OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X700 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2116Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3731 Old 02-10-2020, 01:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,385
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 809 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Hi,
i know that TrueHD Atmos and DTS:X will not play back from an MKV container with this player but will play back if in M2TS format but can anyone explain why Atmos/DTS:X files in an MKV container will play back from my PC ?
Both the PC and the Sony X700 are connected to my Atmos compatible AVR and that supplies a 7.2.4 speaker set up.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3731 Old 02-10-2020, 02:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,118
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2514 Post(s)
Liked: 2160
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Hi,
i know that TrueHD Atmos and DTS:X will not play back from an MKV container with this player but will play back if in M2TS format but can anyone explain why Atmos/DTS:X files in an MKV container will play back from my PC ?
Both the PC and the Sony X700 are connected to my Atmos compatible AVR and that supplies a 7.2.4 speaker set up.
Your PC is a different system than the Sony player. Different software. Sony's MKV demuxer is clearly inferior, so it won't recognize the 3D audio sources. Just remux them to M2TS files. No big deal.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #3693 of 3731 Old 02-10-2020, 03:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,385
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 809 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Your PC is a different system than the Sony player. Different software. Sony's MKV demuxer is clearly inferior, so it won't recognize the 3D audio sources. Just remux them to M2TS files. No big deal.
Thanks for the info.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3694 of 3731 Old 02-10-2020, 01:23 PM
Member
 
bgalakazam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Sony's MKV demuxer is clearly inferior, so it won't recognize the 3D audio sources.
Nothing to do with 3D audio...

With Atmos and TrueHD, the MKV splits the track into two. If anything is inferior it's the MKV container and not the X700 player. The PC players can read the nonstandard TrueHD files due being customized to do so. Why should Sony program it's player to read MKV with non-standard TrueHD files (whose use case is pirated content)?

X700 is looking for the THD+Core, doesn't see it in one track and skips it. When you make a M2TS, the TrueHD track must contain the core. There is a free tool that can extract a core and mux it with the TrueHD track. While that sucks, just use the M2TS file to begin with. This is not related to Atmos, but to the way MKV handles TrueHD.

DTS:X is a different story since it's a single track. 1993 Jurassic Park with DTS-X from MKV identifies correctly and plays back as expected.

So in conclusion, for the few DTS:X titles, you can "obtain/backup/whatever" them in MKV. If you want TrueHD (with or without Atmos), you need M2TS or a MKV which is remixed into M2TS.

LG C8 55" OLED | Sony UBP-X700 | Onkyo TX-RZ830 | Klipsch RF-82 II | Klipsch RC-62 II | Klipsch RB-51 II | Klipsch RP-500SA | SVS PB1000

Last edited by bgalakazam; 02-10-2020 at 01:33 PM.
bgalakazam is offline  
post #3695 of 3731 Old 02-10-2020, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,118
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2514 Post(s)
Liked: 2160
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgalakazam View Post
Nothing to do with 3D audio...



With Atmos and TrueHD, the MKV splits the track into two. If anything is inferior it's the MKV container and not the X700 player. The PC players can read the nonstandard TrueHD files due being customized to do so. Why should Sony program it's player to read MKV with non-standard TrueHD files (whose use case is pirated content)?



X700 is looking for the THD+Core, doesn't see it in one track and skips it. When you make a M2TS, the TrueHD track must contain the core. There is a free tool that can extract a core and mux it with the TrueHD track. While that sucks, just use the M2TS file to begin with. This is not related to Atmos, but to the way MKV handles TrueHD.



DTS:X is a different story since it's a single track. 1993 Jurassic Park with DTS-X from MKV identifies correctly and plays back as expected.



