Official Panasonic DP-UB820/824 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4891Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 5478 Old 05-04-2019, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1079 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Netflix atmos sure is available on the 820. Must have Netflix premium.
And the right AVR!
docrog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 5478 Old 05-04-2019, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,193
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
And the right AVR!
Of course the avr or Soundbars must be atmos capable

Last edited by william06; 05-04-2019 at 11:21 PM.
william06 is online now  
post #4323 of 5478 Old 05-04-2019, 09:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1079 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Of course the ave or Soundbars must be atmos capable
Not all AVRs which are Atmos capable will play Netflix Atmos from the UB820 app. So far only recent generations of Denon/Marantz AVRs have shown this ability. The Yamaha AVRs, at least through the 70 series (2017-18), were not able to decode Atmos from the UB820. I'm not able to comment on Sony, Onkyo, etc. since I haven't been following those threads.
docrog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4324 of 5478 Old 05-04-2019, 11:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,193
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Not all AVRs which are Atmos capable will play Netflix Atmos from the UB820 app. So far only recent generations of Denon/Marantz AVRs have shown this ability. The Yamaha AVRs, at least through the 70 series (2017-18), were not able to decode Atmos from the UB820. I'm not able to comment on Sony, Onkyo, etc. since I haven't been following those threads.
That’s strange seems like more of an avr issue than the820

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba X1 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #4325 of 5478 Old 05-05-2019, 12:55 AM
Member
 
scrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Netflix ATMOS is only available on certain devices, and the Panny UB820 isn't one of them. So it's surprising to hear owners report that they are receiving it (but only with certain AVRs)https://help.netflix.com/en/node/64066
The Panasonic 820/9000 definitely is one of those devices, it's just not listed.............
Because Netflix are so secretive and don't make themselves contactable, and Panasonic couldn't care less it is entirely possible that the Panny implementation using whatever SDK Netflix provide for writing apps to vendors, has not been officially certified by Netflix, presumably because it involves licensing of some kind, the lack of 24Hz support, which is also clearly possible to implement is odd, and I have seen comment is also a licensing issue. Have also seen people say it is Netflix themselves that write apps for vendors, but not sure about that.
scrowe is offline  
post #4326 of 5478 Old 05-05-2019, 01:43 AM
Member
 
deepsneaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany, Munich area
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
There also an additional issue with Netflix: Dolby Atmos is very often only available with original English sound track. Make sure the original English language track is selected.

I can confirm, that Atmos works (with the right UHD Netflix subscription) with my Marantz SR 7011. I couldn’t get any Atmos from the Prime Video app from the Panny - but that’s also an issue with the Apple TV 4k.


Sent from iPhone via Tapatalk
deepsneaker is offline  
post #4327 of 5478 Old 05-05-2019, 03:10 AM
Senior Member
 
denisoftus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Once again I need community help. Out of nowhere an issue appeared, well, after upgrading firmware (damn), actually. But now after I power on the player and disc start reading and then playing (1-20sec) the player display "please wait..." and shuts down. That never happened before firmware upgrade.

Anyone experienced this? I tried restore to factory settings to no avail. As far as I recall the firmware was updated from 1.25 to 1.27. Its 820 I have.

Update: firmware 1.55 (according to player)
Netflix works just fine, issue only when I play UHD (didn't try normal) disc

Update #2 : It only doing it to a particular disc: UHD Valerian and the city of a thousand planets, but its surface is spotless, disk is a new.

Could it be not enough power, I'm using 50W 220->110V adapter. It was working fine with disc before, watched it a few times already.

LG OLED 55C6, F9000 + SEK-3500XC (EU), Sony VPL-HW65ES, 7.1, Screen: Black Widow Dulux DS1

Last edited by denisoftus; 05-05-2019 at 03:57 AM.
denisoftus is offline  
post #4328 of 5478 Old 05-05-2019, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 2,949
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1872 Post(s)
Liked: 1538
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrowe View Post
Because Netflix are so secretive and don't make themselves contactable, and Panasonic couldn't care less it is entirely possible that the Panny implementation using whatever SDK Netflix provide for writing apps to vendors, has not been officially certified by Netflix, presumably because it involves licensing of some kind, the lack of 24Hz support, which is also clearly possible to implement is odd, and I have seen comment is also a licensing issue. Have also seen people say it is Netflix themselves that write apps for vendors, but not sure about that.
Doubt that it's a licensing issue since the 2019 Panasonic TVs are listed on the supported devices list. Also that would suggest that one of the parties is operating without a license.....seriously doubtful.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #4329 of 5478 Old 05-06-2019, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
If you want to learn about EOTF (Electro-Optical Transfer Function) I suggest you start with Google.

