Official Panasonic DP-UB820/824 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 153 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4823Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4561 of 5121 Old 05-28-2019, 04:50 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1241 Post(s)
Liked: 2051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandlj View Post
I have my 820 hooked up to a NX7 4K projector. When I watch a Blu Ray (non 4K UHD) what setting do I need to change in the 820 to upscale the image to 4K?

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
None. The 820 will always upscale unless you have it set to output 1080.

S~
Dandlj likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4562 of 5121 Old 05-28-2019, 06:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
None. The 820 will always upscale unless you have it set to output 1080.

S~

So, if the the display resolution is set to AUTO on the UB820, it will always output in 4K if attached to a 4K display? That is different than how my Sony X800 works, so I forced the setting on the Panny to 4K, assuming it worked the same way. Is there any downside to forcing the UB820 to 4K output, as I have it currently set? My display is a Vizio M70-D3 4K LED.
Scott M is offline  
post #4563 of 5121 Old 05-28-2019, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,704
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott M View Post
Is there any downside to forcing the UB820 to 4K output, as I have it currently set?
I think that's how I have mine set and I haven't noticed any issues. BTW, I think it's page 29 of the owner's manual that discusses the various options.
smitty is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4564 of 5121 Old 05-28-2019, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondi View Post
For different delay settings for the different sources thru the 820--You could use your AVR to set the delays and add a 2nd source name (ie 820 BD and 820 NF) but use the same rear HDMI connection for both. This has been mentioned on the Denon AVR forum here recently:
"Is there a good way to configure multiple audio delay "profiles"? The auto lip sync feature always detects the delay to be 90ms and I've had to change it depending on which input or type of content I'm watching.

For example:
  • 50ms for HDR 4K content: Nvidia Shield -> Denon X4500H -> Epson 5050ub
  • 15ms for SDR 4K content: Dell XPS 15 9560 -> USB-C (DP 1.2) to HDMI 2.0 adapter -> Denon X4500H -> Epson 5050ub
  • 350ms for SDR 1080P 3D (frame-packed) content: Dell XPS 15 9560 -> native HDMI 1.4 -> Denon X4500H -> Epson 5050ub

jdsmoothie sez: As noted on p. 184 Owner's Manual, the Audio Delay setting is stored for each input, so ensure a separate source name is used for each use case (ie. using an HDMI switch for the Dell)."

I see this was already mentioned--I should have done a page refresh before I posted--
Just wanted to follow-up on the Lip Sync issue, where Disc content is different from Streaming content like Netflix.

Disabling Auto Lip Sync on my Marantz AVR had no effect.

And as far as I can see at the moment, the Marantz will not allow the same Input connection in two different Sources. I can create a new source, and select the same HDMI input as the original, but that 'removes' it from the original, requiring a different choice. So I can't Assign the same HDMI input to more than one Source.

I suppose I could automate changing the Audio Delay in the Marantz using a Harmony Remote 'Macro' (as I've done for other functions), if I can't figure out a work-around for this.

And this is not a unique problem to me, as dan webster posted that he found the same.

Another issue that Panasonic really should fix, but I'm not holding my breath.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #4565 of 5121 Old 05-28-2019, 07:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
The Anthem AVRs have the ability to put an audio delay on each input you create. so for HDMI1 you can create several inputs, and switch. If you have a Harmony, you can setup activities for that so have say "Panasonic UHD" and "Panasonic Streaming". and assign different inputs
MOberhardt is offline  
post #4566 of 5121 Old 05-28-2019, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
rondi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
Just wanted to follow-up on the Lip Sync issue, where Disc content is different from Streaming content like Netflix.

Disabling Auto Lip Sync on my Marantz AVR had no effect.

And as far as I can see at the moment, the Marantz will not allow the same Input connection in two different Sources. I can create a new source, and select the same HDMI input as the original, but that 'removes' it from the original, requiring a different choice. So I can't Assign the same HDMI input to more than one Source.
yes you are correct about 1 input can not be used for 2 sources--I should have tested it before I posted. My Denon 6500 has the same limitation. I will ask on the Denon forum tho--just to make sure.
DLCPhoto likes this.

