OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X700 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 112 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1936Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3381 Old 09-17-2019, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wytchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LaPlace, La.
Posts: 4,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 70
So anyone of find a fix for the X700 losing signal for 1-2 sec when watching Blu rays? I thought it was my HDMI cables, replaced them and it still happens. After looking on google turns out its a known issue but I saw no fix.
Wytchone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3381 Old 09-17-2019, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wytchone View Post
So anyone of find a fix for the X700 losing signal for 1-2 sec when watching Blu rays? I thought it was my HDMI cables, replaced them and it still happens. After looking on google turns out its a known issue but I saw no fix.
I have never had that happen. Is your unit still under warranty?
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #3333 of 3381 Old 09-17-2019, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
tintinjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Dolby Vision doesn't work well for 1080P Blu Ray unless you don't care about accuracy. Most would recommend keeping DV off, unless you know that it is Dolby Vision content. The fact that it needs to be turned on/off manually is the biggest drawback of the player. Otherwise it works excellent in almost every way.
Thanks for the reply. With the LG C9 would you recommend letting the TV handle the upscaling instead of the player?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
tintinjones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3334 of 3381 Old 09-17-2019, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2039 Post(s)
Liked: 1915
Quote:
Originally Posted by tintinjones View Post
Thanks for the reply. With the LG C9 would you recommend letting the TV handle the upscaling instead of the player?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
Either way should work great, I would try them both and pick the one that looks best to you.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
galonzo and tintinjones like this.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #3335 of 3381 Old 09-17-2019, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wytchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LaPlace, La.
Posts: 4,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
I have never had that happen. Is your unit still under warranty?
Yes it's only 3 months old.
Wytchone is offline  
post #3336 of 3381 Old 09-17-2019, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wytchone View Post
Yes it's only 3 months old.
If it was me I would contact Sony. It shouldn’t do that. It doesn’t happen with mine.
Wytchone, galonzo and shark91962 like this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #3337 of 3381 Old 09-17-2019, 07:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wytchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LaPlace, La.
Posts: 4,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
If it was me I would contact Sony. It shouldn’t do that. It doesn’t happen with mine.
BB exchanged it. Here's hoping the new unit does not do that!
mjwagner likes this.
Wytchone is offline  
post #3338 of 3381 Old 09-18-2019, 03:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tintinjones View Post
Thanks for the reply. With the LG C9 would you recommend letting the TV handle the upscaling instead of the player?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
Letting the tv handle the upscaling really isn't an option with this player since it doesn't have a "source direct" mode. I.e. the player can't sendt a completely untampered and unscaled picture from the source disk no matter what options you select.

It doesn't help selecting for 1080p or 1080i for Blurays since there's no guarantee the player won't internally scale the source first before outputting the selected resolution. Sending an unscaled DVD is completely off the tables with this player, since it doesn't support 480i og 576i output over HDMI.

Bottom line:
Let the player do the upscaling to the best abilities of your tv.
tintinjones likes this.
aalb1970 is offline  
post #3339 of 3381 Old 09-18-2019, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 3,659
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Does this player play 3D blurays? It's not very clear in the specs that it does.
KBMAN is offline  
post #3340 of 3381 Old 09-18-2019, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post
Does this player play 3D blurays? It's not very clear in the specs that it does.
Manual, p.16:

1 Prepare for Blu-ray 3D disc playback.
• Connect the player to your 3Dcompatible devices using a High Speed
HDMI Cable.
• Set [3D Output Setting] and [TV Screen
Size Setting for 3D] in [Screen Settings]
(page 21).
2 Insert a Blu-ray 3D disc.
The operation method differs depending
on the disc. Refer to the instruction
manual supplied with the disc.
DunMunro is offline  
post #3341 of 3381 Old 09-18-2019, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,827
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2321 Post(s)
Liked: 1878
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunMunro View Post
Manual, p.16:



1 Prepare for Blu-ray 3D disc playback.

• Connect the player to your 3Dcompatible devices using a High Speed

HDMI Cable.

• Set [3D Output Setting] and [TV Screen

Size Setting for 3D] in [Screen Settings]

(page 21).

2 Insert a Blu-ray 3D disc.

The operation method differs depending

on the disc. Refer to the instruction

manual supplied with the disc.
Also, you can't leave the DV setting on while playing 3D Blu-rays for whatever reason. You'd think the player would know not to use it in that case but whatever.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Atomos Ninja Inferno
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #3342 of 3381 Old 09-18-2019, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Lately when starting my player up the picture or signal keeps flickering off and on. A power off/on usually fixes it. Annoying. Anyone else have this?
AVS Commenter is offline  
post #3343 of 3381 Old 09-19-2019, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
Lately when starting my player up the picture or signal keeps flickering off and on. A power off/on usually fixes it. Annoying. Anyone else have this?
Sounds like cable/connection issue..
Gerry
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
post #3344 of 3381 Old 09-19-2019, 03:26 AM
Member
 
paulman182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
Lately when starting my player up the picture or signal keeps flickering off and on. A power off/on usually fixes it. Annoying. Anyone else have this?
Mine did that occasionally and then I could not see any video output at all. Power on/off did not fix and neither did disconnecting the power for several minutes. I switched it to a different HDMI input on the TV and still nothing.

