OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 25396Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboi View Post
"Sorry no matches"

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
badboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: East of the Sun, West of the Moon (Home Farm, Emme
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
"Sorry no matches"

For SD-DVD there's a free, simple,...

For SD-DVD there's a free, simple, no-hardware-needed solution for enabling Region Free called the "Super Disc". You burn a disc from an ISO file and insert it in the player once, and you are all...



Been using an external region free mod for many...

Been using an external region free mod for many weeks on my 203. It works fine. No smoke from the ports. (cough cough) and no behavior that is unexpected.


I see there are region free mods available for...

I see there are region free mods available for the 203 but they are like twice the price. I have read that the 103 ones work with the 203. I emailed one of the sellers and was told there are "logic.



The external region free mod which I linked in a previous post is intended for the OPPO 103 and works on the [email protected] less than half the cost.


I have that one too, the 103 version, and it...

Just do a search. All I'm saying.

badboi is offline  
post #663 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
LMAO, do you even understand hardware mods? The external region free is a HW mod





Moving on...

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #664 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboi View Post
For SD-DVD there's a free, simple,...

For SD-DVD there's a free, simple, no-hardware-needed solution for enabling Region Free called the "Super Disc". You burn a disc from an ISO file and insert it in the player once, and you are all...



Been using an external region free mod for many...

Been using an external region free mod for many weeks on my 203. It works fine. No smoke from the ports. (cough cough) and no behavior that is unexpected.


I see there are region free mods available for...

I see there are region free mods available for the 203 but they are like twice the price. I have read that the 103 ones work with the 203. I emailed one of the sellers and was told there are "logic.



The external region free mod which I linked in a previous post is intended for the OPPO 103 and works on the [email protected] less than half the cost.


I have that one too, the 103 version, and it...

Just do a search. All I'm saying.



Every one of those posts with the exception of the first (SuperDisc) references HARDWARE MODS, not firmware.

______________
LG OLED65E6P | Yamaha RX-A2080 | Oppo UDP-203 | Panasonic DP-UB820
My Media Collection
dpippel is online now  
post #665 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
badboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: East of the Sun, West of the Moon (Home Farm, Emme
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
LMAO, do you even understand hardware mods? The external region free is a HW mod





Moving on...
There are plenty more where it was discussed throughout the threads. I wasn't going to list them all. Anyhow, just pointing out that hardware and software mods are discussed there.
badboi is offline  
post #666 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:03 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,965
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9320 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
As long as the X800 plays region A I am fine. I have other means of playing discs from other regions if I need too. Plus the UHD BDs are region free. Which is mainly what I will be using with the X800. Although I will probably play more 2K BDs with it. But only because I won't be able to have my Sony S6500 in the same room as the X800.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #667 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
dcunia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Upstate new york
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhickey View Post
My issue is the 675 won't pass through newer 4K video, so I'm running the video straight to the TV. Still want the second HDMI to run audio to the receiver, unless I'm not using it. The manual for the X800 said if the HDMI audio settings are set to auto, if it doesn't detect an HDMI connection, it will automatically pass audio through the HDMI 1 to the TV which would be great. Hoping if the receiver is off and in standby mode, the X800 will not detect a connection and pass the audio to HDMI 1. But you reminded me that the input has to be correctly set on the 675 when in standby, so maybe ensuring the input is set to something else will tell the X800 there's no connection. I guess I'll have to try some trial and error. The only option would be to use the digital coax for audio, which would be less desirable. Thanks!
I originally had my 800 video on HDMI1 feeding my Sony X900C and the audio via HDMI2 going to the A1020 for the same 4k issue mentioned. My configuration to this point had been using the A1020 as a video switcher. In that config, I had the TV hooked up via the ARC connection. The issue I ran into was that when I used the menu or skip a chapter, the Receiver would switch from the BD input to the TV input. Very annoying.

The solution appears to be sending both Video and Audio through HDMI1 from the X800 to the TV and then the audio pass from the TV to the A1020. I can play everything on the X800 except SACD, which if I want to play, I then go into settings on the X800 and send the audio through HDMI2.

I appear to be getting the full audio feed from the X800 via the X900C into the A1020. The receiver is playing back multi channels and the display indicates TrueHD on the discs I play this way.

