Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1225 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279158Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #36721 of 37235 Old 07-14-2019, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
The Synology is wired to my router but everything else is wireless.

I rebooted the router earlier today and the Oppo streamed perfectly. Gapless and all. But tonight its back to clunky and choppy. Mind you my wife's laptop is currently active on the network too...
In that case, it sounds like a home wifi issue and not a problem with the Synology or Oppo.
galonzo, Operon and seggers like this.

__________
Visio P65-C1 / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K / TiVo Bolt
Yamaha RX-A2060 5.1.4 / KEF iQ / Speakercraft (Ceiling) / Hsu sub / Ruipro 15 Meter Fiber HDMI
bluechunks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36722 of 37235 Old 07-14-2019, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Well, I gave up trying to get any of my 203s to work with my FreeBSD hosted minidlna DLNA servers. At one time they did work, but they were taking so much time accessing the minidlna database/catalog (over 10 minutes) I found them pretty much unusable and haven't looked back. I now use my Yamaha receivers for stereo streaming and my Sony X800M2s for streaming multichannel tracks.
Using the receiver is far more successful for me too. What it doesn't let me do, however, is stream video from the NAS. If the Oppo continues to be flaky is there another, better method of doing that?

Actually, delving a bit, looks lile I can stream these really well direct to my LG OLED using the webOS apps... though at first glance the framerate looks a bit off with everything moving a bit fast...

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Last edited by Crazytrekker; 07-14-2019 at 05:24 PM.
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #36723 of 37235 Old 07-14-2019, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 955 Post(s)
Liked: 1131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
Using the receiver is far more successful for me too. What it doesn't let me do, however, is stream video from the NAS. If the Oppo continues to be flaky is there another, better method of doing that?
I've got a DS918+ that stores all of my music and video. I've installed Plex Server on it.

My primary streamer is an nVidia Shield TV. I've got Plex, Kodi, and MrMC clients installed on it, and all three of them stream from the NAS Plex Server with zero problem.

I've also got an AppleTV 4K with Plex installed and it works as well, although the Shield is my go-to as it supports lossless Atmos in an MKV container, which is what I rip to.

Note 1: My house is wired with CAT 6 Gigabit ethernet, so I don't have any Wifi streaming issues to contend with.

Note 2: I haven't tried any gapless playback. The only thing I can think that I might have that's gapless is Rush: 2112, but it's in a box somewhere in the basement.

Note 3: I've never tried streaming using the 203 because, well, the above works great for me. The 203 is a shiny disc player only.
galonzo likes this.

The Seth-o-Plex 2.0 Build Thread - featuring Dolby Atmos/DTS:X 9.4.4 & 4K Dolby Vision!
Vizio | Dual Denon Atmos AVRs | Oppo | SVS | Mirage | Onkyo | Monoprice

Last edited by stikle; 07-14-2019 at 06:00 PM.
stikle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36724 of 37235 Old 07-14-2019, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 792
It’s really a bummer that stopped updating firmware. I really wanted HLG HDR pass through on hdmi in so I can use it to upscale Directv sdr and then so I can pass through hdr channels (I have 4k plan).
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #36725 of 37235 Old 07-14-2019, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,727
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3856 Post(s)
Liked: 3087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
The Synology is wired to my router but everything else is wireless.

I rebooted the router earlier today and the Oppo streamed perfectly. Gapless and all. But tonight its back to clunky and choppy. Mind you my wife's laptop is currently active on the network too...

Wired just isn't feasible. The Oppo is in a different room to the router/NAS.
No question that your wifi performance is your issue. If you really want the Oppo to get better throughput and wired is not an option: consider using some kind of AP or wifi range extender unit placed into "client mode" and connected to the Oppo by Ethernet. Place that wherever you need to to get needed throughput. Just be aware that wifi is never going to give you 100% happy times with high-bitrate material.
Other wifi upgrade options exist, like any of the "mesh" systems. Sounds like you need something. Even just a bigger router would help.
galonzo likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #36726 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 12:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
The Synology is wired to my router but everything else is wireless.

