OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 225 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 25468Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6721 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Change the HDMI cable to a premium certified cable and see if that clears it up. Discs will be played back at 24hz which is lower bandwidth. Sometimes a 60hz picture can overload the available bandwidth for the cable, not every one is the same especially for longer runs.
+1
I had the same blinking problem (NOT w/discs) & changing the cable took care of it.

Ed
old corps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6722 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post
I'm having a problem with Netflix 4K offerings showing up most of the time. The content is only shown as HD more times than not. This doesn't happen with Amazon or Netflix streaming with my Premiere+. Any suggestions appreciated!
X800-Onkyo RZ710 directly to Epson 5040ub.


Ed


To clarify--Amazon 4K streaming selections show up fine on the X800 (on the P+ as well).
No one else has encountered this?
old corps is offline  
post #6723 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 10:11 AM
Member
 
DENIJULI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CHICOUTIMI, QUÉBEC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 9
i have 2 sony x-800 uhd 4k the first quant support the power he placed some update and my second time x-800 must let me configure my internet online all times
old corps likes this.
DENIJULI is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6724 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post
No one else has encountered this?
With my X800 the 4k shows I have watched have all been in 4k. On our Sony TV though it is more inconsistent where 4k shows don't always stream in 4k. Both the X800 and the TV are hard wired. I have no idea how to solve it though perhaps if you are using wifi try wired and see if it makes a difference.
andersa is offline  
post #6725 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Gary Neuwirth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Change the HDMI cable to a premium certified cable and see if that clears it up. Discs will be played back at 24hz which is lower bandwidth. Sometimes a 60hz picture can overload the available bandwidth for the cable, not every one is the same especially for longer runs.
I had a spare 4k capable hdmi cable and that fixed the problem. I really appreciate you taking the time to help me out. My mind was thinking the cable was still good since it passed the 4k video correctly. This is why I love this site. Great community of people here.
Gary Neuwirth is offline  
post #6726 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 6,073
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2779 Post(s)
Liked: 2687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbie View Post
Two questions if someone may be so kind to answer them.

1. Should Downmix be on Stereo or Surround? (I have a receiver)

2. Does anyone know the setting to disable the player from going to a blue screen when a disc is on pause for a while? I cannot see it in the settings or manual anywhere. Maybe an oversight.
I don’t think the player has any sort of screen saver. I wish it did.

Are you sure the player is generating the blue screen and not the AVR or the display?
BGLeduc is offline  
post #6727 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Elbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post
I don’t think the player has any sort of screen saver. I wish it did.

Are you sure the player is generating the blue screen and not the AVR or the display?
I'll double check, but it's the only device that is doing it.
Elbie is offline  
post #6728 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersa View Post
With my X800 the 4k shows I have watched have all been in 4k. On our Sony TV though it is more inconsistent where 4k shows don't always stream in 4k. Both the X800 and the TV are hard wired. I have no idea how to solve it though perhaps if you are using wifi try wired and see if it makes a difference.

Good suggestion, thanks for the reply. I was going to do that initially but WIFI connected so well I never did. Easy enough to do since my router is only about 10-12' away from the player. I'll give it a try, can't hurt anything. I've got decent internet, averages 66 down & 6 up.


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #6729 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Sometimes streaming bandwidth is not the problem. I've had to restart the amazon app to get it to ramp up to UHD resolution. It starts playing 1080p and then ramps up to UHD after a few seconds usually. Sometimes I have to close the app and start it back up. This happens on multiple devices.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6730 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Zen Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,106
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Change the HDMI cable to a premium certified cable and see if that clears it up. Discs will be played back at 24hz which is lower bandwidth. Sometimes a 60hz picture can overload the available bandwidth for the cable, not every one is the same especially for longer runs.
If it's a cable situation should it/will it have the same problem on all disks, specific disks or will it be random over all media? The reason I ask is because I too had the flashing menu situation and it wasn't with a 4K title. It also cleared up after turning the player on/off and I didn't have to unplug it. Fwiw, just as the OP we've played about 20 4K disks without the flashing incident but have had the player lock up on two 4K titles we had played before. On that note, we have a short 3 ft run and if it isn't experiencing a problem does that mean the other 4K material is coming across as 24hz verses 60 Hz?
Zen Traveler is offline  
post #6731 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,841
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 717 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Why can't we add custom apps to a X800? Is it only the purview of Sony on what apps we can receive? Plus, why would the Amazon TV app be available on the X800 in the USA but not Cda?
cdnscg is online now  
post #6732 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Traveler View Post
If it's a cable situation should it/will it have the same problem on all disks, specific disks or will it be random over all media? The reason I ask is because I too had the flashing menu situation and it wasn't with a 4K title. It also cleared up after turning the player on/off and I didn't have to unplug it. Fwiw, just as the OP we've played about 20 4K disks without the flashing incident but have had the player lock up on two 4K titles we had played before. On that note, we have a short 3 ft run and if it isn't experiencing a problem does that mean the other 4K material is coming across as 24hz verses 60 Hz?


