OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X700 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 81 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1911Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2401 of 3346 Old 01-19-2019, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1228 Post(s)
Liked: 778
This is my first DV player whilei now have a DV supported TV. I’ve owned the the Samsung K8500, Panasonic 900, Sony X800 and a Oppo 203. I sold them all. I bought this player cause it was a cheap option until I get the Panasonic 820 or a 9000. I did a little bit of testing last night and so far it’s like the X800 except DV and build quality! You can’t go wrong with the price. I plan on watching a full UHD disc tomorrow or later tonight if I can stay awake lol. If I like it enough Ill keep it, but I really want another Panasonic for all the extra PQ settings! The only thing negative about it’s a little micky mouse with the build quality and the remote is way too small! I don’t mind the DV toggle to me that a little bit to nit picky to be absolutely annoying. If I can get Atmos from the apps then it’s worth keeping for me. I will try that music enhanced setting to off and see if it works with my soundbar!

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Samsung HW-K950 Dolby Atmos sound bar
bobbino421 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2402 of 3346 Old 01-19-2019, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,731
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmaace01 View Post
This worked for Atmos.......


"BTW, to get Atmos bitstream decoded by your receiver when using streaming services like VUDU, Netflix or Prime Video, you have to go on the X700 to Setup/Audio Settings/Digital Music Enhancer and turn it OFF. If it's ON you won't get Atmos signal in your receiver and it will show Dolby Digital only."
When I shut my enhancer off I ended up getting audio dropouts playing dvds on the 700.I thought it was a cable or receiver issue and tried to trouble shoot it but only when I turned on the enhancer in the 700 did the dropouts stop. I thought this was odd however Ive never had another audio issue with it on.

Matt
mattg3 is offline  
post #2403 of 3346 Old 01-19-2019, 06:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1228 Post(s)
Liked: 778
Ok I’m getting Atmos through VUDU but not Netflix? All the Netflix titles that would have Atmos available are showing 5.1? Same with Amazon prime no Atmos with Jack Ryan?

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Samsung HW-K950 Dolby Atmos sound bar

Last edited by bobbino421; 01-19-2019 at 06:56 PM.
bobbino421 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2404 of 3346 Old 01-19-2019, 07:44 PM
Member
 
Lok3sh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Is there a way to get Amazon Prime on the Canadian version of this player? Or a way to flash the firmware over to the US version so I can log into Prime Video or something like that?

Vizio P75-F1
Onkyo TX-NR777
Sony UBP X700 BD
Klipsch Synergy F1 Speaker (L+R)
Klipsch Synergy C10 (Center)
Lok3sh is online now  
post #2405 of 3346 Old 01-19-2019, 11:51 PM
Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by panson View Post
but short of warranty.

I think it's too early in the 4k player game to give any brand or model or seller the good housekeeping seal of approval. There are just too many bugs that can hit at any time. If you've been lucky, so far, then congratulations on negotiating the minefield well.
D u l y N o t e d
Transistorious is offline  
post #2406 of 3346 Old 01-20-2019, 06:47 AM
Newbie
 
peptalk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
Ok I’m getting Atmos through VUDU but not Netflix? All the Netflix titles that would have Atmos available are showing 5.1? Same with Amazon prime no Atmos with Jack Ryan?
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/64066
peptalk1 is offline  
post #2407 of 3346 Old 01-20-2019, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,464
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
Ok I’m getting Atmos through VUDU but not Netflix? All the Netflix titles that would have Atmos available are showing 5.1? Same with Amazon prime no Atmos with Jack Ryan?
The apps for the specific device you are running the app on have to support ATMOS. Just because the app (NetFlix or Amazon Prime) supports ATMOS on one device does not mean it supports it on another even though that other device in and of itself supports ATMOS. It is app dependent. Currently both Netflix and Amazon Prime only support ATMOS on a limited number of devices. The whole streaming device/app ecosystem is a jumbled mess right now and is way too complicated. I have multiple streaming devices on all my 4k capable displays currently just so I have access to everything I need/use/want.
aaronwt likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2408 of 3346 Old 01-20-2019, 01:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I was planning on just running the HDMI 1 into my reciever... Should I be using both HDMI ports and dedicating one for audio? Why? Will the audio quality be reduced if I just use HDMI1 for both?
calidus is offline  
post #2409 of 3346 Old 01-20-2019, 08:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,464
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by calidus View Post
I was planning on just running the HDMI 1 into my reciever... Should I be using both HDMI ports and dedicating one for audio? Why? Will the audio quality be reduced if I just use HDMI1 for both?
No reason to do that. The only reason (and the reason they provide the capability) is for folks with older AVRs that won’t pass all the 4k video signals correctly so that you can then use 1 HDMI output to feed your display directly and the other HDMI output to send the audio signal to your AVR.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #2410 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 02:42 AM
Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by calidus View Post
I was planning on just running the HDMI 1 into my reciever... Should I be using both HDMI ports and dedicating one for audio? Why? Will the audio quality be reduced if I just use HDMI1 for both?
Do you read owner's manuals?
Transistorious is offline  
post #2411 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 04:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omro, WI...USA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonkeous View Post
Hi I posted this in the Optoma Owners thread as well........

