Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1199 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 278070Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35941 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 05:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
You're describing a symptom of a network bottleneck. But you need to provide a bit more info about what you are streaming, how connected, etc.
Nah, it's not a bottleneck. I've seen the same thing with Plex dlna and it never happens with my smb shares, which is what I play 99% of the time and they serve up the exact same content. The only other instance I've ran into it is browsing through the smb shares, but it's rare enough I've never opened up an issue with OPPO. Like the poster above mentioned, you can't do anything but power the oppo off and start new.

I have gigabit internet and the appropriate equipment throughout my house.

LG OLED E8
Oppo UDP-203
Samsung HW-N950
sovereignstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35942 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 06:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
Nah, it's not a bottleneck. I've seen the same thing with Plex dlna and it never happens with my smb shares, which is what I play 99% of the time and they serve up the exact same content..
There have been a few posts on the forum relating to Plex UPnP file serving issues and not just with the OPPO's... I can't say I've experienced these issues with UPnP file server on my Synology NAS.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #35943 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HDMI In Not Working on Oppo 203

Hello all. I recently acquired an Oppo 203. This morning I plugged an Apple TV 4K into the HDMI input and it worked fine. Later I tried to plug a Firestick into the input_ now it won't display the Firestick, or the Apple TV. I ve tried a different HDMI high speed cable, tried rebooting everything in the chain. Nothing displays from the HDMI input though the rest of the unit works fine. Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated!
Jesshakti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35944 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 01:39 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,206
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4459 Post(s)
Liked: 4227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesshakti View Post
Hello all. I recently acquired an Oppo 203. This morning I plugged an Apple TV 4K into the HDMI input and it worked fine. Later I tried to plug a Firestick into the input_ now it won't display the Firestick, or the Apple TV. I ve tried a different HDMI high speed cable, tried rebooting everything in the chain. Nothing displays from the HDMI input though the rest of the unit works fine. Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated!
There are four choices under Setup -> Device Setup -> HDMI IN Specs. Do you get anything by varying that?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #35945 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
There are four choices under Setup -> Device Setup -> HDMI IN Specs. Do you get anything by varying that?

-Bill
Hmm, I don’t have an HDMI IN specs option. The last firmware update looks like me 2017. I generally avoid updates when things are working ok. I see there are a lot of complaints about updates on this thread. Does anyone know when the last unproblematic update was? Perhaps I could install that?
Dr Steve is offline  
post #35946 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 03:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
There are four choices under Setup -> Device Setup -> HDMI IN Specs. Do you get anything by varying that?

-Bill
I just unplugged everything and tried again and it's working now. Thanks for your help. So still I would ask , since there some complaints about updates on this thread. Does anyone know when the last stable update was? Perhaps I could install that from a USB stick?
Jesshakti is offline  
post #35947 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
Hmm, I don’t have an HDMI IN specs option. The last firmware update looks like me 2017. I generally avoid updates when things are working ok. I see there are a lot of complaints about updates on this thread. Does anyone know when the last unproblematic update was? Perhaps I could install that?
Is this a troll? Who has been complaining about problems with firmware in this thread?

LG OLED E8
Oppo UDP-203
Samsung HW-N950
sovereignstar is offline  
post #35948 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 04:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
Is this a troll? Who has been complaining about problems with firmware in this thread?

John Archer at Forbes https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#304a6fbf4219

I See a number of people mentioned bugs in updates on 4/11, 4/10,2/18 etc . So was there an update at some point that no one had an problems with? Updates often cause issues for some people.
Jesshakti is offline  
post #35949 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesshakti View Post
John Archer at Forbes https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#304a6fbf4219

I See a number of people mentioned bugs in updates on 4/11, 4/10,2/18 etc . So was there an update at some point that no one had an problems with? Updates often cause issues for some people.
Those dates I quoted were in this thread- I only went back a couple months, there were a lot more listed. Type in "update" in the search function.
vavan likes this.
Jesshakti is offline  
post #35950 of 35985 Old 04-14-2019, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,420
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3685 Post(s)
Liked: 2844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesshakti View Post
John Archer at Forbes https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#304a6fbf4219

I See a number of people mentioned bugs in updates on 4/11, 4/10,2/18 etc . So was there an update at some point that no one had an problems with? Updates often cause issues for some people.
The latest official update is the only one you should be using. That linked article is WAY too old to be relevant in any way. Please update your player. https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...e-65-0131.aspx
tngiloy, bguzman, Mike_WI and 3 others like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #35951 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 04:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Digital to analog conversion from HDMI in?