I had to reboot my Vizio TV to the factory settings before it started working again, but I don't really know if the TV or the Sony player caused the problem.
paulman182 is offline  
post #3345 of 3381 Old 09-19-2019, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
tintinjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just set up the x700 went to update the player but it was already fully updated. I tried the revenent as a demo (regular bluray) with dolby vision turned on and it looks stunning. Player very quiet and quick so far so good. 

I don't have any 4k disks YET but dying to see how good native dolby vision can look. 

Very impressed

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
morphinapg likes this.
tintinjones is offline  
post #3346 of 3381 Old 09-19-2019, 07:09 PM
Member
 
mavericks64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post
Does this player play 3D blurays? It's not very clear in the specs that it does.
Yes. I watched Infinity War and Endgame 2 weeks ago. I didn't change any settings but perhaps I did months ago. I don't remember. They played fine. Enjoyed them!

Sharp 80-inch 3D LED TV, Yamaha RX-A3070 Receiver, Outlaw 5000 Amplifier
Paradigm Reference Studio/100 v.2 front speakers Paradigm, Studio CC-690 center-channel
Paradigm CI Pro P80-IW Side Surrounds, Paradigm Monitor 9 rear surrounds, 4 CI Pro P80-R overheads
FV15HP Rythmik subwoofer
mavericks64 is offline  
post #3347 of 3381 Old 09-23-2019, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
PatrickGSR94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone having issues with the player freezing and/or rebooting frequently while viewing internet content? I have mine hard-wired through my router within just a couple feet of the player, but when watching Netflix, YouTube or Prime it will frequently just freeze for awhile, then shut off, or reboot itself. Or sometimes it just freezes forever until I pull the power cord. It's super annoying and frustrating. We have fast 100 to 150 Mbps connection, with the direct ethernet cable so I doubt that could be the issue.
PatrickGSR94 is offline  
post #3348 of 3381 Old 09-23-2019, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
LeRoyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Woodstock Georgia
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickGSR94 View Post
Anyone having issues with the player freezing and/or rebooting frequently while viewing internet content? I have mine hard-wired through my router within just a couple feet of the player, but when watching Netflix, YouTube or Prime it will frequently just freeze for awhile, then shut off, or reboot itself. Or sometimes it just freezes forever until I pull the power cord. It's super annoying and frustrating. We have fast 100 to 150 Mbps connection, with the direct ethernet cable so I doubt that could be the issue.
For this player it could be overheating. Keep the top and sides clear in a well ventilated area. That may be your problem.
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED65C8PUA, Onkyo TX-RZ920, Panasonic DP-UB820, Apple TV 4K, Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K, AT&T Gigabit Internet & U-verse
LeRoyK is offline  
post #3349 of 3381 Old 09-23-2019, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by tintinjones View Post
Sorry I wasn't clear basically what I was asking was how is he x700 for normal blurays? I had heard the dolby vision option does work well for 1080p blurays even though they obviously weren't mastered for dolby vision so just wanted to check.

Thanks for the reply

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
You'd love it, with some adjustment to your display settings.

Try LOA if you have the disc.
tintinjones likes this.
qoopy is offline  
post #3350 of 3381 Old 09-26-2019, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by qoopy View Post
You'd love it, with some adjustment to your display settings.

Try LOA if you have the disc.
If I may ask, what is LOA?

I have left the DV setting on for all the content. I stream Vudu (DV and non DV), and play both UHD and Blu ray discs (DV and non DV). Will there be any harm by leaving DV on always?
Vaibhav Goyal is offline  
post #3351 of 3381 Old 09-26-2019, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Goyal View Post
If I may ask, what is LOA?

I have left the DV setting on for all the content. I stream Vudu (DV and non DV), and play both UHD and Blu ray discs (DV and non DV). Will there be any harm by leaving DV on always?
I, like you, do not understand why we can't just type the full name rather than make an abbreviation that keeps people guessing.
Then again I am 64 years old and , by today's standards, decidedly uncool.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is online now  
post #3352 of 3381 Old 09-26-2019, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got the X700 to replace an older LG Blu-ray player that couldn't play FLAC audio or newer video codec like h.265.



If I try to play a flac file in the root of the plugged in USB, the Sony will play it. But Sony won't see any flac files in folders (albums) on USB Drives.


When accessing a dlna server, the Sony will play flacs at any folder level. ???



Any idea how to get the Sony to play flacs inside folders from attached USB drives?



Also, the old LG can access my Synology NAS's storing video & audio files as network drives and play these easily, but the Sony doesn't see anything on the local network except my dlna Serviio server.


