OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 319 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 25382Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9541 of 9757 Old 04-17-2019, 10:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowbodude99 View Post
Does anyone know if this player can play movies on a local computer/server with DTSHD or TrueHD?

I have a bunch of blurays and 4k movies on my server. I want to stream them to this player.
Yes it can. TrueHD only from m2ts, not mkv. DTS from both.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post56257522
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57095240
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57149898
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57154620
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57484272
priitv8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9542 of 9757 Old 04-18-2019, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Awesome! That clears that up! So M2TS from now on. I have a ton of MKV files... ugh.
cowbodude99 is offline  
post #9543 of 9757 Old 04-18-2019, 11:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowbodude99 View Post
Awesome! That clears that up! So M2TS from now on. I have a ton of MKV files... ugh.
I purchased DVDFab Video Converter to rewrap them into m2ts. Seems to work well up to UHD HDR10 and for immersive audio tracks as well. It only loses subtitle tracks in m2ts, their support is looking at my ticket currently.
priitv8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9544 of 9757 Old 04-19-2019, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
I purchased DVDFab Video Converter to rewrap them into m2ts. Seems to work well up to UHD HDR10 and for immersive audio tracks as well. It only loses subtitle tracks in m2ts, their support is looking at my ticket currently.
Won't converting the video/audio lose some quality?

I was thinking about striping the video and audio tracks, and just putting them into a new container, which should leave the audio and video untouched.

EDIT: Not really worth the time to do this for so many movies. Extracting the tracks takes a while, then remuxing into another format...

Last edited by cowbodude99; 04-19-2019 at 08:42 AM.
cowbodude99 is offline  
post #9545 of 9757 Old 04-20-2019, 12:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowbodude99 View Post
Won't converting the video/audio lose some quality?
I am not converting them. DVDFab allows for copy-through of individual streams:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-04-20 at 10.53.35.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	75.2 KB
ID:	2555766  
priitv8 is offline  
post #9546 of 9757 Old 04-20-2019, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,554
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1954 Post(s)
Liked: 1147
Does anyone the purpose of volume buttons on the x800s remote? It wont control the player's vol, wont control TV's volume or the reciever's... they literally dont do anything. And I do have the CEC/Hdmi control ON on all devices.

Best,
Main Living Room: Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H 11.1 + Sony UBP-X800 + PS4
Other Living Room: Panasonic Plasma 55 + Onkyo Home Theater System 5.1 + PS3
Discs For SALE : 4Ks And 2Ks!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #9547 of 9757 Old 04-20-2019, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
Graig2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabl View Post
To be clear the inability to play atmos audio from mkv files lies with the X800 itself and most (every?) other standalone blu-ray player not the format.

Atmos audio in mkv files play fine with many other devices such as the Nvidia Shield.

On a related subject for fun I've tried creating .m2ts files from .mkv files containing atmos audio for the X800. It works fine for 1080p blu-ray mkv but for whatever reason so far not for 4k mkv.

Mediainfo recognizes the atmos audio track in the converted .m2ts fine and MPC-HC sees and plays the atmos audio but the X800 does not.

Anyone who's done this successfully or knows how with a 4k mkv please PM me.
Since the UBP X800 will not play Atmos or AC3 7.1 audio encoded in MKV files, is there a simple way to convert/multiplex them to M2TS files without any recoding? (Windows)

Thanks.
Graig2 is offline  
post #9548 of 9757 Old 04-20-2019, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
LDBetaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Does anyone the purpose of volume buttons on the x800s remote? It wont control the player's vol, wont control TV's volume or the reciever's... they literally dont do anything. And I do have the CEC/Hdmi control ON on all devices.
The volume and muting buttons control the volume on Sony TVs.
LDBetaGuy is offline  
post #9549 of 9757 Old 04-20-2019, 06:58 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,409
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8960 Post(s)
Liked: 5738
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Does anyone the purpose of volume buttons on the x800s remote? It wont control the player's vol, wont control TV's volume or the reciever's... they literally dont do anything. And I do have the CEC/Hdmi control ON on all devices.
The Volume buttons control my Sony TV. But that is all they do. They can't be programmed to control other brands of TVs.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #9550 of 9757 Old 04-20-2019, 08:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 4,031
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBetaGuy View Post
The volume and muting buttons control the volume on Sony TVs.

