Official Panasonic DP-UB820/824 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 104 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5031Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 5977 Old 02-04-2019, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
laguna_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Gatos Mntns. California
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac388 View Post
Thanks . I wish they update the firmware to let us play movies at 24p on Netflix as they should be !!!
I am curious. What is the advantage of 24p vs 60? One would expect faster refresh to be an advantage but have seen many references to it not being so.

Past: CRTs NEC/Runco, Barco 1208, 1209 Current: JVC RS-640, Stewart Cima Neve 123" Screen 92" Da-Lite
laguna_b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 5977 Old 02-04-2019, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,269
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 913 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by laguna_b View Post
I am curious. What is the advantage of 24p vs 60? One would expect faster refresh to be an advantage but have seen many references to it not being so.
It is the idiotic unnecessary equivalent of the 1950 NTSC 3:2 pull down. It forces 24p material to be displayed at a forced unnatural stuttery frame rate. 60 isn't a multiple of 24.

It is an abomination.
Rudy1, jbrinegar, laguna_b and 1 others like this.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #3093 of 5977 Old 02-04-2019, 01:11 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,276
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5833 Post(s)
Liked: 8309
Quote:
Originally Posted by laguna_b View Post
I am curious. What is the advantage of 24p vs 60? One would expect faster refresh to be an advantage but have seen many references to it not being so.
See my Blog post here:

Understanding Frame Rates, OR “24 Into 60 Won’t Go!”

—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3094 of 5977 Old 02-04-2019, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by laguna_b View Post
I am curious. What is the advantage of 24p vs 60? One would expect faster refresh to be an advantage but have seen many references to it not being so.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
It is the idiotic unnecessary equivalent of the 1950 NTSC 3:2 pull down. It forces 24p material to be displayed at a forced unnatural stuttery frame rate. 60 isn't a multiple of 24.

It is an abomination.
Just to expand a bit on what makes it so stuttery... our eyes are especially sensitive to uneven cadence like 3:2:3:2:3:2. It looks better to just go with 24fps.
erkq is offline  
post #3095 of 5977 Old 02-04-2019, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
Just to expand a bit on what makes it so stuttery... our eyes are especially sensitive to uneven cadence like 3:2:3:2:3:2. It looks better to just go with 24fps.
So why isn't everything dialled into 24 fps now?
cdnscg is offline  
post #3096 of 5977 Old 02-04-2019, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
So why isn't everything dialled into 24 fps now?
Because lots of content is produced at 60fps and plays great at 60fps. My projector has a setting that's something like "Source Direct" for framerate and I just leave it there... set it and forget it... it picks the best.
Panson likes this.
erkq is offline  
post #3097 of 5977 Old 02-04-2019, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,269
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 913 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
Just to expand a bit on what makes it so stuttery... our eyes are especially sensitive to uneven cadence like 3:2:3:2:3:2. It looks better to just go with 24fps.
Exactly. It is forcing the source to be displayed at an uneven rate. So some frames are on screen longer than others. It is so idiotic it is one of the few things that really get me riled up.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #3098 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 03:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac388 View Post
There is a new Firmware update (version 1.51) available this morning for my 820. Wonder if anyone know what it’s about ? Thanks
Thanks to this firmware, owners of a LG OLED 2016 TV we can eventually watch Netflix with Dolby Vision in 4K selecting: Player Settings HDMI 4K(50p/60p)4:2:0
gymnos likes this.
Gerard_A is offline  
post #3099 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 04:21 AM
alv
Advanced Member
 
alv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just joined the 4K club and got an 820. Mostly great so far. Last night watching the Last Jedi I had terrible lip syncing issues 2 or 3 times. Sound was off by seconds. It happened suddenly. Only way to fix it was to hit stop and then play again. Is this unusual? Playing on some borrowed discs I also had pixelation a couple of times. Not used to that with blu-ray's and my oppo 103. Could the player be slightly misaligned?
alv is offline  
post #3100 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 06:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tweakophyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Boulder, CO, USA
Posts: 3,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakophyte View Post
Maybe "system stability" equates to NetFlix audio delay.

I'll try tonight.
Upgraded last night... after several attempts I had to unplug the player to get NetFlix to work. Prior to that it would just spin at the logo like the app was loading. I think the audio sync was better, but I also think it was still there. Sorry not scientific... was tired. I was watching Punisher, fwiw.

