Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1294 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 280455Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #38791 of 38870 Old 06-29-2020, 10:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there a way to confirm HDR10+ is being outputted? I'm not sure on the settings required to get HDR10+ as Dolby Vision has its own menu item but 10+ does not. Currently have it set to HDR auto and want to confirm I am getting the dynamic metadata.


I have access to Parasite UHD Bluray which reports as supporting HDR10+ on the box, playing through my Samsung Q950T which supports HDR10+.
Balfazar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #38792 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 02:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,706
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1191 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balfazar View Post
Is there a way to confirm HDR10+ is being outputted? I'm not sure on the settings required to get HDR10+ as Dolby Vision has its own menu item but 10+ does not. Currently have it set to HDR auto and want to confirm I am getting the dynamic metadata.
Provided your OPPO has firmware version UDP20X-65-0131 installed and your TV supports HDR10+ your TV should receive HDR10+.

Full support for HDR10+ has been confirmed by many other OPPO users...
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #38793 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 04:06 AM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 40
My Oppo remote just stopped working. I put in fresh batteries but it is still unresponsive. I had the same issue not long after I bought the unit, and they replaced it, so I am surprised lightning struck twice. Has anyone else had a problem?


Many Thanks

Denon X6300 H, 7.2 Infinity IL-40 Towers, Infinity IL-120 Subwoofer, Infinity Intermezzo 1.2s Subwoofer, Infinity IL 36 Center, LG OLED 65B6P, Oppo-203 UHD Player
I can turn it up to "11"
Mcguinn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #38794 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 05:52 AM
Member
 
jamisonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
With Bitstream output, typically this happens because the AVR does not support 1.0 (Center channel only) as Bitstream input. This is published during the HDMI handshake. Thus the player has to switch to 2.0 (dual channel Mono in LF/RF) for the Bitstream. For LPCM output, the conversion to 2.0 is as designed. I'm not sure HDMI supports LPCM 1.0, but the odds are anything taking LPCM input (like an older, stereo-only TV) is not going to be happy with 1.0.
--Bob

This makes a lot of sense. Thanks.
jamisonia is offline  
post #38795 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,142
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4100 Post(s)
Liked: 3415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcguinn View Post
My Oppo remote just stopped working. I put in fresh batteries but it is still unresponsive. I had the same issue not long after I bought the unit, and they replaced it, so I am surprised lightning struck twice. Has anyone else had a problem?


Many Thanks
Oppo will sell you one for $18: https://www.oppodigital.com/products.asp
Mcguinn and galonzo like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #38796 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Oppo will sell you one for $18: https://www.oppodigital.com/products.asp
Thank you for your quick reply!

Denon X6300 H, 7.2 Infinity IL-40 Towers, Infinity IL-120 Subwoofer, Infinity Intermezzo 1.2s Subwoofer, Infinity IL 36 Center, LG OLED 65B6P, Oppo-203 UHD Player
I can turn it up to "11"
Mcguinn is offline  
post #38797 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 08:17 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5933 Post(s)
Liked: 8499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcguinn View Post
My Oppo remote just stopped working. I put in fresh batteries but it is still unresponsive. I had the same issue not long after I bought the unit, and they replaced it, so I am surprised lightning struck twice. Has anyone else had a problem?


Many Thanks
First of all, double check you put the new batteries in the right way round. It's surprisingly easy to screw this up.

Next, unplug the player from wall power, wait a couple seconds and plug it back in. Now see if the Power button on the remote works to turn the player ON. (The first power On after restoring wall power will work regardless of the remote "code set" selector setting in the remote.) If so, but the player still doesn't respond to the remote AFTER turning on, then you may have accidentally changed the remote "code set" selection slider inside the battery compartment of the remote. This has to match the number that's in Setup > Device Setup.

If the Power button does *NOT* work to turn the player On, reach around the back of the player with the remote and see if the player picks it up on its Rear IR sensor. If so, go into Setup from the on-screen Home Menu (use the Arrow buttons on the Front Panel). Go to Device Setup, and toggle the IR In setting to Back and then to Front again. Check again to see if the remote now works normally.

If that fixes it, you may be good to go. If the problem recurs, get in touch with OPPO Tech Support as the settings memory in your player may need service.

Remotes are electronic devices, so of course they CAN fail. But two failures means it may be something else, thus my suggestions.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #38798 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 08:46 AM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 40
[QUOTE=Bob Pariseau;59882126]First of all, double check you put the new batteries in the right way round. It's surprisingly easy to screw this up.

