Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1178 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 278824Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35311 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 08:48 AM
Member
 
multiformous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
So the only time you will see HDR10+ Reported as source is if you have a display that supports it.
I don't have an HDR10+ display but with the new public firmware, the extended info shows "HDR10+" and outputs as standard HDR10.

Vizio M55-E0 / Onkyo TX-SR706 / OPPO UDP-203 / Playstation 4
SVS Ultra Towers, SVS Prime Center, JBL ES30 (rear), SVS PB-1000
multiformous is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35312 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1034
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiformous View Post
I don't have an HDR10+ display but with the new public firmware, the extended info shows "HDR10+" and outputs as standard HDR10.
Are you playing an HDR10+ source? If so that seems correct to me.
naustin is offline  
post #35313 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 10:22 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,219
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 2275
Quote:
Originally Posted by weboperations View Post
FYI I think it does pass atmos now.

Either the latest OPPO update changed something or the latest Apple TV 4K beta changed something.

It now passes atmos.
The AppleTV and XBOX One use a special flavor of Atmos called Dolby MAT that packages the Atmos data up in an otherwise LPCM wrapper. This form of Atmos is NOT supported on the Oppo's HDMI input.
galonzo likes this.
gsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35314 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2214 Post(s)
Liked: 2069
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiformous View Post
I don't have an HDR10+ display but with the new public firmware, the extended info shows "HDR10+" and outputs as standard HDR10.
Information display reports BDMV HDR as source for me when I play the A Beautiful Planet disc to my LG B7A OLED.

What display are you using?
galonzo likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
post #35315 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 10:49 AM
Member
 
orpyak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
After applying the latest firmware update the disc playback issues I was having with Dolby Vision UHD Blu-Ray titles and my Vizio PQ65-F1 went away.

I am really impressed that Oppo keeps patching a system that they no longer sell, and that they added player support fro HDR10+, although my television doesn't support it.
galonzo likes this.
orpyak is offline  
post #35316 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 11:13 AM
Member
 
multiformous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Are you playing an HDR10+ source? If so that seems correct to me.
Yes. With the public beta, it didn't say HDR10+ when playing an HDR10+ source. That changed with the official public release.


Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Information display reports BDMV HDR as source for me when I play the A Beautiful Planet disc to my LG B7A OLED.

What display are you using?
Vizio M55-E0. Try this sample file.



Are others without HDR10+ capable TV's not seeing "HDR10+" in the extended media info?

Vizio M55-E0 / Onkyo TX-SR706 / OPPO UDP-203 / Playstation 4
SVS Ultra Towers, SVS Prime Center, JBL ES30 (rear), SVS PB-1000
multiformous is offline  
post #35317 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiformous View Post
Yes. With the public beta, it didn't say HDR10+ when playing an HDR10+ source. That changed with the official public release.

Are others without HDR10+ capable TV's not seeing "HDR10+" in the extended media info?
Anyone spinning disc's encoded with HDR10+ will not see the HDR10+ meta-data information. You'll only see the info when playing files (ie: non disc based media).
galonzo, codyrocco, gymnos and 1 others like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #35318 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 11:48 AM
Member
 
multiformous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Anyone spinning disc's encoded with HDR10+ will not see the HDR10+ meta-data information. You'll only see the info when playing files (ie: non disc based media).
Ah, thanks. That explains it. I should say that back with the public beta, HDR10+ files wouldn't even play back in standard HDR10 mode for me. Had to play the full disc to get HDR, and it wouldn't say "HDR10+" in the info in either case. Now everything seems to be working perfectly for me!

Vizio M55-E0 / Onkyo TX-SR706 / OPPO UDP-203 / Playstation 4
SVS Ultra Towers, SVS Prime Center, JBL ES30 (rear), SVS PB-1000
multiformous is offline  
post #35319 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiformous View Post
Ah, thanks. That explains it. I should say that back with the public beta, HDR10+ files wouldn't even play back in standard HDR10 mode for me. Had to play the full disc to get HDR, and it wouldn't say "HDR10+" in the info in either case. Now everything seems to be working perfectly for me!
I think it was rdgrimes who first noticed/reported the OPPO's strange behaviour when playing HDR10+ media with the beta.

