Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1287 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 280422Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #38581 of 38841 Old 05-23-2020, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
akadennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
With LG OLED series 7 and up, the Auto selection WILL consistently result in the Oppo performing Player Led processing. At least this is verifiably the case on the series 9. (I can run through the whole procedure and test patterns needed if anyone wants to test this.) If you want TV Led processing you need to explicitly select it in the Oppo menu.

The difference is that with series 6 Player Led processing results in very obvious problems. With series 7 and up you probably won't be able to tell the difference between TV Led and Player Led processing, at least not without considerable scrutiny and comparison. I still think that with LG OLEDs that TV Led DV processing is preferable, because with previous software LG OLEDs did have some noticeable artifacting with Player Led processing from the UDP-203. TV Led processing won't happen with the UDP-203 set to Auto DV processing (unless you have the correcting firmware that Oppo apparently sent to a few individuals, but was never made publicly available).

Again, Stacey Spears was fully aware of this several months ago, but some here don't seem to want to believe what he said, and what I'm saying about it.

My recommendation: All LG OLEDs (regardless of series) = TV Led
i believe everything your saying what is that correcting software number? i want to make sure I don't have it. i have UDP20X-65-0131.

LG OLED77C9 / LG OLED65C9 / LG UP970 / Oppo UDP-203 / Sony HT-Z9F+SA-Z9R / Apple TV 4K / Fire TV Stick 4K / TCL 55P605
akadennis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #38582 of 38841 Old 05-24-2020, 12:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunner842 View Post
I take it using source direct setting on 203 doesn’t have any effect on this DV setting?
I don't see any reason to believe it would. I haven't tested that however.
gunner842 likes this.
KC-Technerd is online now  
post #38583 of 38841 Old 05-24-2020, 12:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadennis View Post
i believe everything your saying what is that correcting software number? i want to make sure I don't have it. i have UDP20X-65-0131.
Sorry, I have no idea. Only those who received that software directly from Oppo support would know what it is. UDP20X-65-0131 is the publicly available latest firmware. I also don't know if that "correcting" software actually changes (corrects) the HDMI negotiation with the TV, or if it just flips the Auto setting from Player Led all the time, to TV Led all the time.
KC-Technerd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #38585 of 38841 Old 05-24-2020, 04:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 59
What does setting output resolution to Auto do?

There is source direct, custom and auto.

If I change to custom resolution to say UHD auto the above changes to custom. Im just confused on what the Auto setting would achieve?
gunner842 is offline  
post #38586 of 38841 Old 05-24-2020, 04:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunner842 View Post
What does setting output resolution to Auto do?

There is source direct, custom and auto.

If I change to custom resolution to say UHD auto the above changes to custom. Im just confused on what the Auto setting would achieve?
Source Direct sends whatever the source video is (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, etc.) directly through to the TV without any upscaling. It then becomes the job of the TV to upscale it to 2160 (4k).

Custom scales everything in the Oppo to what you have selected in the Custom Resolution setting. UHD is 2160 (4k) and the auto following that means that 60hz or 24hz is automatically selected based on the source content plus the capability of your display. So the Oppo has the job of doing any necessary scaling.

Auto means that the output resolution and frequency are determined by what your display tells the Oppo its best capability is over HDMI. In the case of my LG C9, that is 2160 (4k) and 60hz or 24 hz (depending on the source video). So again the UDP-203 does the job of scaling everything to that.
lujan, galonzo and gunner842 like this.
KC-Technerd is online now  
post #38587 of 38841 Old 05-24-2020, 04:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
Source Direct sends whatever the source video is (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, etc.) directly through to the TV without any upscaling. It then becomes the job of the TV to upscale it to 2160 (4k).

Custom scales everything in the Oppo to what you have selected in the Custom Resolution setting. UHD is 2160 (4k) and the auto following that means that 60hz or 24hz is automatically selected based on the source content plus the capability of your display. So the Oppo has the job of doing any necessary scaling.

