Official Oppo UDP-205 UHD Blu-ray player Anticipation Thread - Page 38 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 541Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1138 Old 05-18-2017, 07:06 AM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,242
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 1455
Quote:
Originally Posted by justbenice View Post
I got my Oppo 205 today.


+About the sound :

Oppo 205 have better sound than the Oppo 105D. Can compare to my Mcintosh C2600 DAC, but it look like i like the Oppo 205 DAC more than the C2600 DAC.


+About the picture quality :

Disappointed ! I play the 4K HDR LG demo "Chess" in Oppo 205 to my 88KS9800, but it worst than i play that clip direct in my TV with TV Youtube. About playing the 1080p movies, Oppo 205 can't compare to Oppo 105D in anyway. Please see the attachments.

Now i do really want the Oppo 205D . I am missing my Darbee tooooooo much !

Try setting the 205D to 1080p. The color reproduction looks different which may be due to the settings in your display.


- Rich

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1138 Old 05-18-2017, 07:09 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
^^ What have you done to verify the settings in your TV -- specifically on the input you are using being fed from the 205 -- and what video format are you sending to the TV?

For the output video information, you can get that from the Info display on the 205: Press and hold Info button until the Extended Info display appears and then use Up/Down Arrow to scroll to the HDMI (Main) Output Information section.

For the TV settings, keep in mind that your TV likely has different settings for each HDMI input (and for its built-in apps), and that it also likely has entirely different settings that kick in on the input only when you are playing HDR content.

It's not clear from your post what the two pictures represent, but the differences between those two pictures have nothing to do with Darbee.

-----------------------------------------

ETA: By the way, you should be posting Owner reports and questions like this in the Owner's thread instead of in this thread. You'll have a much better chance of getting responses from folks using the OPPO with the same gear you have:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...-s-thread.html

--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 05-18-2017 at 07:14 AM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1113 of 1138 Old 05-18-2017, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
justbenice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Hi,
Please see the girl cloth, you will see how Darbee difference !

I use same picture setting in oppo 205 and 105D . Same HDMI port 1 in my TV.
HDR in Oppo is Auto, so it was never send HDR signal to TV or upscale the 1080p movies to HDR . This movie The Great Wall is pure 1080p remux mkv file.
Iv' tried a hour change all setting in oppo 205 to get the same picture quality with 105D when play 1080p , but it doesnt look well. Can't compare to 105D in anyway.

PS : Argrr. Now i see this is a "Anticipation Thread" !
Thanks !

PS : Retake the picture at same time frame and the color now corect. But i still prefer the Darbee.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3a.jpg
Views:	546
Size:	121.0 KB
ID:	2143842   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	527
Size:	147.5 KB
ID:	2143858  

Last edited by justbenice; 05-18-2017 at 07:51 AM.
justbenice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1114 of 1138 Old 05-18-2017, 09:33 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
^ I've copied your post and replied to it in the Owner's Thread for the 205.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1115 of 1138 Old 05-19-2017, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by elderion View Post
Yes and you can easily test between the two DAC systems. See which one you prefer. I like the Oppo 203 DAC over my Sony 5700ES and I can't wait to hear the Oppo 205 next week (fingers crossed).
Hi elderion,

I saw you have a 5700 ES and was hoping if you could help me with a question on setting up my 205 with 5700 ES and Dedicated Amp.

My Need : To use DAC in 205 and only use my Sony to control volume.

My Setup: I play Tidal from My Apple TV which is connected to Optical IN on OPPO. I have oppo dedicated stereo 2.0 Analog outs connected to Multi Channel In (Left and Right) of my 5700 ES. Analog outs for Center, and Surround speakers are connected from Oppo to Multi IN on 5700 ES. I have 5 RCA cables running from Pre Out on 5700 to my AMP. My Subwoofer is directly connected to Oppo out ( Have ordered an additional RCA to run the sub via AVR as well)

Problems: When I am playing stereo music, I see that all my 5.1 channels are playing and changing Settings on OPPO does not help. I tried changing Audio Processing - > Speaker config Down Mix to Left/Right and Stereo settings with no help. I they tried changing the Stereo out Settings which did not help either. How can I make only my front Left/Right speakers sing for stereo music and only play 5.1 when I am watching movies?