Thank you for the information Bob.

I did indeed check the battery configuration and it was correct, I then began to troubleshoot according to your instructions.
Unfortunately, unplugging the device and pushing the power button on the remote did not work, so I proceeded to the next steps and took the remote to the back of the unit...still no response. Deflated, I then went back to the front of the unit and pressed the power button on the remote again. Much to my surprise and joy it came on! I then pushed the "eject" button and it worked.
Hopefully, it will continue to function, but if not, I will follow your further instructions.
I received this replacement remote about two years ago and I have experienced no issues with it until now.
Can the unit be used without a remote by using the front buttons? I could not get past the menus on a UHD disk I was attempting to watch yesterday, by trying to use the buttons on the front panel.

Denon X6300 H, 7.2 Infinity IL-40 Towers, Infinity IL-120 Subwoofer, Infinity Intermezzo 1.2s Subwoofer, Infinity IL 36 Center, LG OLED 65B6P, Oppo-203 UHD Player
I can turn it up to "11"
Mcguinn is offline  
post #38799 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 09:25 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5933 Post(s)
Liked: 8499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcguinn View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
First of all, double check you put the new batteries in the right way round. It's surprisingly easy to screw this up.
Thank you for the information Bob.

I did indeed check the battery configuration and it was correct, I then began to troubleshoot according to your instructions.
Unfortunately, unplugging the device and pushing the power button on the remote did not work, so I proceeded to the next steps and took the remote to the back of the unit...still no response. Deflated, I then went back to the front of the unit and pressed the power button on the remote again. Much to my surprise and joy it came on! I then pushed the "eject" button and it worked.
Hopefully, it will continue to function, but if not, I will follow your further instructions.
I received this replacement remote about two years ago and I have experienced no issues with it until now.
Can the unit be used without a remote by using the front buttons? I could not get past the menus on a UHD disk I was attempting to watch yesterday, by trying to use the buttons on the front panel.
It's possible the new batteries were not making good contact inside the remote. Fiddling around like this may have jiggled them into place.

You can do quite a bit using the front panel buttons alone, but some disc menus WILL be problematic.
--Bob
Mcguinn, galonzo and chi_guy50 like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #38800 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
It's possible the new batteries were not making good contact inside the remote. Fiddling around like this may have jiggled them into place.

You can do quite a bit using the front panel buttons alone, but some disc menus WILL be problematic.
--Bob
Thanks Again.

Denon X6300 H, 7.2 Infinity IL-40 Towers, Infinity IL-120 Subwoofer, Infinity Intermezzo 1.2s Subwoofer, Infinity IL 36 Center, LG OLED 65B6P, Oppo-203 UHD Player
I can turn it up to "11"
Mcguinn is offline  
post #38801 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcguinn View Post
Thanks Again.
I've rarely used it, but there is an Oppo app that can function as the remote. I'm assuming it still works. I would check by I am not home at the moment.

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, FireCube 2, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM. B&W PX for travel
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is offline  
post #38802 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Mcguinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
I've rarely used it, but there is an Oppo app that can function as the remote. I'm assuming it still works. I would check by I am not home at the moment.
Thanks!

Denon X6300 H, 7.2 Infinity IL-40 Towers, Infinity IL-120 Subwoofer, Infinity Intermezzo 1.2s Subwoofer, Infinity IL 36 Center, LG OLED 65B6P, Oppo-203 UHD Player
I can turn it up to "11"
Mcguinn is offline  
post #38803 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcguinn View Post
Thanks!
No problem, hope that can help

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, FireCube 2, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM. B&W PX for travel
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is offline  
post #38804 of 38870 Old 06-30-2020, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
rmilewsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've had the OPPO 203 for a couple of years now and its been working great. I do most of my playback with the built in file/network playback using mkv files stores on my NAS. I just reconfigured my network to move some of my devices to separate firewall protected subnets/vlans. My OPPO player is now on a different subnet/vlan (entertainment) than my NAS (trust). They used to be on the same one.

I'm wondering if anyone knows exactly which ports need to be opened to have the OPPO access my mkv files sitting on a share on my NAS?
rmilewsk is offline  
post #38805 of 38870 Old 07-01-2020, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Is it not possible to get greater than 48 khz from 2.0 sources? Whenever I try to play any decoded 2.0 audio that is 96 or 192, be it FLAC, PCM, DSD, whatever, the Oppo always seems to output it as 48 khz or lower, never higher. Container doesn't seem to matter either: .flac, .mkv, .m2ts, .dsf, etc all were tested.