I wasn't trying to describe how EOTF is used in my post, I was only describing how the UB820 includes HDR metadata with an EOTF value even when outputting SDR BT2020. In this case EOTF1. The EOTF indicator is one of many fields in the HDR metadata.

It only does this in SDR/BT2020 mode if:

- UB820 is in SDR/BT2020 mode with the Optimizer turned ON.
- UB820 is connected to a HDR capable display device.

Otherwise, the SDR/BT2020 output does not contain HDR metadata so no EOTF value.

I expect that most displays will ignore the the EOTF1 indicator in the HDR metadata as they are looking for EOTF2 (PQ HDR) or EOTF3 (HLG) values. My JVC projector reports that it is receiving HDR but does not perform any other HDR related functions since it only does so when it receives an EOTF2 value in the content metadata (PQ HDR).

Thanks for the kind reply Claw.

1. What transfer curve does JVC use by default to display the SDR/BT2020 content with the optimizer turned on? BT1886?
2. Does it use the same if the optimizer is off? Does the picture look the same?
3. Did the HDfury detect these EOTF flags if a non panasonic player is used?
4. The other questions?

Many thanks and best regards,
qoopy is online now  
post #4330 of 5478 Old 05-06-2019, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucama View Post
Is the second attached thumbnail referred to 824 model or 900 model ?
thnaks

Neither. It's the 820.
qoopy is online now  
post #4331 of 5478 Old 05-06-2019, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I am on the verge of purchasing the Panny 820. I use a Harmony Elite. Just checking if any owners of the Elite and 820 have experienced issues in general?
Bkoo22 is offline  
post #4332 of 5478 Old 05-06-2019, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
RodChester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkoo22 View Post
I am on the verge of purchasing the Panny 820. I use a Harmony Elite. Just checking if any owners of the Elite and 820 have experienced issues in general?
No issues for me.
RodChester is offline  
post #4333 of 5478 Old 05-06-2019, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkoo22 View Post
I am on the verge of purchasing the Panny 820. I use a Harmony Elite. Just checking if any owners of the Elite and 820 have experienced issues in general?


Do you recommend the Elite?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dandlj is offline  
post #4334 of 5478 Old 05-06-2019, 07:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 1,400
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Is anyone following this thread also an owner (USA) of the Yamaha RX-1070/2070/2080 or 1080/2080/3080 AVR?
I have the Yammy 5100 Pre. Should be close enough.

1) JVC RS540, Yamaha CX-A5100, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7140, Wharfedale Jade 7's series speakers, RSL C34e(Atmos)
2) LG OLED65B6, Integra DRC-R1, Emotiva XPA9, Klipsch RP8000F, Klipsch RP404C, Klipsch RP500SA, Klipsch RP140D
Carbo is offline  
post #4335 of 5478 Old 05-06-2019, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Works great with my harmony companion as well.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
oedeooo is offline  
post #4336 of 5478 Old 05-06-2019, 11:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,886
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2271 Post(s)
Liked: 2106
Quote:
Originally Posted by qoopy View Post
Thanks for the kind reply Claw.

1. What transfer curve does JVC use by default to display the SDR/BT2020 content with the optimizer turned on? BT1886?
2. Does it use the same if the optimizer is off? Does the picture look the same?
3. Did the HDfury detect these EOTF flags if a non panasonic player is used?
4. The other questions?

Many thanks and best regards,
1. What transfer curve does JVC use by default to display the SDR/BT2020 content with the optimizer turned on? BT1886?

- Unless this has changed with the newest JVC projectors, they do not have a default gamma for SDR/BT2020. Gamma should be set to 2.4 for SDR/BT2020 from the UB820.

2. Does it use the same if the optimizer is off? Does the picture look the same?

- SDR/BT2020 with the Optimizer turned OFF still requires a 2.4 Gamma.
- Picture result depends on the HDR source metadata. Optimizer uses the metadata to tone map. With the Optimizer turned off the UB820 assumes the content is 1000 nits.