I don't want to install any media suites on the Synologies to avoid all the required indexing, but want to access media files

using the Sony as the LG easily worked.


Any idea how to get Sony to see the rest of my local network?


Also SRT subs on the Sony show very clunky. Sony does allow customizing Closed Captions fonts & colors, but not subs.


Anyone have any idea of a way to get the Sony to display subs in a neater fashion?


Any suggestions welcome!
wxxy is offline  
post #3353 of 3381 Old 09-26-2019, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Lawrence of Arabia, a favourite of the English above a certain age.
qoopy is offline  
post #3354 of 3381 Old 09-26-2019, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by qoopy View Post
Lawrence of Arabia, a favourite of the English above a certain age.
OK and correct, it is a favourite of us oldies but come on, I''ve never before seen it referred to as LOA. Some acronyms are in common usage and understood by most but LOA, give us a break.
That's a BTF ! (Bridge too far)

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is online now  
post #3355 of 3381 Old 09-26-2019, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
OK and correct, it is a favourite of us oldies but come on, I''ve never before seen it referred to as LOA. Some acronyms are in common usage and understood by most but LOA, give us a break.
That's a BTF ! (Bridge too far)
Yeah, I thought LOA meant Laugh Out Loud!
Rondog32837 and alexbarbel like this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #3356 of 3381 Old 09-26-2019, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxxy View Post
Any idea how to get the Sony to play flacs inside folders from attached USB drives?
Any idea how to get Sony to see the rest of my local network?
Anyone have any idea of a way to get the Sony to display subs in a neater fashion?
Not sure about FLACs in folders from USB. Need to test them. But so far I've seen no major differences in playback from USB or DLNA.
You won't be able to connect to Local net in a direct way, as there is no network share client on the OS.
SRT subs play from MKV-s and the font is fixed, small and ugly. No way around this so far. The only alternative is to use m2ts files with bitmap-subs (direct rips).
PS I will test if SRT subs play back better from MP4 files, but I would not hope for much there.
galonzo likes this.
priitv8 is offline  
post #3357 of 3381 Old 09-27-2019, 03:05 AM
Member
 
paulman182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've had a couple of issues lately. Once after watching a 1080p Blu ray, I could not get the Sony to output any resolution but 1080p. The screen acknowledged that I was playing a UHD disc but resolution was stuck at 1080p, according to the TV. I had to unplug and plug it back up to get it to work.

And yesterday, the TV would flash the menu occasionally, but would not show the UHD disc I was playing. Again I had to unplug and replug the Sony to get it working.

I realize that the interplay between my TV (2019 Vizio M Quantum series) and the Sony player is complex and that makes it difficult to decide where the fault lies. I tend to blame the Sony since a hard reboot fixes the issues, but who knows.
paulman182 is offline  
post #3358 of 3381 Old 09-27-2019, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Goyal View Post
If I may ask, what is LOA?

I have left the DV setting on for all the content. I stream Vudu (DV and non DV), and play both UHD and Blu ray discs (DV and non DV). Will there be any harm by leaving DV on always?
Still looking for a answer.

Also does anybody have both UBP-X700 and Panasonic UB820? I have both these players and didn't find much difference. Yes, Panasonic has automatic DV switching but it is also more complicated, doesn't have VUDU app and costs a lot more. I have Sony 65X950G TV if it matters. Pls post your thoughts. Thanks.
Vaibhav Goyal is offline  
post #3359 of 3381 Old 09-27-2019, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulman182 View Post
I've had a couple of issues lately. Once after watching a 1080p Blu ray, I could not get the Sony to output any resolution but 1080p. The screen acknowledged that I was playing a UHD disc but resolution was stuck at 1080p, according to the TV. I had to unplug and plug it back up to get it to work.

And yesterday, the TV would flash the menu occasionally, but would not show the UHD disc I was playing. Again I had to unplug and replug the Sony to get it working.

I realize that the interplay between my TV (2019 Vizio M Quantum series) and the Sony player is complex and that makes it difficult to decide where the fault lies. I tend to blame the Sony since a hard reboot fixes the issues, but who knows.
Are you using a certified premium HDMI cable? Did you turn on the 'Full UHD Color' in the Input Settings menu for the HDMI port you are using?
galonzo likes this.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #3360 of 3381 Old 09-27-2019, 08:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
[QUOTE=priitv8;58612890]Not sure about FLACs in folders from USB.


Thanx for your help.


I must have made a mistake checking the flacs in folders on USB.


I rechecked these & they were recognized fine at multiple folder levels deep. I checked too for hi res flacs in folders & these played fine both from dlna server & plugged in USB.


This Sony is great with disks I've tried, but mostly I needed the server functions on my local network.


The older Blu-ray LG was ideal with this & subs display, but their latest 4K machine doesn't even support dlna networking.


I will check out different sub formats which I can convert to using valuable SubtileEdit program.
wxxy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bluray , hdmi , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off