OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 327 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 25461Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9781 of 10058 Old 08-14-2019, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
koss67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Closed caption setting

Hi, as anyone been able to change the closed caption setting? Anything I do in the setting doesn't show in the actual playback of a 4k or blue ray disk.
Thanks.
koss67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9782 of 10058 Old 08-15-2019, 12:42 PM
Member
 
ZICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TX (south of Dallas)
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having difficulty with the x800 finding my Volumio server on the network, I've tried both WiFi & wired options. When it does a search it finds Directv as a server, won't connect to it, I've never used DTV as a pc to DTV server. Everything I use can find the Volumio except the Sony- receiver, cellphone, smart TV. I did not notice an IP address area to do a manual connect.
My main reason for getting the UBP-X800 was to stream & play HQ audio, don't play a lot of videos.
Would some please tell (or link) a newbie what I'm doing wrong.

Thx

Edit- Still not working

A/V system: Anthem AVM-60, Emotiva XPA5 gen2, Monitor Audio Silver i series, Sony UBP-X800, Roku. 2ch system: Integra DTR 50.4, Airmotiv T2+, Vortexbox server, Sony MDR-1A2 cans

Last edited by ZICK; 08-23-2019 at 01:48 PM.
ZICK is offline  
post #9783 of 10058 Old 08-16-2019, 12:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wormraper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 4,952
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by VooBass View Post
Alita 4K plays fine for me but I regularly experience the issue you describe. Half the time it's when playing Netflix, half the time playing a disc. And the only way to get it to unfreeze is to unplug and power up again. This, and the lack of Dolby Vision and of no Amazon Prime app (in Canada) mean I'll be switching to a Panasonic eventually.
I actually got mine to work. I turned off all HDMI advanced features (HDMI control of other devices etc, HDMI wake) and suddenly I was able to play Alita perfectly, as well as every other 4K title I've tried. X fingers that it's just some glitchy firmware that was having HDMI issues.... who knows though as the X800 has been flakey for a lot of peole.
wormraper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9784 of 10058 Old 08-16-2019, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked: 4099
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
This cable is not up to the task, imho.
You need a cable with guaranteed 18Gbps throughput.
Recently I’ve gone all in on Belkin’s 48Gbps HDMI 2.1 cables for worry-free life and to be future proof as well.
You’d be surprised how thin these cables are!
https://www.amazon.com/Belkin-AV1017.../dp/B075N83B9X

Cat people, be aware.
aaronwt likes this.

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #9785 of 10058 Old 08-16-2019, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked: 4099
Quote:
Originally Posted by wormraper View Post
I actually got mine to work. I turned off all HDMI advanced features (HDMI control of other devices etc, HDMI wake) and suddenly I was able to play Alita perfectly, as well as every other 4K title I've tried. X fingers that it's just some glitchy firmware that was having HDMI issues.... who knows though as the X800 has been flakey for a lot of peole.
Yes, the solution for many 4K UHD player owners is to turn off as much video-related stuff as possible and let your TV do the work. If you don't need the Hi-Res Audio stuff, you might consider shutting that down, too. The less this or any other 4K UHD player has to think about, the better.

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #9786 of 10058 Old 08-17-2019, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Dallas,Texas USA
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1071 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Blinking screen is annoying!

Has anyone figured out a workaround for the blinking screen when on the home page and viewing internet content? It's a known issue even discussed on the Sony forums! When playing back discs there isn't any blinking! I've switched cables (the same ones that worked without issue before the last update), turned off deep color (no change) and I still have the blinking screen. I'm starting to look for a replacement most likely non Sony this go around.
Sharp1080 is offline  
post #9787 of 10058 Old 08-19-2019, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked: 4099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post
Has anyone figured out a workaround for the blinking screen when on the home page and viewing internet content? It's a known issue even discussed on the Sony forums! When playing back discs there isn't any blinking! I've switched cables (the same ones that worked without issue before the last update), turned off deep color (no change) and I still have the blinking screen. I'm starting to look for a replacement most likely non Sony this go around.
Did you turn off Deep Color for both TV and Player?

