Official Panasonic DP-UB820/824 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 59 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4891Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
SLYDoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLYDoggie View Post
In reading through the thread, there has been much discussion on the 820 and projector settings for JVC projectors but not as much about Sony Projectors. I know that Ben Withrow has been doing some experimenting with the same Sony projector I have (Sony VPL-VW1100ES) but I would welcome any setting suggestions. The Sony 1100 projector does not support HDR and also doesn't support BT2020... It supports REC709 or DCI.


I just received my 820 and will probably start setting it up this weekend but I also plan to get the HDFury Integral 2 (announced but not available until the end of October) to help with HDMI handshake issues since the Sony 1100 only supports 4K/60 at 8-Bit 4:2:0. I believe the Integral 2 will also be able to "trick" the 820 into thinking that the 1100 has BT2020 support but don't know if that will be any help.


One of the things I'm really confused by is the "NITS" part and haven't a clue on how to determine this for the 1100. As projectors go, it is brighter than most but projectors in general aren't nearly as bright as TVs.


I am by no means an expert in all this color depth and mapping "stuff" so any suggestions are appreciated.
Thanks for the responses to my questions. A couple of clarifications...
  1. Yes, the DCI is DCI/P3
  2. i should have also mentioned that there is also a setting to turn x.v.colorspace on or off on the projector. From my understanding, this is supposed to get closer to the BT2020 colorspace, but i can’t say that i fully understand the ramifications.

Regards, Steve
Projector/Receiver - Sony VPL-VW1100ES 4K PJ & Sony STR-ZA5000ES 4K Atmos AVR
Media Devices - Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BR, Sony UBP-X800 4K BR, ATV 4K, and Roku 4K
Screen - 145" Dragonfly, 1.2 Gain, 16:9, Matte White Fixed Screen
Theater Remote/Cables - Universal MX-990 RF Remote, Monoprice Certified 18Gb HDMI Cables
SLYDoggie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,956
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cal1981 View Post
Mine sits just under the top shelf so I considered the "line of sight" but in each instance when the open/close button didn't work I took the remote right up to the 820 and it still didn't respond. It seems that once the device doesn't respond to a command, the only option is a power cycle.
That’s really strange. I know my 820 seems a bit less responsive to remote commands than the OPPO. I use the app quite a bit for OPPO control so I’m really going from older recollection on what the OPPO remote did though. Do you think the drop down front panel could be filtering some of the signal? The sensor sits in the middle behind the panel. It states a 23’ range, 20 degrees up/down and 30 degrees right/left. Try it with the panel down and see if that improves it some.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #1743 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,755
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5270 Post(s)
Liked: 5544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Harper View Post
@Bytehoven , He mentioned his 1100ES does DCI, which is wider than Rec709 (but not as wide as BT2020 and in a different phase relationship in the color gamut) so he’s most likely better off sending BT2020 and then adjusting the CMS manually to match up to the right BT2020 points using maybe a 50% pattern. This is all predicated on him having a meter and software to do so of course, or paying someone to do it. Probably worth the added color saturation he can probably get.

Dave hi, the VW1100ES does not have a CMS which was shocking at the time of it's release for 25K MSRP. I had one for 3 years and it was one of the most unfriendly projectors for deep dive calibrations. basically access to nothing other than basic settings. It also has a massive ~40% hit for lumens with the filter in place.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SLYDoggie View Post
Thanks for the responses to my questions. A couple of clarifications...
  1. Yes, the DCI is DCI/P3
  2. i should have also mentioned that there is also a setting to turn x.v.colorspace on or off on the projector. From my understanding, this is supposed to get closer to the BT2020 colorspace, but i can’t say that i fully understand the ramifications.

I would try the SDR/BT2020 and SDR/BT709 settings on the UB820 and see how it looks. Gamma should be set to 2.4 for both tests and turning on the x.v. color space to see if any obvious difference. Start with an A list UHD title like Lucy which is razor sharp and has excellent color that extends past R709.
Dave Harper likes this.
zombie10k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1744 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 08:13 AM
Member
 
cc609cc609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Audio Lag Streaming Netflix

Hi,

I have been encountering lagging audio in the netflix app. I just updated to the latest firmware today and the issue is still there.

