Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1254 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279646Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #37591 of 37901 Old 12-04-2019, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksoNOLE View Post
Long-time lurker, first time poster here!

Apologies in advance if this has been covered; 1200+ pages is a lot to cover so I relied on searching.

My question is, for those of you who are utilizing the Firestick 4K thru the 203's HDMI IN, have you had any success adding the Blu-ray player as a device on your Firestick and controlling it with the Firestick remote? I'm having trouble because the setup procedure requires a Receiver Input change AND/OR a TV Input change to complete the setup, and in my setup (Firestick>203 HDMI IN>203 MAIN HDMI OUT>Marantz SR5003 HDMI IN>LG PV450 Plasma HDMI 1 IN) no input changes are required on the receiver or TV -- only on the Blu-ray player. Based on the limited flexibility in the setup procedure, I'm afraid it isn't possible but wondered if anyone else had done it.

The Firestick remote works great on the TV and Receiver, but a single-press power on would be great for the missus. I have a Harmony remote that I will ultimately configure but for streaming she likes/knows the Firestick remote better.

Thanks in advance for any input!
(P.S. -- I'm using the HDMI IN on the 203 because I have a OLED C9 on the way and the receiver doesn't support 4K HDR passthrough. My current setup wouldn't need to run through the OPPO but I'm not ready to upgrade the receiver with my TV.)
Considering that the Fire remote is Bluetooth (radio) and the Oppo's is IR (light) there's no way one remote can control both, unless a Harmony can (I've never used one).

I suggest that you always switch the Oppo to the input that has the Fire connected to it when you're done playing disks, and leave it powered on.

Phil
Philnick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37592 of 37901 Old 12-04-2019, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Considering that the Fire remote is Bluetooth (radio) and the Oppo's is IR (light) there's no way one remote can control both, unless a Harmony can (I've never used one).

I suggest that you always switch the Oppo to the input that has the Fire connected to it when you're done playing disks, and leave it powered on.
Thanks for the reply. That IR/RF aspect didn't even come to mind, since I had a Roku Ultra that has an IR receiver as well as RF. Since both the IR receiver and IR TV are successfully controlled by the Fire remote, I assume it's relying on CEC and not IR to control them?

Sounds like the best bet is to use the Harmony to power everything on using a custom activity, then the Fire remote can be used to control playback & volume.
jacksoNOLE is offline  
post #37593 of 37901 Old 12-04-2019, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
My Oppo 203 sees my 12 TB WD Easystore external drive connected to a rear USB port and successfully plays a UHD disc folder. I can store around 170 UHD disc full folder backups to it.
Thx Claw

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
wozman likes this.

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" wide 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, Nvidia Shield. Lots of iFi and Furman power filters which made my computer audio listenable.
edfowler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37594 of 37901 Old 12-04-2019, 09:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksoNOLE View Post
Sounds like the best bet is to use the Harmony to power everything on using a custom activity, then the Fire remote can be used to control playback & volume.
My Fire remotes (an older Stick plugged into my wife's Roku TV and a 4K Fire TV in my theater) don't have volume controls. I have to control the volume with the remotes for the devices they play through.

I've reserved the Fire devices for playing music with Amazon Music Unlimited HD, with Dolby Digital Plus switched off to get CD quality (turned on, it uses Dolby's lossy compression ("SD"), turned off it sends PCM Stereo at 16/48 "HD").

I use the Roku platform (an Ultra in my theater, a Roku TV in my wife's system) for any video service that uses DD+: VUDU, Disney+, Apple+, Netflix, and Prime Video.

Phil

Last edited by Philnick; 12-07-2019 at 10:02 PM.
Philnick is offline  
post #37595 of 37901 Old 12-05-2019, 03:11 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,340
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksoNOLE View Post
Thanks for the reply. That IR/RF aspect didn't even come to mind, since I had a Roku Ultra that has an IR receiver as well as RF. Since both the IR receiver and IR TV are successfully controlled by the Fire remote, I assume it's relying on CEC and not IR to control them?

Sounds like the best bet is to use the Harmony to power everything on using a custom activity, then the Fire remote can be used to control playback & volume.
Yes - agreed. I have my Harmony doing just that - "Firestick Activity" which powers ON and selects correct inputs for TV, AVR etc. I then added commands to select the Oppo HDMI Input - this involved adding delays, and once Blank screen is presented - just switch over to using the Firestick Controller and turn it On.....
jacksoNOLE likes this.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #37596 of 37901 Old 12-05-2019, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
My Fire remotes don't have volume controls. I use the volume controls on the devices they play through.
Sorry to get slightly off topic, but for anyone else's reference--if your Fire remote does have volume control, mine works great with the receiver volume even with the Fire stick running through the 203. I set up the TV first, so the remote controlled the TV volume initially, then set up the receiver and the volume control switched to controlling the receiver. The only hiccup is enabling Fire remote control of the 203 (powering on or switching input; no pairing is successful).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
I've reserved mine for playing music with Amazon Music Unlimited HD, with Dolby Digital Plus switched off to get CD quality (turned on, you're limited to mp3 quality).

