Official OPPO UDP-205 UHD Blu-ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 169 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4128Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5041 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 07:26 AM
Upgradus Interruptus
 
longbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Bayfield County, Wisconsin
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ And it’s less messy than drawing a chalk pentagram around the OPPO. Or that whole thing with the live chicken.
—Bob
Or a bucket of chicken.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Major League bucket of chicken.jpeg
Views:	48
Size:	7.5 KB
ID:	2428268  
mickboy likes this.

"You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike" HT: 9.2.6 - Denon AVR-X8500H, PS Audio BHK 300 Mono's BHK Pre-amp in Home Theater Bypass, Oppo BDP-205D, Vandersteen Quatro CT's and VCC-2 CT with M&K ss-150's SL & SR, SVS Prime Elevation front L/R, Side 2 pair ahead and behind seating, SVS SB16 Ultra, Epson 5040UB, Stewart StudioTek 130 92". Living Room: LG OLED55C7P & Oppo UDP-203.
longbow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5042 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
mickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle Area In Soggy Washington State
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
2. Yes, and also works for the 203. It's also usually cheaper.
WELL THAT'S just too cool!!!
I've got a hardware mod on my 93, I'll have to pop it onto the back of my 205 and see if the region free work's.
Nice if it did!
Mickboy

"We Never Really Got It On Until Detroit"
M.Jagger 1969
mickboy is offline  
post #5043 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 09:55 AM
Member
 
floorhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 7
FLAC won't play

Just got a UDP 205 a couple of week ago and am still working on some issues. The one I'm on right now is my FLAC files on my NAS not showing up. My MKV files show up and play with no problems. Any ideas where to start?
floorhor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5044 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 10:06 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,473
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4609 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by floorhor View Post
Just got a UDP 205 a couple of week ago and am still working on some issues. The one I'm on right now is my FLAC files on my NAS not showing up. My MKV files show up and play with no problems. Any ideas where to start?
Are you using a DLNA server? Some servers have to be configured as to what file types they recognize and how they are handled.

You might try putting the files on a USB stick and test them on the player directly. If that works we can look at the NAS.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #5045 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Are you using a DLNA server? Some servers have to be configured as to what file types they recognize and how they are handled.

You might try putting the files on a USB stick and test them on the player directly. If that works we can look at the NAS.

-Bill
open them from MUSIC icon.
AGAWA is offline  
post #5046 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Just received my 205 and would like to know if I connect an external hard drive (Mac mini) to the usb dac connection, I’m I able to maneuver through iTunes with Oppo?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Oppo UDP-205, Bluesound Node 2i, Focal Aria 936/CC900
MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is offline  
post #5047 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Official OPPO UDP-205 UHD Blu-ray Player Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelle25 View Post
Thanks Rich. The reason for asking about the cable quality was that I can´t find a USB-A to USB-B cable for sale on the Apple site. So, I have to buy it from some other company.

I found them at the Apple store but they’re $29 so I bought a couple from blue jeans cable for $3 each plus shipping.

Don’t forget one of these if you’re connecting to an iPad.


Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Oppo UDP-205, Bluesound Node 2i, Focal Aria 936/CC900
MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro

Last edited by mbroadus; 07-14-2018 at 10:27 AM.
mbroadus is offline  
post #5048 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 11:50 AM
Member
 
floorhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGAWA View Post
open them from MUSIC icon.
No joy from the Music menu. Only saw the SACD that was in the drive. Thanks for the quick response.
floorhor is offline  
post #5049 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 12:17 PM
Member
 
floorhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Are you using a DLNA server? Some servers have to be configured as to what file types they recognize and how they are handled.

You might try putting the files on a USB stick and test them on the player directly. If that works we can look at the NAS.

-Bill
Ding Ding Ding. We have a winner. I was able to load an album onto a thumb drive and play it flawlessly!

Where should I start on my NAS? It is a Terra Master F4-220.
floorhor is offline  
post #5050 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 12:21 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,473
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4609 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by floorhor View Post
Ding Ding Ding. We have a winner. I was able to load an album onto a thumb drive and play it flawlessly!