Hi all,

I’m struggling to pass the audio from a TV through the Oppo-203 and over to an amplifier.
As my amplifier is analog only, the Oppo is connected through analog connectors.

Every source played directly from within the Oppo to the amplifier works fine. However, I have connected a Samsung Q9F TV to the Oppo with an HDMI from the Samsungs ARC HDMI-connection - to the HDMI input on the Oppo. I have not succeeded in passing the audio signal from the TV to the amplifier.

Is this even possible?
I’m grateful for any ideas!
Thanks!
Harald Hasner is offline  
post #35952 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 04:37 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,206
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4459 Post(s)
Liked: 4227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harald Hasner View Post
Hi all,

I’m struggling to pass the audio from a TV through the Oppo-203 and over to an amplifier.
As my amplifier is analog only, the Oppo is connected through analog connectors.

Every source played directly from within the Oppo to the amplifier works fine. However, I have connected a Samsung Q9F TV to the Oppo with an HDMI from the Samsungs ARC HDMI-connection - to the HDMI input on the Oppo. I have not succeeded in passing the audio signal from the TV to the amplifier.

Is this even possible?
I’m grateful for any ideas!
Thanks!
Welcome to AVSForum.

Have you selected the "HDMI ARC" option with the Input button?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #35953 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harald Hasner View Post
Hi all,

I’m struggling to pass the audio from a TV through the Oppo-203 and over to an amplifier.
As my amplifier is analog only, the Oppo is connected through analog connectors.

Every source played directly from within the Oppo to the amplifier works fine. However, I have connected a Samsung Q9F TV to the Oppo with an HDMI from the Samsungs ARC HDMI-connection - to the HDMI input on the Oppo. I have not succeeded in passing the audio signal from the TV to the amplifier.

Is this even possible?
I can assure you that what you want to do is possible, as I do it all the time

As Bill has already mentioned, you need to select your OPPO's "HDMI ARC" option via the remote control. And you'll need to make sure your Samsung TV's CEC (Anynet+) option is enabled too.

Also (and this is very important) you need to make sure that the HDMI lead between your TV and OPPO supports ARC (not all do) and is connected your TV's dedicated HDMI ARC port, which is usually port #2 . And that your TV's 'audio output' options are set to 'Auto'...


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #35954 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Fantastic! Thank you, both Bill and "SeeMoreDigital" - it now works!

I do however only get stereo, and I have tried changing under setup for both the tv and Oppo - without getting any wiser.
Please see the attached picture (sorry, blurry...) - do you know how to get some kind of "surround"?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190415_165842_resized_20190415_052026280.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	586.9 KB
ID:	2553210  
Harald Hasner is offline  
post #35955 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harald Hasner View Post
Fantastic! Thank you, both Bill and "SeeMoreDigital" - it now works!

I do however only get stereo, and I have tried changing under setup for both the tv and Oppo - without getting any wiser.
Please see the attached picture (sorry, blurry...) - do you know how to get some kind of "surround"?
First things first... Are you 100% sure that the content you've tried playing from your TV is actually in 'surround sound'?

And as mentioned in my previous post, you need to make sure that (all) your TV's 'audio output' options are set to 'Auto'... If they are set to PCM your AVR will only receive a 2 channel PCM signal.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #35956 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
chrisdack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harald Hasner View Post
Hi all,

I’m struggling to pass the audio from a TV through the Oppo-203 and over to an amplifier.
As my amplifier is analog only, the Oppo is connected through analog connectors.