I use the Roku platform for any video service that uses DD+: VUDU, Disney+, Apple+, Netflix, and Prime Video.
Makes perfect sense. I'm now debating which is the better solution: I wanted Dolby Vision support, hence the Fire Stick, but the control interface on the Roku is definitely preferable in my situation. I'll find out for sure once I get the new TV hooked up and see how it all works together!
jacksoNOLE is offline  
post #37597 of 37901 Old 12-05-2019, 11:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1918
@Philnick , for certain AVRs and Pre/Pros, the Prime Music app will play full-on "UHD audio" (i can confirm on my Heos-capable AVR, i.e. D&M, post-2015, plus possibly others):


@jacksoNOLE , have you tried changing Device Setup >> Power On Input to Last Input? You would still need to power up the 203, but as long as it was last on the HDMI Input, it should remain selected for next time you power up
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
wozman likes this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Gemini Man and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #37598 of 37901 Old 12-05-2019, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I just got a 203 and have a JVC RS400U projector
I set the Oppo to UHD (Auto) resolution and HDR to SDR BT2020, however the JVC doesn't show the BT2020 (custom curve) that it usually does, plus I had to manually change it from Gamma D to the Custom 1 curve.
Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
cgott42 is online now  
post #37599 of 37901 Old 12-05-2019, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@Philnick , for certain AVRs and Pre/Pros, the Prime Music app will play full-on "UHD audio" (i can confirm on my Heos-capable AVR, i.e. D&M, post-2015, plus possibly others):


@jacksoNOLE , have you tried changing Device Setup >> Power On Input to Last Input? You would still need to power up the 203, but as long as it was last on the HDMI Input, it should remain selected for next time you power up
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

The image you show doesn't look at all like the output display from an Amazon Fire TV or Stick. I'm sure that some other devices can get full quality from that service - their PC desktop app does - but not the Amazon Fire devices. What are you using as the streamer sending Amazon Music Unlimited HD into your AVR as a 192/24 FLAC?

Phil

Last edited by Philnick; 12-05-2019 at 06:17 PM.
Philnick is offline  
post #37600 of 37901 Old 12-05-2019, 08:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1918
@Philnick , this is using the AVR's built-in Heos App, which allows streaming from the provider of your choice; so essentially the AVR is able to pull the highest available quality from each service. I tried the 4K Firestick into the 203, but like you, I found that the highest it would pass through is 16bit/48kHz, then I logged into my Amazon Prime account on the AVR app and, much to my surprise, I was getting what you see in the image
kokishin and chi_guy50 like this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Gemini Man and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #37601 of 37901 Old 12-05-2019, 09:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@Philnick , this is using the AVR's built-in Heos App, which allows streaming from the provider of your choice; so essentially the AVR is able to pull the highest available quality from each service. I tried the 4K Firestick into the 203, but like you, I found that the highest it would pass through is 16bit/48kHz, then I logged into my Amazon Prime account on the AVR app and, much to my surprise, I was getting what you see in the image[IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/eek.gif[/IMG]
When I set up my theater PC I'll be connecting its HDMI output into my AVR. I'll see if I can get full quality that way.

Amazon is really shooting itself in the foot here, offering a service that can only be fully-realized with other companies' devices, not with its own!
galonzo, Madmax67 and jacksoNOLE like this.

Phil

Last edited by Philnick; 12-05-2019 at 09:21 PM.
Philnick is offline  
post #37602 of 37901 Old 12-06-2019, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
galonzo, Thanks for the tip. Tried it out and while I think I will still have to rely on a custom activity for true single-button power on solution, it does streamline the start-up process.
galonzo likes this.
jacksoNOLE is offline  
post #37603 of 37901 Old 12-09-2019, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
llep64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hello! Does anyone here has a Sony 900f and are you able to get Dolby vision ok? I’ like this tv but hearing that DV looks really dark ?
Much appreciated
llep64 is offline  
post #37604 of 37901 Old 12-09-2019, 10:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by llep64 View Post
Hello! Does anyone here has a Sony 900f and are you able to get Dolby vision ok? I’ like this tv but hearing that DV looks really dark ?
Much appreciated
it is dark in DV, previously i have 203 connected to OLED C6 with very bright screen, sorry to say HDR 10 and DV on Sony 900 F is disappointment regardless of source, SDR looks better on 900F.

