Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1212 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 278959Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #36331 of 36913 Old 05-27-2019, 01:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
blairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jordan Springs NSW Australia
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 91
93 can play BDISO
blairy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36332 of 36913 Old 05-27-2019, 02:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,353
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 985 Post(s)
Liked: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairy View Post
93 can play BDISO
That's not a 'file system' format it's a 'disk image' format...
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #36333 of 36913 Old 05-27-2019, 01:00 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,235
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2363
I've been using a Startech switch since December 2018 to control input from three source devices through HDMI IN -- Xfinity Cable, Roku 3, and OPPO 93 with good results until the last few days. The problems evolved to the point where there was audio but no video last night. I checked an reinserted all the HDMI connections before I took the Startech switch out of the path. Everything works fine now. All the HDMI cables are Premium bought at the same time as the switch.

Due to the short life span of the Startech I'm looking for other Startech problems in case they offer to replace the switch, or a suggestion for a similar switch from another company.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36334 of 36913 Old 05-27-2019, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Kishiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Question HDR10+ plays as SDR instead of HDR10...

When I play one of the new HDR10+ 4K Ultra HD discs ('A Beautiful Planet') on my Opp UDP-203 connected to my LG OLED65B6 TV (which supports HDR10, Dolby Vision, but not HDR10+), the Oppo sends a SDR signal. I would assume it would send HDR10(regular, non-plus), but it does not. (This is with HDR-setting 'Auto' on the Oppo Player). Can anyone confirm this behaviour on other displays that only supports HDR10 ? I don't know if it's only this title (A Beautiful Planet) or if all HDR10+ titles will be converted to SDR on my setup, fortunately I don't own other HDR10+ titles.


Here's some of the HDR10+ titles available now :
- Alien 4K
- Bad Times at the El Royale 4K
- Bohemian Rhapsody 4K
- A Beautiful Planet 4K
- The Hate U Give 4K
- The Kid Who Would Be King 4K
- Man on a Ledge 4K
- Robin Hood 4K (2018)
- We, the Marines 4K
- Widows 4K (2018)
Kishiro is offline  
post #36335 of 36913 Old 05-27-2019, 02:52 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,235
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2363
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
I've been using a Startech switch since December 2018 to control input from three source devices through HDMI IN -- Xfinity Cable, Roku 3, and OPPO 93 with good results until the last few days. The problems evolved to the point where there was audio but no video last night. I checked an reinserted all the HDMI connections before I took the Startech switch out of the path. Everything works fine now. All the HDMI cables are Premium bought at the same time as the switch.

Due to the short life span of the Startech I'm looking for other Startech problems in case they offer to replace the switch, or a suggestion for a similar switch from another company.
Has anyone had HDCP problems associated with using the HDMI IN port on the 203 lately?

UPDATE 1: I took the 203 out and connected the switch directly to the AVR and that worked to. Therefore it looks like the 203 and the Startech switch are not working together. I'm assuming it's a HDCP problem but I don't know how to diagnose it.

UPDATE 2: I put everything back together and it's working now. I should have expected that.
dianebrat, galonzo and naustin like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 05-27-2019 at 04:37 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #36336 of 36913 Old 05-27-2019, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kishiro View Post
When I play one of the new HDR10+ 4K Ultra HD discs ('A Beautiful Planet') on my Opp UDP-203 connected to my LG OLED65B6 TV (which supports HDR10, Dolby Vision, but not HDR10+), the Oppo sends a SDR signal. I would assume it would send HDR10(regular, non-plus), but it does not. (This is with HDR-setting 'Auto' on the Oppo Player). Can anyone confirm this behaviour on other displays that only supports HDR10 ? I don't know if it's only this title (A Beautiful Planet) or if all HDR10+ titles will be converted to SDR on my setup, fortunately I don't own other HDR10+ titles.
I've played both 'Bad Times at the El Royale' and 'Alien' onto my Panasonic TX-55EZ952 OLED (HDR10, no DV, no HDR10+) and can confirm playback of both in HDR10.
galonzo likes this.

