Official Panasonic DP-UB820/824 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 144 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5041Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4291 of 5996 Old 05-02-2019, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ac388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Noted with thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
It is essentially the same. Configure the UB820 the same way as the guide then simply set your projector to Gamma 2.4 & BT2020 Color Profile.

Man see things as they are n say why. I dream of things that never were, n say why not ....... A Perfect PROJECTOR
ac388 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4292 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
It is essentially the same. Configure the UB820 the same way as the guide then simply set your projector to Gamma 2.4 & BT2020 Color Profile.


How about for the new 4K JVCs?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dandlj is online now  
post #4293 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 05:58 AM
Member
 
avtoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Toronto. Canada
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac388 View Post
Noted with thanks
As noted earlier in the thread, Epson projectors' gamma setting does not follow the industry convention, which is why I expect a number of Epson users keep asking UB820 set-up questions. One suggestion was to use the "Cinema" setting as both this and "Digital Cinema" invoke the filter that yields REC/2020, but in using either of these, there is still the means to tweak the gamma setting. Another suggestion is to have the player output HDR/2020 and use the Harpervision settings. I've played with having the player output either SDR/ or HDR/2020 and get varying results. I think it comes down to having to experiment to find what works best for your set-up and being prepared to use different sets of settings according to what's being played. There does not appear to be a good Epson-based recipe for the UB820, but am certainly willing to try additionalrecommendations if others have found the secret sauce.

Elunevision 4K 112" Audioweave motorized screen, Epson Pro Cinema 4040 projector, Emotiva XPA-5 amplifier, Denon AVR X4400h receiver, XTZ M6 LCR, XTZ S5 surround, XTZ 1X12 and Definitive Technology Powerfield subwoofers, RSL C34E Atmos speakers, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820
avtoronto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4294 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,949
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4884 Post(s)
Liked: 1847
Quote:
Originally Posted by avtoronto View Post
As noted earlier in the thread, Epson projectors' gamma setting does not follow the industry convention, which is why I expect a number of Epson users keep asking UB820 set-up questions.
Although Epson projectors use a “relative” scale such as +1, +2 etc. for some Picture Modes, you can also set them according to “industry convention” such as 2.2 or 2.4. Attached is a picture from an EH-TW9100, but I believe the newer models are the same.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	27396CC4-4A33-477D-965C-A525C2360D7B.png
Views:	193
Size:	166.4 KB
ID:	2561906  
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4295 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
mattztt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexgen76 View Post
Because I'm sure UB820 is the highest selling unit. So why put that feature on a high priced unit that really not going to do the same numbers as the step below model. Use that as a selling point to move even more units on the model that not priced astronomical.
Because the UB820 sells very well without and it provides motivation for people to buy the more profitable UB9000? It's part of what convinced me to go purchase a UB9000. That said, I hope they eventually bring it to the UB820 as well. I can just understand from a business perspective why they may choose not to.
smitty and rockhound76s like this.
mattztt is offline  
post #4296 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 6,420
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1327 Post(s)
Liked: 1718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Although Epson projectors use a “relative” scale such as +1, +2 etc. for some Picture Modes, you can also set them according to “industry convention” such as 2.2 or 2.4. Attached is a picture from an EH-TW9100, but I believe the newer models are the same.

Nope, it's not that simple or owners of newer Epsons wouldn't be asking about gamma setting.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190503_124829624.jpg
Views:	193
Size:	41.3 KB
ID:	2561946  

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #4297 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,949
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4884 Post(s)
Liked: 1847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
Nope, it's not that simple or owners of newer Epsons wouldn't be asking about gamma setting.
I had the 5040UB for a month, but not any longer. I don't think it was all that different. IIRC, some modes display +1, +2 etc, others 2.2, 2.4.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 05-03-2019 at 11:09 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4298 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 6,420
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1327 Post(s)
Liked: 1718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
I had the 5030UB for a month, but not any longer. I don't think it was all that different. IIRC, some modes display +1, +2 etc, others 2.2, 2.4.
Then something changed from the 5040UB/HC4000 models going forward.
avtoronto likes this.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #4299 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,949
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4884 Post(s)
Liked: 1847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
Then something changed from the 5040UB/HC4000 models going forward.
Correction - mine was a 5030UB 5040UB. The gamma scale changes with the Picture Mode.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 05-03-2019 at 11:16 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4300 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Is anyone following this thread also an owner (USA) of the Yamaha RX-1070/2070/2080 or 1080/2080/3080 AVR?
docrog is offline  
post #4301 of 5996 Old 05-03-2019, 08:45 PM
Member
 
jmeitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Eureka, MO
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Is anyone following this thread also an owner (USA) of the Yamaha RX-1070/2070/2080 or 1080/2080/3080 AVR?
Yes, 3070 with jvc NX5
jmeitz is offline  
post #4302 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 01:15 AM
Member
 
bathes2051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Ethernet port limited to 100Mbps