So in conclusion, for the few DTS:X titles, you can "obtain/backup/whatever" them in MKV. If you want TrueHD (with or without Atmos), you need M2TS or a MKV which is remixed into M2TS.
Aren't you confusing Atmos/THD with DTS:MA? I don't believe TrueHD has a "core". When I've encoded and muxed TrueHD into an MKV, it's listed as one single track. Still doesn't play on the x700. If I also mux in a standard DD track as track two (a separately encoded track), the player doesn't even skip the THD track and play the standard one. It just doesn't play audio.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #3696 of 3731 Old 02-11-2020, 11:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Aren't you confusing Atmos/THD with DTS:MA? I don't believe TrueHD has a "core". When I've encoded and muxed TrueHD into an MKV, it's listed as one single track. Still doesn't play on the x700. If I also mux in a standard DD track as track two (a separately encoded track), the player doesn't even skip the THD track and play the standard one. It just doesn't play audio.
That is true. but on BD the TrueHD is muxed into AC-3 frames as "Stream extension" (whatever that means). And this is important. When THD frames are interleaved with AC3 frames without this "stream extension" feature, it won't play on Sony UBP.
DVDFab ripper creates proper AC3+THD track in m2ts and they play back with Atmos. Their Converter misses this "stream extension" muxing property and these won't.
On the Dolby Atmos demo disc, for instance, this DD "core" bitstream contains a male voice, that says something like "this is an Atmos soundtrack and you need compatible equipment to enjoy this". A nice touch, IMHO.
When remuxed into MKW, it is my understanding that these AC3 and THD frames are stored in 2 separate streams. That is obvious when you create MKV from a clip with single THD audio tracks - you will get a MKV with 2 audio tracks. In the original there was only one audio stream!

There is no problem whatsoever with DTS:X playback from MKV on UBP players.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2020-02-12 at 07.52.55.png
Views:	59
Size:	185.7 KB
ID:	2683912  
priitv8 is offline  
post #3697 of 3731 Old 02-17-2020, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I just received my UBPx700. I have a Sony 4k 75 inch tv and a Marantz 7704. I have picture settings on the marantz turned off so the tv can do any upscaling or my picture adjustments. I noticed the x700 has a picture setting when you push the OPTIONS button during playback of a source.

It was set on auto. I noticed when changing these to theater room, brighter room you can see a difference in the picture, but with custom 1 or custom 2, which I assume you setup yourself, there is no difference. When switching to DIRECT there is no difference to my eyes. Im wondering if direct is the picture unaltered? Any advice you guys can give would be greatly appreciated on this matter.

thanks in advance.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	69
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	2686220

Last edited by nezff; 02-17-2020 at 08:27 AM.
nezff is offline  
post #3698 of 3731 Old 02-17-2020, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post
I just received my UBPx700. I have a Sony 4k 75 inch tv and a Marantz 7704. I have picture settings on the marantz turned off so the tv can do any upscaling or my picture adjustments. I noticed the x700 has a picture setting when you push the OPTIONS button during playback of a source.

It was set on auto. I noticed when changing these to theater room, brighter room you can see a difference in the picture, but with custom 1 or custom 2, which I assume you setup yourself, there is no difference. When switching to DIRECT there is no difference to my eyes. Im wondering if direct is the picture unaltered? Any advice you guys can give would be greatly appreciated on this matter.

thanks in advance.
Attachment 2686220
Direct is what you want. Video output from the disc with no changes to picture quality.
nezff and galonzo like this.

Twin Pioneer AVR Locomotives-Elite SC 97, SC 1222 7.2.4, DOLBY Atmos and DTS X, (Front Pre Out,) JBL Pro Synthesis LS Series Speakers, F L R-LS80, Cen-LS, S L R-LS60, SB L R-LS60, 4 Dolby Atmos Enabled Klipsch R41SA, Twin Klipsch R120SW, Sony XBR 85X 850G, Sony UBP-X800M2, ATV G4, Yamaha ATS 1060 Sound Bar, True Depth Firestorm 2.0 3D Glasses, Harmony Hub with Utlimate 1 Remote, Broadlink RM Pro2, EYE Pad Air, Winegard FL6550A
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #3699 of 3731 Old 02-17-2020, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by LNEWoLF View Post
Direct is what you want. Video output from the disc with no changes to picture quality.
Thank you. I assumed direct was just that, but doesnt really give a good description in the manual.
nezff is offline  
post #3700 of 3731 Old 02-17-2020, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post
Thank you. I assumed direct was just that, but doesnt really give a good description in the manual.
Yep, the manual for the 800M2 doesn’t even give a description for DIRECT. Might have been from another Sony player I had many years ago. It could also be when you highlight the direct setting on the player within options menu. That it describes the direct setting. Near the bottom of the screen.

