Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 999 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279060Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29941 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Great news!

What a week. Our resident complainer, Larry Little, is proven wrong with the ATV 4K Atmos announcement this week and the Oppo DV update!
Thanks. Glad I could help.

Sony XBR-65Z9D
Oppo UDP-203 4K BD Player
Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K BD Player
Denon AVR-X6400H
Larry Little is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29942 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
Like others said, I believe it is an LG issue. Also, is it still only in a few scenes with a few DV movies?


https://t.co/HBRmMgvEdL?amp=1

Looks like the Sony firmware also fixed LG black levels. Weird.

A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Oppo 203
Xbox One S
Denon AVR X6300W
Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Origin Acoustics Theater 68
Nick Martelli is offline  
post #29943 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
Like others said, I believe it is an LG issue. Also, is it still only in a few scenes with a few DV movies?
Whenever the majority of the screen/scene drops to black, the whole panel black floor raises up to a grey, including the letterbox in 2.35 movies. It's pretty bad on movies set at night or in space. The worst offenders were Valerian, The Last Jedi, Jumanji (The Rock). It's also on a few scenes in Power Rangers.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29944 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, Va.
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
Whenever the majority of the screen/scene drops to black, the whole panel black floor raises up to a grey, including the letterbox in 2.35 movies. It's pretty bad on movies set at night or in space. The worst offenders were Valerian, The Last Jedi, Jumanji (The Rock). It's also on a few scenes in Power Rangers.
Yep, I own all of the those movies you listed and can say you are 100% correct.
Dave-T is offline  
post #29945 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Couch Viking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave-T View Post
That great that Sony owners are finally getting what hey were promised but what about all of 2016 LG Oled owners, still nothing. Also really excited to hear about the 4k AppleTv atmos update.
Who's to say that the Oppo update for Sony won't have elevated blacks as well? After all, this forum needs to have something to discuss (read: complain about).
galonzo, acetheog and MackGuyver like this.

Sony XBR-65A1E
Oppo UDP-203
Pioneer LX-81 (Euro)
Pio S-81K , Pio S-LX70, Pio S-81W-MK SW
Apple TV 4K 32Gb
Couch Viking is offline  
post #29946 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,572
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2094 Post(s)
Liked: 2103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Martelli View Post
https://t.co/HBRmMgvEdL?amp=1

Looks like the Sony firmware also fixed LG black levels. Weird.
I think that article means it "could" fix it. Hopefully we will know this week.
chili555 likes this.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #29947 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 10:16 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,472
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4608 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I think that article means it "could" fix it. Has anyone in the beta actually tested to see if this is the case?
Objection! Counsel is fishing...

-Bill
gsr, giomania, chili555 and 2 others like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #29948 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Couch Viking View Post
Who's to say that the Oppo update for Sony won't have elevated blacks as well? After all, this forum needs to have something to discuss (read: complain about).
Absolutely. If things, especially cutting-edge electronics, can't be 100% perfect, then someone should whine about it until it's fixed. It's so much more fun to cry over black levels than to enjoy the amazing 4K HDR10/Dolby Vision discs and Atmos/DTS:X soundtracks that work 99+% of the time
gwsat, galonzo, JackReilly and 2 others like this.

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
post #29949 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 10:28 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Can you guys help me understand how the HDMI Input works on the 203. I guess you can only have 1 device get upscaled through the Oppo? I would love to have all of my other sources run through it for the purposes of upscaling. I guess if its just one, I will run my Xfinity box through it.

| 7.2.4 Photos (Updated Photos 1/5) | Frequency Response | Visual: LG 65” B7A OLED | Elite VMAX-2 Electric 120" | Optoma GT1080 Proj |
| AVR/Amps: Marantz SR-6011 9C | Audio Source AMP-100VS | iNuke 1000DSP; TTs: 4x AuraSound Pro |
| Center: B&W CM Center 2 S2 Ed | Fronts: 2x B&W 684 S1s | Side Surrounds: 2x B&W 685 S1 |
| Front/Rear Heights: 4x Polk T15 | In-Ceiling: 2x Micca M-8C | Subs: 2x Rythmik FV15HP |
citsur86 is offline  
post #29950 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Can you guys help me understand how the HDMI Input works on the 203. I guess you can only have 1 device get upscaled through the Oppo? I would love to have all of my other sources run through it for the purposes of upscaling. I guess if its just one, I will run my Xfinity box through it.
In theory, you could add a switcher ahead of the Oppo and then feed them all though the Oppo's input.
galonzo likes this.