3. Did the HDfury detect these EOTF flags if a non panasonic player is used?

Yes, the HDfury detects the EOTF indicator in the input HDR metadata. EOTF value 2 for HDR10. EOTF value 3 for HLG. The EOTF indicator is a field in the HDR metadata string encoded in the source disc or stream. All players will pass along the indicator in the metadata when playing an HDR10 or HLG source. It is not something they inject. Except in the case of the UB820's unique format for SDR/BT2020 where it is including HDR metadata with EOTF set to 1.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 05-07-2019 at 06:52 AM.
claw is offline  
post #4337 of 5478 Old 05-07-2019, 07:22 AM
Member
 
chasiliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My urge to write a new complimentary note for this player was been building for a week or two.

My memory of the plague of low light HDR shows is fading. (Not fast enough because there is no Vudu app for the Panasonic 820)

I watched Interstellar two days ago with my kids. This disc is true 4k and I had to make it less bright by a step or two. Amazing images! (Had to pretend not to have a tear or two. My cold hearted children laughed at me.)

Saturday, I re-started season three of Man in the High Castle, which I had watched a few episodes of previously. The new HDR brightness is fantastic. The occasional streaming stutter is there, annoying but acceptable. I previously would temporarily disable HDR with my Roku so I wouldn't have the dim picture or I would dig around on Amazon to find non-UHD versions to stream.

I still would love/be thrilled if Panasonic included a Vudu app. They have far more UHD HDR movies than Amazon. Plus Vudu includes Atmos sound on most movies.

I get Atmos on my Netflix app but have not seen Atmos on my Amazon app. (I tried Jack Ryan for this.) My Fire stick does get Atmos and I believe my Roku Ultra does as well. Streaming through my Marantz receiver to JVC RS500.

As a side note: I tested my Roku Ultra versus my Fire TV stick versus the Panasonic for streaming HBO's Game of Thrones Season 8 episode 3. I wanted to get the clearest dark scene reproduction. The Panasonic with 4:4:4 chroma enabled had black scenes as blocky as the Fire stick and Roku Ultra. When I switched to 4:2:2 chroma on the Roku Ultra under the special video settings, the blockiness in black scenes went away and the picture improved dramatically in dark scenes. Dramatically. (I do have a projector known for its black reproduction, calibrated by ChadB, but it was pretty rough to watch the dark scenes until I switched to 4:2:2 chroma.)
chasiliff is offline  
post #4338 of 5478 Old 05-07-2019, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandlj View Post
Do you recommend the Elite?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I love the elite. You could always downgrade to pay less and just find something suitable for your set up but I wanted the best with most options in case I really expand my entire HTS. Some complain about the battery life but honestly its fine. At the end of the day instead of just putting down the remote on your table just put it in the charging hub. Set up is easy even for me who knows nothing about all this stuff.
Bkoo22 is offline  
post #4339 of 5478 Old 05-07-2019, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkoo22 View Post
I am on the verge of purchasing the Panny 820. I use a Harmony Elite. Just checking if any owners of the Elite and 820 have experienced issues in general?
Only one minor issue - you need to reprogram / learn the Subtitle function.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandlj View Post
Do you recommend the Elite?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I would. A lot of work setting up activities with buttons mapped (you should be able to default a button use for all activities, or even copy activities), and then getting to learn them (and no easy way to do it - like say printing out button mappings), but so much simpler in the long run. I can use it more or less blind just with the physical buttons mostly.
Dandlj likes this.
MOberhardt is online now  
post #4340 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 06:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PITTSBURGH
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 726 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Have there been any 4K releases identified that "freeze". I now have two, Leon and more recently Black Hawk Down, and I'm simply at a loss as to how to troubleshoot. Both Sony. Both have theatrical and extended. Both freeze at same parts throughout every time on either cut.


I can't be certain that there isn't a flaw of some kind with the data side of the discs, but aside from that is there anything I should be aware of?


I'm using the dual HDMI outputs to send audio only to my prepro and video only to my projection display.


Much appreciate any advice!

HT: Panasonic DP-UB820 | JVC RS600 | 106" x 45" Stewart ST 100 | Cary Audio Cinema 12 | NAD M27 | Elac Uni-Fi UF5, UC5, Debut F5/B6; Focal CMS Sub
STEREO: [Shunyata Denali] Playback Designs MPS-5 (fully upgraded) | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 ES | Focal Diablo Utopia III DEN: 60" Panasonic VT60
jh901 is offline  
post #4341 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,108
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh901 View Post
Have there been any 4K releases identified that "freeze". I now have two, Leon and more recently Black Hawk Down, and I'm simply at a loss as to how to troubleshoot. Both Sony. Both have theatrical and extended. Both freeze at same parts throughout every time on either cut.
I don’t recall Leon having an issue (played on a previous player). I watched Black Hawk Down yesterday and it didn’t skip for me. The only thing I noticed was around 1 hour and 8 minutes, when the guy picks up the arm, the video seemed to freeze for about a half second but audio keeps going. I had a second 4K disc opened (had a scratch) so I tried that 4K disc and it too did the same thing at that exact same point on both cuts so I assumed it was part of the mastering. Where did yours have issues?
Dreamliner is online now  
post #4342 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 09:45 AM
Member
 
monkaquinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh901 View Post
Have there been any 4K releases identified that "freeze". I now have two, Leon and more recently Black Hawk Down, and I'm simply at a loss as to how to troubleshoot. Both Sony. Both have theatrical and extended. Both freeze at same parts throughout every time on either cut.


I can't be certain that there isn't a flaw of some kind with the data side of the discs, but aside from that is there anything I should be aware of?


I'm using the dual HDMI outputs to send audio only to my prepro and video only to my projection display.


Much appreciate any advice!
I just watched Leon 4k Extended and had no issues during playback. I have not purchased BHD 4k yet, but plan to and will see if it freezes up. Which version of BHD were you watching to duplicate?

Epson5040UB - DragonFly DFM Tab 92HC High Contrast (.9 gain) 16:9 Screen - Denon AVRS740H - Klipsch Quintet V +
Klipsch KHC-6 In-Ceiling (Atmos 5.2.2) with Polk PSW110 Sub & Monoprice Premium Select 8" Sub (via iFinity Wireless Audio) - Panasonic UB820 - PS3
monkaquinas is offline  
post #4343 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 09:48 AM
Member
 
monkaquinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepsneaker View Post
There also an additional issue with Netflix: Dolby Atmos is very often only available with original English sound track. Make sure the original English language track is selected.

I can confirm, that Atmos works (with the right UHD Netflix subscription) with my Marantz SR 7011. I couldn’t get any Atmos from the Prime Video app from the Panny - but that’s also an issue with the Apple TV 4k.


Sent from iPhone via Tapatalk
I finally got around to testing Netflix Atmos yesterday. I searched for Atmos and tried the F1 documentary. As soon as it started it was Atmos. I watched about 80% of Episode 1, sounded great.

Epson5040UB - DragonFly DFM Tab 92HC High Contrast (.9 gain) 16:9 Screen - Denon AVRS740H - Klipsch Quintet V +
Klipsch KHC-6 In-Ceiling (Atmos 5.2.2) with Polk PSW110 Sub & Monoprice Premium Select 8" Sub (via iFinity Wireless Audio) - Panasonic UB820 - PS3
monkaquinas is offline  
post #4344 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PITTSBURGH
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 726 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkaquinas View Post
I just watched Leon 4k Extended and had no issues during playback. I have not purchased BHD 4k yet, but plan to and will see if it freezes up. Which version of BHD were you watching to duplicate?

It's either my HDMI cable or something with the discs. I guess. I have about 140 UHDs. I've only ever had a problem with Sony Pictures (Leon and BHD multiple through out; BR2049 once near beginning).



On BHD, I was first watching the theatrical and it first freezes (both audio/video- 5 second pause, then resumes) when the chopper is flying over the beach. The two choppers pass each other and then it's right at the last piece of dialog before cutting to another seen. Tried the extended and the freeze is there as well. There numerous occasions after that but I gave up trying to watch.

HT: Panasonic DP-UB820 | JVC RS600 | 106" x 45" Stewart ST 100 | Cary Audio Cinema 12 | NAD M27 | Elac Uni-Fi UF5, UC5, Debut F5/B6; Focal CMS Sub
STEREO: [Shunyata Denali] Playback Designs MPS-5 (fully upgraded) | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 ES | Focal Diablo Utopia III DEN: 60" Panasonic VT60
jh901 is offline  
post #4345 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PITTSBURGH
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 726 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkaquinas View Post
I finally got around to testing Netflix Atmos yesterday. I searched for Atmos and tried the F1 documentary. As soon as it started it was Atmos. I watched about 80% of Episode 1, sounded great.

My Netflix is only playing 2 channel stereo for some reason. I don't have Atmos, but the normal stream (no 4K) is now 2.0.


Amazon Prime hasn't changed, so I don't know what the deal is.

