Official Panasonic DP-UB820/824 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 199 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5186Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5941 of 6384 Old 10-16-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 726 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by la1vi9872 View Post
Again, I'm very sorry
The first movie doesn't work at all
The rest of the movies are really poor explanation

The Blue Ray 9000 was discontinued
Irrelevant
The rest of the video you brought with a very basic explanation of what's in Blue Ray
A few have tried to help. Perhaps let us know how your system is setup. My guess is you'd see no difference. Maybe even the 420 would be to your taste and save you some money. It is the 820 without Dolby Vision.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5942 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,181
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1463 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
I have test driven the ub9000 and own the ub820. I saw no image performance benefit of the ub9000 over the ub820 with my JVC DLA-X990. Both units provided the same range of flexibility in HDR2020 and SDR2020. This included comparisons of the 350 and 500 nit projector options.

In my set up, while there are reasons to prefer the ub9000 over the ub820, image reproduction is not among them.
I also have JVC projector and I am curious if you have taken any pro camera settings-locked photo comparisons? I am really interested to see the difference between the 350 nit and 500 nit setting. I know the JVC NX demo used the 350 nit setting and I'm just wondering if/how much better it looks that what I can get with the 500 nit option on my UB820...
Dreamliner is online now  
post #5943 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 08:41 AM
Member
 
terryuk22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when i plug in a usb3 drive with with a folder with many video clips how can i change the view
terryuk22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5944 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 12:52 PM
Member
 
quicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: wichita,ks
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I thought my Marantz 6012 was the culprit but ARC from my LG C8 native Netflix does output Atmos. Meanwhile my 820 does not. I've set to bitsteam secondary audio off . I cannot get discrete Atmos from bluray (spiderman far from home) nor Netflix. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. Just purchased replacement from Amazon jus to test and see if I've got a defective unit. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated thanks !
quicksilver is offline  
post #5945 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mostly in Fredworld
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by quicksilver View Post
So I thought my Marantz 6012 was the culprit but ARC from my LG C8 native Netflix does output Atmos. Meanwhile my 820 does not. I've set to bitsteam secondary audio off . I cannot get discrete Atmos from bluray (spiderman far from home) nor Netflix. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. Just purchased replacement from Amazon jus to test and see if I've got a defective unit. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated thanks !

What speaker configuration are you using? If it's not an Atmos speaker configuration, then you'll get DOLBY TruHD.

Panasonic DP-UB820, Marantz AV7704, Epson 5050UB, Stewart Firehawk 16x9 82"; Amplifiers: Parasound HCA 1000A, Parasound HCA 1206; Speakers: Paradigm Monitor v.4 (R/L/BR/BL) ADP-370 (SS), Premier 600C, Hsu sub VTF-2 Mk5; Power Condition: Adcom ACE 315 & 515, Tripplite HT7300PC & HTRL15UPS; Other Sources: Pioneer CLD-D606 & DVL-919, JVC HR-S9600U; Redmere Elite HDMI cable, Monster Mi.2S speaker cable, Kimber Kable interconnects.
fredworld is offline  
post #5946 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Panasonic UB820 Picture Settings

Hello,
I am a new owner of a Panasonic UB820 4K Player.

If anyone has any recommendations for what to set the picture settings on the player when connected to a Samsung 43" 4K TV, please let me know below.

And this goes for playing 4K Blu-rays, 2K Blu-rays, and DVDs. And the settings I am referring to are for the first selection on the left column (Picture, not Video, so the settings that include 24p and Deep Color, etc.)

Dan
Dan Finnegan is offline  
post #5947 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Finnegan View Post
Hello,

I am a new owner of a Panasonic UB820 4K Player.



If anyone has any recommendations for what to set the picture settings on the player when connected to a Samsung 43" 4K TV, please let me know below.



And this goes for playing 4K Blu-rays, 2K Blu-rays, and DVDs. And the settings I am referring to are for the first selection on the left column (Picture, not Video, so the settings that include 24p and Deep Color, etc.)



Dan
What model TV? Does your TV support Dolby Vision?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #5948 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
What model TV? Does your TV support Dolby Vision?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
I do not know, but here is the name of the TV, cannot post link: Samsung - 43" Class - LED - 6 Series - 2160p - Smart - 4K UHD TV with HDR
And I'm referring to the settings on the PLAYER, not the TV. Just to clarify if there's confusion
Dan Finnegan is offline  
post #5949 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Finnegan View Post
I do not know, but here is the name of the TV, cannot post link: Samsung - 43" Class - LED - 6 Series - 2160p - Smart - 4K UHD TV with HDR