JVC RS600, 110"d StudioTek 130, Panny 820 4k Player, Denon AVR-X6500H, 5.2.4 DIY Sound Group speakers, Crown XLS 2502 Sub amp,
rondi is offline  
post #4567 of 5121 Old 05-29-2019, 04:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
The Anthem AVRs have the ability to put an audio delay on each input you create. so for HDMI1 you can create several inputs, and switch. If you have a Harmony, you can setup activities for that so have say "Panasonic UHD" and "Panasonic Streaming". and assign different inputs
I wondered if Anthem might have this capability. I have to admit, I am curious about what an Anthem AVR might do for me, with their new Genesis ARC, relative to the Audyssey XT32 I have now. Perhaps a bit down the road when I've finished some other matters.

I do have a Harmony, and already use the approach you speak of: I have one Activity for Regular Blu-ray, another for UHD Blu-ray, where I have it change my JVC to the appropriate Picture Mode. And as I said, I can create a Harmony macro to change the Audio Delay as part of a new "Netflix" Activity.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #4568 of 5121 Old 05-29-2019, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
I wondered if Anthem might have this capability. I have to admit, I am curious about what an Anthem AVR might do for me, with their new Genesis ARC, relative to the Audyssey XT32 I have now. Perhaps a bit down the road when I've finished some other matters.

I do have a Harmony, and already use the approach you speak of: I have one Activity for Regular Blu-ray, another for UHD Blu-ray, where I have it change my JVC to the appropriate Picture Mode. And as I said, I can create a Harmony macro to change the Audio Delay as part of a new "Netflix" Activity.
Genesis is definitely better. On arc I'd always need to increase overhead and rear levels. I don't with Genesis. The old one seemed to work on the basis of absolutes based on geometric positions. I kept thinking 8 should change arc to one measure only, where my head is. It didn't cater for cushion absorbtion. So it would not really adjust for where you sit. Genesis seems more seating relwated
DLCPhoto likes this.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #4569 of 5121 Old 05-29-2019, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,405
Mentioned: 392 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5505 Post(s)
Liked: 5324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
My projector has "HDR" and can handle BT2020 (Wide Color Gamut) signals...but 4K still looks better with the UB820 in SDR2020 mode and that is true for almost all projector owners.
Sure is, with the exception of the new JVC's where many users including myself are finding the best results via sending HDR from the 820 and allowing the JVC to apply its own auto tone mapping. Before, with the x40 models, you are absolutely right that everyone should have been throwing SDR2020 to the PJ's. Now, it's much more of a "What looks better to you" with the latest line and options available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asharma View Post
K, this is totally weird...resumed movie where I left off and it’s in Atmos...I must have resumed from home screen the other night at least 3 times and it was all PCM... Perhaps everything needed to be powered off...Not sure why...

Thanks to everyone for their help...
That was totally an Anthem thing and I think you found the solution, a quick power down session. I had this same thing happen on one occasion and a 10 minute power cycle for whatever reason did the trick as well. Don't remember the movie that it got tripped up on but I know for sure it wasn't CA:TWS.
asharma likes this.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #4570 of 5121 Old 05-29-2019, 04:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Before, with the x40 models, you are absolutely right that everyone should have been throwing SDR2020 to the PJ's.
I assume this is true for the RS5x0 generation as well.

Is there a generally agreed upon best practice about optimizing that 2020SDR?
nathan_h is offline  
post #4571 of 5121 Old 05-29-2019, 10:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
I assume this is true for the RS5x0 generation as well.

Is there a generally agreed upon best practice about optimizing that 2020SDR?
I made a UB820 & JVC Guide.
JonFo and nathan_h like this.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #4572 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 01:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
locutus2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
Has anyone figured out a fix to circumvent the players inability to stream DTS-HD (and/or any other high res sound formats) of content that I LEGALLY purchased over a network??
The only workaround i know is to set the player to output pcm decoded signal instead of bitstream. This way you should have audio even from a DTS-HD/TrueHD/Atmos file. I don't think this is an "issue" but a precise choice even if this makes no sense to me.
locutus2k is offline  
post #4573 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,405
Mentioned: 392 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5505 Post(s)
Liked: 5324
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
I assume this is true for the RS5x0 generation as well.

