Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 802 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279435Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24031 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 07:24 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8334
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
It is very odd, because there is no "audio pin" or "pins" in HDMI. Audio is multiplexed into the same data stream as the video.
Correct. HDMI audio is not a separate signal (there is no such thing as audio-only HDMI). It is embedded in the “blanking intervals” of an HDMI video stream. Always. The Audio HDMI output of the player uses a black video stream at 1080p to provide a place to carry the audio.

However, the copy protection for video and audio are handled separately. So if something isn’t working right you can get just one or the other of them muted.
—Bob
galonzo likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24032 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,832
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3919 Post(s)
Liked: 3185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schubeedoobee View Post
I continue to have uhd blush play back issues... namely on the blade runner movie. I am on my third disc and it continues to freeze up in roughly the same spot(s)... I watch "current nitrate" and it drops to zero or very low 3-5mms. Is this a player issue or a manufacturing issue with the discs? The opportunity has frozen on other hdr/uhd discs but has always played thru the freeze if I go back and replay the sequence... not with blade runner.
Both of the Blade Runner discs play normally here. Its interesting to note that the 2049 film has massive LFE - is it possible your player is getting vibrated?
Otherwise - try buying the movie from a different source.
galonzo likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #24033 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 07:34 AM
Member
 
seoman27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 8
@ scenemissing

have you tried connecting the oppo directly to the TV?
do you get sound out the TV ?

You are focusing on the Oppo but it might be the AV too that is causing the problem
seoman27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24034 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,457
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1211 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
Anybody have ANY info or updates on the possible "HDR Tone Mapping" for the 203 that has been referenced by several people over the past week or so? Kris Deering ( testing a Beta version) has mentioned this several times ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Harper View Post
I would be interested in hearing more on this too. It may be enough to make me switch over from the UB900.
I am in the same boat as I am a very happy with the UB900. Prior to the UB900, I had OPPO players for 10 years so I would love to get one back in my system..

It sounds like this possible update is still a long ways from being ready for general public....or at least that is the vibe I am getting from the vague posts. I do realize that they can't say anything either due to the NDA, but that is just the vibe I am getting...
COACH2369 is offline  
post #24035 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Schubeedoobee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Both of the Blade Runner discs play normally here. Its interesting to note that the 2049 film has massive LFE - is it possible your player is getting vibrated?
Otherwise - try buying the movie from a different source.
Thank you... while that is true, I noticed on all my discs the anomaly occurs at chapter 7 at about 59 minutes. This morning I had some success in cleaning the disc thoroughly and getting to play normally thru this section of the movie.

However, when I watch the bit rate on the fly it continues to drop drastically at chapter 7 interface from a normal 68-75mbs to 45-48mbs... still better than 0mbs

Astell&Kern Futura SE100-Klipsch x11i-Klipsch x20i-Focal Clear
Pioneer SC85-NOS Valves NBS Preamp-NOS Valves Magnequest VRD
Klipsch Cornwall-Heresy II Signature-SW115-La Scala II 70th
Wyred4Sound DAC 2v2se 10th Anniversary-OPPO UHP203
Samsung PN64D8000-LG C7/65"
Schubeedoobee is offline  
post #24036 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1014 Post(s)
Liked: 396
We need more new firmware. All the troubleshooting gets to be depressing after a while.

Since we can't talk about software or competing players or strange TV behaviors all we have left is the troubleshooting ;-(

Or, maybe, people can chime in with their favorite 203 feature?

I am using mine as a surround processor at the moment. Loved that it saved me the hassle of buying one.
artur9 is offline  
post #24037 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Schubeedoobee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 401
I only use my 203 as a player... anything else I do outside the Oppo. DAC, surround sound processing are all stand alone units.