I had some Doom9 forum members look into the issue and they confirmed that the HDR10+ meta-data was intact, which pointed to the OPPO not processing the files correctly. Anyway, it's fixed now.

I've also noticed that some Dolby Vision samples that previously displayed inverted colours are now displayed correctly. And some of my old MPEG-4 SP and ASP samples that previously played with a slight stutter now play perfectly.

There are still a few niggles when playing files encoded with aspect ratio signalling, such: 720x576 and 720x480 with 16:9 DAR. But all-in-all I'm liking this latest firmware release...

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #35320 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by weboperations View Post
FYI I think it does pass atmos now.

Either the latest OPPO update changed something or the latest Apple TV 4K beta changed something.

It now passes atmos.
The AppleTV and XBOX One use a special flavor of Atmos called Dolby MAT that packages the Atmos data up in an otherwise LPCM wrapper. This form of Atmos is NOT supported on the Oppo's HDMI input.
The behavior before the most recent OPPO and Apple TV 4K updates was that when the Apple TV was outputting Atmos, there would be no audio whatsoever. Complete silence.

As of recently..... there is audio now... even on movies marked for atmos.... and it's showing 7.1 channels.

Previously, the only way to make audio work through the OPPO input was to change the format of the audio and force Dolby 5.1.

This is no longer the case. So something for sure changed. Perhaps the Apple TV is now able to self diagnose the capabilities of the next input and will correct its output now?
weboperations is offline  
post #35321 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 03:23 PM
Newbie
 
jupiterstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl2 View Post
As someone else said, amazing work! Thank you for doing that. Would you mind saying how you enabled the SMB logging (on a Linux system I presume?)
It's just a matter of enabling the log in Samba configs in Linux, Ubuntu in my case (google "samba log levels", my post count is too low to post links). But yeah, it was pretty interesting to test. For example, I noticed that when I pressed "Enter/Play" on a folder, say <title>, it would try to open a <title> folder within it, which obviously wasn't there. When I created that nested <title>/<title> folder, it then looked for <title>/<title>/BDMV and <title>/<title>/BDAV, and so on. You can also set up an NFS server and it also has a log/debug mode. I tried that briefly and noticed the behavior was similar to that of Samba, so I assume the Oppo uses the same code for both network file services.
jupiterstar is offline  
post #35322 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Will any size external hard drive work with the Oppo 203 or is there a limit on the size?

Also is the only way to play a 3D file is to convert a 3D MKV file? In other words a 3D BDMV will not work?
marine92104 is offline  
post #35323 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 07:48 PM
Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 21
No mention in the listings of the latest public release? I got notice on startup two or three days ago, as I recall. UDP-20X-65-0131.

This new one ironically has a worse version of a bug with USB flash drives that I reported and understood was confirmed back in December: Just sent the following email to support:

"Previously (60-0625), upon removing a USB flash drive while music was playing from another flash drive, the Oppo reverted to the Home Screen, with the focus on Music, and the location of the playing music was lost (except from my memory).

Now with 20X-65-0131, in addition to reverting to the Home Screen on Music, it appears to lose recognition of the still installed flash drive after I stop the music playing. That is, when I stop the music playing and then click on Music, it no longer shows - or can find - the still installed USB flash drive. This has happened on two occasions with the new version. I haven't thought to try changing modes, to Movies for example, to see what happens, but rather have shut down and then restarted the Oppo to get the flash drive recognized again."

Last edited by genegold; 02-16-2019 at 08:18 PM.
genegold is offline  
post #35324 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 07:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc1006 View Post
my player now has the ability to playback .ISO files. Is there some kind of media device or app that will allow me to organize my library that is on 6TB external HDD, where I can get cover art or make it nicer than just seeing folders with file names?

Or can someone point me to a post that covers this...thank you!

I was thinking of getting a Zappiti Media Player just to have more of formal library, but would prefer to use my OPPO UDP 203 instead
How does your Oppo 203 play .iso files? I thought it didn’t play .iso files.
marine92104 is offline  
post #35325 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 08:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 24233
Updated one of my 203's tonight. Download time 1 minute.

