Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 642 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 278836Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19231 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 01:24 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,359
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4542 Post(s)
Liked: 4376
Quote:
Originally Posted by veger69 View Post
Ok I set the video output settings to match the recommended setting linked above, now when watching 1080p sdr content the info button tells me the output is SDR bt709 ycbcr 4.2.2 12bit color, so am I watching a expanded color palette like DV produces? If not what does the 12bit mean?
It probably means very little. HDMI can carry that and the chips on both ends support that bit width, so it is used by default.

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19232 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
CoffeeHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigapp View Post
Did you get just 18g cables or premium certified 18g cables. The latter is what you want. Scroll back in this thread to see an in depth discussion on Monoprice cables.

Next remember that the AVR is also in the chain and handshaking with both the TV and Oppo, so you have two handshakes that need to be correct and settings in three devices to corrdinate.

Long press the info button on the Oppo remote to get detail display of it thinks is going on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, it was the cables, thank you. Everything plays nicely together now. No handshake issues at all regardless of boot sequence and timing.
bigapp likes this.
CoffeeHawk is offline  
post #19233 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
veger69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
It probably means very little. HDMI can carry that and the chips on both ends support that bit width, so it is used by default.



-Bill


Thanks Bill


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
veger69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19234 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 33
203 and darbee

Is it needed or will the 203 ever have darbee processing?
dan

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #19235 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 03:26 PM
Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_B_0673 View Post
Is it needed or will the 203 ever have darbee processing?
dan
I asked Oppo the same question the other day -- here's the response I got:




here are no such plans at this time because Darbee does not have a solution that will support native UHD media formats and even when one is developed it will likely be too expensive for us to implement in our products.


madrac is offline  
post #19236 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 04:40 PM
Member
 
kalantan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Columbus
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertL View Post
In Plex Settings, under DLNA, Enable the DNLA Server. That's all I needed to do and my OPPO found everything immediately. My Plex Server shows up under the Network selection then on the OPPO Home Menu.
Very odd. I have DLNA enabled in Plex as well, but it does not show up on the Oppo. I guess I'll just have to use Plex on the ATV and see if the new Apple TV is to my liking in the Fall. If not, I'm moving to all Plex / Roku.

Christopher
Home Theatre: Sony XBR-55A1E OLED | OPPO UDP-203 | Apple TV 4th Gen | QNAP TVS-682T | TiVo Bolt
kalantan is offline  
post #19237 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ay221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I bought the UDP-203 for future proof. I'm currently using this on a JVC RS40 projector. If I left the resolution on auto when watching a blu-ray 1080p movie, it sets the resolution to 1080p 24frames and causes a fast rate of flicker that I notice. I set it to custom 1080p 60, and the flicker went away.

Does anyone know a reason for this?
ay221 is offline  
post #19238 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 06:40 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,359
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4542 Post(s)
Liked: 4376
Quote:
Originally Posted by ay221 View Post
I bought the UDP-203 for future proof. I'm currently using this on a JVC RS40 projector. If I left the resolution on auto when watching a blu-ray 1080p movie, it sets the resolution to 1080p 24frames and causes a fast rate of flicker that I notice. I set it to custom 1080p 60, and the flicker went away.

Does anyone know a reason for this?
Do you have another 1080p24 source you test? Do you get the same result if you use Custom 1080p24 as with Auto?

-Bill
ay221 likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #19239 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ay221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Do you have another 1080p24 source you test? Do you get the same result if you use Custom 1080p24 as with Auto?

-Bill
I have used a Panasonic bd500 blu-ray that set the output to 1080p24. I didn't notice any flicker there.
ay221 is offline  
post #19240 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 07:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 934 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Ok I have too many toys and not enough hdmi inputs on my LG B6. I have DirecTV Genie, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch and Sony Sound Bar. Which of these should I plug into the oppo's hdmi in and which should I plug directly into the TV? I was thinking Genie into the oppo since I read it's better for the game consoles to be connected directly into the tv. I've got the sound bar plugged into hdmi 2 ARC so not sure if I can plug that into the oppo hdmi in? Maybe silly questions but just want to make sure I don't have any hand shake issues. Thanks!
Anyone have any recommendations?

