Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 887 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 278836Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26581 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 874 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by idyfohu View Post
Alright guys, hopefully you don't mind helping me diagnose my problem.

Here's my setup:

JVC RS420 PJ
Denon X4300
Oppo UDP-203
Nvidia Shield
Xbox One X

I rip all my Blu-Ray UHD 4K discs and them on a hard drive for ease of use (yes, lazy, I know). I play my 4K UHD files through my Nvidia Shield, through the media player Kodi. I'm brand new to the Oppo 203 (have only had it for about a week and haven't messed around with it). I just installed the most recent update, did a factory reset, unplugged it, and it shows the correct firmware.

I initially had my Xbox and Nvidia Shield going into my AVR, then from my AVR out to the input on the Oppo, then Output to my JVC. I then tried plugging directly from the Shield, to the Oppo, then to the AVR to see if that would make a difference, no dice.

Here's my issue - If I run HDR Off (BT.2020), I can't get HDR to engage at all. As a result, the color is dark and the color gamut is a mess (over saturated, highlights blown out, and just a mess). The only way I've been able to get HDR to engage is by setting the HDR setting to Auto and/or Forced, but using this method, the picture quality is quite dull and I know it is capable of looking much better. I know one option is to upload customs curves, but I was hoping to use the Oppo's HDR settings instead.

Here are some pictures if it helps. I've tried all the different settings in the Oppo App, Auto everything, fixed color space, etc., and no dice.



Any help is greatly appreciated as I'm completely lost.
If you set HDR to off then it won't engage, that's the whole point. The OPPO will tone map the HDR image to work on your projector in SDR. All you have to do is set the JVC color space to BT2020 and have a 2.4 calibrated gamma.
nathan_h likes this.
Buddylee123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26582 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 03:19 PM
Member
 
idyfohu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddylee123 View Post
If you set HDR to off then it won't engage, that's the whole point. The OPPO will tone map the HDR image to work on your projector in SDR. All you have to do is set the JVC color space to BT2020 and have a 2.4 calibrated gamma.
Buddy...ok, that makes sense, so it shouldn't be showing HDR, but rather, SDR and then doing the work behind the scenes, correct?

On the JVC, I have the color space set to BT2020...and then off the top of my head, the HDR gamma. Do you exactly which default JVC setting the 2.4 calibrated gamma is? Sorry, total newbie to UHD, ugh.
idyfohu is offline  
post #26583 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 874 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by idyfohu View Post
Buddy...ok, that makes sense, so it shouldn't be showing HDR, but rather, SDR and then doing the work behind the scenes, correct?

On the JVC, I have the color space set to BT2020...and then off the top of my head, the HDR gamma. Do you exactly which default JVC setting the 2.4 calibrated gamma is? Sorry, total newbie to UHD, ugh.
No problem, you shouldn't be using HDR gamma. Just set the color space to BT2020 and set the gamma to 2.4, and it should be ok as far as the JVC goes. Think of it as sending an SDR signal to the projector that keeps the expanded BT2020 color space. You will still need to pick which mode you like best on the OPPO and which Nits level works best for you. I have been using mode 2 at 400 Nits for most movies but I like the image a little bright at the cost of a few highlights.
idyfohu likes this.

Last edited by Buddylee123; 03-07-2018 at 04:29 PM.
Buddylee123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26584 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
@ntxoa and @psuKinger


A restore of the Shield did the trick. I reinstalled SPMC and I can now get Lossless Audio from this App with the Shield connected to the 203's HDMI Input. I will relay this back to Oppo Tech Support to let them know.

I'm going to reconnect a separate HDMI Audio connection to see how things go as well.
Bob Pariseau, psuKinger and ntxoa like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #26585 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:07 PM
Member
 
idyfohu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddylee123 View Post
No problem, you shouldn't be using HDR gamma. Just set the color space to BT2020 and set the gamma to 2.4, and it should be ok as far as the JVD goes. Think of it as sending an SDR signal to the projector that keeps the expanded BT202 color space. You will still need to pick which mode you like best on the OPPO and which Nits level works best for you. I have been using mode 2 at 400 Nits for most movies but I like the image a little bright at the cost of a few highlights.
Buddy, ok, that makes sense...helps me wrap my mind around what's going on. Do you know by chance which setting is gamma 2.4 on the JVC? From memory in the menu settings, it doesn't have them label Gamma 2.4 (or does it)?
idyfohu is offline  
post #26586 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
gravi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by idyfohu View Post
Buddy, ok, that makes sense...helps me wrap my mind around what's going on. Do you know by chance which setting is gamma 2.4 on the JVC? From memory in the menu settings, it doesn't have them label Gamma 2.4 (or does it)?
You have to use a custom gamma slot and pick correction value of 2.4