Astell&Kern Futura SE100-Klipsch x11i-Klipsch x20i-Focal Clear
Pioneer SC85-NOS Valves NBS Preamp-NOS Valves Magnequest VRD
Klipsch Cornwall-Heresy II Signature-SW115-La Scala II 70th
Wyred4Sound DAC 2v2se 10th Anniversary-OPPO UHP203
Samsung PN64D8000-LG C7/65"
Schubeedoobee is offline  
post #24038 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RagtopFE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: West Haven, CT
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 5247
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
We need more new firmware. All the troubleshooting gets to be depressing after a while.

Since we can't talk about software or competing players or strange TV behaviors all we have left is the troubleshooting ;-(

Or, maybe, people can chime in with their favorite 203 feature?

I am using mine as a surround processor at the moment. Loved that it saved me the hassle of buying one.
I'm enjoying the SACD option. I've started to expand my music library in this format. Lovin' it!
Craig Mecak likes this.

Spoiler!
RagtopFE is offline  
post #24039 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento, Karlifornia
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
We need more new firmware. All the troubleshooting gets to be depressing after a while.

Since we can't talk about software or competing players or strange TV behaviors all we have left is the troubleshooting ;-(

Or, maybe, people can chime in with their favorite 203 feature?

I am using mine as a surround processor at the moment. Loved that it saved me the hassle of buying one.
My favorite features: It's an OPPO, plays everything I throw at it perfectly (including Blade Runner 2049 UHD), Will convert my concerts @ 60 fps to 30..
Great picture quality and the ability to strip metadata from HDR.
galonzo likes this.

Nice Stuff!
ayrton is offline  
post #24040 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 12:51 PM
Member
 
scenemissing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Unless OPPO has some history specific to your AVR, there’s only one more thing you can try on your own: Re-install the firmware. To do that:

1) Download the firmware file for USB install from OPPO’s Support page for the 54-1127 firmware. The link to that is on their Support page for the player. Put that file on a USB stick.

2) With that stick plugged into the player, go to Setup > Device Setup > Update Firmware and select From USB.

3) Answer Yes when asked if you want to re-install.

4) After the re-install, do a Reset Factory Defaults.

5) Last step is to turn the player Off and back On again.

Then test for audio from Main HDMI.
—Bob
Holy ***** that worked. Thank you Bob!!! I had seriously given up hope that it could be software since I had tried it on multiple TVs and cables and done all the factory resets. Corrupt firmware it was!
gwsat and Bob Pariseau like this.
scenemissing is offline  
post #24041 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has the HDMI input been fixed to allow for 4K media without issue or out of sync audio?

I want to use it with an Appletv 4K
bokes is offline  
post #24042 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammie2980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Has anyone had any trouble playing IT UHD BluRay? It plays on my player, but the output and screen is basically black once it starts the actual movie. I checked all of my other DolbyVision movies and all work flawlessly. Wondering if there is a compatibility issue with IT UHD BluRay steelbook

LivingRoom: LG OLED77C8P /Oppo UDP-203/Denon X8500H/SVS SB16 ULTRA/M5300-PM/Paradigm 85F, 45c, Mythos Gem XL x4, SVS Prime Elevation x4 /PS4 Pro/X1X/Switch/AppleTV 4K
Bedroom: LG OLED65E6P / Oppo BDP103D / AppleTV // Office: Sony 55A9F / X1X
ISF Level III Certified, CalMan VideoPro, ChromaPure, i1D3 Pro, i1Pro, C6 HDR 2000, VideoForge Pro, Murideo Six-G, Lightspace
Sammie2980 is online now  
post #24043 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Sebring5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammie2980 View Post
Has anyone had any trouble playing IT UHD BluRay? It plays on my player, but the output and screen is basically black once it starts the actual movie. I checked all of my other DolbyVision movies and all work flawlessly. Wondering if there is a compatibility issue with IT UHD BluRay steelbook
Sounds like it needs cleaning. I had similar issues. Once I cleaned it, it played flawlessly.
Sebring5 is offline  
post #24044 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 03:33 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8334
Quote:
Originally Posted by scenemissing View Post
Holy ***** that worked. Thank you Bob!!! I had seriously given up hope that it could be software since I had tried it on multiple TVs and cables and done all the factory resets. Corrupt firmware it was!
Good. If the problem RETURNS, get in touch with OPPO right away. The firmware should not "wear out", and if it fails twice you should probably get the player back to OPPO, as that likely means it needs Warranty service.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #24045 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammie2980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring5 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammie2980 View Post
Has anyone had any trouble playing IT UHD BluRay? It plays on my player, but the output and screen is basically black once it starts the actual movie. I checked all of my other DolbyVision movies and all work flawlessly. Wondering if there is a compatibility issue with IT UHD BluRay steelbook
Sounds like it needs cleaning. I had similar issues. Once I cleaned it, it played flawlessly.
I was thinking the same thing at first but the disc is brand new out the package. I went and exchanged it and same thing. Oddly enough if the disc is fast forwarded or rewound the inmate displays. It?s only when it plays normally.