Is there a generally agreed upon best practice about optimizing that 2020SDR?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Yep, follow that guide above^^^

Not sure which 500 series you have but if it's the 500, you'll want to also upload the bt2020 color profile to use as it didn't come with the PJ initially. If you have the 520 or 540 you can skip that step as those already have it. I generally found that for my setup using the SDR2020 conversion in the 820, along with a tick or two up on the optimizer paired with my own custom HDR mode using bt2020 on the JVC always looked the best to me.
nathan_h likes this.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #4574 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 361
After several P.M. dialogues with helpful owners of both the UB820/9000 and Yamaha RX-A3080/CX-A5200 I purchased a Yamaha RX-A3080 with the anticipation that I would get Dolby Atmos from my UB820's Netflix app. I can report that, without any question, the UB820 DOES provide Netflix Atmos via this receiver/Pre-Pro combination. I can't comment on whether or not the RX-A1080/2080 is capable of this outcome, but all previous generations of Yamaha AVRs were incapable of "unpacking" the DD+ codec as Atmos from the UB820/9000. As I have repeatedly stated, this was solely a problem with the Yamaha AVR, not with Panasonic's current UHD player apps.
DLCPhoto likes this.

Last edited by docrog; 05-30-2019 at 08:46 AM.
docrog is offline  
post #4575 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Yep, follow that guide above^^^

Not sure which 500 series you have but if it's the 500, you'll want to also upload the bt2020 color profile to use as it didn't come with the PJ initially. If you have the 520 or 540 you can skip that step as those already have it. I generally found that for my setup using the SDR2020 conversion in the 820, along with a tick or two up on the optimizer paired with my own custom HDR mode using bt2020 on the JVC always looked the best to me.
Thanks gentlemen.

It is a rs500 but with all the updates and profiles including custom hdr curves by Chad.
nathan_h is offline  
post #4576 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Thanks gentlemen.

It is a rs500 but with all the updates and profiles including custom hdr curves by Chad.
You are in for a real treat. I look forward to the “I should have done this sooner” post.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #4577 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Hi guys question I just picked up my first AVR and putting together a traditional Atmos setup coming from a soundbar.
So that being said I’m obviously using the the audio out from my 820 to the soundbar.
I would like to do the same with AVR which is a Denon X4500H. I figure that would the best bet as far as the tone mapping feature and other PQ settings vs piping it through the receiver and possibly losing something through the pass through?
Anyone have an opinion on this? A suggestion? Also if use the HDMI audio out where am I connecting it to the receiver? I’m a newbie when it comes to these high end receivers!

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Samsung HW-K950 Dolby Atmos sound bar
bobbino421 is offline  
post #4578 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
spirithockey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post


Has anyone put together a guide for an 820 & Epson 5040 pj combo? I’m surprised there aren’t more posts for 5040 settings with the 820.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
spirithockey79 is offline  
post #4579 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirithockey79 View Post
Has anyone put together a guide for an 820 & Epson 5040 pj combo? I’m surprised there aren’t more posts for 5040 settings with the 820.
Not everyone is as fly ‘ol Dreamliner.

I like to create step-by-step guides because that’s what I want to find but almost never do so I create them whenever I can.

Truthfully, the settings for the UB820 are solid, you’ll just need to figure out how to get your projector into gamma 2.4 & BT2020 and you’ll be set. I think it’s been discussed somewhere in this thread once. The beauty of the UB820 is it does all the thinking so the display settings are simple.
ac388 likes this.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #4580 of 5121 Old 05-30-2019, 09:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is anyone using a UB820 with a HT3550? I'm considering buying one and I'm really interested in the difference between the 500 nit and 350 nit options between the UB9000 and UB820. I'm not sure if the UB9000 is worth the extra money for the 350 nit option.
Keltron is offline  
post #4581 of 5121 Old 05-31-2019, 04:50 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1241 Post(s)
Liked: 2051
OT Disc rental posts moved:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/150-b...l#post58121732

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #4582 of 5121 Old 05-31-2019, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 6,279
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1266 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirithockey79 View Post
Has anyone put together a guide for an 820 & Epson 5040 pj combo? I’m surprised there aren’t more posts for 5040 settings with the 820.
There are more posts, if you do a search on this thread. You will find that you can not adjust the gamma as easily on Epson projectors as you can for the JVC projectors. There is no guide.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #4583 of 5121 Old 05-31-2019, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nexgen76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keltron View Post
Is anyone using a UB820 with a HT3550? I'm considering buying one and I'm really interested in the difference between the 500 nit and 350 nit options between the UB9000 and UB820. I'm not sure if the UB9000 is worth the extra money for the 350 nit option.
It would be nice if Panasonic would give us that 350nit profile. That makes zero sense to add it to a player that's not selling nowhere near the numbers as UB820.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
srw1000 and Dandlj like this.