I rebooted the router earlier today and the Oppo streamed perfectly. Gapless and all. But tonight its back to clunky and choppy. Mind you my wife's laptop is currently active on the network too...

Wired just isn't feasible. The Oppo is in a different room to the router/NAS.
Given that many of us have a Synology NAS and access it via a wired connection, a wired network connection "is totally feasible"....

If your OPPO and NAS are directly connected to your router, I recommend you buy yourself a gigabit network switch and connect all your networked devices to that instead - Routers can be very flaky at switching!
dnhrio and galonzo like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #36727 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
Actually, delving a bit, looks lile I can stream these really well direct to my LG OLED using the webOS apps... though at first glance the framerate looks a bit off with everything moving a bit fast...
You might find that the speed thing is an illusion caused by LG's motion smoothing (TruMotion) being turned on. If you turn it off whilst streaming it should remember that setting in future.
galonzo likes this.

Panasonic TX-55EZ952B OLED / Oppo UDP-203 / Onkyo TX-NR555 / B&W 600 Series + Elac A4 Atmos
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #36728 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
It’s really a bummer that stopped updating firmware. I really wanted HLG HDR pass through on hdmi in so I can use it to upscale Directv sdr and then so I can pass through hdr channels (I have 4k plan).
Oppo was known for outstanding support.... This last firmware is far too buggy to be a last... I hope they continue their outstanding support... Even the beta testers have been quieter than a church mouse.. I hope some good news arrives soon.. I can see the prices dropping on these units as we speak if new firmware doesn't arrive soon...
giomania likes this.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #36729 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
It’️s really a bummer that stopped updating firmware. I really wanted HLG HDR pass through on hdmi in so I can use it to upscale Directv sdr and then so I can pass through hdr channels (I have 4k plan).
Oppo was known for outstanding support.... This last firmware is far too buggy to be a last... I hope they continue their outstanding support... Even the beta testers have been quieter than a church mouse.. I hope some good news arrives soon.. I can see the prices dropping on these units as we speak if new firmware doesn't arrive soon... <img src="https://www.avsforum.com/forum/images/AVSForum/smilies/tango_face_sad.png" border="0" alt="" title="Frown" class="inlineimg" />
If they could pass through hlg hdr like they do with dv through hdmi in itd be best hardware ever lol
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #36730 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
If they could pass through hlg hdr like they do with dv through hdmi in itd be best hardware ever lol

what settings do you use for DV through HDMI in..I only see UHD HDR as best for HDMI in set up
gene9p is offline  
post #36731 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene9p View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
If they could pass through hlg hdr like they do with dv through hdmi in itd be best hardware ever lol

what settings do you use for DV through HDMI in..I only see UHD HDR as best for HDMI in set up
I don’t but I swear I thought I read you could put dv through input? Maybe I’m mistaken badly lol
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #36732 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 05:57 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,276
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5833 Post(s)
Liked: 8309
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene9p View Post
what settings do you use for DV through HDMI in..I only see UHD HDR as best for HDMI in set up
In the Input pop up, select HDMI In Bypass instead of the normal HDMI In choice.
—Bob
galonzo likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #36733 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 06:30 PM
Member
 
misel00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
You used the FW from my link, not from Oppo's site?
I reloaded it on my 203. So now with everything set to Auto for Dolby Vision it seems to work, however, I get about 2-3 seconds of flashing screen before the picture starts to play correctly w/ Dolby vision at the start. Not sure if that is a handshake thing between the player and the Lg OLED C6 or just what it is as far as the Player playing DV correctly on the TV. Would be nice if they could smooth this out and update the firmware.

Thanks for your help!
misel00 is offline  
post #36734 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 08:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 955 Post(s)
Liked: 1131
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Given that many of us have a Synology NAS and access it via a wired connection, a wired network connection "is totally feasible"....

