Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1229 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 278956Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #36841 of 36906 Old 08-05-2019, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Yes, both HDR tone mapping (limited to REC709 targets inside the output BT2020 container) and black crush are still issues that will probably never be resolved.

The forced conversion of Dolby Vision to 1080P/60 SDR occurs only when connected to a 1080P display. When connected to 4K non-HDR display the forced conversion results in 4K REC709 SDR. Oppo claims that Dolby is forcing the conversion instead of allowing the HDR10 layer to be converted to SDR. Panasonic players do not have this restriction.
Claw, why didnt they ever fix this.. Is it a hardware issue? I'm still pissed i bought this thing 3 months before they went out of business but i kept it because i need that hdmi input.. I use javs curve and im fine but i still wonder why couldnt they fix it.
ddigler likes this.
jorgebetancourt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36842 of 36906 Old 08-05-2019, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
jabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Hi Does anyone know a way to force the Oppo to play the HDR10 base layer instead of Dolby Vision layer when playing a 4K UHD Disc with Dolby Vision?

Reason why us becuase I have my Oppo 203 connected to my Onkyo RZ3100 AVR both are Dolby Vision capable. I do this because the Onkyo HDMI Main OUT is connected to my LG TV which is Dolby Vision capable.
And the Onkyo HDMI Sub Out is connected to my Lumagen Pro INPUT, which only supports HDR10 and not DV.
I thought once the Oppo, Lumagen, and AVR & Projector is turned on, (LG TV is OFF), The Oppo would detect there is a Dolby Vision incompatible device in the chain and drop back to HDR10 but thats not the case. It still sending through DV, and the Lumagen is detecting this as

Just when I thought everything is setup the way I want.. more tinkering required :P

Sony VPL-VW520 | Elitescreens TT 135" 2.35:1 | Elitescreens TT 120" 16x9 | Prismasonic HD-6000F | Onkyo TX-RZ3100 | Oppo UDP-203 | PS4 PRO | ATV4K | LG OLED 65 C7 | Klipsch Reference RP-280 | Klipsch Reference RP-280C | Klipsch Reference RP-250S | Klipsch Reference RP-150M | Klipsch Reference R-115SW | Klipsch Reference R-140SA
jabz is offline  
post #36843 of 36906 Old 08-05-2019, 04:32 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,429
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4580 Post(s)
Liked: 4416
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabz View Post
Hi Does anyone know a way to force the Oppo to play the HDR10 base layer instead of Dolby Vision layer when playing a 4K UHD Disc with Dolby Vision?
See the FAQ: How do I force HDR10 from a Dolby Vision disc?

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36844 of 36906 Old 08-06-2019, 12:21 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabz View Post
Hi Does anyone know a way to force the Oppo to play the HDR10 base layer instead of Dolby Vision layer when playing a 4K UHD Disc with Dolby Vision?

Reason why us becuase I have my Oppo 203 connected to my Onkyo RZ3100 AVR both are Dolby Vision capable. I do this because the Onkyo HDMI Main OUT is connected to my LG TV which is Dolby Vision capable.
And the Onkyo HDMI Sub Out is connected to my Lumagen Pro INPUT, which only supports HDR10 and not DV.
I thought once the Oppo, Lumagen, and AVR & Projector is turned on, (LG TV is OFF), The Oppo would detect there is a Dolby Vision incompatible device in the chain and drop back to HDR10 but thats not the case. It still sending through DV, and the Lumagen is detecting this as

Just when I thought everything is setup the way I want.. more tinkering required :P
Forcing HDR ON may not be convenient...is the Onkyo HDMI Output set as HDMI "Main + Sub". Try changing this to "Sub" when watching through your Lumagen. It may be that your TV is still reporting as being connected even if OFF.
galonzo likes this.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #36845 of 36906 Old 08-06-2019, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2592 Post(s)
Liked: 2435
After over a year of flawless operation, I am starting to see some issues with my 203. I purchased it new from Oppo last year shortly after the announcement that they were shutting down.

Long story short, the player has frozen up twice now in two days. The first time, I was simply attempting to eject a stopped 4K disc. The eject button was dead, nor could I eject from the remote. Th power button was also inoperative and I ended up pulling the power cord. All was well after that.

Today, I inserted a BluRay, it appeared to load properly, but the player would not respond to any commands.....again...dead stick. Pulled the power cord, and all was well.

I am running the latest released firmware and have never had a problem in the over 1 year of ownership. Nothing has changed in my rig, not that I would expect anything I could have done might cause such behavior.

