Official Pana UB9000 Owner's thread (No Price Talk) - Page 20 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 213Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 632 Old 06-04-2019, 08:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 16,544
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6870 Post(s)
Liked: 15445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Welcome Wabo


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Thanks, mate. I’m unpacking it now. Digging the build quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
I think that is the latest firmware but can check for you when I get home. Was the fedex box damaged as well or do you think that was done at the store and they just sent that too you ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
The corner of the outer box is banged up too. I have no doubt FedEx was roughing it up like a red headed step child. But thank the optimizer gods it’s just the boxes that took the assault. The styrofoam protecting the player is undamaged.

Any hints or tips on settings?

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 632 Old 06-04-2019, 10:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,174
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3048 Post(s)
Liked: 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
Thanks, mate. I’m unpacking it now. Digging the build quality.







The corner of the outer box is banged up too. I have no doubt FedEx was roughing it up like a red headed step child. But thank the optimizer gods it’s just the boxes that took the assault. The styrofoam protecting the player is undamaged.



Any hints or tips on settings?


Pick the luminance close to your Display and then turn the optimiser on and see how you go from their.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

_________________________

God Bless,
Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is online now  
post #573 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 01:47 AM
Member
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
I've got the UB-820, but I think this still applies.

You *should* be able to get 4k, HDR...when available in the particular Netflix movie or show.
The problem is I don't see the HDR sign on the show (Marco Polo as an example) while if I play Netflix with the app of my oled tv I see it...

Is that something in the settings?
Homer J Simpson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #574 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 03:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
The problem is I don't see the HDR sign on the show (Marco Polo as an example) while if I play Netflix with the app of my oled tv I see it...

Is that something in the settings?
No setting as such in the UB-820 that I'm aware of. What is the rest of the system: for example, are you using a Premium Certified HDMI cable to connect your UB-820, known to pass to 18gbps (not just 'claiming' to pass 18gbps), and what display device is it being plugged into? There might be an 'enhanced' setting for this device to ensure that 4k/HDR is acceptable through that particular input.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #575 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 04:42 AM
Member
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Yes it's a certified cable, in fact with HDR 4K disk I don't have any issue displaying HDR and my JVC projector (dila N7) automatically switch to HDR mode when I play those disk. Also when I use netflix on my oled TV with the internal app I can see the HDR content (so no internet connection issue). I really can't understand where is the problem.
Homer J Simpson is offline  
post #576 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Maybe I should turn Dolby Vision OFF?

I found this in another forum, I don't know if I can post it. If it's forbidden I will edit the post:

(credit to scrowe)

1. I think the UB9000 Netflix App is buggy on the current firmware. Whilst the Amazon App (Jack Ryan) always shows HDR 5.1 and plays in HDR2020/DD+, the Netflix App (Luke Cage S2/Altered Carbon) keeps flipping between displaying HDR 5.1 and UltraHD4K. In HDR I get HDR2020/DD+ in UltraHD4K I get REC709/DD+ output. At one point I could play Amazon HDR, and revert to Netflix and the Netflix app would switch back into HDR mode. As of yesterday Netflix is stuck in UltraHD4K. I have tried a factory reset, albeit I think this ended up creating the scenario where it was stuck in UltraHD4K support, rather than being able to revert with the trick above. Additionally if you set the AV in the Player to 1080P, the Netflix App reverts to HD 5.1 only on the respective content. This was also the behaviour on my UB900 previously.

2. But when I look at my AppleTV which I bought as stopgap, the Netflix UI also displays just UltraHD4K in same content, but outputs HDR2020/Atmos. When I look at my XBOX One the Netflix App shows HDR/Atmos and plays accordingly, albeit an issue with the Xbox is it now sends all audio for everything as Atmos irrespective if it is native, after the last update. So there is no consistency in my experience between how the Netflix Apps across devices are showing relative support for different AV formats. I don't have DV anywhere (apart from the UB9000 and AppleTV) though it seems Netflix displays the Dolby Vision logo on the content UI if it is able to playback DV.

3. So I think we can conclude that at least on the UB9000 the Netflix app is auto-detecting what it can deliver based on what it is connected to. Certainly some of this must be based on the EDID of the connected device via its HDMI connection. Therefore even if no official support for Atmos is supposed to be there, the app is detecting something in certain video chains where it thinks it can support it, and does so.