LivingRoom: LG OLED77C8P /Oppo UDP-203/Denon X8500H/SVS SB16 ULTRA/M5300-PM/Paradigm 85F, 45c, Mythos Gem XL x4, SVS Prime Elevation x4 /PS4 Pro/X1X/Switch/AppleTV 4K
Bedroom: LG OLED65E6P / Oppo BDP103D / AppleTV // Office: Sony 55A9F / X1X
ISF Level III Certified, CalMan VideoPro, ChromaPure, i1D3 Pro, i1Pro, C6 HDR 2000, VideoForge Pro, Murideo Six-G, Lightspace
Sammie2980 is online now  
post #24046 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 2,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Good. If the problem RETURNS, get in touch with OPPO right away. The firmware should not "wear out", and if it fails twice you should probably get the player back to OPPO, as that likely means it needs Warranty service.
--Bob
Not even Bob can fix it if it fails twice!
galonzo likes this.

Pioneer ELITE PRO-720HD | Pioneer PDP-5010FD | Sony XBR-55X850B | LG OLED55E6P
OPPO BDP-103 | OPPO UDP-203
PlayStation 4 Pro | Xbox One X
brentsg is offline  
post #24047 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Sebring5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammie2980 View Post
I was thinking the same thing at first but the disc is brand new out the package. I went and exchanged it and same thing. Oddly enough if the disc is fast forwarded or rewound the inmate displays. It?s only when it plays normally.
Even out of the package new it can need cleaning. It can have a film on it that needs to be cleaned before playing.
muzz, chili555 and galonzo like this.

Meridian Audio G65 Sound Processor/UHD 722 HDMI Audio Processor/M6 Active Speakers, Sony A1E 65" OLED 4k UHD, Apple TV, Sony UBP-X1100ES
Sebring5 is offline  
post #24048 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammie2980 View Post
Has anyone had any trouble playing IT UHD BluRay? It plays on my player, but the output and screen is basically black once it starts the actual movie. I checked all of my other DolbyVision movies and all work flawlessly. Wondering if there is a compatibility issue with IT UHD BluRay steelbook
Played perfectly on my Oppo 203 and LG C7
galonzo likes this.

Sony 77A9G (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #24049 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Anyone else have a message to upgrade to 1127 firmware and when they say yes it flashes and says “cannot connect to the server”

Been like this for days now.

Sony 77A9G (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #24050 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 2,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammie2980 View Post
Has anyone had any trouble playing IT UHD BluRay? It plays on my player, but the output and screen is basically black once it starts the actual movie. I checked all of my other DolbyVision movies and all work flawlessly. Wondering if there is a compatibility issue with IT UHD BluRay steelbook
I've experienced this and haven't figured it out, but I have a theory.

I have the 55E6 and I can't watch It on any Dolby Vision source, whether it's disk or a streaming service. I've tested this with every DV source that I have. Also noticed if I go to the "All Inputs" screen I'll see red sparkles over the black screen when that source is displayed. The theory I have is that my old firmware may be to blame, and if that's not the culprit then would be good to know. I am still on 04.30.19 for fear of messing up the sweet HDR game mode. It might not be related, but it's the hesitation to upgrade that's kept me from reaching out to LG. Note that the movie plays fine when HDR10 is forced, or SDR is used. I've tested with Apple TV, Oppo 203, and the internal LH Vudu client with the same result each time.