Twin Pioneer AVR Locomotives-Elite SC 97, SC 1222 7.2.4, DOLBY Atmos and DTS X, (Front Pre Out,) JBL Pro Synthesis LS Series Speakers, F L R-LS80, Cen-LS, S L R-LS60, SB L R-LS60, 4 Dolby Atmos Enabled Klipsch R41SA, Twin Klipsch R120SW, Sony XBR 85X 850G, Sony UBP-X800M2, ATV G4, Yamaha ATS 1060 Sound Bar, True Depth Firestorm 2.0 3D Glasses, Harmony Hub with Utlimate 1 Remote, Broadlink RM Pro2, EYE Pad Air, Winegard FL6550A
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #3701 of 3731 Old 02-17-2020, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by LNEWoLF View Post
Yep, the manual for the 800M2 doesn’t even give a description for DIRECT. Might have been from another Sony player I had many years ago. It could also be when you highlight the direct setting on the player within options menu. That it describes the direct setting. Near the bottom of the screen.
Neither does my manual.
Ill have to look when I play a bluray disc. Those picture options are only available for a disc or movie file. I attempted to bring it up during a netflix movie, but no go.

thanks.
nezff is offline  
post #3702 of 3731 Old 02-18-2020, 08:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Hi all, just wondering if this player is good in today's standards as I notice its a 2017 model? is it still good these days? is it missing key features? I read the reviews and they are pretty good, but some say its noisy. is it noisy during playback? and is the audio good?

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #3703 of 3731 Old 02-18-2020, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,876
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
Hi all, just wondering if this player is good in today's standards as I notice its a 2017 model? is it still good these days? is it missing key features? I read the reviews and they are pretty good, but some say its noisy. is it noisy during playback? and is the audio good?
I have both this and Panny 420. I would not call the 700 noisy, in fact I never heard it during playback.Loading makes a little noise but the 420 has more noise when its loading. Never had a problem with either player. I would go with the 420 because of its optimizer but both players will easily serve your needs.

Matt
mattg3 is offline  
post #3704 of 3731 Old 02-18-2020, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Sony's site shows a more expensive player that says it plays native 4k discs, where as this one it only says play 4k discs. is there a difference? it also says this player plays hires audio, whereas the first post in this thread says it doesn't?

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #3705 of 3731 Old 02-18-2020, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,118
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2514 Post(s)
Liked: 2160
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
Sony's site shows a more expensive player that says it plays native 4k discs, where as this one it only says play 4k discs. is there a difference? it also says this player plays hires audio, whereas the first post in this thread says it doesn't?
I don't know what is meant by hires audio but the there's no difference between "native 4K discs" and "4K discs". There's only one 4K disc standard.

Sent from my OnePlus 5 using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #3706 of 3731 Old 02-18-2020, 03:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
Sony's site shows a more expensive player that says it plays native 4k discs, where as this one it only says play 4k discs. is there a difference? it also says this player plays hires audio, whereas the first post in this thread says it doesn't?
One key difference in audio is the X700 plays SACD but not DVD-Audio. The X800M2 plays both.
Also important, but not related to audio, the x800M2 supports 5GHz wifi as well at 2.4Ghz, the X700 is only 2.4GHz. That makes a big difference in an area with lots of 2.4GHz devices. My preference is not to use 2.4GHz if I can avoid it.

Sony XBR-65A9F, Sony UBP-X700, Denon AVR-890 (cooled by AC Infinity AIRCOM T10), Apple TV 4K, HDFury Vertex, B&W 600 series & LM1s in 7.1 config, Harmony Elite

Last edited by avsngaiouser; 02-18-2020 at 06:19 PM.
avsngaiouser is online now  
post #3707 of 3731 Old 02-18-2020, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
JMak00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
I don't know what is meant by hires audio but the there's no difference between "native 4K discs" and "4K discs". There's only one 4K disc standard.