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #19241 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 08:52 PM
Member
 
bigapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Ok I have too many toys and not enough hdmi inputs on my LG B6. I have DirecTV Genie, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch and Sony Sound Bar. Which of these should I plug into the oppo's hdmi in and which should I plug directly into the TV? I was thinking Genie into the oppo since I read it's better for the game consoles to be connected directly into the tv. I've got the sound bar plugged into hdmi 2 ARC so not sure if I can plug that into the oppo hdmi in? Maybe silly questions but just want to make sure I don't have any hand shake issues. Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Anyone have any recommendations?
You need to leave the sound bar connected to the TV to get audio from TV to the sound bar via ARC. I would test the Switch and Genie on the Oppo input and the leave the PS 4 direct connected.

LG 65" C7 OLED. Oppo 203. Denon 4300. Klipsch RP280af, 260f, 440c, 140AF. HSU 15-mk2. Layer 3 TV, Shield and a Blue Tick Healer
bigapp is offline  
post #19242 of 36767 Old 08-05-2017, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 934 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigapp View Post
You need to leave the sound bar connected to the TV to get audio from TV to the sound bar via ARC. I would test the Switch and Genie on the Oppo input and the leave the PS 4 direct connected.
Ok thank you!

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #19243 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 05:18 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,210
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5784 Post(s)
Liked: 8258
Quote:
Originally Posted by ay221 View Post
I bought the UDP-203 for future proof. I'm currently using this on a JVC RS40 projector. If I left the resolution on auto when watching a blu-ray 1080p movie, it sets the resolution to 1080p 24frames and causes a fast rate of flicker that I notice. I set it to custom 1080p 60, and the flicker went away.

Does anyone know a reason for this?
/24 content is intended to be displayed at a refresh rate which is a multiple of 24 fps. For example movie theaters use a shutter arrangement which displays each frame twice. This is done specifically to hide flicker for folks who are sensitive to it. Most TVs display /24 content at 48 frames per second or 96 frames per second -- i.e., each frame is displayed twice, or 4 times.

Check if there's a setting in your projector controlling its refresh rate when displaying /24 content.
--Bob
ay221 likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19244 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 05:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ay221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
/24 content is intended to be displayed at a refresh rate which is a multiple of 24 fps. For example movie theaters use a shutter arrangement which displays each frame twice. This is done specifically to hide flicker for folks who are sensitive to it. Most TVs display /24 content at 48 frames per second or 96 frames per second -- i.e., each frame is displayed twice, or 4 times.

Check if there's a setting in your projector controlling its refresh rate when displaying /24 content.
--Bob
Thanks. I went through the settings, and I turned off the smooth motion control and that fixed it while having the player send 24 fps.
ay221 is offline  
post #19245 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Favorites on the Oppo 203

For the life of me I can't figure out the favorites tab. what is it? And how to you add content to it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
kyrunner7 is offline  
post #19246 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Bluecow003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyrunner7 View Post
Favorites on the Oppo 203

For the life of me I can't figure out the favorites tab. what is it? And how to you add content to it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
It's for media connected via USB on the Oppo as far as I understand it. That's what I've used it for anyway. It doesn't work with network attached media.

7.2.4 Setup | Display: LG 77" C8 OLED | Blu-ray: Oppo UDP-203 | Processor: Anthem AVM60 | Amps: Outlaw 7700, Emotiva XPA-5 Gen 2 | Speakers: Paradigm Prestige (2) 95F's, 55C, (4) 15B's, (4) CI-Elite E65-R (Atmos) | Subs: (2) Rythmik F25's
Bluecow003 is offline  
post #19247 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 07:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluecow003 View Post
It's for media connected via USB on the Oppo as far as I understand it. That's what I've used it for anyway. It doesn't work with network attached media.