Other suggestions at this link. Post 7. Good luck.

https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=308751

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #9788 of 10058 Old 08-19-2019, 01:30 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,839
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9926 Post(s)
Liked: 6563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panson View Post
Did you turn off Deep Color for both TV and Player?

Other suggestions at this link. Post 7. Good luck.

https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=308751
It's not going to work very well with deep color off. At least if you want to watch HDR content. Since you need Deep Color set to on, so it can send out higher than 8 bit content. Which is needed to properly show the wider color gamut with HDR.
Panson likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9789 of 10058 Old 08-19-2019, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked: 4099
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It's not going to work very well with deep color off. At least if you want to watch HDR content. Since you need Deep Color set to on, so it can send out higher than 8 bit content. Which is needed to properly show the wider color gamut with HDR.
Thanks, aaron, maybe just stabbing at a TV WCG shortcoming?

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #9790 of 10058 Old 08-20-2019, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Dallas,Texas USA
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1071 Post(s)
Liked: 772
I have read that this developed after one of the updates. It only happens on the home screen menu, and watching YouTube. I've tried all of the recommended suggestions. It works fine when playing a disc! It worked without issue in the past!

Last edited by Sharp1080; 08-20-2019 at 08:41 PM.
Sharp1080 is offline  
post #9791 of 10058 Old 08-26-2019, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,873
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2244 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
Guys im sure i can use this player on my 1080p tv but I had it set to 4K resolution previously on a 4k tv and now when I connect it to a HD tv, all i see is the Sony logo at the start and then a black screen. Anyway to reset the player or get the image back on the player? I thought connecting to a 1080p tv, the player would automatically pick up the lower resolution but after the logo i dont get anything and i cant remember how to reset without looking at the screen. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is online now  
post #9792 of 10058 Old 08-26-2019, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 1253
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Guys im sure i can use this player on my 1080p tv but I had it set to 4K resolution previously on a 4k tv and now when I connect it to a HD tv, all i see is the Sony logo at the start and then a black screen. Anyway to reset the player or get the image back on the player? I thought connecting to a 1080p tv, the player would automatically pick up the lower resolution but after the logo i dont get anything and i cant remember how to reset without looking at the screen. Any help is appreciated, thanks.
This is from Sony's website.

"The video output resolution of the Blu-ray Disc player may be set to an option that is not compatible with the TV. Depending on your model, one of the following steps will reset the resolution to the lowest setting:

Press and hold the Volume - (Volume down) button and the Play button together.

Press the Stop button for more than 10 seconds.

Press STOP - HOME - POP UP/MENU on the remote controller to reset the output video resolution to the lowest resolution.

Press the VIDEO FORMAT button on the remote controller repeatedly until the picture appears correctly.

NOTE: Once the video signal appears, the video output resolution setting can be adjusted from the menu of the Blu-ray Disc player."

HT TCL 55P605, BenQ W7000, Pioneer UDP LX500, Panasonic LX1000, Firestick 4K, ATV4K, Pioneer SC-LX701, DefTech, Klipsch, Martin Logan, SVS @ 5.2.4 Atmos
Music Sansui SR-4050, SR-3030, Dual 1219, Pioneer BDP-85FD, Emotiva PT-100, Sherwood Newcastle R-972, Polk Monitor 10 & 5jr, SVS SB1000
bguzman is offline  
post #9793 of 10058 Old 08-26-2019, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,873
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2244 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Guys im sure i can use this player on my 1080p tv but I had it set to 4K resolution previously on a 4k tv and now when I connect it to a HD tv, all i see is the Sony logo at the start and then a black screen. Anyway to reset the player or get the image back on the player? I thought connecting to a 1080p tv, the player would automatically pick up the lower resolution but after the logo i dont get anything and i cant remember how to reset without looking at the screen. Any help is appreciated, thanks.
This is from Sony's website.