Are there anyone running into the same issue? The netflix app in ATV works fine so it's not the content.

The UB820 is connected to Yamaha RX-A3080 to Sony 285ES.

Anyone got it working?

Thanks!
cc609cc609 is offline  
post #1745 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
Dave hi, the VW1100ES does not have a CMS which was shocking at the time of it's release for 25K MSRP. I had one for 3 years and it was one of the most unfriendly projectors for deep dive calibrations. basically access to nothing other than basic settings. It also has a massive ~40% hit for lumens with the filter in place.





I would try the SDR/BT2020 and SDR/BT709 settings on the UB820 and see how it looks. Gamma should be set to 2.4 for both tests and turning on the x.v. color space to see if any obvious difference. Start with an A list UHD title like Lucy which is razor sharp and has excellent color that extends past R709.
Just a heads up, when the x.v.color is set to 'on' for my Sony ES300, the gamma settings are not available.
cdnscg is offline  
post #1746 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 09:00 AM
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Paradise on Earth
Posts: 6,554
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3159 Post(s)
Liked: 1723
Official Panasonic DP-UB820/824 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
Dave hi, the VW1100ES does not have a CMS which was shocking at the time of it's release for 25K MSRP. I had one for 3 years and it was one of the most unfriendly projectors for deep dive calibrations. basically access to nothing other than basic settings. It also has a massive ~40% hit for lumens with the filter in place.......

Oh yeah, thanks for the reminder. It’s actually one of the reasons I didn’t get a used one a year or so ago. I totally forgot. 40% brightness hit is ridiculous!
Dave Harper is offline  
post #1747 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 11:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cal1981 View Post
Mine sits just under the top shelf so I considered the "line of sight" but in each instance when the open/close button didn't work I took the remote right up to the 820 and it still didn't respond. It seems that once the device doesn't respond to a command, the only option is a power cycle.
I don't use the open close on the remote but recently the open/close button on the player wouldn't work at all for me. The only thing that solved it was a power cycle. So maybe something is going on with the open/close function?
Hawks07 is offline  
post #1748 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 11:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
skypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 252
I'm interested in this player,my question is for anyone that was using a UB900 with a custom map for their JVC Projector. Do you like the picture better with the 820 doing the heavy lifting,than using a custom map with your UB900. Thanks for any info. I have enough lumens so I'm not interested in SDR. Thanks.
namirkhan likes this.

2 Channel: Fi 2A3 mono's,Hovland HP100,Technics SP10MK2/SME/Benz....HT:126" Seymour AT Screen,JBL Studio 590's for LCR, Side and Rear Surrounds. Jbl SCS8'S for Fr Heights, and Rear Heights,2 Epik Empire Subs,2 Behringer B1200D Midbass Subs,Marantz 7702MK2,Proceed Amp-5,Outlaw 7125,Panasonic UB820 ,Toshiba HD35,JVC RS600. Black Velvet.
skypop is offline  
post #1749 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,956
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by skypop View Post
I'm interested in this player,my question is for anyone that was using a UB900 with a custom map for their JVC Projector. Do you like the picture better with the 820 doing the heavy lifting,than using a custom map with your UB900. Thanks for any info. I have enough lumens so I'm not interested in SDR. Thanks.
Actually SDR/2020 is the recommendation for projectors using the 820. I have a 600 too. Always willing to try a new twist if it works better.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #1750 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 01:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,359
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1243 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by skypop View Post
I'm interested in this player,my question is for anyone that was using a UB900 with a custom map for their JVC Projector. Do you like the picture better with the 820 doing the heavy lifting,than using a custom map with your UB900. Thanks for any info. I have enough lumens so I'm not interested in SDR. Thanks.
Great question... imho, Solo looks better running in full HDR from the ub900, but not Ready Player One.

My solution, i sold the ub900 and have a setups to run the 820 in SDR BT2020 & HDR BT2020 as needed.

My projector will have custom curves shortly and i plan to do some testing of those curves with the 820 optimizer in HDR mode. If i can get a film like Ready Player One to look as good in 820 HDR BT2020 as SDR BT2020, i may have found a universal setup.
Bytehoven is offline  
post #1751 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
skypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
Great question... imho, Solo looks better running in full HDR from the ub900, but not Ready Player One.