Thanks! That's kinda dumb for Oppo to only allow USB I wanted to add my network share as a favorite.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
JeroenTop likes this.
kyrunner7 is offline  
post #19248 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 07:32 AM
Member
 
1maynard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Looking for some advice on UHD-203

Good morning all. I have been considering the UHD-203 for use in my HT system since it first came out and have been following this thread since it's inception. At this time it looks like many people are having good results with it in spite of some issues. My question is concerning hook ups to my system. I have a LG OLED B65P, a Integra DTR -70.4 AVR and also a HTPC for viewing recorded OTA TV recordings and my library of movies. As far as I have been able to determine the DTR-70.4 will not pass through 4k signals. I have been going over the owners manual and it is unclear in that respect. So it looks like I will need to use the two cable system to connect the UHD-203. Is that correct or can some one verify if the DTR-70.4 will allow the 4K signals to pass through. Thoughts on hooking the HTPC to the HDMI input of the UHD-203? Also with all of the hoopla on certified HDMI cables how can I be sure that in fact the cables I buy are what they say they are. Thanks in advance for any advice and help you all can provide. And please do not start up on issues and problems you may be having with your UHD-203. I have read all of the posts and do not need them repeated. I am only looking on advice and help with my hookups with my system to get the best possible picture from it.
1maynard is offline  
post #19249 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 09:00 AM
Member
 
timjohnson1717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1maynard View Post
Good morning all. I have been considering the UHD-203 for use in my HT system since it first came out and have been following this thread since it's inception. At this time it looks like many people are having good results with it in spite of some issues. My question is concerning hook ups to my system. I have a LG OLED B65P, a Integra DTR -70.4 AVR and also a HTPC for viewing recorded OTA TV recordings and my library of movies. As far as I have been able to determine the DTR-70.4 will not pass through 4k signals. I have been going over the owners manual and it is unclear in that respect. So it looks like I will need to use the two cable system to connect the UHD-203. Is that correct or can some one verify if the DTR-70.4 will allow the 4K signals to pass through. Thoughts on hooking the HTPC to the HDMI input of the UHD-203? Also with all of the hoopla on certified HDMI cables how can I be sure that in fact the cables I buy are what they say they are. Thanks in advance for any advice and help you all can provide. And please do not start up on issues and problems you may be having with your UHD-203. I have read all of the posts and do not need them repeated. I am only looking on advice and help with my hookups with my system to get the best possible picture from it.
I have the same tv hooked up in a dual hdmi setup. You will want to use two hdmi regardless of 4k passthrough on the Integra because I doubt it supports DV and your display does. I have the included premium cert hdmi from Oppo connecting the B6 and the UDP-203 for video, and a Monoprice active cable for audio from the Oppo to the AVR.

The only true issues I have read on here about the Oppo are when trying to playback UHD on a 1080p display, and when using the hdmi input. Neither of which I use it for. It is an amazing player, and I have had no issues save for a couple disc freezes. In addition I have never cleared persistant storage, does resets, clear settings, or anything which is commonly recommended on this forum. No trouble, no hdmi issues (once I used the premium cable), no audio/video dropouts, no issues switching between SDR/HDR10/DV. Just ensure you have the right cables for the job or it will be a nightmare.
galonzo, Operon and Superman23 like this.
timjohnson1717 is offline  
post #19250 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Sebring5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by ay221 View Post
I bought the UDP-203 for future proof. I'm currently using this on a JVC RS40 projector. If I left the resolution on auto when watching a blu-ray 1080p movie, it sets the resolution to 1080p 24frames and causes a fast rate of flicker that I notice. I set it to custom 1080p 60, and the flicker went away.

Does anyone know a reason for this?
Your projector has black frame insertion. If the flicker bothers you, switch to 60hz or turn clear motion drive off. Flicker is not noticeable at 60hz.

I’m using BFI with a Sony A1E. At 24hz, the flicker does not bother me. Everyone has different sensitivities to the flicker.

JVC feature for your projector:

Clear Motion Drive's high-precision interpolation algorithm enhances the precision of picture-character detection to generate an accurate intermediate frame even for images with rapid movement. Whether broadcasting signal or movie content, viewers can enjoy smoother and clearer images with reduced motion blurring. JVC has upgraded this function with an improved interpolation algorithm along with black frame insertion.

