Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1231 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 280413Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #36901 of 38828 Old 08-20-2019, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,706
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Quote:
Originally Posted by icic2018 View Post
Dear if do not mind would you please take screenshot during play with idx+sub subtitles. I would appreciate that.
Here you go: -

galonzo, gymnos and icic2018 like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36902 of 38828 Old 08-20-2019, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Here you go: -





Really I appreciate your kindness help, you're amazing. Thank you so much.
icic2018 is online now  
post #36903 of 38828 Old 08-21-2019, 11:00 AM
Member
 
codyrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Here you go: -
nice choice for exemplification - i see you're a man of culture!
galonzo likes this.
codyrocco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36904 of 38828 Old 08-21-2019, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Lucky Strike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Wow...first off sad to see that Oppo is no longer producing hardware....just learned this today.

I've got a question on firmware updates....I've never updated the firmware on my 203 since buying it. I bought mine when they first came out so I'm assuming it has the original firmware. Mine isn't hooked up to a network so I'll be using the USB method.

I've never really updated the firmware on equipment before so I just want to make sure I'm doing it right.

I need to download the UDP20X-45-0605 firmware update first and update my player with that one and then I can install the latest one (UDP20X-65-0131) after that right?

Just want to make sure I'm doing things correctly so I don't mess things up. I'll finally be getting a 4K display (been using a Benq W1070 and will be getting a HT3550 this Fall) so I'll be able to enjoy the 203 for what it was intended to do.

I see a lot of the firmware updates have to do with Dolbyvision though which I don't think the 3550 doesn't support. Are the updates worth it?

My big worry with this stuff is it'll mess something up.
Lucky Strike is offline  
post #36905 of 38828 Old 08-21-2019, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky Strike View Post
Wow...first off sad to see that Oppo is no longer producing hardware....just learned this today.

I've got a question on firmware updates....I've never updated the firmware on my 203 since buying it. I bought mine when they first came out so I'm assuming it has the original firmware. Mine isn't hooked up to a network so I'll be using the USB method.

I've never really updated the firmware on equipment before so I just want to make sure I'm doing it right.

I need to download the UDP20X-45-0605 firmware update first and update my player with that one and then I can install the latest one (UDP20X-65-0131) after that right?

Just want to make sure I'm doing things correctly so I don't mess things up. I'll finally be getting a 4K display (been using a Benq W1070 and will be getting a HT3550 this Fall) so I'll be able to enjoy the 203 for what it was intended to do.

I see a lot of the firmware updates have to do with Dolbyvision though which I don't think the 3550 doesn't support. Are the updates worth it?

My big worry with this stuff is it'll mess something up.

Yes, two upgrades if your current firmware is older than 45-0605.
Firmware updates are worth it -- disc compatibility and other items fixed/enhanced.

Some other tips that have been posted:
Don't forget to save your settings to a USB stick (Setup > Device Setup > Settings Management). You can reload them after updating if need be.
Do a Factory Reset before installing new firmware. Including turning player off then on again.
It's also been recommended to do the factory reset after the new firmware install. Again, turn player off then on again.
galonzo likes this.
madrac is offline  
post #36906 of 38828 Old 08-21-2019, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a question and I tried sifting through the thread for some answers, found a few but I wonder if anyone else may have more understanding on how to get this situation with Dolby Vision via network to work correctly.

Right now I have finally figured out I can backup my movies via DVDFab with the MOVIE ONLY option and as a BDMV folder. Then the old trick of AVCHD folder in front to get it playing correctly on the OPPO 203 via USB.

Now normally I would just stop there, but with all the blessings that OPPO provided us, they really lacked a front end with metadata scraping in that area so I have been trying to venture back into streaming these copies via EMBY or anything that will work.

Thing I am finding, DLNA seems to be a huge stopper when it comes to the DOLBY VISION side of these backups. Direct on USB, DV shows up fine but I can't seem to produce that via EMBY, PLEX, KODI, or even JRIVER when you use these as front ends to PLAY TO the OPPO 203.

Has anyone figured a route around this so we can still keep our collections on the network and have the ability for metadata collections via DLNA?

