Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 479 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279330Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14341 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
Does the 203 have Dolby Vision yet?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
New 24K,
^^ Not so's you'd notice.
--Bob
But there appears to be some secret mucky-muck or voodoo that mystifies all who explore this. Like entering Darkest Africa in the early 1800s -- you don't really know what you'll find.

Cagey, Bob, cagey...

grtuck likes this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14342 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,717
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2838 Post(s)
Liked: 1812
Help Choosing!

Finally ready to pull the trigger on an UHD player, thought it would for sure be the Oppo, but second-guessing at this point. Have been reading (at least skimming) the threads for the various players, and disappointed to still see so many minor issues.

Samsung was never an option, and not the Panasonic due to disappointment in how long a previous Pannasonic DVD player lasted for me (not long) plus the price. Was set on the Oppo, but now there;s the Sony X800. Haven't found a X800 vs. 203 thread, but somebody here must be able to comment on the two? Sony seems to have it's share of glitches as well. But both Oppo and Sony get high marks for build quality.

Current TV set does not do DV, doubt Sony will ever offer an update for it, Sony is already disappointment in this area for the X930D afa the OS, but assume any later TV I get will be DV compatible, so might as well get a player that can do DV - the Oppo seems more promising to possibly add that feature....?? The analog audio outs on the Oppo aren't important for my arrangement. My other only concern (and not a huuuuge one...) is with streaming - no apps on the Oppo, which originally was non-issue since TV had them - but I use ARC, and correct me if I'm wrong, but ARC will not support Atmos, etc. - so it'd be nice to have capability to stream through a device that will handle this directly. Netflix honestly is the only app I care about at this point in this regard.

What else should I perhaps be considering, and any direct comparison experiences shared would be most appreciated, thanks guys!

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #14343 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 2,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Can you fix it by using optical audio from the DVR to the AVR and video from the 203?
I'm mostly checking it for troubleshooting purposes so I am not going to enable any workarounds.

Off topic rant: I am in the process of ditching DirecTV. Unfortunately my regional sports network is what I mostly watch (personally). My boxes have all decided that I don't subscribe to it, and I when I try to watch via the mobile app it says the same. When I look online it's in my package. When I call them, they say I am subscribed to it. They are unable to fix it. Now they are wanting to send a tech out, insisting it must be on "my end", which makes zero sense. Yeah, all 3 of my boxes and the mobile app have all failed on my end.. ... for a single channel no less.

Pioneer ELITE PRO-720HD | Pioneer PDP-5010FD | Sony XBR-55X850B | LG OLED55E6P
OPPO BDP-103 | OPPO UDP-203
PlayStation 4 Pro | Xbox One X
brentsg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14344 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 2,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
Finally ready to pull the trigger on an UHD player, thought it would for sure be the Oppo, but second-guessing at this point. Have been reading (at least skimming) the threads for the various players, and disappointed to still see so many minor issues.

Samsung was never an option, and not the Panasonic due to disappointment in how long a previous Pannasonic DVD player lasted for me (not long) plus the price. Was set on the Oppo, but now there;s the Sony X800. Haven't found a X800 vs. 203 thread, but somebody here must be able to comment on the two? Sony seems to have it's share of glitches as well. But both Oppo and Sony get high marks for build quality.

Current TV set does not do DV, doubt Sony will ever offer an update for it, Sony is already disappointment in this area for the X930D afa the OS, but assume any later TV I get will be DV compatible, so might as well get a player that can do DV - the Oppo seems more promising to possibly add that feature....?? The analog audio outs on the Oppo aren't important for my arrangement. My other only concern (and not a huuuuge one...) is with streaming - no apps on the Oppo, which originally was non-issue since TV had them - but I use ARC, and correct me if I'm wrong, but ARC will not support Atmos, etc. - so it'd be nice to have capability to stream through a device that will handle this directly. Netflix honestly is the only app I care about at this point in this regard.

What else should I perhaps be considering, and any direct comparison experiences shared would be most appreciated, thanks guys!
There is a comparison thread for a reason. The mods will shut down the comparison discussion here because it's off topic.
Mike_WI likes this.