And I'm referring to the settings on the PLAYER, not the TV. Just to clarify if there's confusion
43NU6900? Should be on the back of your tv. The Panasonic ub820 settings are very dependent on your display's abilities. That is why I am asking. Also do you have a light colored room with daylight coming in?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #5950 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
43NU6900? Should be on the back of your tv. The Panasonic ub820 settings are very dependent on your display's abilities. That is why I am asking. Also do you have a light colored room with daylight coming in?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Yeah, I believe that is it. And the room has blue walls and does have daylight coming in and still sneaks in even when the shutters are closed.
Dan Finnegan is offline  
post #5951 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm pretty much looking for what the recommended settings are for the player when connected to that TV, for playing the three major formats: 4K Blu-ray, 2K Blu-ray and DVD. I don't know if it's a player thing or TV thing, but the screen will go black for two seconds or so and then go back. It may be my HDMI cable, so I'll have to get a better one.
Dan Finnegan is offline  
post #5952 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Finnegan View Post
I'm pretty much looking for what the recommended settings are for the player when connected to that TV, for playing the three major formats: 4K Blu-ray, 2K Blu-ray and DVD. I don't know if it's a player thing or TV thing, but the screen will go black for two seconds or so and then go back. It may be my HDMI cable, so I'll have to get a better one.
The player setting won't effect that all. Sounds like you need a truly 4k capable cable.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Robbie Racer likes this.
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #5953 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:16 PM
Member
 
quicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: wichita,ks
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredworld View Post
What speaker configuration are you using? If it's not an Atmos speaker configuration, then you'll get DOLBY TruHD.
I've got 2 rear height SVS prime elevations set to "rear height" on amp assign. I swapped those to "dolby atmos" config which made no changes. Are you saying i need another pair before it goes to ATMOS? Why does the native LG app detect Netflix as ATMOS thru ARC?
quicksilver is offline  
post #5954 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What do you have set in terms of HDMI settings on the player (the first column on the left, or two above audio)? That is particularly what I am looking for.
Dan Finnegan is offline  
post #5955 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Oh never mind, I just saw the pictures included. What HDMI cable do you use for the TV?
Dan Finnegan is offline  
post #5956 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Finnegan View Post
What do you have set in terms of HDMI settings on the player (the first column on the left, or two above audio)? That is particularly what I am looking for.
Here are some settings for your tv as well.

Make sure you have the tv HDMI setting to UHD ON for that input or HDR will not work properly.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sa...u6900/settings

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #5957 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Finnegan View Post
Oh never mind, I just saw the pictures included. What HDMI cable do you use for the TV?
Is the player connected directly to the TV and what length is your current HDMI cable?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #5958 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Finnegan View Post
Oh never mind, I just saw the pictures included. What HDMI cable do you use for the TV?
https://www.bluejeanscable.com/store...hdmi-cable.htm

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #5959 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 05:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mostly in Fredworld
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by quicksilver View Post
I've got 2 rear height SVS prime elevations set to "rear height" on amp assign. I swapped those to "dolby atmos" config which made no changes. Are you saying i need another pair before it goes to ATMOS? Why does the native LG app detect Netflix as ATMOS thru ARC?

No. If all settings are correct then presuming you have at least a 5.1.2 speaker configuration you should be getting the Atmos effects.
I'm unfamiliar with LG equipment, so I can't help you there.

Have you tried a "direct" or "pure direct" setting on your pre-pro/AVR?

Panasonic DP-UB820, Marantz AV7704, Epson 5050UB, Stewart Firehawk 16x9 82"; Amplifiers: Parasound HCA 1000A, Parasound HCA 1206; Speakers: Paradigm Monitor v.4 (R/L/BR/BL) ADP-370 (SS), Premier 600C, Hsu sub VTF-2 Mk5; Power Condition: Adcom ACE 315 & 515, Tripplite HT7300PC & HTRL15UPS; Other Sources: Pioneer CLD-D606 & DVL-919, JVC HR-S9600U; Redmere Elite HDMI cable, Monster Mi.2S speaker cable, Kimber Kable interconnects.
fredworld is offline  
post #5960 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 07:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,806
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1566 Post(s)
Liked: 1217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
I also have JVC projector and I am curious if you have taken any pro camera settings-locked photo comparisons? I am really interested to see the difference between the 350 nit and 500 nit setting. I know the JVC NX demo used the 350 nit setting and I'm just wondering if/how much better it looks that what I can get with the 500 nit option on my UB820...
Hi Dreamliner...

Sorry, I did not take any pics.

I found using Ryan's 3rd White Clipping Pattern (2000 -> 10k nit) made it easier see the difference between 350nit and 500nit. I found 500nit was sufficient to enable the effective range of st2084 gamma controls available on the x990. 350nit was not required to achieve good gamma calibrations.

If you are able to test drive a ub9000, check it out for yourself. I'm curious if you'd reached a similar conclusion.