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
post #29951 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,023
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3897 Post(s)
Liked: 3612
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Can you guys help me understand how the HDMI Input works on the 203. I guess you can only have 1 device get upscaled through the Oppo? I would love to have all of my other sources run through it for the purposes of upscaling. I guess if its just one, I will run my Xfinity box through it.
I've used this Kinovo HDMI switch first with my 103D and now with my 203 for years and it's worked perfectly and transparently when integrated into a Harmony Activity. That said, I'm not 4K-capable yet so you may want to investigate whether the Kinovo model will pass all 4K signals or maybe look at a different brand, I would think Monoprice would have something that would work.
Keenan is online now  
post #29952 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,572
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2094 Post(s)
Liked: 2103
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Can you guys help me understand how the HDMI Input works on the 203. I guess you can only have 1 device get upscaled through the Oppo? I would love to have all of my other sources run through it for the purposes of upscaling. I guess if its just one, I will run my Xfinity box through it.
I would do as you suggested. I do not think you will really notice a difference trying to upscale something like a streaming box. Somewhat related: I was a huge fan of Darby and wish that made its way to the 203.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #29953 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,740
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1247 Post(s)
Liked: 2085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I would do as you suggested. I do not think you will really notice a difference trying to upscale something like a streaming box. Somewhat related: I was a huge fan of Darby and wish that made its way to the 203.
Which is one reason I'm keeping the 103D. For anything 1080p, this is used in my system to either play or upscale. So far I've only used one HDMI input for a Comcast box that it does some great work with.

The rest of the movies that I have on a NAS, play from disk, of eny stripe (480p, 720p, 1080i (yes, a couple), 1080p ) get upscaled and / or processed by the Darbee logic. I've had great success (IMO) with this, and will continue to use it.

Not sure where Darbee fits into the 4K ecosystem, but I would think they could contribute, since bits are bits and they are very good at processing them. Or it could be tech whose time has passed at a 4K / UHD scale. Kinda curious to find out.
hernanu is offline  
post #29954 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 11:48 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,247
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5809 Post(s)
Liked: 8279
^ As far as I know there is no 4K Darbee yet in any form, although they have said they are working on it.

Keep in mind, it’s a much tougher problem. Not only is there much more data to process, they ALSO have to deal with the different flavors of 4K, such as SDR vs HDR10 vs Dolby Vision etc.

They’ve surprised us before, but I wouldn’t expect an OEM Darbee 4K offering any time soon.

And of course it’s too late to add hardware to the OPPO players.
—Bob
SeeMoreDigital and hernanu like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 06-05-2018 at 02:10 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #29955 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by MackGuyver View Post
Absolutely. If things, especially cutting-edge electronics, can't be 100% perfect, then someone should whine about it until it's fixed. It's so much more fun to cry over black levels than to enjoy the amazing 4K HDR10/Dolby Vision discs and Atmos/DTS:X soundtracks that work 99+% of the time
It's hard to enjoy Dolby Vision discs when the black level is fluctuating all over the place. I spent a lot of money to get the best which LG and Oppo both advertised. I think it's fair to complain after the first disc and player showed problems which went unaddressed for months. Funny that the FW release was exactly 1 yr ago from tomorrow. I think 1 year is long enough to fix a major issue that takes you out of the experience.
StanGeek, galonzo and Madmax67 like this.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #29956 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 12:21 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,472
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4608 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
It's hard to enjoy Dolby Vision discs when the black level is fluctuating all over the place. I spent a lot of money to get the best which LG and Oppo both advertised. I think it's fair to complain after the first disc and player showed problems which went unaddressed for months. Funny that the FW release was exactly 1 yr ago from tomorrow. I think 1 year is long enough to fix a major issue that takes you out of the experience.
LG has admitted it is a problem with their displays and has slowly been issuing updates.

I don't know what is up with reports that a new Sony player update corrects it. That would indicate LG is wrong about their own displays.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #29957 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Good news about the DV fix for Sony TVs (I really don't care ) .. Now please fix the HDR tone mapping..
galonzo likes this.

My home theater
Speakers: 3 JTR 212HTR (LCR), 2 Jtr Single 8LP (S), 2 JTR Triple 12LF (SB)) , 4 Volt 10LX (Atmos)
Subwoofers: 10 Sealed UXL-18, 5 Crowson Shadow 8 transducers, 3 Buttkicker LFE
Display: JVC RS400
ahmedreda is offline  
post #29958 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I think that article means it "could" fix it. Hopefully we will know this week.
Any report of elevated black levels on Despicable Me, It, Gladiator, Matrix, or Saving Private Ryan? Those are the discs I possess and will test out on the X930E when the OPPO update arrives.
isarafan is offline  
post #29959 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 389
When playing mkv files is there a trick to getting the OPPO to remember where (when?) it was when you hit the stop button?
artur9 is online now  
post #29960 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 01:07 PM
Member
 
jamisonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ As far as I know there is no 4K Darbee yet in any form, although they have said they are working on it.

Keep in mind, it’s a much tougher problem. Not only is their much more data to process, they ALSO have to deal with the different flavors of 4K, such as SDR vs HDR10 vs Dolby Vision etc.

