Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1266 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279955Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #37951 of 38226 Old 02-09-2020, 01:16 PM
Member
 
saw2814's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
In short... No, the OPPO UDP-20x range of players can't be used as a disc ripper.

A regular Windows computer can back-up audio CD's quite easily. Even Microsoft's very own 'Windows Media Player' can do this.

Backing up the DSD layer of an SACD requires a very different approach. Here's a good place to start looking: SACD Ripping using an Oppo or Pioneer? Yes, it's true!


Cheers
The disc drive in my pc is terrible. It skips on discs that play fine on either of my OPPO players. Thus my reasoning for using the OPPO to play the discs sending the digits to my pc. Trying to use my OPPO as the physical media transport for my pc may not be possible I guess?

Gonna follow the links for sacd ripping. I have a lot of sacd’s and everyone of them sounds better than a standard disc of the same title.

Thank you for the help.

Just for added context, I am adding all my favorite songs from all my discs to a flash drive to use in my car. No CD players in new cars but Radio Me has 95 hours and counting of my favorite music completely commercial free.

Last edited by saw2814; 02-09-2020 at 01:30 PM.
saw2814 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37952 of 38226 Old 02-09-2020, 09:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,900
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3274 Post(s)
Liked: 2040
Quote:
Originally Posted by saw2814 View Post
Gonna follow the links for sacd ripping. I have a lot of sacd’s and everyone of them sounds better than a standard disc of the same title.
Yes, SACD ripping is the "least friendly" vs, CD, BD or DVD-A, but it is worth it, whatever method you use. Having them on tap without jockeying discs is a real pleasure. If you're interested, I document the procedure I use here. It has links to further resources -- best to check them for the latest player options.

Quote:
No CD players in new cars but Radio Me has 95 hours and counting of my favorite music completely commercial free.
Does Radio Me have your uploaded content? Is there a link to learn more?
giomania and galonzo like this.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #37953 of 38226 Old 02-09-2020, 10:17 PM
Member
 
saw2814's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Yes, SACD ripping is the "least friendly" vs, CD, BD or DVD-A, but it is worth it, whatever method you use. Having them on tap without jockeying discs is a real pleasure. If you're interested, I document the procedure I use here. It has links to further resources -- best to check them for the latest player options.

Does Radio Me have your uploaded content? Is there a link to learn more?
Radio Me is what I named the flash drive with my nearly 1400 songs.
Roger Dressler likes this.
saw2814 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #37954 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,416
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by saw2814 View Post
The disc drive in my pc is terrible. It skips on discs that play fine on either of my OPPO players. Thus my reasoning for using the OPPO to play the discs sending the digits to my pc. Trying to use my OPPO as the physical media transport for my pc may not be possible I guess?

Gonna follow the links for sacd ripping. I have a lot of sacd’s and everyone of them sounds better than a standard disc of the same title.

Thank you for the help.

Just for added context, I am adding all my favorite songs from all my discs to a flash drive to use in my car. No CD players in new cars but Radio Me has 95 hours and counting of my favorite music completely commercial free.
An external disc drive for a pc or mac is really cheap. Here's one https://www.amazon.com/External-Port...xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==

Plus if you are using your oppo as a digital source for your pc your aren't getting SACD playback, just the CD layer. You'll only get the SACD layer via hdmi or analog.
galonzo likes this.

Supercharged Song Towers, Oppo BDP-203, Anthem MRX-520, LG B6 OLED
Headphone Rig: Oppo BDP-95, Burson Audio Soloist MKII Headphone amp/ Sennheiser HD800S, Sennheiser HD650

Last edited by glangford; 02-10-2020 at 02:34 AM.
glangford is offline  
post #37955 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 06:17 AM
Member
 
csprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Yes, SACD ripping is the "least friendly" vs, CD, BD or DVD-A, but it is worth it, whatever method you use. Having them on tap without jockeying discs is a real pleasure. If you're interested, I document the procedure I use here. It has links to further resources -- best to check them for the latest player options.