Panasonic TX-55EZ952B OLED / Oppo UDP-203 / Onkyo TX-NR555 / B&W 600 Series + Elac A4 Atmos
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #36337 of 36913 Old 05-27-2019, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Kishiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverobertsbbc View Post
I've played both 'Bad Times at the El Royale' and 'Alien' onto my Panasonic TX-55EZ952 OLED (HDR10, no DV, no HDR10+) and can confirm playback of both in HDR10.
Thanks for the feedback Steve PS; What is your HDR setting on the Oppo, 'Auto' or 'Forced' ?
Kishiro is offline  
post #36338 of 36913 Old 05-27-2019, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kishiro View Post
Thanks for the feedback Steve PS; What is your HDR setting on the Oppo, 'Auto' or 'Forced' ?
It's in Auto.
galonzo likes this.

Panasonic TX-55EZ952B OLED / Oppo UDP-203 / Onkyo TX-NR555 / B&W 600 Series + Elac A4 Atmos
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #36339 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 01:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,353
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 985 Post(s)
Liked: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kishiro View Post
When I play one of the new HDR10+ 4K Ultra HD discs ('A Beautiful Planet') on my Opp UDP-203 connected to my LG OLED65B6 TV (which supports HDR10, Dolby Vision, but not HDR10+), the Oppo sends a SDR signal. I would assume it would send HDR10(regular, non-plus), but it does not...
I can confirm that when playing HDR10+ discs my [2016] LG 65UH770V obtains HDR10.

My OPPO is running firmware version: 65-0131 [Feb 2019]
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #36340 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 04:09 AM
Member
 
gymnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kishiro View Post
When I play one of the new HDR10+ 4K Ultra HD discs ('A Beautiful Planet') on my Opp UDP-203 connected to my LG OLED65B6 TV (which supports HDR10, Dolby Vision, but not HDR10+), the Oppo sends a SDR signal. I would assume it would send HDR10(regular, non-plus), but it does not. (This is with HDR-setting 'Auto' on the Oppo Player). Can anyone confirm this behaviour on other displays that only supports HDR10 ? I don't know if it's only this title (A Beautiful Planet) or if all HDR10+ titles will be converted to SDR on my setup, fortunately I don't own other HDR10+ titles.
I've played both 'A beautiful planet' and 'Alien' onto my LG 55C8 OLED (not ready for HDR10+) and can confirm playback of both in HDR10.

Everything set to 'Auto'.
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED 55C8 // Oppo UDP-203 // Yamaha RX-V775 // Magnat Supreme
gymnos is offline  
post #36341 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Since latest firmware, getting "no sound", without first opening/closing the disc drawer.

Is anyone else getting this issue? It just started recently, about two months ago. I don't watch a lot of movies anymore because of streaming, but its very consistent, like an HDMI handshake issue.

But using the remote, and hitting Open, then close, and playing resolves the issue.

I haven't changed any of my settings - audio set to bitstream.

Thanks in advance.

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #36342 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 08:55 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,434
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4582 Post(s)
Liked: 4418
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTheater View Post
Since latest firmware, getting "no sound", without first opening/closing the disc drawer.

Is anyone else getting this issue? It just started recently, about two months ago. I don't watch a lot of movies anymore because of streaming, but its very consistent, like an HDMI handshake issue.

But using the remote, and hitting Open, then close, and playing resolves the issue.

I haven't changed any of my settings - audio set to bitstream.

Thanks in advance.
I wonder if operating the tray causes an HDMI handshake? You might toggling RESOLUTION or INPUT or color space to some other value and then back again to see if you get the same result.

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #36343 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 143
I have a problem that happened last night that I can’t figure out.

I had left a disc in the player (Doctor Strange 3D Blu-ray) & when I started the player it reset the player.

Now the Oppo Remote Control doesn’t work on the player.