Sent from my OnePlus 5 using Tapatalk

"hires" probably means high resolution audio....
JMak00 is online now  
post #3708 of 3731 Old 02-18-2020, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,118
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2514 Post(s)
Liked: 2160
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMak00 View Post
"hires" probably means high resolution audio....
Well duh but I'm saying I don't know what formats that specifically refers to

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #3709 of 3731 Old 02-18-2020, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
JMak00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Well duh but I'm saying I don't know what formats that specifically refers to

Lols, sorry, man...
JMak00 is online now  
post #3710 of 3731 Old 02-19-2020, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsngaiouser View Post
One key difference in audio is the X700 plays SACD but not DVD-Audio. The X800M2 plays both.
For whateve reason, it won't if they are self-burned.
priitv8 is offline  
post #3711 of 3731 Old 02-20-2020, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got the Sony UBP-X700 hooked up to my new TCL/Roku TV and have a question about the 5.1 audio output. I am rather a novice to the new 4K world as this is my first 'Smart-TV' and components.


I am running the HDMI A/V out from the Sony UBP-X700 to the TV (along with a couple other inputs) and then running out to my Vizio Atmos 5.1 Soundbar via HDMI-ARC.


I tried playing my Beatles Number Ones Video Collection on standard DVD which has DD 5.1 audio. I know what it sounds like, since I had a 5.1 system prior to getting this new gear. The only audio coming out of the Sony UBP-X700 is from the front soundbar, so I am assuming it is just stereo (no sound coming from rear speakers or sub at all).


I have played a Harry Potter 4K disc in the Sony UBP-X700 and the audio seems to be utilizing all 7 channels of the system, so it doesn't appear to be an issue with passing thru the TV to the HDMI/ARC.


I have all settings on the Sony UBP-X700 at default (haven't touched any since hooking it up.). I also do not have it connected to a WiFi network since I kind of over-compensated by getting a 4K player that does streaming since I do all of that from the TV. This is strictly for disc playback.


Is there any hope that I can hear the wonders of the 5.1 DD mix from the standard DVD or do I need to re-hook up my old, cheap Panasonic DVD player to the soundbar?
kevyzim is offline  
post #3712 of 3731 Old 02-20-2020, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,555
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevyzim View Post
I just got the Sony UBP-X700 hooked up to my new TCL/Roku TV and have a question about the 5.1 audio output. I am rather a novice to the new 4K world as this is my first 'Smart-TV' and components.


I am running the HDMI A/V out from the Sony UBP-X700 to the TV (along with a couple other inputs) and then running out to my Vizio Atmos 5.1 Soundbar via HDMI-ARC.


I tried playing my Beatles Number Ones Video Collection on standard DVD which has DD 5.1 audio. I know what it sounds like, since I had a 5.1 system prior to getting this new gear. The only audio coming out of the Sony UBP-X700 is from the front soundbar, so I am assuming it is just stereo (no sound coming from rear speakers or sub at all).


I have played a Harry Potter 4K disc in the Sony UBP-X700 and the audio seems to be utilizing all 7 channels of the system, so it doesn't appear to be an issue with passing thru the TV to the HDMI/ARC.


I have all settings on the Sony UBP-X700 at default (haven't touched any since hooking it up.). I also do not have it connected to a WiFi network since I kind of over-compensated by getting a 4K player that does streaming since I do all of that from the TV. This is strictly for disc playback.