Does Radio Me have your uploaded content? Is there a link to learn more?
+1 for this post. I recently picked up a used BDP-S390 for less than $50 and spent the last couple of weeks ripping a bunch of SACDs. I make dsf files of both the 2.0 and 5.1 tracks, if applicable (2 channel if I'm using the Magnepans, 5.1 otherwise). It ended up being pretty easy and very well worth it!

2Ch: Magnepan 1.7i | LR: Paradigm Signature S4 v1 | C:Paradigm Prestige 55C | Surrounds & Rear: Paradigm Studio 20v5 (x4) | Atmos: Micca M-8C
Subs: Rythmik E15HP (x2) | AVR: Denon X4300H | Amp: Outlaw Model 5000 | TV: Sony XBR75x850E | Players: Oppo UDP-203, U-Turn Orbit Plus
csprague is offline  
post #37956 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: east texas
Posts: 2,531
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Uh oh, my 203 freezing up on UHD BR lately...

I just tried to play King Arthur Legend of the Sword UHD, but my 203 started pixelating and stalling, almost from the start. The disc looks pristine. The Blu-ray version plays just fine.



The same thing happened last November with MI Fallout. I contacted Amazon and they sent me another disc, but the same thing happens when I try to play the replacement UHD disc. Most UHD titles play fine. Has anybody had a similar experience with their 203 and what was the solution? Thanks.

FAMILY ROOM--Legacy Signature II towers(Front L/R), PSB Image 5T towers(Surrounds), Polk LSiM706 center, Denon AVR-X5200W, Krell FPB 400cx, AR ES-1 turntable w/ Audioquest 404-B cartridge, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player, RCA HD-DVD player, Sony 75" 900E.
MASTER BEDROOM--Dynaudio Audience 82 tower speakers, Outlaw LFM-1 sub, Onkyo TX-NR809, Oppo BDP-83 Universal Disc Player, Panasonic 60-ST60 plasma TV.
mtrot is offline  
post #37957 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 10:35 AM
Member
 
csprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtrot View Post
I just tried to play King Arthur Legend of the Sword UHD, but my 203 started pixelating and stalling, almost from the start. The disc looks pristine. The Blu-ray version plays just fine.



The same thing happened last November with MI Fallout. I contacted Amazon and they sent me another disc, but the same thing happens when I try to play the replacement UHD disc. Most UHD titles play fine. Has anybody had a similar experience with their 203 and what was the solution? Thanks.
The solution for me in these cases has always been to just wash the disc, and carefully dry with a lens cloth. Sometimes it takes a couple of tries. Seems like a lot of those 4k BRs come with some sort of film all over them that makes them hard to read.

Related thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/150-b...-4k-discs.html
galonzo likes this.

2Ch: Magnepan 1.7i | LR: Paradigm Signature S4 v1 | C:Paradigm Prestige 55C | Surrounds & Rear: Paradigm Studio 20v5 (x4) | Atmos: Micca M-8C
Subs: Rythmik E15HP (x2) | AVR: Denon X4300H | Amp: Outlaw Model 5000 | TV: Sony XBR75x850E | Players: Oppo UDP-203, U-Turn Orbit Plus
csprague is offline  
post #37958 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have a 203 that's been modified for digital only. It runs via spdif to a dac. To play dsf files and SACDs, I have the audio settings, including SACD, to convert to PCM. The dsf files play, but with SACD there's no sound. Any idea why that might be happening? thanks,
genegold is offline  
post #37959 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KMFDMvsEnya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by genegold View Post
I have a 203 that's been modified for digital only. It runs via spdif to a dac. To play dsf files and SACDs, I have the audio settings, including SACD, to convert to PCM. The dsf files play, but with SACD there's no sound. Any idea why that might be happening? thanks,
If I understand correctly you have all audio going through the optical out?

