Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 501 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279447Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15001 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Hello all.

I just found out that it's possible to play a UHD disc on a UHD player and have it send 1080p resolution to 1080p displays. Certainly there's no visual benefit for doing so, however there is an audible benefit as a lot of the newer movies are including Atmos only on the UHD disk.

My AVR is Atmos/UHD/HDMI 2.0 compatible, TV and Projector aren't, but I'm thinking about buying a UDP-203 and want to make sure there won't be any compatibility issues.

Are there others here who use a UDP-203 with an AVR that is Atmos/UHD/HDMI 2.0 compatible, hooked up to a 1080p display with HDMI 1.4? Any compatibility issues with the display, or the HDMI cord itself, since they're HDMI 1.4?

Thanks.

xbr75x900E and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060/RX-A3000, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
L/C/R - B&W CM9/CMC2, Side - DS3, Rear - CM5, F/R Atmos - CCM663
Subs - SVS PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Harmony Elite, ATV 4K, Nvidia Shield Pro, HDHomeRun Extend
Sweetmeat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15002 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfy701 View Post
How is the AKM DAC chip compared to the ESS Sabre32 Reference chip in the Oppo 105?
I had a 105. I have a 203. I think the AKM is better. Is seems the high frequencies are less "grainy" in the 203. I didn't make a direct comparison, but that was my first impression. With the 203, audio seems more relaxed and more dynamic (better crescendos). The 105 was more... in your face.

With both players, I only used the analog Left and Right output: movies and music in stereo only.
galonzo likes this.
Kewler is offline  
post #15003 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
shawnd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Had the oppo 203 for just under a month and I have to say it has more bugs than windows 95. These are just some of the problems I’ve had so far:
-A lot of times while watching a movie off a usb drive or wifi the unit will just freeze up. Not just the movie, the whole system…. Have to shut it down and start over.
-It won’t play most .avi files I have had for years. My ps3, micca spec g2, and roku 3 play them just fine.
-had the roku connected into the oppo’s hdmi input and it worked for a while. Then, when trying to fast forward through shows on Netflix the roku would freeze up. Thinking it was a problem with the roku or Netflix I got online and started trouble shooting the problem. To make a long story short the oppo was the problem. Connected the roku back into the receiver and had no more issues.
-Bought the 4k version of The revenant. Opened it, put it in the player and it wouldn’t play. Ejected it a couple times and tried again, nothing. Looked at the disk and saw a single finger print on it, wiped it off, and then it played….one small thumb print.
So I’m wondering if anyone else is having the same issues or is it just my player. I have it connected directly to the tv with the supplied hdmi cable and have the latest firmware update.
auronihilist likes this.
shawnd1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15004 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 12:57 PM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
Hello all.



I just found out that it's possible to play a UHD disc on a UHD player and have it send 1080p resolution to 1080p displays. Certainly there's no visual benefit for doing so, however there is an audible benefit as a lot of the newer movies are including Atmos only on the UHD disk.



My AVR is Atmos/UHD/HDMI 2.0 compatible, TV and Projector aren't, but I'm thinking about buying a UDP-203 and want to make sure there won't be any compatibility issues.



Are there others here who use a UDP-203 with an AVR that is Atmos/UHD/HDMI 2.0 compatible, hooked up to a 1080p display with HDMI 1.4? Any compatibility issues with the display, or the HDMI cord itself, since they're HDMI 1.4?



Thanks.

I have found issues with the conversion from HDR to SDR, and also from BT2020 to 709. Oppo have improved this, along with a Slider setting. There are infrequent banding issues with this, varies by disc.

I am undecided if the poorer picture is worth the improved audio immersion. It is a compromise.

But all UHD discs come with BR, so you can buy discs for future proofing, even if you watch UHD, try the Slider, or revert to BR.

I think it will depend if you are fussy. If you don't have a calibrated display, you are likely to find a Slider setup which will work for you.

Oppo have committed to continue working on further improvements.

Search my posts for pics/examples if you want more info.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #15005 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Any idea if these 3D Audio headphones would give Dolby Atmos decoding from the OPPO 203
OSSIC X: The World's First 3D Audio Headphone with Onboard HRTF Calibration

Looks like a great idea, but I am not sure how they get the Dolby Atmos or Auro stream to the headphones.
Stevez176 is offline  
post #15006 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
richmond5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ That is correct.
--Bob
What the about the audio quality from HDM of 205 compare with 203? Thanks!
richmond5 is offline  
post #15007 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevez176 View Post
Any idea if these 3D Audio headphones would give Dolby Atmos decoding from the OPPO 203
OSSIC X: The World's First 3D Audio Headphone with Onboard HRTF Calibration

Looks like a great idea, but I am not sure how they get the Dolby Atmos or Auro stream to the headphones.
Do you know how OSSIC works? Oppo 203, like any other BD player out there, would only send DTS HD / Dolby True HD metadata. It doesn't have the inbuilt capability to decode Atmos or DTS:X. Usually it is the job of the external AVR or pre-pro to decode the objective audio bits from the stream.
richlife and Stevez176 like this.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #15008 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Wolfy701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Can the 203 play ISO files? I have DVD and Blu-ray ISO's.
ahduck likes this.