Installed , updated and rebooted in 1 Minute 15 Seconds.

Listening to a SACD right now...

I'll check out a movie later.

Regards, Ken (Retired)
9.1.) Denon 4520CI; Samsung 55H8000; OPPO 203; 6x SVS Ultra BS,
Ultra Center; FH 2xPolk; Rythmik F12; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (x2)
2.1 Ch.) Nak RE-1, CR7A, BD F7500, Aircom T-8, Denon 300F/Ortofon 2M Bronze;
ADS L1290(x2); PINNACLE BABYBOOMER SUB, PANAMAX MR4300
Matt2026 is offline  
post #35326 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 11:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
Will any size external hard drive work with the Oppo 203 or is there a limit on the size?

Also is the only way to play a 3D file is to convert a 3D MKV file? In other words a 3D BDMV will not work?

I use an 8TB external USB-Disk - so this size does work...
galonzo likes this.
wlehrer is offline  
post #35327 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 11:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
Also is the only way to play a 3D file is to convert a 3D MKV file? In other words a 3D BDMV will not work?

The 203 does play 3D framepacked contents out of M2TS.
the recipe is buried somewhere in this thread.
You may want to have a look here and follow the link posted there
http://watershade.net/wmcclain/UDP-2...pported-in-mkv


this works like a charm here - on firmware 0625 because the current EU Version is not yet available and I could not test if it still works
galonzo likes this.
wlehrer is offline  
post #35328 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 11:27 PM
Member
 
codyrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Anyone spinning disc's encoded with HDR10+ will not see the HDR10+ meta-data information. You'll only see the info when playing files (ie: non disc based media).
all confirmed!
also, mkv made with makemkv will retain hdr10+ metadata, and extended media info will display hdr10+ as input.
aguy and galonzo like this.
codyrocco is offline  
post #35329 of 36749 Old 02-16-2019, 11:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlehrer View Post
I use an 8TB external USB-Disk - so this size does work...
Does a 10tb external hard drive work?

Also how did the person above gets an .iso file to work?

I tried it with the previous & new firmware & neither one of them would play an .iso file for me.

I downloaded the new firmware tonight. It was a little glitchy to start when I was playing a DV disc.

I erased persistent storage & restarted the player after download.
marine92104 is offline  
post #35330 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 12:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 5
About to update my 203, I haven’t loaded the latest beta version which states in its upgraded features to have hdr10+, but the latest official version doesn’t state anything about hdr10+. Will I have to load up the beta first or is it just a typo error on the official version notes. Can anyone confirm if the latest has that feature


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
johnnyboy632 is offline  
post #35331 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 01:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy632 View Post
About to update my 203, I haven’t loaded the latest beta version which states in its upgraded features to have hdr10+, but the latest official version doesn’t state anything about hdr10+. Will I have to load up the beta first or is it just a typo error on the official version notes. Can anyone confirm if the latest has that feature
Don't panic... the newest official firmware release still contains support for HDR10+ playback, indeed it has been improved (as discussed in a few previous posts).

Just install the official UDP20X-65-0131 release (this link is for the North American version). And remember to perform a 'Reset Factory Defaults' before you start operating the player.


Cheers
galonzo and johnnyboy632 like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #35332 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 02:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Don't panic... the newest official firmware release still contains support for HDR10+ playback, indeed it has been improved (as discussed in a few previous posts).



Just install the official UDP20X-65-0131 release (this link is for the North American version). And remember to perform a 'Reset Factory Defaults' before you start operating the player.





Cheers


Too easy
Cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
johnnyboy632 is offline  
post #35333 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 05:00 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,352
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4539 Post(s)
Liked: 4368
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
Will any size external hard drive work with the Oppo 203 or is there a limit on the size?
No known limit.

Quote:
Also is the only way to play a 3D file is to convert a 3D MKV file? In other words a 3D BDMV will not work?
In my (brief) testing I could not get 3D working from a BDMV file.

See the FAQ for a link on getting this to work with M2TS files: Is 3D MVC format supported in MKV? I haven't tried it myself.

