Official OPPO UDP-205 UHD Blu-ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 224 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4113Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6691 of 6750 Old 06-05-2019, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane.Strawn View Post
Apologies for what is probably a dumb question, I am investing in some ZMF Aeolus headphones and obviously want to get the best out of them with my 205, can anyone advise what is the best method of connection to get the best sound i can. I am also using an Arcam AV-860 if this makes any difference.

TIA
Don't the headphones come with a 1/4-inch stereo jack plug? This being the case, why not plug them directly into the OPPO's dedicated headphone port....

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6692 of 6750 Old 06-05-2019, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 14,570
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane.Strawn View Post
Apologies for what is probably a dumb question, I am investing in some ZMF Aeolus headphones and obviously want to get the best out of them with my 205, can anyone advise what is the best method of connection to get the best sound i can. I am also using an Arcam AV-860 if this makes any difference.

TIA
Both the 205 and the Arcam have an output for headphones. Why not simply try each one and see which sounds best before investing in a separate headphone amp?
chili555 likes this.
BillP is offline  
post #6693 of 6750 Old 06-05-2019, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Shane.Strawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Dorset, United Kingdom
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post
Both the 205 and the Arcam have an output for headphones. Why not simply try each one and see which sounds best before investing in a separate headphone amp?
Thanks, that is the plan, however, wanted to know if there was a better way of doing before resorting to a dedicated amp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Don't the headphones come with a 1/4-inch stereo jack plug? This being the case, why not plug them directly into the OPPO's dedicated headphone port....
As above, that is the plan, just wanted to make sure i wasn't missing something.

Panasonic TX-65EZ1002B(ISF Calibrated),Oppo UDP-205,Arcam AV860,
Amps: Nord One UP NC500DM 3CH powering XTZ M8's L/C/R, Lexicon LX-7 powering XTZ S5's, Rears XTZ M6's,Sub's: Dual PSA S1811's ,AV Cabinet: BDI OLA in chocolate Walnut.
Shane.Strawn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6694 of 6750 Old 06-07-2019, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 14,570
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 418
I can't get the eARC to work between my brand new Sony A9G OLED and my Oppo 205. I have a new Monoprice certified high speed cable connecting them (plugged into HDMI 3 on the OLED, the correct eARC HDMI port, and also into the main HDMI output on the 205), and eARC set to Auto on the OLED (the choices are Auto or Off). When I toggle the inputs on the 205 and select HDMI Output ARC, I get a message saying "Connecting," followed by a failure to connect about 5 seconds later. Audio and video work fine with the HDMI cable when playing a BluRay disc. I just can't get the audio to go from the OLED to the Oppo. Any ideas?
BillP is offline  
post #6695 of 6750 Old 06-07-2019, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 14,570
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 418
The OLED port is labeled eARC, and I believe the 205 supports ARC but not eARC9 (probably why it's not working). Is there any way to get it to work between an eARC device and the 205 (other than simply using an optical cable)?
BillP is offline  
post #6696 of 6750 Old 06-08-2019, 05:30 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
^ Typically you will also need to enable HDMI CEC in the TV to get its HDMI ARC output to work.
—Bob
BillW and Bill Mac like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6697 of 6750 Old 06-08-2019, 04:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 14,570
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Typically you will also need to enable HDMI CEC in the TV to get its HDMI ARC output to work.
—Bob
It worked when I turned HDMI CEC "on" in the Oppo settings. I also had to make sure the speaker setting in the display was set to "external audio." Thanks!!!!!
Bob Pariseau likes this.
BillP is offline  
post #6698 of 6750 Old 06-11-2019, 09:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OPPO-205 stuck in sleep mode

When I pause a DVD and let it stay that way for some hours, the player will then not be able to revive itself from sleep mode.

Any ideas??

Turning the thing off & then on makes it lose the position on the DVD.
ralf11 is offline  
post #6699 of 6750 Old 06-12-2019, 02:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralf11 View Post
When I pause a DVD and let it stay that way for some hours, the player will then not be able to revive itself from sleep mode.

Any ideas??

Turning the thing off & then on makes it lose the position on the DVD.
My 203 with the same video section will pick up a dvd where it left off when I cut it off and then later or even the next day cut it on. I don't see any reason to leave it on pause if you are going to be away for hours.

Supercharged Song Towers, Oppo BDP-203, Anthem MRX-520, LG B6 OLED
Headphone Rig: Oppo BDP-95, Burson Audio Soloist MKII Headphone amp/ Sennheiser HD800S, Sennheiser HD650

Last edited by glangford; 06-13-2019 at 02:33 AM.
glangford is offline  
post #6700 of 6750 Old 06-12-2019, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bill Shenefelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Irwin, Pa USA 15642 (near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 80
My oppo 205 does not recognize a dvd video disk to play the video. the 203 worked fine. These are commercial video dvd disks and not somehow region specific. I have not made any firmware upgrades or anything. Right out of the box from Oppo when some were being still offered. I have hdmi selected for video and also rca jacks connected to a separate input on my Anthem receiver for audio.