My solution, i sold the ub900 and have a setups to run the 820 in SDR BT2020 & HDR BT2020 as needed.

My projector will have custom curves shortly and i plan to do some testing of those curves with the 820 optimizer in HDR mode. If i can get a film like Ready Player One to look as good in 820 HDR BT2020 as SDR BT2020, i may have found a universal setup.
OK cool,looking forward to your opinions of custom maps Vs. 820 SDR2020 or HDR2020.

2 Channel: Fi 2A3 mono's,Hovland HP100,Technics SP10MK2/SME/Benz....HT:126" Seymour AT Screen,JBL Studio 590's for LCR, Side and Rear Surrounds. Jbl SCS8'S for Fr Heights, and Rear Heights,2 Epik Empire Subs,2 Behringer B1200D Midbass Subs,Marantz 7702MK2,Proceed Amp-5,Outlaw 7125,Panasonic UB820 ,Toshiba HD35,JVC RS600. Black Velvet.
skypop is offline  
post #1752 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just bought the 820 to play 4K UHD on my Epson tw9300w. BUT i cant get anything out on the PJ except 3840x2160 - 23,97hz - 12 bit - 4:2:2 - BT.709 SDR.

Shouldnt i get BT.2020 HDR?
Also, the button HDR setting have never worked. Nothing happens when pushing.

Whats wrong really? Can anyone having the same setup let me know what settings in the Panasonic i need to set.

Im using a Marantz SR8012 capable on any 4k Signal.

CB Cburner is offline  
post #1753 of 5478 Old 10-13-2018, 10:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Could it be possible the volume output from the UB820 is weaker than other players. Could be a coincidence, but BR's I've played since getting the UB820 I've had to increase the volume setting on my avr compared to the X800.
cdnscg is offline  
post #1754 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 02:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi newbie here. I have some questions.
I just ordered this. I'd appreciate it.

Can i play content via external storage? If i can does it upscale it or only upscale disc?

I plan on renting 4ks from Redbox. As once i watch a movie i rarely ever watch it again. Am i going to get the same quality (video and audio) as to say a store bought 4k movie?

Is there any advantages to using the smart system on this compared to my TV? (I have LG c8)
arystiol is offline  
post #1755 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 04:39 AM
Newbie
 
troyjones2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CB Cburner View Post
I just bought the 820 to play 4K UHD on my Epson tw9300w. BUT i cant get anything out on the PJ except 3840x2160 - 23,97hz - 12 bit - 4:2:2 - BT.709 SDR.

Shouldnt i get BT.2020 HDR?
Also, the button HDR setting have never worked. Nothing happens when pushing.

Whats wrong really? Can anyone having the same setup let me know what settings in the Panasonic i need to set.

Im using a Marantz SR8012 capable on any 4k Signal.

I have an epson TW9300 and have my 820 set to BT.2020 and it works fine. I have a Marantz sr7010 amp set to it as well but the main issue that I've noticed is that when I play a disc with an atmos track it doesn't say it's playing atmos when I hit the info button, just TrueHD 7.1 audio???

Also when playing a disc in BT.2020 or 709 Ive found you need to hold the HDR button down for it to come up on the screen for options. Hope that helps somewhat?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Last edited by troyjones2525; 10-14-2018 at 04:43 AM.
troyjones2525 is offline  
post #1756 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 04:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 706 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by CB Cburner View Post
I just bought the 820 to play 4K UHD on my Epson tw9300w. BUT i cant get anything out on the PJ except 3840x2160 - 23,97hz - 12 bit - 4:2:2 - BT.709 SDR.

Shouldnt i get BT.2020 HDR?
Also, the button HDR setting have never worked. Nothing happens when pushing.

Whats wrong really? Can anyone having the same setup let me know what settings in the Panasonic i need to set.

Im using a Marantz SR8012 capable on any 4k Signal.

I have a Epson 9300 Panasonic 820 and Denon 8500
looks like that is just showing BT:709 upscaling or down conversion from the 820
Forgive me for stating the obvious but you do realise that the Epson does not auto switch to 4K UHD HDR you have to select Cinema or Digital Cinema every time you play a UHD HDR disc
Lesmor is offline  
post #1757 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 05:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 706 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by troyjones2525 View Post
I have an epson TW9300 and have my 820 set to BT.2020 and it works fine. I have a Marantz sr7010 amp set to it as well but the main issue that I've noticed is that when I play a disc with an atmos track it doesn't say it's playing atmos when I hit the info button, just TrueHD 7.1 audio???