What firmware are you on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring5 View Post
Even out of the package new it can need cleaning. It can have a film on it that needs to be cleaned before playing.
It definitely isn't a dirty disk or Oppo problem. It's an LG / Dolby Vision problem.

Pioneer ELITE PRO-720HD | Pioneer PDP-5010FD | Sony XBR-55X850B | LG OLED55E6P
OPPO BDP-103 | OPPO UDP-203
PlayStation 4 Pro | Xbox One X

Last edited by brentsg; 01-20-2018 at 10:43 PM.
brentsg is offline  
post #24051 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 06:55 PM
Member
 
scenemissing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Good. If the problem RETURNS, get in touch with OPPO right away. The firmware should not "wear out", and if it fails twice you should probably get the player back to OPPO, as that likely means it needs Warranty service.
--Bob
Agreed! The player is only a few weeks old since I got it for myself post Christmas. If it acts up that badly again it's going back.
scenemissing is offline  
post #24052 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 08:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,839
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2436 Post(s)
Liked: 1739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammie2980 View Post
I was thinking the same thing at first but the disc is brand new out the package. I went and exchanged it and same thing. Oddly enough if the disc is fast forwarded or rewound the inmate displays. It?s only when it plays normally.
I have recently had disks that were slightly contaminated, fresh out of the package. The gunk that was present wasn't easy to spot, but it showed up under a strong light source. It was easy to clean, though.

I'm fairly sure that it was some sort of manufacturing residue. It definitely was not a fingerprint.
muzz and galonzo like this.
bobknavs is offline  
post #24053 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
A question for you, since you've done this testing: What does the Murideo show when the OPPO Extended Info reports Main HDMI Output is putting out 4K/60 4:2:2 10b or 4K/24 4:2:2 10b? Does the Murideo say it is receiving 10b or 12b?

Set Custom > UHD 60Hz or UHD 24Hz, Color Space 4:2:2, and Color Depth 10-bit and play a movie. Press and hold Info until the Extended Info display comes up. Use Up/Down Arrow to scroll to view the HDMI (Main) Output information and confirm the output is indeed 4K/60 or 4K/24 at YCbCr 4:2:2 10-bit. Then check what the Murideo says it is receiving for Color Depth.
--Bob
Hi Bob,

Sorry I did not read all the previous threads. I tried what you suggested as I was struggling to get more than 8 bit on my Samsung JS8000 SUHD.

With Oppo settings color space and depth set to auto, I get 4K/60 4:4:4 and only 8 bit. But when I change it to 4:2:2, I get 10 bit. I just got into understanding these parameters and wanted to understand why?

Is this the best I am able to get with the samsung panel?
If yes then what's the recommended setting, Auto (at 4:4:4 8 bit) or 4:2:2 10 bit?

Thanks.

Last edited by kenkkl; 01-20-2018 at 09:43 PM.
kenkkl is offline  
post #24054 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 4,549
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I have recently had disks that were slightly contaminated, fresh out of the package. The gunk that was present wasn't easy to spot, but it showed up under a strong light source. It was easy to clean, though.

I'm fairly sure that it was some sort of manufacturing residue. It definitely was not a fingerprint.
No way, not possible....every disc is mint out of the package..

Yours Truly

Abraham Lincoln

Why waste $ on more cheap stuff, it's like challenging a dragon with a pocket knife.
muzz is offline  
post #24055 of 37602 Old 01-20-2018, 11:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,282
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1246 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
I still have my Oppo 203, BUT havnt used it in ages as i much prefer the UB900 at present.