4. I guess another relevant question for this range of players, is whether they are supposed to be officially supporting Dolby Vision itself via the Netflix App, as this no doubt is a licensing area as well, albeit the players themselves are DV and DA licensed generally.
Homer J Simpson is offline  
post #577 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
Maybe I should turn Dolby Vision OFF?
Absolutely. If you're using this with a JVC Projector, which can't handle Dolby Vision anyway, there's no reason to have it turned on.

I turned this off on mine when I first set mine up.

I wouldn't be surprised if that makes the difference!

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #578 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Ok I will give it a try this evening, hope this is the solution.

Also I have the player connected in analog with a krell HTS 7.1 and the only way to output multichannel in Netflix is to set everything in bitstream in the digital audio menu.

Is this the best option also for 4K disk?

The krell can't decode the new audio format and I want the player to do the conversion.

Thanks
Homer J Simpson is offline  
post #579 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
Ok I will give it a try this evening, hope this is the solution.

Also I have the player connected in analog with a krell HTS 7.1 and the only way to output multichannel in Netflix is to set everything in bitstream in the digital audio menu.

Is this the best option also for 4K disk?

The krell can't decode the new audio format and I want the player to do the conversion.

Thanks
Somebody else might need to chime in on the Audio here, as I'm not familiar with the UB-9000's Audio setup, and how you configure it to get the outputs from the player that you want to go to the Krell.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #580 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
Absolutely. If you're using this with a JVC Projector, which can't handle Dolby Vision anyway, there's no reason to have it turned on.


I wouldn't be surprised if that makes the difference!
It didn't work...
Homer J Simpson is offline  
post #581 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
It didn't work...
Well that's disappointing!

Well, others with the UB-820 and the new JVC Projectors do get both HDR and often Atmos, so we'll have to try to track down what's different in your setup.

And you do get both HDR and Atmos when playing UHD Discs that have both, right?

So - what AVR are you using?

Anything else in the signal path from your UB-820 other than AVR then JVC?

There might be some Video, Audio, or HDMI setting in either the UB-820 or AVR that could be responsible; perhaps go through each one, taking note of what they are, and post here so we can compare to ours.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #582 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 37
These are my settings:

Video Format: Automatic
4K(50p/60p) Output: 4K(50p/60p) 4:4:4
24p Output: Automatic
HDMI(VIDEO) Output Mode: Automatic
HDMI(AUDIO) Output Mode: Audio Only
Dolby Vision Setting: Off
HDR10+ Setting: On

Colour Mode: YcbCr (4:4:4)
Deep Colour Output: Auto(12bit Priority)
HDR/Colour Gamut Output: HDR/BT.2020 (Auto)
SDR/HDR Conv. (Network Service): Off
HLG / PQ Conversion: Off
HDR Display Type: Basic Luminance Projector
HDCP Output Setting: Automatic
Content Type Flag: Automatic
Audio Output: Off
7.1ch Audio Reformatting: Off


By the way I tried to connect the player to my oled tv and I can't get HDR. If I use the internal app of the oled tv I can see HDR content. With 4k discs I can see HDR with no problem.

Hope this helps
Homer J Simpson is offline  
post #583 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
These are my settings:

Video Format: Automatic
4K(50p/60p) Output: 4K(50p/60p) 4:4:4
24p Output: Automatic
HDMI(VIDEO) Output Mode: Automatic
HDMI(AUDIO) Output Mode: Audio Only
Dolby Vision Setting: Off
HDR10+ Setting: On

Colour Mode: YcbCr (4:4:4)
Deep Colour Output: Auto(12bit Priority)
HDR/Colour Gamut Output: HDR/BT.2020 (Auto)
SDR/HDR Conv. (Network Service): Off
HLG / PQ Conversion: Off
HDR Display Type: Basic Luminance Projector
HDCP Output Setting: Automatic
Content Type Flag: Automatic
Audio Output: Off
7.1ch Audio Reformatting: Off


By the way I tried to connect the player to my oled tv and I can't get HDR. If I use the internal app of the oled tv I can see HDR content. With 4k discs I can see HDR with no problem.