Where should I start on my NAS? It is a Terra Master F4-220.
There must be a support forum for it somewhere. Find out:

(1) Is there a way to enable FLAC files for the DLNA server?

(2) How to enable SMB? (It is an alternative to DLNA).

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #5051 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
I found them at the Apple store but they’re $29 so I bought a couple from blue jeans cable for $3 each plus shipping.

Don’t forget one of these if you’re connecting to an iPad.

Amazingly cheap, and an amazing prize span... I wonder if the high cost of presumably high quality USB cables is worth it. According to test reviews it usually is, but I´m not sure if I can trust them.
Pelle25 is offline  
post #5052 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelle25 View Post
Amazingly cheap, and an amazing prize span... I wonder if the high cost of presumably high quality USB cables is worth it. According to test reviews it usually is, but I´m not sure if I can trust them.

I’ll take Blue Jeans Cables’ products over Apple any day.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
IBNR likes this.

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Oppo UDP-205, Bluesound Node 2i, Focal Aria 936/CC900
MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is offline  
post #5053 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,485
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2217 Post(s)
Liked: 3409
Has anyone tried a factory reset after doing the firmware update to correct the MQA CD disc noise? If so did it correct the noise issue?

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE (preamp), SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Marantz SA-10, Oppo UDP-205, UDP-203, BDP-105, BDP-103, BDP-93, BDP-83, Panasonic TC-P60GT50, Panamax 5100EX, Salk HT2-TLs, Salk 1801b center, Salk 1801TL (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #5054 of 6856 Old 07-14-2018, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
mickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle Area In Soggy Washington State
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
Has anyone tried a factory reset after doing the firmware update to correct the MQA CD disc noise? If so did it correct the noise issue?

Bill
I'm playing the Rock sampler mqa disc right now.... no motor noise at all.
But I didn't detect any before my factory recent.
All is good.
Mickboy

"We Never Really Got It On Until Detroit"
M.Jagger 1969
mickboy is offline  
post #5055 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 04:49 AM
Member
 
floorhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGAWA View Post
open them from MUSIC icon.
Emailed Oppo and they quickly responded with the same suggestion, access using the Music icon. So I figured I was missing something, and of course I was! I was trying from the 'Music' icon on the Oppo home screen. Didn't even think about the menu choices in the network icon. I just bounced right through these thinking they had to do with my NAS, rather than being an Oppo thing.

Cudos for you!
Cudos for Oppo's quick email response!

Boos for me for taking two bangs on my thick skull!
mickboy likes this.
floorhor is offline  
post #5056 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 04:56 AM
Member
 
floorhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Log in error

This is a strange one. Follow me here:

After I navigate into the structure of my NAS on the Oppo and then back out, I get a log in error when I try to navigate back into the structure.

I've found a work around. The top menu on my NAS is 'Admin' and 'Public'. (My stuff is in 'Public.') If I choose 'Admin' and then back out, there is no error when I go back into 'Public.' But when I back out again, I get the error and have to again choose 'Admin.'

Any ideas?
floorhor is offline  
post #5057 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 06:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
Has anyone tried a factory reset after doing the firmware update to correct the MQA CD disc noise? If so did it correct the noise issue?

Bill
not all MQA CDs make the spin noise.
Brian-HD is offline  
post #5058 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 06:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAlpine View Post
I registered for the new batches of 205s and purchased and received one.
Not to change topics but I have also registered to get a new one and I haven't heard a thing. Any insider info?
rwheelwright is online now  
post #5059 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 12:12 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,263
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1913 Post(s)
Liked: 2297
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwheelwright View Post
Not to change topics but I have also registered to get a new one and I haven't heard a thing. Any insider info?
Other than the sage advice of “be patient and hope your name comes up in the next batch”, there isn’t any insider info to be had. All any of us know is that there’s at least one more batch coming, some people have passed when their name came up, and there had been more names on the interest list than players being built. The more people who opt out when their name comes up, the better the chance for people closer to the bottom of the list.
gsr is offline  
post #5060 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 46
MKV Dolby Vision