I did see something about SMB working but I have yet to find a movie manager server that will output via SMB, seems all are DLNA only.

I also tried to do a M2TS Passthrough and try it that way, I can see via MediaInfo the Dolby Vision track is embedded in that file but when I try to stream those its ommited and stuck with HDR10 everytime.

So my question right now is this, at this moment are we just stuck with the textual option only of playing Dolby Vision via USB? I have a pretty strong system via my pc with an i9 9900k and pretty open to try anything at this stage to get UHD ATMOS with DOLBY VISION working via network with metadata organization. Any ideas or someone come up with unique ways on this?

Thanks for any help
Steven Flaherty is offline  
post #36907 of 38828 Old 08-21-2019, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4096 Post(s)
Liked: 3407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Flaherty View Post
Thing I am finding, DLNA seems to be a huge stopper when it comes to the DOLBY VISION side of these backups. Direct on USB, DV shows up fine but I can't seem to produce that via EMBY, PLEX, KODI, or even JRIVER when you use these as front ends to PLAY TO the OPPO 203.
There's a new-ish way to rip DolbyVision to MP4 files, which *should* work for DNLA. I haven't tried it. Consult the usual ripping forums.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #36908 of 38828 Old 08-21-2019, 10:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
There's a new-ish way to rip DolbyVision to MP4 files, which *should* work for DNLA. I haven't tried it. Consult the usual ripping forums.
Yea I know about that, but with that you have to lose the ATMOS and dumb everything down to EAC3. Which doesn't sound to me super horrible but I am more or less backing up my bought collection in order to save me from using the original disks too often...so hoping to keep everything in tact minus the menus. I guess I can just use for now the textual menu in the OPPO and play off the USB till someone sorts how to copy these and keep both ATMOS and VISION in tact. Almost had JRIVER going but I keep getting a black screen when I send over the folder to stream.

Thanks for the help though, yea that MP4 way of doing it isn't a bad route to go either.
Steven Flaherty is offline  
post #36909 of 38828 Old 08-21-2019, 10:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Oh, and I can verify the MP4 way does work with DLNA, you will get Dolby Vision via Emby playing to OPPO. You just lose the TRUEHD audio is the only downside.
Steven Flaherty is offline  
post #36910 of 38828 Old 08-22-2019, 05:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,124
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 849 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Cool Here's how I browse and play media to my Oppo

Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
I am looking for a DLNA controller that can PLAY TO the OPPO. Preferably with a movie poster display for selection.

Anything like that out there?
Absolutely!

I use the following combo:

(1) For indexing and serving the collection, including showing embedded album and movie graphics while browsing, I use Twonky. It costs $20 and has a 30 day free trial so you can make sure it works on your setup. Twonky can itself play to DLNA Renderers on the network (like the Oppo) on its own, but I prefer to couple Twonky with:

(2) The free BubbleUPnP Server, which syndicates your DLNA servers (like Twonky) and lets you reach your media over the internet using the same programmer's free UPnP/DLNA plugin for the free Foobar2000 music program (the plugin is found on the Components tab at that site), and, more powerfully, BubbleUPnP Server also lets you unlock gapless play on those renderers that can do it as part of the OpenHome standard, which also saves the playlist so the controller program doesn't have to stay live. I've set my copy to send media unmodified locally but to transcode music sent over the net to 128 kbps mp3, to save bandwidth.

(3) As my controller, I use the $5 Android BubbleUPnP app, which is at the Google Play Store, which also acts as an internet player through the phone and as a link to your library when it's on a friend's LAN by wifi.

This setup not only lets you play your music on the go (I even plug the phone's headphone output into my car stereo's line input), but at home, when your phone or Android tablet is on your LAN by WiFi, it can act as a controller to browse your music and videos and have them sent to your renderer of choice, like the Oppo. Note that the media don't go through the phone - it just tells the server to send it to the renderer. (On some renderers it can even act as a volume control.)