It is random sometimes. With an old player I had, I would lose sync and get a black screen for a second during movie playback. It could play a movie with no problem and the next one will do it. No rhyme or reason to it.

All discs are 24hz, the main player menu is 60hz, netflix is 60hz at the menu and most content is 24hz, I have to verify amazon on the X800 because I don’t use it there as it doesn’t support hdr, I use an Nvidia Shield.
RIppolito likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6733 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Zen Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,106
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 701
@cmdrdredd Thanks for the response and good to know about the menu resolution. I'm still not convinced that everything that is being reported is a HDMI cable certification issue, but if the flashing thing does become a problem I will definitely give that a try.
Zen Traveler is offline  
post #6734 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 04:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Traveler View Post
@cmdrdredd Thanks for the response and good to know about the menu resolution. I'm still not convinced that everything that is being reported is a HDMI cable certification issue, but if the flashing thing does become a problem I will definitely give that a try.


It’s the easiest thing to check IMO. Swap the cable, then check that the AVR (if you use one) is not the hang up by going directly to the tv, then you can eliminate the major culprits 99% of the time I think.
RIppolito likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6735 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Zen Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,106
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
It’s the easiest thing to check IMO. Swap the cable, then check that the AVR (if you use one) is not the hang up by going directly to the tv, then you can eliminate the major culprits 99% of the time I think.
Sure. I've owned the player for about 8 months and it has only happened two or three times and switching on/off the player rectified it--If it starts happening more or doesn't correct the problem I will definitely order some new cables. That said, I am more concerned with the two times it wouldn't play 4K disks. I really need to have a 4K binge weekend before my warranty runs out to see if that situation pops back up and appreciate the advice. {Note: Btw, I am sending the audio to the AVR and the video to the TV}
cmdrdredd likes this.
Zen Traveler is offline  
post #6736 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,855
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3038 Post(s)
Liked: 2129
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Why can't we add custom apps to a X800? Is it only the purview of Sony on what apps we can receive? Plus, why would the Amazon TV app be available on the X800 in the USA but not Cda?
Design.
Yes.
Completely different services.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is online now  
post #6737 of 10097 Old 01-06-2018, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
madaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbie View Post
Two questions if someone may be so kind to answer them.

1. Should Downmix be on Stereo or Surround? (I have a receiver)
Depends entirely on how many speakers you have. If only front left and right, Stereo. If you have a 5.1 speaker set-up, you will want 7.1 discs to down-mix to 5.1
RIppolito and Elbie like this.
madaudio is offline  
post #6738 of 10097 Old 01-07-2018, 05:40 AM
Member
 
CharlieU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbie View Post

2. Does anyone know the setting to disable the player from going to a blue screen when a disc is on pause for a while? I cannot see it in the settings or manual anywhere. Maybe an oversight.

The blue screen must be your TV. The couple of times I left the player on pause too long, it shut down. My OLED then goes to a black screen and eventually a slide show to prevent burn in. A good thing. Turning the player back on resumes the movie.
RIppolito and Elbie like this.
CharlieU is offline  
post #6739 of 10097 Old 01-07-2018, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Can someone verify the bit depth sent with disc playback at various settings? Auto color space and auto deep color for me gives banding. Auto bit depth and deep color off is no banding but it appears to be outputting the same picture. I still get HDR either way. Bit depth set to 4:2:2 and deep color to auto gives no banding either. Each time my AVR never says I'm getting 10bit but rather a --- notation which with other players indicated 12bit (my old philips player had an expanded playback info menu which verified 12bit 4:2:2 output). The thing is I read previously that with the x800 turning deep color off won't send HDR signals which appears incorrect.
RIppolito likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6740 of 10097 Old 01-07-2018, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Dallas,Texas USA
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1071 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Traveler View Post
Sure. I've owned the player for about 8 months and it has only happened two or three times and switching on/off the player rectified it--If it starts happening more or doesn't correct the problem I will definitely order some new cables. That said, I am more concerned with the two times it wouldn't play 4K disks. I really need to have a 4K binge weekend before my warranty runs out to see if that situation pops back up and appreciate the advice. {Note: Btw, I am sending the audio to the AVR and the video to the TV}
You appear to be having a handshake issue. I would just swap out the cables and watch movies without any further worries. Monoprice cables that many on here recommend and use are around 10 dollars.
Sharp1080 is offline  
post #6741 of 10097 Old 01-07-2018, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,855
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3038 Post(s)
Liked: 2129
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
The thing is I read previously that with the x800 turning deep color off won't send HDR signals which appears incorrect.
I'm 99% sure I don't have deep color turned on, but I am getting HDR, no problem. I'll try to double check next time I am at my machine.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is online now  
post #6742 of 10097 Old 01-07-2018, 05:26 PM
Member
 
