Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 505 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279158Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15121 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 04:52 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1936 Post(s)
Liked: 2323
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGA View Post
I did some research and found this link. It shows how to connect an iPad to an Oppo 103 via USB or HDMI. There is a response at the very bottom that states it did not work on the 203 but with no details. Do you think it would be worth a try? I would lean toward the USB connection as I would think it should be more stable than HDMI.

https://medium.com/@rezakabir/how-to...c-5a5b98d4f516

I did some more research on connecting a computer to the Oppo and saw that there exist USB to HDMI adapters. Could I possibly use one of these from my laptop to the HDMI IN of the Oppo? Searches seem to indicate that Spotify can be connected to a TV via HDMI and the adapter does transmit audio.

https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-...ct_top?ie=UTF8

There are also USB to RJ45 adapters, but I am guessing the Oppo is not designed to receive audio over the network?
That article doesn't specify which model Oppo model was used, but it would have had to be the 105 as the 103 and 203 do NOT have USB DAC inputs. The same method should work with the 205.

For HDMI, it really doesn't matter if it comes from your iPhone, iPad, or your PC as long as you're sending a standard HDTV resolution (i.e.: 1080P).
GGA likes this.
gsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15122 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The Big Tomato
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGA View Post
I did some research and found this link. It shows how to connect an iPad to an Oppo 103 via USB or HDMI. There is a response at the very bottom that states it did not work on the 203 but with no details. Do you think it would be worth a try? I would lean toward the USB connection as I would think it should be more stable than HDMI.

https://medium.com/@rezakabir/how-to...c-5a5b98d4f516
As noted in the link, going through an Apple TV via AirPlay is a much simpler method (if you already have an Apple TV ), and would bypass any potential problems with a 203. Or get a video card for your computer that does HDMI out.
GGA likes this.

LG OLED 65C7P <- Oppo UDP-203 -> Denon AVR-X4300H; Dish Hopper; Apple TV 4K; Paradigm speakers
GordonBlu is offline  
post #15123 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 06:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,411
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
There is no way to change the background.

However you can use Pure button (upper left on Remote) to blank the screen entirely and also turn off the Front Panel display. Press Pure button again to get those back. I use Pure Mode this way all the time when playing music.

The Front Panel will also light up again, for a few seconds, each time you do an operation with the Remote (while the video remains blanked).
--Bob
Thanks for the suggestion Bob. I'll give Pure Mode a try. I'll still not see the info about what's playing but it's no doubt better than having the bright blue background on the TV lighting up the entire room (I often listen to music with the room lights down). That really spoils the mood for me.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15124 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 07:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
EllisGJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Has anyone experienced the following issue? This happened to me so far with Inferno and Deepwater Horizon UHD Blu-rays. I am running the current public firmware (UDP20X-42-0329).

I power up my 203 (and the menu screen displays normally), open the tray, insert the disc and close the tray. After a few seconds, I hear introductory audio, but no image is displayed (a black screen, not an HDMI sync problem screen). The player then apparently locks - the counter stops incrementing and there is no response to commands other than Power. I press the Power button and wait for the player to reboot. After it reboots, it loads and plays the disc (which is still in the tray) flawlessly.

I am in touch with Oppo, but appreciate any thoughts from fellow users. Thanks!
EllisGJ is offline  
post #15125 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Creature Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnd1 View Post
Had the oppo 203 for just under a month and I have to say it has more bugs than windows 95....
Ouch!
Creature Boy is offline  
post #15126 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 09:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by EllisGJ View Post
Has anyone experienced the following issue? This happened to me so far with Inferno and Deepwater Horizon UHD Blu-rays. I am running the current public firmware (UDP20X-42-0329).

I power up my 203 (and the menu screen displays normally), open the tray, insert the disc and close the tray. After a few seconds, I hear introductory audio, but no image is displayed (a black screen, not an HDMI sync problem screen). The player then apparently locks - the counter stops incrementing and there is no response to commands other than Power. I press the Power button and wait for the player to reboot. After it reboots, it loads and plays the disc (which is still in the tray) flawlessly.