Also do you know if there's any re-digitizing going on in my setup and how to avoid it?

I appreciate any help you can provide. Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Sachin
hulimari is offline  
post #1116 of 1138 Old 05-19-2017, 01:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hulimari View Post
Hi elderion,

I saw you have a 5700 ES and was hoping if you could help me with a question on setting up my 205 with 5700 ES and Dedicated Amp.

My Need : To use DAC in 205 and only use my Sony to control volume.

My Setup: I play Tidal from My Apple TV which is connected to Optical IN on OPPO. I have oppo dedicated stereo 2.0 Analog outs connected to Multi Channel In (Left and Right) of my 5700 ES. Analog outs for Center, and Surround speakers are connected from Oppo to Multi IN on 5700 ES. I have 5 RCA cables running from Pre Out on 5700 to my AMP. My Subwoofer is directly connected to Oppo out ( Have ordered an additional RCA to run the sub via AVR as well)

Problems: When I am playing stereo music, I see that all my 5.1 channels are playing and changing Settings on OPPO does not help. I tried changing Audio Processing - > Speaker config Down Mix to Left/Right and Stereo settings with no help. I they tried changing the Stereo out Settings which did not help either. How can I make only my front Left/Right speakers sing for stereo music and only play 5.1 when I am watching movies?

Also do you know if there's any re-digitizing going on in my setup and how to avoid it?

I appreciate any help you can provide. Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Sachin
ah, I see I ended up posting in Anicipation thread instead of Owners thread. I will go ahead post this in owner's thread
hulimari is offline  
post #1117 of 1138 Old 06-13-2017, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I know that this is a very elementary question, but I want to get this right. My receiver does not have HDMI inputs. Will I be running DVD audio through the analog outputs or digital (toslink) outputs?
Stealth Vater is offline  
post #1118 of 1138 Old 06-13-2017, 08:38 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
^ I'll copy your question and reply in the 205 Owner's Thread.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1119 of 1138 Old 10-01-2017, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Its been a long time since I have visited these forums and was wondering if the UDP-205 is a good replacement for my 105D if I am watching movies 50% of the time and listening to my DVD-A disks 50% of the time? I know the 4k is a big upgrade, I guess what I am asking is will I lose my sound quality in any way?

Samsung 75” 4k UHD 8550 (SEK3500) | Oppo UDP-205 | Paradigm Studio 100's v5 (Mains Bi-amped) | Paradigm Studio CC-690 v5 (Center) | Paradigm ADP-590 v5 (Back) | SVS PB13-Ultra (x2) | Marantz AV-7702 mkII pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-3, XPA-5 | Harmony Ultimate Home Remote | Apple 4k TV (x2)

Last edited by DenonLover; 10-01-2017 at 08:48 PM.
DenonLover is offline  
post #1120 of 1138 Old 10-01-2017, 08:51 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
^ You would lose the Internet apps (such as Netflix), 1 of the 2 HDMI Inputs, and Darbee processing.

You would gain the next generation DACs for Analog output, faster performance, and, of course, the new features of the 205 which are not directly relevant to your current usage. Things like UHD (4K) disc playback and the ability of the player to act as a ROON (media streaming) client.
--Bob
DenonLover likes this.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1121 of 1138 Old 10-01-2017, 10:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ You would lose the Internet apps (such as Netflix), 1 of the 2 HDMI Inputs, and Darbee processing.