Auto means that the output resolution and frequency are determined by what your display tells the Oppo its best capability is over HDMI. In the case of my LG C9, that is 2160 (4k) and 60hz or 24 hz (depending on the source video). So again the UDP-203 does the job of scaling everything to that.
Nice info thanks, I will leave it on custom then with UHD Auto and the rest of the settings on Auto.
KC-Technerd and galonzo like this.
gunner842 is offline  
post #38588 of 38841 Old 05-25-2020, 06:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,941
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Guys as of late, whenever i turn the system on with harmony remote, the oppo always starts Muted, its super annoying having to unmute through the harmony menu every time. I have reset the player, made sure volume is set to Variance 100 etc and nothing seems to help. I am wondering if this is some harmony setting i am missing? Any suggestions?

LG 77C9PUB + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is online now  
post #38589 of 38841 Old 05-25-2020, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Guys as of late, whenever i turn the system on with harmony remote, the oppo always starts Muted, its super annoying having to unmute through the harmony menu every time. I have reset the player, made sure volume is set to Variance 100 etc and nothing seems to help. I am wondering if this is some harmony setting i am missing? Any suggestions?
Check the Oppo's "Power On Volume" setting under Settings>Audio Processing. (Page 62 of the 203's manual.) Make sure that the Oppo is not set to start up muted.

If that's not the problem, set the Oppo to have its Output Volume set to "Fixed" on the same setup screen. That's what I've always done. That way, the Oppo always puts out 100% volume and ignores any remote control codes relating to output volume.

You would then adjust the volume at your AVR or TV.
galonzo likes this.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #38590 of 38841 Old 05-25-2020, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,941
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Guys as of late, whenever i turn the system on with harmony remote, the oppo always starts Muted, its super annoying having to unmute through the harmony menu every time. I have reset the player, made sure volume is set to Variance 100 etc and nothing seems to help. I am wondering if this is some harmony setting i am missing? Any suggestions?
Check the Power On Volume setting under Settings>Audio Processing. (Page 62 of the 203's manual.) Make sure that the Oppo is not set to start up muted.

If that's not the problem, set the Oppo to have its Output Volume set to "Fixed" on the same setup screen. That's what I've always done. That way, the Oppo always puts out 100% volume and ignores any remote control codes relating to output volume.

You would then adjust the volume at your AVR or TV.
thanks, i will look into that manual. Though i dont use volume on oppo anyways, i kept it at 100% and let the receiver do all the changing. One thing i noticed, turning just the oppo on and off has volume set to 100, when i use the harmony to turn it on, vol is Muted, so its the harmony remote sending the mute settings for some reason.

LG 77C9PUB + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!