I suspect what Crazytrekker was referring to was getting a network cable from the Oppo to where the NAS is since they're in physically different rooms.

I haven't used one myself, but what I would try is this:

  1. Get a Gigabit Powerline Adapter for the Oppo location to use your house wiring as a network. There are different brands available, this is just one example. You might need two - one for each end. I haven't done the research to see exactly how these work, but I know they do.
  2. As was also pointed out, the switches in routers can be less than stellar. Get a cheap Gigabit switch.
  3. Connect your devices to the switch instead of the router in the NAS room. Connect one router switch port to the Gigabit switch.

That would be a place to start anyway.
Crazytrekker and galonzo like this.

The Seth-o-Plex 2.0 Build Thread - featuring Dolby Atmos/DTS:X 9.4.4 & 4K Dolby Vision!
Vizio | Dual Denon Atmos AVRs | Oppo | SVS | Mirage | Onkyo | Monoprice
stikle is offline  
post #36735 of 37235 Old 07-15-2019, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,955
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2319 Post(s)
Liked: 2174
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene9p View Post
what settings do you use for DV through HDMI in..I only see UHD HDR as best for HDMI in set up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
In the Input pop up, select HDMI In Bypass instead of the normal HDMI In choice.
—Bob
I believe the question was regarding the HDMI IN Specs setting. UHD HDR is the highest setting.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
post #36736 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 02:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene9p View Post
what settings do you use for DV through HDMI in..I only see UHD HDR as best for HDMI in set up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
In the Input pop up, select HDMI In Bypass instead of the normal HDMI In choice.
&#226;€”Bob
I believe the question was regarding the HDMI IN Specs setting. UHD HDR is the highest setting.
Correct and I was hoping they would add HLG variant of hdr to that.

Does anyone have av sync issues when using the hdmi in?
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #36737 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 03:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by stikle View Post
I suspect what Crazytrekker was referring to was getting a network cable from the Oppo to where the NAS is since they're in physically different rooms.

I haven't used one myself, but what I would try is this:

  1. Get a Gigabit Powerline Adapter for the Oppo location to use your house wiring as a network. There are different brands available, this is just one example. You might need two - one for each end. I haven't done the research to see exactly how these work, but I know they do.
  2. As was also pointed out, the switches in routers can be less than stellar. Get a cheap Gigabit switch.
  3. Connect your devices to the switch instead of the router in the NAS room. Connect one router switch port to the Gigabit switch.

That would be a place to start anyway.
I don’t use a NAS but I do use a power line adapter for my Ethernet connections with a with a gigabit switch. I have six pieces of equipment connected and it works like a charm. Just make sure if you go that route that you can return it. Since it works off your homes wiring, either it will work 100% or 0% depending on how the home is wired.
Crazytrekker, galonzo and stikle like this.

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is offline  
post #36738 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 157 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 1792
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
Correct and I was hoping they would add HLG variant of hdr to that.

Does anyone have av sync issues when using the hdmi in?
Have you tried Bypass on the HDMI Input?

I use a Roku through the 203 for UHD/HDR streaming (mostly Netflix and Prime Video), no issues with AV sync; split HDMI output, Main direct to display, Audio to Denon x4200w.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Scarface and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #36739 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I am getting freeze ups..sync issues, dropouts using bypass with the 4K firestick..when I go back to uhd hdr it works much ??..is there another setting I am missing..video output is auto..same for HDR. When I plug the stick directly into my LG E8 works fine but video certainly is better with the OPPO in line when it is working. Perhaps a better cable??. I tried two hdmi's and 2 different inputs but with the stick in the OPPO it's no good.
gene9p is offline  
post #36740 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 07:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Have you tried Bypass on the HDMI Input?