Edit... as I think about it, the 500nit option seems like a good balance of just enough source tone mapping, to then fine tune with the x990 gamma controls. Perhaps other displays/projectors with a different range of st2084 gamma adjustments, would benefit from a wee bit more tone map compression from 500nit -> 350nit. That extra compression just seemed too much in my case.

JVC DLA-X990 - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - X800M2 - UB820 - ATV4K64 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton

Last edited by Bytehoven; 10-18-2019 at 07:40 PM.
Bytehoven is offline  
post #5961 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
derder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I am literally pulling my hair out trying to get 4k on the netflix app of my UB820

read over 50 pages but cannot find the solution.

problem: Cannot get 4k using the Pana netflix app. Atmos is working.

projector: JVC rs2000/N7. Denon 6500H
Pana HDMI setting:
video format: Auto
4k Output: 4k (50/60p) 4:2:0
24p Output: Auto
Dolby Vision: On
HDR10+: On


so... everything else is showing in 2160p60 EXCEPT the stupid netflix app within the Pana 820. As soon as I click on the Netflix app, it automatically changes the resolution to 1080p only, and everything else is now at 1080p, even though I am getting Dolby Atmos.

any thing I am doing wrong??
Pana firmware is the latest one. I don't know how to update the Netflix app (if there's such a thing)?

And when I go into the Youtube app on the Pana 820, projector info is showing 2160p. as soon as I enter the Netflix app, it switches to 1080p.

why/[email protected][email protected][email protected]!#
derder is offline  
post #5962 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 11:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mostly in Fredworld
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by derder View Post
Hi,

I am literally pulling my hair out trying to get 4k on the netflix app of my UB820

read over 50 pages but cannot find the solution.

problem: Cannot get 4k using the Pana netflix app. Atmos is working.

projector: JVC rs2000/N7. Denon 6500H
Pana HDMI setting:
video format: Auto
4k Output: 4k (50/60p) 4:2:0
24p Output: Auto
Dolby Vision: On
HDR10+: On


so... everything else is showing in 2160p60 EXCEPT the stupid netflix app within the Pana 820. As soon as I click on the Netflix app, it automatically changes the resolution to 1080p only, and everything else is now at 1080p, even though I am getting Dolby Atmos.

any thing I am doing wrong??
Pana firmware is the latest one. I don't know how to update the Netflix app (if there's such a thing)?

And when I go into the Youtube app on the Pana 820, projector info is showing 2160p. as soon as I enter the Netflix app, it switches to 1080p.

why/[email protected][email protected][email protected]!#

Do you have the Premium UltraHD subscription to Netflix?
Bytehoven likes this.

Panasonic DP-UB820, Marantz AV7704, Epson 5050UB, Stewart Firehawk 16x9 82"; Amplifiers: Parasound HCA 1000A, Parasound HCA 1206; Speakers: Paradigm Monitor v.4 (R/L/BR/BL) ADP-370 (SS), Premier 600C, Hsu sub VTF-2 Mk5; Power Condition: Adcom ACE 315 & 515, Tripplite HT7300PC & HTRL15UPS; Other Sources: Pioneer CLD-D606 & DVL-919, JVC HR-S9600U; Redmere Elite HDMI cable, Monster Mi.2S speaker cable, Kimber Kable interconnects.
fredworld is offline  
post #5963 of 6384 Old 10-17-2019, 11:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,806
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1566 Post(s)
Liked: 1217
Quote:
Originally Posted by derder View Post
Hi,

I am literally pulling my hair out trying to get 4k on the netflix app of my UB820
Spoiler!
Spoiler!


Can you confirm the software version?

Maybe try 4k60 444?

I was gonna ask if you were in 4k vs auto, but with 4k60420, it sounds like you in manual 4k. But make sure.

JVC DLA-X990 - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - X800M2 - UB820 - ATV4K64 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton
Bytehoven is offline  
post #5964 of 6384 Old 10-18-2019, 02:56 AM
Newbie
 
derder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
[/Spoiler]

Can you confirm the software version?

Maybe try 4k60 444?

I was gonna ask if you were in 4k vs auto, but with 4k60420, it sounds like you in manual 4k. But make sure.

yeah, I definitely have UHD subscription with Dolby Atmos working.

I have tried both "auto" or 4k setting in video, makes no difference.

Even the Netflix main menu is very "non-hd"... like DVD quality!
can anyone confirm their Netflix main menu also looks StandardDefeinition?!
derder is offline  
post #5965 of 6384 Old 10-18-2019, 03:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,806
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1566 Post(s)
Liked: 1217
Quote:
Originally Posted by derder View Post
yeah, I definitely have UHD subscription with Dolby Atmos working.

I have tried both "auto" or 4k setting in video, makes no difference.

Even the Netflix main menu is very "non-hd"... like DVD quality!
can anyone confirm their Netflix main menu also looks StandardDefeinition?!
What version software on the ub820?

