Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1179 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279334Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35341 of 37515 Old 02-17-2019, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,584
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 358 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCSeminole View Post
Is this due to tone mapping?

I don’t think so. Tone mapping only happens when you output SDR BT2020. I am doing plain old REC709, which has worked very well on many UHD discs until this one (and this scene in particular - rest of movie looks nice).

"This one goes to eleven." Martin Logan Descent-i subwoofer

Last edited by AVfile; 02-17-2019 at 02:20 PM.
AVfile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35342 of 37515 Old 02-17-2019, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
blairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jordan Springs NSW Australia
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Anybody know where I can get hold of some HDR10+ samples or demos?

Cheers
blairy is offline  
post #35343 of 37515 Old 02-17-2019, 04:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,135
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2756
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairy View Post
Anybody know where I can get hold of some HDR10+ samples or demos?

Cheers
I did a search yesterday and couldn't find any where you could download the files. I found some on youTube but you can't download those.

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35344 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 12:17 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
I don’t think so. Tone mapping only happens when you output SDR BT2020. I am doing plain old REC709, which has worked very well on many UHD discs until this one (and this scene in particular - rest of movie looks nice).
Check out the earlier post - for Ant Man and the Wasp.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57386152

The scene is a similar looking one ..............
AVfile and galonzo like this.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #35345 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 02:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairy View Post
Anybody know where I can get hold of some HDR10+ samples or demos?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I did a search yesterday and couldn't find any where you could download the files. I found some on youTube but you can't download those.
Suffice to say... If they have not been encoded using HEVC they wont be HDR10+.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #35346 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 09:27 AM
Member
 
codyrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Suffice to say... If they have not been encoded using HEVC they wont be HDR10+.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I did a search yesterday and couldn't find any where you could download the files. I found some on youTube but you can't download those.
https://github.com/quietvoid/hdr10pl.../master/assets

Last edited by codyrocco; 02-18-2019 at 10:31 AM.
codyrocco is offline  
post #35347 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Hi, since this latest update... If i bring up any settings menu from within my LG TV, which then displays ontop of the Oppo 203's current image... The Oppo 203's image and audio will Blink out to an all black screen for a few seconds... This only happens when i choose "any" one of the Custom Resolutions except for Source Direct.. The screen will not Blink to Black if Source Direct is chosen.. I do not use Source Direct as I like to use Zoom and other Picture options.. My TV is a 4K non HDR LG 79UB9800..

I also did all of the suggested resets to my Oppo 203.. My Oppo 203 did not behave this way before the latest update.. Is this now considered a new normal behaviour since the last update? I have been in touch with Oppo but they have newer LG OLED's which for some reason don't seem to be effected by my issue.

Last edited by Sound & Vision; 02-20-2019 at 06:56 AM.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #35348 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 3,020
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2372 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
Hi, since this latest update... If i bring up any settings menu from within my LG TV, which then displays ontop of the Oppo 203's current image... The Oppo 203's image will Blink to an all black screen for a few seconds... This only happens when i choose "any" one of the Custom Resolutions except for Source Direct.. The screen will not Blink if Source Direct is chosen.. I do not use Source Direct as I like to use Zoom and other Picture options.. My TV is a 4K non HDR LG 79UB9800..

I did all of the suggested resets to my Oppo 203.. My Oppo 203 did not behave this way before the latest update.. Is this now considered a new normal behaviour since the last update?
Does not occur with my LG B7A. No black screen interruption bringing up LG settings menu when the Oppo home screen is displayed, nor when playing a UHD disc.