"The video output resolution of the Blu-ray Disc player may be set to an option that is not compatible with the TV. Depending on your model, one of the following steps will reset the resolution to the lowest setting:

Press and hold the Volume - (Volume down) button and the Play button together.

Press the Stop button for more than 10 seconds.

Press STOP - HOME - POP UP/MENU on the remote controller to reset the output video resolution to the lowest resolution.

Press the VIDEO FORMAT button on the remote controller repeatedly until the picture appears correctly.

NOTE: Once the video signal appears, the video output resolution setting can be adjusted from the menu of the Blu-ray Disc player."
Thanks man for finding this and posting. Though I took another way around it. I hooked it up again to my 4K tv and changed the resolution there to 1080p and that fixed the video when connected to the HD display 🙂

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is online now  
post #9794 of 10058 Old 09-01-2019, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
wader2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just got the X800 BR player and have one annoying problem. I have this hooked up with 2 hdmi cables - video straight to Samsung 4K TV and audio to Yamaha 673 rcvr. When I pause or fast forward I lose sound and have to reselect HDM1 input on the rcvr. There must be a rcvr setting that prevents this?
wader2k is offline  
post #9795 of 10058 Old 09-01-2019, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked: 4099
Quote:
Originally Posted by wader2k View Post
Just got the X800 BR player and have one annoying problem. I have this hooked up with 2 hdmi cables - video straight to Samsung 4K TV and audio to Yamaha 673 rcvr. When I pause or fast forward I lose sound and have to reselect HDM1 input on the rcvr. There must be a rcvr setting that prevents this?
Can't do ARC with one cable?

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #9796 of 10058 Old 09-01-2019, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
wader2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panson View Post
Can't do ARC with one cable?

The Samsung nu8000 TV only sends Dolby Digital via ARC... doesn't send lossless audio.. this is my understanding anyway.
wader2k is offline  
post #9797 of 10058 Old 09-02-2019, 10:55 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,839
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9926 Post(s)
Liked: 6563
Quote:
Originally Posted by wader2k View Post
The Samsung nu8000 TV only sends Dolby Digital via ARC... doesn't send lossless audio.. this is my understanding anyway.
You need eARC to send multichannel lossless audio from the TV. The of course the receiver needs to have eARC capabilities as well as the TV.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB)

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9798 of 10058 Old 09-02-2019, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
wader2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
You need eARC to send multichannel lossless audio from the TV. The of course the receiver needs to have eARC capabilities as well as the TV.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB)
Exactly ... which is why I am using the 2nd hdmi output on the X800 player to send the audio to the Yamaha 673 rcvr.

The problem is that when I fast forward or pause the rcv'r loses the audio and I have to reselect the hdmi input to get it back.
wader2k is offline  
post #9799 of 10058 Old 09-02-2019, 11:24 PM
Member
 
Peter Hayes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by wader2k View Post
Exactly ... which is why I am using the 2nd hdmi output on the X800 player to send the audio to the Yamaha 673 rcvr.

The problem is that when I fast forward or pause the rcv'r loses the audio and I have to reselect the hdmi input to get it back.
why use the second HDMI output on the X800?. Would you not just one cable to the AVR and one cable to the TV from AVR
Peter Hayes is offline  
post #9800 of 10058 Old 09-03-2019, 02:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 224
OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Deleted

SONY XBR-65X900F - Sony UDP X800- PSA 210T L/R -PHANTOM CENTER -ENERGY RC-10 SURROUNDS -PSA S3000i - MARANTZ SR6013 - APPLETV 4K -DIRECTV HR44 -HARMONY ELITE

BASEMENT SETUP- SAMSUNG 7100 60"- ENERGY RC50'S L/R-ENERGY RC LCR- DENON AVR-X3500H- PS3 -APPLETV 4K- SVS PB2000 PRO DUAL
tang7969 is online now  
post #9801 of 10058 Old 09-03-2019, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,531
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 697 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by wader2k View Post
Exactly ... which is why I am using the 2nd hdmi output on the X800 player to send the audio to the Yamaha 673 rcvr.