They’ve surprised us before, but I wouldn’t expect an OEM Darbee 4K offering any time soon.

And of course it’s too late to add hardware to the OPPO players.
—Bob
I'd like it if we could get a couple more companies that Micomsoft working on 240p upscaling.
jamisonia is offline  
post #29961 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,814
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I've used this Kinovo HDMI switch first with my 103D and now with my 203 for years and it's worked perfectly and transparently when integrated into a Harmony Activity. That said, I'm not 4K-capable yet so you may want to investigate whether the Kinovo model will pass all 4K signals or maybe look at a different brand, I would think Monoprice would have something that would work.
I am using this StarTech VS421HD20 4-port HDMI switch with my 203, and happily report that it works perfectly passing 4K UHD HDR 60Hz source through it.

I use this switch to accept as input (a) 4K Roku Ultra, (b) 2 x 1080p DVR, and (c) 1080p HDMI audio/video output from my nVidia GTX 1050ti graphics card in my PC. HDMI output from the switch goes to the HDMI input of my 203, which then feeds sound to both (a) my external 2-speaker audio system as well as (b) my external multi-channel headphone system. Video output from the 203 goes to my 55" LG OLED C7.

The StarTech switch is perfect for my needs, which now include 4K HDR.
Keenan and galonzo like this.
DSperber is offline  
post #29962 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 01:32 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,472
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4608 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
When playing mkv files is there a trick to getting the OPPO to remember where (when?) it was when you hit the stop button?
It works sometimes. I'll try to play attention as to the sequence.

PAUSE then HOME? I thought STOP could work, though.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #29963 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 02:02 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
I will run my Xfinity box through it.

Out of curiosity, do you have the Xfinity XG1v4 "4K" box?
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #29964 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,667
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1547 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Question for the forum. OPPO UDP-203, Sony 940E, and NVidia Shield owner here. I just recently updated my 940E firmware, and recently witnessed some unexpected behavior, I wanted to see if someone could help me understand why/how it happened and if this community thinks its related to a setting on my OPPO 203.

I bought Black Panther in 4k UHD. Played it back on my OPPO 203. The little "HDR" flag was visible when I navigated to "Picture Adjustments" on my Sony 940E. But my Sony didn't automatically drive my Brightness setting to "maximum" (100) like it normally does for an HDR source when in either CinemaHome, CinemaPro, or Custom video settings. I tried all 3. It didn't work for any. I had to do it manually.

I flipped over to my NVidia Shield, which I have connected via HDMI In on my OPPO 203, and then out the dual outputs to my Sony 940E and AVR in parallel. With my Shield set to output 4K BT.2020 4:2:0 10-bit, I flipped a Netflix "HDR" stream on (Marvel Avengers, I think), and not only got the same "HDR" flag in my "Picture Adjustments" window, but also got an "HDR-10" popup in the top right corner of the screen as the stream began. And unlike with my Black Panther disc, my Sony 940E clicked into "Maximum" brightness with my Sony set to CinemaHome, CinemaPro, or Custom... just as I thought it was supposed to.

Do I have something configured wrong such that a "flag" isnt' coming out of my UDP-203 telling my Sony 940E that this is an HDR-10 signal and to get "HDR" settings for maximum brightness?
psuKinger is offline  
post #29965 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,672
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3824 Post(s)
Liked: 3048
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
When playing mkv files is there a trick to getting the OPPO to remember where (when?) it was when you hit the stop button?
Pretty sure there's a setup option for "auto resume", do you have that switched on?
rdgrimes is offline  
post #29966 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
tidwelr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I just connected a Roku stick to my hdmi in on my 203. How do I access the Roku once that’s done?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tidwelr1 is online now  
post #29967 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 03:19 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,472
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4608 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by tidwelr1 View Post
I just connected a Roku stick to my hdmi in on my 203. How do I access the Roku once that’s done?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There is an INPUT button on the OPPO remote.

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #29968 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 03:21 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,472
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4608 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post

Do I have something configured wrong such that a "flag" isnt' coming out of my UDP-203 telling my Sony 940E that this is an HDR-10 signal and to get "HDR" settings for maximum brightness?
Are you sure you are getting HDR from the OPPO? What does Extended Info say under HDMI Output?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #29969 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
tidwelr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
There is an INPUT button on the OPPO remote.



-Bill


Gotcha. Will one of the usb inputs on the back of the unit power the stick? I have it plugged in that way but I’m not getting the Roku signal.

Edit: nevermind. Got it working. Backed out and tried it again...Roku menu popped up second time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tidwelr1 is online now  
post #29970 of 37056 Old 06-05-2018, 03:26 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,472
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4608 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by tidwelr1 View Post
Gotcha. Will one of the usb inputs on the back of the unit power the stick? I have it plugged in that way but I’m not getting the Roku signal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Is that how you normally power it?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off