I couldn't find anything about the X900C which would indicate that it is not passing the full audio feed via HDMI. Does anyone see any issue with this new config? TIA
dcunia is offline  
post #668 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2044 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
^ ^ Lets just move on guys.

PS: has Sony received only one FW so far? Hoping for the next one to crank up all the gazillion apps their older players got.

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!

Last edited by b0rnarian; 03-10-2017 at 12:07 PM.
b0rnarian is online now  
post #669 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:16 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,965
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9320 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
I'm hoping BestBuy doesn't sell out of the X800 before I get a chance to stop by this evening. I could go through BestBuy.com, but i would rather pick it up in the store since it's easier to price match at the store later if I need to. While I can't do that with a BB.com order.(or at least that has been my experience in the past)

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #670 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JT78681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 3,419
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1510 Post(s)
Liked: 1059
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I'm hoping BestBuy doesn't sell out of the X800 before I get a chance to stop by this evening. I could go through BestBuy.com, but i would rather pick it up in the store since it's easier to price match at the store later if I need to. While I can't do that with a BB.com order.(or at least that has been my experience in the past)
Can you not buy online and opt to pick up at your local BB? That's what I typically do.

Display - LG OLED
Receiver - Denon
Speakers - Klipsch
Subs - Rythmik
JT78681 is offline  
post #671 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Netflix 4k

Posted this a few days ago

Im not sure whats going on here, but everything else on this player works just fine, UHD HDR Blurays. But for some reason when I load Netflix I can't get 4k to work. It shows me the Ultra HD Category however when I select the show I only get the HD icon next to the show information. This is through a projector and Receiver

I've tried it with different cables as well at main location with the same results. Moved it to a TV with Receiver and it works fine.

Like I said not sure why its doing what its doing as I've had my Samsung UHD player with same cable running Netflix 4k, and I'm running my UHD blur ays HDRs no problem
oghabib28 is offline  
post #672 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Can you describe the judder you are seeing in more detail ? Is this motion judder or something else? Have you tried other content on the player at different frame rates. Tried turning off 24p output?
It's hard to explain but like I said very subtle and is almost barely noticeable. It is not a skip or stutter but more of a slight change in the smoothness of motion. I haven't had time to recheck the same scenes to see if its the scene or random so I haven't played with the 24p settings either which I will do the next chance I have time and I notice it.

Sony XBR-65X930E (w/luminoodle)/Sony UBP-X700/Apple TV 4K/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X
Denon AVR-X6200W(Surround/Height)/Emotiva XPA-3(L/C/R)/AC Infinity Aircom T8 x2
DefTech SM 65 x3(L/C/R)/DefTech PM 1000 x4(Surround)/DefTech DI5.5R x4(Atmos/DTS X)
SVS PC-2000 x2(Subs)/Panamax M4300-PM(Main) & MD2(Subs)/Logitech Harmony Elite
aKa DaShiznit is offline  
post #673 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:47 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,965
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9320 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT78681 View Post
Can you not buy online and opt to pick up at your local BB? That's what I typically do.
Yes you can. But then it is a BB.com order. Which is technically different than the Brick and Mortar BestBuy order. So when I need to price match later, it's more of a pain dealing with BB.com to price match than with a local store.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #674 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 5,657
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by oghabib28 View Post
Posted this a few days ago

Im not sure whats going on here, but everything else on this player works just fine, UHD HDR Blurays. But for some reason when I load Netflix I can't get 4k to work. It shows me the Ultra HD Category however when I select the show I only get the HD icon next to the show information. This is through a projector and Receiver

I've tried it with different cables as well at main location with the same results. Moved it to a TV with Receiver and it works fine.

Like I said not sure why its doing what its doing as I've had my Samsung UHD player with same cable running Netflix 4k, and I'm running my UHD blur ays HDRs no problem
It helps a lot if you list your gear. It looks like your receiver or cables are the culprits. A Pioneer receiver , for example, doesn't have all the HDMI ports 2.0a, just 3 of them. 4K HDR requires HDMI 2.0a and a CERTIFIED 18Gz cable. The fact you have already changed cables doesn't mean you have the right one.