Pioneer ELITE PRO-720HD | Pioneer PDP-5010FD | Sony XBR-55X850B | LG OLED55E6P
OPPO BDP-103 | OPPO UDP-203
PlayStation 4 Pro | Xbox One X
brentsg is offline  
post #14345 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
But there appears to be some secret mucky-muck or voodoo that mystifies all who explore this. Like entering Darkest Africa in the early 1800s -- you don't really know what you'll find.

Cagey, Bob, cagey...

I'm assuming that since after the last firmware update when a disc starts it says HDR10 before playing (my TV does DV & HDR10) that DV was installed with the latest firmware update.

I'm not sure any of the beta testers can verify that - hence Bob's answer.
grtuck likes this.
marine92104 is offline  
post #14346 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Azekecse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentsg View Post
I'm mostly checking it for troubleshooting purposes so I am not going to enable any workarounds.

Off topic rant: I am in the process of ditching DirecTV. Unfortunately my regional sports network is what I mostly watch (personally). My boxes have all decided that I don't subscribe to it, and I when I try to watch via the mobile app it says the same. When I look online it's in my package. When I call them, they say I am subscribed to it. They are unable to fix it. Now they are wanting to send a tech out, insisting it must be on "my end", which makes zero sense. Yeah, all 3 of my boxes and the mobile app have all failed on my end.. ... for a single channel no less.
Try to refresh your DTV boxes via the website, just a thought...
Azekecse is offline  
post #14347 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 2,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azekecse View Post
Try to refresh your DTV boxes via the website, just a thought...
Taking to PM.

Pioneer ELITE PRO-720HD | Pioneer PDP-5010FD | Sony XBR-55X850B | LG OLED55E6P
OPPO BDP-103 | OPPO UDP-203
PlayStation 4 Pro | Xbox One X

Last edited by brentsg; 04-09-2017 at 01:48 PM.
brentsg is offline  
post #14348 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Even if DV has been installed, how would you know? There are no available DV discs and with the HDMI input not yet de-glitched, you can't attach a DV capable streaming device. I'm not aware of any DV files that you can test with either. If someone knows otherwise and can talk about it, please elucidate.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #14349 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
I'm assuming that since after the last firmware update when a disc starts it says HDR10 before playing (my TV does DV & HDR10) that DV was installed with the latest firmware update.

I'm not sure any of the beta testers can verify that - hence Bob's answer.
I have firmware 0329 loaded and none of three UHD discs have indicated HDR10 -- only HDR as always.

As for Bob, he is MUCH appreciated and obviously has an interesting sense of humor.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS

Last edited by richlife; 04-09-2017 at 02:18 PM.
richlife is offline  
post #14350 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 02:30 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,286
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5837 Post(s)
Liked: 8328
^ It's oft been said, I certainly do away with words...
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #14351 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Extreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 41
UDP20X-42-0329 onboard;
Watching The Bourne identity 4k (DTS HDMA 7.1 via HDMI audio port).
Experienced a terrible lock-on noise and some video stutter underway.
I suspect a source rather than a sink problem.
RyanChristopher likes this.

Bryston SP4/ATI AT527/Panasonic DP-UB9000/LG OLED 65E6V
Extreman is offline  
post #14352 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,717
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2838 Post(s)
Liked: 1812
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentsg View Post
There is a comparison thread for a reason. The mods will shut down the comparison discussion here because it's off topic.
Maybe it's out there and I'm not finding it, a comparison of these two. Though, I would certainly hope any advice could be provided here comparing the two, as certainly has been done with other players in this thread and other owner threads comparing at least the Panasonic and Oppo.....if you can point me to the comparison thread for the Sony and Oppo, I'd appreciate it, I could be blind.....

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #14353 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1478 Post(s)
Liked: 2313
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Turbofan View Post
I noticed after updating to the latest firmware there is a noticeable improvement in 4K Blu-Ray picture quality. More depth , detail and realism. Very noticeable and comparable to my Panasonic UB900 now.
Can anyone else comment on this....IS there an improvement?

As per usual, the firmware isnt available here in Aus yet...
woofer is online now  
post #14354 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
IMDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne,Australia
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
Can anyone else comment on this....IS there an improvement?