If it's bitstreamed to the receiver it retains the higher quality, for example, the Beck Sea Change Blu-ray Audio release has both PCM and DTS-HD MA 2.0 tracks at 24/192. The DTS-HD MA gets output at 192, while the PCM gets output at 48.

Here's the weird thing: This issue doesn't affect high res surround audio. The Akira Blu-rays gets output as PCM 5.1 192 khz no problem. That Beck Sea Change Blu-ray that also has 24/192 5.1 in both DTS-MA and PCM? The receiver sees 192 coming in for both tracks.

Is this just a 2.0 bug that was never fixed?
eric.exe is offline  
post #38806 of 38870 Old 07-01-2020, 12:05 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5933 Post(s)
Liked: 8499
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post
Is it not possible to get greater than 48 khz from 2.0 sources? Whenever I try to play any decoded 2.0 audio that is 96 or 192, be it FLAC, PCM, DSD, whatever, the Oppo always seems to output it as 48 khz or lower, never higher. Container doesn't seem to matter either: .flac, .mkv, .m2ts, .dsf, etc all were tested.

If it's bitstreamed to the receiver it retains the higher quality, for example, the Beck Sea Change Blu-ray Audio release has both PCM and DTS-HD MA 2.0 tracks at 24/192. The DTS-HD MA gets output at 192, while the PCM gets output at 48.

Here's the weird thing: This issue doesn't affect high res surround audio. The Akira Blu-rays gets output as PCM 5.1 192 khz no problem. That Beck Sea Change Blu-ray that also has 24/192 5.1 in both DTS-MA and PCM? The receiver sees 192 coming in for both tracks.

Is this just a 2.0 bug that was never fixed?
Make sure your video output resolution is 720p or higher. HDMI Audio is embedded inside the blanking intervals of an HDMI Video stream -- even if that's just a black image. Lower HDMI video resolutions don't provide enough space to carry higher resolution audio.
--Bob
galonzo likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #38807 of 38870 Old 07-01-2020, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Make sure your video output resolution is 720p or higher. HDMI Audio is embedded inside the blanking intervals of an HDMI Video stream -- even if that's just a black image. Lower HDMI video resolutions don't provide enough space to carry higher resolution audio.
--Bob
Yeah, I have it outputting at 4K. Obviously bandwidth is not a problem because as I mentioned surround audio plays fine at high-res. 192k 5.1 that outputs correctly is almost 3x the bitrate as the 192k 2.0 audio that is not.
eric.exe is offline  
post #38808 of 38870 Old 07-01-2020, 01:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5933 Post(s)
Liked: 8499
Media file 2.0 audio outputs fine for me on HDMI at higher sample rates, so it has to be something simple like this.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #38809 of 38870 Old 07-01-2020, 01:17 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5933 Post(s)
Liked: 8499
Check that you have DTS NEO:6 Mode set to OFF. Enabling it caps the digital audio path for stereo content at 48kHz.
--Bob
sbarnhar, eric.exe and galonzo like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #38810 of 38870 Old 07-01-2020, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Check that you have DTS NEO:6 Mode set to OFF. Enabling it caps the digital audio path for stereo content at 48kHz.
--Bob
Turning DTS NEO:6 off fixed it, thanks! I thought all the audio processing options only affected the analog pre-outs, but apparently not!

Looks like the manual is lying about it, which caused me to overlook those settings.
eric.exe is offline  
post #38811 of 38870 Old 07-01-2020, 02:06 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5933 Post(s)
Liked: 8499
^ Yep. DTS Neo:6 is processed digitally, and for some unknown reason the algorithm only works up to 48kHz. The actual VALUE of DTS Neo:6 -- raising 2.0 content to multi-channel -- can only be HEARD on the multi-channel Analog audio outputs, so in that sense the manual is right. 2.0 will remain 2.0 for the HDMI Audio output despite DTS Neo:6 being enabled.

But the capping of the data-rate at 48kHz affects the entire digital audio path -- so also the HDMI Audio output.

This only applies when playing Stereo content.

The upshot is, leave DTS:Neo 6 Mode set to OFF unless you actually want to use it right now. Then remember to turn it back OFF afterwards.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #38812 of 38870 Old 07-02-2020, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Yep. DTS Neo:6 is processed digitally, and for some unknown reason the algorithm only works up to 48kHz. The actual VALUE of DTS Neo:6 -- raising 2.0 content to multi-channel -- can only be HEARD on the multi-channel Analog audio outputs, so in that sense the manual is right. 2.0 will remain 2.0 for the HDMI Audio output despite DTS Neo:6 being enabled.