Firmware: UPD20X-65-0131
Video Settings: Custom / UHD Auto / Auto / Auto

I also tried forcing 1080p output and still did not encounter the issue.
Video Settings: Custom / 1080p 24Hz / Auto / Auto
Video Settings: Custom / 1080p 60Hz / Auto / Auto
galonzo likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 02-18-2019 at 02:36 PM.
claw is offline  
post #35349 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Is there a way to keep “HDMI INPUT BYPASS” from continuously scrolling on the info screen when that input is selected?
met_fan is offline  
post #35350 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 06:45 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,607
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4673 Post(s)
Liked: 4547
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
Is there a way to keep “HDMI INPUT BYPASS” from continuously scrolling on the info screen when that input is selected?
You can dim and turn off the front panel.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #35351 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 06:48 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,607
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4673 Post(s)
Liked: 4547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
Hi, since this latest update... If i bring up any settings menu from within my LG TV, which then displays ontop of the Oppo 203's current image... The Oppo 203's image will Blink to an all black screen for a few seconds... This only happens when i choose "any" one of the Custom Resolutions except for Source Direct.. The screen will not Blink if Source Direct is chosen.. I do not use Source Direct as I like to use Zoom and other Picture options.. My TV is a 4K non HDR LG 79UB9800..

I did all of the suggested resets to my Oppo 203.. My Oppo 203 did not behave this way before the latest update.. Is this now considered a new normal behaviour since the last update?
Not seeing it on my E6 either.

Is this with a direct connection from the player to the display? If not you might want to try that as a diagnostic to eliminate the AVR as a variable.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #35352 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Not seeing it on my E6 either.

Is this with a direct connection from the player to the display? If not you might want to try that as a diagnostic to eliminate the AVR as a variable.

-Bill
Yes Bill direct connection.... I had a HdFury Integral on it 1st and i thought that may be the issue.... I now have direct connetion and no Integral and i'm having this exact same issue...

Last edited by Sound & Vision; 02-20-2019 at 06:58 AM.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #35353 of 37515 Old 02-18-2019, 09:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Does not occur with my LG B7A. No black screen interruption bringing up LG settings menu when the Oppo home screen is displayed, nor when playing a UHD disc.

Firmware: UPD20X-65-0131
Video Settings: Custom / UHD Auto / Auto / Auto

I also tried forcing 1080p output and still did not encounter the issue.
Video Settings: Custom / 1080p 24Hz / Auto / Auto
Video Settings: Custom / 1080p 60Hz / Auto / Auto
Thank you for looking into this for me.... Our firmware is the same... I tried it again tonight same issue... Ugh.. Your LG is obviously a more advanced HDR 4K OLED vs my NoN HDR 4K LG.. The sad part is this wasn't happening with the last firmware... The good part is how dam good the picture looks with this player.. And this is just a Blu Ray still i attached below!! The detail is amazing.... I hope my issue will get looked into further.. I will keep trying anything i can think of to provide further information..

I did contact Oppo and they thought perhaps the custom modes are somehow causing an HDMI handshake when i bring up my TV's onscreen menu.. I'm not sure though that is what i am seeing..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190210_212607.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	1.08 MB
ID:	2527902  

Last edited by Sound & Vision; 02-18-2019 at 10:05 PM.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #35354 of 37515 Old 02-19-2019, 06:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation Oppo 203 died, what to try?

My Oppo 203 BR suddenly died on me. Without any attempts from me to change anything in the software. It was on the latest software. It's just a bit over 1 year old.
It does not show anything on the build in screen and gives no signal to the TV. The power button shows red or blue. The tray comes out when I ask for it, but does not gom back in unless I start that with a soft push. I removed the power card and all other cables, pushed the power button, then plugged in power cord again after a minute or so, then pushed power again (still leaving the other cords out), but no response form the player. Again still a power button which can indicate red or blue.
It's modified by a pro to play region free DVD and to pre-select a BR region.
What should/could I try more before offering it for repair?
PieterA is offline  
post #35355 of 37515 Old 02-19-2019, 06:46 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,286
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5837 Post(s)
Liked: 8329
Quote:
Originally Posted by PieterA View Post
My Oppo 203 BR suddenly died on me. Without any attempts from me to change anything in the software. It was on the latest software. It's just a bit over 1 year old.
It does not show anything on the build in screen and gives no signal to the TV. The power button shows red or blue. The tray comes out when I ask for it, but does not gom back in unless I start that with a soft push. I removed the power card and all other cables, pushed the power button, then plugged in power cord again after a minute or so, then pushed power again (still leaving the other cords out), but no response form the player. Again still a power button which can indicate red or blue.
It's modified by a pro to play region free DVD and to pre-select a BR region.
What should/could I try more before offering it for repair?
If you know how to remove the Region Free hardware mod, do that (with the player unplugged), then plug back in and try power up again. If still no joy, the player will need service. Depending on when you bought the player, it may still be under its 2 year warranty.

