Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1187 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 280413Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35581 of 38822 Old 03-11-2019, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
These sound like a bandwidth issues with your current cables, particularly since you are increasing the color depth to 10-bit with HDR media and 12-bit when playing with Dolby Vision media. So try another HDMI cable if you have not done so already, and if you are going through a receiver or switch, then use HDMI (MAIN) direct to the television and then HDMI (AUDIO ONLY) to the receiver for audio.
I hooked my 203 directly up to my LG tv with the oem Oppo HDMI cable.. It still did it on UHD 60hhz & UHD 50hz... I Contacted Oppo.. Heck i even sent them a .gif of the issue.. They could not reproduce it on their tv (which was not the same as mine)... After that i received the following reply.. "Perhaps my tvs processor is too slow".. That was the last i heard from them so not sure if they are going to dig any further.. The only thing i did, and the only thing i did was upgrade the firmware and reset the player... This never happened before.
Sound & Vision is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35582 of 38822 Old 03-11-2019, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 11,085
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Have you tried an alternative HDMI cable and alternative HDMI input on the television? In most cases, if dropping the output resolution or frequency stops the issue, then you are looking at a bandwidth related issue and the HDMI cable is usually the culprit.
roland6465, galonzo and vavan like this.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #35583 of 38822 Old 03-11-2019, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 2157
@Sound & Vision , did you happen to notice if the OEM cable had the orange and white, Premium Certified holographic sticker on the packaging it was in? (mine did)

Main: XBR-85X950H | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield Pro | PS4 Pro | CCU
2nd: XBR-65X950G | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | TiVo Mini | ATV (4thGen)
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K | Roku P+ (4630)
FS - Dr. Strangelove (1964) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35584 of 38822 Old 03-11-2019, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@Sound & Vision , did you happen to notice if the OEM cable had the orange and white, Premium Certified holographic sticker on the packaging it was in? (mine did)
The HDMI cable that i received with my 203 does not have that sticker.. But i doubt Oppo would include it if they thought it was not up to par.. All my other cables are Monster Black Premium. 😊
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #35585 of 38822 Old 03-11-2019, 06:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 2157
@Sound & Vision , well that explains it, when S&V tested those, they failed at 4K/60 (albeit, they tested the 35' cable, point being they are NOT Premium Certified):


Oh, and most here will tell you that they did get a Premium Certified HDMI cable with their Oppo 203 when they purchased it new.
naustin and Matt2026 like this.

Main: XBR-85X950H | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield Pro | PS4 Pro | CCU
2nd: XBR-65X950G | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | TiVo Mini | ATV (4thGen)
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K | Roku P+ (4630)
FS - Dr. Strangelove (1964) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #35586 of 38822 Old 03-11-2019, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@Sound & Vision , well that explains it, when S&V tested those, they failed at 4K/60 (albeit, they tested the 35' cable, point being they are NOT Premium Certified):


Oh, and most here will tell you that they did get a Premium Certified HDMI cable with their Oppo 203 when they purchased it new.
I believe we use the Oppo cable as a direct test to the tv in an attempt to eliminate other issues like going through a receiver etc that may be the root cause.. I feel comfortable with my 10' cables.. I can see the 25+ foot cables failing to carry the bandwidth that far.. But again, in my situation everything was fine until i updated the firmware.. So i guess if the lateset firmware is commanding much more bandwidth then maybe it is the cables??

Last edited by Sound & Vision; 03-12-2019 at 03:56 PM.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #35587 of 38822 Old 03-11-2019, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 11,085
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 475
The HDMI cable itself will not have a sticker, but the plastic bag would have had a Premium Certified sticker on it. The head of the cable has a trapezoid shape with rounded edges and HDMI written vertically on it. So make sure that is the cable you are using.


It is possible that some of your settings in the player are now different from the previous firmware release, such as the AUTO handshaking for the output resolution now being 60Hz instead of 24Hz, or the Color Space now selecting YCbCr 4:4:4 or RGB instead of YCbCr 4:2:2.


So you can also try using YCbCr 4:2:2 as your Color Space and see if this improves your performance a little bit if you are for sure using the OPPO provided cable direct to your television.
galonzo likes this.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #35588 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 02:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hey everyone. I'm sorry if this has already been discussed...

I have some Demo footage on a USB 3.0 drive that contains MKV files in 4K HDR @60fps . I hooked it up to my Oppo UDP-203 via the USB on the back. All 24fps stuff plays fine. Dolby Vision, HDR10, Atmos, DTS-X (apart from the lossless audio tracks being hit and miss deciding to play or not), everything plays fine. However, the 60fps videos judder.