Last edited by b0rnarian; 05-25-2020 at 06:58 AM.
b0rnarian is online now  
post #38591 of 38841 Old 05-25-2020, 07:27 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,647
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2169 Post(s)
Liked: 2731
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
thanks, i will look into that manual. Though i dont use volume on oppo anyways, i kept it at 100% and let the receiver do all the changing. One thing i noticed, turning just the oppo on and off has volume set to 100, when i use the harmony to turn it on, vol is Muted, so its the harmony remote sending the mute settings for some reason.
Yeah, it must be something in your Harmony remote configuration that's sending the mute command to the Oppo. But as @Philnick said, if you aren't actually using the Oppo's volume control, you might as well just set it to fixed (that's the same as 100%) so you don't end up chasing weird random problems if your cat/dog/child/spouse/prankster starts fooling around with the volume buttons on the Oppo remote.
galonzo likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #38592 of 38841 Old 05-25-2020, 07:56 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
thanks, i will look into that manual. Though i dont use volume on oppo anyways, i kept it at 100% and let the receiver do all the changing. One thing i noticed, turning just the oppo on and off has volume set to 100, when i use the harmony to turn it on, vol is Muted, so its the harmony remote sending the mute settings for some reason.
The Region Code setting includes a Mute command in the sequence (Dimmer Dimmer Dimmer Mute) - you might need to make sure you didn’t configure it to preset a particular region code automatically. Unlikely...but that’s my wild guess.
galonzo likes this.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #38593 of 38841 Old 05-25-2020, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,941
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post
The Region Code setting includes a Mute command in the sequence (Dimmer Dimmer Dimmer Mute) - you might need to make sure you didn’t configure it to preset a particular region code automatically. Unlikely...but that’s my wild guess.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Yeah, it must be something in your Harmony remote configuration that's sending the mute command to the Oppo. But as @Philnick said, if you aren't actually using the Oppo's volume control, you might as well just set it to fixed (that's the same as 100%) so you don't end up chasing weird random problems if your cat/dog/child/spouse/prankster starts fooling around with the volume buttons on the Oppo remote.
I just tried the Fixed setting, it still starts in Muted mode. As a lame workaround, I added a Mute/Unmute button on my Harmony for easy access but this issue started happening with recent updating of Harmony Remote. Though I can't find anything in there that would cause this except maybe telling the activity that its denon that handles my volume and not the Oppo. But that has always been the case so I am stumped, will keep poking. PS, I do not have any dimmer settings configured but thanks for the wild guess haha.

LG 77C9PUB + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is online now  
post #38594 of 38841 Old 05-26-2020, 02:22 AM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Is it true that the HDR OFF (BT2020), HDR OFF (BT709) & Strip Metadata settings resolve less than the REC709 color gamut regarding Red & Green saturation points, did it at one point before the 4 HDR-SDR Tone Mapping conversion modes at least resolve the full REC709 color gamut with Red & Green fully saturated with the Strip Metadata only function in early firmware?

It's strange OPPO's engineers were pretty oblivious to implement worse than the Rec. 709 color gamut in the end, is it more towards SD's Rec. 601 color gamut?
oniiz is offline  
post #38595 of 38841 Old 05-26-2020, 03:39 AM
Member
 
Prophizee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Hey been reading this whole thread and info amazing. But just for me to 100%. I have a Sony 940e. What would be the best settings on the oppo to get the best image quality


Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Prophizee is offline  
post #38596 of 38841 Old 05-26-2020, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophizee View Post
Hey been reading this whole thread and info amazing. But just for me to 100%. I have a Sony 940e. What would be the best settings on the oppo to get the best image quality


Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Since Sonys that can do Dolby Vision do not have a DV chip rather a software implementation you should choose player led. If your Sony model doesn't do DV disregard.
KC-Technerd and galonzo like this.

Last edited by naustin; 05-26-2020 at 01:49 PM.
naustin is offline  
post #38597 of 38841 Old 05-27-2020, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Prophizee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Thanks for the information, really appreciate it

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Prophizee is offline  
post #38598 of 38841 Old 05-27-2020, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
Source Direct sends whatever the source video is (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, etc.) directly through to the TV without any upscaling. It then becomes the job of the TV to upscale it to 2160 (4k).

Custom scales everything in the Oppo to what you have selected in the Custom Resolution setting. UHD is 2160 (4k) and the auto following that means that 60hz or 24hz is automatically selected based on the source content plus the capability of your display. So the Oppo has the job of doing any necessary scaling.

Auto means that the output resolution and frequency are determined by what your display tells the Oppo its best capability is over HDMI. In the case of my LG C9, that is 2160 (4k) and 60hz or 24 hz (depending on the source video). So again the UDP-203 does the job of scaling everything to that.

Sorry to jump on your response with a question of my own. I have the Oppo 203 and my projector is JVC DLA X550r.

Which of the 3 settings would make sense for me? Right now I have it set as direct.

Thank you


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ncabw is offline  
post #38599 of 38841 Old 05-28-2020, 02:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncabw View Post
Sorry to jump on your response with a question of my own. I have the Oppo 203 and my projector is JVC DLA X550r.