SONY XBR75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEM: SM 55
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Panamax MR4300
Harmony Elite Remote:Philips Hue Ambient Lights
iserum is offline  
post #37605 of 37901 Old 12-10-2019, 10:36 AM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jupiterstar View Post
When playing a standalone MKV or MP4 file, the SMB logs showed that the Oppo was trying to open a corresponding external SUP file when I pressed the "subtitle" button. So, if your movie is <title>.mp4 then it'll pick up <title>.sup as an external subtitle file if you have it. It may work for other file types, but those are the only two I tested. There's a open source tool, Subtitle Edit, that converts subtitle files to sup..

Im 100years behind but, does this still apply? That MKV-files want .sup files next to them?

Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k / Nvidia Shield 2019
box4m is offline  
post #37606 of 37901 Old 12-10-2019, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
jupiterstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by box4m View Post
Im 100years behind but, does this still apply? That MKV-files want .sup files next to them?
Given that they haven't released a new firmware, it probably still does. But, my comments previously was just an observation of the player's behavior -- that it attempts to open and read a .sup file when you press the subtitle button while watching a MP4 or MKV. It's also fine reading embedded subtitles with MKV files as well.
jupiterstar is offline  
post #37607 of 37901 Old 12-11-2019, 02:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,207
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2353 Post(s)
Liked: 2649
Quote:
Originally Posted by llep64 View Post
Hello! Does anyone here has a Sony 900f and are you able to get Dolby vision ok? I’ like this tv but hearing that DV looks really dark ?
Much appreciated
HDR doesn't use a traditional gamma structure. You need to watch it in complete darkness otherwise it looks dark. I have a Sony X930E and nothing dark about DV to me. I also self calibrated my TV.
galonzo likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #37608 of 37901 Old 12-11-2019, 05:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
HDR doesn't use a traditional gamma structure. You need to watch it in complete darkness otherwise it looks dark. I have a Sony X930E and nothing dark about DV to me. I also self calibrated my TV.
Quote:
Originally Posted by llep64 View Post
Hello! Does anyone here has a Sony 900f and are you able to get Dolby vision ok? I’ like this tv but hearing that DV looks really dark ?
Much appreciated

I don't have this TV, but llep64 is correct about environment playing a big part of the HDR experience. I have a 99% dark small theater with a Sony 285ES projector throwing a "small" 88" picture from a short distance, and I get wowed at least twice every time, though I'm told that bulb projection can't do "true" HDR. I also have a midrange Samsung 55" LED in a cream-walled, open LR/DR/kitchen with vaulted ceilings. HDR content is too dark to enjoy something serious during daylight, even with the backlight, brightness, and contrast on blast. It's fine for comedy specials or movies we've seen 100 times, and non-HDR content. It's really just the nature of the format.
roland6465 is online now  
post #37609 of 37901 Old 12-11-2019, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
I don't have this TV, but llep64 is correct about environment playing a big part of the HDR experience. I have a 99% dark small theater with a Sony 285ES projector throwing a "small" 88" picture from a short distance, and I get wowed at least twice every time, though I'm told that bulb projection can't do "true" HDR. I also have a midrange Samsung 55" LED in a cream-walled, open LR/DR/kitchen with vaulted ceilings. HDR content is too dark to enjoy something serious during daylight, even with the backlight, brightness, and contrast on blast. It's fine for comedy specials or movies we've seen 100 times, and non-HDR content. It's really just the nature of the format.
Moderator: This thread is titled Oppo UDP 203. I think it has gone off topic.
roland6465 and leemathre like this.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #37610 of 37901 Old 12-11-2019, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Moderator: This thread is titled Oppo UDP 203. I think it has gone off topic.

Since there is very little "OppO" to talk about, I would think OppO / TV talk would be OK?
gwsat likes this.

--Carl
calentz is offline  
post #37611 of 37901 Old 12-11-2019, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,429
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by calentz View Post
Since there is very little "OppO" to talk about, I would think OppO / TV talk would be OK?
Or a dead thread can be dead and you can talk about TVs in the TV forum.
jmanthey and leemathre like this.

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (112818 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is offline  
post #37612 of 37901 Old 12-11-2019, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post
Or a dead thread can be dead and you can talk about TVs in the TV forum.
Actually, I think they are talking about playing software on an OppO.
roland6465 likes this.

--Carl
calentz is offline  
post #37613 of 37901 Old 12-12-2019, 04:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post
Or a dead thread can be dead and you can talk about TVs in the TV forum.
Quote:
Originally Posted by calentz View Post
Actually, I think they are talking about playing software on an OppO.