You can use the Email Us link on OPPO's Support page for the player. They can do the service with the mod still in place, but they may have to remove the mod (and return it to you) depending on what needs to be fixed.
--Bob
Bill Mac likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #35356 of 37515 Old 02-19-2019, 07:01 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by PieterA View Post
Again still a power button which can indicate red or blue.
It's modified by a pro to play region free DVD and to pre-select a BR region.
What should/could I try more before offering it for repair?
That does sound bad....

Have you tried removing ALL other cables, including ethernet and HDMI etc - and see if the VFD display illuminates. Leaving power OFF for longer than the recommended 30secs (10mins?) may help.
I assume you have selected Dimmer on the RC? It may be worth trying the Resolution button - in case the HDMI chain is outputting a format which cannot be displayed. I assume "Pure Mode" is not selected.....

I would also look to remove the MZ Mod to confirm it is not affecting it - but very unlikely.

Is it possible to connect a different display directly to its output - bypassing anything else in the chain.

Best of luck...
galonzo likes this.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #35357 of 37515 Old 02-19-2019, 09:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for the feedback and suggestions Bob Pariseau and wl1,

I tired what you suggested, however have not removed the Mod yet.
The player's display gives nothing at all, also nothing via HDMI.
I will ask the pro who modified him to take a look, there is still a valid warranty from their end.

I will likely post at some point if this was solved and what was the cause/fix.
This will likely not be in the next 2 weeks, as the Pro specialist seems on vacation for another week at last. Might take a bit longer when he might need to order parts.
PieterA is offline  
post #35358 of 37515 Old 02-19-2019, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
musiccitydude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just picked up a 203 last week and i love this thing. Very happy.
musiccitydude is offline  
post #35359 of 37515 Old 02-19-2019, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,792
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3888 Post(s)
Liked: 3135
Quote:
Originally Posted by PieterA View Post
Thank you for the feedback and suggestions Bob Pariseau and wl1,

I tired what you suggested, however have not removed the Mod yet.
The player's display gives nothing at all, also nothing via HDMI.
I will ask the pro who modified him to take a look, there is still a valid warranty from their end.

I will likely post at some point if this was solved and what was the cause/fix.
This will likely not be in the next 2 weeks, as the Pro specialist seems on vacation for another week at last. Might take a bit longer when he might need to order parts.
Where are you located? If in the USA. just send it to Oppo for repair. They'll only keep it for a day or 2.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #35360 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 01:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by PieterA View Post
My Oppo 203 BR suddenly died on me. Without any attempts from me to change anything in the software. It was on the latest software. It's just a bit over 1 year old.

It does not show anything on the build in screen and gives no signal to the TV. The power button shows red or blue. The tray comes out when I ask for it, but does not gom back in unless I start that with a soft push. I removed the power card and all other cables, pushed the power button, then plugged in power cord again after a minute or so, then pushed power again (still leaving the other cords out), but no response form the player. Again still a power button which can indicate red or blue.

It's modified by a pro to play region free DVD and to pre-select a BR region.

What should/could I try more before offering it for repair?


I might have an easy fix for you, I have had similar problems with my Oppo bdp93(I know it’s a different model and I also own a 203) becoming unresponsive after watching a movie. Would not eject or any other function I tried or even buttons on the player, i needed pull the power plug. I simply tried the process of elimination by starting with replacing the hdmi cable and it actually fixed my issue. Flawless ever since


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
johnnyboy632 is offline  
post #35361 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 02:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Where are you located? If in the USA. just send it to Oppo for repair. They'll only keep it for a day or 2.
I am located n the Netherlands, there is a company here which I can contact.
PieterA is offline  
post #35362 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 02:55 AM
Member
 
Holland108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by PieterA View Post
I am located n the Netherlands, there is a company here which I can contact.
Hi Pieter, contact JVB

http://www.jvbdigital.nl/jvb.asp

Jan might be able to help you.
Holland108 is offline  
post #35363 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 03:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi there,

I'm in need for support with the OPPO MediaControl App (for Android) for my UHD-203:

I'm using the app to access my movie-files (.mkv) on my QNAP NAS via SMB.

