Official OPPO UDP-205 UHD Blu-ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 206 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4113Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6151 of 6752 Old 12-29-2018, 04:40 AM
Senior Member
 
hal250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
For those wondering, the new HDMI IN BYPASS mode is found in the Input selector list. Press Input button and HDMI IN BYPASS will be a new line item found at the bottom of the pop up menu which appears on screen. For a programmable remote you can select it directly by sending Input button followed by the digit button corresponding to that line item.

So the Input choices now include both the HDMI IN line (which was there before) and the new HDMI IN BYPASS line.
--Bob
Hi Bob, perhaps this is explained already but can you provide a succinct description of a use case/purpose for this new HDMI IN BYPASS line? Thanks.
hal250 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6152 of 6752 Old 12-29-2018, 04:48 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal250 View Post
Hi Bob, perhaps this is explained already but can you provide a succinct description of a use case/purpose for this new HDMI IN BYPASS line? Thanks.
Its primary use is to allow Dolby Vision pass through via the HDMI Input. Dolby Vision video does not survive processing, so the HDMI In Bypass mode allows it to get through the OPPO (HDMI Input to Main HDMI output) without processing.
--Bob
pjm877, swajames and hal250 like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6153 of 6752 Old 12-29-2018, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone here have any issues with their USB DAC on the 205? I'm running a SGC sonicTransporter i5, with an UltraRendu hooked directly to my USB DAC on the OPPO. When I first turn on the OPPO and start playing music, I get a mottled, almost underwater sound intermittently for the for the first song or two and then it stops. Audio nirvana begins.

I have the USB DAC updated to the latest firmware. I don't see any obvious settings that would make a difference with this.

Jason
stumptown0426 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6154 of 6752 Old 12-29-2018, 09:59 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumptown0426 View Post
Anyone here have any issues with their USB DAC on the 205? I'm running a SGC sonicTransporter i5, with an UltraRendu hooked directly to my USB DAC on the OPPO. When I first turn on the OPPO and start playing music, I get a mottled, almost underwater sound intermittently for the for the first song or two and then it stops. Audio nirvana begins.

I have the USB DAC updated to the latest firmware. I don't see any obvious settings that would make a difference with this.

Jason
Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support. I've not heard of this problem in any of the released DAC firmware versions.

You can use the Email Us link on OPPO's Support page for the player.

The only setting which alters the function of the USB DAC Input is the Upsample USB DAC setting. Try turning that off.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6155 of 6752 Old 12-29-2018, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support. I've not heard of this problem in any of the released DAC firmware versions.

You can use the Email Us link on OPPO's Support page for the player.

The only setting which alters the function of the USB DAC Input is the Upsample USB DAC setting. Try turning that off.
--Bob
Yes, I did notice that was the only setting. I do not have mine on. I'll email OPPO. Thanks.
stumptown0426 is offline  
post #6156 of 6752 Old 12-30-2018, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe DiVincenzo View Post
Hello fellow UDP users
Hope everyone had a holiday season, I was hoping to get some advice, I have read and re-read some of these posts but I am confused

I connected my UDP 205 via RCA cables from the 7.1 channel analog inputs to the 7.1 channel inputs to the back of the Marantz SR 5005 , When I play a SACD of LA Woman I can here music coming out of my 5 speakers but jim morrison vocals sound muffled , also the sub woofer is not putting out any bass, The only time it sounds good is when I use the oppo app and downgrade from 5.1 to 2 channels

I thought because it was a multi channel SACD disc that the music would play properly , not sure if maybe I didn't connect it correctly or maybe my AVR is too old . But the AVR is only passing the music to the speakers so that shouldnt make a difference. Maybe the RCA cables I used aren't good quality (HOSA CRA-802 RCA)

Any suggestions would be appreciated
When you have the OPPO set for DSD to analog conversion, rather than PCM, multi-channel SACD channel level/distance/bass management will be handled by your Marantz DSP. That's to say, you will need to set output level/distance/delay/crossover to bass from the Marantz. Your Marantz has not likely been properly adjusted and that's why you have a complaint. If you set the OPPO for PCM conversion the OPPO can set output level for each channel. When you use OPPO for this function however output needs to go to an amp that has been set flat. In my system I output DSD and control channel gain with my multi-channel analog preamp, which is usually set to 0db gain on all channels to get the multi-channel effect that the producers of the 5.1 SACD had in mind rather than my notion.
csludwig2 is offline  
post #6157 of 6752 Old 12-30-2018, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Multi channel hdmi out

Probably know the answer but worth a try anyway. Can the Oppo 205 take multichannel in through the usb dac and send it out (to a multitchannel reciever - emotiva xmc1) ? Will the output to the hdmi still be multichannel?