Source: Thinkpad running iTunes/JRMC upsampling to 24/192
DAC/SACD: Oppo 105D
Amps: Pathos Aurium, Chord Mojo, LG V20 (quad-dac)
AVR: Yamaha Aventage RX-A3010
Headphones: AKG K812, AKG K3003
Wolfy701 is offline  
post #15009 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfy701 View Post
Can the 203 play ISO files? I have DVD and Blu-ray ISO's.
Nope.

______________
LG OLED65E6P | Yamaha RX-A2080 | Oppo UDP-203 | Panasonic DP-UB820
My Media Collection
dpippel is offline  
post #15010 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
Hello all.

I just found out that it's possible to play a UHD disc on a UHD player and have it send 1080p resolution to 1080p displays. Certainly there's no visual benefit for doing so, however there is an audible benefit as a lot of the newer movies are including Atmos only on the UHD disk.

My AVR is Atmos/UHD/HDMI 2.0 compatible, TV and Projector aren't, but I'm thinking about buying a UDP-203 and want to make sure there won't be any compatibility issues.

Are there others here who use a UDP-203 with an AVR that is Atmos/UHD/HDMI 2.0 compatible, hooked up to a 1080p display with HDMI 1.4? Any compatibility issues with the display, or the HDMI cord itself, since they're HDMI 1.4?

Thanks.
I have a Denon AVR-X4300H and OPPO UDP-203. My new A1E 4K OLED arrives on Thursday, but in the meantime, my AVR is still successfully driving my 10 YO 1080p Plasma via the old HDMI 1.3 cable strung through the wall and ceiling. I have a few new UHD disks sitting here to try with my new OLED next week after it and the newer high-speed HDMI is pulled...

Earlier this week I tried a couple of the UHD discs just to see what happens, and in my case, work as you expect... I get the sound benefits from the UHD discs, while the image is "down scaled" back to 1080p. The only issue I find is sometimes after inserting the disc, I see video but no sound -- likely due a handshake issue along the line with that old HDMI and/or my ancient plasma. I power off the OPPO and back on and all is solved to watch several minutes of the disc (I have purposely not watched the whole thing as I'm waiting to see it in full 4K glory, but I did skip chapters, pause, back, forward, with no further issues after sort of forcing that handshake to be re-established with the power-off/on sequence.)

Good luck with your decision. While I've not yet made full use of my OPPO, I'm extremely pleased with its flexibility thus far and am happy I made the purchase anticipating the arrival of my new 4K TV.
galonzo and Sweetmeat like this.
BertL is offline  
post #15011 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertL View Post
I have a Denon AVR-X4300H and OPPO UDP-203. My new A1E 4K OLED arrives on Thursday, but in the meantime, my AVR is still successfully driving my 10 YO 1080p Plasma via the old HDMI 1.3 cable strung through the wall and ceiling. I have a few new UHD disks sitting here to try with my new OLED next week after it and the newer high-speed HDMI is pulled...



Earlier this week I tried a couple of the UHD discs just to see what happens, and in my case, work as you expect... I get the sound benefits from the UHD discs, while the image is "down scaled" back to 1080p. The only issue I find is sometimes after inserting the disc, I see video but no sound -- likely due a handshake issue along the line with that old HDMI and/or my ancient plasma. I power off the OPPO and back on and all is solved to watch several minutes of the disc (I have purposely not watched the whole thing as I'm waiting to see it in full 4K glory, but I did skip chapters, pause, back, forward, with no further issues after sort of forcing that handshake to be re-established with the power-off/on sequence.)



Good luck with your decision. While I've not yet made full use of my OPPO, I'm extremely pleased with its flexibility thus far and am happy I made the purchase anticipating the arrival of my new 4K TV.


Thank you. That completely answers my question.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BertL likes this.

xbr75x900E and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060/RX-A3000, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
L/C/R - B&W CM9/CMC2, Side - DS3, Rear - CM5, F/R Atmos - CCM663
Subs - SVS PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Harmony Elite, ATV 4K, Nvidia Shield Pro, HDHomeRun Extend

Last edited by Sweetmeat; 04-21-2017 at 03:42 PM.
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #15012 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
EricE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Bad enough to be hard to ignore, but the problem doesn't affect everyone. It depends on the source and the content you are playing.