ez1dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: st.louis
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Netflix has Atmos only on a couple devices at this time. I am unaware if amazon does at all but I think no. I don’t think it has anything to do with the device. Maybe at some point it will be extended to all current platforms that support Atmos including the X800 but amazon doesn’t yet have hdr support on the X800 unfortunately.
Thanks for answering my question!
ez1dog is offline  
post #6743 of 10097 Old 01-07-2018, 10:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I think mine just died, only 2 months old...LMAO what a piece of ****.
Bauss117 is offline  
post #6744 of 10097 Old 01-08-2018, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,872
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 324
This was probably answered before however, can anyone tell me if the x800 has a display showing things like elapsed time and other things. TIA
spyboy is offline  
post #6745 of 10097 Old 01-08-2018, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,941
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post
This was probably answered before however, can anyone tell me if the x800 has a display showing things like elapsed time and other things. TIA
Yes, just hit display.
Hetfieldjames likes this.

LG 77C9PUB + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #6746 of 10097 Old 01-08-2018, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
RIppolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post
This was probably answered before however, can anyone tell me if the x800 has a display showing things like elapsed time and other things. TIA
If you are referring to a display on the front panel...no, it does not.
RIppolito is offline  
post #6747 of 10097 Old 01-08-2018, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
SLYDoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post
This was probably answered before however, can anyone tell me if the x800 has a display showing things like elapsed time and other things. TIA
There is not a display on the physical unit itself but there is a "display" button on the remote to show it on the screen when playing a disc. It will also show other things like 1080 vs 4K, sound bit rate, frame rate, and etc.

The "display" button has different uses on the various streaming apps as it is up to the app to determine that function.
old corps likes this.

Regards, Steve
Projector/Receiver - Sony VPL-VW1100ES 4K PJ & Sony STR-ZA5000ES 4K Atmos AVR
Media Devices - Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BR, Sony UBP-X800 4K BR, ATV 4K, and Roku 4K
Screen - 145" Dragonfly, 1.2 Gain, 16:9, Matte White Fixed Screen
Theater Remote/Cables - Universal MX-990 RF Remote, Monoprice Certified 18Gb HDMI Cables
SLYDoggie is offline  
post #6748 of 10097 Old 01-08-2018, 10:54 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,956
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9984 Post(s)
Liked: 6653
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Can someone verify the bit depth sent with disc playback at various settings? Auto color space and auto deep color for me gives banding. Auto bit depth and deep color off is no banding but it appears to be outputting the same picture. I still get HDR either way. Bit depth set to 4:2:2 and deep color to auto gives no banding either. Each time my AVR never says I'm getting 10bit but rather a --- notation which with other players indicated 12bit (my old philips player had an expanded playback info menu which verified 12bit 4:2:2 output). The thing is I read previously that with the x800 turning deep color off won't send HDR signals which appears incorrect.
With Auto I get 444 at 12 bit from my X800. I don't have banding with my Sony TV. Unfortunately Sony never added a 10 bit option like they should have. Which would help with some UHD TVs which show banding with 12 bit.

And the x800 doesn't have Dolby Vision. So there really is no need for 12 bit output. It should be output at 10 bit since the HDR10 content is only 10 bit. And you need 10bit or higher output to properly display the Wide Color gamut.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 01-08-2018 at 10:59 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #6749 of 10097 Old 01-08-2018, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
With Auto I get 444 at 12 bit from my X800. I don't have banding with my Sony TV. Unfortunately Sony never added a 10 bit option like they should have. Which would help with some UHD TVs which show banding with 12 bit.

And the x800 doesn't have Dolby Vision. So there really is no need for 12 bit output. It should be output at 10 bit since the HDR10 content is only 10 bit. And you need 10bit or higher output to properly display the Wide Color gamut.
So it appears setting the bit depth to 4:2:2 will always output 12bit 4:2:2 regardless of the deep color setting which has no banding from 24hz sources on my TV. Auto bit depth appears to be 4:4:4 with deep color on or 4:2:2 with deep color off because with 12bit 4:4:4 I get banding and 4:2:2 none. With a 60hz source at 12bit 4:2:2 I can get some banding. I verified with netflix passed as 12bit 4:2:2 at 60hz from a different source while the x800 is 24hz output. The x800 doesn't have banding while the other source will. I was just trying to verify the output to select the best one for my TV. A new TV model wouldn't have these problems I'm sure.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6750 of 10097 Old 01-08-2018, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York City
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 220
In just about 15 minutes from now....

Live SONY stream at CES 2018
aflorida is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4kupscale , 5040 , amazon prime video , dsf , Epson , problem , Sony , sony bdp-x800 , sony ubp-x800 , streaming music , surround decode , ubp-ux80 , ubp-x1000es , x800

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off