Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 581 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279310Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17401 of 37487 Old 06-17-2017, 08:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,056
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 2134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Lucy HDR-10 has technicolor printed on the disc. Will the OPPO UDP-203 process technicolor? I have read that that the 2017 LG Oleds will or do display technicolor. Has the e6p been updated to display technicolor?
Technicolor is the company that masters Universal's discs. The logo is on almost all Universal discs, including regular BDs. It has nothing to do with their form of HDR, which does not exist on any disc.
puddy77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17402 of 37487 Old 06-17-2017, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Test #1 I changed no settings. I changed the movie from Patriots Day to Lucy because Lucy not HDR-10 seemed very bright. Skin tones look airbrushed.

Now, Lucy HDR-10 standard picture quality appears very realistic showing pores and blemishes. Oak paneling in the conference room looks like oak paneling. Face in shadow looks dark but not unrealistically so.

Preliminary conclusion-The problem is with the picture quality of Patriots Day.

Now, I will look at the recommendations and see if changing settings help.
At this point I agree with connecTEDDD and use HDR Standard color gamut normal. Patriot Day is a good movie. But unfortunately the HDR-10 was mastered too dark and Lionsgate should fix it. I think Lucy is a good demo disc for HDR-10.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #17403 of 37487 Old 06-17-2017, 11:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Jaurhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Orange County
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Check that you are browsing the USB drive using the MUSIC icon on Home menu.

The Music, Photos, and Movies icons filter the files that will be shown.
--Bob
As usual, Bob solves the problem. Thank you so much - I can't believe it was that easy

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Have you tried this on just that one drive? It might be something about the way it is formatted.

As a test, copy one of the mp3 files to one of the other sticks that are known to work. Does the player see it?

-Bill
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebo1ss View Post
I have no problem playing Mp3. However, I am playing from a network drive and not a USB. I cannot imagine why it would make any difference but thought this might help.

Mr. Pibb > Dr. Pepper > Everything Else
7.1.4 - Marantz SR6011 - LG 77" C8 - JBL 530/580/590 - PSA S3000i + S3600i
Oppo 203 - PS4 - Xbox One S - Roku Ultra - Apple TV 4K
335 UHD and counting...
Jaurhead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17404 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,996
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 982 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
That's a TL 100GB disc, the playback issue is likely occurring at a layer break. I wouldn't be surprised to see more reports of issues in other players too. In any case, wiping the disc off seems to fix it.
I got this from 3D BR and, as a matter of course, wiped the disc. No playback problems

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC CH, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #17405 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Missouri Bootheel
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post
Constant drop outs and lockups with Lego Batman UHD. Have a theater room full of people, pretty embarrassing, Le sigh. Just gave up and put bluray in.
I have watched Lego Batman UHD several times this past week with no problems. I use the dual HDMI to my LG B6 and Marantz 6010.
smadwookiee is offline  
post #17406 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dildatonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ulster County NY
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Weird, it's the only disc I've had these kinds of problems with on the oppo. It seemed about every 10minutes there was some major hiccup. Bluray played fine. Played Logan UHD immediately after and it played flawlessly (although the HDR grading is very inconsistent, but that's not oppos fault). Going through a denon 6300H to a Jvc rs400. All current firmwared up.
dildatonr is offline  
post #17407 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 439
The 'every ten minutes' sounds very much like an HDMI issue since there is typically a handshake check initiated with about that frequency. First thing to be sure of is that your HDMI cables are true certified cables. Next make sure your cables are well seated. HDMI cables are notorious for becoming slightly loose quite easily. You might also give the disk a cleaning. Many disks these days have things like invisible mold release and other substances that .can cause disk-read errors. If none of these are a culprit, I would contact Oppo by phone or email for assistance.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #17408 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,012
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
I watched John wick 2 on my 203 on my lg e6 last night. It's was awesome. Was a shame though that my 203 locked up around a hour and a half in. I hadn't to turn off and turn on then it was fine.
Watched John Wick UHD 2 too last night, did not experience any playback issues.
richlife likes this.
kinglm is online now  
post #17409 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dildatonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ulster County NY
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 22
yes the cables are fine, yes the disc is clean, yes I power cycled, yes the firmware is up to date, no this hasn't happened on any other UHD disc and I have many, and again it played another UHD disc right after with zero issues. It's certainly possible it's still a disc issue of some sort, but besides the disc and the oppo, all other variables have been accounted for.
dildatonr is offline  
post #17410 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
That's a TL 100GB disc, the playback issue is likely occurring at a layer break. I wouldn't be surprised to see more reports of issues in other players too. In any case, wiping the disc off seems to fix it.
I watched John Wick 2 in 4K last night. It played perfectly and without issue.

