OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X700 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 112 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2290Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 4072 Old 09-18-2019, 03:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tintinjones View Post
Thanks for the reply. With the LG C9 would you recommend letting the TV handle the upscaling instead of the player?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
Letting the tv handle the upscaling really isn't an option with this player since it doesn't have a "source direct" mode. I.e. the player can't sendt a completely untampered and unscaled picture from the source disk no matter what options you select.

It doesn't help selecting for 1080p or 1080i for Blurays since there's no guarantee the player won't internally scale the source first before outputting the selected resolution. Sending an unscaled DVD is completely off the tables with this player, since it doesn't support 480i og 576i output over HDMI.

Bottom line:
Let the player do the upscaling to the best abilities of your tv.
D Bone and tintinjones like this.
aalb1970 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 4072 Old 09-18-2019, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Does this player play 3D blurays? It's not very clear in the specs that it does.
KBMAN is offline  
post #3333 of 4072 Old 09-18-2019, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1508 Post(s)
Liked: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post
Does this player play 3D blurays? It's not very clear in the specs that it does.
Manual, p.16:

1 Prepare for Blu-ray 3D disc playback.
• Connect the player to your 3Dcompatible devices using a High Speed
HDMI Cable.
• Set [3D Output Setting] and [TV Screen
Size Setting for 3D] in [Screen Settings]
(page 21).
2 Insert a Blu-ray 3D disc.
The operation method differs depending
on the disc. Refer to the instruction
manual supplied with the disc.
DunMunro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3334 of 4072 Old 09-18-2019, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,279
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2618 Post(s)
Liked: 2331
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
Manual, p.16:



1 Prepare for Blu-ray 3D disc playback.

• Connect the player to your 3Dcompatible devices using a High Speed

HDMI Cable.

• Set [3D Output Setting] and [TV Screen

Size Setting for 3D] in [Screen Settings]

(page 21).

2 Insert a Blu-ray 3D disc.

The operation method differs depending

on the disc. Refer to the instruction

manual supplied with the disc.
Also, you can't leave the DV setting on while playing 3D Blu-rays for whatever reason. You'd think the player would know not to use it in that case but whatever.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #3335 of 4072 Old 09-18-2019, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Lately when starting my player up the picture or signal keeps flickering off and on. A power off/on usually fixes it. Annoying. Anyone else have this?
AVS Commenter is offline  
post #3336 of 4072 Old 09-19-2019, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
Lately when starting my player up the picture or signal keeps flickering off and on. A power off/on usually fixes it. Annoying. Anyone else have this?
Sounds like cable/connection issue..
Gerry
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR 77A9G - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - 2019 Shield TV Pro - 2019 Roku Ultra
ggw2000 is offline  
post #3337 of 4072 Old 09-19-2019, 03:26 AM
Senior Member
 
paulman182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
Lately when starting my player up the picture or signal keeps flickering off and on. A power off/on usually fixes it. Annoying. Anyone else have this?
Mine did that occasionally and then I could not see any video output at all. Power on/off did not fix and neither did disconnecting the power for several minutes. I switched it to a different HDMI input on the TV and still nothing.

I had to reboot my Vizio TV to the factory settings before it started working again, but I don't really know if the TV or the Sony player caused the problem.
paulman182 is offline  
post #3338 of 4072 Old 09-19-2019, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
tintinjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just set up the x700 went to update the player but it was already fully updated. I tried the revenent as a demo (regular bluray) with dolby vision turned on and it looks stunning. Player very quiet and quick so far so good. 

I don't have any 4k disks YET but dying to see how good native dolby vision can look. 

Very impressed

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
morphinapg likes this.
tintinjones is offline  
post #3339 of 4072 Old 09-19-2019, 07:09 PM
Member
 
mavericks64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post
Does this player play 3D blurays? It's not very clear in the specs that it does.
Yes. I watched Infinity War and Endgame 2 weeks ago. I didn't change any settings but perhaps I did months ago. I don't remember. They played fine. Enjoyed them!