Hope this helps
I'm away from my home at the moment, so can't check everything right now. But as I recall, I turned Off the HDR10+ setting for the same reason as I turned off Dolby Vision: the JVC doesn't support it.

I'll check other things when I get back, or if not, tomorrow.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #584 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 04:19 PM
Member
 
scrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
These are my settings:

Video Format: Automatic
4K(50p/60p) Output: 4K(50p/60p) 4:4:4
24p Output: Automatic
HDMI(VIDEO) Output Mode: Automatic
HDMI(AUDIO) Output Mode: Audio Only
Dolby Vision Setting: Off
HDR10+ Setting: On

Colour Mode: YcbCr (4:4:4)
Deep Colour Output: Auto(12bit Priority)
HDR/Colour Gamut Output: HDR/BT.2020 (Auto)
SDR/HDR Conv. (Network Service): Off
HLG / PQ Conversion: Off
HDR Display Type: Basic Luminance Projector
HDCP Output Setting: Automatic
Content Type Flag: Automatic
Audio Output: Off
7.1ch Audio Reformatting: Off


By the way I tried to connect the player to my oled tv and I can't get HDR. If I use the internal app of the oled tv I can see HDR content. With 4k discs I can see HDR with no problem.

Hope this helps
Those settings look fine apart from Audio output off? If you are connecting the AV HDMI to the PJ are you also connecting HDMI2 to an AV receiver or soundbar? And does this HDMI cable and AVR HDMI process 18gbps and HDR 4:4:4. Is your Netflix account definitely the UltraHD premium tier? Someone else mentioned forcing High Quality in your Netflix account settings via the web can have a positive effect. Have you tried playing JacknRyan in 4K HDR via Amazon, them switching back to the Netflix app?
scrowe is offline  
post #585 of 632 Old 06-05-2019, 11:12 PM
Member
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrowe View Post
Those settings look fine apart from Audio output off? If you are connecting the AV HDMI to the PJ are you also connecting HDMI2 to an AV receiver or soundbar? And does this HDMI cable and AVR HDMI process 18gbps and HDR 4:4:4. Is your Netflix account definitely the UltraHD premium tier? Someone else mentioned forcing High Quality in your Netflix account settings via the web can have a positive effect. Have you tried playing JacknRyan in 4K HDR via Amazon, them switching back to the Netflix app?
Hi, audio output off is because I use audio in analog with a krell hts 7.1, The Netflix account is correct, if I use it with the internal app of my oled tv I can see HDR.

I didn't try to play JacknRyan and switch back, I'll give it a try.

I just went to the web app and set for the first time quality to high...hope this solve the issue.

Last edited by Homer J Simpson; 06-05-2019 at 11:38 PM.
Homer J Simpson is offline  
post #586 of 632 Old 06-06-2019, 11:33 PM
Member
 
Homer J Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I write it down also here for information. Everybody having trouble displaying hdr in the Netflix app: color mode need to be set in AUTO. Thanks to everybody for the help!!
Agenor likes this.
Homer J Simpson is offline  
post #587 of 632 Old 06-07-2019, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer J Simpson View Post
I write it down also here for information. Everybody having trouble displaying hdr in the Netflix app: color mode need to be set in AUTO. Thanks to everybody for the help!!
Yep, you don’t want 4:4:4 as that setting with Netflix with its 60hz refresh will only allow 8 bit color. On auto it will select a lower color mode such as 4:2:2 which will allow higher than 8 bit color which will let Netflix do HDR.

Clark
Clark Burk is online now  
post #588 of 632 Old 06-08-2019, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Extreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 1,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 36
New bug discovered yesterday when watching Mission Impossible Fallout 4k.
Picture lost on TV, but sound still playing on HDMI Audio port.
Restarted chapter one and now it played ok.
Upgrading to 1.55 now.

Bryston SP4/ATI AT527/Panasonic DP-UB9000/LG OLED 65E6V
Extreman is offline  
post #589 of 632 Old 06-08-2019, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
645824's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 67
The Panasonic 820 thread has 4648 posts, while this Panasonic 9000 thread has 588 posts.