https://us.community.sony.com/s/ques...language=en_US
PaulGo is online now  
post #9551 of 9757 Old 04-20-2019, 11:30 PM
Newbie
 
ozsat58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
They can be reprogrammed. I did it for my Panasonic TV - it is in the manual.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The Volume buttons control my Sony TV. But that is all they do. They can't be programmed to control other brands of TVs.
aaronwt likes this.
ozsat58 is offline  
post #9552 of 9757 Old 04-20-2019, 11:35 PM
Newbie
 
ozsat58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Code numbers of controllable TVs - is on page 9 of the manual.
ozsat58 is offline  
post #9553 of 9757 Old 04-21-2019, 12:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graig2 View Post
Since the UBP X800 will not play Atmos or AC3 7.1 audio encoded in MKV files, is there a simple way to convert/multiplex them to M2TS files without any recoding? (Windows)
DVDfab, eac3to+TSMuxeR (AVC only, no HEVC support).
priitv8 is offline  
post #9554 of 9757 Old 04-21-2019, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
dabl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graig2 View Post
Since the UBP X800 will not play Atmos or AC3 7.1 audio encoded in MKV files, is there a simple way to convert/multiplex them to M2TS files without any recoding? (Windows)

Thanks.
I found that unfortunately the below simple process using ffmpeg doesn't work for atmos audio because the x800 doesn't like the default position of the rendered atmos track this process uses.

ex ffmpeg -i martian.mkv -acodec copy -vcodec copy martian.m2ts

Evidently it's not a simple process to re-order the audio tracks after doing the above.

From my notes on a non-simple suggested process/workaround, which I have not tried.

...
When rendering the .m2ts from .mkv the order of the audio tracks needs to be changed so the Dolby True HD track is not track #1 . So DTS MA track #1 , DTS Core #2 , True HD #3 , Dolby D Core #4 .

TSmuxer won't read TrueHD from MKV. So what you need to do is use eac3to to pull out the TrueHD track from the MKV.

eac3to is cmd line (windows only), but there's a few front end gui's you can use which are very nice such as UsEac3to.

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

and front end Gui here https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=145574

Once you have the MKV open in eac3to, select the input track that contains TrueHD. Probably track 2 in most cases. In output format select thd+ac3. Hit "ADD" next to the output format selection. you will then see in the command line parameters something like this:

"2: %_2eng.thd+ac3" ... depending on the track number.

Then hit Run CL. You will then get your separate TrueHD track created. Takes a bit of time depending on how long your mkv is.

Now go back to tsmuxer and open you MKV as before. Ignore the warning about it unable to read the TrueHD track. Now also open this new audio track from the step above. You should see the TrueHD track added back to all the audio tracks. You can fiddle with the ordering of the TrueHD track.

I think the TrueHD track cannot be track #1 as the X800 gets upset so move it to any other order other than #1 . Hit m2ts muxing and then start muxing. You're done !
...
dabl is offline  
post #9555 of 9757 Old 04-21-2019, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,554
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1954 Post(s)
Liked: 1147
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabl View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graig2 View Post
Since the UBP X800 will not play Atmos or AC3 7.1 audio encoded in MKV files, is there a simple way to convert/multiplex them to M2TS files without any recoding? (Windows)

Thanks.
I found that unfortunately the below simple process using ffmpeg doesn't work for atmos audio because the x800 doesn't like the default position of the rendered atmos track this process uses.

ex ffmpeg -i martian.mkv -acodec copy -vcodec copy martian.m2ts

Evidently it's not a simple process to re-order the audio tracks after doing the above.

From my notes on a non-simple suggested process/workaround, which I have not tried.

...
When rendering the .m2ts from .mkv the order of the audio tracks needs to be changed so the Dolby True HD track is not track #1 . So DTS MA track #1 , DTS Core #2 , True HD #3 , Dolby D Core #4 .