I was so happy without HDR...
slimoli is offline  
post #675 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
It helps a lot if you list your gear. It looks like your receiver or cables are the culprits. A Pioneer receiver , for example, doesn't have all the HDMI ports 2.0a, just 3 of them. 4K HDR requires HDMI 2.0a and a CERTIFIED 18Gz cable. The fact you have already changed cables doesn't mean you have the right one.
Yamaha CX-A5100
Sony VPL-VW675es

And like I said in previous post my 4k HDR bluray works just fine, the only problem I'm getting is in Netflix. Im getting the UltraHD category to show up, however when I select the show it only shows HD by the picture. And when I had my Samsung UHD player Plugged into this exact same cable the Netflix worked perfectly in UHD
oghabib28 is offline  
post #676 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 5,657
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by oghabib28 View Post
Yamaha CX-A5100
Sony VPL-VW675es

And like I said in previous post my 4k HDR bluray works just fine, the only problem I'm getting is in Netflix. Im getting the UltraHD category to show up, however when I select the show it only shows HD by the picture. And when I had my Samsung UHD player Plugged into this exact same cable the Netflix worked perfectly in UHD
I'm almost sure it's a handshaking issue. Your receiver is top notch and shouldn't be a problem unless some HDMI port is defective. I would try another cable one more time, a 18Gz HDR CERTIFIED one and use a different HDMI port on the receiver just for peace of mind. Can't think about anything else.

I was so happy without HDR...
slimoli is offline  
post #677 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 01:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
I'm almost sure it's a handshaking issue. Your receiver is top notch and shouldn't be a problem unless some HDMI port is defective. I would try another cable one more time, a 18Gz HDR CERTIFIED one and use a different HDMI port on the receiver just for peace of mind. Can't think about anything else.
Thank you I will try that
oghabib28 is offline  
post #678 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JT78681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 3,419
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1510 Post(s)
Liked: 1059
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes you can. But then it is a BB.com order. Which is technically different than the Brick and Mortar BestBuy order. So when I need to price match later, it's more of a pain dealing with BB.com to price match than with a local store.
Interesting.... Learn something new every day.

Display - LG OLED
Receiver - Denon
Speakers - Klipsch
Subs - Rythmik
JT78681 is offline  
post #679 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1032 Post(s)
Liked: 820
OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread

Where best to buy these Cables and know for sure that they are 18 GHz certified;

I admit I don't know what this means; sorry

Primary set-up 5.1.4; Yamaha A2050, Paired w/Parasound P5 & ATI 522NC 2 channel amp
Revel F206 fronts & Revel M16 rears; Outlaw X12 Sub & 4 RSL C34e in-ceilings

Secondary 5.1: Denon S900W, Polk LSiM703/704C, Polk RC80i in-ceiling rears, RSL Speedwoofer 10s

Last edited by yanks1; 03-10-2017 at 01:21 PM.
yanks1 is offline  
post #680 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
https://www.monoprice.com/category/c...um-hdmi-cables
yanks1, Magellan55 and dave2002ti like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #681 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
jb442386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Doylestown PA
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Well, after a few days w/x800, & my SonyX930D, I can now say with certainty, the PQ of this player exceeds that of the Oppo 203. This includes both HDR, as well as Blu-ray Discs. Astonishing really, given the Oppo reputation, but simply the video quality which I've viewed. Others might experience a completely different experience, particularly with the variety of displays in today's A/V environment, & that's fine. Have about 10 days to continue to evaluate the 800 via BB, & then decision time.
yanks1 and dave2002ti like this.
jb442386 is online now  
post #682 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 02:45 PM
Member
 