I am in touch with Oppo, but appreciate any thoughts from fellow users. Thanks!
I can only say that I have Inferno and it played through with no issues at all. Including pausing for breaks.
galonzo likes this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #15127 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
dari73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
are there news from Oppo about fixing the HDMI Audio Out Synch issue? dont want to replace my AV Receiver yet and want to use Oppo 203 to bypass the 4K signal. can't watch any UHDs as Audio is out of synch nor NETFLIX / Amazon 4k content via Nvidia Shield. Also onboard synch-tools are not helpful. TIA
dari73 is offline  
post #15128 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 10:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If I hook up a streaming device to the oppo players hdmi input, does the OPPO improve the quality since it has to process the image to the tv?
Based_legend24 is offline  
post #15129 of 37235 Old 04-23-2017, 10:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Also I was considering getting an amplifier and use the oppo at a pre amp but would it be better to just get a marantz 1607 for the processing? I'm just going to be running a steep setup. sorry if the question is worded incorrectly. I am not very knowledgeable of audio components, but I'm trying (:
Based_legend24 is offline  
post #15130 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 12:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by dari73 View Post
are there news from Oppo about fixing the HDMI Audio Out Synch issue? dont want to replace my AV Receiver yet and want to use Oppo 203 to bypass the 4K signal. can't watch any UHDs as Audio is out of synch nor NETFLIX / Amazon 4k content via Nvidia Shield. Also onboard synch-tools are not helpful. TIA
Doesn't your AVR have a lipsync adjustment? Have you tried setting the Oppo output to LPCM instead of Bitstream?
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #15131 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 02:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Sebring5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Based_legend24 View Post
If I hook up a streaming device to the oppo players hdmi input, does the OPPO improve the quality since it has to process the image to the tv?
Yes, it improves the image.

Meridian Audio G65 Sound Processor/UHD 722 HDMI Audio Processor/M6 Active Speakers, Sony A1E 65" OLED 4k UHD, Apple TV, Sony UBP-X1100ES
Sebring5 is offline  
post #15132 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 03:54 AM
Newbie
 
dari73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[QUOTE=steverobertsbbc;52467633]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dari73 View Post
Doesn't your AVR have a lipsync adjustment? Have you tried setting the Oppo output to LPCM instead of Bitstream?
Yes, but unfortunately only into one direction to make it worse. I deactivated displays picture processing feature and I am close to sync. Maybe just one or two frames off.
dari73 is offline  
post #15133 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 04:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 294
[quote=dari73;52468441]
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverobertsbbc View Post

Yes, but unfortunately only into one direction to make it worse. I deactivated displays picture processing feature and I am close to sync. Maybe just one or two frames off.
Hmmm, I don't understand that. Generally you need to delay the audio to account for processing in the display, which is what you do by adding delay in either the AVR or the Oppo menu. The fact that you've reduced the vision processing delay and made the sync better supports this. So I don't understand why adding more delay in the AVR isn't improving things.
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #15134 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 04:57 AM
Member
 
AlexH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greenville, MI
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 39
are there news from Oppo about fixing the HDMI Audio Out Synch issue? dont want to replace my AV Receiver yet and want to use Oppo 203 to bypass the 4K signal. can't watch any UHDs as Audio is out of synch nor NETFLIX / Amazon 4k content via Nvidia Shield. Also onboard synch-tools are not helpful. TIA


[quote=steverobertsbbc;52468505]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dari73 View Post
Hmmm, I don't understand that. Generally you need to delay the audio to account for processing in the display, which is what you do by adding delay in either the AVR or the Oppo menu. The fact that you've reduced the vision processing delay and made the sync better supports this. So I don't understand why adding more delay in the AVR isn't improving things.
I have been keeping up with this thread since day one. I don't recall this being a problem for most and to my knowledge it is not a bug with the 203 . I think steve is right it is in your AVR or display settings.
galonzo likes this.
AlexH is offline  
post #15135 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
jeff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 870
How does the analog audio output of the 203 compare to that of the 83? Has anyone here owned both of these units?
I am curious about the stereo output in particular, which I use for regular CD listening.

I am considering upgrading to the 203, but would love to hear from anyone who has had both models and used the analog outs. Would I be taking a step backwards in quality?

Panasonic TC-P55ST50 Plasma 55"
Oppo BDP-203 Blu Ray, Toshiba A30 HD DVD
Onkyo RZ-900 Receiver (7.1 Config)
Klipsch R28F, RC64ii, RS400, RB600, R-12SW Sub
Mac Mini/PS3/Wii, Harmony Smart Control
jeff1967 is offline  
post #15136 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 05:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,649
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1713 Post(s)
Liked: 896
@thr61
I use a Roku too, and I stick it into my TV - I found no difference in sticking it into my Oppo, and I had no issues then.
By going direct to the TV, I can save a bit of electricity and switch on less devices. Cheers
petetherock is offline  
post #15137 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 05:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Well time out . 205 arrived at 1780 euros here
As it shares same Fw i will wait for next Fw to see these resolved:
concerning the issues that remain in 203
a) hdmi lip sinc
b) hdmi in performance with lossles audio (Dts MA & Dolby tru hd)
c) lip sinc slider working for hdmi out2 with bitstream

All the best for you all
Nando64 is offline  
post #15138 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 05:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,649
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1713 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1967 View Post
How does the analog audio output of the 203 compare to that of the 83? Has anyone here owned both of these units?
I am curious about the stereo output in particular, which I use for regular CD listening.

