Official OPPO UDP-205 UHD Blu-ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 221 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4148Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6601 of 6968 Old 04-21-2019, 05:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bardia View Post
After looking for a few hours on line and not finding the answer, I would like to ask if anyone here can help.

When I play FLAC files from an external hard drive connected to the OPPO, the album arts show up on the TV. The FLAC audio files all have a .jpg or .pdf picture within the music files.
However when I play .dsf files the album art does not show up. Any idea how to fix this issue?

Thank you in advance and happy Easter!

It sounds like you need to get a meta data file editor an add the album art as DSF files do support album art.
rhankey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6602 of 6968 Old 04-21-2019, 08:42 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,287
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5838 Post(s)
Liked: 8331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky Bennett View Post
Hey Everybody, I am a long time member here but I very seldom post. Last night my Oppo 205 died. It was purchased on 4-5-2018 so it just went past one year old. The thing is that it can not play any discs at all. The USB inputs still work fine but it will not load or recognize any disc that I put into it.



I have unplugged it several times and I actually reinstalled in the firmware even though it was already up to date. The day before I played a couple of discs and it played normally but yesterday I had a Grandkid over and I tried to play a movie and nothing happened. I tried several other discs including plain old CDs and still nothing happened.


I opened up a ticket with Oppo but I just wanted to know if anybody here has any suggestions. Thanks in advance.


Rocky Bennett
It could be any of a number of things -- the simplest being that the laser lenses have picked up some lint or such and just need to be cleaned.

The OPPO folks will sort things out for you. Just in case you are not clear on this, your 205 comes with a 2 year Warranty.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6603 of 6968 Old 04-22-2019, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bardia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhankey View Post
It sounds like you need to get a meta data file editor an add the album art as DSF files do support album art.
If you have any pointers please pm me as how to go about doing that. I'm lost
Bardia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6604 of 6968 Old 04-22-2019, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,799
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3895 Post(s)
Liked: 3149
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhankey View Post
It sounds like you need to get a meta data file editor an add the album art as DSF files do support album art.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bardia View Post
If you have any pointers please pm me as how to go about doing that. I'm lost
Last I checked, the Oppo players did not support embedded art in DSF files. Text tags seem to work OK, not artwork.
There are some sample DSF files available to download HERE that have text and image tags.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #6605 of 6968 Old 04-22-2019, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bardia View Post
However when I play .dsf files the album art does not show up. Any idea how to fix this issue?
There are a couple of ways to get the album art to appear: -

  • Give the Jpeg image the same name as the file name. Or
  • Give the Jpeg image the same name as the folder name.

This is what I do with my continuous .dff file (SACD disc) back-ups. Plus I create/add a Cue sheet file into the album folder.


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 04-22-2019 at 03:02 PM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #6606 of 6968 Old 04-22-2019, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
chrisdack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabillyhop View Post
Can the 205 properly play MQA streams received through the digital inputs (coax and optical)?

Tia
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
I believe only USB will play MQA.

“As of November 2017, the UDP-205 supports the audio format MQA (Master Quality Authenticated). Customers are able to play MQA files from connected USB hard drives and thumb drives, DLNA servers, and SMB shares”
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg TB View Post
MQA is unfolded and rendered only when the data is input to the USB audio input.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post
The 205 will also properly play MQA-encoded discs.


The 205 will also play MQA over both network browsing and dlna streams (205 as renderer) if playing flac encoded with MQA meta data and relevant bits of data.

Actually i would be surprised if it wouldn't play over coax/optical but defer to the above folks is they've tried the physical connections. I haven't. But streaming directly works fine.

Last edited by chrisdack; 04-22-2019 at 04:59 PM.
chrisdack is offline  
post #6607 of 6968 Old 04-22-2019, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kabillyhop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: True North
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdack View Post
The 205 will also play MQA over both network browsing and dlna streams (205 as renderer) if playing flac encoded with MQA meta data and relevant bits of data.

Actually i would be surprised if it wouldn't play over coax/optical but defer to the above folks is they've tried the physical connections. I haven't. But streaming directly works fine.
I have presented the MQA signal to the coax/optical inputs. I can see that the 205 sees a 48Kb input signal and the music sounds good, but I don't know how to know if it is actually playing the MQA signal. Is there an indicator that would confirm this one way or other?