Next I will try a full reset to factory defaults, but to hedge my bets, I reached out to Oppo to see about sending it in. I expect that support will not disappear anytime soon, but intermittent problems are a PITA, and I would rather send it in now rather than later, just in case.

Edit: Less than 5 minutes after I sent my Oppo my service request, I got an email response asking for some additional information. I will miss this guys when they are gone. Even on the way out, they still provide the best service in the AV industry.

Last edited by BGLeduc; 08-06-2019 at 02:54 PM.
BGLeduc is online now  
post #36846 of 36906 Old 08-06-2019, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Leftardia Kommiefornia
Posts: 9,697
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 1135
Sorry if this was asked before but using file playback of UHD rips, I can't get Atmos to pass to my Pre/Pro, will have picture but no sound. If the rip had DTS X it will be streamed just fine, and of course if I pop in the disc itself then Atmos works just fine. Same cable same input on my Marantz pre/pro. Any reason why with file playback this issue exists? I checked the settings but nothing to pertain to file playback that I could find. Thanks.

De sagittis Hungarorum libera nos, Domine!

Attention, don't read my posts if you're a snowflake or easily offended.

The Hun
thehun is offline  
post #36847 of 36906 Old 08-06-2019, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehun View Post
Sorry if this was asked before but using file playback of UHD rips, I can't get Atmos to pass to my Pre/Pro, will have picture but no sound. If the rip had DTS X it will be streamed just fine, and of course if I pop in the disc itself then Atmos works just fine. Same cable same input on my Marantz pre/pro. Any reason why with file playback this issue exists? I checked the settings but nothing to pertain to file playback that I could find. Thanks.

No sound is weird. What I should expect was no Atmos, but Dolby True HD streaming. Did you disable secondary audio?


https://www.oppodigital.com.au/blogs...or-dolby-atmos


"4. Be sure to turn off all internal decoding in the OPPO player. (Choose Bitstream out AND be sure to turn off SECONDARY AUDIO feature)"

Sent while surfing
Cricket-RJ is online now  
post #36848 of 36906 Old 08-06-2019, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,625
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3801 Post(s)
Liked: 2997
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehun View Post
Sorry if this was asked before but using file playback of UHD rips, I can't get Atmos to pass to my Pre/Pro, will have picture but no sound. If the rip had DTS X it will be streamed just fine, and of course if I pop in the disc itself then Atmos works just fine. Same cable same input on my Marantz pre/pro. Any reason why with file playback this issue exists? I checked the settings but nothing to pertain to file playback that I could find. Thanks.
This is an issue that's been around a long time. Simple workaround is to always power off the player then select the Dolby TrueHD content before playing anything else. Other option is to always rip with a secondary DD audio track, then you can just switch to that and back to THD again. This is a bug in the MTK decoders that isn't going away.
galonzo, gymnos and Madmax67 like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #36849 of 36906 Old 08-06-2019, 10:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Leftardia Kommiefornia
Posts: 9,697
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 1135
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
This is an issue that's been around a long time. Simple workaround is to always power off the player then select the Dolby TrueHD content before playing anything else. Other option is to always rip with a secondary DD audio track, then you can just switch to that and back to THD again. This is a bug in the MTK decoders that isn't going away.
Sounds like the workaround I'm looking for, thanks.

De sagittis Hungarorum libera nos, Domine!

Attention, don't read my posts if you're a snowflake or easily offended.

The Hun
thehun is offline  
post #36850 of 36906 Old 08-07-2019, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I haven't checked this thread lately

has anyone tested 14TB or 16TB Hard Drive with the OPPO ?
detroit1 is online now  
post #36851 of 36906 Old 08-09-2019, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
tomhorsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
Hey all. I know this probably a loaded question but if you had to say, what is the biggest downside to an Oppo-203? Before invest in one on the second hand market, my wife asked me to be sure it doesn't have some glaring downside I missed.

I posted this before but I just want a player that:

1. Has auto dolby vision switching
2. Plays many file types
3. Good build quality
4. Good picture quality
5. Quiet
6. Decent looking menus.

And that's it really.
It is physically rather large (but so were all the earlier oppo players). If space is a premium that could be considered a downside.
tomhorsley is offline  
post #36852 of 36906 Old 08-09-2019, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
what is the biggest downside to an Oppo-203?
I use one instead of an AVR in one room and another one as just a UHD/media player in another room.

My complaints are
* it is a bit slow starting up
* its menu for navigating remote drives is archaic
* it does not allow remote drives to be favorites, I have to wait for it to detect them.
* Cinemedia detection

It also makes almost all the other equipment I have cry because they cannot compete in terms of reliability, fit & finish and functionality. ;-)
giomania, galonzo, hernanu and 5 others like this.
artur9 is offline  
post #36853 of 36906 Old 08-09-2019, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
zeonstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
I use one instead of an AVR in one room and another one as just a UHD/media player in another room.