TSmuxer won't read TrueHD from MKV. So what you need to do is use eac3to to pull out the TrueHD track from the MKV.

eac3to is cmd line (windows only), but there's a few front end gui's you can use which are very nice such as UsEac3to.

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

and front end Gui here https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=145574

Once you have the MKV open in eac3to, select the input track that contains TrueHD. Probably track 2 in most cases. In output format select thd+ac3. Hit "ADD" next to the output format selection. you will then see in the command line parameters something like this:

"2: %_2eng.thd+ac3" ... depending on the track number.

Then hit Run CL. You will then get your separate TrueHD track created. Takes a bit of time depending on how long your mkv is.

Now go back to tsmuxer and open you MKV as before. Ignore the warning about it unable to read the TrueHD track. Now also open this new audio track from the step above. You should see the TrueHD track added back to all the audio tracks. You can fiddle with the ordering of the TrueHD track.

I think the TrueHD track cannot be track #1 as the X800 gets upset so move it to any other order other than #1 . Hit m2ts muxing and then start muxing. You're done !
...
I was actually following along to do this same exact thing and as always met with the same failing results on my x800. In the end result, everything is in its proper place and atmos track #2 plays fine but then the picture skips every second or perhaps even faster and i can no longer rewind or fast forward the content. I did exactly what you said... can you pls help.

Best,
Main Living Room: Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H 11.1 + Sony UBP-X800 + PS4
Other Living Room: Panasonic Plasma 55 + Onkyo Home Theater System 5.1 + PS3
Discs For SALE : 4Ks And 2Ks!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #9556 of 9757 Old 04-21-2019, 10:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
I was actually following along to do this same exact thing and as always met with the same failing results on my x800. In the end result, everything is in its proper place and atmos track #2 plays fine but then the picture skips every second or perhaps even faster and i can no longer rewind or fast forward the content. I did exactly what you said... can you pls help.
Did you remux UHD files? TSMuxeR does not support HEVC stream, so what I get is video skipping a lot of frames so that it runs ahead of real time very fast. That is the reason I'm trying to switch to DVDFab Video Converter. It handles video and audio tracks very well. Just not the subs, yet. Unfortunately, it also won't let you add the language codes to streams inside m2ts, like TSMuxeR did.
With 1080p AVC videos, I have had no problems at all. For the X800/700 it does not matter, if you select .ts or .m2ts output, both work the same for me.
I also have been able to add TrueHD Atmos track to a 3D bluray, that originally came with DTS-HD.

Last edited by priitv8; 04-21-2019 at 10:22 PM.
priitv8 is offline  
post #9557 of 9757 Old 04-22-2019, 04:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,554
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1954 Post(s)
Liked: 1147
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
I was actually following along to do this same exact thing and as always met with the same failing results on my x800. In the end result, everything is in its proper place and atmos track #2 plays fine but then the picture skips every second or perhaps even faster and i can no longer rewind or fast forward the content. I did exactly what you said... can you pls help.
Did you remux UHD files? TSMuxeR does not support HEVC stream, so what I get is video skipping a lot of frames so that it runs ahead of real time very fast. That is the reason I'm trying to switch to DVDFab Video Converter. It handles video and audio tracks very well. Just not the subs, yet. Unfortunately, it also won't let you add the language codes to streams inside m2ts, like TSMuxeR did.
With 1080p AVC videos, I have had no problems at all. For the X800/700 it does not matter, if you select .ts or .m2ts output, both work the same for me.
I also have been able to add TrueHD Atmos track to a 3D bluray, that originally came with DTS-HD.
Yes, it was an UHD file that I have. Guess I will give DVDFab a shot. Can you or someone please pm me the instructions for it like Craig did for tsmuxer. Thnx!