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #35334 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,569
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3772 Post(s)
Liked: 2971
Quote:
Originally Posted by genegold View Post
No mention in the listings of the latest public release? I got notice on startup two or three days ago, as I recall. UDP-20X-65-0131.

This new one ironically has a worse version of a bug with USB flash drives that I reported and understood was confirmed back in December: Just sent the following email to support:

"Previously (60-0625), upon removing a USB flash drive while music was playing from another flash drive, the Oppo reverted to the Home Screen, with the focus on Music, and the location of the playing music was lost (except from my memory).

Now with 20X-65-0131, in addition to reverting to the Home Screen on Music, it appears to lose recognition of the still installed flash drive after I stop the music playing. That is, when I stop the music playing and then click on Music, it no longer shows - or can find - the still installed USB flash drive. This has happened on two occasions with the new version. I haven't thought to try changing modes, to Movies for example, to see what happens, but rather have shut down and then restarted the Oppo to get the flash drive recognized again."
I'm a little puzzled that you would be surprised by any of this.
From the 203 owner's manual:
Quote:
In order to minimize the risk of data corruption, it is recommended that you only unplug the
USB device when playback is completely stopped.
I think it follows that other issues could arise too. Bottom line is that you should always stop playback and exit the USB screen before removing or inserting a drive. This isn't really a "bug", its just the way it works. Act accordingly.
galonzo likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #35335 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 06:55 AM
Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I'm a little puzzled that you would be surprised by any of this.
From the 203 owner's manual:
I think it follows that other issues could arise too. Bottom line is that you should always stop playback and exit the USB screen before removing or inserting a drive. This isn't really a "bug", its just the way it works. Act accordingly.
Read my post again. That note in the manual refers to the USB flash drive that is playing, not to another one that isn’t. It’s pulling the latter which leads to the problem (and I didn’t say anything about dsta corruption, which hasn’t been an issue). Support didn’t cite the manual, like they typically do do - and they verified it themselves - because in their view this is not the way it’s supposed to work. And so they sent it onto the formware team.

Last edited by genegold; 02-17-2019 at 07:04 AM.
genegold is offline  
post #35336 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 643 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by weboperations View Post
The behavior before the most recent OPPO and Apple TV 4K updates was that when the Apple TV was outputting Atmos, there would be no audio whatsoever. Complete silence.

As of recently..... there is audio now... even on movies marked for atmos.... and it's showing 7.1 channels.

Previously, the only way to make audio work through the OPPO input was to change the format of the audio and force Dolby 5.1.

This is no longer the case. So something for sure changed. Perhaps the Apple TV is now able to self diagnose the capabilities of the next input and will correct its output now?
Are you sure you were using the HDMI BYPASS input mode? I just tested it with the latest firmware, and the behaviour is the same i.e. no audio with Atmos tracks.

Using the regular HDMI input mode, regular LPCM 7.1 audio will be output, with no Atmos.
galonzo likes this.
tezster is offline  
post #35337 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,397
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
How does your Oppo 203 play .iso files? I thought it didn’t play .iso files.
He's using hacked firmware, which is an off-limits topic here.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #35338 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread

Maze Runner: Death Cure 4K
Output 1080p SDR 10bit 4:4:4

Magenta highlights in some CGI shots.
This disc only.

"This one goes to eleven." Martin Logan Descent-i subwoofer

Last edited by AVfile; 02-17-2019 at 10:47 AM.
AVfile is offline  
post #35339 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
LCSeminole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
Maze Runner: Death Cure 4K
Output 1080p SDR 10bit 4:4:4

Magenta highlights in some CGI shots.
This disc only.

Is this due to tone mapping? If so, does this also happen on a 4K/HDR flat panel?

Emotiva XMC-1/XPR-2/XPR-5
LG OLED65C8, Oppo UDP-203, Panasonic DP-UB820
Furman PL-PRO DMC 20A, Monster Power HTS-5000
SVS Dual PB12-Plus x 2
Klipsch KLF-20, KLF-C7, RB-5II x 4
LCSeminole is offline  
post #35340 of 36749 Old 02-17-2019, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by LCSeminole View Post
Is this due to tone mapping? If so, does this also happen on a 4K/HDR flat panel?
Not that I've seen...
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off