OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X700 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 128 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2292Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3811 of 4080 Old 03-27-2020, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Did Sony ever push a firmware update that allowed MKV files encoded with Dolby TrueHD to be played?
Apparently not for this player, but the M2 models (X800M2 and X1100ES) now play TrueHD track from MKV file, but it is recognised as MLP audio, decoded internally and output as LPCM 7.1, on second attempt.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1656.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	337.8 KB
ID:	2702522  
priitv8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3812 of 4080 Old 03-27-2020, 11:08 PM
Newbie
 
elmirabeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Help a brother out...

Is there any way to get the UBP-700X to display how much time is left on a movie when paused? (Referring to discs, not streaming.) I have searched and searched and cannot find a setting that turns this on.

Thanks in advance,

Lyle
elmirabeaver is offline  
post #3813 of 4080 Old 03-27-2020, 11:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,754
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmirabeaver View Post
Help a brother out...

Is there any way to get the UBP-700X to display how much time is left on a movie when paused? (Referring to discs, not streaming.) I have searched and searched and cannot find a setting that turns this on.

Thanks in advance,

Lyle
No
Jim McC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3814 of 4080 Old 03-28-2020, 12:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
Apparently not for this player, but the M2 models (X800M2 and X1100ES) now play TrueHD track from MKV file, but it is recognised as MLP audio, decoded internally and output as LPCM 7.1, on second attempt.
Thanks man.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #3815 of 4080 Old 03-28-2020, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi

I’ve just recently purchased an x700 and have 2 issues which are puzzling me. I’m hoping one of you can clarify for me as I’m clearly missing something.

Tcl series 6 - hdr and Dolby vision comp
tx sr393 - hdr and Dolby vision comp

Problem 1: Watching a UHD movie(Fallout) with Dolby vision disabled on the x700 when I view the display settings I see 4k/60 and then Hdr -> Sdr which I suspect means it’s not displaying Hdr10. So I’m good with the resolution(4k) but thought it should also be in hdr as well with this setup.

Problem 2: Watching same movie and I enable Dolby vision on the x700. Starting the movie my tv indicates it’s in dv mode but when the movie starts up my resolution has changed to 1080p when pressing display though it now shows Dolby vision. Shouldn’t the movie still be displaying 2160 AND Dolby vision at this point? Why the change in resolution? I tried this with 2 movies and had the same result though both movies support dv.

Thanks for your help
Bear1616 is offline  
post #3816 of 4080 Old 03-28-2020, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmirabeaver View Post
Help a brother out...

Is there any way to get the UBP-700X to display how much time is left on a movie when paused? (Referring to discs, not streaming.) I have searched and searched and cannot find a setting that turns this on.

Thanks in advance,

Lyle
Not sure if this is exactly what your asking.

On your Sony remote press display. It will then display details about the video and audio signals, current chapter, current amount of time of the movie played, total length of time of the movie.

I seem to recall some disc that will display time left in a movie when paused.

I watch so many movies anymore. Not sure I could even name the ones I have seen recently

Twin Pioneer AVR Locomotives-Elite SC 97, SC 1222 7.2.4, DOLBY Atmos and DTS X, (Front Pre Out,) JBL Pro Synthesis LS Series Speakers, F L R-LS80, Cen-LS, S L R-LS60, SB L R-LS60, 4 Dolby Atmos Enabled Klipsch R41SA, Twin Klipsch R120SW, Sony XBR 85X 850G, Sony UBP-X800M2, ATV G4, Yamaha ATS 1060 Sound Bar, True Depth Firestorm 2.0 3D Glasses, Harmony Hub with Utlimate 1 Remote, Broadlink RM Pro2, EYE Pad Air, Winegard FL6550A
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #3817 of 4080 Old 03-28-2020, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
elmirabeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LNEWoLF View Post
On your Sony remote press display. It will then display details about the video and audio signals, current chapter, current amount of time of the movie played, total length of time of the movie.

I seem to recall some disc that will display time left in a movie when paused.
That did it! Thank you! My wife was ready to divorce me over not knowing how much time was left on a disc! Okay. Maybe that was a slight exaggeration. But she was ready to toss the player and buy something else. You saved me a couple hundred bucks. First beers on me if you are ever in the neighborhood!