I quite like enabling Dolby Vision for SDR files, I think. Unfortunately MKV files are not supported on the OPPO 203/205 (I own both) now. Remuxing video/audio/subtitle MKV files to an M2TS container (I tried a few) magically enables Dolby Vision playback for these files, so there are no real incompatibility issues for playing these SDR files in HDR. Will/can a future firmware upgrade solve this, or is there a major reason why this will never be? Repacking all my MKV's to M2TS is a solution of course, but will take considerable time and effort. I hope anybody knows.

Mark

Marantz 8802A | Rotel RB 1590 / 1555 | Bowers Wilkins 804D3 / HTM2D3 / DB3D / 703S2 / 706S2 | Oppo 205 | Bluesound NODE 2i | LG OLED65E8 | Denon AH-D7100 | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV4K | Cable box 4K | Darbee Darblet
(Denon 4520 | LG OLED55E6 | B&W 703 / 705 / HTM7 / ASW700 | Oppo 203 / HA-2SE | Apple TV | Chromecast Ultra / Audio | Denon AH-D2000)
Mark1000 is offline  
post #5061 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 01:16 PM
Member
 
john fusco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 33
MQA-CD sounding pretty sweet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8E63B9B6-8556-40CB-80AB-D4D2E7EA0D9B_1531685761459.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	2428828  
IBNR and Matthew Moroney like this.
john fusco is offline  
post #5062 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,485
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2217 Post(s)
Liked: 3409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post
not all MQA CDs make the spin noise.
Interesting, I wonder why some MQA CDs sound like a Blu-ray is playing and some do not. I know that The Royal Scam and Aja MQA CDs have the noise with the 205's latest firmware and do not with the old firmware. I still haven't had time to do a system reset.

When saving the settings to a thumb drive does the thumb drive have to be blank with no other files on it? Or will the 205 detect the file for the settings and ignore all other files?

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE (preamp), SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Marantz SA-10, Oppo UDP-205, UDP-203, BDP-105, BDP-103, BDP-93, BDP-83, Panasonic TC-P60GT50, Panamax 5100EX, Salk HT2-TLs, Salk 1801b center, Salk 1801TL (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #5063 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 01:40 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,473
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4609 Post(s)
Liked: 4443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
When saving the settings to a thumb drive does the thumb drive have to be blank with no other files on it?
No, the drive can have other files.

-Bill
Bill Mac and vavan like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #5064 of 6856 Old 07-15-2018, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,485
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2217 Post(s)
Liked: 3409
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
No, the drive can have other files.

-Bill
Bill,

Thanks, much appreciated! I'm gun shy after bricking my XMC-1 with a thumb drive that had two different firmware versions on it . It was totally my fault but now I'm very cautious when doing stuff like this.

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE (preamp), SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Marantz SA-10, Oppo UDP-205, UDP-203, BDP-105, BDP-103, BDP-93, BDP-83, Panasonic TC-P60GT50, Panamax 5100EX, Salk HT2-TLs, Salk 1801b center, Salk 1801TL (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #5065 of 6856 Old 07-16-2018, 01:04 AM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by john fusco View Post
MQA-CD sounding pretty sweet

Interesting that it shows as 24/88.2
My Dire Straits MQA UHQCD's all show as 24/352.8
linger63 is offline  
post #5066 of 6856 Old 07-16-2018, 05:28 AM
Member
 
john fusco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by linger63 View Post
Interesting that it shows as 24/88.2
My Dire Straits MQA UHQCD's all show as 24/352.8
Not sure why. Don’t know if it’s the CD or my settings. I’m running 2 channel XLR balanced out of my Anthem D2V

Last edited by john fusco; 07-16-2018 at 05:31 AM.
john fusco is offline  
post #5067 of 6856 Old 07-16-2018, 05:47 AM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by john fusco View Post
Not sure why. Don’t know if it’s the CD or my settings. I’m running 2 channel XLR balanced out of my Anthem D2V
All good...........figured out what's going on.