Panny UB820, Denon X6300H in 6.1.4 mode, Epson 5040UB, SVS PCUltra paired with a MiniDSP HD and BEQ (of course!)
Working on making things blacker...
Tweakophyte is offline  
post #3101 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 01:53 PM
Asphalt Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chaska, Mn
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Exclamation 4k/60 4:4:4?

I can only get my 820 to output 4k60 4:2:0 to my JVC X790R due to either HDMI cable length (30ft), or the wall plate connection, which is right in the middle of the 2 cables. The cables are BJC belden FE bonded pair. When I run a short hdmi cable directly from the 820 to the JVC I can set it to 4:4:4 FYI. Am I losing anything by (only) using 4:2:0 10 bit? Should I try anything else? A "certified high speed" wall plate perhaps? I don't really want to replace my existing cables with active ones...

Anthem AVM 60, Sherbourn 7/2100, B&K Reference 200.7, Genesis 6.1 LCR's
Axiom QS8 Surrounds, Triad Inceiling Heights, ATMOS 7.1.4
Panasonic DP-UB820 Oppo bdp83 Bluray
Jvc X790R / 540U
Da-Lite Cinema Contour 2.4 Highpower 133"
dlm358 is offline  
post #3102 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 01:57 PM
Member
 
lastbeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 2
If you were to use this player to play 4k m2ts HDR files off USB, can you still use the auto tone mapping features or does that only work playing directly off of a disc? Has anyone tried?
lastbeat is offline  
post #3103 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2333 Post(s)
Liked: 1663
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm358 View Post
I can only get my 820 to output 4k60 4:2:0 to my JVC X790R due to either HDMI cable length (30ft), or the wall plate connection, which is right in the middle of the 2 cables. The cables are BJC belden FE bonded pair. When I run a short hdmi cable directly from the 820 to the JVC I can set it to 4:4:4 FYI. Am I losing anything by (only) using 4:2:0 10 bit? Should I try anything else? A "certified high speed" wall plate perhaps? I don't really want to replace my existing cables with active ones...
I'm not sure what you're trying to do. 4:4:4 at 60 Hz is only available at 8 bits, and that's at close to the bit rate limit of HDMI 2.0. See the attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HDMI_data_rates.png
Views:	57
Size:	16.7 KB
ID:	2520774  
bobknavs is online now  
post #3104 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greater Houston Area - Texas
Posts: 1,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 781 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm358 View Post
I can only get my 820 to output 4k60 4:2:0 to my JVC X790R due to either HDMI cable length (30ft), or the wall plate connection, which is right in the middle of the 2 cables. The cables are BJC belden FE bonded pair. When I run a short hdmi cable directly from the 820 to the JVC I can set it to 4:4:4 FYI. Am I losing anything by (only) using 4:2:0 10 bit? Should I try anything else? A "certified high speed" wall plate perhaps? I don't really want to replace my existing cables with active ones...
It is most likely the cable is only certified for 4:2:0. When I had my PJ installed, the installer ran a 25' high speed cable, but after some research, I found it was only capable of 4:2:0, even though it was an 18gbps cable. I replaced it with a 25' cable from Monoprice that was certified for 4:4:4 and it works perfectly.

As far as I've seen, most UHD's are 4:2:0 10 bit, so I doubt you will be losing much.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427

Routh Family Theater - My Dedicated Home Theater Build - 7.1.4 Atmos Setup
Seymour AV 100" Electronic Masking Screen - Klipsch RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II's, RS-52 II's, CDT-5650 II-C x 4 - PSA V3600I Sub
Marantz AV7704 with TK421 Modification - Panasonic UBD 820
Emotiva XPA -7 & XPA-5 - Sony XBR-75x940c with Ideal-Lume Panelight (Living Room)
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #3105 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,953
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2316 Post(s)
Liked: 2172
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm358 View Post
I can only get my 820 to output 4k60 4:2:0 to my JVC X790R due to either HDMI cable length (30ft), or the wall plate connection, which is right in the middle of the 2 cables. The cables are BJC belden FE bonded pair. When I run a short hdmi cable directly from the 820 to the JVC I can set it to 4:4:4 FYI. Am I losing anything by (only) using 4:2:0 10 bit? Should I try anything else? A "certified high speed" wall plate perhaps? I don't really want to replace my existing cables with active ones...
Netflix won't send HDR if you have the UB820 set to 4:2:0. (Unless the new firmware changed that.) Amazon will.

