don't recall them coming with the sticker, they've worked for anything I've tried in a 10' length.
TuteTibiImperes is offline  
post #3508 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 09:10 AM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Aiken View Post
I'm sorry but you are mistaken. I never said he was measuring the 203's 8 bit home menu. What I said was that the settings you make on the 203 determine what the 203 tries to negotiate during the handshake and that if the TV cannot accept that, then a lesser signal will be sent if possible and that if the Oppo was outputting 8 bits when set to 10 bit output, that was because the TV itself asked for 8 bits. I said nothing at all about the source of the signal being measured.

My point was simply that you cannot conclude that because the output is 8 bits and the setting was for 10 bits, the 203 is incapable of outputting 10 bits because you can set it to 10 or 12 bits and only get 8 bit output if the TV will only accept 8 bits. We need to know a lot more before we can draw such a conclusion, things like the make and model of the display, the settings in operation on the display, and what the display is capable of accepting.

What test data tells you is important, but you need to know everything relevant about the test as well and there's a lot of relevant things about this test that we don't know. What was the make and model of the display, what settings were in operation on the display, what are the preferred signal specifications that the TV asks for during the HDMI handshake. Without all of that information you can't draw any conclusions about what the output capabilities of the 203 are because you can't be certain that the TV wasn't telling the 203 that it would only accept 8 bit data. If you run a speed test on a car, tell the driver not to exceed the speed limit, and conduct the test in a 50 mph zone, you can't assume that just because the car never went over 50 mph, it is incapable of going over 50 mph. It may actually be capable of 250 mph but you would never know that if you conduct your test under those conditions. We don't know the full conditions under which this test was undertaken.
I'm sorry, you're right, the 8-bit Oppo's menu quote was from this post: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post49224041

Thanks for the reply and the explanation. When I first read the post with the screenshots (measurements) I was certainly mystified.
How can the Oppo 203 not giving full 4K bandwidth and color depth? That can't be; were the measurements done properly with a good operational measuring tool? Something must have been set improperly. It's important to find out the measurement's errors. I checked the blog of that earlier post from yesterday, but I cannot read Japanese. So the graphs have no value without text and context.

I agree with your above explanation. Perhaps measurements could also be performed with other BR 4K players...Samsung, Panasonic, Philips.
Using the same tool used above and with the exact same circumstances/settings. Then we'll realize the Oppo 203's picture superiority, I am almost certain (99%).
David Aiken and Operon like this.
NorthSky is offline  
post #3509 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 09:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsteve View Post
I just ordered some 6' and 10' Monoprice certified hdmi cables even though currently I don't need them. I plan on testing them for long term reliability. I also wanted some 3' cables but their website shows they are out of stock until 1-26-17. Hopefully these prove to be the real deal.
I had a mess of various HDMI cables in my system so when I ordered my UDP-203 I ordered a bunch of the 6' Monoprice certified cables and replaced all of my HDMI cables with these. They work great and are inexpensive to boot!

Samsung 55KS8000 / Denon AVR-S710W / Klipsch Reference Series Speakers / Oppo UDP-203
jackbutler68 is offline  
post #3510 of 37249 Old 12-23-2016, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jb442386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Doylestown PA
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Very nice summary Tubo. Particularly related to PQ, 203 vs the Panny. However, with so many more desirable features on the 203, I have decided to wait it out, with the assumption future firmware updates will correct any perceived PQ issues on my part. Right now, the Panny is true "plug & play" IMHO. Thanks again for posting your views!
jb442386 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off