Apparently there's a couple of MQA CD titles that only do 24/88.2 for whatever reason (both by Queen)
Yours is one of them!!!!

http://www.cdjapan.co.jp/product/UICY-40190
http://www.cdjapan.co.jp/product/UICY-40191
linger63 is offline  
post #5068 of 6856 Old 07-16-2018, 05:49 AM
Member
 
john fusco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by linger63 View Post
All good...........figured out what's going on.
Apparently there's a couple of MQA CD titles that only do 24/88.2 (both by Queen) and yours is one of them!!!!


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/newre...ply&p=56496180


http://www.cdjapan.co.jp/product/UICY-40191
Yes you’re right just looked at the specs.
john fusco is offline  
post #5069 of 6856 Old 07-16-2018, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
fotis_dim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everybody, I'm the new guy around here and I'm begging for your help. I have just connected my 205 and I'm facing an issue with the HDMI input. I have connected my PC HDMI output there, which worked fine with my Denon AVR-3313. When I watch my PC screen through the Oppo, the image is ...bad, meaning there are some red or blue "shadows" on letters on white background. (See pics) There is also a significant input lag. At first I thought it was a cable related issue but I tried 5 different HDMI cables, 1 PC and 2 laptops as sources, my PC monitor and my projector in all possible variations, but problem persists. Then I tried changing the different settings in "Video output setup" and "Device setup" but nothing changed. Image has no artifacts even when I connect the HDMI cable that goes to the projector (12m long) with the HDMI cable coming from my PC (5m long) with a simple cheap female to female adapter. (This should normally degrade the image quality). I'm desperate, has anyone encountered the same problem? Could it be a bad HDMI input board? A friend bought the 205 for me from Germany because it was nowhere to find here in Greece and it would be difficult to send it back for repair. Can anyone help me please?


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	From PC to the monitor.JPG
Views:	61
Size:	3.08 MB
ID:	2429270   Click image for larger version

Name:	From PC to the  Oppo then to the monitor.JPG
Views:	51
Size:	2.52 MB
ID:	2429272  
fotis_dim is offline  
post #5070 of 6856 Old 07-16-2018, 02:33 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,248
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5809 Post(s)
Liked: 8279
Quote:
Originally Posted by fotis_dim View Post
Hello everybody, I'm the new guy around here and I'm begging for your help. I have just connected my 205 and I'm facing an issue with the HDMI input. I have connected my PC HDMI output there, which worked fine with my Denon AVR-3313. When I watch my PC screen through the Oppo, the image is ...bad, meaning there are some red or blue "shadows" on letters on white background. (See pics) There is also a significant input lag. At first I thought it was a cable related issue but I tried 5 different HDMI cables, 1 PC and 2 laptops as sources, my PC monitor and my projector in all possible variations, but problem persists. Then I tried changing the different settings in "Video output setup" and "Device setup" but nothing changed. Image has no artifacts even when I connect the HDMI cable that goes to the projector (12m long) with the HDMI cable coming from my PC (5m long) with a simple cheap female to female adapter. (This should normally degrade the image quality). I'm desperate, has anyone encountered the same problem? Could it be a bad HDMI input board? A friend bought the 205 for me from Germany because it was nowhere to find here in Greece and it would be difficult to send it back for repair. Can anyone help me please?


While you are getting the bad result on HDMI Input, press and hold Info button on the OPPO remote for a few seconds until the Extended Info display shows on screen. Use Up/Down arrow to scroll though that. The first part describes what is coming in on the HDMI Input. The 2nd part describes what is going out on the OPPO's Main HDMI output. Report both of those here.

Also report your Video output settings in the OPPO. And also report what you have in the setting in Setup > Device Setup for configuring the HDMI Input.

What you've got (incorrect color space conversion) looks like the result of an HDMI handshake failure. Let's see what the player thinks it is receiving and sending out.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off