OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 11 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 25446Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 360
OK ... I'm going to back pedal. I only personally tried True HD in a MKV with DLNA. Another forum poster tried it with USB.

I just tried several TrueHD MKV test files (H265, H264) with USB ... and ran into the same issue with audio not supported on the TrueHD track .... but was able to play the DD 5.1 Core .... Sooo, not sure about this now !!


TrueHD works in m2ts containers for both USB and DLNA.

Last edited by apw2607; 03-03-2017 at 05:50 PM.
apw2607 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Netflix seems to have started using this info menu again. I have at least three devices where the Netflix info display came back this week. The only difference I noticed was that the bitrate is now in Mbps instead of Kbps.
Good!

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #303 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 3,092
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1559 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan webster View Post
Has anyone used the hdr to sdr setting with a projector? I have a jvc rs500 and am thinking about getting this player. My samsung 8500 is nice but it does not do that .conversions I currently use an hd fury integral to do this .
Ditto. I also would like to know if this is possible.
johnson636 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #304 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nima's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,475
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
OK ... I'm going to back pedal. I only personally tried True HD in a MKV with DLNA. Another forum poster tried it with USB.

I just tried several TrueHD MKV test files (H265, H264) with USB ... and ran into the same issue with audio not supported on the TrueHD track .... but was able to play the DD 5.1 Core .... Sooo, not sure about this now !!

Code:
Complete name                            : Dolby_Conductor_Lossless_ATMOS-thedigitaltheater.mkv
Format                                   : Matroska
Format version                           : Version 4 / Version 2
File size                                : 38.4 MiB
Duration                                 : 40s 134ms

Audio
ID                                       : 2
Format                                   : TrueHD
Codec ID                                 : A_TRUEHD
Duration                                 : 40s 134ms
Bit rate mode                            : Variable
Maximum bit rate                         : 8 817 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 8 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode                         : Lossless
Default                                  : Yes
Forced                                   : No
Perhaps someone else can try this?
I would also like to know the final verdict on this True-HD mkv from USB subject.
Nima is online now  
post #305 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
robert ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 166
2D to 3D conversion???

Does the UBP-X800 have a feature that allows you to take a standard BluRay 2D, and convert it to do a 3D format like my present Sony player allows???
robert ham is offline  
post #306 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,457
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1141 Post(s)
Liked: 417
It does not appear that this player supports 3D.... More so since Sony dropped 3D on their TVs...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #307 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nima View Post
I would also like to know the final verdict on this True-HD mkv from USB subject.
Ok. Final verdict. I got it to work !

The only thing. You can't use MKV containers. You have to use M2TS containers instead. Then TrueHD will playback fine either from USB or DLNA.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6007.jpg
Views:	470
Size:	116.2 KB
ID:	2004337   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6008.jpg
Views:	436
Size:	114.5 KB
ID:	2004345  
Nima and CaptinCrunch like this.
apw2607 is offline  
post #308 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
robert ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 166
It Does

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
It does not appear that this player supports 3D.... More so since Sony dropped 3D on their TVs...
Yes, this player will play 3D BluRays that is clear, not sure about the 2D to 3D conversion..
aaronwt likes this.
robert ham is offline  
post #309 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
robert ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Demo

Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Ok. Final verdict. I got it to work !

The only thing. You can't use MKV containers. You have to use M2TS containers instead. Then TrueHD will playback fine either from USB or DLNA.
Where did you get the DEMO from???
robert ham is offline  
post #310 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert ham View Post
Yes, this player will play 3D BluRays that is clear, not sure about the 2D to 3D conversion..
X800 plays 3D movies but does not convert 2D to 3D.
aaronwt and Bob539 like this.

Sony 75X900F / MediaLight Quad 6500K
Sony X800
Denon X4400H / Outlaw 5000 (5.2.4 Atmos) AIRCOM T9
Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, Klipsch RS-52 II, Klipsch RP-500SA
SVS PB-3000 x2
CaptinCrunch is offline  
post #311 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Here is the link to the Sony X800 support page. You can download the manual and check for firmware updates.

https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model...ls#/manualsTab
aaronwt and apw2607 like this.