IF Oppo implement the "HDR Tone Mapping" and release it for the general end user, i would gladly fire up the 203 once again ...and who knows, it might even take over from the UB900 this time around..
My thoughts exactly, could save me buying the Panny 820 for HDR tone-mapping.
nathan_h and woofer like this.
OzHDHT is online now  
post #24056 of 37602 Old 01-21-2018, 01:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
OLED4UNME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 544 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Is the Oppo 203 limited to max 5x fast forward, or is there some tricky way to jump or skip ahead in 5 or 10 minute increments? I find that 5x is not always fast enough.
OLED4UNME is offline  
post #24057 of 37602 Old 01-21-2018, 01:53 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8334
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Anyone else have a message to upgrade to 1127 firmware and when they say yes it flashes and says “cannot connect to the server”

Been like this for days now.
Do a Reset Factory Defaults, then turn the player Off and back On again, and check that your networking is live (Setup > Network Setup > Connection Test). Then try the firmware install again (Setup > Device Setup > Update Firmware > FROM NETWORK).

You can speed this up by saving your Settings to a USB stick for reload after the install. See Setup > Device Setup > Settings Management.

If that Install via Network is still blocked, you can down the file from OPPO's Support page for the player, for install via a USB stick
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #24058 of 37602 Old 01-21-2018, 02:00 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8334
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkkl View Post
Hi Bob,

Sorry I did not read all the previous threads. I tried what you suggested as I was struggling to get more than 8 bit on my Samsung JS8000 SUHD.

With Oppo settings color space and depth set to auto, I get 4K/60 4:4:4 and only 8 bit. But when I change it to 4:2:2, I get 10 bit. I just got into understanding these parameters and wanted to understand why?

Is this the best I am able to get with the samsung panel?
If yes then what's the recommended setting, Auto (at 4:4:4 8 bit) or 4:2:2 10 bit?

Thanks.
The current HDMI specs impose limits on the high bandwidth combos. 4K/60 4:4:4 can not be transmitted at higher than 8-bit, for example, because greater bit depth would be beyond the bandwidth limit of the current specs.

The Auto settings in the OPPO get you the combo the display announces it "prefers" during the HDMI handshake. Some displays "prefer" what they think will be easier for sources to send to them as opposed to what might produce the best results. And 4:4:4 is the most common HDMI signal -- something all sources can send.

Now, 4K/60 4:4:4 8b should work just fine (unless theres a video processing problem in your display), but to keep things "simpler" I like to configure to send the same bit depth for everything. So I use:

Video Resolution > Custom
Custom Resolution > UHD Auto
Color Space > 4:2:2
Color Depth > Auto

That gets you 4K/24 4:2:2 12b and 4K/60 4:2:2 12b depending on whether the content you are playing is /24 or /60 -- assuming your display can accept both of those.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 01-21-2018 at 02:04 AM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #24059 of 37602 Old 01-21-2018, 02:07 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8334
Quote:
Originally Posted by OLED4UNME View Post
Is the Oppo 203 limited to max 5x fast forward, or is there some tricky way to jump or skip ahead in 5 or 10 minute increments? I find that 5x is not always fast enough.
You can use the GoTo button on the Remote to jump directly to any time code you'd like. It will highlight the time code number, which you can then edit and select.
--Bob
muzz, ayrton, galonzo and 2 others like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #24060 of 37602 Old 01-21-2018, 02:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Not sure if anyone from Oppo reads this thread or not. I guess I could send them an email too. A lot of folks have the Oppo 203 and a JVC projector and anyone who has a JVC knows, they're biggest con is the long sync times of around 15 seconds. These happen whenever switching between the Oppo main menu and an UHD. It would be helpful if the Oppo provided a persistent, selectable 4K24 4:2:0 BT.2020 option and screens in addition to the 4K60 BT.709 ones. Or make the Video Setup Menu options actually Force sending out signals at the selected values for the home screen; ex: HDR: On, Output Resolution: Custom - UHD 24Hz, Color Space: Auto. Either way would help eliminate a lot of delays on the JVC when using the Oppo.
Carbo, Rich V, jtolive and 2 others like this.

...Steve
"Opinions are like orgasms… mine matters most and I really don’t care if you have one or not." ;)
 
My HT gear
stevenjw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off