Any simple thoughts or do i need to resurrect my 203 to watch my older dvd disks?

Bill Shenefelt; JBL 4343 monitors on Audire and Crown 1502 amps. 2 SVS 16 SB subs. 8 cu ft ported enclosure with 18 inch jbl driver on a Crown 1002 XTi amp (below 30 cps cut via eq), 4 Klipsch in-ceiling atmos. Anthem MRX 1120 receiver. Accuphase C-200, PS P600, Sony 4k projector and tv, SOTA Saphire turntable and Oppo 205 disk player .
Bill Shenefelt is offline  
post #6701 of 6750 Old 06-12-2019, 06:03 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
^ Sounds like your 205 has a failure of the red laser used for DVD and CD discs. Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support. It is likely your 205 is still under warranty.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6702 of 6750 Old 06-13-2019, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,436
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2194 Post(s)
Liked: 3296
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralf11 View Post
When I pause a DVD and let it stay that way for some hours, the player will then not be able to revive itself from sleep mode.

Any ideas??

Turning the thing off & then on makes it lose the position on the DVD.
It'd be best to just stop the DVD instead leaving it on pause for hours on end. If you have the Auto Resume setting set to On then the DVD should play from the point you stopped it.

Bill
SeeMoreDigital likes this.

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE (preamp), SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Marantz SA-10, Oppo UDP-205, UDP-203, BDP-105, BDP-103, BDP-93, BDP-83, Panasonic TC-P60GT50, Panamax 5100EX, Salk HT2-TLs, Salk 1801b center, Salk 1801TL (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #6703 of 6750 Old 06-15-2019, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 388
What's the general verdict of the analog audio out of the BDP-105 vs. the UDP-205? Is the 205 noticeably better? If yes, in what way? Is there anyone who has owned both that can weigh in? I know the 205 has a higher quality/better spec. DAC chip, but this doesn't necessarily mean better sound. Thanks.
RWetmore is offline  
post #6704 of 6750 Old 06-15-2019, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Short Hills NJ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Having a hard time updating my 205. I have the wifi set up to my network and its functioning, but the option to upgrade firmware through network is grayed out. This a brand new unit that i bought from oppo just before they discontinued them. This is also the first firmware update ive tried to do so my software version is a few behind.
Any thoughts?
NJ_Audio is offline  
post #6705 of 6750 Old 06-15-2019, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,572
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3773 Post(s)
Liked: 2973
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ_Audio View Post
Having a hard time updating my 205. I have the wifi set up to my network and its functioning, but the option to upgrade firmware through network is grayed out. This a brand new unit that i bought from oppo just before they discontinued them. This is also the first firmware update ive tried to do so my software version is a few behind.
Any thoughts?
Download the files from Oppo and install from USB.
https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...e-65-0131.aspx
Please make note of this:
Quote:
Special Notice:
  1. 1. Once this firmware version is installed on the player, you will not be able to revert back to any previous official or public beta firmware. There will be no problem upgrading to any future official or beta firmware release.
  2. 2. For players with firmware version 42-0329 or earlier, please install the UDP20X-45-0605 firmware first. You will then be able to upgrade from version 45-0605 to the latest version, 65-0131
rdgrimes is offline  
post #6706 of 6750 Old 06-15-2019, 08:32 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,355
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4540 Post(s)
Liked: 4369
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ_Audio View Post
Having a hard time updating my 205. I have the wifi set up to my network and its functioning, but the option to upgrade firmware through network is grayed out. This a brand new unit that i bought from oppo just before they discontinued them. This is also the first firmware update ive tried to do so my software version is a few behind.
Any thoughts?
Update is greyed out if you have a disc loaded or are playing back any other content.

-Bill
NJ_Audio likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #6707 of 6750 Old 06-15-2019, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Short Hills NJ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Update is greyed out if you have a disc loaded or are playing back any other content.

-Bill
That worked. Thank you so much.
NJ_Audio is offline  
post #6708 of 6750 Old 06-15-2019, 02:54 PM
Member
 
couchfungus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 33
In a previous post I described HF oscillations on the left channel of the stereo RCA outputs on my UDP-205, and on both channels of the headphone jack. I reported this to Oppo service and they told me to send the unit in for repair.

They replaced the stereo audio board, and included a sheet showing their measurements with the old and new boards. Both channels are now clean. Left channel HF noise was reduced by 5x.