tkusterb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
It's hard to explain but like I said very subtle and is almost barely noticeable. It is not a skip or stutter but more of a slight change in the smoothness of motion. I haven't had time to recheck the same scenes to see if its the scene or random so I haven't played with the 24p settings either which I will do the next chance I have time and I notice it.
Does this happen during panning shots? Are vertically oriented objects exhibiting the "slight change in the smoothness of motion" as the camera pans by? Could it not just be normal "film look", which happens in movie theaters, too, like the opposite of the too-smooth "soap opera effect"?
tkusterb is offline  
post #683 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkusterb View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
It's hard to explain but like I said very subtle and is almost barely noticeable. It is not a skip or stutter but more of a slight change in the smoothness of motion. I haven't had time to recheck the same scenes to see if its the scene or random so I haven't played with the 24p settings either which I will do the next chance I have time and I notice it.
Does this happen during panning shots? Are vertically oriented objects exhibiting the "slight change in the smoothness of motion" as the camera pans by? Could it not just be normal "film look", which happens in movie theaters, too, like the opposite of the too-smooth "soap opera effect"?
Yes and it very well could be normal. I only mentioned it cause I just never noticed it before with the Samsung player. I will recheck some scenes and know for sure if I can see it again. These are movies I have seen numerous times so just thought it was weird I was noticing it now with the new player.
aKa DaShiznit is offline  
post #684 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
Yes and it very well could be normal. I only mentioned it cause I just never noticed it before with the Samsung player. I will recheck some scenes and know for sure if I can see it again. These are movies I have seen numerous times so just thought it was weird I was noticing it now with the new player.
Might be trick of the eye where rather than simply watching you're staring and tracking objects with your eyes in order to evaluate video quality of the new player. This can give you the impression of judder, especially with 24p material.
apw2607 is online now  
post #685 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Might be trick of the eye where rather than simply watching you're staring and tracking objects with your eyes in order to evaluate video quality of the new player. This can give you the impression of judder, especially with 24p material.
Thanks and that is very well probably the case. It isn't jarring or distracting by any means just something that caught my eye and like I did admit I was basically studying the picture but more in amazement by how much better I thought the picture looked. I didn't expect that noticeable of difference to be honest but did want the Sony reliability I have gotten with all my other players. This player is FANTASTIC and was definitely worth the extra $$$ over what I had paid for the Samsung.
apw2607 likes this.

Sony XBR-65X930E (w/luminoodle)/Sony UBP-X700/Apple TV 4K/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X
Denon AVR-X6200W(Surround/Height)/Emotiva XPA-3(L/C/R)/AC Infinity Aircom T8 x2
DefTech SM 65 x3(L/C/R)/DefTech PM 1000 x4(Surround)/DefTech DI5.5R x4(Atmos/DTS X)
SVS PC-2000 x2(Subs)/Panamax M4300-PM(Main) & MD2(Subs)/Logitech Harmony Elite
aKa DaShiznit is offline  
post #686 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 04:30 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,965
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9320 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
I picked up the x800 from Best buy on the way home. They had two in stock. I'm setting it up now.

I do wish it did not have a hard wired power cord. I hate those.
aaronwt is online now  
post #687 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 04:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,774
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Picked mine up yesterday. Noticed some major audio sync issues that went away after a disc restart on a couple of titles. A little weird.... also it seems on a couple of occasions that it would start a frame or 2 early and work into sync. Hmmmm...

A side note.... this was setup at a friends house running through a Pioneer SC 95 into a 2015 Vizio M series. I suspect there is a bit of latency with the HDR-SDR conversion. But again, and strangely, it would go away after a disc restart (pressing Home and then resuming the film)..

Check Mag 7, Sicario and The Arrival. All had issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FilmMixer is online now  
post #688 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 05:33 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,965
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9320 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
This is sweet!! It's working great with my UHD BDs and 3D BDs. And also with bitstreaming the DSD audio from my SACDs and bitstreaming the MLP audio from from my DVD-A discs. I just need to try out some 2D BDs now.

I'm using a Sony speaker bar for the audio with the HDMI 2 output of the X800 for audio. No issues with setup. It was pretty much like other Sony players I've owned.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #689 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by oghabib28 View Post
Yamaha CX-A5100
Sony VPL-VW675es

And like I said in previous post my 4k HDR bluray works just fine, the only problem I'm getting is in Netflix. Im getting the UltraHD category to show up, however when I select the show it only shows HD by the picture. And when I had my Samsung UHD player Plugged into this exact same cable the Netflix worked perfectly in UHD
Just for fun ... is it possible to connect the x800 direct to the projector for video ? See if that works at least ....
apw2607 is online now  
post #690 of 9849 Old 03-10-2017, 05:44 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,965
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9320 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
I do notice that when the X800 is on Auto for the video output. That it is sending the native resolution of each disc I play to my Sony UHD TV.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4kupscale , 5040 , dsf , Epson , problem , Sony , sony ubp-x800 , streaming music , surround decode , ubp-ux80 , ubp-x1000es , x800

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off