The Oppos (starting with the 103/105 and continuing into the 203/205 models) allow DLNA renderering of music in full surround sound - which AV Receivers tend to knock down to stereo when rendering. I use my AVR to render gapless stereo concerts, since the Oppo won't do gapless over DLNA. I use the Oppo to render surround music and videos, since AVRs do neither. (The music comes out of the same amp and speakers either way.) Switching from one to the other is trivial inside the Android app, and you can even transfer playback from one renderer to another starting from the same point in the track.

All this for a total one-time software cost of $25! And Android BubbleUPnP and the Foobar plugin even let you search through the tags on your media files to find something or someone when you only remember part of the name.
J__Chris, galonzo and artur9 like this.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.

Last edited by Philnick; 08-22-2019 at 06:24 AM.
Philnick is offline  
post #36911 of 38828 Old 08-22-2019, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,378
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Android BubbleUPnP and the Foobar plugin even let you search through the tags on your media files to find something or someone when you only remember part of the name.
Back when I had an Android phone I used BubbleUPnp and it was very very good.

I no longer have any Android devices. Nor anything Windows. Just MacOS and Linux.


Oh, and I just remembered there's a whole thread dedicated to this topic (switching to it): https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...np-thread.html
artur9 is offline  
post #36912 of 38828 Old 08-23-2019, 01:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1120 Post(s)
Liked: 371
All,

I’ve read the faq for checking best video settings on the Oppo 203. I’m using the LG B6 display. Are these settings still up to date? So:

Custom
UHD Auto
4:2:2
Auto
16:9 wide / auto

I’m using a Marantz 7011 between the display and Oppo. I’ve read about banding problems with certain settings before in this thread. I’m looking for the absolute best picture quality with my combo.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C, 4x RP-500SA’s and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9 65 inch
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #36913 of 38828 Old 08-23-2019, 05:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
All,

I’ve read the faq for checking best video settings on the Oppo 203. I’m using the LG B6 display. Are these settings still up to date? So:

Custom
UHD Auto
4:2:2
Auto
16:9 wide / auto
I have a B6 and 203 combo and those are the settings that I use. Looks fantastic to me!
SinGA is offline  
post #36914 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Is there any reason why the "16:9 Wide" setting treats 2.35:1 & 2.39:1/2.40:1 material differently on discs & media files?

With disc media the "16:9 Wide" setting will leave these aspect ratios intact and not alter them unless it's 4:3 content which gets horizontally stretched which is correct but when it comes to media files with 2.35:1 & 2.39:1/2.40:1 aspect ratios become vertically stretched & fill the screen which should not be the case, seems odd it can't retain & sense the correct aspect ratio like it does with discs.

Naturally the default "16:9/Auto" setting retains the correct aspect for media files but I was just curious as to why this difference is present and if it is intentional.
oniiz is offline  
post #36915 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4096 Post(s)
Liked: 3407
Quote:
Originally Posted by oniiz View Post
Is there any reason why the "16:9 Wide" setting treats 2.35:1 & 2.39:1/2.40:1 material differently on discs & media files?

With disc media the "16:9 Wide" setting will leave these aspect ratios intact and not alter them unless it's 4:3 content which gets horizontally stretched which is correct but when it comes to media files with 2.35:1 & 2.39:1/2.40:1 aspect ratios become vertically stretched & fill the screen which should not be the case, seems odd it can't retain & sense the correct aspect ratio like it does with discs.

Naturally the default "16:9/Auto" setting retains the correct aspect for media files but I was just curious as to why this difference is present and if it is intentional.
The 16:9 Wide setting is meant to force all images to 16:9. The Wide/Auto setting is meant to select the correct AR for the content.
If your media file is cropped, ie: 1920x800, it will get stretched. HD content is supposed to be 1920x1080 , and black bars should be part of the image. This is the case with discs, the black bars are part of the image.
galonzo and oniiz like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #36916 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 523
"Media files" can vary but what you are seeing I think is a result of many media files being encoded at their native aspect ratio, without the black bars included, say 1634*3840. 4K Blu-ray is always encoded at 2160*3840, with black bars part of the encoding.