Otherwise you probably won't notice much difference between 4K60 4:2:0 10-bit and 4K60 4:2:2 12-bit that you would get if you set the UB820 to 4:4:4.
gymnos likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is online now  
post #3106 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 04:44 PM
Member
 
SoonerDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I must be an idiot because I cannot figure this out.


Just got UB820 today. Hooked it up via HDMI to pioneer VSX-LX503 to JVS RS57 projector. Any UHD disc I play, plays at 1080p 24. When I start the unit it JVC says 4K60 source. As soon as disc plays JVC says 1080p60. All other sources through the receiver (PS4, Xbox One, Apple TV) all at 4K. During setup of UB820 it does the check on the resolution screen to make sure display is 4K capable. Says yes.



Hooked up LG UHD player through same input and HDMI cable. 4K discs play in 4K. Hook Panny back up and discs go back to 1080p. Tried the Auto and 4K settings on the Panny, same result. Going out of the HDMI video port on the panny.


Has to be a setting in the UB820 player, but cannot figure it out for the life of me.


Any help would be appreciated.
SoonerDoc is offline  
post #3107 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 07:50 PM
Asphalt Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chaska, Mn
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I'm not sure what you're trying to do. 4:4:4 at 60 Hz is only available at 8 bits, and that's at close to the bit rate limit of HDMI 2.0. See the attached.
Thanks Bob,

It's only because it's an option on the 820.

Anthem AVM 60, Sherbourn 7/2100, B&K Reference 200.7, Genesis 6.1 LCR's
Axiom QS8 Surrounds, Triad Inceiling Heights, ATMOS 7.1.4
Panasonic DP-UB820 Oppo bdp83 Bluray
Jvc X790R / 540U
Da-Lite Cinema Contour 2.4 Highpower 133"
dlm358 is offline  
post #3108 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 07:52 PM
Asphalt Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chaska, Mn
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
It is most likely the cable is only certified for 4:2:0. When I had my PJ installed, the installer ran a 25' high speed cable, but after some research, I found it was only capable of 4:2:0, even though it was an 18gbps cable. I replaced it with a 25' cable from Monoprice that was certified for 4:4:4 and it works perfectly.

As far as I've seen, most UHD's are 4:2:0 10 bit, so I doubt you will be losing much.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427
Thanks Tom,

All cables are Certified High Speed 18g 4:4:4 capable. (monoprice/BJC)

Anthem AVM 60, Sherbourn 7/2100, B&K Reference 200.7, Genesis 6.1 LCR's
Axiom QS8 Surrounds, Triad Inceiling Heights, ATMOS 7.1.4
Panasonic DP-UB820 Oppo bdp83 Bluray
Jvc X790R / 540U
Da-Lite Cinema Contour 2.4 Highpower 133"
dlm358 is offline  
post #3109 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 07:55 PM
Asphalt Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chaska, Mn
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Netflix won't send HDR if you have the UB820 set to 4:2:0. (Unless the new firmware changed that.) Amazon will.

Otherwise you probably won't notice much difference between 4K60 4:2:0 10-bit and 4K60 4:2:2 12-bit that you would get if you set the UB820 to 4:4:4.
Thanks so much Claw. It appears I DO have a compelling reason to run 4k60 4:4:4. Let me know if you've got any suggestions how I can get there.

Anthem AVM 60, Sherbourn 7/2100, B&K Reference 200.7, Genesis 6.1 LCR's
Axiom QS8 Surrounds, Triad Inceiling Heights, ATMOS 7.1.4
Panasonic DP-UB820 Oppo bdp83 Bluray
Jvc X790R / 540U
Da-Lite Cinema Contour 2.4 Highpower 133"
dlm358 is offline  
post #3110 of 5977 Old 02-05-2019, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greater Houston Area - Texas
Posts: 1,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 781 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm358 View Post
Thanks Tom,

All cables are Certified High Speed 18g 4:4:4 capable. (monoprice/BJC)
If you can, remove the wall plate and test direct.