My complaints are
* it is a bit slow starting up
* its menu for navigating remote drives is archaic
* it does not allow remote drives to be favorites, I have to wait for it to detect them.
* Cinemedia detection

It also makes almost all the other equipment I have cry because they cannot compete in terms of reliability, fit & finish and functionality. ;-)
I appreciate the input. I forgot to come back and mention I went with a Panny UB820. It doesn't actually check all my boxes, but I just couldn't swing the cost of Oppo 203. The Panny falls ways short in media file playback from files on a USB drive, but it's fantastic at Disc playback which is ultimately what matters most in my case. Fortunately the only thing I really lose out on is playing some Atmos sound demos but those aren't that important in the grand scheme.
ddigler likes this.
zeonstar is offline  
post #36854 of 36906 Old 08-13-2019, 07:59 AM
Member
 
g0ndor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Video settings question

I have read through the video related sections in the unofficial faq by @wmcclain ( thank you!),but I just wanted to confirm my understanding.
I am using the recommended settings at the end of the faq, which makes both 4k hdr10(10bit, 4:2:0) and sdr(8bit, 4:2:0) content to be output as 12-bit, 4:2:2(colorspace preserved to bt2020, or bt709 from source).
If I am understanding the faq correctly, this "color upsampling" is totally fine, since it has to be done any way?
g0ndor is offline  
post #36855 of 36906 Old 08-13-2019, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,137
Mentioned: 154 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1339 Post(s)
Liked: 1716
Yes, that is correct @g0ndor , the player will automatically send a supported HDMI signal (4K/24Hz at 4:2:0 isn't supported by current HDMI spec, so the player converts to a supported signal):
giomania, naustin and gymnos like this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #36856 of 36906 Old 08-13-2019, 10:40 AM
Member
 
g0ndor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Yes, that is correct @g0ndor , the player will automatically send a supported HDMI signal (4K/24Hz at 4:2:0 isn't supported by current HDMI spec, so the player converts to a supported signal):
Thank you.
I have seen the table before, but only now it makes sense.
galonzo likes this.
g0ndor is offline  
post #36857 of 36906 Old 08-13-2019, 07:23 PM
boe
AVS Forum Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1211 Post(s)
Liked: 546
I could use some help with ISO playback if I'm allowed to ask. I have an ISO file on my hard drive. I attached it to the USB port in the back. The 203 (current public firmware) sees all the folders but doesn't list the file. I click on movies in the top right corner and I just get the spinning wheel - at 5 minutes now. The file is on the root of the drive.
boe is offline  
post #36858 of 36906 Old 08-13-2019, 07:26 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,429
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4580 Post(s)
Liked: 4416
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
I could use some help with ISO playback if I'm allowed to ask. I have an ISO file on my hard drive. I attached it to the USB port in the back. The 203 (current public firmware) sees all the folders but doesn't list the file. I click on movies in the top right corner and I just get the spinning wheel - at 5 minutes now. The file is on the root of the drive.
Official firmware has never had ISO support. If you are using firmware from elsewhere, we can't discuss it here, per forum rules.

-Bill
boe and galonzo like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #36859 of 36906 Old 08-13-2019, 07:27 PM
boe
AVS Forum Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1211 Post(s)
Liked: 546
Thanks - good to know.
boe is offline  
post #36860 of 36906 Old 08-13-2019, 08:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
Thanks - good to know.
Or you can extract ISO files and play them.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Sent while surfing
Cricket-RJ is online now  
post #36861 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 04:27 AM
Member
 
DrTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quick Q. I've got my chromecast ultra plugged into my oppo 203 HDMI in and it doesn't seem to want to output dolby vision (LG OLED C7). The CC gives HDR 10 fine (amazon uhd shows), but if the HDMI in video has DV (an HDR Netflix show for example) it just reverts to HDR 10. I tried resetting the whole chain but it didn't change. The CC was plugged into my HD Fury DIVA (DV worked fine through that) but I'm putting it through the Oppo now as i have all the HDMI in ports on the DIVA used. DV Discs activate DV fine. Can the Oppo even do DV via it's HDMI in? My Firmware is updated to latest when I do network update prompt (20xau-60-0625). Any ideas?
DrTim is offline  
post #36862 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 04:38 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,429
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4580 Post(s)
Liked: 4416
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrTim View Post
Quick Q. I've got my chromecast ultra plugged into my oppo 203 HDMI in and it doesn't seem to want to output dolby vision (LG OLED C7). The CC gives HDR 10 fine (amazon uhd shows), but if the HDMI in video has DV (an HDR Netflix show for example) it just reverts to HDR 10. I tried resetting the whole chain but it didn't change. The CC was plugged into my HD Fury DIVA (DV worked fine through that) but I'm putting it through the Oppo now as i have all the HDMI in ports on the DIVA used. DV Discs activate DV fine. Can the Oppo even do DV via it's HDMI in? My Firmware is updated to latest when I do network update prompt (20xau-60-0625). Any ideas?
Does it work if you choose the HDMI Input Bypass option of the Input control? It was added to allow Dolby Vision.