So, to the Oppo a 2.35:1 disc looks like a 16:9 video, just top and bottom is black. Because it's a 16:9 video the Oppo does not need to do anything. The media files you are testing are 2.35:1, so need to be stretched to conform to your wish for 16:9, always.

Edit: ^^ our posts crossed!
Edit2: "Oppo" not "ATV". Wrong thread!
oniiz likes this.

LG OLED65E6V, Yamaha RX-A3060 AVR, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q 2TB, Chromecast Ultra
Home-built Ivy Bridge i5-3570K HTPC, 8GB RAM and Nvidia GTX1050 GPU with Plex and Jriver Media Centre,
Ruipro 15M Fiber HDMI cable, B&W FPM speakers, Logitech Harmony Ultimate intelligent remote.

Last edited by jong1; 08-26-2019 at 01:46 AM.
jong1 is offline  
post #36917 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The 16:9 Wide setting is meant to force all images to 16:9. The Wide/Auto setting is meant to select the correct AR for the content.
Thanks for that, is that concerning only media files because the 16:9 Wide setting does not force 2.35:1/2.40:1 disc content to 16:9 it preserves the aspect ratio with the black bars intact.

I think I'm just confused with how 16:9 Wide should operate with media files, as I have a file with a resolution of 1920x800 & 2.39:1 aspect ratio and will remove the black bars in the 16:9 Wide setting but preserve the aspect ratio with black bars intact with the 16:9/Auto setting.

Is the issue that media files are created without the inactive pixel area so no black bar picture information but selecting the 2.35:1/2.40:1 aspect ratio determines their inclusion which is 1920x800 whereas discs are encoded at 1920x1080 with a 2.35:1/2.40:1 aspect ratio which includes the black bars as active picture information?

I was just using Bluray's pixel resolution as an example.
oniiz is offline  
post #36918 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
"Media files" can vary but what you are seeing I think is a result of many media files being encoded at their native aspect ratio, without the black bars included, say 1634*3840. 4K Blu-ray is always encoded at 2160*3840, with black bars part of the encoding.

So, to the ATV a 2.35:1 disc looks like a 16:9 video, just top and bottom is black. Because it's a 16:9 video the ATV does not need to do anything. The media files you are testing are 2.35:1, so need to be stretched to conform to your wish for 16:9, always.

Edit: ^^ our posts crossed!
Thanks for that, I think I now understand how it all works, it makes sense how all discs with 2.35:1/2.40:1 & 1.85:1 aspect ratios are seen as 16:9 content with the black bar information and media files are typically encoded natively without the black bar inactive pixel area information, sorry for being a bit of a noob on this subject.
oniiz is offline  
post #36919 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
acidrock69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just bought a used 203 from a forum member and having trouble with it accessing files on my Diskstation so in the mean time I just plugged my Zidoo Z9S (which has no trouble SMB'ing to my Diskstation) into the Oppo's HDMI in, but how do I see anything from my Zidoo? Nothing in the Movies, Photos, or Music and Network leads me to my initial trouble.

What are the Movies, Photos, or Music sections anyway and how do I connect anything?

Sorry, I really need to track down the owner manual pdf because I want to make sure all the best settings are enabled as well.

TV: Sony 85" x900F
Receiver: Denon AVR-X8500H
Blu-Ray: OPPO UDP-203
Media Players: Dune HD Duo 4K and Zidoo Z9S
Speakers: Paradigm Prestige w/Defiance x15 subs 7.2.4
acidrock69 is offline  
post #36920 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 04:42 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,857
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4818 Post(s)
Liked: 4765
Quote:
Originally Posted by acidrock69 View Post
Just bought a used 203 from a forum member and having trouble with it accessing files on my Diskstation so in the mean time I just plugged my Zidoo Z9S (which has no trouble SMB'ing to my Diskstation) into the Oppo's HDMI in, but how do I see anything from my Zidoo? Nothing in the Movies, Photos, or Music and Network leads me to my initial trouble.

What are the Movies, Photos, or Music sections anyway and how do I connect anything?

Sorry, I really need to track down the owner manual pdf because I want to make sure all the best settings are enabled as well.
There is an INPUT button on the remote.