The same remote works with my Oppo 103D but it doesn’t work with the Oppo 203. It is a Oppo 203 Remote.

I’ve tried changing the remote control code to 3, resetting the player. I’ve even tried taking the power cord out & waiting 10 minutes & restarting the player. What’s weird about that is when I do that the remote control will turn on the player but will not do any other functions once the player is on.

Any suggestions?
marine92104 is offline  
post #36344 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 09:59 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,434
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4582 Post(s)
Liked: 4418
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
I have a problem that happened last night that I can’t figure out.

I had left a disc in the player (Doctor Strange 3D Blu-ray) & when I started the player it reset the player.

Now the Oppo Remote Control doesn’t work on the player.

The same remote works with my Oppo 103D but it doesn’t work with the Oppo 203. It is a Oppo 203 Remote.

I’ve tried changing the remote control code to 3, resetting the player. I’ve even tried taking the power cord out & waiting 10 minutes & restarting the player. What’s weird about that is when I do that the remote control will turn on the player but will not do any other functions once the player is on.

Any suggestions?
The switch in the remote battery compartment has to match the value in the player's SETUP menu. Is that the case here?

After power has been disconnected, any OPPO remote code (1,2,3) will power on the player the first time. It remembers it's code on while on standby power.

-Bill
gymnos likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #36345 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 143
It matches the player code on the player.

Both were set to 3. I then tried setting the remote control back to 1 in the player & the remote. That didn’t work either.

The same remote does work with my Oppo 103D when I match up the remote control codes in the player & remote control.
marine92104 is offline  
post #36346 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 10:37 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,434
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4582 Post(s)
Liked: 4418
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
It matches the player code on the player.

Both were set to 3. I then tried setting the remote control back to 1 in the player & the remote. That didn’t work either.

The same remote does work with my Oppo 103D when I match up the remote control codes in the player & remote control.
To be complete you ought to try the code 2 switch setting on the remote. If that's no good, then to summarize:

* None of switch setting 1,2,3 work on the 203.

* But the same remote does work on the 103D (when set correctly)

Correct? That's puzzling.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #36347 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I once had the front IR sensor get switched off in some weird combination of events that I can't remember right now. Can't remember if it was my 103 or my 203 but it had me in a bit of a panic for a bit. Might be worth checking out.
galonzo likes this.
dryeye is offline  
post #36348 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Really weird. I changed the remote control to 2 on the Oppo 203 in the player & remote but now it works. 1 & 3 do no but 2 does.

I tried changing the 103D remote to 1 & 3 in the player & remote control & 1 & 3 do not work but 2 does.

I don’t know why remote control code 2 works on both players & 1 & 3 do no work.

At least I have a working remote code for the 203 now. I just can’t have both players plugged in at the same time because the remote will turn back on.

Really strange.
marine92104 is offline  
post #36349 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Kishiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by gymnos View Post
I've played both 'A beautiful planet' and 'Alien' onto my LG 55C8 OLED (not ready for HDR10+) and can confirm playback of both in HDR10.

Everything set to 'Auto'.
Thnx buddy Update: It seems to be working now after a full reboot of all the equipment. Probably a hdmi-handshake/negotiation issue or something. And thanks to everyone else who tested. Appreciated.
galonzo likes this.
Kishiro is offline  
post #36350 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 03:04 PM
Member
 
gymnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kishiro View Post
Thnx buddy Update: It seems to be working now after a full reboot of all the equipment. Probably a hdmi-handshake/negotiation issue or something. And thanks to everyone else who tested. Appreciated.
Yes, IMHO a factory reset does miracles.

Cheers.

LG OLED 55C8 // Oppo UDP-203 // Yamaha RX-V775 // Magnat Supreme
gymnos is offline  
post #36351 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 03:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
It is complicated, and here is a little write-up I made for myself to reference after some research.