Assuming so then you will not get SACD output from the optical out. Only through the HDMI or 5.1 analog out.

Politics is like a corral, no matter where you are you'll always be shoveling it.
KMFDMvsEnya is online now  
post #37960 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 7,632
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 28307
Quote:
Originally Posted by csprague View Post
The solution for me in these cases has always been to just wash the disc, and carefully dry with a lens cloth. Sometimes it takes a couple of tries. Seems like a lot of those 4k BRs come with some sort of film all over them that makes them hard to read.

Related thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/150-b...-4k-discs.html
1080 Blu-rays may have the same coating but the information geometries are larger than on a 4K disc and therefore less sensitive, that's my guess
Matt2026 is online now  
post #37961 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMFDMvsEnya View Post
If I understand correctly you have all audio going through the optical out?

Assuming so then you will not get SACD output from the optical out. Only through the HDMI or 5.1 analog out.
No, spdif out. I was using an HDMI/I2S card installed inside the 203 to a dac with the HDMI connector style for I2S, but changed the dac to one that doesn't, so I'm using only S/PDIF between the two. That's why I changed the 203's settings to PCM only for SACD.
genegold is offline  
post #37962 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,418
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2358 Post(s)
Liked: 2731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbon Ft Print View Post
Just had my 203 serviced by OPPO. Disc loader contaminated by dust, optical unit went bad. Any idea how owners can clean out the dust in the loader? Thx.
I use this on all my electronics. No waste from empty cans and don't need to worry about freezing anything from the rapid pressure release of the nitorgen and other gases.
Carbon Ft Print and naustin like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #37963 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 07:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 700 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by genegold View Post
I have a 203 that's been modified for digital only. It runs via spdif to a dac. To play dsf files and SACDs, I have the audio settings, including SACD, to convert to PCM. The dsf files play, but with SACD there's no sound. Any idea why that might be happening? thanks,
SACD has always been prohibited from SPDIF output. Until HDMI came along with HDCP copy protection included, no digital output was allowed. As far as the recording companies were concerned, this wasn't a bug but a feature.

That's why older AVRs have multichannel analog inputs.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers, fed by Yamaha RX-A3070 w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads. Sources: Oppo UDP-203, 4K Roku Ultra, Dell Win 10 PC via HDMI for Amazon Music HD and sampled grand piano.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.

Last edited by Philnick; 02-10-2020 at 07:16 PM.
Philnick is offline  
post #37964 of 38226 Old 02-10-2020, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
SACD has always been prohibited from SPDIF output. Until HDMI came along with HDCP copy protection included, no digital output was allowed. As far as the recording companies were concerned, this wasn't a bug but a feature.

That's why older AVRs have multichannel analog inputs.
Yes, now I remember that discussion somewhere a good while back. Thankfully, I have only one SACD.
genegold is offline  
post #37965 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 03:24 AM
Senior Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
I use this on all my electronics. No waste from empty cans and don't need to worry about freezing anything from the rapid pressure release of the nitorgen and other gases.

Nice - thanks for posting this.

LG OLED65E6P, Anthem MRX720, Rogue Atlas Magnum II, UPA7, Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers with RAAL, Luna Duo center, Sierra 2 surrounds, and HTM200SE front & rear heights, Rythmik E15HP (1, but plan on adding a 2nd), VPI Classic 1+ (VTA Tower, 3D arm), VAS NOVA and Soundsmith Paua cartridges, Manley Chinook, Oppo 103D, Oppo 203. Audio Sensibility and Blue Jeans cabling, Symposium & Isoacoustics isolation products
madrac is online now  
post #37966 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 03:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 6,016
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 2645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
SACD has always been prohibited from SPDIF output. Until HDMI came along with HDCP copy protection included, no digital output was allowed. As far as the recording companies were concerned, this wasn't a bug but a feature.

That's why older AVRs have multichannel analog inputs.
Not quite.