Is there any hope that I can hear the wonders of the 5.1 DD mix from the standard DVD or do I need to re-hook up my old, cheap Panasonic DVD player to the soundbar?
You should hook the X700 directly to the soundbar to get Atmos from the X700. The TV is not going to pass Atmos from the X700. It will then make your current problem a non-issue.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.85 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #3713 of 3731 Old 02-20-2020, 12:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
You should hook the X700 directly to the soundbar to get Atmos from the X700. The TV is not going to pass Atmos from the X700. It will then make your current problem a non-issue.
Thank you for the reply! I will try this, however, as I said, the 4K disc of Harry Potter (only one I have so far) appears to output at least 5.1 channels of sound just fine. I don't believe the transfer is actually in Atmos, but it appears that that multi-channel output passed thru the HDMI/ARC is not an issue.
kevyzim is offline  
post #3714 of 3731 Old 02-20-2020, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,118
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2514 Post(s)
Liked: 2160
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevyzim View Post
Thank you for the reply! I will try this, however, as I said, the 4K disc of Harry Potter (only one I have so far) appears to output at least 5.1 channels of sound just fine. I don't believe the transfer is actually in Atmos, but it appears that that multi-channel output passed thru the HDMI/ARC is not an issue.
Through ARC you will only get DVD quality audio, not lossless HD audio or Atmos.

Sent from my OnePlus 5 using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #3715 of 3731 Old 02-21-2020, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,555
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevyzim View Post
Thank you for the reply! I will try this, however, as I said, the 4K disc of Harry Potter (only one I have so far) appears to output at least 5.1 channels of sound just fine. I don't believe the transfer is actually in Atmos, but it appears that that multi-channel output passed thru the HDMI/ARC is not an issue.
Please just hook up the player directly to the soundbar. It will solve all your problems and give you the quality audio you paid for in buying an Atmos device.

There's no use speculating because there could be many scenarios and they all lead to the same conclusion.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.85 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #3716 of 3731 Old 02-21-2020, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
Please just hook up the player directly to the soundbar. It will solve all your problems and give you the quality audio you paid for in buying an Atmos device.

There's no use speculating because there could be many scenarios and they all lead to the same conclusion.
Thanks for the help! This being my first time here, I really appreciate the quick responses from experienced folks! I will change it out tonight and report back. I will probably leave the connection to the ARC for the convenience of the wife since it (obviously) changes with the TV input. I will just plug in a 2nd HDMI to the audio only output directly to the soundbar. It's ok to have both outputs, right?
kevyzim is offline  
post #3717 of 3731 Old 02-22-2020, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
neil0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Had this player for a couple of weeks. Bought Midway on 4K blu ray and watched last night. About half way into the movie, the screen froze and wouldn’t respond, and went black.

It took a power off reboot to get the disk to play again. Does this sound like a hardware issue?
neil0311 is offline  
post #3718 of 3731 Old 02-22-2020, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil0311 View Post
Had this player for a couple of weeks. Bought Midway on 4K blu ray and watched last night. About half way into the movie, the screen froze and wouldn’t respond, and went black.

It took a power off reboot to get the disk to play again. Does this sound like a hardware issue?
Could be several things. First thing to do is clean the disk. This player is notoriously sensitive to any residue on disks, including manufacturing residue.
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
post #3719 of 3731 Old 02-23-2020, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sony ubp-x700 lip sync issues

Terrible lip sync issues when streaming Netflix and YouTube. I’ve set my Marantz receiver to -124ms (max amount) but the lips are still moving before the audio. In auto lip sync it’s worse than the -124msI also have an Amazon Fire Tv stick connected to my receiver and I have no issues with that. Has to be the DVD player. I’ve check for the latest updates an am up to date. Any ideas or is there something wrong with the DVD player?
Dae006 is offline  
post #3720 of 3731 Old 02-23-2020, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Spartan94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Middle of Michigan
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey all, I've had this player for a couple of months now and want to get it installed into my component rack for real -- getting up to play / pause / etc is simply not ok anymore!

I have had been using a Global Cache unit for about a decade to blast IR to my previous players, but have not had any luck with my UDP-x700 -- even after I took the damn thing apart just to find where the IR sensor really is. I have read in this thread there it unit can do IP control but I have not seen any details anywhere about it. I did a port scan on the device and see that it is running a webserver on port 9090 (and that it is also listening on port 5353), so maybe ip control is possible?

Can anyone shed some light on this, either in terms of getting my IR emitters to work with the device, or perhaps switching to IP control?

Thanks!
Spartan94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bluray , hdmi , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off