I was, at least. And now here's another "non-203" post to explain these "non-203" posts in the sacred 203 thread.
muzz likes this.
roland6465 is online now  
post #37614 of 37901 Old 12-12-2019, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,227
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1886 Post(s)
Liked: 1217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post
Or a dead thread can be dead and you can talk about TVs in the TV forum.
Are file formats on NAS devices connected to an Oppo any more relevant than how Oppo's Dolby Vision looks? Peace
naustin is offline  
post #37615 of 37901 Old 12-13-2019, 11:49 AM
Member
 
krismate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Hello chaps, I've been experiencing an issue lately and wondered if anyone has seen it before.

I have my 203 going through a Denon X7200WA (firmware up to date) to a Sony A8F (firmware also up to date). I feel like, since roughly the spring or summer sometime, dolby vision discs are now super murky looking in dark scenes with a bit of a greener tint. I've reset the player multiple times as well as the TV and receiver with no success. If I force the player to output HDR10, the problem goes away. I've tried changing some settings such as dolby vision processing from Auto to player-led, also, with no success. I'll attach some pictures from my phone below. It doesn't fully capture what I'm trying to convey but isn't too far off. All of my cables are premium certified but I can try some new ones just in case. I also plan to plug the player directly into the TV just to see if that changes anything. I should also note, it's not necessarily the player that's at fault. It's possible the TV or receiver is screwing up the DV signal I wonder?

I only have the one comparison shot between Dolby Vision and HDR10 for the Matrix but can take more if it helps.

Please note, picture 2 of 5 is the HDR10 comparison shot from The Matrix.

Here's a link to the pictures in case the ones I attach don't work.

https://imgur.com/a/Px5cYUx
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2102.JPG
Views:	73
Size:	868.6 KB
ID:	2653452   Click image for larger version

Name:	MatrixHDR10.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	1,020.0 KB
ID:	2653454   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2106.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	1.04 MB
ID:	2653456   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2104.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	860.4 KB
ID:	2653458   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2103.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	1,012.1 KB
ID:	2653460  


Sony 65" A8F
Oppo UDP-203
Denon X7200WA
Emotiva XPA-3 - Emotiva A-500
Polk Audio LSiM + SVS Prime Elevation 7.1.4
krismate is offline  
post #37616 of 37901 Old 12-14-2019, 08:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Thinking about getting a 14tb external hdd. Anyone have a 14tb working with their 203??

Chad B calibrated JVC RS600, 112" wide 2.35 DaLite 2.8 High Power Screen (395 calibrated nits baby!!), 7.5.4 Yamaha RX-A3050, Yamaha RX-Z9, Aerial Acoustics Model 6, Model 5, CC3, Def Tech UIWBP/A, 4-15" Infinite Baffle Sub + 15" Velodyne Sub Near-field, OPPO 203, Panasonic UC420, Geek Pulse DAC, Nvidia Shield. Lots of iFi and Furman power filters which made my computer audio listenable.
edfowler is offline  
post #37617 of 37901 Old 12-14-2019, 09:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,583
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5586 Post(s)
Liked: 3991
I don't know if this can be answered until the movie is released, but the 4K Gemini Man disc will be released in HFR format of 60 fps in DV. My E6 does not support DV at 60fps. However, if I force the 203 to output HDR10 and not DV, will the player send the HFR HDR10 image at 60fps to my tv, as it can support that. If that doesn't work, would setting player to Forced DV, and then setting resolution to 1080p60, generate at 1080p60 DV image?
wxman is offline  
post #37618 of 37901 Old 12-14-2019, 09:08 PM
Member
 
Tsender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anyone else have playback issues watching the 4K version of Once Upon a time in Hollywood? Specifically at the 46:41 mark the picture freezes and so does the player. Watched the standard Blu Ray with zero issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tsender is offline  
post #37619 of 37901 Old 12-14-2019, 11:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,207
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2353 Post(s)
Liked: 2649
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I don't know if this can be answered until the movie is released, but the 4K Gemini Man disc will be released in HFR format of 60 fps in DV. My E6 does not support DV at 60fps. However, if I force the 203 to output HDR10 and not DV, will the player send the HFR HDR10 image at 60fps to my tv, as it can support that. If that doesn't work, would setting player to Forced DV, and then setting resolution to 1080p60, generate at 1080p60 DV image?
Doesn't the E6 have HDMI 2.0b? That and even the lower 2.0a version shipped with the set should cover DV bandwidth at 60HZ. That's 8 bit RGB which is between 10.2 and 18Gbps at 60HZ.
galonzo likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #37620 of 37901 Old 12-15-2019, 12:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,583
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5586 Post(s)
Liked: 3991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Doesn't the E6 have HDMI 2.0b? That and even the lower 2.0a version shipped with the set should cover DV bandwidth at 60HZ. That's 8 bit RGB which is between 10.2 and 18Gbps at 60HZ.
The E6 can not do 4K60 DV. It can do 4K60 HDR10. It also can do 1080p60 DV.
gymnos likes this.
wxman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off