You would gain the next generation DACs for Analog output, faster performance, and, of course, the new features of the 205 which are not directly relevant to your current usage. Things like UHD (4K) disc playback and the ability of the player to act as a ROON (media streaming) client.
--Bob
Ok, it does not look like a worthwhile upgrade given my needs and I am guessing I might lose Tidal app which I use daily.

Samsung 75” 4k UHD 8550 (SEK3500) | Oppo UDP-205 | Paradigm Studio 100's v5 (Mains Bi-amped) | Paradigm Studio CC-690 v5 (Center) | Paradigm ADP-590 v5 (Back) | SVS PB13-Ultra (x2) | Marantz AV-7702 mkII pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-3, XPA-5 | Harmony Ultimate Home Remote | Apple 4k TV (x2)
DenonLover is offline  
post #1122 of 1138 Old 10-02-2017, 06:02 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
^ There is no built in support for Tidal. Folks in the Owners Thread report using Roon (from a computer) to push Tidal playback to their 205s. The other alternative would be to attach a streaming device to the HDMI Input of the 205.
—Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1123 of 1138 Old 10-02-2017, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ There is no built in support for Tidal. Folks in the Owners Thread report using Roon (from a computer) to push Tidal playback to their 205s. The other alternative would be to attach a streaming device to the HDMI Input of the 205.
—Bob
Bob, I bought Roon for my Ayre QX-5 Twenty and was surprised when it showed the Oppo 205 as an alternate player. I haven't tried it, though.

db
dbphd is offline  
post #1124 of 1138 Old 10-02-2017, 11:31 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
^ The Roon client support in the 203 and 205 is brand new.
—Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1125 of 1138 Old 10-02-2017, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
marky301067's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Scotland. UK.
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I’m having major lip syn problems with my 205, I have tried adjusting lip sync on my oppo and receiver and it doesn’t seem to fix it, is there something that I haven't got set up properly that might be causing this? It’s happening with all formats that I’m playing, it is really ruining my viewing.
marky301067 is offline  
post #1126 of 1138 Old 10-02-2017, 02:24 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
^ You’ll get more help if you ask this in the Owner’s Thread for the 205.
—Bob
marky301067 likes this.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1127 of 1138 Old 12-17-2017, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New UDP-205 owner-Opinion&question

Afternoon folks
I moved from a $500 Samsung to Oppose 103D, the improvements the 103D made were not minor in the least, enjoyed the 103D for a couple years until a few days ago.
Acquired a UDP-205
The quality so far, out of the box, is a significant improvement in every way over the 103D.

I'm not having any success when attempting to use Tidal via the Oppo remote from iPhone6S, I had to force the 205 IP address cause the app wouldn't autowind my 205(it was connected via wire to my network), then the App warned me that I need to upgrade the firmware to 79-0711B or later however the firmware is already upgraded to UDP20x-54-1127.
Once I just push "remind me later" the app opens, I can browse music, but it won't play a single track.
Anyone else experience this?
Thank You
super2kc is offline  
post #1128 of 1138 Old 12-17-2017, 01:03 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
Quote:
Originally Posted by super2kc View Post
Afternoon folks
I moved from a $500 Samsung to Oppose 103D, the improvements the 103D made were not minor in the least, enjoyed the 103D for a couple years until a few days ago.
Acquired a UDP-205
The quality so far, out of the box, is a significant improvement in every way over the 103D.

I'm not having any success when attempting to use Tidal via the Oppo remote from iPhone6S, I had to force the 205 IP address cause the app wouldn't autowind my 205(it was connected via wire to my network), then the App warned me that I need to upgrade the firmware to 79-0711B or later however the firmware is already upgraded to UDP20x-54-1127.
Once I just push "remind me later" the app opens, I can browse music, but it won't play a single track.
Anyone else experience this?
Thank You
The UDP-205 does not support any Internet apps at present, including Tidal.

By the way, you should switch to OPPO's MediaControl 20x app (for iOS or Android). It's different from their MediaControl app for the 10x players.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1129 of 1138 Old 12-17-2017, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The UDP-205 does not support any Internet apps at present, including Tidal.