I have a Sony UBPX-X700 BluRay player connected to my Optoma UHD60. I have connected it directly with a 30' Fiber Optic 18Gbps cable.
I can play movies with no issues, so I believe my problem is some combination of bluray player output and the input processing of the projector (I know this sounds obvious, but I mean as opposed to being one or the other).

In the situations listed below, the Optima loses the video signal for 2-3 seconds. Either the screen goes blank or flickers or shows pixelated colored squares. I will normally get a No Source message in the lower right, then Searching for Source, then Source Found, then it shows the 2160 4K source (or whatever the resolution is) and the image returns.
This happens when:
1. Moving from main BluRay menu to the movie menu or back to the main menu.
2. Moving from the movie menu (top menu or scene selection) to actually playing the movie or back to the menu from playing the movie.
3. In between the player displaying the FBI Warning screen, the Piracy is not a victimless crime screen and the start of the movie.

I connected the same player to my Vizio E70-F3, and it acts somewhat differently. In any of the above situations, the screen does not flicker or go blank, but it displays the video source at the top of the screen again as though it just found the source. So I believe the same thing is happening, only the Vizio is handling it more elegantly.

Sony tech support was little help. They had me turn off a couple video options after a factory reset, but nothing helped. Optoma support basically said, as long as the projector has a signal the projector will display it, which I can't argue with.

So my questions are:
1. Has anyone else experienced this?
2. Can anything be done on either the BluRay or Optoma (or both) to prevent this flickering? The Input Source on the Optoma is locked on HDMI2, that was the first thing I found online.
3. Is this normal for a BlueRay player to cut the signal like this? By the way, I have tried this with multiple BluRay discs and a DVD and the same thing happens.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm finally getting my theater set up and this is super annoying!

Thanks!
Larry.
I have this same problem with Netflix on my UHD51a....when moving up or down or left/right on home menu, the projector has to reset the video output...very annoying to wait 2-3 seconds each time I select another video selection... what setting isn't right? or is it just the way it is and live with it? don't have another player to try this out but it works fine with the Netflix app on my tivo...

Wanab
wanab is offline  
post #2412 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 12:58 PM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ok I've read and searched a bit, but can't find an answer. I'm running the UBP-X700 straight into my (non-HDR) Sony XBR-55X850A HDMI for video (via Dynex DX-SF116). When I play regular Blu-ray discs, it'll upscale to 4k 2160 resolution. However, when I insert the 4k UltraHD/HDR disc, it'll only display 1080p/24 HDR->SDR. I assumed the disc/player would still output 4k 2160 resolution when using the 4k UltraHD/HDR disc even though my TV is non-HDR.

What am I missing here?
I've tried both Halloween (1978) and John Wick.

XBR-55X850A, KDL-40XBR4 8000+ hours

Last edited by vath; 01-21-2019 at 01:02 PM.
vath is offline  
post #2413 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 01:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1228 Post(s)
Liked: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by vath View Post
Ok I've read and searched a bit, but can't find an answer. I'm running the UBP-X700 straight into my (non-HDR) Sony XBR-55X850A HDMI for video (via Dynex DX-SF116). When I play regular Blu-ray discs, it'll upscale to 4k 2160 resolution. However, when I insert the 4k UltraHD/HDR disc, it'll only display 1080p/24 HDR->SDR. I assumed the disc/player would still output 4k 2160 resolution when using the 4k UltraHD/HDR disc even though my TV is non-HDR.

What am I missing here?
I've tried both Halloween (1978) and John Wick.
Not sure about your HDMI Cables if they are able to pass a 4K signal also make sure the X700 settings are correct for output resolution I have mine set to auto! You should be able to get 4K SDR when hit display on your playback info? On your TV you settings should be auto also! I’m not sure about the HDMI inputs if they have to be set differently since you don’t have HDR? HDR supported Sony TVs have something called HDMI enhanced. Your tv is probably doing the upscale for the regular blue rays?