I use a Roku through the 203 for UHD/HDR streaming (mostly Netflix and Prime Video), no issues with AV sync; split HDMI output, Main direct to display, Audio to Denon x4200w.
Bypass means no processing right? The point of using the hdmi in for me is to upscale my directv SDR to 4k...the Oppo does a better job than the LG upscaling sub 1080p content...so i don't want bypass.
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #36741 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 07:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 157 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 1792
I meant for 4K/HLG, @guitarguy316 , so no upscale needed

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Scarface and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #36742 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 08:02 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,276
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5833 Post(s)
Liked: 8309
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
I believe the question was regarding the HDMI IN Specs setting. UHD HDR is the highest setting.
Dolby Vision into the HDMI Input will only work if you select Input > HDMI In Bypass. You can leave the HDMI In Specs setting at UHD HDR.
--Bob
galonzo likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #36743 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 114
still getting flashes and freeze ups....then blank screen...
gene9p is offline  
post #36744 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Dolby Vision into the HDMI Input will only work if you select Input > HDMI In Bypass. You can leave the HDMI In Specs setting at UHD HDR.
--Bob
Bob, does HDMI In Bypass still allow the Oppo to upscale 720/1080 content to 4k? Or does that bypass all processing?
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #36745 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 09:42 AM
Member
 
kee68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wonder Lake,
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
Bob, does HDMI In Bypass still allow the Oppo to upscale 720/1080 content to 4k? Or does that bypass all processing?

I have the same question as I have heard on different forums that it was better to let my tv ( Sony Z9D ) do the up scaling going through my Denon X8500H in bypass.Thanks for any help from all. Bob
kee68 is offline  
post #36746 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by kee68 View Post
I have the same question as I have heard on different forums that it was better to let my tv ( Sony Z9D ) do the up scaling going through my Denon X8500H in bypass.Thanks for any help from all. Bob
If you own a high end Sony, yes let the Sony do the work. If you own an LG, they still don't match Sony and I find the Oppo does a better job than the LG tv, or even my Denon.
galonzo and audiofan1 like this.
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #36747 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
rick h101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dolby Vision

A couple of quick questions from a newbie. I have a LG OLED 55C6P and the OPPO 203. Which would be better to do the upscaling, the 203 or the C6P. For Dolby Vision, should I leave the setting to Automatic or change it to TV led with this TV? Thanks.
rick h101 is offline  
post #36748 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 12:54 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,276
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5833 Post(s)
Liked: 8309
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
Bob, does HDMI In Bypass still allow the Oppo to upscale 720/1080 content to 4k? Or does that bypass all processing?
It bypasses ALL processing — even to a greater degree then selecting Source Direct as the player’s output.

This was necessary because the hardware implementing the HDMI Input would otherwise do some processing which must not happen when trying to preserve the deep mysteries which are Dolby Vision.

Essentially the source device is negotiating directly with your display for video.
—Bob
dianebrat and galonzo like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #36749 of 37235 Old 07-16-2019, 04:49 PM
Member
 
kee68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wonder Lake,
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
If you own a high end Sony, yes let the Sony do the work. If you own an LG, they still don't match Sony and I find the Oppo does a better job than the LG tv, or even my Denon.
Thank you guitarguy
kee68 is offline  
post #36750 of 37235 Old 07-17-2019, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JaremyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 432
I’m hopeful we will still get more firmware but no major enhancements. I would expect slower releases as well, maybe ~6 months for a little while. Mostly focused on disc compatibility.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
galonzo likes this.

Video: JVC NX7, Stewart Cima Neve 135"
Audio: Marantz AV7704, Emotiva XPA-11 Gen 3
Speakers: Focal Electra 1038 Be x 2, Electra CC 1008 Be, Aria 906 x 8, REL S5 SHO x 2
Sources: Apple TV 4k, Kaleidescape Strato, Oppo 203, Xbox One X, Nintendo Switch
Xbox Live: TrackZ
JaremyP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off