The bitterness of poor quality lingers long after the sweetness of low price has passed.
Kabillyhop is offline  
post #6608 of 6968 Old 04-22-2019, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,521
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2244 Post(s)
Liked: 3503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabillyhop View Post
I have presented the MQA signal to the coax/optical inputs. I can see that the 205 sees a 48Kb input signal and the music sounds good, but I don't know how to know if it is actually playing the MQA signal. Is there an indicator that would confirm this one way or other?
There is no MQA indicator icon on the 205 display as MQA capability was added later. If you have a display connected to the 205 you will see MQA displayed on the display if it is in fact playing.

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE (preamp), SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Marantz SA-10, Oppo UDP-205, UDP-203, BDP-105, BDP-103, BDP-93, BDP-83, Panasonic TC-P60GT50, Panamax 5100EX, Salk HT2-TLs, Salk 1801b center, Salk 1801TL (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #6609 of 6968 Old 04-23-2019, 01:47 AM
Senior Member
 
chrisdack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabillyhop View Post
I have presented the MQA signal to the coax/optical inputs. I can see that the 205 sees a 48Kb input signal and the music sounds good, but I don't know how to know if it is actually playing the MQA signal. Is there an indicator that would confirm this one way or other?
Thinking about it some more... The meta flag and handshake for MQA probably won't pass through even though the spdif connection on the OPPO do in theory support PCM signals with enough bandwidth.
No idea how bubblePnP manages to stream over DLNA though...must be something proprietary
chrisdack is offline  
post #6610 of 6968 Old 04-23-2019, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Welcome to AVSForum.

What is Output Resolution set to in the player?

What is the source of the mkv files? Are they from DVD, or Blu-ray, or something else?

As a diagnostic, bypass the Bose and connect the player directly to the display. Does that make a difference?

-Bill
Hi, I tried a few things like Source direct, Custom with custom set to 1080p and 2160 but nothing helped. So in the end I decided to do a factory reset by pressing and holding the resolution button and it seems to have resolved the issue. Thanks a lot for your help, appreciate it.
vondutch9 is offline  
post #6611 of 6968 Old 04-26-2019, 01:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Parys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I would like to use the 205 as the video processor for my other source devices (LD, HDDVD, VHS, ROKU) My thought is to go from my sources to my AV pre-amp (Yamaha CX-A5100) then use the output of HDMI 1 of the Yamaha to the input HDMI of the Oppo 205 input. My Oppo 205 HDMI goes direct to projector the JVC NX9. Question is do i have to always have the 205 on to engage the video processing? or is there a pass though function that works when the Oppo is in standby? I haven't hooked it up yet this way and don't want to for this until I know how it works. I have a lot of cables back there an everything is working right now so I don't want to mess with it until I have a clue how to make it work out the gate. Thank you.

Jim Parys is Living the dream...
La Sirena III Theater

Last edited by Jim Parys; 04-26-2019 at 01:38 AM.
Jim Parys is offline  
post #6612 of 6968 Old 04-26-2019, 05:11 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,616
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4677 Post(s)
Liked: 4550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Parys View Post
Question is do i have to always have the 205 on to engage the video processing? or is there a pass though function that works when the Oppo is in standby?
Yes. No.

Quote:
Mission Control: Buckaroo, the White House wants to know is everything ok with the alien space craft from Planet 10 or should we just go ahead and destroy Russia?

Buckaroo Banzai: Tell him yes on one and no on two.

Mission Control: Which one was yes, go ahead and destroy Russia... or number 2?
-Bill
Geoff4RFC likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #6613 of 6968 Old 04-28-2019, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ultra 150 pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Western mass
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 248
I have an oppo 205 paired with a jvc nx5.

My question is should I let the jvc do the tone mapping? What settings should I have in the oppo? Strip metadata? Auto?


Thx, bob
ultra 150 pilot is offline  
post #6614 of 6968 Old 05-05-2019, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Windows 7 Surround Sound

I am trying to use my Oppo 205 as a USB DAC for my Windows 7 PC. It works great for stereo, but I recently acquired another power amp and would like to set it up for surround sound from Windows. However, when I try to configure it in "playback devices", I do not get the option for anything but stereo.



I don't see any settings in the Oppo itself that seem relevant, and so far, there has been too much noise in my searches to point me in any kind of direction.



Does anyone have experience with this? Is surround sound possible via USB in?