Read article below:

https://www.cnet.com/news/black-fram...us-to-lcd-tvs/
ay221 likes this.

Meridian Audio G65 Sound Processor/UHD 722 HDMI Audio Processor/M6 Active Speakers, Sony A1E 65" OLED 4k UHD, Apple TV, Sony UBP-X1100ES
Sebring5 is offline  
post #19251 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 10:40 AM
Member
 
MagnoliaPro2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, quick audio question with the 203.

I just finished hooking up my Marantz 6011 and have gotten the itch to expand my Atmos and DTSx collection.
I know the Oppo 203 can downscaled 4k movies fine to 1080p for people who don't own a 4k display yet (me being one of them)
However, it appears that when the Oppo downscales the video to 1080, it also selects the non Atmos/DTSx track (or doesn't allow those to be played)
My Marantz shows Atmos coming in, but only TrueDolby going out. Is this normal? Is there a setting to change to allow the video to get downscaled, but for the audio to remain Atmos/DTSx? I'm guessing this is just subsequent affect of it being processed down? Anyone confirm/or correct me? Thanks in advance!
MagnoliaPro2 is offline  
post #19252 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,577
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3776 Post(s)
Liked: 2977
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnoliaPro2 View Post
My Marantz shows Atmos coming in, but only TrueDolby going out. Is this normal? Is there a setting to change to allow the video to get downscaled, but for the audio to remain Atmos/DTSx? I'm guessing this is just subsequent affect of it being processed down? Anyone confirm/or correct me? Thanks in advance!
Your issue, if any, is with the AVR. The player is bitstreaming whatever audio is on the disc. Consult the appropriate thread for that model AVR.
(Also make sure you're watching the UHD disc, not the included BD)
galonzo and Operon like this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #19253 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 10:57 AM
Member
 
SS-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Layer Switch Issue with King Kong 4K Extended Version

Has anyone else encountered what I call a layer switch issue with King Kong 4K the extended version? The video and audio stopped for a few seconds then kind of jumped ahead a bit. I visually inspected the disc and found no smudges, dirt, scratches, etc. It happened to me at about the 2:21:X into the movie. Right where Driscoll is rescuing Ann on the mountain with Kong.

Last edited by SS-3; 08-06-2017 at 11:25 AM.
SS-3 is offline  
post #19254 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 11:01 AM
Member
 
MagnoliaPro2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Your issue, if any, is with the AVR. The player is bitstreaming whatever audio is on the disc. Consult the appropriate thread for that model AVR.
(Also make sure you're watching the UHD disc, not the included BD)
I hear you, but not so sure that is correct. When playing a 1080 bluray with Atmos,(bitstreamed) i GET atmos.
When playing a 4k disk (bitstreamed) into my AVR, hitting the info button shows TrueDolby 7.1 (although the default track is atmos)

Not sure what could be changed if anything on the receiver end to dictate a track selection? To me it seems like something is happening on the Oppo end, but not sure what?
MagnoliaPro2 is offline  
post #19255 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
blackjackmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnoliaPro2 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Your issue, if any, is with the AVR. The player is bitstreaming whatever audio is on the disc. Consult the appropriate thread for that model AVR.
(Also make sure you're watching the UHD disc, not the included BD)
I hear you, but not so sure that is correct. When playing a 1080 bluray with Atmos,(bitstreamed) i GET atmos.
When playing a 4k disk (bitstreamed) into my AVR, hitting the info button shows TrueDolby 7.1 (although the default track is atmos)