Sony 75X900F / MediaLight Quad 6500K
Sony X800
Denon X4400H / Outlaw 5000 (5.2.4 Atmos) AIRCOM T9
Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, Klipsch RS-52 II, Klipsch RP-500SA
SVS PB-3000 x2
CaptinCrunch is offline  
post #312 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert ham View Post
Where did you get the DEMO from???
You can download the demo here
apw2607 is offline  
post #313 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,829
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 1391
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nima View Post
I would also like to know the final verdict on this True-HD mkv from USB subject.
Ok. Final verdict. I got it to work !

The only thing. You can't use MKV containers. You have to use M2TS containers instead. Then TrueHD will playback fine either from USB or DLNA.
How do you convert it to m2ts, I have a hard time converting some via TSmuxer, it wouldn't even read the files.
b0rnarian is offline  
post #314 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Looks good in the proper scenes. In certain scenes like the library I saw some softness and odd blacks, but if you read the High Def Digest review and the Blu-ray dot com review, that was in the source, so my first experience seems accurate to what the viewer saw. The player is fast and moves around menu's well.

I am starting to think Blu-rays look a little flat after watching 3 HDR movies in a row though. Dr Strange, with their spells, and the end part where he goes to another place and there are inky blacks and wild colors, HDR would have been sweet.
Thanks for the reply. I had read the blu-ray dot com review and I normally find their reviews to be accurate, but I just wanted another opinion. I finally got my HDR player so I hope to start building my HDR library. I do get the same impression on some blu-rays (any content really) after watching HDR content and then switching to an SDR source.
djpalacios91 is offline  
post #315 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
How do you convert it to m2ts, I have a hard time converting some via TSmuxer, it wouldn't even read the files.
I'll send you a PM. Bit of topic for this thread I reckon.
apw2607 is offline  
post #316 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan webster View Post
Has anyone used the hdr to sdr setting with a projector? I have a jvc rs500 and am thinking about getting this player. My samsung 8500 is nice but it does not do that .conversions I currently use an hd fury integral to do this .
I just had Chad B calibrate my jvc RS500 and received the sony x800 the next day (poor timing), I have three settings on my projector now normal 709 for regular blu ray, and HDR 2020, and SDR 2020, so far I have watched a few movies on regular blu ray and UHD HDR disc as well and everything seems to work great, I notice a big difference when I switch the projector from 709 to HDR 2020 when watching a UHD disc, hope that helps a little. haven't used the SDR setting.
cjv8350 is offline  
post #317 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
SLYDoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptinCrunch View Post
X800 plays 3D movies but does not convert 2D to 3D.
In my case, the projector is the one which does the 2D to 3D conversion. I didn't even know that this was something that was ever done in the BluRay player itself. Are there BluRay players that actually do the 2D to 3D conversion?

Not sure why I'm asking though as I haven't really seen a good use for this capability. I'm an avid 3D Blu-Ray viewer though. Just too many "quirks" with the 2D to 3D conversions that I have seen with my projector.

Regards, Steve
Projector/Receiver - Sony VPL-VW1100ES 4K PJ & Sony STR-ZA5000ES 4K Atmos AVR
Media Devices - Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BR, Sony UBP-X800 4K BR, ATV 4K, and Roku 4K
Screen - 145" Dragonfly, 1.2 Gain, 16:9, Matte White Fixed Screen
Theater Remote/Cables - Universal MX-990 RF Remote, Monoprice Certified 18Gb HDMI Cables
SLYDoggie is offline  
post #318 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
So here's a quick question, i'm not sure if someone can help or point me in the right direction. Before anything, I am going to post my Home Theater setup so that all information is available.

Sony X930D
Sony X800
Marseille mCable

So here is my observation and ensuing question:

Today I got the X800 setup and connected it to the TV via the mCable. Then I put in my Lucy 4K disc into the player and hit play. I then noticed that the TV did not automatically switch to HDR mode. I hit "display" on the X800 and it displayed that it was playing a 4K disc and it also had HDR on the upper left hand side of the display menu.