So using that crude metric, a 2X price difference has a 1/8x interest level difference (which might be the same as the purchase ratio between the 820 and the 9000). Someone at VE would be able to quote a real statistic (except that 820's are purchased from multiple sources while 9000's are purchased from a more limited number of sources).

Thought it was interesting...

Scott

Last edited by 645824; 06-08-2019 at 07:15 PM.
645824 is offline  
post #590 of 632 Old 06-09-2019, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Anyone know an easy way to tell whether BT2020 is being outputted within the native Netflix app?

I noticed the playback info command doesn't work within the streaming apps.

My JVC projector doesn't really show the color space being sent to it.

Thanks
weboperations is offline  
post #591 of 632 Old 06-09-2019, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 645824 View Post
The Panasonic 820 thread has 4648 posts, while this Panasonic 9000 thread has 588 posts.

So using that crude metric, a 2X price difference has a 1/8x interest level difference (which might be the same as the purchase ratio between the 820 and the 9000). Someone at VE would be able to quote a real statistic (except that 820's are purchased from multiple sources while 9000's are purchased from a more limited number of sources).

Thought it was interesting...

Scott
The 820 has been more readily available and the 9000 just opened up at other companies besides VE. That is probably one of the greatest contributing factors.
Schwa likes this.

NX5 / Panamorph / SI Slate Zero Edge Pro / Salamander Designs / AQ Niagra
AV8805 / UB9000 / AppleTV 4K / PS4 Pro / Connect / Node 2i / RPM-10 C
C1100 / D1100 / MC303s / 800D3 / HTM1D3 / 702 S2 / CCM7.3 / PC4000s
RaceCarDriver is offline  
post #592 of 632 Old 06-10-2019, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I have a UB9000 with a Marantz 7012. When playing DTS-X discs the display on the Marantz goes blank. Anyone else have this happen?

5.2.2 Setup || Marantz SR-7012 & MM-7025 | Martin Logan Speakers - Motion 60XTs, Motion 50XT, Motion 35XTs, Motion 4s, Dynamo 700Ws | Sony XBR-65A1E | Panasonic UB-9000 | Apple TV 4K | Amazon Fire TV | Furman Elite 15-PFi | Logitech Harmony Elite | Samsung Smart Things Hub | Amazon Alexa Integration

Last edited by JayNTee; 06-10-2019 at 06:23 PM.
JayNTee is online now  
post #593 of 632 Old 06-12-2019, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,320
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1259 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayNTee View Post
I have a UB9000 with a Marantz 7012. When playing DTS-X discs the display on the Marantz goes blank. Anyone else have this happen?
I'll check when I get home this evening and let you know.
Schwa is offline  
post #594 of 632 Old 06-12-2019, 12:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
I'll check when I get home this evening and let you know.
I actually figured this out. It's when using Pure Direct on the AVR, the displays go blank. I switched to Auto and everything seems to be OK now!


Thanks!

5.2.2 Setup || Marantz SR-7012 & MM-7025 | Martin Logan Speakers - Motion 60XTs, Motion 50XT, Motion 35XTs, Motion 4s, Dynamo 700Ws | Sony XBR-65A1E | Panasonic UB-9000 | Apple TV 4K | Amazon Fire TV | Furman Elite 15-PFi | Logitech Harmony Elite | Samsung Smart Things Hub | Amazon Alexa Integration
JayNTee is online now  
post #595 of 632 Old 06-13-2019, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not many hours with my 9000 yet but this is what I've noticed so far.

1) Pressing the Home button on the remote while playing a 4K disc results in either A) a painfully long wait to get to the Home menu, guessing 1 to 2 minutes, or B) I get impatient and just eject the disk and start over.

2) Not sure if this is the player's problem or the receiver or the projector. I can't get Auto Tone Mapping to engage on my JVC NX7 projector playing Star Trek: Beyond, Dunkirk, and Oceans, all HDR discs. It did work however for X-Men: Apocalypse (HDR) so at least I know it works. Arcam AVR850 receiver in between the player and the projector. Audioquest 1M Coffee between player and receiver. Inneos Real4K adapters on either end of an Inneos 50' fiber optic cable between the receiver and the projector. Worried that Auto Tone Mapping will only work intermittently on some HDR discs and not others. This is one of the big reasons I picked JVC instead of Sony. Played around with the settings of course. Suggestions anyone?