In the Google Play-Store within the descripion of the features of the app it says "quickly browse through your media files alphabetically..."

So far so good, but with SMB-access the files on my NAS get displayed in any order, but no way alphabetically. Using e.g. Twonky the same files in the same directory are displayed in alpabetical order.

Is there any chance or hidden option that may allow to change the order when accessing the directrory via SMB?

Many thanks in advance for your kind support on this (minor) issue I have...

Kind regards,
Marcel
MarcelD is offline  
post #35364 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 06:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwinhernandez1986 View Post
I think this is your problem read the section, "video sizing up the picture."

http://bluray.highdefdigest.com/28557/spectre.html

I personally hate it when they use 35mm film because film grain keeps picture from being very transparent and clear. Also it saw its limits with Blu Ray and it only gets worse with UHD Blu Ray because it is almost impossible to tell difference between 1080P and 4K. I like Digital or even 70mm film much better but I know 70mm is rarely used and obviously film grain is still an issue! Anyways I think what you are seeing is poor quality film with an excellent play like UDP-203 that reveals contents flaws.
There’s nothing that drives me more crazy than a grainy picture. If I wanted to watch a grainy picture I would try and find a VCR and a film from the late 80s early 90s
SinGA and yobbo like this.
Joanvan1 is offline  
post #35365 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joanvan1 View Post
There’s nothing that drives me more crazy than a grainy picture. If I wanted to watch a grainy picture I would try and find a VCR and a film from the late 80s early 90s
I agree, and two 4K releases immediately come to mind... The 4K Grinch w/Jim Carey and The 4K release of the original Bladerunner... These are two of the most awful 4K releases to date.. Both are heavily loaded with noise.
SinGA and Joanvan1 like this.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #35366 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 07:12 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,607
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4673 Post(s)
Liked: 4547
1995 is calling. They want their film grain complaints back.

-Bill
AVfile, Keenan, gwsat and 5 others like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #35367 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Hey I just bought an Oppo 203. I was surprised to find they removed the HDMI input from the front panel (I have an Oppo 103). Can anyone recommend an HDMI switch that works automatically, when you power on a different input? Specifically for Apple TV and Firestick. Thank you
Dr Steve is offline  
post #35368 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 07:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
I agree, and two 4K releases immediately come to mind... The 4K Grinch w/Jim Carey and The 4K release of the original Bladerunner... These are two of the most awful 4K releases to date.. Both are heavily loaded with noise.
But........
Sometimes it is used for artistic/dramatic effect.....

Watch - “Mother” 4K

“this Ultra HD Blu-ray remains faithful to the director’s intentions by being muted, dark, grainy and soft. Optimum word there is grainy, which gives the film that organic, documentary feel, but some might find it distracting as it does permeate throughout the run time (unsurprisingly since the majority of the film was shot on 16mm)”
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #35369 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
But........
Sometimes it is used for artistic/dramatic effect.....

Watch - “Mother” 4K

“this Ultra HD Blu-ray remains faithful to the director’s intentions by being muted, dark, grainy and soft. Optimum word there is grainy, which gives the film that organic, documentary feel, but some might find it distracting as it does permeate throughout the run time (unsurprisingly since the majority of the film was shot on 16mm)”
Plus... The 4K UHD disc has been up-scaled from a 2K digital intermediate.

Personally speaking, film grain (or even the addition of digital grain) does not bother me
gwsat, galonzo and jazzrock like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 02-20-2019 at 08:46 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #35370 of 37515 Old 02-20-2019, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 198
If you don't like the look of the grain of the film stock in older films, just don't watch older movies shot on film and stick to newer, all-digital productions.

You can always get insight into the specs and image quality of a particular Blu-ray or UHD disk by looking it up at blue-ray.com before you buy it.

There's nothing gained by "yucking the yum" of fans of older films, who want to see them the way they looked when they came out.
AVfile, Tom C and Madmax67 like this.

Philnick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off