Best,
Main Living Room: Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H 11.1 + Sony UBP-X800 + PS4
Other Living Room: Panasonic Plasma 55 + Onkyo Home Theater System 5.1 + PS3
Discs For SALE : 4Ks And 2Ks!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #9558 of 9757 Old 04-22-2019, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
jakou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
Did you remux UHD files? TSMuxeR does not support HEVC stream, so what I get is video skipping a lot of frames so that it runs ahead of real time very fast. That is the reason I'm trying to switch to DVDFab Video Converter. It handles video and audio tracks very well. Just not the subs, yet. Unfortunately, it also won't let you add the language codes to streams inside m2ts, like TSMuxeR did.
With 1080p AVC videos, I have had no problems at all. For the X800/700 it does not matter, if you select .ts or .m2ts output, both work the same for me.
I also have been able to add TrueHD Atmos track to a 3D bluray, that originally came with DTS-HD.
I would appreciate if it would be possible to post a tutorial (or at least a summary of the steps) to be followed when converting to m2ts using DVDFab Video Converter.
jakou is offline  
post #9559 of 9757 Old 04-22-2019, 09:46 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,019
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1240 Post(s)
Liked: 2051
Please take discussion of ripping discs to the networking forum. There are plenty of threads for ripping your discs. This is not the correct area for that discussion. This includes converting from mkv to another file format.

Quote:
This area covers Blu-ray & UHD Blu-ray players. Please note this is not the area for software chat.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...ent-streaming/
Sharp1080, BGLeduc, slimm and 3 others like this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.

Last edited by teachsac; 04-22-2019 at 11:16 AM.
teachsac is offline  
post #9560 of 9757 Old 04-23-2019, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I watched the entire Ready Player One UHD MKV movie from my Plex server. I had no stuttering.

Edit: I thought this was the Shield thread. I watched it on my shield TV not my x800. I'll need to try that scene from my x800.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk
Somehow I came across this topic this morning and I decided to do one more test.
I muxed the entire m2ts into mkv using the latest mkvtoolnix 33.1.0, retaining all the tracks.
I make a strange observation - compared to TS, the MKV takes significantly longer to load, before playback can start, but then it does not stutter anywhere, even in the places where video bitstream exceeds 90Mbps and where m2ts loses audio sync and picture starts to skip frames!
I also had to use the DTS-HD MA audio, which comes across with approx 1Mbps less bitrate (roughly at 2Mbps whereas TrueHD Atmos comes at 3Mbps).
I have no good explanation for this. Maybe MKV player inherently buffers ahead better than the TS player does.
priitv8 is offline  
post #9561 of 9757 Old 04-24-2019, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
akosoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I like the x800 stil a lot, its better than ever now, but it's annoying that the x800 still can't shift subtitles...
akosoft is offline  
post #9562 of 9757 Old 04-24-2019, 10:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by akosoft View Post
I like the x800 stil a lot, its better than ever now, but it's annoying that the x800 still can't shift subtitles...
Looks like it might get fixed in M2
priitv8 is offline  
post #9563 of 9757 Old 04-25-2019, 03:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,415
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezda View Post
Has anyone noticed that with the latest firmware it seems like the DSD>PCM conversion is no longer filtered? There's a massive hiss present when playing SACD's over HDMI with DSD>PCM conversion to 176.4kHz (the only setting). I'm pretty sure it wasn't there before, and my HDMI DAC supports 176.4kHz.



It's a bummer because I enjoy it as an all-in-one disc player.. I may just end up using it for Region B blu-rays and get an older Oppo for SACD/hi-res files...


Which firmware version. I thought I had the latest and I don’t have any hisses converting from dsd to pcm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
bommai is offline  
post #9564 of 9757 Old 04-25-2019, 03:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,415
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJL99 View Post
Costco may have extended the warranty for this purchase to two years. You should check with them. See https://www.costco.com/concierge.html .