By the way, you should switch to OPPO's MediaControl 20x app (for iOS or Android). It's different from their MediaControl app for the 10x players.
--Bob
Thanks for the quick reply Bob
I did just discover the new 20x remote software, very disappointing that the 205 can't be used as a stand alone Tidal streamer, guess I'll have to keep and use the 103D for the streaming
super2kc is offline  
post #1130 of 1138 Old 02-10-2018, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
xirtam2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^^ On my last point above, I should make a comment about the DTS Neo:6 feature in the OPPO (both in the 203 and 205).

This is digital surround sound processing which can be applied to stereo content (only), to raise it to multi-channel. The resulting multi-channel output will ONLY be available on the multi-channel Analog outs (including the Dedicated Stereo L/R if you are using Stereo Signal FRONT LEFT/RIGHT because you have wired them as part of your multi-channel Analog hookup).

It is the ONLY surround sound processing currently offered in the OPPO.

My testing of this DTS Neo:6 Mode processing shows it to be greatly improved over the same feature found in OPPO's 10x players. It sounds much less "processed". I don't know exactly what OPPO did to improve it, but it certainly worked.

But keep in mind there's a downside to using this feature. When DTS Neo:6 Mode is active -- i.e., set to either Music or Cinema while 2-channel content is being played -- the digital audio signal path in the OPPO is limited to 44.1kHz or 48kHz (depending on the rate of the content you are playing).

This affects both the Digital audio outputs of the player and what gets sent to the DACs for conversion to Analog output.

So if you are playing LPCM 2.0 192kHz audio with DTS Neo:6 Mode set to MUSIC, the audio will actually go through the player as 48kHz. Both for the Digital outs and for what gets sent to the DACs.

The upshot is that you should leave DTS Neo:6 Mode set to OFF unless and until you actually want to use it.

But when you DO want to use it -- and again this will only ever be for folks using the multi-channel Analog outputs -- I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. Give it a try!
--Bob
It's good to know that Oppo included this useful feature in the 205.
xirtam2005 is offline  
post #1131 of 1138 Old 02-13-2018, 04:38 AM
Member
 
THXTEX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by super2kc View Post
very disappointing that the 205 can't be used as a stand alone Tidal streamer
I have added a ChromeCast Audio to my UDP-205. It is connected via the optical IN and powered by one of the USB ports on the Oppo. This way i can use Spotify, Tidal and lot of other services.

UE55F9005 - SEK-3500U/ZG
OPPO UDP-205EU
ROTEL RB980 + RB985 poweramps
3 Miller & Kreisel MP150 + 2 S150T speakers + 2 V12 subs
THXTEX1 is offline  
post #1132 of 1138 Old 02-13-2018, 06:45 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,672
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 2122
if you are an owner, please use the owner's thread.
Bill Mac likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #1133 of 1138 Old 06-15-2018, 06:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaellsv View Post
You not supposed to share the link, that link only buys one player and then it's dead.

Dedicated stereo outputs have a separate dedicated power rails/supply that provide more juice to 2.0 outputs while avoiding digital circuitry of 7.1 as much as possible for better, cleaner 2.0 listening experience.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
But can you connect both the rca dedicated stereo outputs and the XLR outputs at the same time? eg XLR out to dedicated headphone amp and rca to avr FL/FR, both then taking advantage of the superior sound from the stereo outs.
SwindonB is offline  
post #1134 of 1138 Old 06-15-2018, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,524
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2245 Post(s)
Liked: 3505
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwindonB View Post
But can you connect both the rca dedicated stereo outputs and the XLR outputs at the same time? eg XLR out to dedicated headphone amp and rca to avr FL/FR, both then taking advantage of the superior sound from the stereo outs.
You can connect both sets of analog outputs as you suggested.