The videos play perfectly smooth via USB directly into the TV, but the TV's ARC doesn't support all the audio codecs. I have the video out for the Oppo to my LG OLED TV and then the audio is out to the preamp. All settings on the Oppo seem to be okay (i.e. UHD Auto - even tried setting it directly to UHD 60). Then tried Just 1 cable from Oppo to Preamp (using different HDMI cable), and still the same thing happens.

I made sure I had the latest Firmware installed and did factory reset on all settings.
Any suggestions?
corzamoon is offline  
post #35589 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 02:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,706
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Quote:
Originally Posted by corzamoon View Post
Hey everyone. I'm sorry if this has already been discussed...

I have some Demo footage on a USB 3.0 drive that contains MKV files in 4K HDR @60fps . I hooked it up to my Oppo UDP-203 via the USB on the back. All 24fps stuff plays fine. Dolby Vision, HDR10, Atmos, DTS-X (apart from the lossless audio tracks being hit and miss deciding to play or not), everything plays fine. However, the 60fps videos judder....
Quick suggestion. Try pressing the 'RESOLUTION' button on the OPPO remote control until it says 'Source Direct'...
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #35590 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 02:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Quick suggestion. Try pressing the 'RESOLUTION' button on the OPPO remote control until it says 'Source Direct'...
Thanks for the suggestion. It didn't make a difference, as I always have the resolution set to Source Direct. I'm very fussy when it comes to everything being as it should be in the source. Tried auto too, but this doesn't work.
corzamoon is offline  
post #35591 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 05:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 1290
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post
Hello all,


Just wondering if anyone else had to change from "Auto" to "TV led" for their Dolby Vision setting. Spent about an hour resetting my AVR, TV, and 203 before I tried changing the DV setting. Now where's that list of settings and passwords.
Thank you for your responses to my inquiry. I also sent this same question to Oppo and true to form they sent me this response.


"There's a new Dolby Vision protocol that was implemented in the latest official firmware. The Auto setting in Dolby Vision Processing uses the older protocol for TVs or receivers that has not implemented the new changes. The TV-led setting uses the new protocol and if your TV has been updated to the new protocol (which sounds like it has), it will not work with Auto and you will have to use the TV-led setting."


As I stated in my response to them, the only thing better than their fantastic disc players is their exceptional customer service.
KC-Technerd and barryc46 like this.

HT TCL 55P605, BenQ W7000, Pioneer UDP LX500, Panasonic LX1000, Firestick 4K, ATV4K, Pioneer SC-LX701, DefTech, Klipsch, Martin Logan, SVS @ 5.2.4 Atmos
Music Sansui SR-4050, SR-3030, Dual 1219, Pioneer BDP-85FD, Emotiva PT-100, Sherwood Newcastle R-972, Polk Monitor 10 & 5, SVS SB1000
bguzman is offline  
post #35592 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 06:23 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,401
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5925 Post(s)
Liked: 8487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
The HDMI cable that i received with my 203 does not have that sticker.. But i doubt Oppo would include it if they thought it was not up to par.. All my other cables are Monster Black Premium. 😊
The sticker should have been on the plastic bag containing the cable.
--Bob
KC-Technerd and galonzo like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #35593 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The sticker should have been on the plastic bag containing the cable.
--Bob
Yes, i just looked and it is.. Here is a photo.. Thanks bob. 😀
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6999.JPG
Views:	84
Size:	744.1 KB
ID:	2537842  
KC-Technerd and Bob Pariseau like this.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #35594 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Fransfar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I always use premium certified cables and never had any issues before the upgrade. Tried all combinations of colour space but to no avail. The only setting that seems to work on 4k movies saved on external HDD is UHD50! Oppo are looking into the log I sent them so maybe they can determine what's wrong.
galonzo likes this.
Fransfar is offline  
post #35595 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Johnny Begood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I just got a new 203 which I put next to the 103 I have since its first release, with the original firmware.

The 203 is with firmware 20XEU-60-0625.

I can access to my Windows 7 sharing with no issue with my 103 but I'm stuck with the 203. It sees the SMB sharing and ask for the login/pwd but says that credentials are not correct whatever I enter, including the right ones.

Is the 203 not compatible anymore with SMB sharing ?

Thx,

J.
Johnny Begood is offline  
post #35596 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,964
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 2279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Begood View Post
Hello,

I just got a new 203 which I put next to the 103 I have since its first release, with the original firmware.

The 203 is with firmware 20XEU-60-0625.

I can access to my Windows 7 sharing with no issue with my 103 but I'm stuck with the 203. It sees the SMB sharing and ask for the login/pwd but says that credentials are not correct whatever I enter, including the right ones.