Not sure what could be changed if anything on the receiver end to dictate a track selection? To me it seems like something is happening on the Oppo end, but not sure what?
Some discs seem to have the player default to a more standard mix. Have you checked the audio output on the Oppo and made sure the disc is set to output Atmos?
blackjackmark is offline  
post #19256 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmercer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 788 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVGeek99 View Post
So on Friday night and Saturday I set to figuring out the updated feature and how to best set my TV. What I was trying to find was a combination of settings between the 203 and my TV that best mimicked the HDR presentation, I'll explain why in a later post for now just go with it. Based on some info in this thread what I landed on were very similar to my normal SDR settings, but tweaked to closer match the brightness of the HDR mode. I would go back and forth between the two during the process. Once I thought I had it set pretty good, I watched Magnificent Seven again to see if my overall impressions of the movie and HDR would be any better. When I got to the clouds in Chapter 3, 12:38 I noticed considerable white crush, which I knew was not in the HDR presentation. That was one of the scenes I really thought looked good in HDR. So then I paused and started playing the Target Luminance setting; lowering the setting crushed the clouds more, raising it revealed the detail that was present in HDR, I landed on 800 nits. That made the rest of the picture darker so I then bumped the backlight and contrast settings to max. This brightened the image and did not crush any whites. Going back and forth between this and standard HDR the overall brightness looked virtually identical to the eye and in darker scenes, other than the clipped blacks issue, shadow detail was MUCH improved over HDR, and finally color was more saturated and didn't look so muted. I thought this was finally living up to all the HDR hype I'd been reading about.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Fosse View Post
I also have a new Sony display; the Z9D. Like you, I am keeping the default settings on my 203 (0215B FW) to let it do the upscaling rather than the Sony as both my wife and I believe that the OPPO does a slightly better job at it than our Z9D with DVD and BluRay.
Have not heard from a 940E owner that has found a window for target luminance. Being my panel is similar to the Z9D I will start at 800 and start playing... unless of course you guys have heard of a nicer number?

Video: 75X940E/60E8000 Plasma (Formerly; 78JS9500/58c8000/75hu8550/78ju7500) BD Player: OPPO UDP-203
Audio: Marantz 7010 / SVS PB-13 Ultra / Klipsch RF-7ii RC-64ii Polk M70's IC-5800 (5.1.4)
dmercer3 is offline  
post #19257 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 11:51 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,210
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5784 Post(s)
Liked: 8258
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS-3 View Post
Has anyone else encountered what I call a layer switch issue with King Kong 4K the extended version? The video and audio stopped for a few seconds then kind of jumped ahead a bit. I visually inspected the disc and found no smudges, dirt, scratches, etc. It happened to me at about the 2:21:X into the movie. Right where Driscoll is rescuing Ann on the mountain with Kong.
Played fine here.

Clean The Disc. Some of the schmutz included on these new UHD discs is not readily visible by eye.

--Bob
Ted99 likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19258 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,702
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4370 Post(s)
Liked: 2448
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS-3 View Post
Has anyone else encountered what I call a layer switch issue with King Kong 4K the extended version? The video and audio stopped for a few seconds then kind of jumped ahead a bit. I visually inspected the disc and found no smudges, dirt, scratches, etc. It happened to me at about the 2:21:X into the movie. Right where Driscoll is rescuing Ann on the mountain with Kong.
There are quite a few posters that have reported the same thing on this title including myself but they just keep telling us to clean the disc.

lujan
516 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #19259 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 12:08 PM
Member
 
SS-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thank you, I will give that a try and see if it resolves the issue. I am coming from an Oppo UDP-83 that worked flawlessly. That player would read anything and never had an issue, even dirty or scratched rental discs. It sounds like the Oppo UDP-203 is far more sensitive to dirt and debris based upon your response. Is that correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Played fine here.

Clean The Disc. Some of the schmutz included on these new UHD discs is not readily visible by eye.

--Bob
SS-3 is offline  
post #19260 of 36767 Old 08-06-2017, 12:11 PM
Member
 
SS-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thank you, I will attempt to clean the is disc and see if that helps. It does seem rather odd to me that it would be that picky about a clean disc. As I noted in my reply to another forum member, my UDP-83 would read anything. I just hope that maybe Oppo can address this with firmware updates and it's not a problem with the drive mechanism itself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
There are quite a few posters that have reported the same thing on this title including myself but they just keep telling us to clean the disc.
SS-3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off