Most Costco electronics products are warranteed for 2 years. Also check if Blu-ray players are under the 90 day return policy or indefinite return policy. You can always return it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
bommai is offline  
post #9565 of 9757 Old 04-25-2019, 11:42 AM
Member
 
winker12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a problem with my 800 not playing Sacd's or Dvda's. These are mostly music that I dloaded on various sites over the years. The dvda's work through my Pioneer DV 578-analog 5.1 inputs. I bought the Sony so I could use my Denon 1912 and play Sacd's along with my Dvda's using Hdmi. Well, that wouldn't work-although it will play Dts. Then I figured my Denon was unable to decode DSD over Hdmi. I ended up buying a Marantz SR6006 that is supposed to be able to decode this. No luck. It does have 7.1 analog inputs so i have both players connected. I still am unable to play the sacd's and dvda's through the Sony. I don't know if it's the receiver-I've tried various settings. I have tried 2 different hdmi cables. I did try both hdmi outs on the Sony to my blu ray inputs on the Marantz. I have the BD Audio mix st to off. What am I missing?
winker12 is offline  
post #9566 of 9757 Old 04-25-2019, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,415
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by winker12 View Post
I have a problem with my 800 not playing Sacd's or Dvda's. These are mostly music that I dloaded on various sites over the years. The dvda's work through my Pioneer DV 578-analog 5.1 inputs. I bought the Sony so I could use my Denon 1912 and play Sacd's along with my Dvda's using Hdmi. Well, that wouldn't work-although it will play Dts. Then I figured my Denon was unable to decode DSD over Hdmi. I ended up buying a Marantz SR6006 that is supposed to be able to decode this. No luck. It does have 7.1 analog inputs so i have both players connected. I still am unable to play the sacd's and dvda's through the Sony. I don't know if it's the receiver-I've tried various settings. I have tried 2 different hdmi cables. I did try both hdmi outs on the Sony to my blu ray inputs on the Marantz. I have the BD Audio mix st to off. What am I missing?

I can play sacd perfectly. It even converts it to PCM to send to my nad receiver that does not accept dsd. Make sure you go through all the menus. What error are you getting? Sacd is not a Blu-ray.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
bommai is offline  
post #9567 of 9757 Old 04-25-2019, 02:54 PM
Member
 
winker12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get "Unable to play this disc. Check for fingerprints, etc. or it may not be finalized." I do have a SACD I bought that works. Maybe something in dloading that causes the Sacd's to not work? But the Dvda's make no sense to me.
winker12 is offline  
post #9568 of 9757 Old 04-25-2019, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by winker12 View Post
I get "Unable to play this disc. Check for fingerprints, etc. or it may not be finalized." I do have a SACD I bought that works. Maybe something in dloading that causes the Sacd's to not work?
What do you mean by "something in dloading"?? DSD playback from file only supports the uncompressed format dst. It's dsf/dff only.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-04-26 at 08.26.24.png
Views:	46
Size:	239.4 KB
ID:	2558352  
priitv8 is offline  
post #9569 of 9757 Old 04-26-2019, 04:33 AM
Member
 
winker12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a Sacd which I purchased that will work. The only other Sacd's are ones that I downloaded from-at the time-Demonoid-or other online bit torrent sites. None of those work-I have maybe 10 or so. I have a lot of Dvda's that work through the anolog 5.1inputs using my Pioneer Dvd player. I can deal with using 2 different players but I originally bought the Sony thinking everything would work through the Sony. I guess maybe I'm over my head on the dsf/dff!
winker12 is offline  
post #9570 of 9757 Old 04-27-2019, 12:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by winker12 View Post
I've got a Sacd which I purchased that will work. The only other Sacd's are ones that I downloaded from-at the time-Demonoid-or other online bit torrent sites. None of those work-I have maybe 10 or so. I have a lot of Dvda's that work through the anolog 5.1inputs using my Pioneer Dvd player. I can deal with using 2 different players but I originally bought the Sony thinking everything would work through the Sony. I guess maybe I'm over my head on the dsf/dff!
If you've burned them to DVD-R's then this player does not play self-baked SACD discs. My old BDP-S470 does.
Use a usb drive or DLNA server and you're done. You may need to use TraX to extract files from disc/iso and convert files to dsf before attempting that.
priitv8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4kupscale , 5040 , dsf , Epson , problem , Sony , sony ubp-x800 , streaming music , surround decode , ubp-ux80 , ubp-x1000es , x800

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off