Also when playing a disc in BT.2020 or 709 Ive found you need to hold the HDR button down for it to come up on the screen for options. Hope that helps somewhat?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
I take it you have set bitstream On and secondary audio off on the 820?
I also assume that you mean doesn't show Dolby Atmos on the Marantz?

Some discs don't automatically play Dolby Atmos by default (Rampage) you have to manually select DA in the disc menu
Then at times you have to use the green button on the AVR remote then Up/Down to select DA
most times though Dolby Atmos plays just fine
Lesmor is offline  
post #1758 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,956
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by arystiol View Post
Hi newbie here. I have some questions.
I just ordered this. I'd appreciate it.

Can i play content via external storage? If i can does it upscale it or only upscale disc?

I plan on renting 4ks from Redbox. As once i watch a movie i rarely ever watch it again. Am i going to get the same quality (video and audio) as to say a store bought 4k movie?

Is there any advantages to using the smart system on this compared to my TV? (I have LG c8)
Welcome to the forum. The player can upscale content from a usb drive or a networked NAS depending on what your output setting is just like discs.
Not sure about Redbox. They have only had 4k discs in test markets so far. I know some of the Blu-rays they have had in the box have had reduced features or audio capabilities. Not all but some. I’m not sure if the studios will produce special discs for Redbox for 4k or not. If you have them in your area test them out when you get your 820.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #1759 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
I have a Epson 9300 Panasonic 820 and Denon 8500
looks like that is just showing BT:709 upscaling or down conversion from the 820
Forgive me for stating the obvious but you do realise that the Epson does not auto switch to 4K UHD HDR you have to select Cinema or Digital Cinema every time you play a UHD HDR disc
I wasnt Captain Obvoius this time :-) Thanks for the #1 thing i should know haha. 2 hrs spent last evening for nothing. Great with all knowledge here!
CB Cburner is offline  
post #1760 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by CB Cburner View Post
I just bought the 820 to play 4K UHD on my Epson tw9300w. BUT i cant get anything out on the PJ except 3840x2160 - 23,97hz - 12 bit - 4:2:2 - BT.709 SDR.

Shouldnt i get BT.2020 HDR?
Also, the button HDR setting have never worked. Nothing happens when pushing.

Whats wrong really? Can anyone having the same setup let me know what settings in the Panasonic i need to set.

Im using a Marantz SR8012 capable on any 4k Signal.

Check you connected 820 to Epson HDMI 2.0 port not 1.4 also Try to use HDMI certified cable.
HDR button works only if your player is passing HDR signal, since you are currently getting SDR it won't work. You can also use 'Option' button to get to the HDR settings screen.
satyab is offline  
post #1761 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 07:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
I have a Epson 9300 Panasonic 820 and Denon 8500
looks like that is just showing BT:709 upscaling or down conversion from the 820
Forgive me for stating the obvious but you do realise that the Epson does not auto switch to 4K UHD HDR you have to select Cinema or Digital Cinema every time you play a UHD HDR disc
That's not correct. Color mode is nothing to do with HDR signal. Dynamic range is where you have to select to the HDR mode.
satyab is offline  
post #1762 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 706 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by satyab View Post
That's not correct. Color mode is nothing to do with HDR signal. Dynamic range is where you have to select to the HDR mode.
Well pardon me for trying to help out
the signal is set to Auto OOTB and the OP never mentioned that he changed any settings under signal
I stand by my point that the Epson does not Auto switch for UHD

It is unclear from his reply if my suggestion was of any help to fix his issue or if it was a reply from someone else
Lesmor is offline  
post #1763 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by CB Cburner View Post
I wasnt Captain Obvoius this time :-) Thanks for the #1 thing i should know haha. 2 hrs spent last evening for nothing. Great with all knowledge here!