Also use HDR color temp with correction value of 6500K, in addiytion to BT2020 color space
galonzo and idyfohu like this.
gravi is online now  
post #26587 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by idyfohu View Post
Buddy, ok, that makes sense...helps me wrap my mind around what's going on. Do you know by chance which setting is gamma 2.4 on the JVC? From memory in the menu settings, it doesn't have them label Gamma 2.4 (or does it)?
Just use the same gamma you use for regular Blu-ray.
galonzo likes this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #26588 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
A.Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Hey everyone. I’ve been following this thread since the beginning and have had my Oppo 203 since January after I sold my much loved 103.
I have the 203 connected to 2 monitors, one being a 50” P series Vizio which since it does DV and HDR, I don’t have to mess with any HDR to SDR conversion. My main source when I care about watching movies is a EPSON 5030 1080P projector and this is where I am looking for confirmation that what I’m doing is OK. I let the 203 down convert my UHD movies to 1080P and turn off HDR and use the SDR/BT2020 setting and currently use mode 3 at 300 nits and to my untrained eyes am very happy with what I see.
Is what I’m doing with a 1080P projector ok or should I be doing something different?
Thanks for any help.
A.Bell is offline  
post #26589 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 874 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by idyfohu View Post
Buddy, ok, that makes sense...helps me wrap my mind around what's going on. Do you know by chance which setting is gamma 2.4 on the JVC? From memory in the menu settings, it doesn't have them label Gamma 2.4 (or does it)?
Let's take this to the RS420 thread
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #26590 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 874 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
Also use HDR color temp with correction value of 6500K, in addiytion to BT2020 color space
Now I'm confused lol
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #26591 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Bell View Post
Hey everyone. I’ve been following this thread since the beginning and have had my Oppo 203 since January after I sold my much loved 103.
I have the 203 connected to 2 monitors, one being a 50” P series Vizio which since it does DV and HDR, I don’t have to mess with any HDR to SDR conversion. My main source when I care about watching movies is a EPSON 5030 1080P projector and this is where I am looking for confirmation that what I’m doing is OK. I let the 203 down convert my UHD movies to 1080P and turn off HDR and use the SDR/BT2020 setting and currently use mode 3 at 300 nits and to my untrained eyes am very happy with what I see.
Is what I’m doing with a 1080P projector ok or should I be doing something different?
Thanks for any help.
You probably want SDR709 rather than 2020. It doesn’t look like the Epson has a 2020 mode or capability.

I would say you want AUTO for HDR but having two different output devices may confuse things? Or do you switch and only have one connected at a time?
nathan_h is offline  
post #26592 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddylee123 View Post
Now I'm confused lol
Don’t worry. On the 420 there isn’t a color filter so color temp shouldn’t shift much or perhaps at all.

On the 520 there is a special p3 filter when in rec2020 mode and that filter can shift the white point.
nathan_h is offline  
post #26593 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 874 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Don’t worry. On the 420 there isn’t a color filter so color temp shouldn’t shift much or perhaps at all.

On the 520 there is a special p3 filter when in rec2020 mode and that filter can shift the white point.
That makes sense, Thanks for the clarification
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #26594 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
gravi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Don’t worry. On the 420 there isn’t a color filter so color temp shouldn’t shift much or perhaps at all.

On the 520 there is a special p3 filter when in rec2020 mode and that filter can shift the white point.
Sure, but you still have to pick a color temp in your settings and HDR 6500 works well
nathan_h likes this.
gravi is online now  
post #26595 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:40 PM
Member
 
idyfohu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
Sure, but you still have to pick a color temp in your settings and HDR 6500 works well
@Buddylee123 @gravi you guys came through, ha. I was so confused, but everything looks great now, sheesh! The JVC and HDR as they should be...glorious! The issue as already stated was I was using the HDR Gamma Setting. Like gravi said, went to Custom 1 and then found the setting for Gamma 2.4, then chose the color temperature as HDR at 6500k, and now all is more than right in the world, phew!

Sincerely you guys, thank you so much, I was going nuts!
idyfohu is offline  
post #26596 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
A.Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
You probably want SDR709 rather than 2020. It doesn’t look like the Epson has a 2020 mode or capability.