Did the fix improve sound quality? Maybe a tiny bit more clarity, but I'm very hesitant to make judgments from listening tests separated by several days.

They did not eliminate the 45 MHz garbage on the headphone channels. It is now even higher in amplitude. Since I rarely use headphones, this is not a worry for me. But it adds credibility to some opinions that this is a design flaw which can't be easily fixed.

Nice work by the service center. Good communications, quick turn-around, and they even included another one of the coveted Oppo-branded black cloth shopping bags.
vavan likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E, Panasonic TC-P58VT25, Apple TV 4K, Oppo UDP-205, Counterpoint SA-3000, Linn Sondek LP12, Ekos, Aragon 4004 Mk II, Acoustat 3, beer
couchfungus is offline  
post #6709 of 6750 Old 06-15-2019, 10:53 PM
Newbie
 
Richbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
What's the general verdict of the analog audio out of the BDP-105 vs. the UDP-205? Is the 205 noticeably better? If yes, in what way? Is there anyone who has owned both that can weigh in? I know the 205 has a higher quality/better spec. DAC chip, but this doesn't necessarily mean better sound. Thanks.
I own both the 105 and the 205. The 205 directly replaced the 105 in my HT set up, driving a NAD M25 power amp directly into B&W 7-series speakers (currently a 5.1 setup). The 205 has noticeably better resolution, quieter noise floor, and tighter bass. The difference is not subtle, the 205 is audibly better, particularly in detail, and competitive with stand alone DACs in the $2-3K range. I now use the 105 as a transport and streamer in my stereo system in the den. Still a solid performer.
kucharsk, ht guy, mickboy and 1 others like this.
Richbrennan is offline  
post #6710 of 6750 Old 06-16-2019, 04:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richbrennan View Post
I own both the 105 and the 205. The 205 directly replaced the 105 in my HT set up, driving a NAD M25 power amp directly into B&W 7-series speakers (currently a 5.1 setup). The 205 has noticeably better resolution, quieter noise floor, and tighter bass. The difference is not subtle, the 205 is audibly better, particularly in detail, and competitive with stand alone DACs in the $2-3K range. I now use the 105 as a transport and streamer in my stereo system in the den. Still a solid performer.

Thanks. You're using the analog outs I presume, right?
RWetmore is offline  
post #6711 of 6750 Old 06-16-2019, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
Richbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richbrennan View Post
I own both the 105 and the 205. The 205 directly replaced the 105 in my HT set up, driving a NAD M25 power amp directly into B&W 7-series speakers (currently a 5.1 setup). The 205 has noticeably better resolution, quieter noise floor, and tighter bass. The difference is not subtle, the 205 is audibly better, particularly in detail, and competitive with stand alone DACs in the $2-3K range. I now use the 105 as a transport and streamer in my stereo system in the den. Still a solid performer.

Thanks. You're using the analog outs I presume, right?
Yes, analog outs directly into a NAD M25 power amp.
Richbrennan is offline  
post #6712 of 6750 Old 06-18-2019, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Should I expect to see any special notification that I am playing an XRCD on my Oppo UDP-205?
Perhaps an icon on the player's display or detailed information on screen?
Or will it simply appear to be a normal CD to the UDP-205?
Jason Stephens is online now  
post #6713 of 6750 Old 06-18-2019, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 6,415
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1745 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Stephens View Post
Should I expect to see any special notification that I am playing an XRCD on my Oppo UDP-205?
XRCD is a mastering/manufacturing technique, not a format, so no decoding is needed by the player.

Thus no notification is presented because it's just an ordinary Red Book CD on disc.

Wikipedia: XRCD
kucharsk is offline  
post #6714 of 6750 Old 06-18-2019, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Thank you kucharsk for the info and for the link regarding XRCD.
jaredmmyers likes this.
Jason Stephens is online now  
post #6715 of 6750 Old 06-25-2019, 05:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
script to get the OPPO menu working the way it should

Thx Jupiterstar,
this seems to go in the right direction. Did you add any further steps in the meantime? Or anybody else?
Obviously it is not very practical to insert a USB stick until the network is connected…..I would ideally like to keep it in permanently and route the menu directly to my NAS directories.
The OPPO settings still not allow any editing of the high level menu (Music, Pictures, Movies, etc) so if OPPO is not getting it fixed this is our only option.
Hope we can get a fix that is ready for practical usage.
thx




Quote:
Originally Posted by jupiterstar View Post
Thanks for the posts! I've been playing with my Oppo-203 based on your initial post and following various threads on the Internet regarding what people have done. I don't have a particular need to use a folder on my usb drive as a network mount, but here's how you do it.