JVC NX5 Panasonic UB820 PC Madvr
Sliver Ticket 120' Cinema white screen
Aggressive 1299 L/C/R/, Volt 10XL x 2 surround, MKII Atmos Modules x 4(Jav's build)
Pioneer Elite SC-LX801 Acurus A125x5
Ported Primate SI 18" HST subs x 2(DIY) V.B.S.S.x 4(MBM)
Nexgen76 is offline  
post #4584 of 5121 Old 05-31-2019, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4493 Post(s)
Liked: 1681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keltron View Post
Is anyone using a UB820 with a HT3550? I'm considering buying one and I'm really interested in the difference between the 500 nit and 350 nit options between the UB9000 and UB820. I'm not sure if the UB9000 is worth the extra money for the 350 nit option.
The 350 nit option is used primarily for enhanced colours with the native 4K JVC projectors. For other projectors there's really no advantage in using it over the 500 nit setting. Note that your projector does not actually need to produce 500 nits (or even 350 nits) on your screen, as a "multiplier" of typically 4 or 5 is for projectors in a bat cave.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4585 of 5121 Old 05-31-2019, 12:57 PM
Member
 
hoops2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone tell me if this player is better at upscaling non-4k content than the new BenQ ht5550 projector? Just trying to figure out if it's worth spending the extra money for this dvd player vs say the new LG ubkc90 which can be had for around $150. As far as 4k content goes, sounds like either player would be a good fit with the projector.
hoops2 is offline  
post #4586 of 5121 Old 05-31-2019, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Since the update, I've noticed that almost no UHD discs report the maximum light level or the max frame average light level readings on the HDR10 metadata button. Only the Max and Min luminance.

Is that typical?

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: Jamo 626k4 in-wall mains, Jamo 631k4 bi/dipole surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is online now  
post #4587 of 5121 Old 05-31-2019, 09:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,704
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoops2 View Post
Can someone tell me if this player is better at upscaling non-4k content than the new BenQ ht5550 projector?
I don't have any experience with the BenQ ht5550, but I use the 820 to upscale instead of my JVC NX7 projector. The quality of the upscaling from the 820 is very, very good, and my guess is that it would be worth it to spend the extra $$ over what the LG costs. That's just my take.
smitty is online now  
post #4588 of 5121 Old 06-01-2019, 03:29 PM
Member
 
hoops2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
I don't have any experience with the BenQ ht5550, but I use the 820 to upscale instead of my JVC NX7 projector. The quality of the upscaling from the 820 is very, very good, and my guess is that it would be worth it to spend the extra $$ over what the LG costs. That's just my take.
Thanks. Does it also upscale streaming media too? I have a 30ft hdmi cable that was run from the back of my home theatre room to my AVR. Is there any way to know if that hdmi cable supports 4k or will I know as soon as I try (I'm still working on installing my BenQ).
hoops2 is offline  
post #4589 of 5121 Old 06-01-2019, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,704
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoops2 View Post
Thanks. Does it also upscale streaming media too? I have a 30ft hdmi cable that was run from the back of my home theatre room to my AVR. Is there any way to know if that hdmi cable supports 4k or will I know as soon as I try (I'm still working on installing my BenQ).
I would assume that it upscales streaming media also, but I haven't really checked it.

Longer runs of HDMI (more than 25 feet) can be problematic with 4k HDR, and there's probably no way to know until you try it. How old is your current cable? There are a couple of cables that most folks here recommend for longer runs, and typically they are fiber optic and a little more expensive. I purchased a Monoproce Slim Run cable since I have a 50 foot run and I haven't had any issues.

There is a paper that is often linked to by folks here that discuss the two cables (the Monoprice Slim Run and the Ruipro available on amazon) that passed all the tests for passing 4k HRD sources even over long distances. I seem to recall you can find it in Arrow-Av's signature.
smitty is online now  
post #4590 of 5121 Old 06-01-2019, 10:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
The 350 nit option is used primarily for enhanced colours with the native 4K JVC projectors. For other projectors there's really no advantage in using it over the 500 nit setting. Note that your projector does not actually need to produce 500 nits (or even 350 nits) on your screen, as a "multiplier" of typically 4 or 5 is for projectors in a bat cave.
What does this mean?
Dreamliner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off