I would say you want AUTO for HDR but having two different output devices may confuse things? Or do you switch and only have one connected at a time?
I switch as needed. Everything goes through a Denon X4400H. When I check the detailed info on the 203, It says it’s putting out BT2020 12bit. As I mentioned the picture looks pretty good to me, but I just worry if I’m wrong in what I’m doing. There a lot more knowledgeable people here than myself when it comes to this stuff, which is why I am asking for guidance.
A.Bell is offline  
post #26597 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
Sure, but you still have to pick a color temp in your settings and HDR 6500 works well
Sure yes. I am not familiar with preset names on the x20 series. That sounds like a fine preset. Even using the same color temp as for rec709 is likely fine. But that one sounds better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Bell View Post
I switch as needed. Everything goes through a Denon X4400H. When I check the detailed info on the 203, It says it’s putting out BT2020 12bit. As I mentioned the picture looks pretty good to me, but I just worry if I’m wrong in what I’m doing. There a lot more knowledgeable people here than myself when it comes to this stuff, which is why I am asking for guidance.
Unless your projector has a way to understand rec2020 I would say leave the Oppo on AUTO and that is likely to work well. It will know to downconvert. If not then SDR709 is better for you than SDR2020 because it more closely matches your projectors capabilities. (But you’ll need to manually switch the oppo back to Auto every time you want to use your flat panel and maybe cycle your receiver to trigger a new handshake. )
galonzo likes this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #26598 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
A.Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Unless your projector has a way to understand rec2020 I would say leave the Oppo on AUTO and that is likely to work well. It will know to downconvert. If not then SDR709 is better for you than SDR2020 because it more closely matches your projectors capabilities. (But you’ll need to manually switch the oppo back to Auto every time you want to use your flat panel and maybe cycle your receiver to trigger a new handshake. )[/QUOTE]

Thanks nathan_h, I will set HDR to Auto. Thanks for taking the time to help me.
A.Bell is offline  
post #26599 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
fireman1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 56
New Oppo 203 with New OLED65C7P

What should the resolution settings be set at?
fireman1000 is online now  
post #26600 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 06:50 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,361
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4545 Post(s)
Liked: 4376
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireman1000 View Post
What should the resolution settings be set at?
See the FAQ: Recommended Settings. The settings are for the E6 but they are still good.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #26601 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
@ntxoa and @psuKinger


A restore of the Shield did the trick. I reinstalled SPMC and I can now get Lossless Audio from this App with the Shield connected to the 203's HDMI Input. I will relay this back to Oppo Tech Support to let them know.

I'm going to reconnect a separate HDMI Audio connection to see how things go as well.
Sounded good, so I just updated my firmware too.

I can get lossy Atmos through HDMI IN from Shield Vudu, and lossless Atmos from MKVs on USB hard drive on the Shield.

Display mode now resets properly after playing HDR Vudu content.

DD+ and HDR work fine on the Shield Amazon app.

MKVs with 4K TrueHD Atmos play back fine from hard drive attached to Oppo.

MKVs with MVC 3D and TrueHD Atmos play back properly from PC attached to Oppo HDMI in.

PC Dolby Access app still does LPCM and does not allow configuring Atmos Home Theater when going through the Oppo.
groove93 likes this.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #26602 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
WMConey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Could you post the complete firmware version your player has now? There are some variations most of us do not encounter and we need to know if that is the case here.

-Bill
FWIW I also had an odd time with this update - going from the prior beta to the Mar 02 release. I got a notice that a new firmware was available, but after saying yes to update, I kept getting "can't connect to server" errors. So I downloaded the file and put it on the USB stick I've used at least twice before for updates and this resulted in a "corrupted file" error. After several re-formats, different USB, re-downloading, etc, all resulting in "file corrupted" errors, I set the device to "Energy Efficient" and turned it off. Turned it back on and it updated off the same USB stick / same file that had produced the "corrupted file" error.

First time I've ever had to do a full power down to update this device.
YMMV.....
WMConey is offline  
post #26603 of 36771 Old 03-07-2018, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If you want HDR to SDR conversion with the BT.2020 color gamut preserved, I recommend you use the new Off (BT.2020) choice.

In particular, if you were using Strip Metadata in the prior firmware, then Off (BT.2020) is likely what you want now.

