OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X700 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 129 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2290Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 4070 Old 04-08-2020, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polyrythm1k View Post
I’ve been thinking of a shield for awhile. I’m a disk guy, so for me streaming isn’t priority really. But since I’m at home lately I thought I’d renew it. Lots of good series to catch up on. Interested in Apple TV as well.
I went down the ATV path for streaming after getting frustrated with both the X700 and TV (Sony A9F) streaming apps (I'm mostly a disk guy too). It's been a much better experience, plus it means the family can easily airplay from the various apple devices.



If you're an opera buff, I highly recommend installing the Metropolitan Opera app on the ATV and taking advantage of the free daily stream they're currently doing.
Polyrythm1k likes this.

Sony XBR-65A9F, Sony UBP-X700, Denon AVR-890 (cooled by AC Infinity AIRCOM T10), Apple TV 4K, HDFury Vertex, B&W 600 series & LM1s in 7.1 config, Harmony Elite, Hubitat Home Automation, Philips Hue lights
avsngaiouser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 4070 Old 04-08-2020, 08:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
You don't like Roku ?
I know lots of folks like Roku and it’s a good platform for many people. It’s simply to restrictive for me as I run lots of third party apk’s and I like the flexibility of the Android based streamers. I do have some ATV’s which are honestly even more locked down than the Roku’s, but I only have them for very specific technology reasons, mainly NetFlix ATMOS support.

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
post #3843 of 4070 Old 04-08-2020, 08:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsngaiouser View Post
I went down the ATV path for streaming after getting frustrated with both the X700 and TV (Sony A9F) streaming apps (I'm mostly a disk guy too). It's been a much better experience, plus it means the family can easily airplay from the various apple devices.



If you're an opera buff, I highly recommend installing the Metropolitan Opera app on the ATV and taking advantage of the free daily stream they're currently doing.
You can do Airplay on any Android based streaming device with the right app. I use AirPin Pro on all my Android based streamers for AirPlay but their are others...it’s just a SMOP...

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3844 of 4070 Old 04-10-2020, 08:26 AM
Member
 
bgalakazam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 35
If I am not wrong the main reason to get a X700 is for 4K content, specifically Dolby Vision. If that's the case, you already have a 4K smart tv (I am not aware of non-smart 4K TVs, if there are, let me know and I'll be the first to buy it. Especially one with Dolby Vision).

This being established, why not just use your TV for streaming? Unless you need Apple TV+ (which X700 doesn't provide anyway). I just don't see the point of getting *another* streaming device, along with X700. I pretty much only use my X700 for lossless local NAS content and Dolby Vision.

LG C8 55" OLED | Sony UBP-X700 | Onkyo TX-RZ830 | Klipsch RF-82 II | Klipsch RC-62 II | Klipsch RB-51 II | Klipsch RP-500SA | SVS PB1000
bgalakazam is offline  
post #3845 of 4070 Old 04-10-2020, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2618 Post(s)
Liked: 2330
Most people buy these players for 4K Blu-ray, not streaming, but yes, occasionally a TV will have bad streaming support, so a device like this can help.

Sent from my OnePlus 5 using Tapatalk
neil0311 likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #3846 of 4070 Old 04-10-2020, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
jcwhammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Louis
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgalakazam View Post
This being established, why not just use your TV for streaming? Unless you need Apple TV+ (which X700 doesn't provide anyway). I just don't see the point of getting *another* streaming device, along with X700. I pretty much only use my X700 for lossless local NAS content and Dolby Vision.
Not all tvs (mine included) send atmos to receivers for all streaming services. That's the reason I bought a Apple 4k tv. I was very pleased to see the video from the Apple 4k tv has no banding, which is an upgrade from the streaming directly from my Samsung tv apps. Last weekend I ordered a Vizio PQX, so I'll finally get to take advantage of Dolby Vision. Fingers crossed I get a good panel.