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #36863 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 05:25 AM
Member
 
DrTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Does it work if you choose the HDMI Input Bypass option of the Input control? It was added to allow Dolby Vision.

-Bill
Hmm, I did read about that earlier in this thread, but I can't find where that option is in the settings menu. Do you know where to find that setting? Do I have the right firmware for that?
DrTim is offline  
post #36864 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 05:31 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,429
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4580 Post(s)
Liked: 4416
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrTim View Post
Hmm, I did read about that earlier in this thread, but I can't find where that option is in the settings menu. Do you know where to find that setting? Do I have the right firmware for that?
It's one of the options in the Input button popup.

The latest US firmware is 65-0131 so maybe your firmware is too old. There is (or was) a download site for AU firmware that you install via USB if Network update is not doing it. Sorry I don't have the link. Can someone else here help?

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #36865 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 05:37 AM
Member
 
DrTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
It's one of the options in the Input button popup.

The latest US firmware is 65-0131 so maybe your firmware is too old. There is (or was) a download site for AU firmware that you install via USB if Network update is not doing it. Sorry I don't have the link. Can someone else here help?

-Bill
That's probably right as I don't have that option on the input menu (only hdmi input, blu ray and hdmi arc). I did try to update via usb a few months back as I did think my version was not the most current. It didn't seem to work though (just said could not detect anything). I had the firmware in the root directory of the usb stick and I'm pretty sure it was the latest AU version, but it just didn't see it for some reason...? I'm sure I'm missing something, guidance would be great 😊

Last edited by DrTim; 08-14-2019 at 05:40 AM.
DrTim is offline  
post #36866 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 05:45 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,429
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4580 Post(s)
Liked: 4416
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrTim View Post
That's probably right as I don't have that option on the input menu (only hdmi input, blu ray and hdmi arc). I did try to update via usb a few months back as I did think my version was not the most current. It didn't seem to work though (just said could not detect anything). I had the firmware in the root directory of the usb stick and I'm pretty sure it was the latest AU version, but it just didn't see it for some reason...? I'm sure I'm missing something, guidance would be great 😊
Looking at the firmware history in first post in this thread, I see for 64-1221 from last December:
  1. Added the HDR10+ support. A HDR10+ enabled TV is required to view content in HDR10+.
  2. Added the "HDMI IN BYPASS" mode for Dolby Vision passthrough via HDMI In.

...so you do need an update to get the feature.

Start by mounting the stick in a computer and giving us the exact file name and size of the firmware so we can confirm you got the good stuff.

-Bill
galonzo and DrTim like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #36867 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 05:51 AM
Member
 
DrTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Looking at the firmware history in first post in this thread, I see for 64-1221 from last December:
  1. Added the HDR10+ support. A HDR10+ enabled TV is required to view content in HDR10+.
  2. Added the "HDMI IN BYPASS" mode for Dolby Vision passthrough via HDMI In.

...so you do need an update to get the feature.

Start by mounting the stick in a computer and giving us the exact file name and size of the firmware so we can confirm you got the good stuff.

-Bill
Ah brilliant! Cool cool. I'll get onto all that tomorrow when I get home after work and report the firmware file info. 😁👍
DrTim is offline  
post #36868 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 11:58 AM
Member
 
J__Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I googled Oppo 203 firmware and had this pop up
https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...-Firmware.aspx
DrTim likes this.
J__Chris is offline  
post #36869 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've sent Oppo support a question regarding whether or not HDMI IN supports HDR10+.

Took one day and they said: "Probably not".

Probably...

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Sent while surfing
Cricket-RJ is online now  
post #36870 of 36906 Old 08-14-2019, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,351
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cricket-RJ View Post
I've sent Oppo support a question regarding whether or not HDMI IN supports HDR10+.

Took one day and they said: "Probably not".

Probably...
Have you tried the 'HDMI IN BYPASS' option?
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off