Routh Family Theater - My Dedicated Home Theater Build - 7.1.4 Atmos Setup
Seymour AV 100" Electronic Masking Screen - Klipsch RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II's, RS-52 II's, CDT-5650 II-C x 4 - PSA V3600I Sub
Marantz AV7704 with TK421 Modification - Panasonic UBD 820
Emotiva XPA -7 & XPA-5 - Sony XBR-75x940c with Ideal-Lume Panelight (Living Room)
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #3111 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 02:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 92
No More Dolby Atmos/DTS:X

I am no longer getting Dolby Atmos/DTS:X. I haven’t watched an UHD since I’ve unplugged and plugged in my AVR and switched hdmi ports on my TV and then back and then also updated FW to the latest version for this player yesterday so trying to tackle down what the problem is has become a nightmare. Trying to start somewhere. Really did not want to reset my AVR so thought I’d start with the player. Is there a possibility the FW update somehow broke Atmos/DTSX? In playback info it’s still showing TrueHD 7.1ch but do not have the Atmos/DTSX options for my AVR via remote anymore.

So would the factory reset with the player off work for this? Makes me nervous to try it but don’t know anything else to try with the player.. but basically was just wanting to know if there was a good probability of this fixing the issue to make it worth the risk or not? Am freaking out a bit because I’ve just recently sunk some money over Christmas into being able to have atmos and it was working flawlessly for about a month or so and now just nothing.. I would so greatly appreciate any and all opinions/advice. I’m pretty overwhelmed with not getting it to work again and desperate for anyone's input. Thank you very much for taking the time to read this even.

Last edited by MeganElisabeth; 02-06-2019 at 02:06 AM.
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #3112 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 04:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
I am no longer getting Dolby Atmos/DTS:X. I haven’t watched an UHD since I’ve unplugged and plugged in my AVR and switched hdmi ports on my TV and then back and then also updated FW to the latest version for this player yesterday so trying to tackle down what the problem is has become a nightmare. Trying to start somewhere. Really did not want to reset my AVR so thought I’d start with the player. Is there a possibility the FW update somehow broke Atmos/DTSX? In playback info it’s still showing TrueHD 7.1ch but do not have the Atmos/DTSX options for my AVR via remote anymore.

So would the factory reset with the player off work for this? Makes me nervous to try it but don’t know anything else to try with the player.. but basically was just wanting to know if there was a good probability of this fixing the issue to make it worth the risk or not? Am freaking out a bit because I’ve just recently sunk some money over Christmas into being able to have atmos and it was working flawlessly for about a month or so and now just nothing.. I would so greatly appreciate any and all opinions/advice. I’m pretty overwhelmed with not getting it to work again and desperate for anyone's input. Thank you very much for taking the time to read this even.
Hi
not sure which display you refer to but
No player display will ever show Atmos/DTSX you can only see that information on the AVR display
have you checked the player is selected to bitstream with secondary audio Off
Lesmor is online now  
post #3113 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
Hi
not sure which display you refer to but
No player display will ever show Atmos/DTSX you can only see that information on the AVR display
have you checked the player is selected to bitstream with secondary audio Off
Thank you so very much for responding! Yes, sorry, I was referring to that being displayed with Mubarak AVR. Yes I have the player set to bitstream and secondary audio off.
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #3114 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 06:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: København
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Thank you so very much for responding! Yes, sorry, I was referring to that being displayed with Mubarak AVR. Yes I have the player set to bitstream and secondary audio off.
It might be the AVR. I didn't realise it, but my Denon has an Atmos On/Off toggle. I use a Harmony remote to control my devices and through it managed to select that option and then couldn't for the life of me figure out why I wasn't getting Atmos.
Ken Masters is offline  
post #3115 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Masters View Post
It might be the AVR. I didn't realise it, but my Denon has an Atmos On/Off toggle. I use a Harmony remote to control my devices and through it managed to select that option and then couldn't for the life of me figure out why I wasn't getting Atmos.
Well it’s just extremely confusing because it was working perfectly for about a month. Ah. Thanks very much for responding! I don’t have any atmos switch on or off for the receiver. I’m hoping so much it isn’t the AVR. /: I truly appreciate you responding with your hint! Trying to decide if resetting the player could fix it. If it’s a good possibility that the FW messed up the player or something or if it’s a risk and not likely at all to be fixed with resetting. I’d love to eliminate the player as a problem before my AVR for sure though.
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #3116 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoonerDoc View Post
I must be an idiot because I cannot figure this out.


Just got UB820 today. Hooked it up via HDMI to pioneer VSX-LX503 to JVS RS57 projector. Any UHD disc I play, plays at 1080p 24. When I start the unit it JVC says 4K60 source. As soon as disc plays JVC says 1080p60. All other sources through the receiver (PS4, Xbox One, Apple TV) all at 4K. During setup of UB820 it does the check on the resolution screen to make sure display is 4K capable. Says yes.