______________
LG OLED65E6P | Yamaha RX-A2080 | Oppo UDP-203 | Panasonic DP-UB820
My Media Collection
dpippel is online now  
post #17411 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpippel View Post
I watched John Wick 2 in 4K last night. It played perfectly and without issue.
#1 or #2?
Adamd is offline  
post #17412 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpippel View Post
I watched John Wick 2 in 4K last night. It played perfectly and without issue.
#1 or #2?
Adamd is offline  
post #17413 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:10 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,282
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5836 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icerider62 View Post
Bob, I stated that my 103 would play the sacd stereo track over spdif when converted to pcm. This does not work when playing the disc, however it does work when playing a dsf file and it comes up 88.2 on the receiver. Sorry for any confusion.
Yes, the restriction is specifically during playback of SACD discs. There is no licensing restriction for DSD digital audio format playback from other than SACD discs -- e.g., from media files. As you can imagine, the people who make SACD discs rely on the fact that it's not supposed to be possible to rip the DSD content from those discs.

For many years, that was even true.

Of course there are also, other sources of DSD audio files than ripped SACD discs.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17414 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:12 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,282
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5836 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
I watched John wick 2 on my 203 on my lg e6 last night. It's was awesome. Was a shame though that my 203 locked up around a hour and a half in. I hadn't to turn off and turn on then it was fine.
Clean The Disc. Even if it already LOOKS clean.
--Bob
richlife likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17415 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,282
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5836 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Lucy HDR-10 has technicolor printed on the disc. Will the OPPO UDP-203 process technicolor? I have read that that the 2017 LG Oleds will or do display technicolor. Has the e6p been updated to display technicolor?
The 203 plays "Lucy", UHD, just fine. That Technicolor logo has nothing to do with how the transfer to disc is formatted.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17416 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:15 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,282
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5836 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom C View Post
Something similar to me, but the video started back slowly after a few seconds and the audio returned. We were so wrapped up in the movie that I didn't try to recreate it. It was at 1:30 and a few seconds.
Clean The Disc.

This appears to be another example of discs being released with a film on the playing surface.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17417 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:18 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,282
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5836 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
Bill, is it getting that bad where OPPO has to be informed when read errors occur on particular discs? I know it's not always OPPO's fault but they usually get a big lead time from the studios on future releases. I would think there'd be a firmware to cover the problem discs before it was a issue.
Maybe things have changed...
No early testing can eliminate the possibility that discs will be packaged for retail without having been properly cleaned after manufacture.

By the way, neither OPPO nor any other player maker gets early samples of every disc release. And when they do, there are known instances where the retail release is DIFFERENT from what was provided as an early sample.

In addition, studios frequently release titles in multiple disc versions -- i.e., with variations. This is why it is useful when submitting disc problem reports to include the bar code number from the packaging (the complete set of little numbers printed under the bar code).
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17418 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:23 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,282
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5836 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
Seriously not trying to make waves but have things changed in the way studios make their releases? I know with bluray releases the studios would give the hardware makers advance notice when a new release had a new key that would require a firmware update to navigate the new release.
Maybe it's a different setup now with UHD discs.
New decryption keys are one thing. Stupid Studio Programmer tricks in the BD-Java authoring are something else entirely. Frequently problems arise because the studio is trying to be too clever by half in its programming in a futile effort to make life tougher for disc ripping software.

In the early days of Blu-ray, studios would debug their programming only to the point that the disc played on the PS-3. Then they'd stop, and ship it.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17419 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:27 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,282
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5836 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post
Constant drop outs and lockups with Lego Batman UHD. Have a theater room full of people, pretty embarrassing, Le sigh. Just gave up and put bluray in.
Clean The Disc.

As a matter of course, it is always best to test a new disc, at least briefly, before you play it for a crowd. Sometimes discs have manufacturing flaws -- i.e., there's nothing for it but to exchange the disc.
--Bob
TimWelborn likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17420 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 12:31 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,282
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5836 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post
yes the cables are fine, yes the disc is clean, yes I power cycled, yes the firmware is up to date, no this hasn't happened on any other UHD disc and I have many, and again it played another UHD disc right after with zero issues. It's certainly possible it's still a disc issue of some sort, but besides the disc and the oppo, all other variables have been accounted for.
Clean the disc even if it LOOKS clean. What we are seeing is discs getting shipped with a film on the playing surface -- easy to remove.

If the disc still does not play, you should exchange it for a new one. It likely has a manufacturing flaw that your eye can not spot. This would include things like the center hole being slightly off center or the physical layers of the disc having some separation.
--Bob
TimWelborn likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17421 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The 203 plays "Lucy", UHD, just fine. That Technicolor logo has nothing to do with how the transfer to disc is formatted.
--Bob
Puddy77 posted yesterday that Universal has long printed technicolor on discs: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post53715793

I responded by simply checking "Like" to his post. However, maybe I should have been more emphatic. Now that a new Technicolor HDR format is proposed I imagine a lot of people will read technicolor on their Universal discs and wonder why the movie's colors are not more vivid.