Lyle
PlanetAVS likes this.
elmirabeaver is offline  
post #3818 of 4080 Old 03-28-2020, 06:09 PM
Member
 
wraithrsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Then it plays using DV. Not a big deal for HDR10 movies, since it's just another form of tonemapping.

For SDR movies on Blu-ray, it does something but it's not clear what. It's not like the fake HDR modes on a TV where everything is exaggerated like crazy, but it's also not like regular SDR either. For me it feels like they crank the gamma and luminance slightly, and it gives me somewhat of a resemblance to how Disney has graded HDR in many of their older movies on Disney+, with a really low effort, still mostly looking like the SDR source. So unless you're a stickler for 100% accuracy, it's not really a bad thing to leave it on for standard Blu-rays either.

For DVD it does nothing.

It does however prevent playing 3D movies if it's on, for some unknown reason.

Sent from my OnePlus 5 using Tapatalk
That's good to hear. Usually I just get too lazy to switch from Dolby Vision on.
morphinapg likes this.

KDL40S2000 (still in use), UN55D7000 (10+ dead pixels, returned), TC-L32DT30 (still in use), KDL55HX820 (sold), 55JU7500 (cracked screen OOB, returned), 55JS8500 (light bleeding, returned after shady dealing by Samsung which involved BBB), OLED65C9PUA
Denon X1600H, Klipsch R-26FA x2, SVS PB-1000, Paradigm SE 2000C, Dayton B652-Air (surrounds).
wraithrsw is offline  
post #3819 of 4080 Old 03-29-2020, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmirabeaver View Post
That did it! Thank you! My wife was ready to divorce me over not knowing how much time was left on a disc! Okay. Maybe that was a slight exaggeration. But she was ready to toss the player and buy something else. You saved me a couple hundred bucks. First beers on me if you are ever in the neighborhood!

Lyle
Your welcome, make mine a cold one from the back of the fridge.
[img]http://www.finleybeer.com/media/zoo/images/MolsonCanadian_e722d7d16fc3c7f4b712d94b1c520c7f.jp g[\img]

Twin Pioneer AVR Locomotives-Elite SC 97, SC 1222 7.2.4, DOLBY Atmos and DTS X, (Front Pre Out,) JBL Pro Synthesis LS Series Speakers, F L R-LS80, Cen-LS, S L R-LS60, SB L R-LS60, 4 Dolby Atmos Enabled Klipsch R41SA, Twin Klipsch R120SW, Sony XBR 85X 850G, Sony UBP-X800M2, ATV G4, Yamaha ATS 1060 Sound Bar, True Depth Firestorm 2.0 3D Glasses, Harmony Hub with Utlimate 1 Remote, Broadlink RM Pro2, EYE Pad Air, Winegard FL6550A
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #3820 of 4080 Old 03-30-2020, 12:30 AM
Senior Member
 
JMak00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmirabeaver View Post
Help a brother out...



Is there any way to get the UBP-700X to display how much time is left on a movie when paused? (Referring to discs, not streaming.) I have searched and searched and cannot find a setting that turns this on.



Thanks in advance,



Lyle
It's default ain't it? I was watching LOTR - Two Towers and when I paused it, at the right end of the progress bar was the time remaining.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
JMak00 is offline  
post #3821 of 4080 Old 03-30-2020, 11:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMak00 View Post
It's default ain't it? I was watching LOTR - Two Towers and when I paused it, at the right end of the progress bar was the time remaining.
To get the remaining time, some math is required. On the display you see current and total times, so remaining time is the difference of the two. I am not aware of any ways to change the timeline display of the player.
Java-based bluray timelines are different and vary with the content.
morphinapg, galonzo and alexbarbel like this.
priitv8 is offline  
post #3822 of 4080 Old 04-01-2020, 10:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 5
about the x700..will it play Imax Enhanced UHD discs? my tv and receiver are certified...
mooshoodragon is offline  
post #3823 of 4080 Old 04-01-2020, 10:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooshoodragon View Post
about the x700..will it play Imax Enhanced UHD discs? my tv and receiver are certified...
I don't see that IMAX enhanced discs (media) are technically any different from the rest of UHD discs. So why wouldn't it?
galonzo likes this.
priitv8 is offline  
post #3824 of 4080 Old 04-05-2020, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
the audio is important to me since I spent alot more money on audio than my TV. A review of this player says this below. Do you guys agree?