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE (preamp), SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Marantz SA-10, Oppo UDP-205, UDP-203, BDP-105, BDP-103, BDP-93, BDP-83, Panasonic TC-P60GT50, Panamax 5100EX, Salk HT2-TLs, Salk 1801b center, Salk 1801TL (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #1135 of 1138 Old 06-15-2018, 06:49 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwindonB View Post
But can you connect both the rca dedicated stereo outputs and the XLR outputs at the same time? eg XLR out to dedicated headphone amp and rca to avr FL/FR, both then taking advantage of the superior sound from the stereo outs.
Yes, you can connect both at the same time. Keep in mind the Volume control will apply to both of them, as will things like your choice of Stereo Signal setting (which configures their output).
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1136 of 1138 Old 06-23-2018, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
[...] One additional confusion here: Some AVRs offer various types of value added processing even for audio which comes into them as Analog audio. For some AVRs this is only true for Stereo Analog audio. For others -- typically the higher end of AVRs -- this is also offered for multi-channel Analog audio.

The thing to keep in mind is that any such value added processing in the AVR is done *DIGITALLY*. Which means the Analog input (coming in from the Analog outputs of the player), must first be "re-digitized" by the AVR into LPCM Digital audio. Then it gets processed. Then the result of that gets Converted BACK to Analog audio to send on to your speakers. And that LAST step uses the DACs in the AVR!

So if you have your AVR set to do such processing on Stereo or multi-channel Analog input, you've got the DACs of the player converting the Digital audio track (from the content you are playing) to Analog, then the AVR re-digitizing that back to Digital, then the DACs in the AVR Converting the now-processed Digital audio BACK to Analog again. The digital processing in the AVR aside, that re-digitizing of the Analog input back to Digital and subsequent second Conversion of that Digital audio back to Analog are both steps that can reduce the quality of the audio -- or at the very least conceal the high quality of the Analog audio coming out of the player's DACs.

SO, what all this means is that if you are using the Analog outputs of the OPPO you either need to believe the re-digitizing and DACs in the AVR are equally high quality, or you have to set the AVR to *BYPASS* any such processing.

[...] --Bob
Hi Bob,

I'm a little confused ... my AVR is a Yamaha RX A-2070 but can't find out if there is a pure analog section to bypass the DACs in the AVR?

best regards
Erwin
Erwin2017 is offline  
post #1137 of 1138 Old 06-23-2018, 09:23 PM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erwin2017 View Post
Hi Bob,

I'm a little confused ... my AVR is a Yamaha RX A-2070 but can't find out if there is a pure analog section to bypass the DACs in the AVR?

best regards
Erwin


Page 83 of your User Manual describes a "Pure Direct" Mode.
https://usa.yamaha.com/files/downloa...BGLF_En_A0.pdf

Great Thread here on what it actually does...........especially Diagram shown in Post #11
http://forums.stevehoffman.tv/thread...direct.301044/
Looks like you are in luck!!!!

On a side note there was a Firmware Update (Ver 2.58) for your machine back in 2014 in case you were unaware and wish to install it.
https://au.yamaha.com/en/products/au...downloads.html

Happy listening.

Last edited by linger63; 06-23-2018 at 09:39 PM.
linger63 is offline  
post #1138 of 1138 Old 11-29-2019, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Using Oppo BDP 205 as a pre amp

Bob:

In an older thread you wrote:

"The first thing you would look for is whether the inputs of the power amp have high impedance. Just compare the typical input impedance of quality pre-amps and a range of power amps and you'll see what I mean."


Does that mean to look for a power amp with a high input impedance? My Odyssey Audio mono extreme has an input impedance of 22k ohm. Is that high or low?


You also wrote:

"It's also important that the gain of the power amp not be so high that you have to use low values of the Volume control in the 205 to get a comfortable listening level."


I saw amps with gains of 23dB and 29dB. Is the first one low and the second high? What is the range of low or high?
lexiconaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off