TV: Samsung 65NU8000/ Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2070/ Bluray: PS3 Slim/ Fronts: Focal Chorus 726V/ Center: Focal Chorus cc700V
Surrounds: Focal Chorus 705V
Subs: (4) sealed SI HT 18" powered by Inuke 6000 EQed with MiniDSP
jcwhammie is offline  
post #3847 of 4070 Old 04-12-2020, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
neil0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Maybe this is a stupid question, but how do you update the apps to (or confirm that you have) the most current version?
neil0311 is offline  
post #3848 of 4070 Old 04-13-2020, 05:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil0311 View Post
Maybe this is a stupid question, but how do you update the apps to (or confirm that you have) the most current version?
On the Sony player home screen. I believe if I remember correctly it will have a message in the upper right of screen to update services. With your remote move up to highlight it and then hit enter.

Take care.

Twin Pioneer AVR Locomotives-Elite SC 97, SC 1222 7.2.4, DOLBY Atmos and DTS X, (Front Pre Out,) JBL Pro Synthesis LS Series Speakers, F L R-LS80, Cen-LS, S L R-LS60, SB L R-LS60, 4 Dolby Atmos Enabled Klipsch R41SA, Twin Klipsch R120SW, Sony XBR 85X 850G, Sony UBP-X800M2, ATV G4, Yamaha ATS 1060 Sound Bar, True Depth Firestorm 2.0 3D Glasses, Harmony Hub with Utlimate 1 Remote, Broadlink RM Pro2, EYE Pad Air, Winegard FL6550A
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #3849 of 4070 Old 04-13-2020, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 652
It's really weird Sony's position with their implementation of the Dolby Vision setting. Turning it on activates DV for every disc I play, including standard 1080p SD discs. I have seen no documentation from Dolby that their DV is meant to be used on regular SD content, although it's possible that I just haven't seen it.

I forgot to turn it off and went to play a regular SD BD last night and thought something in my gear chain was broken, but then remembered it was on. So for fun I turned it back on and used the Spears & Munsil test disc to see how bad it was, and the contrast was so blown out that I couldn't use a single contrast test pattern.

Dolby can't be onboard with this?
D Bone is online now  
post #3850 of 4070 Old 04-13-2020, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 4,021
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2478 Post(s)
Liked: 3555
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
It's really weird Sony's position with their implementation of the Dolby Vision setting. Turning it on activates DV for every disc I play, including standard 1080p SD discs. I have seen no documentation from Dolby that their DV is meant to be used on regular SD content, although it's possible that I just haven't seen it.

I forgot to turn it off and went to play a regular SD BD last night and thought something in my gear chain was broken, but then remembered it was on. So for fun I turned it back on and used the Spears & Munsil test disc to see how bad it was, and the contrast was so blown out that I couldn't use a single contrast test pattern.

Dolby can't be onboard with this?
It's a long known issue with all Sony DV UHD players. If Dolby had any influence, I'm sure something would have been done by now.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #3851 of 4070 Old 04-13-2020, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
It's a long known issue with all Sony DV UHD players. If Dolby had any influence, I'm sure something would have been done by now.
Crazy! I thought the DV issue was only for incoming HDR signals (forcing DV for HDR 10/10+/HLG) but missed that it would affect SD as well.

I have always kept DV off and just used HDR10/HLG, but I wanted to watch something in DV for the 1st time to see how it looked, but since I have never done that, I forgot to turn it back off.

That will be the 1st and last time that happens with this player!
D Bone is online now  
post #3852 of 4070 Old 04-13-2020, 10:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
Crazy! I thought the DV issue was only for incoming HDR signals (forcing DV for HDR 10/10+/HLG) but missed that it would affect SD as well.
It is more complex than that. I once drew up a table about the behavior:

And some people actually find the DV upconversion even pleasant.
You can read some of the discussions on the neighboring thread here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post59444082
D Bone, galonzo and alexbarbel like this.
priitv8 is offline  
post #3853 of 4070 Old 04-14-2020, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
It is more complex than that. I once drew up a table about the behavior:

And some people actually find the DV upconversion even pleasant.
You can read some of the discussions on the neighboring thread here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post59444082