You might check your online netflix account to see how your playback quality is set. It should not be the cause, but might have something to do with your experience with the menu quality. You can finding ... sign in, use your icon in the upper right, to go to Account, then you will see Playback Settings as a link near the bottom. I have mine set to HIGH.

JVC DLA-X990 - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - X800M2 - UB820 - ATV4K64 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton
Bytehoven is offline  
post #5966 of 6384 Old 10-18-2019, 03:58 AM
Newbie
 
derder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
What version software on the ub820?

You might check your online netflix account to see how your playback quality is set. It should not be the cause, but might have something to do with your experience with the menu quality. You can finding ... sign in, use your icon in the upper right, to go to Account, then you will see Playback Settings as a link near the bottom. I have mine set to HIGH.

I am on VER1.6 already. but I don't think a firmware update actually updates the Apps?

does your Netflix main menu "look" HD like how it should?
derder is offline  
post #5967 of 6384 Old 10-18-2019, 03:58 AM
Member
 
rexdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
check your netflix playback settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by derder View Post
Hi,

And when I go into the Youtube app on the Pana 820, projector info is showing 2160p. as soon as I enter the Netflix app, it switches to 1080p.

why/[email protected][email protected][email protected]!#
Might want to double-check your playback settings in Netflix. Just go into your account and profile settings & look for playback settings (see attached pics). In playback settings, make sure HIGH QUALITY is checked; anything else is lower quality (<720p).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-10-18 at 7.45.09 PM.png
Views:	39
Size:	197.5 KB
ID:	2628910   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-10-18 at 7.45.31 PM.png
Views:	43
Size:	263.5 KB
ID:	2628912  
rexdragon is offline  
post #5968 of 6384 Old 10-18-2019, 06:49 AM
Newbie
 
derder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexdragon View Post
Might want to double-check your playback settings in Netflix. Just go into your account and profile settings & look for playback settings (see attached pics). In playback settings, make sure HIGH QUALITY is checked; anything else is lower quality (<720p).
Alright guys, update of this saga....

I did a factory reset. and turned SDR/HDR conv. to OFF

now I got it to output 2060p for Netflix... woohoo...

but.... now it doesn't output Dolby [email protected][email protected]!

before this Netflix can output Atmos. Not even my HUD Blu-ray doesn't out out Dolby Atmos on my Denon 6500H.

what on earth is happening?! this is prob my last time I am buying a Pana bluray. my old Oppo was issue free for 5 yrs

any ideas?
derder is offline  
post #5969 of 6384 Old 10-18-2019, 06:58 AM
Pip
Advanced Member
 
Pip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by derder View Post
Hi,

I am literally pulling my hair out trying to get 4k on the netflix app of my UB820...

problem: Cannot get 4k using the Pana netflix app. Atmos is working.

projector: JVC rs2000/N7. Denon 6500H
Pana HDMI setting:
video format: Auto
4k Output: 4k (50/60p) 4:2:0
24p Output: Auto
Dolby Vision: On
HDR10+: On
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
...

Maybe try 4k60 444? ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by derder View Post

I have tried both "auto" or 4k setting in video, makes no difference....
I am going by memory and can't check my player right now, but I believe Ludwig is correct. To receive 4K HDR Netflix, the Panny 4k output must be set to 4:4:4. The Panny Netflix app will not allow HDR with the player set to 4:2:0 for some reason. Search Claw's posts in this thread regarding this.

If you're still having trouble, it would help to post photos of your settings. It's pretty easy to do on this forum, and less typing for you. A wrong setting is much easier to spot on a photo.

Good luck. I had a bunch of trouble with this also.

Pip
Pip is offline  
post #5970 of 6384 Old 10-18-2019, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by derder View Post
Alright guys, update of this saga....



I did a factory reset. and turned SDR/HDR conv. to OFF



now I got it to output 2060p for Netflix... woohoo...



but.... now it doesn't output Dolby [email protected][email protected]!



before this Netflix can output Atmos. Not even my HUD Blu-ray doesn't out out Dolby Atmos on my Denon 6500H.



what on earth is happening?! this is prob my last time I am buying a Pana bluray. my old Oppo was issue free for 5 yrs



any ideas?
For lack of a more technical explanation the Netflix application for Panasonic is really wonky. Mine only works about 25% of the time and sometimes the audio completely drops out. I too have Denon 6500 using it with my Epson 6050 projector. Amazon Prime plays flawlessly on the Panasonic 820 with HDR and I think Atmos as well.

I don't know who is to blame. I can get HDR 4K with Atmos on Netflix using the 820. When it works. Netflix works great on my Roku Ultra but no Atmos support. Vudu has Atmos support. Amazon Prime has Atmos support.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4k blu-ray player , blu-ray player , blu-ray settings , panasonic ub820

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off