Sharp 80-inch 3D LED TV, Yamaha RX-A3070 Receiver, Outlaw 5000 Amplifier
Paradigm Reference Studio/100 v.2 front speakers Paradigm, Studio CC-690 center-channel
Paradigm CI Pro P80-IW Side Surrounds, Paradigm Monitor 9 rear surrounds, 4 CI Pro P80-R overheads
FV15HP Rythmik subwoofer
mavericks64 is online now  
post #3340 of 4072 Old 09-23-2019, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
PatrickGSR94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone having issues with the player freezing and/or rebooting frequently while viewing internet content? I have mine hard-wired through my router within just a couple feet of the player, but when watching Netflix, YouTube or Prime it will frequently just freeze for awhile, then shut off, or reboot itself. Or sometimes it just freezes forever until I pull the power cord. It's super annoying and frustrating. We have fast 100 to 150 Mbps connection, with the direct ethernet cable so I doubt that could be the issue.
PatrickGSR94 is offline  
post #3341 of 4072 Old 09-23-2019, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
LeRoyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Woodstock Georgia
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickGSR94 View Post
Anyone having issues with the player freezing and/or rebooting frequently while viewing internet content? I have mine hard-wired through my router within just a couple feet of the player, but when watching Netflix, YouTube or Prime it will frequently just freeze for awhile, then shut off, or reboot itself. Or sometimes it just freezes forever until I pull the power cord. It's super annoying and frustrating. We have fast 100 to 150 Mbps connection, with the direct ethernet cable so I doubt that could be the issue.
For this player it could be overheating. Keep the top and sides clear in a well ventilated area. That may be your problem.
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED65C8PUA, Onkyo TX-RZ920, Panasonic DP-UB820, Apple TV 4K, Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K, AT&T Gigabit Internet & U-verse
LeRoyK is online now  
post #3342 of 4072 Old 09-23-2019, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by tintinjones View Post
Sorry I wasn't clear basically what I was asking was how is he x700 for normal blurays? I had heard the dolby vision option does work well for 1080p blurays even though they obviously weren't mastered for dolby vision so just wanted to check.

Thanks for the reply

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
You'd love it, with some adjustment to your display settings.

Try LOA if you have the disc.
tintinjones likes this.
qoopy is offline  
post #3343 of 4072 Old 09-26-2019, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by qoopy View Post
You'd love it, with some adjustment to your display settings.

Try LOA if you have the disc.
If I may ask, what is LOA?

I have left the DV setting on for all the content. I stream Vudu (DV and non DV), and play both UHD and Blu ray discs (DV and non DV). Will there be any harm by leaving DV on always?
Vaibhav Goyal is offline  
post #3344 of 4072 Old 09-26-2019, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 829 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Goyal View Post
If I may ask, what is LOA?

I have left the DV setting on for all the content. I stream Vudu (DV and non DV), and play both UHD and Blu ray discs (DV and non DV). Will there be any harm by leaving DV on always?
I, like you, do not understand why we can't just type the full name rather than make an abbreviation that keeps people guessing.
Then again I am 64 years old and , by today's standards, decidedly uncool.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #3345 of 4072 Old 09-26-2019, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got the X700 to replace an older LG Blu-ray player that couldn't play FLAC audio or newer video codec like h.265.



If I try to play a flac file in the root of the plugged in USB, the Sony will play it. But Sony won't see any flac files in folders (albums) on USB Drives.


When accessing a dlna server, the Sony will play flacs at any folder level. ???



Any idea how to get the Sony to play flacs inside folders from attached USB drives?



Also, the old LG can access my Synology NAS's storing video & audio files as network drives and play these easily, but the Sony doesn't see anything on the local network except my dlna Serviio server.


I don't want to install any media suites on the Synologies to avoid all the required indexing, but want to access media files

using the Sony as the LG easily worked.


Any idea how to get Sony to see the rest of my local network?


Also SRT subs on the Sony show very clunky. Sony does allow customizing Closed Captions fonts & colors, but not subs.


Anyone have any idea of a way to get the Sony to display subs in a neater fashion?


Any suggestions welcome!
wxxy is offline  
post #3346 of 4072 Old 09-26-2019, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Lawrence of Arabia, a favourite of the English above a certain age.
qoopy is offline  
post #3347 of 4072 Old 09-26-2019, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 829 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by qoopy View Post
Lawrence of Arabia, a favourite of the English above a certain age.
OK and correct, it is a favourite of us oldies but come on, I''ve never before seen it referred to as LOA. Some acronyms are in common usage and understood by most but LOA, give us a break.
That's a BTF ! (Bridge too far)