Dolby Vision HDR RGB Tunneling

The method Dolby Vision HDR (DV) uses to transport the signal over HDMI is referred to as “RGB Tunneling”. The 12-bit ICtCp or ITP colorspace DV signal + Metadata is encapsulated inside the regular RGB 8-bit video signal. The DV “tunneling” carries 12-bit YCbCr 4:2:2 data in an RGB 4:4:4 8-bit transport. This is possible because both signal formats have the same 8.9 Gbps data rate requirements.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolo...hite-paper.pdf



DV requires dynamic luminance data which cannot be explicitly carried in an HDMI 2.0 (18 Gbps max) data stream, so it is designed to transport over HDMI 1.4 (8.9 Gbps max); at least up to [email protected] DV base content and DV luminance (meta) data is encapsulated in an HDMI 1.4 compatible (except HDCP 2.2) RGB 4:4:4 8-bit video stream. That's why Dolby claims that DV can be sent via HDMI v 1.4, but in reality, HDMI v2.0 is needed due to the HDCP v2.2 encryption.



The DV metadata is encoded into the least significant bits of the chroma channels. Upon the HDMI EDID exchange (handshake), the sink (AVR, Display, or HDMI switch) signals the source that it supports Dolby Vision HDR "tunneling". The source then signals the sink that it's transmitting Dolby Vision HDR through an AVI Infoframe, which therefore triggers the Dolby Vision HDR mode in the sink. The display DV engine extracts the components and produces a tone mapped image.

As a result, video pass-through components must be DV 'aware' to not alter the signal, which is in effect 'hidden' inside the 8 bit RGB 'container'.



AVR’s may report DV signals in one of two ways, but both are correct:

Resolution: 4k:24Hz ->4k:24Hz

HDR: Dolby Vision

Color Space: RGB 4:4:4 -> RGB 4:4:4 -OR- YCbCr 4:2:2 -> YCbCr 4:2:2

Color Depth: 8 bits -> 8 bits -OR- 12 bits -> 12 bits
Many thanks for the detailed reply.
However, H.265 HEVC Main 10 only supports up to 10-bit. And according to Dolby, it’s actually 10-bit, too.
https://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolo...les-levels.pdf
EC1602 is offline  
post #36352 of 36913 Old 05-28-2019, 10:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
I once had the front IR sensor get switched off in some weird combination of events that I can't remember right now. Can't remember if it was my 103 or my 203 but it had me in a bit of a panic for a bit. Might be worth checking out.
How did you get the IR sensor back on?
marine92104 is offline  
post #36353 of 36913 Old 05-29-2019, 03:10 AM
Senior Member
 
hlindstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Spoiler!

I can confirm Alien 4K, Bad Times at the El Royale 4K and Bohemian Rhapsody 4K play as they should when Oppo in Auto HDR mode. I have LG OLED E6. Oppo still on 60-0625 fw though.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Oppo UDP-203 and Oppo BDP-83 both hw region modded, Apple TV 4K 32GB, LG OLED55E6V 55", Asustor 2-Bay NAS currently 8TB
hlindstr is offline  
post #36354 of 36913 Old 05-29-2019, 04:35 AM
Member
 
SyncSyncHalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN area
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
How did you get the IR sensor back on?

I do not know if this is how it was done in the context noted, but, page 69 of the user manual discussing setup menu options tells where this setting may be found ("device setup").


5.IR In: The UDP-203 provides two IR In port to allow you to set the UDP-203 receive remote control
signals from the front or the back.

Front (default) – Enables IR In port on the front for receive remote control signals.

Back – Enables IR In port on the back for receive remote control signals.




Ed
galonzo likes this.
SyncSyncHalt is offline  
post #36355 of 36913 Old 05-29-2019, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,040
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlindstr View Post
I can confirm Alien 4K, Bad Times at the El Royale 4K and Bohemian Rhapsody 4K play as they should when Oppo in Auto HDR mode. I have LG OLED E6. Oppo still on 60-0625 fw though.
Yes, it seems to me that the HDR settings menu has been changed again. There was a problem with Dolby Vision ( DV) turning everything pink and to solve that I had to set HDR to manually force LCD. That seemed strange to me as my LG e6p is an OLED but it did restore the intended DV video appearance on Crank DV and Jumanji DV. I need to do more testing but the HDR settings have been in flux.