So, in my confusion I created more confusion and it ripples like a cow pie thrown into a tar pit.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #17422 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,056
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 2134
Hey everyone,

I downloaded all these LG DV demos and played them back through my 203 (after I changed the extensions to mkv). But only the 24fps ones triggered DV. The 60fps ones defaulted to HDR10. Can others confirm? Is this a hardware limitation? I know the Vizio P Series has a similar limitation because their chip was designed before 60fps DV existed. So I'm wondering if it's the same here, or if it may change with later firmware updates?
puddy77 is offline  
post #17423 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,688
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2264 Post(s)
Liked: 2325
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
Hey everyone,

I downloaded all these LG DV demos and played them back through my 203 (after I changed the extensions to mkv). But only the 24fps ones triggered DV. The 60fps ones defaulted to HDR10. Can others confirm? Is this a hardware limitation? I know the Vizio P Series has a similar limitation because their chip was designed before 60fps DV existed. So I'm wondering if it's the same here, or if it may change with later firmware updates?
Only the first two clips ("Dolby Comparison" and "Dolby Trailer") are DV demos. The rest are encoded in HDR10.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H (9.1.4/13.1); Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #17424 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,633
Mentioned: 210 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3390 Post(s)
Liked: 4209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Lucy HDR-10 has technicolor printed on the disc. Will the OPPO UDP-203 process technicolor? I have read that that the 2017 LG Oleds will or do display technicolor. Has the e6p been updated to display technicolor?
Technicolor logo you see it's printed only to US release of the UHD disc, not in the UK copy I have here.

Technicolor Advanced HDR is a broadcasting format only (not related with UHD disc mastering) and any info related with LG + Technicolor partnershp has been removed from any LG / Technicolor site; while it was available there before some months...now it has gone.

Technicolor is been involved always to many areas related with a movie release, from scanning the negative, disc replication, distribution, HDR post production workflows etc... this is why you see their logo.
galonzo likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #17425 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
LCSeminole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
I don't know what chapter but it was right around when they go into the room with all the mirrors. How do we get the info to oppo about the problem about this disk I wonder.
I had something similar happen in the mirrors scene as well, twice actually on two different viewings of the movie. Both times I couldn't get it to repeat by replaying the scene. Mine stuttered for a few seconds before moving on and playing properly, so I didn't have to reset or shut off the unit. I also clean all of my UHD blu-rays before playing for the first time, so I don't believe this to be a film on the disc that can't be seen.

Emotiva RMC-1/XPR-2/XPR-5, AppleTV 4K
LG OLED65C8, Oppo UDP-203, Panasonic DP-UB820
Furman PL-PRO DMC 20A, Monster Power HTS-5000
SVS Dual PB12-Plus x 2
Klipsch KLF-20, KLF-C7, RB-5II x 4
LCSeminole is offline  
post #17426 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,056
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 2134
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
Only the first two clips ("Dolby Comparison" and "Dolby Trailer") are DV demos. The rest are encoded in HDR10.
Thanks! Yeah, my mistake. After I posted that and kept thinking about it, I realized I was just assuming they were all DV.
puddy77 is offline  
post #17427 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Reddig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central U.S.
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 1067
Ever since the last update on my 203, about 1 out of 10 times when I go to power it on it will not show an image. The only way to get it to work again is to unplug for a few seconds then plug back in and it turns on and works normally. Should I return my unit or...

JBL Pro/JTR/JVC/Denon/Oppo/Monoprice/Elite Screens/Furman/Seatcraft/Acoustimac/AudioQuest/Roku
Reddig is online now  
post #17428 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reddig View Post
Ever since the last update on my 203, about 1 out of 10 times when I go to power it on it will not show an image. The only way to get it to work again is to unplug for a few seconds then plug back in and it turns on and works normally. Should I return my unit or...
Assuming you've ruled out cables and their connection being a possible issue, why not try reporting your issue to OPPO first? If there is a problem and it came in with the last firmware release as you suspect, a new piece of hardware will more than likely have the same issue.
Reddig likes this.
BertL is offline  
post #17429 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
chrisdack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 81
DSF/DFF in FLAC

Hi

Has anyone had any luck getting DSF/DFF repacked into FLAC working? That is the DoP format as a direct packing of the DSD stream into the FLAC file format and not converted into PCM.

Cheers
Chris
chrisdack is offline  
post #17430 of 37487 Old 06-18-2017, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Reddig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central U.S.
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 1067
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertL View Post
Assuming you've ruled out cables and their connection being a possible issue, why not try reporting your issue to OPPO first? If there is a problem and it came in with the last firmware release as you suspect, a new piece of hardware will more than likely have the same issue.
Thanks. My first step was ruling out cables as the issue. And my second step was emailing Oppo. My thirds step was posting on here. Seeing if anyone else is experiencing this while I wait to hear back.
BertL likes this.

JBL Pro/JTR/JVC/Denon/Oppo/Monoprice/Elite Screens/Furman/Seatcraft/Acoustimac/AudioQuest/Roku
Reddig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off