As per usual, the firmware isnt available here in Aus yet...
My 203 asked me to Auto update on Saturday.
Woofer if yours isn't set to auto-check, the update is available on p2 of the Interdyn site:
http://support.interdyn.com.au/suppo.../2?url_locale=
Craig Mecak likes this.
IMDave is offline  
post #14355 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 817 Post(s)
Liked: 1471
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
Can anyone else comment on this....IS there an improvement?

As per usual, the firmware isnt available here in Aus yet...
In reverse order:

- the latest firmware IS available in Australia but only for install over the internet. It has not been updated to Oppo's Australian support page yet but I installed it over the net late on the same day it was released in the US.

- picture quality improvement: there is nothing specific mentioned in the list of things updated but some people, including me, have reported seeing an improvement. I've noticed an improvement on normal BD as well as UHD but it's hard to pin down just what it is and it doesn't seem to be equally noticeable on all content. I notice a bit more detail/contrast and a more natural colour rendition on some things. It could come down to simply the removal of a slight colour cast and it could come down to me simply noticing some things I hadn't noticed before because I was looking to see if there were any differences but I don't think it's that. I think Oppo did do something.
richlife and jb442386 like this.
David Aiken is offline  
post #14356 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dildatonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ulster County NY
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I ordered the JVB external mod, but it came with no manual and the link they included ot a manual online is a dead link, not sure what the hell to do with this, it was described as plugging into the rs232 port, but doesn't, at least not the external port.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
dildatonr is offline  
post #14357 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 04:28 PM
Member
 
mel_in_az's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post
I ordered the JVB external mod, but it came with no manual and the link they included ot a manual online is a dead link, not sure what the hell to do with this, it was described as plugging into the rs232 port, but doesn't, at least not the external port.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
It's pretty straightforward... your Oppo has an RS232 port on the back. Plug the device in. I'm not looking at it now but the RS232 is actually on the circuit board... there is also a USB cable, that plugs into one of the USBs on the rear of your OPPO. That's all there is to the installation. This article has a photo that should help. Get back to me if you need anything else. Sorry for the OT topic if it is.

Mel

http://www.highdefdigest.com/blog/oppo-region-mod/
mel_in_az is offline  
post #14358 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 817 Post(s)
Liked: 1471
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post
I ordered the JVB external mod, but it came with no manual and the link they included ot a manual online is a dead link, not sure what the hell to do with this, it was described as plugging into the rs232 port, but doesn't, at least not the external port.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
As in the post above.

Send me a PM with an email address and I'll send you a pdf with the 2 page "instruction manual" telling you how to change regions once you have the mod installed.
David Aiken is offline  
post #14359 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dildatonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ulster County NY
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 22
This was all they sent me, which has no serial adapter on it whatsoever.

Did they not send me the right part?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2j...ew?usp=sharing
dildatonr is offline  
post #14360 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 04:50 PM
Member
 
mel_in_az's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post
This was all they sent me, which has no serial adapter on it whatsoever.

Did they not send me the right part?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2j...ew?usp=sharing
No, clearly this is not the right part... I'd get back to them and let them straighten it out...

mel
mel_in_az is offline  
post #14361 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Woodbridge, VA (25 miles south of D.C.)
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
I have firmware 0329 loaded and none of three UHD discs have indicated HDR10 -- only HDR as always.

As for Bob, he is MUCH appreciated and obviously has an interesting sense of humor.
If anyone has the 3 J.J. Abrams Star Trek movies, all 3 of them indicated HDR10 at the very beginning after loading. When the player stopped indicating loading and when to a black screen and just before the Stars for Paramount began their sequence, my screen indicated HDR10.

Only just got the movies the last couple of days, after I got 0329 so do not know what would have been indicated before the update.

Regards.

Spoiler!
RetiredandLovingIt is offline  
post #14362 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Woodbridge, VA (25 miles south of D.C.)
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Just had Pacific Rim delivered to my front door by Amazon. Popped it in the 203 and right at the beginning when loading it indicated HDR 10 in the upper left hand corner of the screen, just like the Star Trek movies did.

Is this an indication of something?