I hooked up my new UB820 to a gigabit switch, and the LEDs reported only a 100mbps connection (100BASE-TX), not 1000BASE-T.
I tried another cable lying around, same thing.
I checked the manual, and sure enough it says:
Quote:
LAN (Ethernet) Port
1pc.
10 BASE-T/100BASE-TX
Whereas the UB9000 manual says:
Quote:
LAN (Ethernet) Port
1pc.
10 BASE-T/100BASE-TX/1000BASE-T
You can also see it printed on the chassis.

Looks like Panasonic is really nickel-and-diming the UB820.
100Mbps should be enough for 4K streaming, but I wonder if this might still affect performance compared to a gigabit connection.

Last edited by bathes2051; 05-04-2019 at 01:26 AM.
bathes2051 is offline  
post #4303 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 03:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
Yes, 3070 with jvc NX5
Thanks for responding. Do you also subscribe to Netflix (with UHD)?
docrog is offline  
post #4304 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,985
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by bathes2051 View Post
I hooked up my new UB820 to a gigabit switch, and the LEDs reported only a 100mbps connection (100BASE-TX), not 1000BASE-T.
I tried another cable lying around, same thing.
I checked the manual, and sure enough it says:

Whereas the UB9000 manual says:

You can also see it printed on the chassis.

Looks like Panasonic is really nickel-and-diming the UB820.
100Mbps should be enough for 4K streaming, but I wonder if this might still affect performance compared to a gigabit connection.
It’s quite possible wireless may give you a faster connection depending on your router and service. Worth checking it out.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #4305 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 06:46 AM
Member
 
jmeitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Eureka, MO
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Thanks for responding. Do you also subscribe to Netflix (with UHD)?
Yes. I run it through Apple 4k
jmeitz is offline  
post #4306 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 07:31 AM
Member
 
avtoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Toronto. Canada
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Correction - mine was a 5030UB 5040UB. The gamma scale changes with the Picture Mode.
No it does not. It displays a range from -2 to +2 for all picture modes.
Mr.G likes this.

Elunevision 4K 112" Audioweave motorized screen, Epson Pro Cinema 4040 projector, Emotiva XPA-5 amplifier, Denon AVR X4400h receiver, XTZ M6 LCR, XTZ S5 surround, XTZ 1X12 and Definitive Technology Powerfield subwoofers, RSL C34E Atmos speakers, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820
avtoronto is offline  
post #4307 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,208
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2043 Post(s)
Liked: 1915
Quote:
Originally Posted by bathes2051 View Post
I hooked up my new UB820 to a gigabit switch, and the LEDs reported only a 100mbps connection (100BASE-TX), not 1000BASE-T.
I tried another cable lying around, same thing.
I checked the manual, and sure enough it says:

Whereas the UB9000 manual says:

You can also see it printed on the chassis.

Looks like Panasonic is really nickel-and-diming the UB820.
100Mbps should be enough for 4K streaming, but I wonder if this might still affect performance compared to a gigabit connection.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
It’s quite possible wireless may give you a faster connection depending on your router and service. Worth checking it out.
Unfortunately it's fairly common for devices/TVs to have 100 Mbps ethernet ports. It won't affect your 4K streaming performance but it would be nice to have a gigabit port like on the Apple TV.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #4308 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy2416 View Post
Other then initially setting up the player who actually uses the remote? Don't most people have universal remotes like a Logitech Harmony?
Yeah thats exactly what i was thinking...
monkaquinas likes this.

Video: Dedicated Light Controlled Room | JVC NX5 | 100" AT Silver Ticket 1.1 gain Screen
Audio: Sound Controlled Room | Denon X4500h running 5.1.4 | LR/Atmos - Pioneer SP-EFS73, Center - Pioneer SP-EC73, Rear/Atmos - Pioneer SP-EBS73-LR, Sub - SVS PC-2000
Sources: Nvidia Shield | Panasonic UB-820 | Gaming PC
smhunter1983 is offline  
post #4309 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
Yes. I run it through Apple 4k
Please do me a huge favor: access Netflix through the UB820 app. Then play any UHD material which should be in Dolby Atmos (Birdbox, The Highwaymen, Luke Cage, etc.). Please tell me if your AVR is showing Atmos or DD 5.1. Thanks!!!