Denon had DenonLINK, which used a network cable to connect some of their players to their AVRs. DL supports DSD. I still own a 3910 player and 3808 AVR that support DenonLINK.
BGLeduc is online now  
post #37967 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 05:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 700 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
SACD has always been prohibited from SPDIF output. Until HDMI came along with HDCP copy protection included, no digital output was allowed. As far as the recording companies were concerned, this wasn't a bug but a feature.

That's why older AVRs have multichannel analog inputs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post
Not quite.

Denon had DenonLINK, which used a network cable to connect some of their players to their AVRs. DL supports DSD. I still own a 3910 player and 3808 AVR that support DenonLINK.
Just looked that up, and found news stories about Denon getting special permission for this - which does not negate what I was saying.

Denon had to get special permission to include that function in its own players connected this way to its own AVRs - which met the recording companies' requirement that the digital SACD signal not be available to be recorded but sent only to an approved (read "licensed") AVR.

I'm assuming that to get that permission, Denon had to show Sony and Phillips that DenonLink players demanded that the AVR identify itself before sending the digital SACD signal over that link.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers, fed by Yamaha RX-A3070 w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads. Sources: Oppo UDP-203, 4K Roku Ultra, Dell Win 10 PC via HDMI for Amazon Music HD and sampled grand piano.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.

Last edited by Philnick; 02-11-2020 at 05:28 AM.
Philnick is offline  
post #37968 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 06:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Yes, SACD ripping is the "least friendly" vs, CD, BD or DVD-A, but it is worth it, whatever method you use. Having them on tap without jockeying discs is a real pleasure. If you're interested, I document the procedure I use here.
Roger, you suggest using ISO2DSD. Have you tried SACDExtractGUI?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sacdextractgui.png
Views:	99
Size:	76.9 KB
ID:	2683652  
galonzo, KMFDMvsEnya and gymnos like this.
Kewler is online now  
post #37969 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 595 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Question for my fellow 203 owners. I know many of us (me included) have run into the issue of discs freezing and needing to clean them. I also know many people have other players that don't have this issue with 4K discs. I'm thinking of getting a side player whose only job will be spinning 4K discs. This will allow me to use my 203 a bit less (less wear and tear). I'm wondering if others have done this, and what player they recommend.

I'd like comparable 4K picture quality (should be the case if all I'm using the new player for is spinning 4k discs) and the player definitely needs to have dual HDMI outs (for audio).

Recommendations?
mtrot and naustin like this.


Theater 1: LG OLED55E6P, Oppo UDP-203, Apple TV 4K, Dune HD Solo 4K
Theater 2: Sony VPL-VW885ES, Seymour Premier 16:9 128", Lumagen 4242, Oppo 103D (CFW) & 203, Apple TV 4K, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Denon AVR-X6500H (7.1.4)
fatherom is offline  
post #37970 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,900
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3274 Post(s)
Liked: 2040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kewler View Post
Roger, you suggest using ISO2DSD. Have you tried SACDExtractGUI?
I have not tried it. Looks like it would work equally well. These programs both appear to be convenient GUIs for the same underlying executable called sacd_extract.exe.
galonzo likes this.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #37971 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,547
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5041 Post(s)
Liked: 3055
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Question for my fellow 203 owners. I know many of us (me included) have run into the issue of discs freezing and needing to clean them. I also know many people have other players that don't have this issue with 4K discs. I'm thinking of getting a side player whose only job will be spinning 4K discs. This will allow me to use my 203 a bit less (less wear and tear). I'm wondering if others have done this, and what player they recommend.

I'd like comparable 4K picture quality (should be the case if all I'm using the new player for is spinning 4k discs) and the player definitely needs to have dual HDMI outs (for audio).