Which of the 3 settings would make sense for me? Right now I have it set as direct.
Unfortunately there isn't an easy answer to that question. It depends on whether your Oppo UDP-203 or your JVC DLA X550r does a better job of scaling to 4k. You'll have to evaluate for yourself what achieves the best results. The Spears & Munsil discs have some particularly helpful patterns for this. Sometimes its a tradeoff, such as getting better high high resolution color with the UDP-203 doing the scaling, but better anti-aliasing with the TV doing the scaling. You might find that the Oppo is better for 720 to 4k, while the TV is better at 480 to 4k. You just have to make the decision of what is best.

If you use Custom, you'll want UHD Auto as your custom resolution setting.
KC-Technerd is online now  
post #38600 of 38841 Old 05-28-2020, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all, firstly I am so sorry if this question has been asked 100 times before, I did try wading through, but could not find an answer in this thread. I am looking to purchase an Oppo 203 player. However I have read that it does not play all regions of BluRay, but there are mods you can use. Most of the threads and links I have found for this, are no longer working, the only one I have found is bluraychip.dk. Has anyone bought from this company before? Does it still work after software updates? Any other ways I can get this player BluRay multiregion? I am from the UK so any company here would be ideal.
1977blackmagic is offline  
post #38601 of 38841 Old 05-28-2020, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1977blackmagic View Post
Hi all, firstly I am so sorry if this question has been asked 100 times before, I did try wading through, but could not find an answer in this thread. I am looking to purchase an Oppo 203 player. However I have read that it does not play all regions of BluRay, but there are mods you can use. Most of the threads and links I have found for this, are no longer working, the only one I have found is bluraychip.dk. Has anyone bought from this company before? Does it still work after software updates? Any other ways I can get this player BluRay multiregion? I am from the UK so any company here would be ideal.

See jvbdigital in the Netherlands as another option. I recently purchased their external kit for my Oppo 203 and it works great. I'm on the latest firmware for the Oppo.



http://www.jvbdigital.nl/jvb.asp?cur...uRay&CurPage=2


Where in the UK are you located? Curious, as during normal times, I go over there 3-4 times a year for business.

LG OLED65E6P, Anthem MRX720, Rogue Atlas Magnum II, UPA7, Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers with RAAL, Luna Duo center, Sierra 2 surrounds, and HTM200SE front & rear heights, Rythmik E15HP (1, but plan on adding a 2nd), VPI Classic 1+ (VTA Tower, 3D arm), VAS NOVA and Soundsmith Paua cartridges, Manley Chinook, Oppo 103D, Oppo 203. Audio Sensibility and Blue Jeans cabling, Symposium & Isoacoustics isolation products
madrac is online now  
post #38602 of 38841 Old 05-28-2020, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Serenity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1977blackmagic View Post
... bluraychip.dk. Has anyone bought from this company before? Does it still work after software updates? Any other ways I can get this player BluRay multiregion? I am from the UK so any company here would be ideal.
If have procured three of those, two for 203's, and one for a 103. They work fine, and are not impacted by firmware updates, but in the case of the OPPO's, there really isn't much chance of further updates anyway, so that point is pretty much moot. The current version of their kit is also trivial to install. They require you to use some remote commands to toggle the region for BR's, but once installed, will play any DVD region, with no modification required. Coincidentally, I'm literally watching (here in the US) the EU, DVD version of BTVS as i write this, which I acquired because the last 4 seasons are widescreen, whereas the US releases were cropped to 4:3. Anyway, just making the point that the kits have been handy, and I make use of them regularly.
Serenity is offline  
post #38603 of 38841 Old 05-28-2020, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 2,172
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1597 Post(s)
Liked: 1238
And if you have a Harmony Elite, it really helps to program a custom activity sequence to do the region switch.
1977blackmagic likes this.
MOberhardt is online now  
post #38604 of 38841 Old 05-29-2020, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,160
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
And if you have a Harmony Elite, it really helps to program a custom activity sequence to do the region switch.
Don't have Harmony, do have URC MX-980's. In the 203 device I created macros on soft keys for region change, one button push for Region A and another button push for Region B.
1977blackmagic likes this.
Wendell R. Breland is online now  
post #38605 of 38841 Old 05-29-2020, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you so much for the replies guys, very much appreciated. Looks like I have a few options, might go with jvbdigital as they are in the Netherlands, and shipping might be quicker!! Great to know the kits work and people are using them. I have a US BluRay of 8mm which I can't wait to be able to watch! Also had not heard of the other bits to program buttons to allow quick switch overs. Genius! Thank you once again.
1977blackmagic is offline  
post #38606 of 38841 Old 05-29-2020, 12:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
...oh and Madrac I am from the South Coast of England, little place down in Kent.
1977blackmagic is offline  
post #38607 of 38841 Old 05-29-2020, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1977blackmagic View Post
...oh and Madrac I am from the South Coast of England, little place down in Kent.