Last edited by docrog; 05-04-2019 at 10:37 AM.
docrog is offline  
post #4310 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 10:54 AM
Member
 
jmeitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Eureka, MO
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
Yes. I run it through Apple 4k
Please do me a huge favor: access Netflix through the UB820 app. Then play any UHD material which should be in Dolby Atmos (Birdbox, The Highwaymen, Luke Cage, etc.). Please tell me if your AVR is showing Atmos or DD 5.1. Thanks!!!
So on Apple 4k shows Dolby vision/atmos for birdbox. Through 820 says hdr/5.1.

Yamaha Aventage 3070 * Emotiva xpa5
Polk LSIM 707, 706, 703, 702, Rci85 and 65
Stereo Integrity HT18 (2) * Inuke 6000dsp
Panasonic UB820 * JVC NX5 * Silver Ticket 120” thin bezel
jmeitz is offline  
post #4311 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
So on Apple 4k shows Dolby vision/atmos for birdbox. Through 820 says hdr/5.1.
Thanks for checking that for me. That's consistent with another poster who only got DD 5.1 with the same AVR as yours. There are 2 individuals in the U.K. who claim that the RX-A3080 get it in Atmos (like the Denon AVRs), but the RX-A1080 (same generation) that my friend has only gets DD 5.1 in his AVR. I'm hoping that a USA owner of an RX-A3080 will be able to provide some information, since there's no reason to upgrade from my RX-A3050 if the RX-A3080 doesn't get Atmos from the UB820. Much appreciated!
docrog is offline  
post #4312 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 11:28 AM
Member
 
jmeitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Eureka, MO
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
So on Apple 4k shows Dolby vision/atmos for birdbox. Through 820 says hdr/5.1.
Thanks for checking that for me. That's consistent with another poster who only got DD 5.1 with the same AVR as yours. There are 2 individuals in the U.K. who claim that the RX-A3080 get it in Atmos (like the Denon AVRs), but the RX-A1080 (same generation) that my friend has only gets DD 5.1 in his AVR. I'm hoping that a USA owner of an RX-A3080 will be able to provide some information, since there's no reason to upgrade from my RX-A3050 if the RX-A3080 doesn't get Atmos from the UB820. Much appreciated!
I don’t think is a receiver issue. The movie says 5.1 on it vs atmos like the Apple TV. Not sure how a receiver would take 5.1 and make it an atmos signal.

Yamaha Aventage 3070 * Emotiva xpa5
Polk LSIM 707, 706, 703, 702, Rci85 and 65
Stereo Integrity HT18 (2) * Inuke 6000dsp
Panasonic UB820 * JVC NX5 * Silver Ticket 120” thin bezel
jmeitz is offline  
post #4313 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
I don’t think is a receiver issue. The movie says 5.1 on it vs atmos like the Apple TV. Not sure how a receiver would take 5.1 and make it an atmos signal.
No, it's definitely related to whether or not the AVR is able to decode the "packet" in which the UB820 sends Atmos. I can absolutely & positively verify that several generations of Denon AVRs receive Atmos from the UB820s Netflix app. I'm desperately seeking any USA owner of the RX-A3080 and UB820 to determine whether or not the USA Yamahas perform like the 3080 in the U.K.
docrog is offline  
post #4314 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 12:06 PM
Member
 
jmeitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Eureka, MO
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
I don’t think is a receiver issue. The movie says 5.1 on it vs atmos like the Apple TV. Not sure how a receiver would take 5.1 and make it an atmos signal.
No, it's definitely related to whether or not the AVR is able to decode the "packet" in which the UB820 sends Atmos. I can absolutely & positively verify that several generations of Denon AVRs receive Atmos from the UB820s Netflix app. I'm desperately seeking any USA owner of the RX-A3080 and UB820 to determine whether or not the USA Yamahas perform like the 3080 in the U.K.
If the movie shows 5.1 next to the title that’s all you are going to get. It doesn’t matter what the receiver is. It’s possible in the UK it might be atmos for the surround format. I think it’s more of a Netflix app issue than anything. The N app might only display 5.1 on the US Panasonic’s. 5.1 output is 5.1 no matter what the receiver is.