Thanks for that! In your chart you have an SD BD disc as 'HDR', yet my LG C9 reported Dolby Vision (in the upper corner) when DV was set to on in the x700? My Denon AVR also reported DV as well.
D Bone is online now  
post #3854 of 4070 Old 04-14-2020, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
Thanks for that! In your chart you have an SD BD disc as 'HDR', yet my LG C9 reported Dolby Vision (in the upper corner) when DV was set to on in the x700? My Denon AVR also reported DV as well.
I must clarify the column titles: X700 HUD means what you see on the drop-down view of UBP. ZD9 HUD is what the TV reports as incoming signal. So that is what you see on AVR and your LG.
galonzo likes this.
priitv8 is offline  
post #3855 of 4070 Old 04-16-2020, 03:56 AM
Senior Member
 
paulman182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I know this is a little off-topic but I finally broke down and bought a good Roku, and it works much more smoothly on streams than my Vizio TV, Sony UHD player, and LG UHD player.

The Roku connects quicker to WiFi and has fewer glitches, plus a wider selection of streaming sources.
paulman182 is offline  
post #3856 of 4070 Old 04-18-2020, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Jeones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had the x700 for a few weeks and am having an issue. When it's off for a bit it will not turn on with either the button or the remote. To get it working I have to remove the power. Once I plug it back in it seems to work as expected. Anyone have any ideas as to what's going on? I think I may either exchange it for another one or just return it.
Jeones is offline  
post #3857 of 4070 Old 04-18-2020, 08:28 PM
Member
 
wowzors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I'm not sure if anyone has run into this but, the amazon prime app on the x700 seems to have some artifacting(?) In the audio when outputting Dolby digital 5.1. I noticed it on Mrs maisel 4k, I would hear crackling/popping noise on my left surround sound speaker, when using my tv Amazon prime app (LG OLED) I didn't not hear this artifacting. The LG still outputs 4k 5.1 Dolby Digital, this issue was driving me nuts as I thought my speakers were acting up.
wowzors is offline  
post #3858 of 4070 Old 04-19-2020, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Highland, UK
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by wowzors View Post
I'm not sure if anyone has run into this but, the amazon prime app on the x700 seems to have some artifacting(?) In the audio when outputting Dolby digital 5.1. I noticed it on Mrs maisel 4k, I would hear crackling/popping noise on my left surround sound speaker, when using my tv Amazon prime app (LG OLED) I didn't not hear this artifacting. The LG still outputs 4k 5.1 Dolby Digital, this issue was driving me nuts as I thought my speakers were acting up.
I have similar setup and not noticed it. This sounds like a source issue.
In the past there were sound sync issues with Amazon Prime on the X700 but that was mostly down to Amazon not the device. That's gone away now.
Sometimes these things are not hardware technical issues but streaming service server, Internet load, connection etc. problems.
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED B7 TV
Denon X3500H AVR
Dali 5.1.2 Speakers
Sony X700 UHD Blu-ray player
NVIDIA Shield TV Pro
m-a-r-k is offline  
post #3859 of 4070 Old 04-19-2020, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeones View Post
I have had the x700 for a few weeks and am having an issue. When it's off for a bit it will not turn on with either the button or the remote. To get it working I have to remove the power. Once I plug it back in it seems to work as expected. Anyone have any ideas as to what's going on? I think I may either exchange it for another one or just return it.
Is it on top of anything? I found mine overheated and it caused intermittent behaviour. The bottom of them gets really hot at times, additional heat load seems to tip it over the edge.


It kept happening so I got it repaired under warranty and haven't had any repeat of it. I've raised it up to get some airflow under it and it's not on top of anything now.
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR-65A9F, Sony UBP-X700, Denon AVR-890 (cooled by AC Infinity AIRCOM T10), Apple TV 4K, HDFury Vertex, B&W 600 series & LM1s in 7.1 config, Harmony Elite, Hubitat Home Automation, Philips Hue lights
avsngaiouser is offline  
post #3860 of 4070 Old 04-19-2020, 04:55 PM
Member
 
Jeones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsngaiouser View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeones View Post
I have had the x700 for a few weeks and am having an issue. When it's off for a bit it will not turn on with either the button or the remote. To get it working I have to remove the power. Once I plug it back in it seems to work as expected. Anyone have any ideas as to what's going on? I think I may either exchange it for another one or just return it.
Is it on top of anything? I found mine overheated and it caused intermittent behaviour. The bottom of them gets really hot at times, additional heat load seems to tip it over the edge.