Every source played directly from within the Oppo to the amplifier works fine. However, I have connected a Samsung Q9F TV to the Oppo with an HDMI from the Samsungs ARC HDMI-connection - to the HDMI input on the Oppo. I have not succeeded in passing the audio signal from the TV to the amplifier.

Is this even possible?
I’m grateful for any ideas!
Thanks!
Welcome to AVSForum.

Have you selected the "HDMI ARC" option with the Input button?

-Bill
Hello Harald

Did you mean to say you connected TV to the oppo input. I'd have thought you meant to connect the the oppo hdmi out and then enable the arc function
chrisdack is offline  
post #35957 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
First things first... Are you 100% sure that the content you've tried playing from your TV is actually in 'surround sound'?

And as mentioned in my previous post, you need to make sure that (all) your TV's 'audio output' options are set to 'Auto'... If they are set to PCM your AVR will only receive a 2 channel PCM signal.
Everything's working properly now! I actually had the setup straight, but when previewing media on Netflix they were only presented in stereo. When duly selected they all play multi-channel.


Thank you!
SeeMoreDigital and Matt2026 like this.
Harald Hasner is offline  
post #35958 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Woodbridge, VA (25 miles south of D.C.)
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
Hmm, I don’t have an HDMI IN specs option.

Under Device Setup, you have to scroll down to find the HDMI IN Specs choice. It is right after Power On Input and before Front Panel Brightness.


Edit: The four choices are:


1080p
UHD 24Hz
UHD
UHD HDR


Hope this helps.

Spoiler!

Last edited by RetiredandLovingIt; 04-15-2019 at 11:48 AM.
RetiredandLovingIt is online now  
post #35959 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 05:07 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,119
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5717 Post(s)
Liked: 8132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
Hmm, I don’t have an HDMI IN specs option. The last firmware update looks like me 2017. I generally avoid updates when things are working ok. I see there are a lot of complaints about updates on this thread. Does anyone know when the last unproblematic update was? Perhaps I could install that?
Don't be scared off by that outdated article you spotted. Install the latest Official firmware in your 203, and then do a Reset Factory Defaults after the install, followed by turning the player Off and back On again. Then re-establish your personal settings choices.

Follow the instructions on OPPO's Support page for the firmware here:

https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...e-65-0131.aspx

If your current firmware is ancient, as appears to be the case, please take careful note of Item 2 in the "Special Notice" section:

"For players with firmware version 42-0329 or earlier, please install the UDP20X-45-0605 firmware first. You will then be able to upgrade from version 45-0605 to the latest version, 65-0131."

--Bob
gymnos and RetiredandLovingIt like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #35960 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
They can either watch the HDR10 base layer but if they want to retain Dolby Vision, they have to put it in a MP4 container which results in lossy audio due to container restrictions.

If you get an Oppo you don't have to worry about any of it. Just do a full backup.

May I please ask a question about full back ups? I assume people are referring here to a BMVD folder made with MakeMKV? There are so many files in there when you do that, some are only jpegs, HOW do you get the Oppo 203 to play this as a movie with menus, lossless audio, etc? thanks for your help!
Dr Steve is offline  
post #35961 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Don't be scared off by that outdated article you spotted. Install the latest Official firmware in your 203, and then do a Reset Factory Defaults after the install, followed by turning the player Off and back On again. Then re-establish your personal settings choices.

Follow the instructions on OPPO's Support page for the firmware here:

https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...e-65-0131.aspx

If your current firmware is ancient, as appears to be the case, please take careful note of Item 2 in the "Special Notice" section:

"For players with firmware version 42-0329 or earlier, please install the UDP20X-45-0605 firmware first. You will then be able to upgrade from version 45-0605 to the latest version, 65-0131."