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Samsung HW-K950 Dolby Atmos sound bar
bobbino421 is offline  
post #2414 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
Not sure about your HDMI Cables if they are able to pass a 4K signal also make sure the X700 settings are correct for output resolution I have mine set to auto! You should be able to get 4K SDR when hit display on your playback info? On your TV you settings should be auto also! I’m not sure about the HDMI inputs if they have to be set differently since you don’t have HDR? HDR supported Sony TVs have something called HDMI enhanced. Your tv is probably doing the upscale for the regular blue rays?
Have you read any Sony XBR-55X850A information?
Transistorious is offline  
post #2415 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 03:34 PM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Did some additional testing...

UltraHD Blu-ray (Dolby Vision ON): TV: 1080p HD, UBP-X700: 1080/60p HDR->SDR
UltraHD Blu-ray (Dolby Vision OFF): TV: 1080/24p HD, UBP-X700: 1080/24p HDR->SDR
Regular Blu-ray (Dolby Vision OFF): TV: 3840x2160p, UBP-X700: 4K/24p SDR

still wondering why the X700 doesn't want to output the UltraHD Blur-ray at 4K
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190121_175429 UBR-DV-ON.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	170.2 KB
ID:	2514238   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190121_174539 UBR.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	170.9 KB
ID:	2514240   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190121_173541 BR.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	163.6 KB
ID:	2514242  

XBR-55X850A, KDL-40XBR4 8000+ hours
vath is offline  
post #2416 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 04:04 PM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^^^^^^

ahhhh all that testing was on HDMI input #3 ....
plugging the UBP-X700 into HDMI input #4 on the XBR-55X850A gets me to:

UltraHD Blu-ray (Dolby Vision N/A): TV: 3840x2160p, UBP-X700: 4K/24p HDR->SDR

Good thing I had this post bookmarked... I can't remember why input #4 is the magic port on this TV
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post49322969

Reason: HDMI #4 is the only HDCP 2.2 input, all others are HDCP 1.4.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190121_185931 UBR input4.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	553.4 KB
ID:	2514264  

XBR-55X850A, KDL-40XBR4 8000+ hours

Last edited by vath; 01-21-2019 at 09:15 PM.
vath is offline  
post #2417 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 646 Post(s)
Liked: 1425
Quote:
Originally Posted by vath View Post
Ok I've read and searched a bit, but can't find an answer. I'm running the UBP-X700 straight into my (non-HDR) Sony XBR-55X850A HDMI for video (via Dynex DX-SF116). When I play regular Blu-ray discs, it'll upscale to 4k 2160 resolution. However, when I insert the 4k UltraHD/HDR disc, it'll only display 1080p/24 HDR->SDR. I assumed the disc/player would still output 4k 2160 resolution when using the 4k UltraHD/HDR disc even though my TV is non-HDR.

What am I missing here?
I've tried both Halloween (1978) and John Wick.
HDR off in player?
Panson is offline  
post #2418 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by avscottso View Post
After over 5-1/2 hours of continuous running of the same 4K HDR disc - Saving Private Ryan twice in a row, no problems. I'm satisfied with the results.

My interpretation: This thing needs more than 3/16" of space above to a solid surface, otherwise heat gets trapped.

With 5/8" of space above no excess heat is trapped. The X700 is just warm on top and the disc is also only warm. Nothing is excessively warm or hot.

It's been running the latest firmware for several months and there was no change in behavior from prior firmware.

Recap:
This problem only happened with 4K HDR discs of around 2 hours in length or more.
3/16" air space above player to shelf above, player got very, very warm, almost hot. Around 2 hours into movie the picture freezes. After full stop, then restart and navigate to scene that froze, resume play to end of movie.
Testing:
4 days in a row played same movie with same "freeze" results each time.
Day 5: Using a fan to cool the player - no other changes - the movie played to the end.
Day 6: Adjusted the shelf to allow more air space above, no fan, movie plays to the end.
Day 7: Played movie twice in a row all the way through over 5-1/2 hours continuous, no problems.
Done.

Problem solved.
I remember my dad repairing our VCR in the 80's several times and realizing after the last time it was probably all the tapes on top overheating the VCR. Glad you got it fixed. After i bought a Marantz receiver which said it wanted 16 inches on top i have been more careful to not enclose my home theater gear. On top of that i think the BD drives in use are not always quality and even within one unit Sony could use several BD drives thereby giving some of us no issues and others get problems.