It kept happening so I got it repaired under warranty and haven't had any repeat of it. I've raised it up to get some airflow under it and it's not on top of anything now.
Was sitting on an open air stand on glass. It was warm to the touch when off. The replacement is cold when off. So hopefully I'm good.
Jeones is offline  
post #3861 of 4070 Old 04-19-2020, 07:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,753
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Is it recommended to prop up the bottom of this player ? Would it help keep it cooler ?
Jim McC is offline  
post #3862 of 4070 Old 04-20-2020, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Highland, UK
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Is it recommended to prop up the bottom of this player ? Would it help keep it cooler ?
I have, I bought large rubber feet on Amazon. There are lots of types and shapes and colours. I do this to most of my AV equipment for better air flow.
Won't hurt.
galonzo and alexbarbel like this.

LG OLED B7 TV
Denon X3500H AVR
Dali 5.1.2 Speakers
Sony X700 UHD Blu-ray player
NVIDIA Shield TV Pro
m-a-r-k is offline  
post #3863 of 4070 Old 04-20-2020, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,753
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Thanks. I wonder if the freeze ups I get are due to heat ?
Jim McC is offline  
post #3864 of 4070 Old 04-20-2020, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Thanks. I wonder if the freeze ups I get are due to heat ?
Anecdotally I'd say yes, I experienced it and it's a common thread that pops up here from time to time. Given it takes a hard power cycle to resolve, I suspect the heat throws out one of the components and causes a non-recoverable situation for the processor. Just a hunch, but mine was seriously hot every time it froze.
I now have it up on rubber feet, not on top of any other components and have external fans (attached to my Aircom T10) blowing over it - probably not necessary, but I've got them, so why not?

Sony XBR-65A9F, Sony UBP-X700, Denon AVR-890 (cooled by AC Infinity AIRCOM T10), Apple TV 4K, HDFury Vertex, B&W 600 series & LM1s in 7.1 config, Harmony Elite, Hubitat Home Automation, Philips Hue lights
avsngaiouser is offline  
post #3865 of 4070 Old 04-20-2020, 11:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,753
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Thanks. How thick are the feet ?
Jim McC is offline  
post #3866 of 4070 Old 04-21-2020, 11:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Highland, UK
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Thanks. How thick are the feet ?
1cm high.
I have only had a couple of lockups and I'm convinced it was heat related - when I opened my AVR cabinet I was hit by a wave of heat from the AVR which sits on a shelf below the X700.
Don't place the X700 on top of another component if you can help it.
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED B7 TV
Denon X3500H AVR
Dali 5.1.2 Speakers
Sony X700 UHD Blu-ray player
NVIDIA Shield TV Pro
m-a-r-k is offline  
post #3867 of 4070 Old 04-21-2020, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,753
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Thanks
Jim McC is offline  
post #3868 of 4070 Old 04-23-2020, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Jeones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My replacement x700 does the exact same thing. After being off for a few day it will not turn on with either the remote or the power button on the unit. If I unplug the power supply and plug it back in it will then work. Very odd. Could I have gotten two bad units in a row. Both from Walmart. I doubt it.
Jeones is offline  
post #3869 of 4070 Old 04-23-2020, 10:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,753
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I have the opposite problem. Sometimes it freezes, and it won't shut off. I have to unplug it and reboot it.
Jim McC is offline  
post #3870 of 4070 Old 04-24-2020, 04:42 AM
Member
 
Jeones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking I will return it and get a Panasonic ub420. I don't need Dolby vision any way.
Jeones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bluray , hdmi , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off