Been through there once or twice on the Eurostar. I go to Windsor / Pangbourne when on business.

I've attached the Harmony sequence for region switching using OPPO103 as example. I did three sequences (Region A, B, C) and then added them to the activity screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Oppo Harmony Region Activity.JPG
Views:	96
Size:	77.7 KB
ID:	2734264  
MOberhardt and Meetloaf13 like this.

LG OLED65E6P, Anthem MRX720, Rogue Atlas Magnum II, UPA7, Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers with RAAL, Luna Duo center, Sierra 2 surrounds, and HTM200SE front & rear heights, Rythmik E15HP (1, but plan on adding a 2nd), VPI Classic 1+ (VTA Tower, 3D arm), VAS NOVA and Soundsmith Paua cartridges, Manley Chinook, Oppo 103D, Oppo 203. Audio Sensibility and Blue Jeans cabling, Symposium & Isoacoustics isolation products
madrac is online now  
post #38608 of 38841 Old 05-30-2020, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 149
It's good to have a second 4K UHD/BR player, when the oppo 203 cannot not read the disc.
Steve544 likes this.
fookoo_2010 is online now  
post #38609 of 38841 Old 05-30-2020, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Steve544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by fookoo_2010 View Post
It's good to have a second 4K UHD/BR player, when the oppo 203 cannot not read the disc.
I really do not understand why so many have had difficulties with the 203. I have never had it stall, refuse to play or any other issue. Prior to the 203, I owned the OPPO 103 and never had an issue with that deck either.
I use the deck strictly to watch blu ray and UHD discs, but really do not use it for any other purpose.
Tom C, galonzo and neb04 like this.

Steve Douglas, McIntosh 8207 amp, Anthem AVM-60, Anthem MCA 50 amp, Aerial Acoustics 10T, CC3 center, 5s and SR3 dipole/bipole, 18"Velodyne Sub
Sony 85" 950G, 4 Paradigm Cinema 100 2.0 System and OPPO 203 Blu-ray deck
Steve544 is offline  
post #38610 of 38841 Old 05-30-2020, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve544 View Post
I really do not understand why so many have had difficulties with the 203. I have never had it stall, refuse to play or any other issue. Prior to the 203, I owned the OPPO 103 and never had an issue with that deck either.
I use the deck strictly to watch blu ray and UHD discs, but really do not use it for any other purpose.
By disc I was referring to either a 4K disc or BR disc and both of those occurences have happened to me. The 203 failed to read a 4K disc of Christopher Nolan's The Prestige as well as a 4K disc of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, but both were readable and playable via the Panasonic 4K player 820. The BR failure occurred with Netflix disc rentals which were then playable on a Panasonic BT500 player. I supose that you have just been fortunate.
fookoo_2010 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off