Spoiler!
RetiredandLovingIt is offline  
post #14363 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 05:10 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,603
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4671 Post(s)
Liked: 4546
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredandLovingIt View Post
Just had Pacific Rim delivered to my front door by Amazon. Popped it in the 203 and right at the beginning when loading it indicated HDR 10 in the upper left hand corner of the screen, just like the Star Trek movies did.

Is this an indication of something?
It's always been there.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #14364 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Woodbridge, VA (25 miles south of D.C.)
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
It's always been there.

-Bill
Thanks Bill, thought I was getting all excited over nothing.

Spoiler!
RetiredandLovingIt is offline  
post #14365 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 05:15 PM
Member
 
bogies4sgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glendora, Ca
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredandLovingIt View Post
If anyone has the 3 J.J. Abrams Star Trek movies, all 3 of them indicated HDR10 at the very beginning after loading. When the player stopped indicating loading and when to a black screen and just before the Stars for Paramount began their sequence, my screen indicated HDR10.

Only just got the movies the last couple of days, after I got 0329 so do not know what would have been indicated before the update.

Regards.
Have all 3 ST films and they always showed HDR10, and these were some of the first discs I watched. And I got one of the first 203 players, with the first FW installed. Just watched Passengers and Magnificent 7, and they continued to show HDR10 when starting. So if DV was added with the last update, I haven't seen any difference in player operation With regard to HDR10 material
RetiredandLovingIt likes this.

My World:
Denon AVR 4306; Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203
Apple TV4; DirecTv HR54-500; Pioneer CLD-99 LaserDisc
Harmony Elite; Infinity Intrada Three (F/C/R/Sub); Klipsch KHW-5 (SR/SL)

"It's kind of fun to do the impossible" - Walt Disney
bogies4sgb is offline  
post #14366 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post
This was all they sent me, which has no serial adapter on it whatsoever.

Did they not send me the right part?...
You got the internal version that requires opening-up your UDP-203 and installing it inside. Sorry, but it looks like you were shipped the wrong one, assuming you paid for the External Kit (it costs $129 vs $99), you should contact JVB Digital. Good luck.
BertL is offline  
post #14367 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 05:32 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,286
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5837 Post(s)
Liked: 8328
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredandLovingIt View Post
Just had Pacific Rim delivered to my front door by Amazon. Popped it in the 203 and right at the beginning when loading it indicated HDR 10 in the upper left hand corner of the screen, just like the Star Trek movies did.

Is this an indication of something?
It's an indication that the HDMI handshake to your display is working faster, so that you now have good video quick enough to see this short duration notice.

--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #14368 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 05:42 PM
boe
AVS Forum Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,310
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1227 Post(s)
Liked: 554
Anyone using Windows 10 Creators edition and SMB?

Hello,


I updated 2 of my computers to windows 10 creator's edition and smb no longer works for the oppo (although fine sharing from newer windows 10 with other PCs using older windows). I did find if I turn one another older edition of win 10 on a different PC with the newer editions turned off, I can then booth up the newer edition of win 10 and SMB does show up for it on the Oppo. If I turn on the new edition PC first even after I turn on an older one the Oppo won't see anything. It may be an update will be required with the Oppo to handle some newer master browser function. I have the latest oppo firmware. I'd like to know if others are having this issue.
boe is offline  
post #14369 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 06:06 PM
boe
AVS Forum Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,310
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1227 Post(s)
Liked: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
Hello,


I updated 2 of my computers to windows 10 creator's edition and smb no longer works for the oppo (although fine sharing from newer windows 10 with other PCs using older windows). I did find if I turn one another older edition of win 10 on a different PC with the newer editions turned off, I can then booth up the newer edition of win 10 and SMB does show up for it on the Oppo. If I turn on the new edition PC first even after I turn on an older one the Oppo won't see anything. It may be an update will be required with the Oppo to handle some newer master browser function. I have the latest oppo firmware. I'd like to know if others are having this issue.
I just rolled back to version 1607 of Windows 10 and smb streaming is fine now.
boe is offline  
post #14370 of 37513 Old 04-09-2017, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 817 Post(s)
Liked: 1471
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post
This was all they sent me, which has no serial adapter on it whatsoever.

Did they not send me the right part?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2j...ew?usp=sharing
That's the internal mod kit by the look of it. It's definitely not the external one.
gwsat likes this.
David Aiken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off