I fully expect OPPO to fix this in future firmware, but right now it makes it a gamble to use the HDMI Input for video. No problem with music of course.
--Bob
Thanks Bob!

The whole reason for needing to use the HDMI input is I do not want to replace my Anthem D2V as I love the way my system sounds currently. If Anthem were to release a D3 with 4K HDMI that would solve the problem but more $$$$.

Another option is to go with the Anthem AVM60 and the OPPO but I'm not sure if that is an audio downgrade...?
greyflag likes this.
EricE is offline  
post #15013 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 03:39 PM
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,503
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2207 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricE View Post
Thanks Bob!

The whole reason for needing to use the HDMI input is I do not want to replace my Anthem D2V as I love the way my system sounds currently. If Anthem were to release a D3 with 4K HDMI that would solve the problem but more $$$$.

Another option is to go with the Anthem AVM60 and the OPPO but I'm not sure if that is an audio downgrade...?
The Anthem AVM60 has no analog input for multi channel so you would be using the DACS in the ANTHEM according to BOB
wse is offline  
post #15014 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,632
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4627 Post(s)
Liked: 5618
I may have missed it but has Oppo committed to getting HDR to pass through the USB port on the front of the unit and also are they going to resolve the issues on the 2nd HDMI input on the back of the unit?

Sorry if this was all discussed.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #15015 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 03:52 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,638
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4690 Post(s)
Liked: 4563
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I may have missed it but has Oppo committed to getting HDR to pass through the USB port on the front of the unit and also are they going to resolve the issues on the 2nd HDMI input on the back of the unit?

Sorry if this was all discussed.
There is no issue with HDR and the USB ports. What's the problem?

There is only one HDMI input; what specific problem are you having?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #15016 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,632
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4627 Post(s)
Liked: 5618
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
There is no issue with HDR and the USB ports. What's the problem?

There is only one HDMI input; what specific problem are you having?

-Bill
I guess they fixed the usb issue from way back but last I heard that the HDMI input in the rear that you could use to connect a streaming device or your STB had a problem where the audio was out of sync with the picture and that it wouldn't pass an HDR signal. This might have all been fixed but when the unit first came out and I was following this thread, this input was broken.

I want to get a 203 but these were the 2 things holding me back.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #15017 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 04:01 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,354
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1981 Post(s)
Liked: 2389
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I guess they fixed the usb issue from way back but last I heard that the HDMI input in the rear that you could use to connect a streaming device or your STB had a problem where the audio was out of sync with the picture and that it wouldn't pass an HDR signal. This might have all been fixed but when the unit first came out and I was following this thread, this input was broken.

I want to get a 203 but these were the 2 things holding me back.
Read the last few pages to get your answer regarding the HDMI input. The short answer is that there are still some lip sync issues with some device / audio format combinations that Oppo is still working on.

Regarding the USB "issue", you're going to need to be more specific if you want a clear answer, but I'm not aware of any problems at the moment.
gsr is online now  
post #15018 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,632
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4627 Post(s)
Liked: 5618
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Read the last few pages to get your answer regarding the HDMI input. The short answer is that there are still some lip sync issues with some device / audio format combinations that Oppo is still working on.

Regarding the USB "issue", you're going to need to be more specific if you want a clear answer, but I'm not aware of any problems at the moment.
Thanks for the info.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #15019 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
Do you know how OSSIC works? Oppo 203, like any other BD player out there, would only send DTS HD / Dolby True HD metadata. It doesn't have the inbuilt capability to decode Atmos or DTS:X. Usually it is the job of the external AVR or pre-pro to decode the objective audio bits from the stream.
Thanks, do you know of anything out there that can take the 3D metadata and stream to a similar Headphone, maybe something coming in the near future. Would be nice to have 3D audio as loud as I want without Wife issues
Stevez176 is offline  
post #15020 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Operon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
The Anthem AVM60 has no analog input for multi channel so you would be using the DACS in the ANTHEM according to BOB
The Word according to Bob.

Don't you just wish HDMI would crawl off to some darkened corner and die a sad, lonely death?
Operon is offline  
post #15021 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 07:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 159 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1406 Post(s)
Liked: 1853
Exclamation Better make sure those HDMI cables are Premium Certified!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BertL View Post
...I have a few new UHD disks sitting here to try with my new OLED next week after it and the newer high-speed HDMI is pulled...
Save yourself some potential headaches, and make sure to get Premium Certified HDMI cables (again, not just any "certified" cables, but Premium certified; they'll have the orange hologram sticker on the package, like the HDMI cable that came with the 203--also in @wmcclain 's FAQ).