Thanks in advance.
Ckafoweeth is offline  
post #6615 of 6968 Old 05-05-2019, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ckafoweeth View Post
Does anyone have experience with this? Is surround sound possible via USB in?
As stated within the 'User Manual'...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	USB DAC.PNG
Views:	54
Size:	76.6 KB
ID:	2562682  
Greg TB likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #6616 of 6968 Old 05-05-2019, 09:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,501
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 1664
I've been so satisfied with my 103, I haven't looked for anything else for the last several years. Now, I would like to upgrade to a 4K player and to my dismay, I learn about Oppo and the discontinued sale of players.

I would love to get my hands on a 205, but the prices folks are charging for one is nothing short of extorsion.

What the heck man, who would be privy to a retailer that has them anywhere close to what Oppo was selling them for?

Thanks.

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A w/Pangea Premium XLR's-Source: Oppo 103-CD Player: Emotiva ERC 3 w/Pangea Premium XLR's
Display: Samsung QLED 65F-Amplification: Emotiva XPA-DR3, XPA-2 x 2
Mains: PolkAudio LSiM707, C 706, SS 702, RS RTiA9
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6617 of 6968 Old 05-06-2019, 05:29 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,616
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4677 Post(s)
Liked: 4550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
I've been so satisfied with my 103, I haven't looked for anything else for the last several years. Now, I would like to upgrade to a 4K player and to my dismay, I learn about Oppo and the discontinued sale of players.

I would love to get my hands on a 205, but the prices folks are charging for one is nothing short of extorsion.

What the heck man, who would be privy to a retailer that has them anywhere close to what Oppo was selling them for?

Thanks.
Sorry, you are way late. The regular outlets don't have them any more. Everything in the market is from individuals selling their own gear.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #6618 of 6968 Old 05-06-2019, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,647
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Sorry, you are way late. The regular outlets don't have them any more. Everything in the market is from individuals selling their own gear.

-Bill
I ordered a 205 from Oppo when I learned they were going to stop production, but unfortunately cancelled the order. I have a 95 or 105 sitting in its carton somewhere, and 105D and 205 in racks. Oppo support has been superb, but I guess they saw streaming inevitably replacing spinning. I use the asynchronous, RFI filtered USB port of an Ayre DX-5 DSD to play files from Roon, but rarely spin a disc.
dbphd is offline  
post #6619 of 6968 Old 05-07-2019, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,501
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 1664
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Sorry, you are way late. The regular outlets don't have them any more. Everything in the market is from individuals selling their own gear.

-Bill
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
I ordered a 205 from Oppo when I learned they were going to stop production, but unfortunately cancelled the order. I have a 95 or 105 sitting in its carton somewhere, and 105D and 205 in racks. Oppo support has been superb, but I guess they saw streaming inevitably replacing spinning. I use the asynchronous, RFI filtered USB port of an Ayre DX-5 DSD to play files from Roon, but rarely spin a disc.
Sucks to be me!! I would sure love to find a deal on a 205...…….

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A w/Pangea Premium XLR's-Source: Oppo 103-CD Player: Emotiva ERC 3 w/Pangea Premium XLR's
Display: Samsung QLED 65F-Amplification: Emotiva XPA-DR3, XPA-2 x 2
Mains: PolkAudio LSiM707, C 706, SS 702, RS RTiA9
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6620 of 6968 Old 05-07-2019, 05:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
Sucks to be me!! I would sure love to find a deal on a 205...…….
You will either need to be very lucky or find someone who will lend you their 'time machine'.
Bill Mac likes this.

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is online now  
post #6621 of 6968 Old 05-07-2019, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,501
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 1664
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
You will either need to be very lucky or find someone who will lend you their 'time machine'.
Lol, I'm hoping to be lucky
Antonino Barbera likes this.

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A w/Pangea Premium XLR's-Source: Oppo 103-CD Player: Emotiva ERC 3 w/Pangea Premium XLR's
Display: Samsung QLED 65F-Amplification: Emotiva XPA-DR3, XPA-2 x 2
Mains: PolkAudio LSiM707, C 706, SS 702, RS RTiA9
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6622 of 6968 Old 05-07-2019, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
Lol, I'm hoping to be lucky
I wish you luck, but on the outside chance that you get your hands on a time machine, please pm me. I'd like you to buy some Apple stock for me.