Yamaha Aventage 3070 * Emotiva xpa5
Polk LSIM 707, 706, 703, 702, Rci85 and 65
Stereo Integrity HT18 (2) * Inuke 6000dsp
Panasonic UB820 * JVC NX5 * Silver Ticket 120” thin bezel
jmeitz is offline  
post #4315 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
If the movie shows 5.1 next to the title that’s all you are going to get. It doesn’t matter what the receiver is. It’s possible in the UK it might be atmos for the surround format. I think it’s more of a Netflix app issue than anything. The N app might only display 5.1 on the US Panasonic’s. 5.1 output is 5.1 no matter what the receiver is.
Sorry, but several generations of Denon AVRs in the USA show UB820 Netflix on screen as Atmos and the AVR shows Atmos, as well. I don't know why you're questioning a proven fact? I've seen it with my own eyes. It's true that AVRs which are unable to "unpack" Atmos from the UB820 Netflix app will only show 5.1 on the screen and AVR. This is the problem with Yamaha AVRs, at least through the x070 series and 1080 (as well). I own an RX-A3050 and would like to stay with Yamaha, rather than moving over to Denon after owning several generations of Yamaha AVRs.
docrog is offline  
post #4316 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1593 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeitz View Post
If the movie shows 5.1 next to the title that’s all you are going to get. It doesn’t matter what the receiver is. It’s possible in the UK it might be atmos for the surround format. I think it’s more of a Netflix app issue than anything. The N app might only display 5.1 on the US Panasonic’s. 5.1 output is 5.1 no matter what the receiver is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Sorry, but several generations of Denon AVRs in the USA show UB820 Netflix on screen as Atmos and the AVR shows Atmos, as well. I don't know why you're questioning a proven fact? I've seen it with my own eyes. It's true that AVRs which are unable to "unpack" Atmos from the UB820 Netflix app will only show 5.1 on the screen and AVR. This is the problem with Yamaha AVRs, at least through the x070 series and 1080 (as well). I own an RX-A3050 and would like to stay with Yamaha, rather than moving over to Denon after owning several generations of Yamaha AVRs.
jmeitz - this is an odd, unexpected situation, but I can confirm what docrog is reporting.

I have the Marantz SR7010 and the UB-820. Using the Amazon App on the UB-820, the on-screen description shows 5.1, and my AVR reports 5.1 only, even for the Jack Ryan title which does have Atmos.

Using the Netflix App on the UB-820, for appropriate titles, the on-screen description shows Atmos, and my AVR reports Atmos as well.

But here is the odd thing: when I accessed Amazon on my Roku Premiere+ (also plugged into the Marantz AVR), for Jack Ryan, even though the on-screen description showed the same 5.1 as it did in the UB-820's Amazon App, my AVR actually showed it to be receiving Atmos.

So this is obviously a multi-faceted issue, and what should seem obvious often isn't.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #4317 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Is Dolby Vision only downloadable through the internet with this player? I dont have a connection to the internet except through my PS4. Can i use that connection one time just to download the Dolby Vision software? Sorry i am a newbie and dont know a whole lot about this...
sound2017 is offline  
post #4318 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,208
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2043 Post(s)
Liked: 1915
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
jmeitz - this is an odd, unexpected situation, but I can confirm what docrog is reporting.

I have the Marantz SR7010 and the UB-820. Using the Amazon App on the UB-820, the on-screen description shows 5.1, and my AVR reports 5.1 only, even for the Jack Ryan title which does have Atmos.

Using the Netflix App on the UB-820, for appropriate titles, the on-screen description shows Atmos, and my AVR reports Atmos as well.

But here is the odd thing: when I accessed Amazon on my Roku Premiere+ (also plugged into the Marantz AVR), for Jack Ryan, even though the on-screen description showed the same 5.1 as it did in the UB-820's Amazon App, my AVR actually showed it to be receiving Atmos.

So this is obviously a multi-faceted issue, and what should seem obvious often isn't.
Netflix ATMOS is only available on certain devices, and the Panny UB820 isn't one of them. So it's surprising to hear owners report that they are receiving it (but only with certain AVRs)
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/64066
DLCPhoto likes this.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #4319 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Netflix ATMOS is only available on certain devices, and the Panny UB820 isn't one of them. So it's surprising to hear owners report that they are receiving it (but only with certain AVRs)https://help.netflix.com/en/node/64066
The Panasonic 820/9000 definitely is one of those devices, it's just not listed.............
docrog is offline  
post #4320 of 5996 Old 05-04-2019, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Netflix ATMOS is only available on certain devices, and the Panny UB820 isn't one of them. So it's surprising to hear owners report that they are receiving it (but only with certain AVRs)
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/64066
Netflix atmos sure is available on the 820. Must have Netflix premium.
bigzee3 likes this.
william06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4k blu-ray player , blu-ray player , blu-ray settings , panasonic ub820

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off