The problem is that when I fast forward or pause the rcv'r loses the audio and I have to reselect the hdmi input to get it back.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Hayes View Post
why use the second HDMI output on the X800?. Would you not just one cable to the AVR and one cable to the TV from AVR
I would assume his receiver is not 4K / HDCP capable ... thus the separate connections... I am thinking the receiver starts "hunting" for an alternate audio signal when you fast forward or pause since there is no video coming through that input either at that time? I would check to see in the receiver menu ... under specific input audio options ... whether you can "lock" in digital HDMI audio signal as the only type of audio that the input uses... take away any possibility for the receiver to look for analog or other coaxial or toslink options .... maybe?
Peter Hayes likes this.
deano86 is offline  
post #9802 of 10058 Old 09-03-2019, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
wader2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by deano86 View Post
I would assume his receiver is not 4K / HDCP capable ... thus the separate connections... I am thinking the receiver starts "hunting" for an alternate audio signal when you fast forward or pause since there is no video coming through that input either at that time? I would check to see in the receiver menu ... under specific input audio options ... whether you can "lock" in digital HDMI audio signal as the only type of audio that the input uses... take away any possibility for the receiver to look for analog or other coaxial or toslink options .... maybe?

Yes.. the Yamaha RX v683 does not pass 4K. I believe you are correct and will be looking for an input setting to lock in the HDMI input... I wonder if it is something to do with the way Yamaha has SCENE's for different viewing defaults. Or maybe because I have ARC enabled to simplify powering up/etc. Sadly no one in the 683 thread is answering.
wader2k is offline  
post #9803 of 10058 Old 09-07-2019, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by wader2k View Post
Yes.. the Yamaha RX v683 does not pass 4K. I believe you are correct and will be looking for an input setting to lock in the HDMI input... I wonder if it is something to do with the way Yamaha has SCENE's for different viewing defaults. Or maybe because I have ARC enabled to simplify powering up/etc. Sadly no one in the 683 thread is answering.
I had the same issue on a Sony 1050 AVR. CEC just gets confused when signals get interrupted and will switch sources. drove me nuts. Upgrading to a 1080 so i could go single HDMI out of the X800 solved it! but yeah that's not cheap.
wader2k likes this.

HT: OLED65E6P (ChadB cal'd), STR-DN1080, UBP-X800, 7 Take Classics, Triple SB2000's
LR: 47LW5600
Magellan55 is offline  
post #9804 of 10058 Old 09-07-2019, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
wader2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magellan55 View Post
I had the same issue on a Sony 1050 AVR. CEC just gets confused when signals get interrupted and will switch sources. drove me nuts. Upgrading to a 1080 so i could go single HDMI out of the X800 solved it! but yeah that's not cheap.

Yep. Living with it for now...will eventually upgrade to get 4K passthru.
wader2k is offline  
post #9805 of 10058 Old 09-08-2019, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Invader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Hi guys. After owning this player for a few months, the player suddenly refuses to power up. Doesn't matter if I use the front power button or the remote. Have tried changing outlets, no change. All my other devices are fine.

I have tried the unplug/hold the front buttons reset, and it doesn't work. Any suggestions? Kind of frustrated here.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Invader3 is offline  
post #9806 of 10058 Old 09-10-2019, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Gembrook, Victoria
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Send a message via Skype™ to bernievink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invader3 View Post
I have tried the unplug/hold the front buttons reset, and it doesn't work. Any suggestions? Kind of frustrated here.
Return to place where you bought it and ask for a replacement.
Or ask Sony support for a replacement, they often oblige to do so.