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is online now  
post #6623 of 6968 Old 05-07-2019, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,501
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 1664
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
I wish you luck, but on the outside chance that you get your hands on a time machine, please pm me. I'd like you to buy some Apple stock for me.
Lol, deal

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A w/Pangea Premium XLR's-Source: Oppo 103-CD Player: Emotiva ERC 3 w/Pangea Premium XLR's
Display: Samsung QLED 65F-Amplification: Emotiva XPA-DR3, XPA-2 x 2
Mains: PolkAudio LSiM707, C 706, SS 702, RS RTiA9
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6624 of 6968 Old 05-10-2019, 08:33 AM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Im looking for a new receiver for 4k hdr pass through. I currently have a pio 92thx with the oppo and 7.1 analog. Ive been looking at the anthem 720, but i see it only has 5 analog inputs. So I assume 7.1 analog with the anthem is out the question.

Are there any comparable avr's to the anthem that can run 7.1 analog? Or should I just give up on 7.1 analog.

Thanks
chris6878 is offline  
post #6625 of 6968 Old 05-10-2019, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,501
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 1664
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
Im looking for a new receiver for 4k hdr pass through. I currently have a pio 92thx with the oppo and 7.1 analog. Ive been looking at the anthem 720, but i see it only has 5 analog inputs. So I assume 7.1 analog with the anthem is out the question.

Are there any comparable avr's to the anthem that can run 7.1 analog? Or should I just give up on 7.1 analog.

Thanks
How about this?

https://www.accessories4less.com/mak...ocessor/1.html

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A w/Pangea Premium XLR's-Source: Oppo 103-CD Player: Emotiva ERC 3 w/Pangea Premium XLR's
Display: Samsung QLED 65F-Amplification: Emotiva XPA-DR3, XPA-2 x 2
Mains: PolkAudio LSiM707, C 706, SS 702, RS RTiA9
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6626 of 6968 Old 05-10-2019, 11:17 AM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
Thanks, very nice price cut, but how trustworthy are refurbs. ALways been scared to buy a refurb
chris6878 is offline  
post #6627 of 6968 Old 05-10-2019, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
Thanks, very nice price cut, but how trustworthy are refurbs. ALways been scared to buy a refurb
Just one guy's opinion, but I've never had a second thought about buying a refurbished unit. The unit was sent back for a particular defect (bad HDMI port or whatever) and was repaired. The techs check it over with a fine tooth comb, since they don't want it back again, and then sell it at a reduced price. Full warranty.
chris6878 and Geoff4RFC like this.

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is online now  
post #6628 of 6968 Old 05-10-2019, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,501
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 1664
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
Thanks, very nice price cut, but how trustworthy are refurbs. ALways been scared to buy a refurb
I own a handful of refurbs myself and never a bad experience however I did some checking on that Marantz unit, as tngiloy mentioned, maybe as a refurb it might be better than new. Some of the reviews I've read shows it has a 3 year life before going bad.

That being said, AC4L offers extended warranties for low cost. I've always purchased the max warranty with my units from them and have never used them. With the extended warranty, you can't lose.
chris6878 likes this.

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A w/Pangea Premium XLR's-Source: Oppo 103-CD Player: Emotiva ERC 3 w/Pangea Premium XLR's
Display: Samsung QLED 65F-Amplification: Emotiva XPA-DR3, XPA-2 x 2
Mains: PolkAudio LSiM707, C 706, SS 702, RS RTiA9
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6629 of 6968 Old 05-11-2019, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
mscarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pierson Michigan
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
Just one guy's opinion, but I've never had a second thought about buying a refurbished unit. The unit was sent back for a particular defect (bad HDMI port or whatever) and was repaired. The techs check it over with a fine tooth comb, since they don't want it back again, and then sell it at a reduced price. Full warranty.
Denon AVR-X8500H
chris6878 likes this.

Mscarp
mscarp is offline  
post #6630 of 6968 Old 05-11-2019, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys - just bought the 4K streaming stick from Roku. Plugged it into the hdmi in port on the 205. Picture is supposed to be 4K on GOT but looks no where near as good as upscale Blu-ray. But where it’s really lacking is the sound! All I can get is a hollow sounding 2.0 channel affair. Anyone know how to get at least Dolby 5.1?
Th3doctor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off