In the spirit of hope without evidence perhaps we are on the road to the Oppo and e6p supporting HDR 10+

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #36356 of 36913 Old 05-29-2019, 06:54 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,229
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
How did you get the IR sensor back on?
Go into Setup (use the Front Panel buttons while on Home Menu, or point your remote at the Rear IR Sensor) and check the IR Sensor setting.

Even if it currently *SAYS* it is set for Front IR, toggle that to Back IR and then again to Front IR.

(There have been several reports of the player sometimes using Back IR even though the setting says to use Front IR. No idea why. This fixes that.)
--Bob
galonzo, Mike_WI and Matt2026 like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #36357 of 36913 Old 05-29-2019, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by EC1602 View Post
Many thanks for the detailed reply.
However, H.265 HEVC Main 10 only supports up to 10-bit. And according to Dolby, it’s actually 10-bit, too.
https://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolo...les-levels.pdf
If you look at that document, it says that the BL signal cross-compatibility ID for UHD discs is 6. If you then look up ID 6 in the tablet the table, it says that the base layer is encoded as 10-bit HEVC, BUT there's an additional enhancement layer of 1/4 of the resolution of the base layer. Which sort of makes it 12.5 bits at face value... but I'm prepared to believe that this means that DV has a 12 bit resolution on UHD discs.

Panasonic TX-55EZ952B OLED / Oppo UDP-203 / Onkyo TX-NR555 / B&W 600 Series + Elac A4 Atmos
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #36358 of 36913 Old 05-29-2019, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverobertsbbc View Post
If you look at that document, it says that the BL signal cross-compatibility ID for UHD discs is 6. If you then look up ID 6 in the tablet the table, it says that the base layer is encoded as 10-bit HEVC, BUT there's an additional enhancement layer of 1/4 of the resolution of the base layer. Which sort of makes it 12.5 bits at face value... but I'm prepared to believe that this means that DV has a 12 bit resolution on UHD discs.
I fail to see your point. No where in the document, 12-bit is mentioned. It’s all 10-bit.
MPEG says their H.265 HEVC Main 10 supports only up to 10-bit.

On 4K UHD Blu-ray disc, Dolby Vision Profile 7 (dual layer) is used:
- Base layer is encoded in H.265 HEVC Main 10
- DV enhancement layer is encoded in H.265 HEVC Main 10

How did you get 12-bit when the codec does not support it?
EC1602 is offline  
post #36359 of 36913 Old 05-29-2019, 11:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by EC1602 View Post
I fail to see your point. No where in the document, 12-bit is mentioned. It’s all 10-bit.
MPEG says their H.265 HEVC Main 10 supports only up to 10-bit.

On 4K UHD Blu-ray disc, Dolby Vision Profile 7 (dual layer) is used:
- Base layer is encoded in H.265 HEVC Main 10
- DV enhancement layer is encoded in H.265 HEVC Main 10

How did you get 12-bit when the codec does not support it?
Because it's two layers that add together. 10 bits from the HEVC Main 10 base layer with an additional two bits from the HEVC Main 10 enhancement layer. The 12 bits comes out of the physical interface.

Panasonic TX-55EZ952B OLED / Oppo UDP-203 / Onkyo TX-NR555 / B&W 600 Series + Elac A4 Atmos
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #36360 of 36913 Old 05-30-2019, 01:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverobertsbbc View Post
Because it's two layers that add together. 10 bits from the HEVC Main 10 base layer with an additional two bits from the HEVC Main 10 enhancement layer. The 12 bits comes out of the physical interface.
I think color depth doesn't work that way. Can you provide a source where it specifically state as such?
It looks apparently 10-bits of data in the source is the hard limit of codec. There's no adding in color depth.
EC1602 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off