HTML Code:
<USB Root Dir>/
        |-AutoScript/
               |-AutoScript.TSS
In AutoScript.TSS, just do something like this (which I just tested):

HTML Code:
#MKAT 0.xx script
 
CLI(CLI_exec /bin/mount.cifs //192.168.1.10/Movies /mnt/sda1/Movies -o user=<username>,password=<password>,ro)
1) That's it, a one liner. I hope you didn't run the entire script originally posted, it didn't need to be that complicated and it does alter your player. For example, the very first line wipes out the password for the root user. I'm sure a firmware reflash will reset it.
2) Make sure that your player is on the network. If you plug in the USB too soon upon powerup, it may not have had enough time to establish a network connect. Try browsing the network first and make sure it's successful before plugging in the USB.
3) You'll need to use absolute paths for executables.
4) You only need the AutoScript.TSS file.
5) It still only works with SMB1, so it may be failing because of that.

Last edited by brewie12; 06-25-2019 at 06:12 AM.
brewie12 is offline  
post #6716 of 6750 Old 06-25-2019, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I am just reading in the german forum that there is a simple solution for the network being ready: just make sure that your network setting in OPPO says "network standby"
brewie12 is offline  
post #6717 of 6750 Old 06-25-2019, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 66
I'm unable to view photos from the front USB port after trying both a thumb and 6TB external HD. I choose Photos from the home screen and navigate to the folder(s) containing the pics but every time I select a JPG photo-any one-the 205 crashes back to the home screen.

No problem playing music files from the front USB port using the same external drives.

Mains: Revel Salon2's powered by ATI AT6002
Center: Revel C208
Surrounds: Revel F208
SW: SVS PB 13 Ultra
Amp: Emotiva XPR5 (surrounds & center)
LG 65 B6P & EF9500
steady teddy is offline  
post #6718 of 6750 Old 06-25-2019, 07:14 PM
Newbie
 
jupiterstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I didn't do anymore with this specifically -- I'm perfectly fine with the default network file browser. However, using this technique, you can have it execute an arbitrary script (instead of the mount.cifs) on your USB. Within that script, you can do anything you want. I did end up writing scripts and compiling programs for the Oppo that allowed me to use the disc drive as an iSCSI target, basically I could use it as a remote disc drive for my Mac and read data discs. It's pretty cool, but not all that useful because the Oppo drive isn't designed to be fast. I also managed to disable the "muting feature" that happens when playing disc backups from certain studios. All without modifying any files in the Oppo. It seems like keeping the Oppo in "Network Standby" may work best but I imagine one could write a script that, upon power on, sleeps for a few seconds to allow the Oppo to recognize the network and then tries to mount a NAS in a loop until it succeeds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewie12 View Post
Thx Jupiterstar,
this seems to go in the right direction. Did you add any further steps in the meantime? Or anybody else?
Obviously it is not very practical to insert a USB stick until the network is connected…..I would ideally like to keep it in permanently and route the menu directly to my NAS directories.
The OPPO settings still not allow any editing of the high level menu (Music, Pictures, Movies, etc) so if OPPO is not getting it fixed this is our only option.
Hope we can get a fix that is ready for practical usage.
thx
jupiterstar is offline  
post #6719 of 6750 Old 06-26-2019, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by steady teddy View Post
I'm unable to view photos from the front USB port after trying both a thumb and 6TB external HD. I choose Photos from the home screen and navigate to the folder(s) containing the pics but every time I select a JPG photo-any one-the 205 crashes back to the home screen.

No problem playing music files from the front USB port using the same external drives.
Are you able to zip-up a few of your photos and upload them to a file sharing service for testing?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #6720 of 6750 Old 06-26-2019, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Are you able to zip-up a few of your photos and upload them to a file sharing service for testing?
Thanks, I contacted Oppo support on this and they asked the same thing. For starters, I sent them a link to just solid color wallpaper in 4K. Long story short, I was trying to get the 205 to display a solid yellow screen/photo in order to test my LG OLED for burn in. I saved the wallpaper jpg to my hard drive but cannot get it to display on my LG. Oppo support said they could not replicate the issue.



https://www.solidbackgrounds.com/384...ackground.html

My guess is it’s perhaps a setting on the B6P, maybe HDMI Deep Color (HDR). I don’t know what else it could be. When I get time I could connect the 205 to another display if setting Deep Color off doesn’t fix it. If I can get photos to display on one of the other TVs, then there’s something going on with the 205 & LG.

Everything is connected through a Marantz 8802A but it’s set to pass through.
No issues playing 4K UHD discs with my current setup either.

Thanks

Mains: Revel Salon2's powered by ATI AT6002
Center: Revel C208
Surrounds: Revel F208
SW: SVS PB 13 Ultra
Amp: Emotiva XPR5 (surrounds & center)
LG 65 B6P & EF9500
steady teddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off