I have a linker scaling everything coming out of my switch to my American 5040UBe and I bypassed it and it played 422 4K24 HDR just fine. Do you have the latest firmware installed? Also, I didn’t see any settings to force hdr at 24hz. Maybe try messing with the chroma and check the hdmi settings as well to be sure your pushing BT2020 HDR.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
OrcusVaruna is offline  
post #1764 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
troyjones2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
I take it you have set bitstream On and secondary audio off on the 820?
I also assume that you mean doesn't show Dolby Atmos on the Marantz?

Some discs don't automatically play Dolby Atmos by default (Rampage) you have to manually select DA in the disc menu
Then at times you have to use the green button on the AVR remote then Up/Down to select DA
most times though Dolby Atmos plays just fine
I'll check the audio settings on the 820 and get back to you a bit later. Is that the settings that it should be on? I did make sure that I chose dolby atmos on the disc menu so that definitely wasn't the issue. Cheers for the reply!

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
troyjones2525 is offline  
post #1765 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by arystiol View Post
Hi newbie here. I have some questions.
I just ordered this. I'd appreciate it.

Can i play content via external storage? If i can does it upscale it or only upscale disc?

I plan on renting 4ks from Redbox. As once i watch a movie i rarely ever watch it again. Am i going to get the same quality (video and audio) as to say a store bought 4k movie?

Is there any advantages to using the smart system on this compared to my TV? (I have LG c8)
Welcome to the forum. The player can upscale content from a usb drive or a networked NAS depending on what your output setting is just like discs.
Not sure about Redbox. They have only had 4k discs in test markets so far. I know some of the Blu-rays they have had in the box have had reduced features or audio capabilities. Not all but some. I’m not sure if the studios will produce special discs for Redbox for 4k or not. If you have them in your area test them out when you get your 820.
Thanks. Yeah i drove to a Redbox in my area and they had 4k. Thanks for helping
arystiol is offline  
post #1766 of 5478 Old 10-14-2018, 10:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,691
Mentioned: 255 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12560 Post(s)
Liked: 11741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
Welcome to the forum. The player can upscale content from a usb drive or a networked NAS depending on what your output setting is just like discs.
Can USB inputted content be converted to hdr?
ray0414 is online now  
post #1767 of 5478 Old 10-15-2018, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
steevo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
Can USB inputted content be converted to hdr?

usb and network file playback are severely limited on this device. It is an exercise in frustration as to what files will play, what brings up error messages, no audio, etc.


Best to avoid file playback.

Some guy
steevo123 is offline  
post #1768 of 5478 Old 10-15-2018, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,189
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5992
Well, for me, the Amazon app still sucks. Watched episode 3 of Jack Ryan 4K yesterday, it started going herky-jerky and required restart about 10 times, and then when I tried to exit the app I had to power cycle the player because it froze. However, Netflix and discs work great for me.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Roku Ultra / Uverse
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1769 of 5478 Old 10-15-2018, 11:08 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,190
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1254 Post(s)
Liked: 2061
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Well, for me, the Amazon app still sucks. Watched episode 3 of Jack Ryan 4K yesterday, it started going herky jerky and required restart about 10 times, and then when I tried to exit the app I had to power cycle the player because it froze. Netflix and discs work great for me, however.
For as long as I've known you, you have had problems with Amazon apps

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #1770 of 5478 Old 10-15-2018, 11:33 AM
Member
 
monkaquinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Well, for me, the Amazon app still sucks. Watched episode 3 of Jack Ryan 4K yesterday, it started going herky-jerky and required restart about 10 times, and then when I tried to exit the app I had to power cycle the player because it froze. However, Netflix and discs work great for me.
I haven't streamed much with the 820, but I was wondering how many of us are using the player with a USB drive attached. I purchased one to load the Masciola HDR files and have left it plugged in and I haven't had any video playback issues or remote functionality issues. Not sure if that is merely coincidental but I thought it was worth throwing it out to all of you who have had sporadic issues with the player.

Epson5040UB - DragonFly DFM Tab 92HC High Contrast (.9 gain) 16:9 Screen - Denon AVRS740H - Klipsch Quintet V +
Klipsch KHC-6 In-Ceiling (Atmos 5.2.2) with Polk PSW110 Sub & Monoprice Premium Select 8" Sub (via iFinity Wireless Audio) - Panasonic UB820 - PS3
monkaquinas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off