Thanks,

George
Acousticmoods is offline  
post #6158 of 6752 Old 12-30-2018, 10:44 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acousticmoods View Post
Probably know the answer but worth a try anyway. Can the Oppo 205 take multichannel in through the usb dac and send it out (to a multitchannel reciever - emotiva xmc1) ? Will the output to the hdmi still be multichannel?

Thanks,

George
The USB DAC Input on the 205 supports only Stereo audio input from the attached computer.

(Playing media files from a hard drive attached to the normal USB sockets does support multi-channel, and the output on HDMI will be multi-channel.)
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6159 of 6752 Old 12-30-2018, 11:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The USB DAC Input on the 205 supports only Stereo audio input from the attached computer.

(Playing media files from a hard drive attached to the normal USB sockets does support multi-channel, and the output on HDMI will be multi-channel.)
--Bob
Thanks Bob. My goal is to be able to stream Ethernet multi channel using Roon.. So it appears I have three options (leaving the server in the other room).

1. Use an Ethernet to usb connector to feed the signal into the OPPO and play it through the OPPOs dac.
2. Use an Ethernet to usb connector as in (1) above but use hdmi(audio only) out to hdmi in on the xmc-1.
3. Use an Ethernet to hdmi adapter and feed directly into the XMC-1.

Any idea which would provide the best audio solution?

Thanks!
Acousticmoods is offline  
post #6160 of 6752 Old 12-30-2018, 11:37 AM
Member
 
BrianJB7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does Oppo 205 impact LG C8 Advance Picture Settings?

Connected the Oppo HDMI Out (Main), with a compliant 4k HDMI cable, directly to a LG C8 TV. It seems the Oppo is causing the C8's White Balance feature to "gray out" & the C8's HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color cannot be set to on.

4K and Bluray discs seem to look their best, but is the Oppo 205 impacting the TV's picture settings functions (White Balance and Ultra HDMI HD Deep Color?

Tried asking this question in another way on the OLED forum without any responses.

Happy Holidays to all!
Thanks
BrianJB7 is offline  
post #6161 of 6752 Old 12-30-2018, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
chrisdack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1000 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
Most Tidal Master files seem to be MQA, but are all?

When you play an MQA file, does the 205 display 96 kHz or 192 kHz? That is, Roon does the first unfolding to 96 kHz, but does the 205 do the second unfolding to 192 kHz?
A Tidal Master file is MQA by definition.

No, with Tidal MQA it is 88.4 or 96, so no more unfolding, according to the OPPO info screen, and also the Tidal site; see my earlier quote. It WILL do extra unfolding with discs or local MQA files to 192 or 384 kHz. I do not use Roon, but I guess if you can play a file that is encoded from a 192 or 384 original the OPPO will render it correctly, as it does for local files.

Mark
What happens with MQA that unfolds to 96Khz on first unfold but back to 44.1 with the second unfold?
chrisdack is offline  
post #6162 of 6752 Old 12-30-2018, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdack View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1000 View Post

A Tidal Master file is MQA by definition.

No, with Tidal MQA it is 88.4 or 96, so no more unfolding, according to the OPPO info screen, and also the Tidal site; see my earlier quote. It WILL do extra unfolding with discs or local MQA files to 192 or 384 kHz. I do not use Roon, but I guess if you can play a file that is encoded from a 192 or 384 original the OPPO will render it correctly, as it does for local files.

Mark
What happens with MQA that unfolds to 96Khz on first unfold but back to 44.1 with the second unfold?
That looks like strange behavior. ‘Unfolding’ to 44.1 is not possible. It looks like the file or stream is not recognized as MQA and plays as a regular CD quality file. Are you using the latest USB firmware 1.18 or higher (not system firmware that is)?