But the capping of the data-rate at 48kHz affects the entire digital audio path -- so also the HDMI Audio output.

This only applies when playing Stereo content.

The upshot is, leave DTS:Neo 6 Mode set to OFF unless you actually want to use it right now. Then remember to turn it back OFF afterwards.
--Bob
If your AVR has DTS Neo:6 built in (my Yamahas always have had it), the simplest approach would be to use the AVR's Neo:6 and leave it off in the Oppo!

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #38813 of 38870 Old 07-02-2020, 10:38 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5933 Post(s)
Liked: 8499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
If your AVR has DTS Neo:6 built in (my Yamahas always have had it), the simplest approach would be to use the AVR's Neo:6 and leave it off in the Oppo!
DTS Neo:6 -- indeed all the Analog output Speaker Configuration settings -- are there primarily for folks who are connecting multi-channel Analog audio out of the OPPO to an AVR which does not support processing for multi-channel Analog input. Indeed, if the AVR provides processing for multi-channel Analog audio input, then the first step will be to re-digitize that input -- meaning you might as well use HDMI to the AVR in the first place.

--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #38814 of 38870 Old 07-03-2020, 01:43 AM
Member
 
codyrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Oppo 203 and BDXL discs

Is Oppo 203 still unable to read BDXL discs? Back in 2018 couldn't...maybe a firmware upgrade helps? Already destroyed two discs (shame on me, not searching on google first )

...even back in this forum is explained that is not possible, just few months before I bought the device and start reading the forum...damn!

Last edited by codyrocco; 07-03-2020 at 02:04 AM.
codyrocco is offline  
post #38815 of 38870 Old 07-03-2020, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
DTS Neo:6 -- indeed all the Analog output Speaker Configuration settings -- are there primarily for folks who are connecting multi-channel Analog audio out of the OPPO to an AVR which does not support processing for multi-channel Analog input. Indeed, if the AVR provides processing for multi-channel Analog audio input, then the first step will be to re-digitize that input -- meaning you might as well use HDMI to the AVR in the first place.

--Bob
But this whole back and forth between you and the poster with the problem was in the context of the poster using HDMI! I was just suggesting using the AVR's Neo:6 instead of the Oppo's to sidestep the whole problem.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.

Last edited by Philnick; 07-03-2020 at 05:42 AM.
Philnick is offline  
post #38816 of 38870 Old 07-03-2020, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
But this whole back and forth between you and the poster with the problem was in the context of the poster using HDMI! I was just suggesting using the AVR's Neo:6 instead of the Oppo's to sidestep the whole problem.
I'm fairly sure Bob understood that and was simply offering a general explanation of why the player offers DTS Neo 6 and the pros and cons of it.
gwsat and galonzo like this.

Panasonic TX-55EZ952B OLED / Oppo UDP-203 / Onkyo TX-NR555 / B&W 600 Series + Elac A4 Atmos
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #38817 of 38870 Old 07-03-2020, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Modicen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: R.I.
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Are the oppos still being supported and if so for how much longer? Just curious, thanks.
Modicen is offline  
post #38818 of 38870 Old 07-03-2020, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,142
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4100 Post(s)
Liked: 3415
Quote:
Originally Posted by codyrocco View Post
Is Oppo 203 still unable to read (recordable) BDXL discs?
Not now, not ever. Not sure if its a hardware limitation or licensing issue.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #38819 of 38870 Old 07-03-2020, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,142
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4100 Post(s)
Liked: 3415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modicen View Post
Are the oppos still being supported and if so for how much longer? Just curious, thanks.

https://www.oppodigital.com/Support.aspx
rdgrimes is offline  
post #38820 of 38870 Old 07-03-2020, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I was just wandering if it's possible that the Source Direct function can sometimes flag 4:3 content as 16:9?

Could somebody confirm if the attached mkv file is correctly detected as 4:3 & not 16:9 as the m2ts & mp4 files are correctly detected as 4:3 by my TV's aspect ratio control.

The OPPO's output info screen mentions 4:3 but it seems my tv is receiving 16:9 for some reason.

I misunderstood the Source Direct feature for far too long thinking that the OPPO was meant to preserve the aspect ratio be it 16:9 or 4:3 not realising it's the job of the TV to handle it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 720x576 4.3 Files.zip (748.7 KB, 6 views)
oniiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off