Hooked up LG UHD player through same input and HDMI cable. 4K discs play in 4K. Hook Panny back up and discs go back to 1080p. Tried the Auto and 4K settings on the Panny, same result. Going out of the HDMI video port on the panny.


Has to be a setting in the UB820 player, but cannot figure it out for the life of me.


Any help would be appreciated.
May-be try unplugging/re-plugging the Panny. If this does not work, reset to factory settings from the menu.
cdnscg is offline  
post #3117 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 10:08 AM
Member
 
rrebello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Stuttering on Amazon Prime Video (UHD Feed)

Does anyone else have this problem with the Amazon App? I get a great UHD picture (SDR/BT2020 conversion) but the picture will stutter after about 5 - 10 minutes. It clear sometimes. Mostly, I stop and restart the show. The picture is great again for 5 - 10 minutes. I do not have the problem on Netflix. I uploaded the firmware and it is the same issue. Tonight, I am going to remove the app and re-install to see if it fixes. If not, I am going to re-set the machine to factory settings, do the update, and then load the apps. Any other suggestions?

I love the UHD picture (SDR/BT2020 conversion) on my JVC projector. It is awesome! Just want a good streaming now. Thanks
rrebello is offline  
post #3118 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 10:12 AM
Member
 
TorinoCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
Well it’s just extremely confusing because it was working perfectly for about a month. Ah. Thanks very much for responding! I don’t have any atmos switch on or off for the receiver. I’m hoping so much it isn’t the AVR. /: I truly appreciate you responding with your hint! Trying to decide if resetting the player could fix it. If it’s a good possibility that the FW messed up the player or something or if it’s a risk and not likely at all to be fixed with resetting. I’d love to eliminate the player as a problem before my AVR for sure though.
Do you have another source that provides an ATMOS stream to test the AVR. I lost all ATMOS audio from my LG C7 to my Onkyo RZ810 a couple weeks ago, and pulled my hair out trying to fix it, even resetting the 820 to defaults.

I had just applied FW updates to ALL of my gear when I installed the 820, and that's when my problems started. I was convinced it was the TV, but I checked for FW updates AGAIN a few days ago, and another updated was applied (or completed... it started at 71%) for my Onkyo, and my ATMOS was working again from the LG.
TorinoCobra is offline  
post #3119 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorinoCobra View Post
Do you have another source that provides an ATMOS stream to test the AVR. I lost all ATMOS audio from my LG C7 to my Onkyo RZ810 a couple weeks ago, and pulled my hair out trying to fix it, even resetting the 820 to defaults.

I had just applied FW updates to ALL of my gear when I installed the 820, and that's when my problems started. I was convinced it was the TV, but I checked for FW updates AGAIN a few days ago, and another updated was applied (or completed... it started at 71%) for my Onkyo, and my ATMOS was working again from the LG.
Thank you SO very much for responding. Ah wow that would be a nightmare with all new firmware updates not knowing where to turn even moreso than my hair pulling situation! I am so happy for you that it was resolved semi quickly. As of right now... knock on wood.... resetting to factory preset fixed me now having Atmos/DTSX back again!!!! The FW update was wonky and obviously hopefully is as simple as what I just did fixing it...

On a side note.. do you have any idea if this Blu Ray player decodes the Atmos/DTSX lossless and then sends it to an Atmos capable receiver to output or if it makes the receiver decode it?
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #3120 of 5977 Old 02-06-2019, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woods Cross, Utah
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeganElisabeth View Post
On a side note.. do you have any idea if this Blu Ray player decodes the Atmos/DTSX lossless and then sends it to an Atmos capable receiver to output or if it makes the receiver decode it?
No blu-ray player ever decodes Atmos. If it is set to decode, it will decode the TrueHD stream and discard the Atmos metadata. Atmos processing must be done in the AVR.

System
Transducers: Revel Concerta2 F36 (3), M16 (4); Tannoy AMS 6DC (4); Rythmik F18 (2)
Front end: NAD T758 v3; Outlaw Model 7125
Sources: Panasonic UB820; Oppo BDP-103; Toshiba HD-A2
Projection: JVC DLA-RS440; Seymour CenterStage UF retractable 110" 2.35:1

bkeeler10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4k blu-ray player , blu-ray player , blu-ray settings , panasonic ub820

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off