Is the 203 not compatible anymore with SMB sharing ?

Thx,

J.
No problem here. Have you tried just leaving everything blank and logging in that way?
hernanu is offline  
post #35597 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Johnny Begood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, tried that also.
Johnny Begood is offline  
post #35598 of 38822 Old 03-12-2019, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 737 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Begood View Post
Hello,

I just got a new 203 which I put next to the 103 I have since its first release, with the original firmware.

The 203 is with firmware 20XEU-60-0625.

I can access to my Windows 7 sharing with no issue with my 103 but I'm stuck with the 203. It sees the SMB sharing and ask for the login/pwd but says that credentials are not correct whatever I enter, including the right ones.

Is the 203 not compatible anymore with SMB sharing ?

Thx,

J.
Check this setting on Win7.......

Control Panel / Programs and Features / Turn Windows Features On or Off and make sure SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support is ticked.
Win7 uses SMB V1 with the 103 ( weaker authentication), but negotiates SMB V2 with the 203 and uses stronger authentication. By forcing Win 7 to use SMB V1, the 203 should use SMB V1 and authentication will work as it does for the 103.
smoore likes this.

Last edited by Whirlpool0548; 03-13-2019 at 02:08 AM.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #35599 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 06:06 AM
Member
 
Johnny Begood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
Check this setting on Win7.......

Control Panel / Programs and Features / Turn Windows Features On or Off and make sure SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support is ticked.
Win7 uses SMB V1 with the 103 ( weaker authentication), but negotiates SMB V2 with the 203 and uses stronger authentication. By forcing Win 7 to use SMB V1, the 203 should use SMB V1 and authentication will work as it does for the 103.
There is no such entry in Programs and Features for windows 7 (at least on my version, Ultimate). It seems to be present for W8 and after. I already tried this path through registry editor and add what necessary to enable SMB V1 and V2, according to MS (https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/...in-windows-and).

However, you mentioned that 103 is using SMB V1 which means that SMB V1 is then already running in my case as my 103 connects with no issue (I mean that it was running before any registry modifications). So 203 should have then found and used the same protocol.

Anyway, adding the registry entries that are supposed to enable SMB V1 and V2 does not change anything. And it works well with a NAS Synology through SMB, so the issue is not on the 203 side (and it continues to work with the 103).

J.
Johnny Begood is offline  
post #35600 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 737 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Begood View Post
There is no such entry in Programs and Features for windows 7 (at least on my version, Ultimate). It seems to be present for W8 and after. I already tried this path through registry editor and add what necessary to enable SMB V1 and V2, according to MS (https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/...in-windows-and).

However, you mentioned that 103 is using SMB V1 which means that SMB V1 is then already running in my case as my 103 connects with no issue (I mean that it was running before any registry modifications). So 203 should have then found and used the same protocol.

Anyway, adding the registry entries that are supposed to enable SMB V1 and V2 does not change anything. And it works well with a NAS Synology through SMB, so the issue is not on the 203 side (and it continues to work with the 103).

J.
Yes, SMB V1 is supported, the 103 works Ok, but the likelihood is that the 203 negotiates V2 so the stronger authentication mechanism is in use, which then fails. It would be worth logging the NAS to find out how it is authenticating, if that’s working OK.

Further research shows the 203 supports only SMB v2, so forcing Win7 to use V1 won’t work.
Use eventvwr in Win 7 to see if it logs why the authentication is failing.

It’s worth checking the settings in this extract from a user with the same issue.............(note particularly the comment about password protection). SMB V2 uses strong authentication.

“My Win7 x64 settings:

Under the "Sharing>>Advanced Sharing" option of the folder properties I have given permissions to Everyone.

Similarly, under the "Security" tab, I have given full-control to Everyone.

Under "Control Panel>>Network & Sharing Center>> Advanced sharing settings" I have the following:

Network Discovery: On
File and printer sharing: On
Public folder sharing: Off (was previously on, but that didn't work)
File sharing connections: Use 128-bit
Password protected sharing: On
HomeGroup Connections: Windows manages. (Note: I have not set up a homegroup).

With the above settings, my share is accessible and playing smoothly from the player. Oppo now accepts my username/password combination. With password protection turned off it would not work. Oppo support emailed me in response to my inquiry and said that the player must input a password. At this juncture I'm not 100% certain that giving continued access to Everyone is a requirement, but I have noticed that nonetheless my phone now asks for a user/pass when before it could access my share without. I might experiment in the future after I savor my victory, but for now I'm leaving my settings as is.”