In anticipation of getting the Sammy player back in Feb. of last year, I ordered some Amazon Basic High-speed HDMI cables, and they were fine for most viewing, until I started noticing rare, random blackouts while sending 8bit 4k/60 @ 4:4:4 (i.e., maxing the cables around 18Gbps). I ended up with these, and haven't had any issues since; whether using them with the Sammy player or this one.
SamuraiXSendai likes this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | Shield | PS4 Pro
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Hustlers and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #15022 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 07:09 PM
Member
 
airbag41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm having an issue with the hdmi in and my cable box. I get no picture passed through. And oddly when I reconnect my cable box directly to my display, the output is not in HD. So it seems like something is causing the output of the box when connected to oppo not to pass the signal. Is anyone having this issue with cable sources?
airbag41 is offline  
post #15023 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 07:20 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
Quote:
Originally Posted by airbag41 View Post
I'm having an issue with the hdmi in and my cable box. I get no picture passed through. And oddly when I reconnect my cable box directly to my display, the output is not in HD. So it seems like something is causing the output of the box when connected to oppo not to pass the signal. Is anyone having this issue with cable sources?
Just to eliminate the obvious, did you tell the OPPO you wanted to view the cable TV stuff coming in on the HDMI Input?

Press Input button, upper right on the OPPO Remote, and select HDMI Input from the pop-up list that appears on screen.

If that's not it, double check that you have plugged HDMI from the cable box into the correct socket on the back of the OPPO.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15024 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 07:29 PM
Member
 
airbag41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Just to eliminate the obvious, did you tell the OPPO you wanted to view the cable TV stuff coming in on the HDMI Input?

Press Input button, upper right on the OPPO Remote, and select HDMI Input from the pop-up list that appears on screen.

If that's not it, double check that you have plugged HDMI from the cable box into the correct socket on the back of the OPPO.
--Bob
Thanks. Yes I checked everything and have it on hdmi in but no luck. It works fine with an Apple TV (besides the audio delay) but the cable box just won't pass a signal through
john fusco likes this.
airbag41 is offline  
post #15025 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 07:50 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
Quote:
Originally Posted by airbag41 View Post
Thanks. Yes I checked everything and have it on hdmi in but no luck. It works fine with an Apple TV (besides the audio delay) but the cable box just won't pass a signal through
So I presume that means you are getting a black screen? Press Info button on the OPPO Remote (upper right of the 4 Arrow buttons) and see if the on-screen Info display becomes visible. If so, the top line will tell you what is coming in on the HDMI Input for video and audio. If that's not what you expected, then there's a settings problem in your cable box. Which may also explain why you are only getting SD Resolution when you connect it direct to your TV.

It would also be wise to try a new HDMI cable. Most HDMI connectivity problems are due to marginal cables. Get a cable that's labeled as HDMI Ultra HD Premium Certified -- which is the latest testing standard. Such cables do not have to be expensive.

It's also possible that the HDMI implementation in your cable box is just not very good. Cable and satellite TV boxes are infamous for this problem. There was a point not so long ago where cable boxes simply would not work at all unless connected DIRECTLY to a TV. I.e., they could not handle the HDMI handshake to arrange for video going through anything else, such as an AV Receiver.

You haven't mentioned which model cable box you have, but if it is an old one, you might want to see if you can get your cable service provider to swap it out for a newer model.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15026 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Does oppo play 4k/1080 files with atoms or 4k, via DLNA or USB direct
Ziba Ji is offline  
post #15027 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 07:54 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziba Ji View Post
Does oppo play 4k/1080 files with atoms or 4k, via DLNA or USB direct
I presume you meant to say Dolby ATMOS, and if so the answer is yes -- both from discs and from media files. You will need to use HDMI Bitstream audio output to get the ATMOS Bitstream to your ATMOS-capable AVR.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15028 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 3,248
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 1154
It has been while when I read Oppo is not sure if on 203 HDMI In support HDR. Any news on that?

Denon X6200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RB-81II's, RS-62II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses, Emotiva XPA-200
Sony XBR65X930E , Oppo 203
Apple 4K TV, Mac mini, Sony UBP-X800, PS3
retro124 is offline  
post #15029 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 08:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro124 View Post
It has been while when I read Oppo is not sure if on 203 HDMI In support HDR. Any news on that?


It does not


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #15030 of 37627 Old 04-21-2017, 08:38 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro124 View Post
It has been while when I read Oppo is not sure if on 203 HDMI In support HDR. Any news on that?
No news yet. OPPO still says they are looking into it for a possible future firmware update.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off