I subsequently had to manually switch my TV into HDR mode and for all intents and purposes it seemed to me like the HDR content was being displayed correctly. Now, my question lies in that, normally, the TV will automatically switch itself into HDR mode when there is HDR content being displayed (such as from Netflix, Amazon etc). Is this a result of the mCable and its interaction between the Source and the TV, is it a bug? Was I viewing the movie in HDR or SDR?

I'm a little confused, I hope someone is able to help.
djpalacios91 is offline  
post #319 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 06:45 PM
Member
 
jakline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
X800 failed - Need BestBuy return advice

When I rook the update a couple of days ago, the UI froze on the player and I got a "running internal tests—contact support" message. A power reset brought the player back.

Today I turned on the player and I had no video. If I insert a disc, I can play it; but that is the only wY I get a video signal.

So now I have a bare bones UHD player and I need some advice on how to exchange the player at Best Buy. If I order one for in-store pickup, I can get a new player March 8. If I do that, can I bring my defective player in at that time and get a refund? Anyone tried that? Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
John
jakline is offline  
post #320 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 06:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakline View Post
When I rook the update a couple of days ago, the UI froze on the player and I got a "running internal tests—contact support" message. A power reset brought the player back.

Today I turned on the player and I had no video. If I insert a disc, I can play it; but that is the only wY I get a video signal.

So now I have a bare bones UHD player and I need some advice on how to exchange the player at Best Buy. If I order one for in-store pickup, I can get a new player March 8. If I do that, can I bring my defective player in at that time and get a refund? Anyone tried that? Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
John
As long as you take in your receipt for the defective one, they should have no problems accepting your device for an exchange/return.
djpalacios91 is offline  
post #321 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakline View Post
When I rook the update a couple of days ago, the UI froze on the player and I got a "running internal tests—contact support" message. A power reset brought the player back.

Today I turned on the player and I had no video. If I insert a disc, I can play it; but that is the only wY I get a video signal.

So now I have a bare bones UHD player and I need some advice on how to exchange the player at Best Buy. If I order one for in-store pickup, I can get a new player March 8. If I do that, can I bring my defective player in at that time and get a refund? Anyone tried that? Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
John
Ok. One thing you could try to get back to the menu's is to reset the player to the lowest resolution output its capable of. Which is 480p !

Turn on the player. Wait say 60 seconds for everything to boot up.

Then on the remote hit

STOP

HOME

POP UP Menu

The player will reset the resolution to 480p. I would hope you would see a picture again.

Hope that helps ! Otherwise its a trip to BB.
apw2607 is offline  
post #322 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 07:38 PM
Member
 
bos617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Ok. One thing you could try to get back to the menu's is to reset the player to the lowest resolution output its capable of. Which is 480p !

Turn on the player. Wait say 60 seconds for everything to boot up.

Then on the remote hit

STOP

HOME

POP UP Menu

The player will reset the resolution to 480p. I would hope you would see a picture again.

Hope that helps ! Otherwise its a trip to BB.
Any ideas? Any disk I play I get "Unknown disc"
Updated the player, unplugged the player for a good 10 mins still no luck...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G928A using Tapatalk
bos617 is offline  
post #323 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
AMDman18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by djpalacios91 View Post
So here's a quick question, i'm not sure if someone can help or point me in the right direction. Before anything, I am going to post my Home Theater setup so that all information is available.

Sony X930D
Sony X800
Marseille mCable

So here is my observation and ensuing question:

Today I got the X800 setup and connected it to the TV via the mCable. Then I put in my Lucy 4K disc into the player and hit play. I then noticed that the TV did not automatically switch to HDR mode. I hit "display" on the X800 and it displayed that it was playing a 4K disc and it also had HDR on the upper left hand side of the display menu.

I subsequently had to manually switch my TV into HDR mode and for all intents and purposes it seemed to me like the HDR content was being displayed correctly. Now, my question lies in that, normally, the TV will automatically switch itself into HDR mode when there is HDR content being displayed (such as from Netflix, Amazon etc). Is this a result of the mCable and its interaction between the Source and the TV, is it a bug? Was I viewing the movie in HDR or SDR?

I'm a little confused, I hope someone is able to help.
You need to make sure "Enhanced format" is enabled for any HDMI devices capable of 4K60 or HDR. That means the port your player is plugged into. That way the TV will know to accept HDR from the HDMI port. This is not necessary for the TV's built in apps.