I am considering upgrading to the 203, but would love to hear from anyone who has had both models and used the analog outs. Would I be taking a step backwards in quality?
I have the 83 Nuforce, so it's probably not a fair comparison.
The 83 has a decent output, so it will outshine in stereo.
But as a transport, the 203 does a good job outputting to my Marantz DAC, and it's bang up to date, so it is my choice for a good audio and video transport.
However if your 83 is still working fine, then there's no real need to change it for now.
When it breaks down, you can still get the latest Oppo then. Cheers
petetherock is offline  
post #15139 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 3165
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1967 View Post
How does the analog audio output of the 203 compare to that of the 83? Has anyone here owned both of these units?
I am curious about the stereo output in particular, which I use for regular CD listening.

I am considering upgrading to the 203, but would love to hear from anyone who has had both models and used the analog outs. Would I be taking a step backwards in quality?
Not at all, possibly better. I say possibly better because a number of other factors come into play in the world of analog. The only reason I would upgrade is if you are interested in 4k Ultra disks, faster load times and firmware support. If I remember correctly its been a few years since the 83 got an update, which surprised me at the time given its age.
chili555 likes this.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #15140 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,649
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1713 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Just as an add on:
I have also used the Japanese Limited Edition 105D, and whilst it sounded nice, for the three grand, I would invest it instead in a nice DAC and feed it with a cheaper Oppo, like the 101CI, which has a very solid transport.
petetherock is offline  
post #15141 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 05:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverobertsbbc View Post

I have been keeping up with this thread since day one. I don't recall this being a problem for most and to my knowledge it is not a bug with the 203 . I think steve is right it is in your AVR or display settings.
Don't agree -The pcm workaoround is a workaround. Fact the slider with bitstream dosen't work and that's a fact

Last edited by Nando64; 04-25-2017 at 07:23 PM.
Nando64 is offline  
post #15142 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Thanks for the suggestion Bob. I'll give Pure Mode a try. I'll still not see the info about what's playing but it's no doubt better than having the bright blue background on the TV lighting up the entire room (I often listen to music with the room lights down). That really spoils the mood for me.
Hit the info button and it'll display the disc info for a few seconds and then the screen will black again. Handy feature for music.
Bob Pariseau likes this.

LG OLED55B6P (Calibrated by AVICAL)
Denon AVR-X4200W ** oppo UDP-203 **oppo BDP-103D
HR44 DirecTV ** Panamax 5300 ** Harmony One Universal Remote
Hsu HB-1 MK2 (L, R & S) ** Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) ** Hsu VTF-15H (sub)
Crowson Technology Level 2 Motion System
MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System ** AIRCOM T8 Receiver Cooling Blower
Tom C is offline  
post #15143 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 06:09 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,276
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5833 Post(s)
Liked: 8309
Quote:
Originally Posted by dari73 View Post
Yes, but unfortunately only into one direction to make it worse. I deactivated displays picture processing feature and I am close to sync. Maybe just one or two frames off.
If you are using dual HDMI cabling and find that audio is behind video -- too MUCH audio delay -- even when playing shiny discs, then you have likely encountered the "helpful AVR" problem. Your AVR does not realize it has been bypassed for video and is adding a chunk of audio delay to compensate for its own, internal, video processing time. Just to "be helpful". Thus producing unneeded and unwanted audio delay.

The workaround for this is usually to find a way to convince your AVR not to do that. Typically this would involve setting the AVR to HDMI Video "pass through" for the input being fed from Audio HDMI out of the OPPO. With some AVRs you can turn their video output Off altogether to achieve this.
--Bob
AlexH, galonzo, TomcatTLC and 1 others like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 04-24-2017 at 06:14 AM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15144 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nando64 View Post
Don't agree -The pcm workaoround is a workaround. Fact the slider with bitstream dosen't work and that's a fact
Oh, I totally agree - but it's a workaround that's generally fine as long as you don't need to use Dolby Atmos or DTS:X, which the original poster probably isn't worried about as he said he didn't want to have to change his amp just yet, implying it was an older one in any case. Personally, I'm using a single-cable 5.1 setup and I've used the LPCM workaround so that I get a stable delay. Using bitstream, the delay was all over the place, depending on source and couldn't be alterered with the slider.