We’d like a bit more gusto and heft to the overall sound, though. The Sony UBP-X800’s expansive and muscular sound elicits a more visceral reaction to crashes, wallops and thunderous blows.

The X700 sounds a tad lightweight in comparison, though it never suffers any wince-inducing brightness despite the leaner tone.

Should have his reviewer card revoked...
Polyrythm1k is online now  
post #3825 of 4080 Old 04-06-2020, 06:46 AM
mnc
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 807
I’m getting sick and tired of this player! The constant freezing up is beyond annoying and the lack of auto DV detection is ridiculous! Only problem is the Panasonic is 3x the price and I don’t know if it’s worth it. I wish I had bought an Oppo while they were still in business.

NHT speakers, Denon x4500h, Stacked PSA XS30SE's, ATV4K, 75X940E, UBPX700
mnc is online now  
post #3826 of 4080 Old 04-06-2020, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 4,033
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2481 Post(s)
Liked: 3629
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnc View Post
I’m getting sick and tired of this player! The constant freezing up is beyond annoying and the lack of auto DV detection is ridiculous! Only problem is the Panasonic is 3x the price and I don’t know if it’s worth it. I wish I had bought an Oppo while they were still in business.
It's almost worth getting a non Sony TV
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #3827 of 4080 Old 04-06-2020, 08:36 AM
mnc
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
It's almost worth getting a non Sony TV

NHT speakers, Denon x4500h, Stacked PSA XS30SE's, ATV4K, 75X940E, UBPX700
mnc is online now  
post #3828 of 4080 Old 04-06-2020, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 4,033
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2481 Post(s)
Liked: 3629
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnc View Post
Meaning that it is almost worth switching to a non Sony Dolby Vision TV, which would be compatible with other UHD disc players that auto switch Dolby Vision. For example, the LG or Philips players.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #3829 of 4080 Old 04-07-2020, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 197
My X-700 says it's connecting with my Wi-Fi, but is says that "Internet Access Failed." I was wanting to check for updates. The latest update I have on my X-700 is M43.R.0277.


Other messages include "The device is not connected to network" and "The network appears to be down."


But, of course, the network is not down, and I'm able to watch Roku by Wi-Fi.


Any suggestions for troubleshooting this???

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!

Last edited by See The Light; 04-07-2020 at 10:07 PM.
See The Light is offline  
post #3830 of 4080 Old 04-07-2020, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Ok guys. I just restarted my Netflix account, and have the premium service. I can’t for the life of me figure out why I can’t get Atmos. I do have a 1080 display and seems I remember a few pages back that might have been a problem. Anybody know off hand?
Polyrythm1k is online now  
post #3831 of 4080 Old 04-07-2020, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by See The Light View Post
My X-700 says it's connecting with my Wi-Fi, but is says that "Internet Access Failed." I was wanting to check for updates. The latest update I have on my X-700 is M43.R.0277.


Other messages include "The device is not connected to network" and "The network appears to be down."


But, of course, the network is not down,, and I'm able to watch Roku by Wi-Fi.


Any suggestions for troubleshooting this???
Try selecting the wired Ethernet, reboot, then reselect the wireless. Also just confirm that it's set for DHCP and not a fixed IP address, assuming you don't hard code your IP addresses on your devices by hand.
I use DHCP, but reserve an IP address for the player on the router so that it never changes.

Sony XBR-65A9F, Sony UBP-X700, Denon AVR-890 (cooled by AC Infinity AIRCOM T10), Apple TV 4K, HDFury Vertex, B&W 600 series & LM1s in 7.1 config, Harmony Elite, Hubitat Home Automation, Philips Hue lights
avsngaiouser is offline  
post #3832 of 4080 Old 04-07-2020, 08:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 4,033
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2481 Post(s)
Liked: 3629
Quote:
Originally Posted by See The Light View Post
My X-700 says it's connecting with my Wi-Fi, but is says that "Internet Access Failed." I was wanting to check for updates. The latest update I have on my X-700 is M43.R.0277.


Other messages include "The device is not connected to network" and "The network appears to be down."


But, of course, the network is not down,, and I'm able to watch Roku by Wi-Fi.