--Bob

Thank you, Bob. I always appreciate your thoughtful input. It wasn't just the one article, but several mentions in this and other AV threads about a few people having various problems with updates on the Oppo. (On a different note, a recent Apple TV update caused a number of people to lose DV support. Updates scare me.) Oppo support very kindly and patiently explained to me each case I sent them of why people had problems, mostly HDMI cabling (no surprise- the Usual Suspect). What terrific tech support, and what a great product! So sad to be losing it.
Dr Steve is offline  
post #35962 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2038 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
May I please ask a question about full back ups? I assume people are referring here to a BMVD folder made with MakeMKV? There are so many files in there when you do that, some are only jpegs, HOW do you get the Oppo 203 to play this as a movie with menus, lossless audio, etc? thanks for your help!
It was requested that discussion around backups were taken to the appropriate thread but I would refer to wmcclain's excellent FAQ.

Follow those steps and you just select the AVCHD folder and it starts like a disc.
wl1 and RetiredandLovingIt like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #35963 of 35985 Old 04-15-2019, 11:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
It was requested that discussion around backups were taken to the appropriate thread but I would refer to wmcclain's excellent FAQ.

Follow those steps and you just select the AVCHD folder and it starts like a disc.

Thank you!
Dr Steve is offline  
post #35964 of 35985 Old 04-16-2019, 12:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Parys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Tonight out of nowhere my oppo 203 stops working. Getting unknown disc message on every disc. Any tricks to fix this that anyone knows? Very upsetting as it just went past 2 years now and never had a problem till now.

Jim Parys is Living the dream...
La Sirena III Theater
Jim Parys is offline  
post #35965 of 35985 Old 04-16-2019, 02:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Parys View Post
Tonight out of nowhere my oppo 203 stops working. Getting unknown disc message on every disc. Any tricks to fix this that anyone knows? Very upsetting as it just went past 2 years now and never had a problem till now.


Have you updated to latest firmware? I had issues with grinch 2019, updated to latest and works perfectly now. Give it a try


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
johnnyboy632 is offline  
post #35966 of 35985 Old 04-16-2019, 03:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanBa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Some results from the upcoming disc "Spears & Munsil UHD HDR Benchmark"
https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread...6#post16300966

giomania and KC-Technerd like this.

Universal audio/video receiver (Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, etc.) is achieved.
Universal HDR TV (HDR10, Dolby Vision, HEVC HLG HDR, VP9-HLG / VP9-PQ YouTube HDR, Dynamic HDR) is required.

Push for universal HDR TV!
DanBa is online now  
post #35967 of 35985 Old 04-16-2019, 04:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,482
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2113 Post(s)
Liked: 2100
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanBa View Post
Some results from the upcoming disc "Spears & Munsil UHD HDR Benchmark"
https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread...6#post16300966

Is there any scuttlebutt regarding a release date?

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Nvidia Shield TV; Oppo UDP-203; Sony BDP-S5200 (multi-region); Denon AVR-X8500H (9.1.4/13.1); Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #35968 of 35985 Old 04-16-2019, 04:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 11,949
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5706
Not surprised that the Sony and Panny just "pass". Sony has been good about accuracy for many years.

XBR65A8F / XBR65A1E
Oppo UDP-203 / Roku Ultra
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-500SA / FV15HP(2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #35969 of 35985 Old 04-16-2019, 04:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanBa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
Is there any scuttlebutt regarding a release date?
"Hopefully its out in May." [Stacey Spears]
https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread...8#post16222578
chi_guy50 likes this.

Universal audio/video receiver (Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, etc.) is achieved.
Universal HDR TV (HDR10, Dolby Vision, HEVC HLG HDR, VP9-HLG / VP9-PQ YouTube HDR, Dynamic HDR) is required.

Push for universal HDR TV!
DanBa is online now  
post #35970 of 35985 Old 04-16-2019, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
DV restricts zoom from within the disc authoring. So far, the newer LG OLEDS seem to zoom via its own built in TV zoom function. Otherwise, you can set the 203 to 21:9 and then 16:9 content will zoom full screen via the 203's zoom button but with a slight vertical stretch.. Its a workaround... not perfect but works.

Could someone tell me if the zoom function on the Oppo is disabled for Dolby Vision content coming through the HDMI port, e.g. from an Apple TV or Firestick? Thank you.
Dr Steve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off