Also, Nando64 - please could you edit your post, as you're attributing a quote to me which isn't actually from me!
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #15145 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 07:01 AM
Newbie
 
dari73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for you various suggestions. Will give it another try with the AVR / Nvidia. AVR is Onkyo TX-NR905.
dari73 is offline  
post #15146 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 07:10 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,276
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5833 Post(s)
Liked: 8309
Quote:
Originally Posted by dari73 View Post
Thanks for you various suggestions. Will give it another try with the AVR / Nvidia. AVR is Onkyo TX-NR905.
I suggest you focus on getting A/V Sync correct for shiny disc playback first. That will give you a baseline adjustment. Keep in mind that many displays will have different video processing time when fed /24 and /60 video -- with /24 usually taking them longer.

This is true, for example, for my LG E6 when all video processing in the E6 is turned off.

So to simplify things, I have the "TruMotion" processing in my E6 set to "User" with de-Judder and de-Blur both at 0. If you are not an LG owner, that won't mean much to you, but suffice it to say it has the same visual effect as TruMotion OFF -- i.e., no video processing. But it causes the E6 to use the SAME amount of video processing time for both /24 and /60 input so I can use the same A/V Sync setting in the OPPO regardless.

AFTER you've figured out how to get things to work as you like for shiny disc playback, THEN check what's going on with HDMI Input on the OPPO. Due to the known bug there, you may not have success with getting satisfactory A/V Sync for HDMI Input yet. The problem isn't affecting everyone, but for those who have it, it's off by too much to ignore. That will have to wait a fix from OPPO.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #15147 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Please continue 205 talk in the 205 thread.
Where do you suggest the questions about the comparison between the 203 and the 205 be directed, because I have seen quite a few of those questions on both threads?

7.4.6 system with Denon 8500, Additional Amps: Emotiva (front and center) and NAD (wide), classic Klipsch speakers.
Alanlee is offline  
post #15148 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
robsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by EllisGJ View Post
Has anyone experienced the following issue? This happened to me so far with Inferno and Deepwater Horizon UHD Blu-rays. I am running the current public firmware (UDP20X-42-0329).

I power up my 203 (and the menu screen displays normally), open the tray, insert the disc and close the tray. After a few seconds, I hear introductory audio, but no image is displayed (a black screen, not an HDMI sync problem screen). The player then apparently locks - the counter stops incrementing and there is no response to commands other than Power. I press the Power button and wait for the player to reboot. After it reboots, it loads and plays the disc (which is still in the tray) flawlessly.

I am in touch with Oppo, but appreciate any thoughts from fellow users. Thanks!
I'm going to chime in here with my personal experience. I had a few discs that did something very similar, with the Oppo locking up. It was always fixed by a reboot of the player (with the disc left in the tray). In my case, I found that I changed the boot sequence of the devices, with the Oppo turning on last, then waited an extra minute after my Harmony remote said it had completed the boot sequence, and I haven't had an issue, since. Not an expert at all; however, I think it was all in the HDMI handshake, which seems much more finicky on the 203 than my old 93.
EllisGJ likes this.

Ptree:

Sometimes, it's only afterwards, I find that I'm not there.
robsis is offline  
post #15149 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
There is no way to change the background.

However you can use Pure button (upper left on Remote) to blank the screen entirely and also turn off the Front Panel display. Press Pure button again to get those back. I use Pure Mode this way all the time when playing music.

The Front Panel will also light up again, for a few seconds, each time you do an operation with the Remote (while the video remains blanked).
--Bob
I've had my background change to black on its own. Check HDTV test on YouTube. Near the end of the video review for the oppo Udp-203 his background changes to black also.
Dire_Straits is offline  
post #15150 of 37235 Old 04-24-2017, 08:38 AM
Member
 
ahduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Typically they can complete the repair and send the player back out to you the same day it arrives. So it's the shipping time both ways that is the main factor.
--Bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
My experience with Oppo service.
Appreciate the details.
I send in mine personally, thus shipping isn't a factor.
You guys especially in the states are so fortunate with factory Oppo support. And they allow unit for exchange within 30, 60 and some, even up to 90 days.
Mine has been send in for service since 29 March and the distributor still hasn't figure out how to resolve mine.
Very disappointed. Not Oppo but my country's distributor substandard support.

HT: Sony 55X93D | Denon AVR-X6200W | Anthony Gallo Strada 2 | A'Diva SE | SVS SB-2000 | Oppo UDP-203 |

PC: Teac AI-301DA | Mirage Nano Sat | Ken Kreisel DXD-808 |
ahduck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off