TV - Sony 65XBR-930e | Receiver - Yamaha RX-V577 | 4K player - Sony UBP-X700 | PS3 | Router - Asus RT-AC86U | SVS SB-2000 sub | Paradigm Monitor SE 6000F L/R | Paradigm Monitor SE 2000C center | Paradigm ADP-170 v.3 rears
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #2419 of 3346 Old 01-21-2019, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by peptalk1 View Post
I get DD+ from my Android TV but not from the Netflix on the x700. At least Vudu supports DD+/Atmos on the x700.

TV - Sony 65XBR-930e | Receiver - Yamaha RX-V577 | 4K player - Sony UBP-X700 | PS3 | Router - Asus RT-AC86U | SVS SB-2000 sub | Paradigm Monitor SE 6000F L/R | Paradigm Monitor SE 2000C center | Paradigm ADP-170 v.3 rears
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #2420 of 3346 Old 01-22-2019, 08:43 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,248
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5809 Post(s)
Liked: 8279
Quote:
Originally Posted by vath View Post
^^^^^^

ahhhh all that testing was on HDMI input #3 ....
plugging the UBP-X700 into HDMI input #4 on the XBR-55X850A gets me to:

UltraHD Blu-ray (Dolby Vision N/A): TV: 3840x2160p, UBP-X700: 4K/24p HDR->SDR

Good thing I had this post bookmarked... I can't remember why input #4 is the magic port on this TV
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post49322969

Reason: HDMI #4 is the only HDCP 2.2 input, all others are HDCP 1.4.
Fun with licensing restrictions: With the older copy protection in the TV, the player is allowed to upscale regular Blu-ray content to 4K output but must DOWN-scale 4K content to 1080p output.

With the newer copy protection in the TV the player can output 4K for both.

Complaints to the studios please.
--Bob
Jim Kiler and callworth like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #2421 of 3346 Old 01-22-2019, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mile High City
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 51
OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X700 Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Hello All!

I was just able to snag an X700 from BestBuy for Uber cheap - set it up last night and tested out Jumanji on the sucker and had no hiccups and the film was playing in DV per the Info Display on the remote.

I haven’t tried any streaming options since the LG has a great OS, but will check it out soon to ensure I get HDR/DV via streaming.

I have an LG C8 currently hooked up to it and just had one silly question - When/if I ever want to play a non-HDR disc ie a regular Blu-Ray, do I need to go into the settings and take DV off of Auto or On? If I don’t remember to turn it off, I guess what are the negatives?

Thanks much guys! I know the answer is somewhere in the thread, but I have looked for an hour :/

Anddddddddddddd just saw priitv8’s comment! Most can probably disregard. Thanks mate!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Transistorious likes this.

Last edited by Markalark; 01-22-2019 at 02:01 PM.
Markalark is offline  
post #2422 of 3346 Old 01-22-2019, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markalark View Post
Hello All!

I was just able to snag an X700 from BestBuy for Uber cheap - set it up last night and tested out Jumanji on the sucker and had no hiccups and the film was playing in DV per the Info Display on the remote.

I haven’t tried any streaming options since the LG has a great OS, but will check it out soon to ensure I get HDR/DV via streaming.

I have an LG C8 currently hooked up to it and just had one silly question - When/if I ever want to play a non-HDR disc ie a regular Blu-Ray, do I need to go into the settings and take DV off of Auto or On? If I don’t remember to turn it off, I guess what are the negatives?

Thanks much guys! I know the answer is somewhere in the thread, but I have looked for an hour :/

Anddddddddddddd just saw priitv8’s comment! Most can probably disregard. Thanks mate!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
¡Viva the Sony UBP-X700!
Markalark likes this.
Transistorious is offline  
post #2423 of 3346 Old 01-23-2019, 01:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Dolby Atmos & DTS:X from USB Port

Hi Guys,

Have any one tried of playing Atmos and DTS:X content from USB drive?

I have tried to play from USB and the player shows Audio format not supporting!

I had checked with our local Sony showroom they confirmed that Atmos or DTS:X content will be read only through the blue ray CD and not via USB!!

Have any one has the same problem? Please share your experience and help me...

Thanks.
en.saravanan is offline  
post #2424 of 3346 Old 01-23-2019, 02:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by en.saravanan View Post
Hi Guys,

Have any one tried of playing Atmos and DTS:X content from USB drive?