HT: Panasonic DP-UB820 | JVC RS600 | 106" x 45" Stewart ST 100 | Cary Audio Cinema 12 | NAD M27 | Elac Uni-Fi UF5, UC5, Debut F5/B6; Focal CMS Sub
STEREO: [Shunyata Denali] Playback Designs MPS-5 (fully upgraded) | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 ES | Focal Diablo Utopia III DEN: 60" Panasonic VT60
jh901 is offline  
post #4346 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 10:32 AM
Member
 
monkaquinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh901 View Post
It's either my HDMI cable or something with the discs. I guess. I have about 140 UHDs. I've only ever had a problem with Sony Pictures (Leon and BHD multiple through out; BR2049 once near beginning).



On BHD, I was first watching the theatrical and it first freezes (both audio/video- 5 second pause, then resumes) when the chopper is flying over the beach. The two choppers pass each other and then it's right at the last piece of dialog before cutting to another seen. Tried the extended and the freeze is there as well. There numerous occasions after that but I gave up trying to watch.
I had a similar experience with the new Predator 2018 UHD. Several freezes, chapter skips, audio channel inversions, it was all over the place. I reached out to 20th Century Fox support and their advice was to update the FW, which it was, and to clear BD Data. I was skeptical, I have about 150 UHDs and none exhibited issues like this. I cleared the BD Data, under the 820 Settings, and voila...no issues. Might be worth a shot.
MOberhardt and jh901 like this.

Epson5040UB - DragonFly DFM Tab 92HC High Contrast (.9 gain) 16:9 Screen - Denon AVRS740H - Klipsch Quintet V +
Klipsch KHC-6 In-Ceiling (Atmos 5.2.2) with Polk PSW110 Sub & Monoprice Premium Select 8" Sub (via iFinity Wireless Audio) - Panasonic UB820 - PS3
monkaquinas is offline  
post #4347 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1079 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbo View Post
I have the Yammy 5100 Pre. Should be close enough.

I believe that the CX-A5100 is older than the RX-A3080. I'm looking to find out whether or not any USA owner of the RX-A3080 is capable of obtaining Dolby Atmos from the UB820's Netflix app (requires UHD/4K level subscription). A USA RX-A1080 that I tested only decodes DD 5.1, but 2 owners in the U.K. have attested to getting Atmos on their RX-A3080s, similar to several generations of Denon AVRs.
docrog is offline  
post #4348 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 12:24 PM
Member
 
McClane77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a Yamaha CX-A5100 combined with a UB9000, and my display shows Dolby Digital+ but no Atmos. So I'm apparently getting the higher bitstream, but somehow not the Atmos metadata.
McClane77 is offline  
post #4349 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
1. What transfer curve does JVC use by default to display the SDR/BT2020 content with the optimizer turned on? BT1886?

- Unless this has changed with the newest JVC projectors, they do not have a default gamma for SDR/BT2020. Gamma should be set to 2.4 for SDR/BT2020 from the UB820.

2. Does it use the same if the optimizer is off? Does the picture look the same?

- SDR/BT2020 with the Optimizer turned OFF still requires a 2.4 Gamma.
- Picture result depends on the HDR source metadata. Optimizer uses the metadata to tone map. With the Optimizer turned off the UB820 assumes the content is 1000 nits.

3. Did the HDfury detect these EOTF flags if a non panasonic player is used?

Yes, the HDfury detects the EOTF indicator in the input HDR metadata. EOTF value 2 for HDR10. EOTF value 3 for HLG. The EOTF indicator is a field in the HDR metadata string encoded in the source disc or stream. All players will pass along the indicator in the metadata when playing an HDR10 or HLG source. It is not something they inject. Except in the case of the UB820's unique format for SDR/BT2020 where it is including HDR metadata with EOTF set to 1.
Thanks for the kind reply, Claw.

1. As I understand, most modern display device implement automatic switching when handling different contents, using SMPTE2084 curve for PQ and BT1886 for SDR/709. Does the JVC do the same? If yes, which display mode is the JVC in if the output mode of ub820 is changed from HDR/2020 to SDR/2020 when playing a 4KUHD disc? Does it stay in PQ mode or switches to someething else?

2. If you then turn the HDR optimiser off, does the JVC stay in the same display mode?

3. I suspect EOTF1 could be the flag used for SDR/BT209 content. What does HDfury pick up when playing a standard 2k bly-ray disc?

Many thanks and best regards,
qoopy is online now  
post #4350 of 5478 Old 05-08-2019, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Geez, that is troubling on the BHD UHD. I'll try on my 9000 see if I get that problem as well.
rockhound76s likes this.
MOberhardt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off