Recommendations?
I have a fairly inexpensive LG UHD player right on top of the 203. I use it whenever the 203 decides that it can't play a disc which happens more often than I would like. The video and audio should be identical. The last time, (not too long ago), the title (Gemini Man) was acting up on the 203, I cleaned the disc and used the LG to play the rest.

lujan
643 Ultra HD
729 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #37972 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 08:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,900
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3274 Post(s)
Liked: 2040
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I have a fairly inexpensive LG UHD player right on top of the 203. I use it whenever the 203 decides that it can't play a disc which happens more often than I would like. The video and audio should be identical.
If one is using the Oppo's internal HDR tone mapping, it might look different from another player. Is that correct?

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #37973 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,901
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 933 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
I use this on all my electronics. No waste from empty cans and don't need to worry about freezing anything from the rapid pressure release of the nitorgen and other gases.
Did they remove the link?

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #37974 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,418
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2358 Post(s)
Liked: 2731
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Did they remove the link?
Amazon? No, it still works for me.

I hyperlinked it to the "I use this" text in my post.

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
rightintel and Matt2026 like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #37975 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,757
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4408 Post(s)
Liked: 4076
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
I use this on all my electronics. No waste from empty cans and don't need to worry about freezing anything from the rapid pressure release of the nitorgen and other gases.
Except all that dust that gets blown around by that device is going to end up somewhere. I use the disposal cans myself and have the same issue so I use a silent running air filtering unit to collect as much of that dust as possible.
Keenan is online now  
post #37976 of 38226 Old 02-11-2020, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,418
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2358 Post(s)
Liked: 2731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Except all that dust that gets blown around by that device is going to end up somewhere. I use the disposal cans myself and have the same issue so I use a silent running air filtering unit to collect as much of that dust as possible.
Which is why I blow the dust out of the unit as much as possible and have air filtration units in most my rooms.
Keenan and gymnos like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #37977 of 38226 Old 02-12-2020, 02:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,416
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Just looked that up, and found news stories about Denon getting special permission for this - which does not negate what I was saying.

Denon had to get special permission to include that function in its own players connected this way to its own AVRs - which met the recording companies' requirement that the digital SACD signal not be available to be recorded but sent only to an approved (read "licensed") AVR.

I'm assuming that to get that permission, Denon had to show Sony and Phillips that DenonLink players demanded that the AVR identify itself before sending the digital SACD signal over that link.
McIntosh has the same type agreement using a proprietary connector between their sacd transports and receivers/integrateds for sacd playback. It doesn't negate your point, without special permission SACD playback is limited to HDMI and analog.
galonzo likes this.

Supercharged Song Towers, Oppo BDP-203, Anthem MRX-520, LG B6 OLED
Headphone Rig: Oppo BDP-95, Burson Audio Soloist MKII Headphone amp/ Sennheiser HD800S, Sennheiser HD650
glangford is offline  
post #37978 of 38226 Old 02-12-2020, 07:41 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,366
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5893 Post(s)
Liked: 8430
^ If all you are interested in is Stereo SACD, try this:

Set SACD Output PCM. Play Stereo SACD into the HDMI Input. Listen on the Optical or Coax output.



--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #37979 of 38226 Old 02-12-2020, 07:46 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,366
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5893 Post(s)
Liked: 8430
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Did they remove the link?
Click on the words "use this" in his post. (Yeah, tough to see....)
--Bob
rightintel likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #37980 of 38226 Old 02-12-2020, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,358
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1972 Post(s)
Liked: 1304
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I have a fairly inexpensive LG UHD player right on top of the 203. I use it whenever the 203 decides that it can't play a disc which happens more often than I would like. The video and audio should be identical. The last time, (not too long ago), the title (Gemini Man) was acting up on the 203, I cleaned the disc and used the LG to play the rest.
My Oppo 203 is like the little girl with the curl, when she's bad she is very bad. I have too many HDR & DV disc freezes for what it cost. As a backup I'm going to buy the now cheap Pani DP-UB420, no DV but it has the good HCX video processor.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off