Samsung UA60KU6000WXXY TV, Sony STR#dh770 Receiver with wall, ceiling, and floor mounted 7.1 Sony Speaker system, Sony UBP-X800 Ultra HD Blu-ray™/DVD Player
bernievink is offline  
post #9807 of 10058 Old 09-13-2019, 05:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
hsinnott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
This cable is not up to the task, imho.
You need a cable with guaranteed 18Gbps throughput.
Recently I’ve gone all in on Belkin’s 48Gbps HDMI 2.1 cables for worry-free life and to be future proof as well.
You’d be surprised how thin these cables are!
https://www.amazon.com/Belkin-AV1017.../dp/B075N83B9X
Another option for anyone looking for a decent 2.1 cable is from a German company KableDirect. Have 2 of them now and both work flawlessly. Cable is standard size thickness and not thin like the Belkin...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
fhschellenberg likes this.

SONY Bravia KD-65XE9005BU 4K UHD tv PANASONIC TX-40CX400B 4K UHD tv SONY UBP-X800 4K HDR Ultra HD player SONY BDP-S3700 Blu-ray player (U.S.)-*new 04/04/2019 SONY BDP-S760 Blu-ray player ES certified- Elevated Standard (UK) SAMSUNG BD-C6900 3D Blu-ray player (UK) SAMSUNG HW-MS650 Sound+ Soundbar
hsinnott is offline  
post #9808 of 10058 Old 09-16-2019, 03:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been trying to update my player to the latest FW (M36.R.0338) but each time I try it, the player shuts off before the update begins. I then have to click the power button to turn it back on in order for the update to start. However, the update never gets past 0% and always fails, even when clicking OK to try and do it again. If I hit Cancel on the Update Failed screen the player shuts off. I have tried this with both over my wireless connection and a USB drive, after downloading the update from Sony's official site. (I've confirmed the file is not corrupted and I am using a 4 gb USB drive after formatting it to FAT 32 and deleting all other files from the drive per Sony)

I talked to technical support about it and went through ALL of the steps they recommended. They then told me there is nothing I can do and that since my system is out of warranty (bought it November 2017), I'd have to pay for the repair. (No thank you)

Here are the steps I am encountering when trying to update the player (Both online and USB Drive)
1. Select Software Update
2. Select either update via internet or update via USB Memory (Same issue occurs in both circumstances)
3. "Do you want to Update the software" - Select Ok
4. Select Start
5. Screen goes blank, appears the system restarts and then shuts down
6. I hit the power button in order for it to come back on
7. Screen show the Software Update has started screen
8. Sits at 0% for a minute or less
9. Goes to Update Failed screen
10. If I hit 'OK' to restart it, the same thing occurs. If I select Cancel the system shuts down


I have reset it to factory settings, unplugged the player, made sure the quick setup option is turned off and have tried all of these steps more than a dozen times.

Has anyone else encountered this issue, or know what the problem might be?
Scott Steger is offline  
post #9809 of 10058 Old 09-17-2019, 02:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Gembrook, Victoria
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Send a message via Skype™ to bernievink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Steger View Post
I've been trying to update my player to the latest FW (M36.R.0338) but each time I try it,

I have reset it to factory settings, unplugged the player, made sure the quick setup option is turned off and have tried all of these steps more than a dozen times.

Has anyone else encountered this issue, or know what the problem might be?
Have you left it without power for more than 3 hours at a time.
this allows all the NVR memory to clear.
It may help your problem.

Samsung UA60KU6000WXXY TV, Sony STR#dh770 Receiver with wall, ceiling, and floor mounted 7.1 Sony Speaker system, Sony UBP-X800 Ultra HD Blu-ray™/DVD Player
bernievink is offline  
post #9810 of 10058 Old 10-03-2019, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 859 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Can you add a internet browser app to this player? I was able to do this on my Sony Z9D TV thru the Google play store. I could not find the Google Play store on the player to do this.
mt14942 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4kupscale , 5040 , amazon prime video , dsf , Epson , problem , Sony , sony bdp-x800 , sony ubp-x800 , streaming music , surround decode , ubp-ux80 , ubp-x1000es , x800

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off