-Bill
galonzo, acidrock69 and jb442386 like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #36921 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 07:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,618
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by acidrock69 View Post
Just bought a used 203 from a forum member and having trouble with it accessing files on my Diskstation so in the mean time I just plugged my Zidoo Z9S (which has no trouble SMB'ing to my Diskstation) into the Oppo's HDMI in, but how do I see anything from my Zidoo? Nothing in the Movies, Photos, or Music and Network leads me to my initial trouble.

What are the Movies, Photos, or Music sections anyway and how do I connect anything?

Sorry, I really need to track down the owner manual pdf because I want to make sure all the best settings are enabled as well.
PDF is on this page: https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...3-Support.aspx
galonzo and acidrock69 like this.

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, FireCube 2, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM. B&W PX for travel
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is offline  
post #36922 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by acidrock69 View Post
Just bought a used 203 from a forum member and having trouble with it accessing files on my Diskstation so in the mean time I just plugged my Zidoo Z9S (which has no trouble SMB'ing to my Diskstation) into the Oppo's HDMI in, but how do I see anything from my Zidoo? Nothing in the Movies, Photos, or Music and Network leads me to my initial trouble.

What are the Movies, Photos, or Music sections anyway and how do I connect anything?

Sorry, I really need to track down the owner manual pdf because I want to make sure all the best settings are enabled as well.

I have a DS216+ii Synology with SMB on and it's visible through Oppo Network Menu. Just be sure that Oppo is using the same IP range that your Synology.
acidrock69 likes this.

Sent while surfing
Cricket-RJ is offline  
post #36923 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by yobbo View Post
My Oppo has suddenly stopped outputting any audio


Worked fine yesterday.
I have the same problem again. Last tine it lasted for about two days then suddenly started working again.


My receiver is a Pioneer VSX-933 and everything else plugged into it is working fine.
yobbo is offline  
post #36924 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 10:37 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,402
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5925 Post(s)
Liked: 8487
^ Check that you haven’t accidentally Muted the audio or lowered the Volume to 0 — buttons on the remote.
—Bob
galonzo likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #36925 of 38828 Old 08-25-2019, 10:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Check that you haven’t accidentally Muted the audio or lowered the Volume to 0 — buttons on the remote.
—Bob

Checked that already and it's at max the same as normal. Reinstalled thee latest firmware and that didn't work either.
yobbo is offline  
post #36926 of 38828 Old 08-26-2019, 01:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,706
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cricket-RJ View Post
I have a DS216+ii Synology with SMB on and it's visible through Oppo Network Menu. Just be sure that Oppo is using the same IP range that your Synology.
Agreed... I have created fixed IP addresses for my hard-wired gear.
gwsat, galonzo and Cricket-RJ like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #36927 of 38828 Old 08-26-2019, 07:28 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,402
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5925 Post(s)
Liked: 8487
Quote:
Originally Posted by yobbo View Post
Checked that already and it's at max the same as normal. Reinstalled thee latest firmware and that didn't work either.
Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support. You can use the Email Us link on the Support page for the player:

https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...3-Support.aspx

--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #36928 of 38828 Old 08-26-2019, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4096 Post(s)
Liked: 3407
Quote:
Originally Posted by yobbo View Post
Checked that already and it's at max the same as normal. Reinstalled thee latest firmware and that didn't work either.
^^^
Also good to note that a complete loss of HDMI audio is a symptom of HDCP handshake failure. In that case it should resolve when ALL devices are rebooted. Note that putting a device into "standby" doesn't necessarily equal a reboot. Be sure the Oppo is in energy efficient mode.
galonzo likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #36929 of 38828 Old 08-27-2019, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Any word on new firmware?? It's been a while.... Was the last buggy update the last one?? I hope not. 😕
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #36930 of 38828 Old 08-27-2019, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,076
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1136 Post(s)
Liked: 30789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post
Was the last buggy update the last one?? I hope not. 😕
Personally I'd rather not have any more "buggy" updates
oldsteve likes this.
Matt2026 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off