I have tried to play from USB and the player shows Audio format not supporting!

I had checked with our local Sony showroom they confirmed that Atmos or DTS:X content will be read only through the blue ray CD and not via USB!!

Have any one has the same problem? Please share your experience and help me...

Thanks.
Well, I can tell you what I have found but am unsure of just why and others may be able to give you better advice. With m2ts files I can play Atmos from the USB. On occasion the film starts to play in Dolby Surround and I have to scroll through all the available soundtracks and back to the Atmos track again before it will play Atmos. I don't know what is going on there.
With my mkv Atmos tracks I get the audio unsupported message and can not play Atmos even if I scroll through.
For DTS:X the situation is better and I can play all of these films in DTS:X and with no scrolling through needed. I hope this helps.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is online now  
post #2425 of 3346 Old 01-23-2019, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Well, I can tell you what I have found but am unsure of just why and others may be able to give you better advice. With m2ts files I can play Atmos from the USB. On occasion the film starts to play in Dolby Surround and I have to scroll through all the available soundtracks and back to the Atmos track again before it will play Atmos. I don't know what is going on there.
With my mkv Atmos tracks I get the audio unsupported message and can not play Atmos even if I scroll through.
For DTS:X the situation is better and I can play all of these films in DTS:X and with no scrolling through needed. I hope this helps.
Thanks!
alexbarbel likes this.
en.saravanan is offline  
post #2426 of 3346 Old 01-23-2019, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all, I need help, I can't get Dolby Atmos from my Sony UBP-X700, all I get is Dolby TrueHd 7.1. The movies I've tried are all Dolby Dolby Atmos, I go through the movie menu and select it. I've tried everything with no success, I've even been told that all it has is Dolby TrueHd 7.1 but looking online that can't be true. Can someone please help, I'm even willing to speak with someone over the phone and go thru all the steps. Thanks in advance.
DirtyD84! is offline  
post #2427 of 3346 Old 01-23-2019, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyD84! View Post
Hello all, I need help, I can't get Dolby Atmos from my Sony UBP-X700, all I get is Dolby TrueHd 7.1. The movies I've tried are all Dolby Dolby Atmos, I go through the movie menu and select it. I've tried everything with no success, I've even been told that all it has is Dolby TrueHd 7.1 but looking online that can't be true. Can someone please help, I'm even willing to speak with someone over the phone and go thru all the steps. Thanks in advance.
I thought to have that problem until technical support was contacted. The key is your AVR. If it shows DA then disregard the X-700 display information. Does your AVR show DA assuming it supports DA and DTS:X? I'll be glad to help you to the best of my knowledge.
Good luck

Last edited by Transistorious; 01-23-2019 at 05:35 PM.
Transistorious is offline  
post #2428 of 3346 Old 01-23-2019, 10:54 PM
Newbie
 
jakou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by en.saravanan View Post
Hi Guys,

Have any one tried of playing Atmos and DTS:X content from USB drive?

I have tried to play from USB and the player shows Audio format not supporting!

I had checked with our local Sony showroom they confirmed that Atmos or DTS:X content will be read only through the blue ray CD and not via USB!!

Have any one has the same problem? Please share your experience and help me...

Thanks.
If your file is mkv, the X700 will play DTS-X but not Dolby Atmos.
If your file is m2ts, the X700 will play DTS-X as well as Dolby Armos.
(Of course all the above should be through a capable AVR).
alexbarbel likes this.
jakou is offline  
post #2429 of 3346 Old 01-24-2019, 01:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakou View Post
If your file is mkv, the X700 will play DTS-X but not Dolby Atmos.
If your file is m2ts, the X700 will play DTS-X as well as Dolby Armos.
(Of course all the above should be through a capable AVR).
Thanks.
en.saravanan is offline  
post #2430 of 3346 Old 01-24-2019, 05:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanab View Post
I have this same problem with Netflix on my UHD51a....when moving up or down or left/right on home menu, the projector has to reset the video output...very annoying to wait 2-3 seconds each time I select another video selection... what setting isn't right? or is it just the way it is and live with it? don't have another player to try this out but it works fine with the Netflix app on my tivo...
I think it is something specific to this player. I have no issues with my Roku - changing apps, searching, streaming, the signal never cuts out. No issues with my cable box/DVR.
Once the handshaking is done between the BluRay and the display, that should be it. Why would it ever need to interrupt the video signal??? I only use this device to play movies. I figured a BluRay player could at least do that right.
bonkeous is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bluray , hdmi , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off