Last edited by Whirlpool0548; 03-13-2019 at 08:50 AM.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #35601 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I recently installed Server 2019 data center edition and I was not able to get my shares to show up until I enabled SMB v1. I am definitely of the belief that v2 is not in play with the 203. I even emailed support about getting rid of v1 and was given no indication that v2 or 3 is used. Does anyone have proof to counter my observations?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
sovereignstar is online now  
post #35602 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,964
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 2279
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
I recently installed Server 2019 data center edition and I was not able to get my shares to show up until I enabled SMB v1. I am definitely of the belief that v2 is not in play with the 203. I even emailed support about getting rid of v1 and was given no indication that v2 or 3 is used. Does anyone have proof to counter my observations?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
SMB V1 is what's required to get the 203 (and the 103D) to work through the SMB protocol. That's been established for a while. No need to speculate about V2 or V3.
hernanu is offline  
post #35603 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 737 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
I recently installed Server 2019 data center edition and I was not able to get my shares to show up until I enabled SMB v1. I am definitely of the belief that v2 is not in play with the 203. I even emailed support about getting rid of v1 and was given no indication that v2 or 3 is used. Does anyone have proof to counter my observations?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

From the previous post...……..


"Oppo support emailed me in response to my inquiry and said that the player must input a password".


That response implies V2 authentication.


From the earlier post, if the 103 works with Win 7, that implies it uses V1 allowing authentication without a password.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #35604 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
From the previous post...……..


"Oppo support emailed me in response to my inquiry and said that the player must input a password".


That response implies V2 authentication.


From the earlier post, if the 103 works with Win 7, that implies it uses V1 allowing authentication without a password.
Okay, what I'm saying is that the only thing that fixed my shares not showing up on my brand spanking new server was to enable v1. It was absolutely thrilled last thing I wanted to do.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
sovereignstar is online now  
post #35605 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 737 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
Okay, what I'm saying is that the only thing that fixed my shares not showing up on my brand spanking new server was to enable v1. It was absolutely thrilled last thing I wanted to do.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

Quote from another user....
"I called Oppo and was told that Oppo uses SMB 2.0 protocol"


It's possible that the 203 did originally use V1, but reading through the posts it was Oppo's intention to implement V2
Maybe one of the firmware releases incorporated that change.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #35606 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
Quote from another user....
"I called Oppo and was told that Oppo uses SMB 2.0 protocol"


It's possible that the 203 did originally use V1, but reading through the posts it was Oppo's intention to implement V2
Maybe one of the firmware releases incorporated that change.
Eh, I am on the latest firmware and my server OS installation was definitely after the latest FW update.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
sovereignstar is online now  
post #35607 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 69
To oppo: Is there any chance the product engineers could work on SMBv2 support?

Oppo: We have had similar request, but it does not look likely at this time.

They replied to me on Feb 12th of this year.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
vavan likes this.
sovereignstar is online now  
post #35608 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 737 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
To oppo: Is there any chance the product engineers could work on SMBv2 support?

Oppo: We have had similar request, but it does not look likely at this time.

They replied to me on Feb 12th of this year.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
OK, that's conclusive.
If both the 103 and the 203 use V1, but only the 103 works OK with SMB shares on Win7, it would be worth looking in the windows eventlog (eventvwr from the commandline and look in the security log) to see how Win7 handles authentication for the 103 compared with the 203.
Maybe the 203 uses different authentication NTLM V1 / NTLM V2.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #35609 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 737 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Begood View Post
Hello,

I just got a new 203 which I put next to the 103 I have since its first release, with the original firmware.

The 203 is with firmware 20XEU-60-0625.

I can access to my Windows 7 sharing with no issue with my 103 but I'm stuck with the 203. It sees the SMB sharing and ask for the login/pwd but says that credentials are not correct whatever I enter, including the right ones.

Is the 203 not compatible anymore with SMB sharing ?

Thx,

J.
It looks like the concensus is that the 203 also uses SMB V1, so the explanation for the 203’s authentication issues are not SMB version related.

As a quick test, try creating a new local user account on the Win 7 machine.
Set the permissions on the share to include that new local user.
(i.e don’t rely on ‘everyone’ access), or a Microsoft account.

Try to access the shared folder from the 203.
Use the new local user name/password combination when prompted.

Do the new user credentials work ?

Last edited by Whirlpool0548; 03-13-2019 at 12:53 PM.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #35610 of 38822 Old 03-13-2019, 12:41 PM
boe
AVS Forum Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,325
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 561
I've spent a lot of time chasing down the SMB 10 issues and to use winnfsd.exe as another user suggested. It is small so it doesn't require much in the way of resources. I have a batch file that runs on startup.
boe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off