3) Watching the 4K of A Star Is Born for the first time with my wife, pressed a combination of Pause and Rewind, can't remember exactly, the picture went black and froze. Ejected the disc and started over. She wasn't impressed...

4) Downloaded the Leaf and the Amaze trailers from Dolby's website. Can't get audio to play from these MP4 files, playing from a USB stick. A quick Google search shows many complaints about MP4 audio on Panasonic TVs. The audio on these trailers works fine on my Sony 4K player with the same USB stick.

5) Happy to report only one handshake issue so far, during the first time I played it actually. None since then.

6) If I press the Eject button on the front panel from too much of an angle, it doesn't always respond. Just have to press it at a straighter angle and be a little more deliberate, that's all.
surroundsound99 is offline  
post #596 of 632 Old 06-17-2019, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Thumbs up

FINALLY picked up my 9000 from a local Magnolia. They were so impressed/shocked by the weight if the box that we opened it up in the store. With an April 2019 build date it was the first one they have seen. Brought it home and got it set up. Right off the bat, much happier to have a full size component in the shelf with some weight to it. The menu system seems faster than the 820 that I had for the last 10 months, wish I kept it to direct compare. A nice quiet player. The first disc I played was Mad Max on my NX5 with my Panamorph lens. Impressive as I expected. I need to find more time to spend with it. Try the SDR conversion next.
tigerhonaker likes this.

NX5 / Panamorph / SI Slate Zero Edge Pro / Salamander Designs / AQ Niagra
AV8805 / UB9000 / AppleTV 4K / PS4 Pro / Connect / Node 2i / RPM-10 C
C1100 / D1100 / MC303s / 800D3 / HTM1D3 / 702 S2 / CCM7.3 / PC4000s
RaceCarDriver is offline  
post #597 of 632 Old 06-21-2019, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6,806
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2597 Post(s)
Liked: 1240
Does this player support ZOOM or ASPECT RATIO CONTROL yet w/ most recent firmware?

With latest firmware how does it compare in DVD upconversion vs. Oppo 203?
Ruined is offline  
post #598 of 632 Old 06-22-2019, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post
Does this player support ZOOM or ASPECT RATIO CONTROL yet w/ most recent firmware?

With latest firmware how does it compare in DVD upconversion vs. Oppo 203?
I'm pretty sure only the Oppo's and the Cambridge CXUHD (w/soon to be released firmware update) have the zoom features.

JVC X750R Projector,Yamaha CX-A5200 Pre-Pro, Yamaha RX-Z11 Receiver, (Amps Only) Yamaha MX-D1 Power Amps x 2, Yamaha RX-Z1 (L&R Surround Channel Amp), Oppo BDP-103D BR, Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD, Pioneer Elite CLD-99 LD, Definitive Tech BP7000SC Mains, CLR3000 Center, BPVX Surround Sides&Backs, BPX F&R Presence, Martin Logan Abyss Front L&R Subs/Dynamo L&R Rear Surround Channel Subs, Infinity SSW-210 Center Channel Sub.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #599 of 632 Old 06-22-2019, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6,806
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2597 Post(s)
Liked: 1240
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
I'm pretty sure only the Oppo's and the Cambridge CXUHD (w/soon to be released firmware update) have the zoom features.
Darn was hoping maybe they added it via FW thx
Ruined is offline  
post #600 of 632 Old 06-22-2019, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post
Does this player support ZOOM or ASPECT RATIO CONTROL yet w/ most recent firmware?

With latest firmware how does it compare in DVD upconversion vs. Oppo 203?
I have not tried a DVD in my system since Blu-Ray was released. I have totes of hundreds of DVDs, maybe I should see how it goes?

No ZOOM or Aspect Ratio Control... would be nice...

NX5 / Panamorph / SI Slate Zero Edge Pro / Salamander Designs / AQ Niagra
AV8805 / UB9000 / AppleTV 4K / PS4 Pro / Connect / Node 2i / RPM-10 C
C1100 / D1100 / MC303s / 800D3 / HTM1D3 / 702 S2 / CCM7.3 / PC4000s
RaceCarDriver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off