The Strip Metadata choice still exists, and is described as for use with displays that apply, "Custom HDR processing". So far OPPO has not further explained what they mean by this. But early on in this brave new world of HDR there was a suggestion going around that some displays would use the LACK of certain HDR metadata fields to trigger different tone-mapping. Indeed there were some discs issued with some metadata fields deliberately MISSING in the expectation that the display would do something magical. If anyone here figures out a good use for Strip Metadata at this point, by all means post what you've found.
--Bob
Hi, i am not sure if this option at HDR menu Off (BT.2020) works. I made some pictures with my PJ Epson 9300W and some info show PJ and some others OPPO 203. This information its not equal on both devices.

Why OPPO tell me somethink about BT.709 and PJ show BT.2020 if this video is BT.2020? :-)

thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180308_075345.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	520.4 KB
ID:	2372112   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180308_075404.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	500.4 KB
ID:	2372114  
riddle is offline  
post #26604 of 36771 Old 03-08-2018, 03:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I just found out through experimentation that the Oppo 203 will play 4K UHD ISO's natively from an attached usb drive. My Oppo has the latest BETA firmware and has not been modified in any way. I think once the studios find out, Oppo will have to do a firmware update to stop it like they did for 2K bluray. BTW, 2K Bluray ISO's are still not recognized. Only 4K UHD ISO's.

Playback quality is stunning as you would expect and it is vastly superior to Dune 4k which stuffs up HDR. I dont think I'll be upgrading firmware in the future if this feature will be disabled.
tassop is offline  
post #26605 of 36771 Old 03-08-2018, 04:45 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,361
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4545 Post(s)
Liked: 4376
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post
Hi, i am not sure if this option at HDR menu Off (BT.2020) works. I made some pictures with my PJ Epson 9300W and some info show PJ and some others OPPO 203. This information its not equal on both devices.

Why OPPO tell me somethink about BT.709 and PJ show BT.2020 if this video is BT.2020? :-)

thank you
Are you sure you are playing a UHD disc, not the standard Blu-ray?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #26606 of 36771 Old 03-08-2018, 04:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 229
For some reason, the Oppo 203 is not being able to connect to the Updates server, although its wired to the home network and the connection test succeeds.
I have the latest Beta firmware (UK version).
neo_2009 is offline  
post #26607 of 36771 Old 03-08-2018, 05:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_2009 View Post
For some reason, the Oppo 203 is not being able to connect to the Updates server, although its wired to the home network and the connection test succeeds.
I have the latest Beta firmware (UK version).
This happened before with upgrading beta firmware. I forgot how to deal with that online. Download the file and use an USB stick as a workaround.
Mark
neo_2009 likes this.

Marantz 8802A | Rotel RB 1590 / 1555 | Bowers Wilkins 804D3 / HTM2D3 / DB3D / 703S2 / 706S2 | Oppo 205 | Bluesound NODE 2i | LG OLED65E8 | Denon AH-D7100 | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV4K | Cable box 4K | Darbee Darblet
(Denon 4520 | LG OLED55E6 | B&W 703 / 705 / HTM7 / ASW700 | Oppo 203 / HA-2SE | Apple TV | Chromecast Ultra / Audio | Denon AH-D2000)
Mark1000 is offline  
post #26608 of 36771 Old 03-08-2018, 06:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1681 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntxoa View Post

PC Dolby Access app still does LPCM and does not allow configuring Atmos Home Theater when going through the Oppo.
I just added my PC to the HDMI In and struggled to get this working too but eventually I got the sequence right and It allows me to configure Dolby Atmos Home Theater. You have to go into Oppo sound properties on PC and enable Spatial Audio. Then you exit and go back into configure and choose 7.1. After that you should be able to choose/configure Atmos.

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple 4K, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One X
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
LG OLED 55C8PUA, Denon x4400h, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is offline  
post #26609 of 36771 Old 03-08-2018, 06:01 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,210
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5784 Post(s)
Liked: 8258
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_2009 View Post
For some reason, the Oppo 203 is not being able to connect to the Updates server, although its wired to the home network and the connection test succeeds.
I have the latest Beta firmware (UK version).
The UK update server was just going to go live with that today, so it may not be there quite yet.
--Bob
neo_2009 likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #26610 of 36771 Old 03-08-2018, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Norixone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 93
I do not know if this has been discussed before, but me and another forumer in Italy have been having a weird behavior with DVDs. Having the udp203 set on auto for everything when playing a DVD I get random lines and sparkles from the vpr. Moreover, the info menu on the vpr states Hdr. The only way to get rid of the issue is to set the output to 1080 auto or any of the fixed refresh rates. Anyone else with the same problem?
Norixone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off