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #3348 of 4072 Old 09-26-2019, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1074 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
OK and correct, it is a favourite of us oldies but come on, I''ve never before seen it referred to as LOA. Some acronyms are in common usage and understood by most but LOA, give us a break.
That's a BTF ! (Bridge too far)
Yeah, I thought LOA meant Laugh Out Loud!
Rondog32837 and alexbarbel like this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #3349 of 4072 Old 09-26-2019, 10:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxxy View Post
Any idea how to get the Sony to play flacs inside folders from attached USB drives?
Any idea how to get Sony to see the rest of my local network?
Anyone have any idea of a way to get the Sony to display subs in a neater fashion?
Not sure about FLACs in folders from USB. Need to test them. But so far I've seen no major differences in playback from USB or DLNA.
You won't be able to connect to Local net in a direct way, as there is no network share client on the OS.
SRT subs play from MKV-s and the font is fixed, small and ugly. No way around this so far. The only alternative is to use m2ts files with bitmap-subs (direct rips).
PS I will test if SRT subs play back better from MP4 files, but I would not hope for much there.
galonzo likes this.
priitv8 is offline  
post #3350 of 4072 Old 09-27-2019, 03:05 AM
Senior Member
 
paulman182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I've had a couple of issues lately. Once after watching a 1080p Blu ray, I could not get the Sony to output any resolution but 1080p. The screen acknowledged that I was playing a UHD disc but resolution was stuck at 1080p, according to the TV. I had to unplug and plug it back up to get it to work.

And yesterday, the TV would flash the menu occasionally, but would not show the UHD disc I was playing. Again I had to unplug and replug the Sony to get it working.

I realize that the interplay between my TV (2019 Vizio M Quantum series) and the Sony player is complex and that makes it difficult to decide where the fault lies. I tend to blame the Sony since a hard reboot fixes the issues, but who knows.
paulman182 is offline  
post #3351 of 4072 Old 09-27-2019, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Goyal View Post
If I may ask, what is LOA?

I have left the DV setting on for all the content. I stream Vudu (DV and non DV), and play both UHD and Blu ray discs (DV and non DV). Will there be any harm by leaving DV on always?
Still looking for a answer.

Also does anybody have both UBP-X700 and Panasonic UB820? I have both these players and didn't find much difference. Yes, Panasonic has automatic DV switching but it is also more complicated, doesn't have VUDU app and costs a lot more. I have Sony 65X950G TV if it matters. Pls post your thoughts. Thanks.
Vaibhav Goyal is offline  
post #3352 of 4072 Old 09-27-2019, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,571
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulman182 View Post
I've had a couple of issues lately. Once after watching a 1080p Blu ray, I could not get the Sony to output any resolution but 1080p. The screen acknowledged that I was playing a UHD disc but resolution was stuck at 1080p, according to the TV. I had to unplug and plug it back up to get it to work.

And yesterday, the TV would flash the menu occasionally, but would not show the UHD disc I was playing. Again I had to unplug and replug the Sony to get it working.

I realize that the interplay between my TV (2019 Vizio M Quantum series) and the Sony player is complex and that makes it difficult to decide where the fault lies. I tend to blame the Sony since a hard reboot fixes the issues, but who knows.
Are you using a certified premium HDMI cable? Did you turn on the 'Full UHD Color' in the Input Settings menu for the HDMI port you are using?
galonzo likes this.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.85 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #3353 of 4072 Old 09-27-2019, 08:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
[QUOTE=priitv8;58612890]Not sure about FLACs in folders from USB.


Thanx for your help.


I must have made a mistake checking the flacs in folders on USB.


I rechecked these & they were recognized fine at multiple folder levels deep. I checked too for hi res flacs in folders & these played fine both from dlna server & plugged in USB.


This Sony is great with disks I've tried, but mostly I needed the server functions on my local network.


The older Blu-ray LG was ideal with this & subs display, but their latest 4K machine doesn't even support dlna networking.


I will check out different sub formats which I can convert to using valuable SubtileEdit program.
wxxy is offline  
post #3354 of 4072 Old 09-27-2019, 03:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Goyal View Post
Pls post your thoughts. Thanks.
Leaving DV on has very deterministic behaviour. I posted my chart here in the thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57062970
The pseudo-HDR introduced on SDR content is actually not that bad at all.
Main drawback of leaving DV on is the disabled 3D playback, but as your TV does not support 3D, this shouldn't be an issue for your usecases at all.

PS Have tested the SRT subs in MP4 - sadly I have to say : no playback at all. The subtitle stream is not even recognised in MP4 file. Dolby Digital Plus soundrack is recognised and displayed on HUD as DD+ 7.1 but does not produce any sound in my setup.
galonzo and shark91962 like this.