Mark

Marantz 8802A | Rotel RB 1590 / 1555 | Bowers Wilkins 804D3 / HTM2D3 / DB3D / 703S2 / 706S2 | Oppo 205 | Bluesound NODE 2i | LG OLED65E8 | Denon AH-D7100 | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV4K | Cable box 4K | Darbee Darblet
(Denon 4520 | LG OLED55E6 | B&W 703 / 705 / HTM7 / ASW700 | Oppo 203 / HA-2SE | Apple TV | Chromecast Ultra / Audio | Denon AH-D2000)
Mark1000 is offline  
post #6163 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 08:21 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianJB7 View Post
Connected the Oppo HDMI Out (Main), with a compliant 4k HDMI cable, directly to a LG C8 TV. It seems the Oppo is causing the C8's White Balance feature to "gray out" & the C8's HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color cannot be set to on.

4K and Bluray discs seem to look their best, but is the Oppo 205 impacting the TV's picture settings functions (White Balance and Ultra HDMI HD Deep Color?

Tried asking this question in another way on the OLED forum without any responses.

Happy Holidays to all!
Thanks
It is "normal" for TVs to change which of their settings are available according to the type of content they are being fed. It's not the OPPO doing this, but rather the TV maker deciding this is the best way for their TV to work when receiving that video input format.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6164 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 08:23 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acousticmoods View Post
Thanks Bob. My goal is to be able to stream Ethernet multi channel using Roon.. So it appears I have three options (leaving the server in the other room).

1. Use an Ethernet to usb connector to feed the signal into the OPPO and play it through the OPPOs dac.
2. Use an Ethernet to usb connector as in (1) above but use hdmi(audio only) out to hdmi in on the xmc-1.
3. Use an Ethernet to hdmi adapter and feed directly into the XMC-1.

Any idea which would provide the best audio solution?

Thanks!
Last time I checked Roon only supported Stereo to the OPPO. So if you want to use multi-channel from Room you'll need to connect it to your XMC-1 instead.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6165 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 11:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Last time I checked Roon only supported Stereo to the OPPO. So if you want to use multi-channel from Room you'll need to connect it to your XMC-1 instead.
--Bob
Thankyou Bob.

Happy New Year!
Acousticmoods is offline  
post #6166 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumptown0426 View Post
Anyone here have any issues with their USB DAC on the 205? I'm running a SGC sonicTransporter i5, with an UltraRendu hooked directly to my USB DAC on the OPPO. When I first turn on the OPPO and start playing music, I get a mottled, almost underwater sound intermittently for the for the first song or two and then it stops. Audio nirvana begins.

I have the USB DAC updated to the latest firmware. I don't see any obvious settings that would make a difference with this.

Jason
Update: I pulled the OPPO out of the chain and ran the USB from my UltraRendu directly to the USB input on my XMC-1 processor. All issues go away when I do this so it is an OPPO issue with the DAC.

I've emailed OPPO and am awaiting a response.

Jason
stumptown0426 is offline  
post #6167 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 3,251
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 517
I don't have this problem. I use the USB Dac input on the 205 with a SOTM sms200 ultra. I am using Roon. I have the Emotiva RMC1 that the Oppo's balanced out is connected too.

Ron

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #6168 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 716
EU/UK Public beta release of UDP20XEU-64-1221B

Hi all,

The EU/UK public beta release version of UDP20XEU-64-1221B has just been released. Here's a link: http://www.oppodigital.co.uk/beta-fi...U-players.html


Cheers all

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #6169 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
New Public Beta firmware is out for the 203 and 205. If you have a North America player, you can download it for USB install from the OPPO Support page for the player.

It adds HDR10+ support and a new HDMI Bypass mode in support of Dolby Vision pass through via the player's HDMI Input.
--Bob
Hi Bob, I have downloaded the Dec. 28 beta update bin file, but, unlike in the past when doing beta updates, I now get a 'file corrupted' message when the player tries to read the update file. I have tried downloading several more times, and same result each time( used 2 different usb sticks too). Anyone else seen this behavior or have an idea?
Thanks
Mark

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #6170 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 03:44 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,357
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4371
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmanner View Post
Hi Bob, I have downloaded the Dec. 28 beta update bin file, but, unlike in the past when doing beta updates, I now get a 'file corrupted' message when the player tries to read the update file. I have tried downloading several more times, and same result each time( used 2 different usb sticks too). Anyone else seen this behavior or have an idea?
Thanks
Mark
What is the exact size and name of the file?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #6171 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
What is the exact size and name of the file?