To do this, go to Settings->External Inputs->HDMI Signal Format.

From there you will be able to choose which HDMI ports are set to use the enhanced format. It is recommended to ONLY set inputs to Enhanced that will be connected to 4K60/HDR capable devices. After being set correctly, the TV will automatically kick into HDR when it gets and HDR signal from HDMI. You will not have to manually select anything.
AMDman18 is offline  
post #324 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
AMDman18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakline View Post
When I rook the update a couple of days ago, the UI froze on the player and I got a "running internal tests—contact support" message. A power reset brought the player back.

Today I turned on the player and I had no video. If I insert a disc, I can play it; but that is the only wY I get a video signal.

So now I have a bare bones UHD player and I need some advice on how to exchange the player at Best Buy. If I order one for in-store pickup, I can get a new player March 8. If I do that, can I bring my defective player in at that time and get a refund? Anyone tried that? Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
John
If it comes to you having to return the player, just bring it back and they will order you a new one. You don't have to purchase a new one beforehand.
AMDman18 is offline  
post #325 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Can't believe all these posts; sounds like Brain surgery is easier to operate than this Bluray player!! Jeez
fvbounty likes this.

Primary set-up 5.2.4; Yamaha A2050, Paired w/Parasound P5 & ATI 522NC 2 channel amp
Revel F206 fronts & Revel M16 rears; 2 Outlaw X12 Subs & 4 RSL C34e in-ceilings

Secondary 5.1: Denon S900W, Polk LSiM703/704C, Polk RC80i in-ceiling rears, RSL Speedwoofer 10s
yanks1 is offline  
post #326 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanks1 View Post
Can't believe all these posts; sounds like Brain surgery is easier to operate than this Bluray player!! Jeez
i think all these 4K Blu-ray players need a few firmware updates to get the bugs out. It is very typical of the product!
yanks1 likes this.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #327 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 09:12 PM
Member
 
ffo4kooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 19
x800 Failure....(temporarily)

Just finished watching Deadpool. Played great and looked great. During the credits I tried to reverse a bit and then hit the Home button on the remote by mistake. It began flashing the home screen on and off i.e., intermittent video output. Could not get it to reset (initially). Unplugged for 10 minutes tried again. Same result. Swapped HDMI cables, TV inputs etc. All paths lead to problem with the x800.

After completely unhooking it from my system, assuming it was bound for a BB return I decided to give it one more chance. About a half hour passed and I hooked it back up. Workied just like nothing was wrong. Hopefully I just confused it and for some reason it needed a long reset....

Last edited by ffo4kooch; 03-03-2017 at 09:52 PM.
ffo4kooch is offline  
post #328 of 9997 Old 03-03-2017, 10:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nima's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,475
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
I'll send you a PM. Bit of topic for this thread I reckon.
I would appreciate a PM as well.
Nima is online now  
post #329 of 9997 Old 03-04-2017, 05:44 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,675
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9820 Post(s)
Liked: 6490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
i think all these 4K Blu-ray players need a few firmware updates to get the bugs out. It is very typical of the product!
It's typical of any product nowadays.
aaronwt is offline  
post #330 of 9997 Old 03-04-2017, 05:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDman18 View Post
You need to make sure "Enhanced format" is enabled for any HDMI devices capable of 4K60 or HDR. That means the port your player is plugged into. That way the TV will know to accept HDR from the HDMI port. This is not necessary for the TV's built in apps.

To do this, go to Settings->External Inputs->HDMI Signal Format.

From there you will be able to choose which HDMI ports are set to use the enhanced format. It is recommended to ONLY set inputs to Enhanced that will be connected to 4K60/HDR capable devices. After being set correctly, the TV will automatically kick into HDR when it gets and HDR signal from HDMI. You will not have to manually select anything.
Hi,

Thank you for your response. I can confirm that my TV was set to Enhanced Format. I plugged it into HDMI 1 on my set. Yet, it still did not automatically switch to HDR mode.
djpalacios91 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4kupscale , 5040 , dsf , Epson , problem , Sony , sony ubp-x800 , streaming music , surround decode , ubp-ux80 , ubp-x1000es , x800

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off