Last edited by priitv8; 09-27-2019 at 03:42 PM.
priitv8 is offline  
post #3355 of 4072 Old 09-29-2019, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 4,021
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2479 Post(s)
Liked: 3580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Goyal View Post
Still looking for a answer.

Also does anybody have both UBP-X700 and Panasonic UB820? I have both these players and didn't find much difference. Yes, Panasonic has automatic DV switching but it is also more complicated, doesn't have VUDU app and costs a lot more. I have Sony 65X950G TV if it matters. Pls post your thoughts. Thanks.
I have both. The Panny is quite a bit slower (with quick start disabled). I actually prefer the X700 except for the manual DV switching. The X700 also plays SACD which the Panny doesn't, but the X700 requires the owner to flip flop between 2 channel and multichannel SACD output (similar to the manual DV switching).

I got a great deal on the Panny, otherwise it wouldn't have been worth the cost IMO.
galonzo likes this.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #3356 of 4072 Old 09-29-2019, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
I have both. The Panny is quite a bit slower (with quick start disabled). I actually prefer the X700 except for the manual DV switching. The X700 also plays SACD which the Panny doesn't, but the X700 requires the owner to flip flop between 2 channel and multichannel SACD output (similar to the manual DV switching).

I got a great deal on the Panny, otherwise it wouldn't have been worth the cost IMO.
I almost sprang for the Panny also (full price), but ultimately saw limited advantage over the X700 as I really don't need the advanced tone mapping options on my Z9D. I paid attention to those who noted the ventilation needs of the X700. My setup requires that I put my cable box on top of the X700, so I added adhesive feet to double the air gap between them. So far, so good.
shark91962 is offline  
post #3357 of 4072 Old 09-30-2019, 03:10 AM
Senior Member
 
paulman182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
Are you using a certified premium HDMI cable? Did you turn on the 'Full UHD Color' in the Input Settings menu for the HDMI port you are using?
The cable could be the issue. I'll check it if the issue persists, thanks.
paulman182 is offline  
post #3358 of 4072 Old 10-01-2019, 06:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
PatrickGSR94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeRoyK View Post
For this player it could be overheating. Keep the top and sides clear in a well ventilated area. That may be your problem.

Yeah it's clear all around, but it does sit on top of my DirecTV Genie DVR box.


So in case anyone has issues getting the player app menu to show up on a 4K TV, I just had this issue last night when setting up a new Vizio V556 55" 4K set. Discs play fine, but the menu won't display. All my sources go through an Onkyo HDMI switching AVR to the TV. Well it turns out the cable from the AVR to the TV apparently couldn't handle the 4K/60Hz signal coming from this player for the menu. It was a Monoprice Redmere 36AWG active HDMI cable from a few years ago. I swapped it for a standard 24AWG 18GBPS Monoprice cable and now the menu comes up fine.
PatrickGSR94 is offline  
post #3359 of 4072 Old 10-03-2019, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickGSR94 View Post
Yeah it's clear all around, but it does sit on top of my DirecTV Genie DVR box.


So in case anyone has issues getting the player app menu to show up on a 4K TV, I just had this issue last night when setting up a new Vizio V556 55" 4K set. Discs play fine, but the menu won't display. All my sources go through an Onkyo HDMI switching AVR to the TV. Well it turns out the cable from the AVR to the TV apparently couldn't handle the 4K/60Hz signal coming from this player for the menu. It was a Monoprice Redmere 36AWG active HDMI cable from a few years ago. I swapped it for a standard 24AWG 18GBPS Monoprice cable and now the menu comes up fine.
I would get it off that DVR since those things do not power down, at least my parents back in the day never shut off.
galonzo likes this.

TV - Sony XBR-75Z9F | Receiver - Yamaha RX-V577 | 4K player - Sony UBP-X700 | PS3 | Router - Asus RT-AC86U | SVS SB-2000 sub | Paradigm Monitor SE 6000F L/R | Paradigm Monitor SE 2000C center | Paradigm ADP-170 v.3 rears | 2nd TV - Sony 65XBR-930e
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #3360 of 4072 Old 10-04-2019, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
cassnlogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I just ordered one of these units to replace an older Panasonic Bluray player. Got a birthday coming up and thought I would treat myself. I don't have any 4K discs and probably won't buy any, but I'm hoping my regular blur ays will be improved using the Sony.
cassnlogan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bluray , hdmi , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off