-Bill
Hi, it is:

UDP20X.bin
size 131MB (138,086,400 bytes)
on disk 131MB (138,088,488 bytes)

Thanks for your help,
Mark

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #6172 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 03:53 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,357
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4371
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmanner View Post
Hi, it is:

UDP20X.bin
size 131MB (138,086,400 bytes)
on disk 131MB (138,088,488 bytes)

Thanks for your help,
Mark
I have 138086400 bytes which matches your first number. What do the two different values mean?

And what firmware do you have installed now?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #6173 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I have 138086400 bytes which matches your first number. What do the two different values mean?

And what firmware do you have installed now?

-Bill
the size on disk number is always slight different, I just included it to be complete. Looks like my file is ok based on your experience. Not sure what is going on.
[Edit, I have UDP20X-60-0625 now]

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #6174 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 04:19 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,357
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4371
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmanner View Post
the size on disk number is always slight different, I just included it to be complete. Looks like my file is ok based on your experience. Not sure what is going on.
[Edit, I have UDP20X-60-0625 now]
That's odd. Have you ejected any disc in the tray? Shut down the player and started again?

Do you get the same results when you initiate the installation from the Setup as when you plug in the stick and and let the player discover the new firmware?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #6175 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 05:12 PM
Member
 
BrianJB7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
It is "normal" for TVs to change which of their settings are available according to the type of content they are being fed. It's not the OPPO doing this, but rather the TV maker deciding this is the best way for their TV to work when receiving that video input format.
--Bob
Thank you sir.

You are a value added resource. For over 13 years I've used your informed responses to get the most out of my audio and video equipment.

Thanks again.

Happy New Year!
pjm877, swajames and Cla55clown like this.
BrianJB7 is offline  
post #6176 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
chrisdack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1000 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdack View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1000 View Post

A Tidal Master file is MQA by definition.

No, with Tidal MQA it is 88.4 or 96, so no more unfolding, according to the OPPO info screen, and also the Tidal site; see my earlier quote. It WILL do extra unfolding with discs or local MQA files to 192 or 384 kHz. I do not use Roon, but I guess if you can play a file that is encoded from a 192 or 384 original the OPPO will render it correctly, as it does for local files.

Mark
What happens with MQA that unfolds to 96Khz on first unfold but back to 44.1 with the second unfold?
That looks like strange behavior. ‘Unfolding’ to 44.1 is not possible. It looks like the file or stream is not recognized as MQA and plays as a regular CD quality file. Are you using the latest USB firmware 1.18 or higher (not system firmware that is)?

Mark

Will see if I can find the tracks that do it and get a photo. Saved into my favourites somewhere.

Peeved because it's gotten my qnap>205 working with MQA Tidal but I couldn't sit on that, and then lost the ability to remote control in the upgrade to v18. Broke link between ir and Kodi.

Happy new year by the way!
chrisdack is offline  
post #6177 of 6752 Old 12-31-2018, 09:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
That's odd. Have you ejected any disc in the tray? Shut down the player and started again?

Do you get the same results when you initiate the installation from the Setup as when you plug in the stick and and let the player discover the new firmware?

-Bill
Hi Bill, I have tried both ways, same result. I may do a factory reset next, and then try the firmware update (I always do one afterwards of course).
I will report tomorrow.
Happy New Year!

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #6178 of 6752 Old 01-01-2019, 06:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Hi @markmanner

What capacity USB pen-drive are you using. And which 'File System' has it been formatted to?


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #6179 of 6752 Old 01-01-2019, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Hi @markmanner

What capacity USB pen-drive are you using. And which 'File System' has it been formatted to?


Cheers
Hi, I tried two different usbs, one formatted to fat 32 (a 32GB usb), the other to exFat (a 128GB usb). FWIW, both of those USBs were recognized by the OPPO, and I used each of them to copy the .cfg file I planned on using to restore settings after the update. I think one of them was probably one I used before to do a beta upgrade but I'm not certain.

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #6180 of 6752 Old 01-01-2019, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmanner View Post
Hi, I tried two different usbs, one formatted to fat 32 (a 32GB usb), the other to exFat (a 128GB usb). FWIW, both of those USBs were recognized by the OPPO, and I used each of them to copy the .cfg file I planned on using to restore settings after the update. I think one of them was probably one I used before to do a beta upgrade but I'm not certain.
Wow...

Given their huge capacities they almost certainly contain a hidden partition of some kind that's interfering with their detection. When it comes to device firmware updates, the smaller the USB pen-drive the better. Personally I use a 2GB model formatted to FAT32 or a 4GB model formatted to NTFS.


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off