Any suggestions for troubleshooting this???
Try the following in order:
-hard power reset (unplug for 3 minutes)
-factory reset
-ethernet connection
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #3833 of 4080 Old 04-07-2020, 10:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Try the following in order:
-hard power reset (unplug for 3 minutes)
-factory reset
-ethernet connection

On a hard power reset, does it matter if the x-700 is "on" or "off"?

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is offline  
post #3834 of 4080 Old 04-07-2020, 10:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 4,033
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2481 Post(s)
Liked: 3629
Quote:
Originally Posted by See The Light View Post
On a hard power reset, does it matter if the x-700 is "on" or "off"?
I'd turn it off first
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #3835 of 4080 Old 04-08-2020, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 176 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1556 Post(s)
Liked: 2169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polyrythm1k View Post
Ok guys. I just restarted my Netflix account, and have the premium service. I can’t for the life of me figure out why I can’t get Atmos. I do have a 1080 display and seems I remember a few pages back that might have been a problem. Anybody know off hand?
that is correct, as I stated a few pages back, Netflix does NOT support Atmos on this player

Here's the current list of devices Netflix supports for Atmos output:
  • Apple TV 4K (requires tvOS 12 or later)
  • LG OLED TVs (2017 or newer models)
  • Nvidia Shield (2019 models only, even though all other models support Atmos in other apps)
  • Panasonic TVs (2019 or newer models)
  • Pixela 4K Smart Tuner
  • Sony Bravia Android TVs (2018 or newer models)
  • Toshiba TVs (2019 or newer models)
  • Vizio TVs (2018 or newer models)
  • Windows 10 computer or tablet (requires Windows 10 RS3 Build 16299 or later)
  • Xbox One, Xbox One S, and Xbox One X

Supposedly, the newest Amazon Cube Fire TV also supports it (not any other FireTV device), but it doesn't say so according to Netflix, and I don't have one, so I can't confirm.

Main: XBR-85X950H | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield Pro | PS4 Pro | CCU
2nd: XBR-65X950G | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | TiVo Mini | ATV (4thGen)
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K | Roku P+ (4630)
FS - Dr. Strangelove (1964) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #3836 of 4080 Old 04-08-2020, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Thanks @galonzo . I appreciate that. Netflix “help” pages are useless...
Good thing I have current upmixers.
galonzo likes this.
Polyrythm1k is online now  
post #3837 of 4080 Old 04-08-2020, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked: 1177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polyrythm1k View Post
Ok guys. I just restarted my Netflix account, and have the premium service. I can’t for the life of me figure out why I can’t get Atmos. I do have a 1080 display and seems I remember a few pages back that might have been a problem. Anybody know off hand?
Honestly the x700 or any BR player for that matter is not the ideal streaming device. I personally always recommend that folks buy a BR player to play BRs and buy a good streaming device for streaming. BR players are fine to use for streaming in a pinch but will never be as good as a good streaming device like a Nvidia Shield, ATV 4k, or FireTV...I don’t do Roku...for streaming.
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
post #3838 of 4080 Old 04-08-2020, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,754
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Honestly the x700 or any BR player for that matter is not the ideal streaming device. I personally always recommend that folks buy a BR player to play BRs and buy a good streaming device for streaming. BR players are fine to use for streaming in a pinch but will never be as good as a good streaming device like a Nvidia Shield, ATV 4k, or FireTV...I don’t do Roku...for streaming.
You don't like Roku ?
Jim McC is offline  
post #3839 of 4080 Old 04-08-2020, 03:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,281
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2619 Post(s)
Liked: 2333
Those device compatibility list pages are almost always incomplete, so it's always fair to question whether a device supports something or not. I believe my Chromecast Ultra can do Atmos through Netflix, for example.
galonzo likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #3840 of 4080 Old 04-08-2020, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Honestly the x700 or any BR player for that matter is not the ideal streaming device. I personally always recommend that folks buy a BR player to play BRs and buy a good streaming device for streaming. BR players are fine to use for streaming in a pinch but will never be as good as a good streaming device like a Nvidia Shield, ATV 4k, or FireTV...I don’t do Roku...for streaming.

I’ve been thinking of a shield for awhile. I’m a disk guy, so for me streaming isn’t priority really. But since I’m at home lately I thought I’d renew it. Lots of good series to catch up on. Interested in Apple TV as well.
Polyrythm1k is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bluray , hdmi , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off